View Full Version : Scotland v Iceland
06-06-2025, 05:35 PM
What channel is it on?
Any team news and will Bowie be involved?
06-06-2025, 05:41 PM
What channel is it on?
Just watched Clarks interview on the news and going by what he said there's no chance of Bowie starting . He might get on for the last 40 seconds if he's lucky
Paul1642
06-06-2025, 05:43 PM
What channel is it on?
Scotland Team. Bowie on the bench.
06-06-2025, 05:44 PM
What channel is it on?
BBC1. He's on the bench.
Good to see Clarke building for the future with Hanley starting.
06-06-2025, 05:51 PM
I genuinely don't get that team.
What are we going to learn about Hanley, Robertson, McGinn, McTominay and Gilmour that we don't already know?
2 games against Iceland and Lichtenstein should have been an extended holiday for them. Get Doig, Miller, Irving and Barron in. Also bemoans our lack of depth at goalkeeper then neglects to give another option minutes to see how they handle it.
I suppose we shouldn't be that surprised. Clarke all but said there would be minimal changes. Pleased to see Hirst and Johnston start at least.
06-06-2025, 05:51 PM
Anyone know how many tickets have been sold for this?
06-06-2025, 05:53 PM
Anyone know how many tickets have been sold for this?
There were a whack left the other day when I was on buying. North and South were pretty full but plenty availability behind both goals.
1875Sean
06-06-2025, 06:02 PM
Victor Palsson back in Scotland
06-06-2025, 06:07 PM
Friendlies should be about taking the opportunity to blood in new players and get them used to international football and new teammates. What's the point of selecting a load of tried and tested regulars??
06-06-2025, 06:08 PM
****ing Grant Hanley in a friendly against Iceland
What the ****s the point!?
06-06-2025, 06:11 PM
What are we going to learn about Hanley, Robertson, McGinn, McTominay and Gilmour that we don't already know?
2 games against Iceland and Lichtenstein should have been an extended holiday for them. Get Doig, Miller, Irving and Barron in. Also bemoans our lack of depth at goalkeeper then neglects to give another option minutes to see how they handle it.
I suppose we shouldn't be that surprised. Clarke all but said there would be minimal changes. Pleased to see Hirst and Johnston start at least.
I disagree.
Chucking a bunch of youngsters into a team that’ll never play together won’t really tell us much either. If they go and lose do they go and get chucked out again?
Seeing them perform in a normal Scotland team is how they learn about how to play in that side and will show if they’re at the level required or not.
06-06-2025, 06:19 PM
I disagree.
Chucking a bunch of youngsters into a team that’ll never play together won’t really tell us much either. If they go and lose do they go and get chucked out again?
Seeing them perform in a normal Scotland team is how they learn about how to play in that side and will show if they’re at the level required or not.
I think there should be a way of getting the new boys minutes over the 2 games, not saying they need to start but I'd like to see them all get half an hour or so over the 2 games
06-06-2025, 06:30 PM
I disagree.
It's a kickabout.
McTominay was on a bender last week, McGinn has played a 49 game season, Robertson played 45. They should be on the beach rather than trudging about Hampden for 65 minutes.
Then you'll have folk moaning they look 'jaded' when the qualifiers roll around in a few months time.
Stairway 2 7
06-06-2025, 06:33 PM
Would fancy mctominay after 30 pints and 60 fag's he had last weekend over McLean. Hopefully changes the team after 30 minutes or it's pointless
Pete70
06-06-2025, 06:39 PM
A back 5 in a friendly against Iceland. When is Clarke going to actually play an attacking line up? Could at least start with 2 up front.
06-06-2025, 06:40 PM
It's a kickabout.
McTominay was on a bender last week, McGinn has played a 49 game season, Robertson played 45. They should be on the beach rather than trudging about Hampden for 65 minutes.
Then you'll have folk moaning they look 'jaded' when the qualifiers roll around in a few months time.
That aspect I agree with.
I just think there’s sense into gradually introducing the next generation. You shouldn’t just lump them all in together at once.
pollution
06-06-2025, 06:41 PM
A back 5 in a friendly against Iceland. When is Clarke going to actually play an attacking line up? Could at least start with 2 up front.
Almost Levein style
Gordy M
06-06-2025, 06:45 PM
It's a kickabout.
Clark lost a few friendlies before the Euros and was getting absloute pelters for not winning any games, cant blame him for now trying to get a few wins before the qualifiers.
06-06-2025, 06:48 PM
Hampden really is an embarrassment. Looks so tired and dated. The wide shot of it with the teams, seeing the big asphalt looking mass between the goals and the stand, thought I was watching a match from the 80s for a minute...
06-06-2025, 06:52 PM
Looks like we might see a new keeper tried out sooner than we thought. That looked a sore one on Gunn's ankle. I'd be surprised if he lasts much longer.
pollution
06-06-2025, 06:53 PM
Could be a long night ....
06-06-2025, 06:53 PM
So why is Liam Kelly not in the squad?
06-06-2025, 06:55 PM
Solid start
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
06-06-2025, 06:56 PM
Cracking start tae
I’m genuinely starting to feel a bit fed up with Clarke. His sell by dates fast approaching imo
06-06-2025, 06:57 PM
oh dear
Poor laddie has never started a league game in his career. He needed a solid start and that wasn't it.
Total farce.
Stairway 2 7
Keeper and defence solid
06-06-2025, 07:00 PM
The goalie isn’t very good at kicking the baw.
06-06-2025, 07:00 PM
get an outfield player in goals for the love of god :greengrin
06-06-2025, 07:01 PM
Let them go on their holidays, for god's sake. What a waste of time. Poor Gunn. Crocked for nothing. And as for Monday...even I wouldn't accept a call up for that.
06-06-2025, 07:02 PM
Poor laddie has never started a league game in his career. He needed a solid start and that wasn't it.
Could actually ruin him living his boyhood dream.
Musselbound
06-06-2025, 07:02 PM
The goalie isn’t very good at kicking the baw.
Doesn't seem focused at all. Really poor distribution.
06-06-2025, 07:03 PM
What a come down after watching PSG and Spain in the past couple of weeks
Total slugball
06-06-2025, 07:03 PM
Could actually ruin him living his boyhood dream.
Aye painful for him right now. He looks so nervous. Probably would have been easier for him if he had started as he would have been prepared for it. Forced on after 5 minutes will have his head swimming. I hated coming on as a sub as a keeper, could never lock into the pace of a game.
Easy with hindsight but maybe McRorie was the better option. Limited but he's at least played a decent amount of football recently.
Stairway 2 7
06-06-2025, 07:04 PM
Feel shocking for the keeper obviously a shock injury to put him on but this is awful pressure with how inexperienced he is. He done well with 21s but unlike Bowie he's not had full stadiums and stress that comes with it.
He's got a full game to do the business though
06-06-2025, 07:06 PM
Aye painful for him right now. He looks so nervous. Probably would have been easier for him if he had stayed as he would have been prepared for it. Forced on after 5 minutes will have his head swimming. I hated coming on as a sub as a keeper, could never lock into the pace of a game.
Easy with hindsight but maybe McRorie was the better option. Limited but he's at least played a decent amount of football recently.
Hopefully he gets a couple of half decent saves to calm h a bit
Cabbage-Patch
06-06-2025, 07:07 PM
Getting absolutely run ragged by Iceland at home. With the exception of the midfield the quality of our squad is embarrassing. Bringing on a young keeper who has never started a league game and third choice keeper at a relegated EPL team. A CB who couldn't get a game for a league 1 club and a striker who has scored 3 goals all season for a poor relegated side.
Respect Clarke for getting us to back to back euros but his Stubborness and refusal to try new things is pathetic. Needs to go whatever happens tonight
06-06-2025, 07:07 PM
So nobody knows why Kelly isn't in the squad? Wasn't exactly brilliant for the Huns but miles better than that pair.
06-06-2025, 07:09 PM
So nobody knows why Kelly isn't in the squad? Wasn't exactly brilliant for the Huns but miles better than that pair.
Gunn has had a very poor season as well. We’re in trouble as it stands.
Hirst over the bar :rolleyes:
Nothing I've ever seen of Hirst suggests to me he should start any game instead of Bowie
Cabbage-Patch
06-06-2025, 07:10 PM
Hirst is absolute dug meat. Free header and goal at his mercy and heads over from about 3 yards when it was probably easier to score
06-06-2025, 07:11 PM
He was struggling with a knock at the end of last season. Butland played the last 2 games for Rangers.
Maybe agreed he would sit these games out?
06-06-2025, 07:12 PM
Didn't realise Hirst was 26, thought he was a young laddie
06-06-2025, 07:12 PM
Bowie would’ve scored that. Easily.
06-06-2025, 07:13 PM
souttar 1-1
06-06-2025, 07:14 PM
That's better. Keeper will want it back right enough.
Tbf to Hirst that's twice he has got into good positions. The first he should score, the 2nd is a good effort that leads to a corner we scored from.
I think he's blunted a bit here as well. Twice he's pulled out of challenges he might have won had it been a competitive game.
06-06-2025, 07:14 PM
Hirst is absolute dug meat. Free header and goal at his mercy and heads over from about 3 yards when it was probably easier to score
Ball was too high, very difficult to score. He looks decent.
06-06-2025, 07:16 PM
He was struggling with a knock at the end of last season. Butland played the last 2 games for Rangers.
Maybe agreed he would sit these games out?
Ok, cheers. Didn't see any mention of it in the media.
Cabbage-Patch
06-06-2025, 07:18 PM
Ball was too high, very difficult to score. He looks decent.
It wasn't difficult to score. I know he's not the tallest but cmon
06-06-2025, 07:20 PM
hit the baw son fgs
06-06-2025, 07:22 PM
Unless Clarke is parking the bus he’s clueless
06-06-2025, 07:24 PM
We might have the odd moment, because we do have some good players, but we don’t really look like we have any idea what to do. That’s what happens when you are just overloaded with central midfield players, nothing a bit different attacking wise.
06-06-2025, 07:25 PM
It wasn't difficult to score. I know he's not the tallest but cmon
Looks about 6 ft 2 to me.
Cabbage-Patch
06-06-2025, 07:31 PM
Looks about 6 ft 2 to me.
Hes actually 6'3 just checked. That's even worse then 😅
06-06-2025, 07:32 PM
That Hanley dive is the one thing I’d change in football. Defenders having carte blanche to dive to buy an automatic free kick to get out of trouble.
06-06-2025, 07:33 PM
This is shocking
06-06-2025, 07:33 PM
lol keeper/defence dearie me 1-2 truly pathetic
06-06-2025, 07:34 PM
Well I think we have an answer about whether Slicker is the answer at goalkeeper in the short term.
He's blocked off and there is a comedy of errors but he has to save that.
Hibees1973
This is grim viewing.
Think Ange would want this gig?
Deary me, that defence :confused:
Up-the-slope
That defending at corner is honking
I know they are overprotected at times, but that's a foul on the goalie for me, basically blocked him off and stopped him moving
06-06-2025, 07:35 PM
Friendly or not, it’s so poor.
Poor performances are becoming more frequent these days.
ED Hibee
06-06-2025, 07:35 PM
Defence doing nothing for the keeper there. All hopeless
pollution
06-06-2025, 07:36 PM
K Cops defending
Cabbage-Patch
06-06-2025, 07:36 PM
Well I think we have an answer about whether Slicker is the answer at goalkeeper in the short term.
Agreed but in fairness to him he should be nowhere near this squad having never started a league game in his career. Proper minnows stuff. Our stock of options at goalkeeper is horrendous
That Hanley dive is the one thing I’d change in football. Defenders having carte blanche to dive to buy an automatic free kick to get out of trouble.
Totally agree
This is grim viewing.
Think Ange would want this gig?
Get him in this year. Always wins in his 2nd year...
06-06-2025, 07:38 PM
so sad
Slicker looks like a rabbit in the headlights
Musselbound
K Cops defending
Beyond embarrassing. Wouldn't expect to see that at Scottish League Two level.
Victor
Agreed but in fairness to him he should be nowhere near this squad having never started a league game in his career. Proper minnows stuff. Our stock of options at goalkeeper is horrendous
Does Jordan Smith have a Scottish granny?
Giving serious consideration of getting the early heck to Edinburgh
06-06-2025, 07:39 PM
Clarke should've went after the Euros.
It was clearly time for a fresh set of eyes and fresh outlook. So negative and dull as has become the norm under Clarke.
06-06-2025, 07:40 PM
I don't understand the logic behind bringing on a keeper who has never played a first team game. Feel sorry for the guy.
06-06-2025, 07:41 PM
Aye it's an awful position to be in really. Even when Leighton and Goram retired we had Neil Sullivan who was playing in the EPL as a bridge.
It's a big jump even for guys playing regularly. Craig Gordon was a bag of nerves in his first few games for Scotland. Remember him letting a shot from about 40 yards go right through his hands v Norway and just got back to keep it out. He would never have done that at club level. Walter Smith initially dropped him and brought Rab Douglas back in. It was Douglas getting injured v Italy away that gave Gordon his second chance.
Hopefully the young lad is strong enough to bounce back.
Cabbage-Patch
06-06-2025, 07:42 PM
Totally agree. His ship has sailed, his tactics and his continued selection of players who are no longer good enough for international level is hampering this team. A younger manager with fresh ideas is whats needed
06-06-2025, 07:42 PM
I don't understand the logic behind bringing on a keeper who has never played a first team game. Feel sorry for the guy.
Really shouldn't be getting a cap when you've never played a pro match.
06-06-2025, 07:43 PM
Clarke should've went after the Euros.
It was clearly time for a fresh set of eyes and fresh outlook. So negative and dull as has become the norm under Clarke.
We missed the boat with Davie Moyes. Streets ahead of Clarke but he's not leaving Everton anytime soon. He was available in the summer.
06-06-2025, 07:44 PM
BBC1. He's on the bench.
Good to see Clarke building for the future with Hanley starting.
Absolutely bizarre.
06-06-2025, 07:44 PM
Yep. Apart from Kelly and Clark at hearts I can't think of any other keeper who could be a contender. The boy at Dundee was in a squad but he's not even good enough to start for them. And Gunn is definitely not the answer, especially if he's still not starting for his club.
06-06-2025, 07:46 PM
Yep. Apart from Kelly and Clark at hearts I can't think of any other keeper who could be a contender. The boy at Dundee was in a squad but he's not even good enough to start for them. And Gunn is definitely not the answer, especially if he's still not starting for his club.
Gunn doesn't have a club at the moment.
06-06-2025, 07:47 PM
Didn’t realise Hirst was the son of David Hirst. Now he was a player.
06-06-2025, 07:48 PM
Gunn doesn't have a club at the moment.
Ah ok, I haven't been paying any attention to the Championship apart from watching the play off final.
Musselbound
06-06-2025, 07:51 PM
Shocking if that's the case. Agree that our options are really limited to say the least but surely there's a few more experienced choices.
06-06-2025, 07:54 PM
Shocking if that's the case. Agree that our options are really limited to say the least but surely there's a few more experienced choices.
Scott Bain would have been better than hanging a young laddie out to dry. Dreadful.
Musselbound
06-06-2025, 07:55 PM
Scott Bain would have been better than hanging a young laddie out to dry. Dreadful.
Yep, can't argue with that.
06-06-2025, 08:01 PM
embarrassing 1-3
David_D
This keeper should be taken off for his own good.
Hibees1973
This is a hoot
Up-the-slope
offside but still honking
Even if this is chalked off for offside, the keeper is pathetic
06-06-2025, 08:02 PM
Just sub the young boy ffs.
Get to 60 minutes, stick McRorie on and say it was always the plan.
Time for a whole host of changes really. A few here look like they don't want to be here, largely because they don't.
aw man that "keeper"
take him off clarke ffs man
Cabbage-Patch
Brutal to say this but get Slicker off. Poor lad dosent deserve this
Up-the-slope
:confused: how was that on
Makes Bursic look competent
06-06-2025, 08:03 PM
£40 a ticket for this btw😂😂😂
06-06-2025, 08:03 PM
i'm crying
06-06-2025, 08:04 PM
Ayy it's Victor Palsson lmao
We’ll no be seeing this goalie again.
We shouldn’t be seeing more of the manager either.
pollution
Get stuck in Scotland!!
How did the draw those lines? Looks like they’ve taken it from Palssons shoulder but the defenders hand?
While only a friendly this is still a poor performance and result so far.
Hibees1973
Anyone out there with plans to see our lot at the next World Cup Finals?
The players all want to be on the piss around the pool.
£35 for myself being a member but still 🤣🤣🤣🤣
Oooft, ironic cheering when the keeper collected an over hit through ball
Seriously?
06-06-2025, 08:05 PM
Oooft, ironic cheering when the keeper collected an over hit through ball
Poor patter that
Aye, the laddie looks shell shocked, he’s not went out there to play badly, that won’t help ease his nerves
OtleyHibs
06-06-2025, 08:05 PM
Good save Iceland keeper from Hirst
06-06-2025, 08:06 PM
Seriously?
Aye.
Flat rate for all Scotland games now. SFA logic is people want to see Scotland rather than the opposition. On this evidence not for much longer. Pretty poisonous and largely aimed at the gaffer.
We wanted Slicker last summer too
Genuinely think bursik would be a better option than this keeper.
Ayy it's Victor Palsson lmao
Played for us about 15 years ago didn't he?
06-06-2025, 08:07 PM
Already been covered but what’s the point in this friendly if Clarke is going to go with players he already knows everything about ?
ruthven_raiders
06-06-2025, 08:07 PM
Aye, the laddie looks shell shocked, he’s not went out there to play badly, that won’t help ease his nerves
Yeh poor from the support there, young goalie with no first team experience and experienced players in front of him are playing just as badly...
06-06-2025, 08:08 PM
one win in ten friendlies
just as well we don't take them seriously
Hirst has had 2 headers and a snap shot, but he just isn’t showing much for me.
Maybe I’m just itching to see Bowie get a run out
06-06-2025, 08:09 PM
Yeh poor from the support there, young goalie with no first team experience and experienced players in front of him are playing just as badly...
Piss poor behaviour.
Lad will be totally broken and that isn't helpful.
Christ I thought the season was over with that abomination of a cup win for the sheep. What's this all about?
Up-the-slope
Ayy it's Victor Palsson lmao:shocked:
Bowie and Nicky cads would be 3-0 nil up on their own against this pish.
06-06-2025, 08:11 PM
one win in ten friendlies
just as well we don't take them seriously
4 wins in 21 if we don't win this.
Looks like 3-2
game on
Shame for Hirst. In the right place.
He's not a superstar by any means but he looks ok imo.
VAR in friendly games ffs
Offside.
Hirst goal offside. One of those games it looks like
06-06-2025, 08:12 PM
ruled out
Why are we still waiting to see some changes?
Players look lethargic and uninspired, with a few guys on the bench who’ll be desperate to get capped… but no, let’s watch guys with 50+ caps and know what they’re about
Cabbage-Patch
06-06-2025, 08:13 PM
Bowie and Nicky cads would be 3-0 nil up on their own against this pish.
Up-the-slope
Shame for Hirst. In the right place.
He's not a superstar by any means but he looks ok imo.
Header in first aside he has done pretty ok given he has so little to work with and little support
Hibees1973
Italy's World Cup campaign not off to a good start.
3 down to Norway.
06-06-2025, 08:14 PM
Kieran Bowie no even getting on with a triple change happening
Cool.
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
06-06-2025, 08:14 PM
Che Adams coming on. Be interesting to see what this guy can do.
Bowie, Wilson and Conway giving up a week in Ibiza to sit and watch this.
Why are we still waiting to see some changes?
Players look lethargic and uninspired, with a few guys on the bench who’ll be desperate to get capped… but no, let’s watch guys with 50+ caps and know what they’re about
3 subs, 2 of which have many appearances, ffs
06-06-2025, 08:15 PM
Already been covered but what’s the point in this friendly if Clarke is going to go with players he already knows everything about ?
It’s mad that he plays the likes of Hanley but then proceeds to bring on a goalie who has no senior appearances to his name.
Stat from the commentator a while ago is a shocker. We won 5 in a row at the start of qualifying for the Euros but have won 4 games since. His race is run IMO, but we’ll let him make a mess of the World Cup qualifiers first.
Cabbage-Patch
06-06-2025, 08:16 PM
Clarke bringing on a Centre back when we are 3-1 down. Get him to ***k man. Needs to go if we have any hope of getting anywhere near the world cup
06-06-2025, 08:16 PM
If this is Clarke's vision of the way forward then heaven help us.
Piss poor behaviour.
Lad will be totally broken and that isn't helpful.
Feel for him.
AugustaHibs
06-06-2025, 08:18 PM
Surely to **** Clarke can’t survive this?
Hibees1973
06-06-2025, 08:18 PM
3 subs, 2 of which have many appearances, ffs
Clarke did say prior to the game he is not experimenting.
Mind you, this Slicker gadgie has not played a first team game before.
06-06-2025, 08:19 PM
Norway hammering Italy 3-0
It’s mad that he plays the likes of Hanley but then proceeds to bring on a goalie who has no senior appearances to his name.
Stat from the commentator a while ago is a shocker. We won 5 in a row at the start of qualifying for the Euros but have won 4 games since. His race is run IMO, but we’ll let him make a mess of the World Cup qualifiers first.
Yup. Then just for a laugh he brings on Che Adams. Though if I’m honest I’d rather Bowie doesn’t get on and risk injury.
Che Adams coming on. Be interesting to see what this guy can do.
Bowie, Wilson and Conway giving up a week in Ibiza to sit and watch this.
Hirst should have scored but he's done far more than Adams any time he's started recently.
Bowie might get 5 mins against Liechtenstein if he's lucky.
Makes you wonder why he bothers to call up the likes of Bowie, Doig, etc, when he’s no intention of playing them
06-06-2025, 08:20 PM
Building for the future then.
Up-the-slope
06-06-2025, 08:21 PM
we are going backwards - its giving me flashbacks to how hibs were playing early season
Musselbound
Header in first aside he has done pretty ok given he has so little to work with and little support
Would agree with that. But just about the only positive. I barely noticed Tierney was playing other than one cross on the first half. How Clarke could wait over 60 mins before making tactical subs is almost beyond belief.
Cabbage-Patch
I don't think he had any intention of playing Bowie probably just wanted a look at him in training.
Hibees1973
06-06-2025, 08:22 PM
Building for the future then.
On firm ground there HoboHarry :greengrin
06-06-2025, 08:22 PM
Hirst should have scored but he's done far more than Adams any time he's started recently.
Bowie might get 5 mins against Liechtenstein if he's lucky.
Probably the only two to take away from tonight.
Keeper isn't ready, Hirst might be.
We learned nothing about anyone else really, guys who have been struggling for months for Scotland are still toiling. Many excelling for their clubs though, makes you wonder what the problem is.........
06-06-2025, 08:23 PM
Commentator talking about Clarke’s loyalty to players. Starting Hanley - who toiled to get a game in the English third tier - ahead of McKenna who’s been up against Mbappe, Yamal and co in Spain. Crazy.
Commentary team praising Clarke’s loyalty as a manager, whilst telling us he’s selecting guys who can’t get a game in the English third tier
Whilst we’ve watched the last couple of years as pish like Kenny McLean get picked over Lewis Ferguson consistently
I just can't take to Clarke's Scotland, dour, plodding football.
06-06-2025, 08:24 PM
At least we’ve been able to get a decent look at Grant Hanley tonight
06-06-2025, 08:24 PM
Commentary team praising Clarke’s loyalty as a manager, whilst telling us he’s selecting guys who can’t get a game in the English third tier
Whilst we’ve watched the last couple of years as pish like Kenny McLean get picked over Lewis Ferguson consistently
They must have been taking the piss surely?
Up-the-slope
06-06-2025, 08:25 PM
Would agree with that. But just about the only positive. I barely noticed Tierney was playing other than one cross on the first half. How Clarke could wait over 60 mins before making tactical subs is almost beyond belief.
Changes shape back to a 3 to fit Him and Robertson but the wing backs have mostly just made a 5 and left a very narrow midfield and isolated striker... added to a lack of tempo.... Gilmour has regressed badly and if this is typical can see why he was out Napoli team often this season
They must have been taking the piss surely?
You’d hope so mate, but I’m pretty sure they were meaning it genuinely :rolleyes: Liam Macleod and Steven Thomson on commentary
They’ve actually sounded quite positive about Clarke whilst criticising the players
06-06-2025, 08:26 PM
Since the Germany game and the half time fall out the players haven't been playing for him. Time to go.
Subs have been different class.
06-06-2025, 08:29 PM
At least we’ve been able to get a decent look at Grant Hanley tonight
Hahaha!
Didn’t even bother to watch it but players like Hanley need to move on.
Just checked score and saw Scotland losing 3-1.
This national team will never move forward under Clarke.
Fresh ideas and players needed - simply not good enough friendly or not.
AugustaHibs
Since the Germany game and the half time fall out the players haven't been playing for him. Time to go.
What happened? First I’m hearing about it.
Should’ve gone 18 months ago
Trinity Hibee
Clarke isn’t helping himself here. As others have said, if you don’t experiment in a friendly when do you. Why call up Bowie, Doig and not give them a go particularly when the performance has been so poor here. We all know what Che Adams can do so why bring him on with 10 to go? Baffling.
Souttar isn’t such a crap defender and this keeper will never be seen in a squad again.
You’d hope so mate, but I’m pretty sure they were meaning it genuinely :rolleyes: Liam Macleod and Steven Thomson on commentary
They’ve actually sounded quite positive about Clarke whilst criticising the players
Don't think it was a positive point being made.
Billy McKirdy
06-06-2025, 08:30 PM
Just home, how’s Bowie played??
I’m a fan of Robertson, but why not give Doig the last 10 minutes and let him have the excitement of getting a Scotland cap
Same with Bowie, a chance to play at Hampden, but Clarke would rather give Adams another cap and learn nothing new at all
06-06-2025, 08:32 PM
Miller has looked quite comfortable, hope he starts next game.
Logie Green
06-06-2025, 08:33 PM
All those ch ch ch ch changes and ironically no sign of Bowie?
What happened? First I’m hearing about it.
Should’ve gone 18 months ago
Apparently there was a right rammy in the dressing room involving McGregor, Robertson and Clarke. Players didn't agree with his set up.
Victor
Just home, how’s Bowie played??
Took up a good position on the bench. His movement onto and off the bench at halftime was textbook.
It's a captivating watch in a slow motion car crash kind of way.
Don't think it was a positive point being made.
Was meaning more generally about the positive point. They seem to be quick to have a moan about square passes and losing possession, but much less criticism about the formation, lack of subs or lack of positive play or attempts to change it by Clarke
Jock O
06-06-2025, 08:34 PM
Thought even the commentators had went home early!
Up-the-slope
06-06-2025, 08:35 PM
Turned off ... endured enough. I have had dentist appointments more enjoyable than that... at least they are shorter
Stadium is like a morgue, can almost hear the players shouting to each other
Have never seen Mount Florida this busy before full time.
Billy McKirdy
Took up a good position on the bench. His movement onto and off the bench at halftime was textbook.
06-06-2025, 08:36 PM
so stevie
what have we learned against these giants of world football, ranked a highly 74th
Jock O
06-06-2025, 08:37 PM
And meanwhile a 38 year old DjoKovic goes out snarling and scampering, chasing every ball, despite having little chance of coming back. Sometimes we just have to face up to we produce far too few born winners.
Tully
06-06-2025, 08:38 PM
Clarke please resign
so stevie
what have we learned against these giants of world football, ranked a highly 74th
**** all and if he hadn't seen that coming he needs to resign.
Rough. Feels like it’s time, Stevie.
06-06-2025, 08:40 PM
Just home, how’s Bowie played??Totally anonymous to be honest
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Victor
06-06-2025, 08:41 PM
I’ve just realised Billy Gilmour is on the pitch! I would say is ‘playing’ but that would be wrong
06-06-2025, 08:41 PM
I get that feeling a lot with Clarke.
You can’t argue with his record at qualifying for stuff relative to a number of his predecessors.
But a lot of the time his selections and decisions baffle me and on the biggest stage his teams have fairly consistently disappointed.
I think a strong argument can be made that he’s had a quality of player at his disposal that his predecessors never enjoyed and I’d argue now that these teams have achieved in spite of him rather than thanks to him.
Previous managers have picked teams and got disappointing results where it’s been hard to see what more they might have done. I don’t get that with Clarke very often.
Bigger picture - it was only a friendly. But with so many competitive games there are few opportunities to be genuinely experimental. You want to come away from friendly games having learned as much as possible. Like you, I don’t know what he really expected to learn there?
We’ve been poor for a while now, but this feels like Bertie vogts level
06-06-2025, 08:42 PM
You wonder if Clarke might walk away.
It feels like time. Was it Keegan who walked away from England after a friendly defeat? To Germany maybe? Said he took the job because the fans wanted him and left because they didn't anymore.
It feels like time. Was it Keegan who walked away from England after a friendly defeat? To Germany maybe? Said he took the job because the fans wanted him and left because they didn't anymore.I think he's too arrogant and stubborn to walk away
He would need to be sacked
How bad is Liam McLeod. Ruins live games on the BBC
Did Conway touch the ball?
06-06-2025, 08:44 PM
I hate his need to shout for no reason.
we couldnae beat Farmfoods never mind Iceland
Get Steve Clarke so far to ****.
babahibs
06-06-2025, 08:45 PM
Clarke should've been emptied after the Euros, we're going to regret keeping him on.
I think Clarke's time is up.
Musselbound
Surely not the main culprit tonight?
ShadesLongThrow
06-06-2025, 08:46 PM
Keeper was poor but not a single senior player puts his arm round him at full time. This isn’t a team. It’s a collection of individuals. Really poor show.
06-06-2025, 08:47 PM
we couldnae beat Farmfoods never mind Iceland
Give them a Lidl leeway....
Cabbage-Patch
I think he's too arrogant and stubborn to walk away
Hes never walking away, Too arrogant to do so. You kind of half hope Liechtenstein get some sort of Result next week which would make his position untenable.
Robertson looks absolutely shell shocked in his post match interview. That alone should be enough to make the SFA pull the trigger tonight.
Given the choice I'd watch Hibs first 10 league games of last season back to back than rewatch this game once
It feels like time. Was it Keegan who walked away from England after a friendly defeat? To Germany maybe? Said he took the job because the fans wanted him and left because they didn't anymore.
He’s done but he won’t walk away and we won’t sack him, yet. We’ll let him make a mess of World Cup qualification first.
This isn’t a one off or out of the blue now. The lead up to the Euros was poor. The Euros were poor. Since the Euros it’s been poor and, in the case of the last two games, dreadful.
Keeper was poor but not a single senior player puts his arm round him at full time. This isn’t a team. It’s a collection of individuals. Really poor show.
Was just going to post that. Really poor. Robertson was absolutely shocking tonight as well, not for the first time.
I think he's too arrogant and stubborn to walk away
For all we’re pish, there’s a World Cup qualifying campaign about to start.
No Scottish manager is going to walk away from the chance to take Scotland to the World Cup in North America.
I don’t know if it’s stubbornness or arrogance but he’ll have the self-belief he can do it.
06-06-2025, 08:48 PM
Given the choice I'd watch Hibs first 10 league games of last season back to back than rewatch this game once
Steady 😂
06-06-2025, 08:48 PM
What the hell is he going to learn about players with substitutions like Conway and Adams. You could forgive him if he played all the new boys and got that result, although they would have been better than that. Robertson McGinn were shocking Tierney not much better. Hanley should he nowhere near the squad. The movement is poor far too pedestrian.
06-06-2025, 08:49 PM
Let’s see if Big Ange fancies it.
Musselbound
06-06-2025, 08:50 PM
Turned off ... endured enough. I have had dentist appointments more enjoyable than that... at least they are shorter
I also gave up before the end which I rarely do. I know people will say this is a friendly which doesn't matter too much. There doesn't seem much point to this game (or the next) but Clarke has lost me now. There needs to be a massive improvement in the autumn or we could quickly find ourselves out of World Cup contention.
06-06-2025, 08:53 PM
much more balanced game on monday against the worlds 205th ranked side
hopefully
06-06-2025, 08:54 PM
much more balanced game on monday against the worlds 205th ranked side
hopefully
I'd take a draw now.
ED Hibee
06-06-2025, 09:03 PM
It would be good to get these games back onto Viaplay
06-06-2025, 09:08 PM
At least we don’t need to look for flights to the USA next year.
That was pitiful, I know it was end of season friendly but that was bloody awful. Clarke needs to take a very serious look at his performance as manager. :rolleyes:
Clarke really does need to go, calls up these youngsters and then won't play them because he's chasing his tail against Iceland at home so puts on Che Adams (who will now definitely start against leicestein).
His blind loyalty to certain players is scary. Get him out before we're thoroughly embarrassed by Denmark and Greece in the qualifiers.
Also pathetic that we have pundits on tv who are scared to speak the truth, beating about questions and not just saying what most of us are thinking.
ionahibby
06-06-2025, 09:09 PM
I feel for the gk. not one competitive game under his belt as first team gk and that balloon Clarke thinks he should be good enough for international football.
06-06-2025, 09:18 PM
Dear me, no thank you.
06-06-2025, 09:27 PM
Players must be fuming playing these friendlies after a season is done
06-06-2025, 09:31 PM
Wee ange from eastenders would be just as good as Clarke
Awful and well past his sell by date
2 absolute dead rubbers and you stick with bringing on che Adams when 2 young strikers are sitting there desperate to get on you’d imagine
Dinosaur
06-06-2025, 09:31 PM
Players must be fuming playing these friendlies after a season is done
Iceland players won’t be. They’ll have had a great night.
Folk actually paid £40 to watch that.
06-06-2025, 09:32 PM
Surely to God that’s Clarke done? What’s the point of him staying?
06-06-2025, 09:41 PM
Surely to God that’s Clarke done? What’s the point of him staying?
Clarke loyalists will forever say he got us to two finals
Wears absolute thin when both were as miserable as each other
Time for a change
All good things and all that…
06-06-2025, 10:18 PM
What Clarke has achieved, given the lack of achievement before him, is commendable. I hadn't seen Scotland in a finals since France 98 until he took over - that being said, a degree of luck helped him out, but finals are finals.
However, I don't feel like we're a team continuing to progress. Indeed, the 'golden age' is absolutely ripe right now and if anything, we're going backwards (at best, sideways). We have generational talents in this current side in Robertson (nearing his twilight years, granted), Gilmour, McTominay, McGinn, Tierney, Ferguson...a good coach would find a way to maximise this level of quality, but as someone above said, it constantly feels like a team of individuals.
That poor keeper made all sorts of mistakes tonight and not one senior player put an arm around him at any point and tried to lift him. Absolute self-interest all across the park. He had no business being thrown into that game tonight giving his limited experience - as soon as he made the first mistake for their first goal, his head was gone...
I don't necessarily see anyone available who would be an immediate upgrade on Clarke right now but I can definitely see us ****ting the bed in WQ qualification unless something gives.
06-06-2025, 10:26 PM
What Clarke has achieved, given the lack of achievement before him, is commendable. I hadn't seen Scotland in a finals since France 98 until he took over - that being said, a degree of luck helped him out, but finals are finals.
However, I don't feel like we're a team continuing to progress. Indeed, the 'golden age' is absolutely ripe right now and if anything, we're going backwards (at best, sideways). We have generational talents in this current side in Robertson (nearing his twilight years, granted), Gilmour, McTominay, McGinn, Tierney, Ferguson...a good coach would find a way to maximise this level of quality, but as someone above said, it constantly feels like a team of individuals.
That poor keeper made all sorts of mistakes tonight and not one senior player put an arm around him at any point and tried to lift him. Absolute self-interest all across the park. He had no business being thrown into that game tonight giving his limited experience - as soon as he made the first mistake for their first goal, his head was gone...
I don't necessarily see anyone available who would be an immediate upgrade on Clarke right now but I can definitely see us ****ting the bed in WQ qualification unless something gives.
Another example of how goalkeeping is played 95% between the ears. If his head is in the right place, and hes in a good environment, a decent junior or lowland level keeper would perform at a clearly better level than the supposedly professional player managed tonight.
Id rather Kieron Bowie had **** all to do with the Scotland setup, there’s something not right, why not give the keeper a wee hug or a shake, nobody did.
06-06-2025, 10:27 PM
Watched it on i player and fast forwarded through the last 35 minutes stopping about 3 times to see of we had gotten back into the game.
If you ask me we would have been better letting the players go on holiday and have a rest than expose them to a game they clearly didn't want to be playing. As inept a performance as I've seen from a Scotland team, and that's saying something.
As for the goalkeeping situation, are we really saying our options are 1) a guy who doesn't have a club ... 2) a guy who is 42 years old and even his own clubs fans are saying he's past it .... 3) a guy who hasn't even played a full game of first team football for his club.
I feel really sorry for the guy, absolutely chucked under the bus by a manager who did him no favours putting him into a Scotland squad when he clearly wasn't ready.
Paul1642
06-06-2025, 10:27 PM
I get that feeling a lot with Clarke.
You can’t argue with his record at qualifying for stuff relative to a number of his predecessors.
But a lot of the time his selections and decisions baffle me and on the biggest stage his teams have fairly consistently disappointed.
I think a strong argument can be made that he’s had a quality of player at his disposal that his predecessors never enjoyed and I’d argue now that these teams have achieved in spite of him rather than thanks to him.
Previous managers have picked teams and got disappointing results where it’s been hard to see what more they might have done. I don’t get that with Clarke very often.
Bigger picture - it was only a friendly. But with so many competitive games there are few opportunities to be genuinely experimental. You want to come away from friendly games having learned as much as possible. Like you, I don’t know what he really expected to learn there?
This hits the nail for me. Clarke is living off good previous results that are increasing long ago, but the room for improvement is clear to all. Consistently playing a player who can’t secure a starting place for a 3rd tier club (Hanley), whilst Tierney has played a handful of minutes recently. Hirst isn’t even a starter for Ipswich ffs, but by far the most inexcusable the keeper.
Sure, Clarke probably never planned on playing him, but having a player who has never played a senior game in his life is completely unacceptable. Poor laddie just had the worst professional debut imaginable and that’s entirely on Clarke.
I am genuinely unaware of any players in history who made their professional debut for Scotland, or even any other international side for that matter. Utterly bizarre and Clarke needs to go.
Unless your at one of Europe’s very top clubs and being kept out by superstars, nobody who isn’t playing consistently for their club should be in the international setup.
06-06-2025, 10:50 PM
Clarke said in his interview that Gordon is injured, Clark is injured, Kelly is injured, McRorie and Gunn both got injured tonight.
He said McKenna from Bournemouth will travel. I won't bore everyone again with how much I rate him but another lad with only a handful of 1st team games. Who else do you ask? Scott Bain and Ross Doohan seem the obvious but doubt either are available now.
The worry is you now have to start Slicker again and really knock him. Or he bounces back in style.
06-06-2025, 10:54 PM
Slicker bounces back in style.
I would actually love this classic redemption arc.
06-06-2025, 10:59 PM
There are obviously players missing tonight that make us better when available but I genuinely feel like Clarke is wasting rather than getting the most out of the squad now. Come the qualifiers we should have some real quality to choose from.
Goalkeeper is obviously an issue but RB we have Hickey (EPL), Patterson (EPL), Johnstone (Austrian Bundesliga). CB we have Tierney (EPL until recently), McKenna (La Liga) and Hendry (Saudi). LB we have Robertson (EPL), Doig (Serie A) and Hickey and Tierney as well. Midfield you have McGinn (EPL), McTominay, Ferguson and Gilmour (all Serie A), Doak and Christie (both EPL). Then striker is another issue but we have a group of young lads we could try and mould into the side to be functional rather than a superstar.
There are managers who would love that pool to work with. If it was performing close to the sum of it's parts then we'd have a good shout at qualifying. Mr Glum is the problem now.
Paul1642
06-06-2025, 11:01 PM
Clarke said in his interview that Gordon is injured, Clark is injured, Kelly is injured, McRorie and Gunn both got injured tonight.
He said McKenna from Bournemouth will travel. I won't bore everyone again with how much I rate him but another lad with only a handful of 1st team games. Who else do you ask? Scott Bain and Ross Doohan seem the obvious but doubt either are available now.
The worry is you now have to start Slicker again and really knock him. Or he bounces back in style.
Just anyone at all who has played senior matches. It’s slim pickings but Nicky Hogarth of Falkirk? It’s better than a young laddie with zero senior starts.
K-Zazu
06-06-2025, 11:40 PM
Anyone know what the whole point of playing Lichtenstein in a friendly in June is?
06-06-2025, 11:43 PM
What the hell is he going to learn about players with substitutions like Conway and Adams. You could forgive him if he played all the new boys and got that result, although they would have been better than that. Robertson McGinn were shocking Tierney not much better. Hanley should he nowhere near the squad. The movement is poor far too pedestrian.
100% this, was saying the exact same to my Son…
Sair yin that was…
07-06-2025, 02:12 AM
He now has a worse win % than Leveins….. worse than Mcleish, and worse than Strachan.
His PPG in competitive games is the same as Levein, 0.19 worse than Strachan, 0.17 worse than Smith but better than Mcleish in his second spell. Considering we achieved the finals it paints a picture of how bad we’ve been since that peak.
Can’t see how a squad with that quality can do so bad, beginning to think that we achieved the finals in spite of Clarke rather than because of him.
Bridge hibs
07-06-2025, 05:22 AM
Anyone know what the whole point of playing Lichtenstein in a friendly in June is?
So we can test our up and coming stars such as Hanley, Gordon and McLean, the futures bright under Clarkes stewardship
As alluded to already on this thread a few players last night were probably thinking sun, sea and s******g rather than playing football, a few who have had long seasons and need a break.
07-06-2025, 06:35 AM
He now has a worse win % than Leveins….. worse than Mcleish, and worse than Strachan.
His PPG in competitive games is the same as Levein, 0.19 worse than Strachan, 0.17 worse than Smith but better than Mcleish in his second spell. Considering we achieved the finals it paints a picture of how bad we’ve been since that peak.
Can’t see how a squad with that quality can do so bad, beginning to think that we achieved the finals in spite of Clarke rather than because of him.
There is context to be applied there though.
One of the reasons he had a poor win % is he took on such difficult friendlies trying to prepare us for major championships and the top European League, which we did well to qualify for, Clarke deserves credit for those achievements and I think the reason to take on such difficult friendlies was understandable, even if hindsight tells us they didn’t really do us or him any favours.
That said, I think it’s clear as day that we would benefit from a fresh set of ideas, it’s all very stale and clearly not working any more.
If Clarke leaves now it would be for the best all round imo. He gets to leave while pointing to a pretty successful period for Scotland but he also leaves on his own terms before it gets toxic.
07-06-2025, 06:41 AM
Stadium is like a morgue, can almost hear the players shouting to each other
leaving complete sections empty while packing out others is the daftest idea ever. It just kills the atmosphere.
07-06-2025, 07:06 AM
Just anyone at all who has played senior matches. It’s slim pickings but Nicky Hogarth of Falkirk? It’s better than a young laddie with zero senior starts.
Ross Laidlaw ? At least the guy has 200 odd first team appearances.. just put someone in goal who has actually played and has experience.
07-06-2025, 07:48 AM
What happend to Robby McCrorie?
07-06-2025, 07:52 AM
Ross Laidlaw ? At least the guy has 200 odd first team appearances.. just put someone in goal who has actually played and has experience.
Can't get a game for Ross County. That's how bad things are if he's our only option with experience who's played fairly recently. Scott Bain has more experience but look at how he performed when chucked in against us.
What happend to Robby McCrorie?
Injured in the warm up according to Clarke
Trinity Hibee
07-06-2025, 08:03 AM
More than ever, people calling for Clarke to go. The team seem flat now after that fantastic euros campaign. Since then it’s been poor overall. Think we need fresh ideas now
07-06-2025, 08:14 AM
Really? I got the complete opposite vibe from them. They were openly saying that there would be understandable calls for change and for him to go. Also that there was a disconnect between manager, players and fans.
07-06-2025, 08:18 AM
More than ever, people calling for Clarke to go. The team seem flat now after that fantastic euros campaign. Since then it’s been poor overall. Think we need fresh ideas now
I think a lot of people are now seeing the team is less than the sum of it's parts under him. There are problem areas but on the whole this squad should be better than recent results. It should have been better at the Euros, we were by far and away the worst team in the competition but we didn't have the worst squad. The whole defence of him now seems to be a golden 5 game period 18+ months ago.
Playing Hanley then bringing Adams on last night when it was a chance to look at options in problem positions was about the final straw for me. McKenna playing in La Liga every week? Aye let's stick Grant Hanley in. Bowie and Wilson on the bench? Che get warmed up mate.
He's taken us as far as he ever will. We all enjoyed the trip to Germany but it's time for a fresh set of eyes or it will be a long wait to be doing it all again. If Clarke gets the first 2 or 3 games of the WC qualifiers we are done. Everyone knows it.
Really? I got the complete opposite vibe from them. They were openly saying that there would be understandable calls for change and for him to go. Also that there was a disconnect between manager, players and fans.
For large parts I felt that, although I did feel it shifted later on to including him in the criticism (after I’d posted that post), as it became obvious that he wasn’t going to give anyone rather than miller a debut, and the performance didn’t show any signs of improvement.
Definitely felt early on they were focussed on the team for criticism, without mentioning him much in the same way. The comments about calls for change felt like they were coming later on in the match, may have missed comments earlier.
07-06-2025, 08:42 AM
I think a lot of people are now seeing the team is less than the sum of it's parts under him. There are problem areas but on the whole this squad should be better than recent results. It should have been better at the Euros, we were by far and away the worst team in the competition but we didn't have the worst squad. The whole defence of him now seems to be a golden 5 game period 18+ months ago.
Playing Hanley then bringing Adams on last night when it was a chance to look at options in problem positions was about the final straw for me. McKenna playing in La Liga every week? Aye let's stick Grant Hanley in. Bowie and Wilson on the bench? Che get warmed up mate.
He's taken us as far as he ever will. We all enjoyed the trip to Germany but it's time for a fresh set of eyes or it will be a long wait to be doing it all again. If Clarke gets the first 2 or 3 games of the WC qualifiers we are done. Everyone knows it.
He should have been away after the Euros. It was really poor leading up to the Euros, really poor during them and it’s got worse since.
The approach in the Hungary game alone, when we had a chance to make history, should have seen him gone.
Unfortunately, there is no way they will make a change before the World Cup campaign and no way he’ll walk either.
I feel for the gk. not one competitive game under his belt as first team gk and that balloon Clarke thinks he should be good enough for international football.
Should never have been in the squad let alone on the bench, then.