View Full Version : Why is it so hard to find footage of the 1979 Scottish Cup final?

Hibspur
30-05-2025, 08:38 PM
I was a wee boy when this game was played and I remember being at some sort of summer fete in Stockbridge (possibly at the rugby or the cricket ground) and the game was being shown in the clubhouse bar. A pal and I tried to sneak in to watch it but got chased out every time we peered in. I also remember being allowed to sit up and listen to the replays on the radio and the tears running down my face when Arthur Duncan scored that own goal.

But any attempt since to find any proper footage has yielded next to nothing except some brief, fuzzy snippets on Youtube (which do at least include the Colin Campbell stonewall penalty). Search for any other cup finals around that time and you'll find plenty of footage. What's the issue?

There's a great photo of poor Arthur scoring the 'winner' here (in what is a lovely article BTW. Anyone know who wrote it?):

https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/13058503.redemption-song/

wallpaperman
30-05-2025, 09:56 PM
I was a wee boy when this game was played and I remember being at some sort of summer fete in Stockbridge (possibly at the rugby or the cricket ground) and the game was being shown in the clubhouse bar. A pal and I tried to sneak in to watch it but got chased out every time we peered in. I also remember being allowed to sit up and listen to the replays on the radio and the tears running down my face when Arthur Duncan scored that own goal.

But any attempt since to find any proper footage has yielded next to nothing except some brief, fuzzy snippets on Youtube (which do at least include the Colin Campbell stonewall penalty). Search for any other cup finals around that time and you'll find plenty of footage. What's the issue?

There's a great photo of poor Arthur scoring the 'winner' here (in what is a lovely article BTW. Anyone know who wrote it?):

Same as you I remember listening to the replays on the radio in my bedroom (I was 10) and being pretty upset losing to an own goal.

Watched the first game on the tv, really should have won it from memory. Something makes me think there was cameras at the second replay for highlights, I feel like I have seen grainy footage, but I could be imagining it.

30-05-2025, 10:10 PM
There is a clip of the Colin Campbell penalty we didn't get somewhere, but it's not easily found.

I wonder why...

31-05-2025, 06:18 AM
Same as you I remember listening to the replays on the radio in my bedroom (I was 10) and being pretty upset losing to an own goal.

Watched the first game on the tv, really should have won it from memory. Something makes me think there was cameras at the second replay for highlights, I feel like I have seen grainy footage, but I could be imagining it.

If might be wrong but I think it was the first Scottish Cup Final to be shown live on TV. Maybe one of the reasons the attendance was so low. We travelled through to all three games and the bottle of champagne that travelled with us was opened on the bus after the last game anyway , with a **** it!

31-05-2025, 06:43 AM
Was at the first game as a 10 year old, can’t remember much except the booing of the national anthem by the Hibs fans before the start, and being told by the older ones not to look or engage with any huns on the way out. Remember loads of buses having their windows tanned in, must have been a chilly ride home for some.

DIXIHIBS
31-05-2025, 07:28 AM
Was at the first game as a 10 year old, can’t remember much except the booing of the national anthem by the Hibs fans before the start, and being told by the older ones not to look or engage with any huns on the way out. Remember loads of buses having their windows tanned in, must have been a chilly ride home for some.

Not glorifying violence but Hibs fans leathered the Huns at that game. Unfortunately at the two replays the Hun took their vengeance. The buses certainly took a hammering as well.

31-05-2025, 08:29 AM
I was 13. My maternal grandfather had taken me to Easter Road a few times so I was a Hibby, meanwhile my dad, a Jambo, was more of a pub and the bookies man on a Saturday.

I was badgering my dad to take me to a game and he fobbed me off with the old "if Hibs get to the final I'll take you" probably safe in the knowledge there was little or no chance of getting there. Well, lo and behold, lol

So, a man of his word, he got us tickets and on to the packed Eastern Scottish double decker bus leaving from the Silver Wing in Sighthill. It was so exciting.I remember the bus moving so slowly in Glasgow due to traffuc that guys were jumping off for a pee and able to catch the bus up.

On arrival at game dad took us the wrong way round to our seats in stand. Me all scarfed up walking through hordes of Huns. Dad was hating all the abuse we got.

As for the game, it's a bit of a blur but I seem to remember them missing a penalty and us being denied a stonewaller. I mean, literally the dictionary definition of a stonewaller. I couldn't believe it. Welxome to good old Scottish fitba.

However, my most vivid memory is the aftermath on the way back to the bus. It was like Vietnam. Chaos everywhere. Dad had me in front of him using his overcoat to shield me from missiles. The guy who got us tickets, walking beside us resplendant in pinstripe high waisters, tank top and perm, I remember a Rangwrs fan grabbing him by his curls and kneeing him in the face.

Onto the bus and I had to get under the seat whilst my dad had to stand in the aisle as near every single window got panned in on the way out of Glasgow.

My dad, who had survived his ship sinking in the war, hated the violence and swore he'd never take me to another game, and he never did. Me however, I was hooked.

31-05-2025, 09:21 AM
There is a clip of the Colin Campbell penalty we didn't get somewhere, but it's not easily found.

I wonder why...

https://youtu.be/5GNIcayXleU?si=syUZX5JsiD4gM8xI

Cat Stanton
31-05-2025, 09:24 AM
The first game was live on BBC1 as all the finals were. So footage must exist.

There was a highlights package of the second game (Sportscene - was it still called that then?) with Archie MacPherson still doing the commentary. So again, footage must be somewhere.

I remember being at the 3rd game, and looking for highlights after it - but there wasn't any. After two games of no goals, they'd given up.

green with envy
31-05-2025, 10:06 AM
I hitched home from my first Wembley aged 17 just in time to make my work on the Monday morning and then jumped on a supporters bus from the Hibs club for the second replay. My parents thought I'd been in an accident in London until I rolled in around midnight after that game.

31-05-2025, 10:07 AM
I was 13. My maternal grandfather had taken me to Easter Road a few times so I was a Hibby, meanwhile my dad, a Jambo, was more of a pub and the bookies man on a Saturday.

I was badgering my dad to take me to a game and he fobbed me off with the old "if Hibs get to the final I'll take you" probably safe in the knowledge there was little or no chance of getting there. Well, lo and behold, lol

So, a man of his word, he got us tickets and on to the packed Eastern Scottish double decker bus leaving from the Silver Wing in Sighthill. It was so exciting.I remember the bus moving so slowly in Glasgow due to traffuc that guys were jumping off for a pee and able to catch the bus up.

On arrival at game dad took us the wrong way round to our seats in stand. Me all scarfed up walking through hordes of Huns. Dad was hating all the abuse we got.

As for the game, it's a bit of a blur but I seem to remember them missing a penalty and us being denied a stonewaller. I mean, literally the dictionary definition of a stonewaller. I couldn't believe it. Welxome to good old Scottish fitba.

However, my most vivid memory is the aftermath on the way back to the bus. It was like Vietnam. Chaos everywhere. Dad had me in front of him using his overcoat to shield me from missiles. The guy who got us tickets, walking beside us resplendant in pinstripe high waisters, tank top and perm, I remember a Rangwrs fan grabbing him by his curls and kneeing him in the face.

Onto the bus and I had to get under the seat whilst my dad had to stand in the aisle as near every single window got panned in on the way out of Glasgow.

My dad, who had survived his ship sinking in the war, hated the violence and swore he'd never take me to another game, and he never did. Me however, I was hooked.

I was 9 and there with my Dad, Uncle and their friends.

I just remember it being total carnage and it rained bottles and coins. Never been so scared in my life.

Anything and everything that wasn’t tied down was thrown at buses, cars and whatever mode of transport Hubs fans were in.

We were on the train as my dad and co worked for railway so they got free transport. I remember being in the middle of 8 massive guys trying to protect me from what my Dad described decades later as an onslaught of pure violence and hatred.

31-05-2025, 10:27 AM
I was at all 3 games, but I can't remember the trouble.

Mind you, getting the windows tanned in was a fairly regular occurrence in those days so maybe it didn't register with me enough to stick.

Of course, we were on the Hawkhill bus so Maude probably had it camouflaged or something. :greengrin

He's here!
31-05-2025, 10:37 AM
If might be wrong but I think it was the first Scottish Cup Final to be shown live on TV. Maybe one of the reasons the attendance was so low. We travelled through to all three games and the bottle of champagne that travelled with us was opened on the bus after the last game anyway , with a **** it!

I don't think that's the case - although I may also be wrong. I just had a quick look on YouTube and you can find extensive footage of the 1977, 1978 and 1980 finals but not 1979. It does seem odd. Has the film gone missing?

31-05-2025, 10:42 AM
We were going for the train but when we arrived at Haymarket it was rammed with Huns looking for bother. So we went back to my mate's house, ditched our Hibs t-shirts and changed into neutral colours and just made another train.

Re the 3rd game it was said that BBC Glesca had run out of money so no highlights.

31-05-2025, 10:43 AM
I don't think that's the case - although I may also be wrong. I just had a quick look on YouTube and you can find extensive footage of the 1977, 1978 and 1980 finals but not 1979. It does seem odd. Has the film gone missing?

1977 was the 1st televised final as far as I can recall.

He's here!
31-05-2025, 10:54 AM
We were going for the train but when we arrived at Haymarket it was rammed with Huns looking for bother. So we went back to my mate's house, ditched our Hibs t-shirts and changed into neutral colours and just made another train.

Re the 3rd game it was said that BBC Glesca had run out of money so no highlights.

That wee snippet from YouTube shows a couple of the goals from the 3rd game though, so there must gave been cameras there. My (very vague) memory is of being at home and the BBC news cutting to some live action from the game. It had become quite newsworthy due to the fact it seemed we were never going to get a winner. Definitely listened to the rest on the radio.

Hibs had to play Rangers again that season in a final league game. By that time (early June?) nobody could be bothered and I'm sure the crowd was about 2k as we beat them at ER.

31-05-2025, 11:10 AM
A different era but going through to Hamdump back in the late sixties early seventies versus the Huns was always full of sectarian violence and as a 13 year old you had to keep your wits about you and your scarf up your dukes

I can remember one semi final we totally dominated them easy Brownlie scored the winner the chant went up ‘ You’re gonna get your *****ing heads kicked in ! ‘ Sure enough in a puff of ash the Rangers end was deserted and they were waiting on us outside I do not think any supporters buses arrived back in Edinburgh with their windows intact Animals!

Hibs back then were different class we beat them twice in Glasgow in a week just before they won the ECWC totally outclassing them

Rangers from that time have left their mark on me and I have always held a total dislike and hatred towards that club and everything they stand for

It is now 2025 and still it continues nothing has changed and it was no different in 1979 and 1991 /92 LCSF for that matter

MartinfaePorty
31-05-2025, 11:16 AM
1978 final was definitely live, as about 10 of us young kids went to my mate's house to watch it and after 5 mins got kicked out by his parents, who had no idea we were all there! He had assured us beforehand they were OK with it.

Sent from my SM-S721B using Tapatalk

Earlydelivery
31-05-2025, 11:30 AM
Was at all 3 games easily the worst violence I’ve ever seen following Hibs

Musselbound
31-05-2025, 11:31 AM
1977 was the 1st televised final as far as I can recall.

Yes, that's the first I remember watching when Andy Lynch scored a pen after a dubious handball. Nothing new then! Wikipedia says this was the first televised final since 1955, which would make sense being the first we remember.

ruthven_raiders
31-05-2025, 12:13 PM

Most blatant penalty never given, remember screaming at the tv at the time...my dad wouldn't let me go, the trouble at the games in the 70s makes the casual scenes look like a picnic...

31-05-2025, 12:49 PM
Yes, that's the first I remember watching when Andy Lynch scored a pen after a dubious handball. Nothing new then! Wikipedia says this was the first televised final since 1955, which would make sense being the first we remember.Stanton won his Scottish Cup medal in that game.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

31-05-2025, 01:45 PM
Got arrested at the first game for having the cheek to wear a Hibs scarf in Glasgow, as thats all i can think i was doing wrong for the hun to arrest me and spend the night in the cells.:rolleyes:

He's here!
31-05-2025, 01:51 PM
Yes, that's the first I remember watching when Andy Lynch scored a pen after a dubious handball. Nothing new then! Wikipedia says this was the first televised final since 1955, which would make sense being the first we remember.

Lynch joined Celtic from Hearts. Think he played in the 7-0 game.

Musselbound
31-05-2025, 02:26 PM
Stanton won his Scottish Cup medal in that game.

Yeah I noticed he was in the line up!

Musselbound
31-05-2025, 02:27 PM
Lynch joined Celtic from Hearts. Think he played in the 7-0 game.

I forgot that. I'd have been a bit too young to remember.😀

31-05-2025, 03:00 PM
Was at all 3 games easily the worst violence I’ve ever seen following Hibs

I would agree with you. I was at all 3 games, with Wembley sandwiched in between. The trouble after the 1st game was the worst i have ever seen. Don't think a bus got back without at least one window being put in. Hibs fans chased and attacked all over the place. The Huns were well assisted by Strathclyde's finest who stood back and watched

Hibspur
31-05-2025, 05:24 PM
Another TV-related question I'd ask is why is footage of our 1973 League Cup final win is in black and white when the Scottish Cup and Drybrough Cup finals earlier the same year between the same opponents is in colour, as is the 7-0 game just a few weeks later? Footage of the 1971 and 1973 finals is in colour.

31-05-2025, 05:34 PM
Another TV-related question I'd ask is why is footage of our 1973 League Cup final win is in black and white when the Scottish Cup and Drybrough Cup finals earlier the same year between the same opponents is in colour, as is the 7-0 game just a few weeks later? Footage of the 1971 and 1973 finals is in colour.

Glorious Technicolor

https://youtu.be/61sF6aEGT4M?si=RIRCsHLS1BiuiOQ3

31-05-2025, 05:37 PM
I did all 3 games as well. The 3rd game I was in the old South Stand. My dad was on night shift starting at 10.30pm, so we had to leave early and listen in the car on the way home
Fortunately he was with me in 2016 to witness Hibs winning the Scottish Cup

31-05-2025, 05:43 PM

Depends where STV or BBC has their main cameras, Ayr races always too priority for STV.

Hibees1973
31-05-2025, 06:58 PM
I was 12 at the time and this was my first visit to Hampden.

My dad was a Hearts supporter and he didn't take me through to any games at Hampden prior to this one. Much as we were a good side in the 70s there were not that many visits to Hampden between 1974 - 1979.

Suppose I was maybe a bit young for the visits to Hampden prior to 1974, but I suspect now my Dad was reticent about taking me through to Glasgow due potential trouble.

For the 1979 final my Dad took me through with 3 or 4 of his work colleagues who were all Hibs supporters. We went in one of the other guys car. I do remember trouble on the way home sitting in the car. Can vividly remember sitting in traffic and a Hibs coach pulled alongside us. A couple of Hibs supporters at the side of the road were getting leathered by around a dozen huns. Well, loads of Hibs supporters jumped out of the back door of the coach. Enough anyway to even up the score. What ensued was terrifying, bottles smashed on heads, guys knocked unconscious. As our car pulled away in the traffic it was still going on.

I had seen a bit of trouble at games prior to this, but not on this level.

31-05-2025, 07:30 PM
The attendance was incredibly small for a Cup Final between Hibs and Rangers.

Hibees1973
31-05-2025, 07:37 PM

It was a reflection of attendances at the time in Scottish football and the violence at football games.

It must be said also that the Hibs team were on the decline from the heights of the early 70's, which resulted in relegation the following year.

He's here!
31-05-2025, 08:12 PM

Still over 50k. 110k across the three games. But yes, smallish for cup finals at the old Hampden. The following year was the Old Firm riot which sparked the moves to get alcohol banned at games.

He's here!
31-05-2025, 09:32 PM
Glorious Technicolor

Wow, don't think I've seen that before.

Wonder if the club did some digging with the TV companies to unearth that. Or has it been colourised? Looks like the real thing tho.

31-05-2025, 10:18 PM

My dad was a Hearts supporter and he didn't take me through to any games at Hampden prior to this one. Much as we were a good side in the 70s there were not that many visits to Hampden between 1974 - 1979.

Suppose I was maybe a bit young for the visits to Hampden prior to 1974, but I suspect now my Dad was reticent about taking me through to Glasgow due potential trouble.

For the 1979 final my Dad took me through with 3 or 4 of his work colleagues who were all Hibs supporters. We went in one of the other guys car. I do remember trouble on the way home sitting in the car. Can vividly remember sitting in traffic and a Hibs coach pulled alongside us. A couple of Hibs supporters at the side of the road were getting leathered by around a dozen huns. Well, loads of Hibs supporters jumped out of the back door of the coach. Enough anyway to even up the score. What ensued was terrifying, bottles smashed on heads, guys knocked unconscious. As our car pulled away in the traffic it was still going on.

I had seen a bit of trouble at games prior to this, but not on this level.
Sent away to the SFA for centre stand tickets or tickets for the part of the stand housing Hibs fans. Got tickets delivered a few days days before the final. Guess what the sent us tickets for the stand housing Rangers fans. Asked the police if we could move to another part of the ground, told us no chance. Had our colours on so went through the turnstiles just before kick off. We were greeted with abuse and went up to the back row of the stand. Then another six Hibs fans from Liverpool joined us they ran a gauntlet of abuse as well. The guys from Liverpool were craping themselves.
About 15 minutes into the game a Rangers fan from a few rows down came up the steps and started talking to my dad at the end of the row. Turns out the played in the same junior team 30 years previously. Sat with us for the rest of the game. We all got out unscathed. Saw lots of damaged buses on the way back to Edinburgh. In the replay thought the shot from. Brown was going in but it hit the post. Whatever happened to him.

The worst doings given to opposition fans by Rangers fans was the 76 final against Hearts quite a few stretchers took injured Hearts fans away.
Today's games are like a Sunday School picnic in comparison.

31-05-2025, 11:30 PM
Wow, don't think I've seen that before.

Wonder if the club did some digging with the TV companies to unearth that. Or has it been colourised? Looks like the real thing tho.

Naw went to Pat Stanton’s Birthday party at the Usher Hall had 0-7 and the 1972 League Cup Final in colour every goal was celebrated as if we were seeing it for the very first time and Bobby Duncan’s goal against Naples got further and further out every time he told us just had to do a wee bit digging

31-05-2025, 11:48 PM
Sent away to the SFA for centre stand tickets or tickets for the part of the stand housing Hibs fans. Got tickets delivered a few days days before the final. Guess what the sent us tickets for the stand housing Rangers fans. Asked the police if we could move to another part of the ground, told us no chance. Had our colours on so went through the turnstiles just before kick off. We were greeted with abuse and went up to the back row of the stand. Then another six Hibs fans from Liverpool joined us they ran a gauntlet of abuse as well. The guys from Liverpool were craping themselves.
About 15 minutes into the game a Rangers fan from a few rows down came up the steps and started talking to my dad at the end of the row. Turns out the played in the same junior team 30 years previously. Sat with us for the rest of the game. We all got out unscathed. Saw lots of damaged buses on the way back to Edinburgh. In the replay thought the shot from. Brown was going in but it hit the post. Whatever happened to him.

The worst doings given to opposition fans by Rangers fans was the 76 final against Hearts quite a few stretchers took injured Hearts fans away.
Today's games are like a Sunday School picnic in comparison.

Went to the Hesrts v Rangers 1976 Scottish Cup Final witnessed a lot of violence between the two club’s’ supporters was unreal saw a group of Huns throwing a jambo off a bridge into the Clyde IIRC Derek Johnstone scored before the official kick off time 3pm as the Ref started the game too early ended up 3-1 official attendance 76000

31-05-2025, 11:48 PM
Naw went to Pat Stanton’s Birthday party at the Usher Hall had 0-7 and the 1972 League Cup Final in colour every goal was celebrated as if we were seeing it for the very first time and Bobby Duncan’s goal against Naples got further and further out every time he told us just had to do a wee bit digging

Naples game was on STV but the TV company erased the film along with a lot of other football coverage of the time.

31-05-2025, 11:50 PM
Naples game was on STV but the TV company erased the film along with a lot of other football coverage of the time.

Would love to see Sporting Lisbon 6-1

Quality

01-06-2025, 01:36 AM
Would love to see Sporting Lisbon 6-1

Quality

No cameras at that game😡😡

01-06-2025, 06:36 AM

I think a lot of STV archive film from that time was accidently lost in a fire .

01-06-2025, 07:27 AM

I had seen a bit of trouble at games prior to this, but not on this level.Group of us went to the 3 games, was 19 at the time, first 2 games we went by bus but for the 3rd travelled by train. Bit of hostility at the bus parking and on the way to and from but now know we were lucky not to endure worse.

Didn't encounter any trouble that was out the ordinary on the train journey personally but on the way back there were a group of Hibbies at Mount Florida (?) two of whom looked like they'd have been better going to the hospital than getting on a train.

I still regard McCloy's flying tackle on Colin Campbell as one of the worst examples of cheating in a major Hibs game I've seen, Mind you the 12th hun on the pitch that day was the legendary Bobby Davidson, right up there with Craig Thomson giving Hearts their penalty in 2012.

01-06-2025, 08:07 AM
So little Scottish football footage pre-1980 compared to England. There’s disparity now but BBC Scotland and STV really were the poor relations back then.

Hibspur
01-06-2025, 12:02 PM
So little Scottish football footage pre-1980 compared to England. There’s disparity now but BBC Scotland and STV really were the poor relations back then.

I think the disparity is greater now. Back in the 70s we had Match of the Day and its equivalent on ITV (The Big Match?), while in Scotland we had Sportscene and Scotsport. As far as I recall, each of these programmes showed extended highlights of one game, nothing more. We also had live coverage of the FA Cup final and the Scottish Cup final, plus possibly the European Cup final. That was it.

There's plenty of footage of pre-1980 football in Scotland if you look on YouTube - except for the 1979 Scottish Cup final!

01-06-2025, 01:01 PM
Strange coincidence this thread coming up, I just found my ticket for the first game. The price was £1.50.

01-06-2025, 01:04 PM
Group of us went to the 3 games, was 19 at the time, first 2 games we went by bus but for the 3rd travelled by train. Bit of hostility at the bus parking and on the way to and from but now know we were lucky not to endure worse.

Didn't encounter any trouble that was out the ordinary on the train journey personally but on the way back there were a group of Hibbies at Mount Florida (?) two of whom looked like they'd have been better going to the hospital than getting on a train.

I still regard McCloy's flying tackle on Colin Campbell as one of the worst examples of cheating in a major Hibs game I've seen, Mind you the 12th hun on the pitch that day was the legendary Bobby Davidson, right up there with Craig Thomson giving Hearts their penalty in 2012.

Referee was Brian McGinlay

01-06-2025, 01:06 PM
Referee was Brian McGinlayWho was a ****.

01-06-2025, 01:12 PM
Went to the Hesrts v Rangers 1976 Scottish Cup Final... official attendance 76000

That kind of highlights the point I was making earlier about how low the attendance was at the '79 final, a drop of around 22,000 in the space of three years.

I expect, as others have already pointed out, that a lot of people were getting fed up with the level of violence at games.

DIXIHIBS
01-06-2025, 01:23 PM
That kind of highlights the point I was making earlier about how low the attendance was at the '79 final, a drop of around 22,000 in the space of three years.

I expect, as others have already pointed out, that a lot of people were getting fed up with the level of violence at games.

Only need to go back another few years to 1972....106,000.

Hibspur
01-06-2025, 01:37 PM

There were only 54k at the Celtic v Rangers Scottish Cup final in 1977, but 61k at the 1978 final between Rangers and Aberdeen. Were Rangers perhaps going for the treble in 76 and 78, which would explain the higher attendances?

Bottom line, by the late 70s going to football had become an unpleasant, sometimes dangerous experience for a lot of fans. The stadiums were crumbling dumps and alcohol-fuelled violence was a regular thing. It wasn't just games against Rangers or Celtic. My dad was reluctant to take me to Edinburgh derbies, which were almost always beset by crowd trouble in those days - even in an East of Scotland Shield game I recall. It was also a low ebb for quality on the pitch, prior to the rise of Aberdeen and Dundee United.

The alcohol ban was a long-overdue measure, although it didn't stem the rise of the casuals in the 80s.

Very different times the 70s. 1974 League Cup final between Celtic and Dundee was attended by only 27k. Strikes/power cuts meant the game kicked off at 1.30pm to save using the floodlights and the weather was so awful that few Dundee fans made the trip.

01-06-2025, 01:47 PM
I was 19 and attended all three games. My two abiding memories:

1) Not seeing a single Hibs bus on the way home after the 3rd game without a window panned in ... including ours.

2) As I went towards the stairs up to the east terracing there was a wee laddie about 9 or 10 sitting on the bottom step. He took a draw on his fag looked up at me and said "****** the virgin Mary"

01-06-2025, 01:53 PM
Referee was Brian McGinlay[emoji106]The passage of time hasn't been good to me[emoji23]

Once attended a dinner where he was on the top table, hun through and through.

Hibspur
01-06-2025, 02:48 PM
Glorious Technicolor

That's fantastic, thanks.

Long time since I watched the highlights. We really could have been four or five goals up before Celtic pulled one back. That Alan Gordon effort off the line...a couple of inches either way.

We had some tremendous tacklers in that team! What a colossus Pat Stanton was.

Hibspur
01-06-2025, 02:50 PM

Most definitely that, but Hibs had also undergone a dramatic decline in quality since the break-up of the Tornadoes and we would be relegated the following season.

Earlydelivery
01-06-2025, 02:58 PM
The first game was the smallest support I’ve ever seen at a cup final ‘ be lucky if we had about 12k

01-06-2025, 09:25 PM
The first game was the smallest support I’ve ever seen at a cup final ‘ be lucky if we had about 12k

I was there with my girlfriend but no idea about crowd size but it wasn’t busy as had loads of space round us

DIXIHIBS
02-06-2025, 05:52 AM
I was there with my girlfriend but no idea about crowd size but it wasn’t busy as had loads of space round us

The crowd was 50k odd which would fill Hampden today. Capacity then would have been nearer 100k so about half full.

02-06-2025, 06:47 AM
I think I can just bookmark this thread for whenever people complain about us not being allowed alcohol at games.

02-06-2025, 07:00 AM
I think I can just bookmark this thread for whenever people complain about us not being allowed alcohol at games.

It was over 40 years ago.

Hibspur
02-06-2025, 04:18 PM

Younger fans will find it hard to imagine just how insane those days were, with fans allowed to carry cases of beer, bottles of whisky/spirits on to the terracing...and relieving themselves where they pleased!

That was when I first started watching football, so I'm assuming the trouble really took off in the 70s? If alcohol was allowed in the grounds prior to that there doesn't appear to have been anything like as much violence.

05-06-2025, 10:42 AM
Younger fans will find it hard to imagine just how insane those days were, with fans allowed to carry cases of beer, bottles of whisky/spirits on to the terracing...and relieving themselves where they pleased!

That was when I first started watching football, so I'm assuming the trouble really took off in the 70s? If alcohol was allowed in the grounds prior to that there doesn't appear to have been anything like as much violence.

It was great planning how Hampden had ash terracing as it soaked up the pish coming from the higher up terracing.