View Full Version : Players who dont look like footbalers.

05-06-2025, 08:06 PM
I know he's a world cup winner, but the Chelsea full back who plays for Spain Cucurella, just does not look like a footballer to me, even though he clearly is, I cant take him seriously.:greengrin

Any others? :greengrin

05-06-2025, 08:09 PM
Jan Moltby

05-06-2025, 08:15 PM
Tony Higgins

05-06-2025, 08:17 PM
Modric. Always think he looks like a guy who'd struggle to kick a ball.

But what a player. Love that.

05-06-2025, 08:21 PM
Benny

Cat Stanton
05-06-2025, 08:27 PM
Pat Nevin

Edinburgh Green
05-06-2025, 08:29 PM
Charlie Adam and Jan Koller

stuart-farquhar
05-06-2025, 08:29 PM
Carlton Palmer

05-06-2025, 08:31 PM
Ed de Goey

05-06-2025, 08:34 PM
Crouch....

....and a certain Conrad Logan.

Bob Box Fish
05-06-2025, 08:34 PM
Harry mckirdy

05-06-2025, 08:35 PM
Dave McPherson, Huns and Jambos…….. possibly the most unlikely and awkward footballer I’ve ever seen.

Donegal Hibby
05-06-2025, 08:36 PM
Anyone in maroon :greengrin

05-06-2025, 08:48 PM
Carter-Vickers looks like a middle/light heavyweight boxer.

05-06-2025, 08:50 PM

As does Rocky 👍

05-06-2025, 08:54 PM
Jim Scott

05-06-2025, 08:56 PM

Thought he was a Celtic fan that had won a raffle when I first clapped eyes on him

05-06-2025, 08:57 PM
Derek Townsley

05-06-2025, 09:00 PM
Conrad Logan

05-06-2025, 09:01 PM
Ally Scott. Always remember a disgruntled Hibby shouting at him that he ran like Max Wall[emoji16]

Ribs1875
05-06-2025, 09:12 PM
Controversial one here. Lewis Stevenson when he broke out at hibs looked like an enter shikari fan rather than a footballer. I am sure he got ripped by his team mates for his taste on music over the years.

05-06-2025, 09:14 PM
Messi,looks like the wee guy that would be last pick when picking sides.

Just_Jimmy
05-06-2025, 09:49 PM
Messi,looks like the wee guy that would be last pick when picking sides.You're Gordon Strachan and I claim my prize!

[emoji23]

Sent from my SM-S931B using Tapatalk

King Cosell
05-06-2025, 10:06 PM
Derek Townsley

Good shout.

05-06-2025, 10:11 PM
Derek Townsley

Really nice guy - spoke to him once in Club Mercado! Later on Riordan ended up in a pagger with someone next to the bar.

05-06-2025, 10:21 PM
You're Gordon Strachan and I claim my prize!

[emoji23]

Sent from my SM-S931B using Tapatalk
Yes I was always picked last as well.😁

05-06-2025, 10:54 PM
Martin Boyle

05-06-2025, 10:55 PM
Anyone with a moustache these days.

05-06-2025, 11:00 PM
Crouch....

....and a certain Conrad Logan.

I can’t believe it took so long :greengrin
Surely its the obvious answer. I honestly couldnt believe my eyes when he boomshakalaka’d out at hampden. And changed everything.

05-06-2025, 11:44 PM
I can’t believe it took so long :greengrin
Surely its the obvious answer. I honestly couldnt believe my eyes when he boomshakalaka’d out at hampden. And changed everything.

Arrived slightly late to my mates flat in Kilburn for the Utd semi. He told me about this Conrad Logan guy in goal. First sighting I literally spat my beer out and shouted "who the f is this guy?" 🤣

The day got better!

06-06-2025, 01:32 AM
Razor Ruddock

06-06-2025, 03:28 AM
Onet time HeRts linked Thomas Brollin.

06-06-2025, 03:29 AM
The Mali magician…

06-06-2025, 03:43 AM
Ted McMinn that the auld yins will remember.

sauzee1989
06-06-2025, 04:28 AM
Drey wright looked like he won a competition to play, and played like that too.

Skol
06-06-2025, 05:33 AM
Colin Jackson

Bridge hibs
06-06-2025, 05:34 AM
Drey wright looked like he won a competition to play, and played like that too.

Made a good career of it by being *****, wouldnt mind swapping places with him

06-06-2025, 05:56 AM
John Robertson (the Nottingham Forest one).

06-06-2025, 07:15 AM
Bojang ?! 🤷

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-06-2025, 07:29 AM
Bojang ?! [emoji1745]

Bit harsh, Bojang was on fire for a bit [emoji91][emoji91]

06-06-2025, 07:58 AM
Alex (ex Chelsea guy)

Thatdayinmay16
06-06-2025, 08:22 AM
Stevie Fulton, what an atrociously looking hearts b******

leith lynx
06-06-2025, 08:34 AM
Leigh Griffiths.

06-06-2025, 12:59 PM
Mick Quinn

06-06-2025, 01:09 PM
Ally Scott. Always remember a disgruntled Hibby shouting at him that he ran like Max Wall[emoji16]

Scored one of my favourite goals against the huns though, but he did look a bit Red Dragon type serial killer.

06-06-2025, 01:21 PM
Scored one of my favourite goals against the huns though, but he did look a bit Red Dragon type serial killer.[emoji16] once scored off his knee from about a yard out as well.

06-06-2025, 01:31 PM
Jeroen Verhoeven, Dutch keeper form the 2000s, was at Ajax for a bit. Made Conrad Logan look malnourished.

Also Iniesta looked like a 55 year old when he was in his early 20s. If he walked past me in the street I'd be more likely to think he was going to ask me to sign up for monthly donations to an animal charity or sell me an IT package rather than believing he scored the winner in a world cup final and was the best midfielder of his generation.

DIXIHIBS
06-06-2025, 01:39 PM
Archie Gemmill...

06-06-2025, 01:46 PM
Claudio Gentile a mafia hitman

06-06-2025, 02:04 PM
All goalkeepers

06-06-2025, 02:05 PM
Willo Flood, looked like the love child of ET and Gollum.

Ribs1875
06-06-2025, 02:26 PM
Willo Flood, looked like the love child of ET and Gollum.

He is a living fossil of a guy.

06-06-2025, 02:29 PM
Davy Dodds looked like the worlds sparring partner

Ribs1875
06-06-2025, 02:34 PM
Although not a footballer, footballing journalist Graham Spiers! I don't know why he and his posh Scottish accent got put on TV/radio for Scottish football. He would be more suited to rugby or cricket.

06-06-2025, 02:35 PM
Adama Traore, looks more like a weight lifter than a footballer.

Victor
06-06-2025, 02:37 PM
Laurence Shankland. Is he a footballer?

zitelli62
06-06-2025, 02:38 PM
Davie dodds don't know what he looked like.

06-06-2025, 03:02 PM
Davy Dodds looked like the worlds sparring partner[emoji23][emoji23]

06-06-2025, 03:56 PM
Although not a footballer, footballing journalist Graham Spiers! I don't know why he and his posh Scottish accent got put on TV/radio for Scottish football. He would be more suited to rugby or cricket.

Because he is the best journo we have got

OstKurve Hibs
06-06-2025, 04:18 PM
Harold brattback, sure he was a pilot aswell.

Ribs1875
06-06-2025, 04:33 PM
Because he is the best journo we have got

Your joking!

LithgaeHibby
06-06-2025, 04:39 PM
Terry Hurlock

06-06-2025, 05:11 PM
Harold brattback, sure he was a pilot aswell.

His best form was in January

06-06-2025, 06:15 PM
His best form was in January
I see what you did there :greengrin

gringojoe
06-06-2025, 06:30 PM
Ally McLeod and Andy Ritchie both looked liked they had been dragged out the terraces to play.

06-06-2025, 06:44 PM
Ally McLeod and Andy Ritchie both looked liked they had been dragged out the terraces to play.Great shout both, very much from a time when I was at more than a few games. Would still pay money to see them both take a free kick.

Mind Ally scoring one and getting told to retake it so he did and scored again.

He was what a Hibs player should be[emoji23] Happy days.

06-06-2025, 06:47 PM
Great shout both, very much from a time when I was at more than a few games. Would still pay money to see them both take a free kick.

Mind Ally scoring one and getting told to retake it so he did and scored again.

He was what a Hibs player should be[emoji23] Happy days.

Ally was deceptive he was slower than he looked

Class act

George Best couldn’t lace his boots

06-06-2025, 06:49 PM
Ally was deceptive he was slower than he looked

Class act

George Best couldn’t lace his bootsGeorge wouldn't have been able to see the holes to get the laces through[emoji6]

leith lynx
06-06-2025, 09:03 PM
Nobby Styles

Hibees1973
06-06-2025, 09:09 PM
Bobby Charlton with the comb over.

06-06-2025, 09:12 PM

Great player though

06-06-2025, 09:24 PM
Anyone mentioned the Scotland keeper that came on tonight on this thread yet?

06-06-2025, 09:52 PM
Darren Jackson: All good until he started running…ran like a wee lassie in a stage musical!

Nowt personal, loved the guy to bits, particularly in a Hibs and Scotland jersey.

06-06-2025, 10:09 PM
Terry HurlockMy pick too.

Sent from my Tab 12 Pro using Tapatalk

06-06-2025, 11:21 PM
Robert Prosinecki

Bridge hibs
07-06-2025, 03:12 AM
My pick too.

Sent from my Tab 12 Pro using TapatalkWas he not a Japanese sumo wrestler ?

07-06-2025, 07:24 AM
Was he not a Japanese sumo wrestler ?[emoji23]

I think that was Mai Pik Tu, if I recall correctly

Bridge hibs
07-06-2025, 08:20 AM
[emoji23]

I think that was Mai Pik Tu, if I recall correctly

Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkAh good shout, Mai Pik Tu Paatelainen

07-06-2025, 08:22 AM
Ah good shout, Mai Pik Tu Paatelainen[emoji23]
I'm going for a lie down

07-06-2025, 08:56 AM
I know he's a world cup winner, but the Chelsea full back who plays for Spain Cucurella, just does not look like a footballer to me, even though he clearly is, I cant take him seriously.:greengrin

Any others? :greengrin

Andy Ritchie.

number7
07-06-2025, 09:03 AM
Alexi Lalas

MacGruber
07-06-2025, 09:20 AM
Chic Charnley

leith lynx
07-06-2025, 10:42 AM

All time great but Ralph Coates surely beats him in the comb over stakes, honourable mentions to Drew Jarvie and Brandon Barker!

07-06-2025, 12:36 PM
All time great but Ralph Coates surely beats him in the comb over stakes, honourable mentions to Drew Jarvie and Brandon Barker!Ralph was the man[emoji106]

Eclipsed only by Sir Bobby's footballing brilliance but when it came to keeping the combover going with nothing but a rake and a tin of yacht varnish he couldn't match Ralph.

Honourable mention for Henry Hall of St. Johnstone and Dundee utd.

07-06-2025, 01:03 PM
The Legend Conrad Logan

leith lynx
07-06-2025, 01:26 PM
Ralph was the man[emoji106]

Eclipsed only by Sir Bobby's footballing brilliance but when it came to keeping the combover going with nothing but a rake and a tin of yacht varnish he couldn't match Ralph.

Honourable mention for Henry Hall of St. Johnstone and Dundee utd.

Not a player but ex Man City owner Peter Swales modelled a swirl of great magnitude, Dick Advocat was another one.

07-06-2025, 01:31 PM
Not a player but ex Man City owner Peter Swales modelled a swirl of great magnitude, Dick Advocat was another one.Aye, Peter Swales was right up there as an outstanding candidate. Wasn't scared to apply a bit of the old cherry blossom boot polish either.

leith lynx
07-06-2025, 02:25 PM
Francis Lee, great wee player, could throw a good punch as well!

07-06-2025, 02:28 PM
Lee Johnson

Bridge hibs
07-06-2025, 02:48 PM
Cammy Devlin 28881

07-06-2025, 07:12 PM
Steve Fulton

Billy Bunter 07
07-06-2025, 07:25 PM
Not a player but a manager - Gareth Ainsworth.

07-06-2025, 07:51 PM
Nade or Zeefuik for them, Harper for us.

davemcbain
07-06-2025, 09:42 PM
4 pages in and nobody mentions Dirk Lehmann #pornstar

I must be old!

08-06-2025, 06:24 AM
Yilmaz

08-06-2025, 06:34 AM
Souter at Hearts, looks like pub player.

Bridge hibs
08-06-2025, 07:15 AM
Souter at Hearts, looks like pub player.

He has been with the rangers for 3 years

Billy McKirdy
08-06-2025, 09:24 AM

I raise you Tom English

08-06-2025, 10:14 AM
Steve McManaman.

stu in nottingham
08-06-2025, 12:44 PM
From a previous era, two all-time greats:

Ferenc Puskás, his size and rotund shape belied his greatness. eight-four goals in eight-five international matches.

Garrincha, born disabled with a curved spine. His left leg was 6cms shorter than his right one. His right leg bent outwards while his left leg bent inwards.

Another shout for John Robertson of Forest who was a pretty unlikely looking footballer but nevertheless a complete magician on the ball. I once remember Clough referring to him as 'our corpulent outside-left'. :greengrin

08-06-2025, 12:59 PM
From a previous era, two all-time greats:

Ferenc Puskás, his size and rotund shape belied his greatness. eight-four goals in eight-five international matches.

Garrincha, born disabled with a curved spine. His left leg was 6cms shorter than his right one. His right leg bent outwards while his left leg bent inwards.

Another shout for John Robertson of Forest who was a pretty unlikely looking footballer but nevertheless a complete magician on the ball. I once remember Clough referring to him as 'our corpulent outside-left'. :greengrinRobbo is still a favourite of my forest supporting mate, says he was the fastest player over one yard he's ever seen. Played with his head[emoji16]

stu in nottingham
08-06-2025, 02:38 PM
Robbo is still a favourite of my forest supporting mate, says he was the fastest player over one yard he's ever seen. Played with his head[emoji16]

He was the quickest betweeen his ears, that's for sure!

They've just erected a statue for him in Viewpark, greatly deserved.

https://sportylive360.com/2025/06/02/nottingham-forest-legend-john-robertson-honored-with-statue-in-his-ho/?fbclid=IwY2xjawKyf2ZleHRuA2FlbQIxMABicmlkETBQb1da YzRQcWNXV2VQUjZZAR4WfytMmF5fqAZtNHt1jJUct0xzSXdmwj gEUTUnJGmHcroH2nE8BStW2dJTPA_aem_FRjJ2O_IP5Nj5hDuv 2HerQ

08-06-2025, 03:31 PM
He was the quickest betweeen his ears, that's for sure!

They've just erected a statue for him in Viewpark, greatly deserved.

https://sportylive360.com/2025/06/02/nottingham-forest-legend-john-robertson-honored-with-statue-in-his-ho/?fbclid=IwY2xjawKyf2ZleHRuA2FlbQIxMABicmlkETBQb1da YzRQcWNXV2VQUjZZAR4WfytMmF5fqAZtNHt1jJUct0xzSXdmwj gEUTUnJGmHcroH2nE8BStW2dJTPA_aem_FRjJ2O_IP5Nj5hDuv 2HerQCheers for that, have sent on to my man in Balderton[emoji6]

08-06-2025, 05:27 PM
Just remembered Paul Cairney.....

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk

09-06-2025, 12:26 PM
Controversial one here. Lewis Stevenson when he broke out at hibs looked like an enter shikari fan rather than a footballer. I am sure he got ripped by his team mates for his taste on music over the years.

Shirley that's not a bad thing as many football players' musical taste is in their erse!

09-06-2025, 12:39 PM
Laurence Shankland. Is he a footballer?

For Shankland and Griffiths the phrase "sniper's dream" comes to mind - although to be fair, both have been seriously potent marksmen in their own right.

If you asked me what they both look like though - I would say the ******* offspring of a Mekon out of Dan Dare (pictorial evidence attached ......

09-06-2025, 01:59 PM
Jim Craig Celtic looked like your local dentist.

leith lynx
09-06-2025, 03:17 PM
Jim Craig Celtic looked like your local dentist.

Which he was.