View Full Version : Match Updates Scottish Cup Final Aberdeen v Celtic
badabing67
24-05-2025, 01:21 PM
I thought we should have a dedicated thread considering what is riding on this game for Us
The only thing that interests me about this game is the final score.
Looks like Aberdeen have set up not to get beaten with a back 5 and two sitting midfielders.
I fully expect them to try and frustrate Celtic and foul at every opportunity.
Early Celtic goal would mean they’d need to come out and play.
Someone else(think it was Col) on another thread asked if it was desperation or a master stroke. I think it’s desperation.
24-05-2025, 01:57 PM
Looks like Aberdeen have set up not to get beaten with a back 5 and two sitting midfielders.
I fully expect them to try and frustrate Celtic and oil at every opportunity.
Early Celtic goal would mean they’d need to come out and play.
Someone else(think it was Col) on another thread asked if it was desperation or a master stroke. I think it’s desperation.
I fully expect Shinnie to be doing a double shift, kicking anything in green that moves AND refereeing the match. :greengrin
24-05-2025, 01:58 PM
The only thing that interests me about this game is the final score.
Agree, but trapped by not having anything better to do but watch it.
24-05-2025, 01:59 PM
For anybody concerned about dirty feelings as regards having a desired outcome of this game, remember we want Aberdeen to lose. Nothing else. That there has to be a winner is immaterial.
24-05-2025, 02:01 PM
Sensible by thelin to go defensive and move shinnie away from left back
Hope it fails spectacularly
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
24-05-2025, 02:03 PM
There's already a thread with about 200 posts on it
SJNB Hibby
24-05-2025, 02:03 PM
Sitting in Edmonton Alberta on my 3rd coffee----BBC just shut down the overseas Radio Commentary Link ---due to 'rights'----first, who then has got the rights???
2nd ----keep the updates coming please
24-05-2025, 02:04 PM
If I was an Aberdeen fan I'd already be worried about how much space Celtic are finding through midfield
Sheffield Utd v Sunderland on a stream 🤔
badabing67
24-05-2025, 02:06 PM
Easy every time Celtic do something good just think Mon the Hibs
24-05-2025, 02:07 PM
Well done Aberdeen fans with all those red shirts.
badabing67
24-05-2025, 02:07 PM
Got to admit decent turnout from the sheep
24-05-2025, 02:08 PM
Was thinking that. 50/50 split? Good on them
24-05-2025, 02:09 PM
Sheffield Utd v Sunderland on a stream 🤔
Okay, I'm protesting too much! Mon the hoops 🤮
24-05-2025, 02:11 PM
Easy every time Celtic do something good just think Mon the Hibs
Would be good if they put it out of sight early!
24-05-2025, 02:12 PM
Scales is a donkey
ShadesLongThrow
24-05-2025, 02:17 PM
Think Thelin should have started with Morris running at Scales. Definite weak link.
24-05-2025, 02:17 PM
Celtic free kick! :greengrin
badabing67
24-05-2025, 02:19 PM
Shocker eh
24-05-2025, 02:20 PM
Is there VAR?
badabing67
24-05-2025, 02:21 PM
Thought the Glasgow Hibs would of had a few decent chances by now
24-05-2025, 02:22 PM
Aberdeen are all over the place any time Celtic put the ball in their box
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Is there VAR?
There will be.
Celtic need to get a grip on this match.
Trinity Hibee
Sorry if covered, is McGrath injured?
Celtic are not on their game today so far. Aberdeen sitting very deep, penalties will suit them fine.
24-05-2025, 02:23 PM
Sorry if covered, is McGrath injured?Unavailable according to thelin
badabing67
Don't know, not heard anything other than he is not in the match day squad
Paul1642
Would really have liked Celtic to be ahead by now to settle the nerves, but at the same time, not seen anything from Aberdeen to change my belief that Celtic will win.
“Unavailable”
s2hart
Commentary said was unavailable no reason given.
24-05-2025, 02:24 PM
Poor game so far.
Celtic are not on there game today so far. Aberdeen sitting very deep, penalties will suit them fine.
Spookily enough I just mentioned that to someone. They’ve set up not to get beaten and hope for a set piece or indeed ET/penalties.
badabing67
24-05-2025, 02:25 PM
Seen worse than this tbf
24-05-2025, 02:25 PM
83 percent possession so for celtic
24-05-2025, 02:26 PM
Poor game so far.
Quarter of the game gone, no shots for either side.
Ralphy C
24-05-2025, 02:28 PM
dont recall them normally having so many fans at Hampden, certainly not against us anyway.
24-05-2025, 02:28 PM
Sunderland 1 nil down at Wembley
crash
24-05-2025, 02:29 PM
Aberdeen defending deep here.
badabing67
24-05-2025, 02:30 PM
Has Nisbet had a touch yet
24-05-2025, 02:31 PM
I'm ****ing myself
24-05-2025, 02:32 PM
Not quite the hammering everyone predicted
badabing67
24-05-2025, 02:32 PM
Still an hour to go m8
24-05-2025, 02:33 PM
Sunderland 1 nil down at Wembley
Remind me, do we want them to win or lose?
Paul1642
Yet… wish Celtic would get going soon though.
It's a matter of time. Aberdeen are offering nothing.
If I was an Aberdeen fan I'd be pissed off. Theyre just waiting on it happening. I know it's difficult but you've got to get into their half at some point and put a bit of pressure on them otherwise what's the point? The Celtic defence won't have had an easier 30 minutes in their lives.
Hibees1973
24-05-2025, 02:34 PM
Millions at stake for us here.
Aberdeen parking the bus.
Surely they cannot smash and grab this.
1875M
Aberdeen playing for penalties already.
ChicoM1875
This is a shan game. Bit of a borefest.
24-05-2025, 02:35 PM
Aberdeen doing a Hearts v them in semi. Nothing.
Aberdeen support looking good to be fair.
dalkeith stu
Sheep playing for pens already. If/when Celtic score they'll then need to come out and Celtic will then pull away!!
It's a matter of time. Aberdeen are offering nothing.
If I was an Aberdeen fan I'd be pissed off. Theyre just waiting on it happening. I know it's difficult but you've got to get into their half at some point and put a bit of pressure on them otherwise what's the point? The Celtic defence won't have had an easier 30 minutes in their lives.
All that matters is that they keep themselves at 0-0. They’d be delighted with penalties
24-05-2025, 02:36 PM
Sheffield Utd now 2-0.
VAR check though.
Edit: Offside - blocking goalie's view.
24-05-2025, 02:37 PM
Celtic playing poor imo
Aberdeen very well organised for a change
Paul1642
All this talk about playing for penalties. How often do Celtic play 120 mins without scoring.
They are probably going to need at least 1 goal to even take this to ET and so far Aberdeen are not offering that
badabing67
Remind me, do we want them to win or lose?
I dunno either I thought if Sunderland went up it would be easier for us, but a poster on an other thread said if Sunderland go up Triantis gets a big automatic pay rise. If true a bit of a fly in the ointment
All this talk about playing for penalties. How often do Celtic play 120 mins without scoring.
They are probably going to need at least 1 goal to even take this to ET and so far Aberdeen are not offering that
BBC stats showing Celtic with 83% possession.
24-05-2025, 02:38 PM
Be nice if Celtc could get an effort on target.
Sheep with no possession but comfortable sitting in.
24-05-2025, 02:39 PM
Dorrington turning into peak Harry Maguire there
24-05-2025, 02:40 PM
Celtic playing poor imo
Aberdeen very well organised for a change
Yes, Celtic been poor.
Yaaaas
Finally :greengrin
ErinGoBraghHFC
1-0. Where’s that passport?
badabing67
Maybe game opening up now
Yaaaaaas.
Tfft
Be nice if Celtc could get an effort on target.
Sheep with no possession but comfortable sitting in.
Annnnd, thank you.
“Unavailable”
Haha
Hibees1973
What do Aberdeen do now then.
Oh, we need to attack now.
24-05-2025, 02:41 PM
Celtic with all the possession but creating f all
Ha ha goal
badabing67
****in Yes mon the Glasgow Hibs
Trinity Hibee
Best goal Hibs haven’t scored
Dorrington turning into peak Harry Maguire there
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using TapatalkTwice in 2 minutes [emoji23][emoji6]
Good timing for the goal, Aberdeen will need to start trying to get forward more now so hopefully Celtic pick them off with another.
24-05-2025, 02:42 PM
Couldn't idah have headered that?
Paul1642
Yaaas. That’s Aberdeen’s gameplan goosed,m. Time for the floodgates to open.
Thank ****
Aberdeen have been absolutely dreadful here.
There's sitting back then there's just waiting on the inevitable coming.
That goal was probably cheered more by hibs fans than celtic players or their fans!
That could be game over now.
Aberdeen support looking good to be fair.
just seen a Inter Malamb SC flag. lol.
Phew
It was like a goal in pre season. Fans nor players celebrating like it's a goal in a cup final ffs
They can't even be bothering celebrating, despite the favour they are doing for their parent club.
24-05-2025, 02:43 PM
It was an clear og hence the muted celebration
Couldn't idah have headered that?
I didn’t realise Idah was playing until a few minutes ago.
24-05-2025, 02:45 PM
The lack of celebration from the celtic fans saddens me. It's not what football she be about.
That's a shocking decision
It was an clear og hence the muted celebration
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using TapatalkTbf if it was Hibs I'd be running around the park with my top off if it went in
Mind Campbell celebrating like he had scored a bullet header at tynie only for the replays to show it hitting off Rowles face [emoji23]
Cheating Aberdeen player there. Never touched the Aberdeen player in that tackle
badabing67
24-05-2025, 02:46 PM
just seen a Inter Malamb SC flag. lol.
Just seen it too
1875M
24-05-2025, 02:46 PM
Shinnie really is a horrible little ….
badabing67
24-05-2025, 02:47 PM
Shinne = noob
24-05-2025, 02:48 PM
Tbf if it was Hibs I'd be running around the park with my top off if it went in
I was doing that in my living room tbf
NC1875
24-05-2025, 02:49 PM
Shinnie really is a horrible little ….
🐀
24-05-2025, 02:49 PM
Hopefully Aberdeen have to venture forward more so leaving space behind?
24-05-2025, 02:51 PM
Aberdeen can’t be any worse. Hopefully opens up for Celtic second half
24-05-2025, 02:52 PM
Poor game but good score line for us and that’s what matters.
badabing67
Summer window opens 12th of June anyone know when our players are due back to start preseason
Donegal Hibby
Aberdeen have offered nothing .
Would have been so much better a McGrath o.g but I’ll take it
Nevi_SOL
24-05-2025, 02:57 PM
Think I celebrated it more than any Celtic player.
24-05-2025, 02:59 PM
The lack of celebration from the celtic fans saddens me. It's not what football she be about.
How ****ing weird was that!! Barely a ripple of applause. Must be boring as **** being a Celtic fan.
Horrible final to watch, terrible Aberdeen team playing anti football, 85% Celtic possession says it all.
Sean Maloney still sounding really boring when he opens his mouth.
24-05-2025, 03:01 PM
At last shinnie and Carter vickers given yellow cards.
24-05-2025, 03:02 PM
Maloney thinks Nisbet has been outstanding in the first half.
Maloney is also unemployed.
24-05-2025, 03:03 PM
😂 he's barely touched the ball! What a bizarre opinion to have.
24-05-2025, 03:04 PM
😂 he's barely touched the ball! What a bizarre opinion to have.
I was thinking as he walked off has he actually touched the ball?! 😂😂😂
24-05-2025, 03:04 PM
Horrible final to watch, terrible Aberdeen team playing anti football, 85% Celtic possession says it all.
Sean Maloney still sounding really boring when he opens his mouth.
The BBC match stats show both teams - zero shots on target. Both goalies - zero saves made. What an advert for Scottish football! :greengrin
I actually dozed off for about 10 mins in that half, woke up and they had scored.
24-05-2025, 03:07 PM
Just goes to show how good the 2016 cup final was, even for the neutrals. It had everything!
This is terrible. But all that matters is a Celtic win.
Paul1642
24-05-2025, 03:08 PM
Between the awful promotion playoffs, the bore fest of a Europa League final, and now this, I’ve been firmly reminded why I mostly just stick to Hibs games.
I actually dozed off for about 10 mins in that half, woke up and they had scored.
Watching this is like having blunt razor blades drawn across your eyeballs, eh? :agree:
The fella Jensen won a competition for a contract at Aberdeen. It's like watching Fraser Mullen
No wonder we barely had a shot on goal under him
24-05-2025, 03:12 PM
I'm sure these pundits just think of something that nobody would ever say to make them try and look as if they know more than your average football fan.
When in fact all it really does is make them come over as more of a dick than they clearly are, football fans are not stupid and know when they are being told *****.:greengrin
24-05-2025, 03:22 PM
Triantis is better than Bernardo and Engels
crash
24-05-2025, 03:24 PM
Celtic playing too slow, no urgency.
badabing67
24-05-2025, 03:25 PM
3 subs coming on for Celtic
24-05-2025, 03:27 PM
Is this the worst game of fitba in the history of the world?
24-05-2025, 03:27 PM
This game is here for Aberdeen
Celtic are in first gear, don’t look bothered and not playing great
24-05-2025, 03:28 PM
Is this the worst game of fitba in the history of the world?
I take it you didn’t watch Wednesday’s Europa League final?
24-05-2025, 03:29 PM
Idah is so so bad. Genuinely wouldn't take him for us
NC1875
24-05-2025, 03:29 PM
Celtic players on the beach already.
Would take Forrest at us for next season. Sure I read his contract is up ?
badabing67
24-05-2025, 03:30 PM
Ffs Celtic mon
24-05-2025, 03:31 PM
Celtic players on the beach already.
Would take Forrest at us for next season. Sure I read his contract is up ?
Pretty sure he's said he wouldn’t play for another Scottish team.
Bit nervous now.
Need a Celtic second goal to calm them again!
24-05-2025, 03:32 PM
I take it you didn’t watch Wednesday’s Europa League final?
I didn't! I know the chat is that it was horrible, and if it was worse than this I pity all who watched it.
NC1875
24-05-2025, 03:32 PM
Pretty sure he's said he wouldn’t play for another Scottish team.
Just checked and his contract is up next year. Signed a years extension
24-05-2025, 03:33 PM
I didn't! I know the chat is that it was horrible, and if it was worse than this I pity all who watched it.
Far worse than this mate. Trust me.
pollution
24-05-2025, 03:34 PM
End of season stuff
badabing67
24-05-2025, 03:37 PM
Sheep starting to get cramp which is going to happen if you play this game without the ball
You know the game’s crap when the commentators have to read out their list of statistics
Clock ticking down now…surprised Aberdeen haven’t seemed to have had any kind of go yet at all.
6 trebles in 9 years if celtic win. At what point does something have to give? Scottish football needs to be more competitive.
ChicoM1875
24-05-2025, 03:38 PM
Celtc are slack
24-05-2025, 03:39 PM
Anybody want in on the sweepstake for how long after the trophy lift that The Celtc End will be empty? Bagsie five mins.
badabing67
24-05-2025, 03:40 PM
Anybody want in on the sweepstake for how long after the trophy lift that The Celtc End will be empty? Bagsie five mins.
well they all got along way to go home
24-05-2025, 03:40 PM
Aberdeen finally going for it with the subs. 3-0 Celtic incoming
24-05-2025, 03:43 PM
Mayenda just equalised for Sunderland.
**** off
Ffs
Ffs
Ffs
FFS Celtic sleeping at the back, Schmeichel with a howler.
24-05-2025, 03:44 PM
Aw get to ****, man
skyehibee
Ffs
crash
Celtic have been crap
Mayenda just equalised for Sunderland.
Thanks, I was recording it to watch later
Jeez, Celtic have gone to sleep since the subs.
Horrific goalkeeping.
Paul1642
Bollox
badabing67
What the ****
24-05-2025, 03:45 PM
*****bag bottlers Celtic. **** off.
Dreadful defending from Taylor, pointing at someone else to deal with the problem. Go and ****ing sort it yourself.
Disaster
Paul1642
Cannot believe how poor Celtic have been.
Celtic deserve that, so complacent and utterly slack this half.
And there it is.
Celtc deserved that. They have been appalling in the last 10 minutes and not much better than that before hand. So many missed passes and hardly any movement. What was Scmichael doing
That's a howler
NC1875
Celtic have been crap. Just expected to turn up and win and then get away on there holidays.
That would be just our luck
Thanks, I was recording it to watch later
He'll still equalise then. :greengrin
OtleyHibs
Schmeichel makes an arse of that
Wake up celtic ffs
Fancy Aberdeen to win now I fear.
Paul1642
Very poor goalkeeping
ED Hibee
Just knew this would be the one match Celtic didn’t turn up for!
Oh ffs. what's Kasper doing?
tonyrougier123
24-05-2025, 03:46 PM
So slack Celtic, that’s all it’s took couple slack passes.
That is laughably ***** from Celtc. Done nothing but dick about and give the ball away for the last 15mins and now that from the keeper.
Mantis Toboggan
Celtic are consistently giving it away under no pressure. Goal has been coming. Could easily see Aberdeen winning this
Just knew this would be the one match Celtic didn’t turn up for!
They've been garbage
**** off, they've offered nothing the entire game and then get a total gift
Paul1642
Fancy Aberdeen to win now I fear.
We all fear this but hopefully it’s the kick up the arse Celtic need.
ChicoM1875
I hate Celtc
He'll still equalise then. :greengrin
Stick to this bloody match
24-05-2025, 03:47 PM
Celtic are utterly pish
24-05-2025, 03:48 PM
Celtic are good for nothing.
Always have been and always will be. Useless
FFS. Only one winner now unfortunately
Celtic have messed this up. Now a 10 min final.
ChicoM1875
"Aberdeen fans have overspilled in their exuberance". Can't remember the commentators being that gracious in 2016
badabing67
This is all set up for James Forrest surely
ChicoM1875
24-05-2025, 03:49 PM
Mikey bellend Stewart having a dig about Hibs
Still a great season.
"Aberdeen fans have overspilled in their exuberance". Can't remember the commentators being that gracious in 2016
Hardly the same lol
This is all set up for James Forrest surely
Let’s hope so
pollution
24-05-2025, 03:50 PM
3 1 Celtic I'd say
I wish Celtc were as crap as this when they played us. Maeda anonymous and the goalie chucking one in. Could go either way now.
Paul1642
Why? It’s 1-1
Celtic will score before extra time.
badabing67
Mikey bellend Stewart having a dig about Hibs
Saying what
LewysGot2
Sorry to break it but there only ever is one winner. 😉
Plenty to play for. Keep the faith. The Sheep are rank
Why can’t Celtic play like this when we play them.
ChicoM1875
Hardly the same lol
(Smiley face)
ChicoM1875
24-05-2025, 03:51 PM
Saying what
"Hibs fans will have their heads in their hands hehehe"
Why? It’s 1-1
Aberdeen have been the better team for the past 20 mins
1875M
Not wrong is he? Will cost the club £m’s
Hibees1973
Dearie me.
This hasn't turned out as expected.
badabing67
24-05-2025, 03:52 PM
Celtic score and his head will be in his hands
ChicoM1875
24-05-2025, 03:52 PM
Not wrong is he? Will cost the club £m’s
Aye, but we dinnae need to be reminded.
24-05-2025, 03:53 PM
Nah. Celtic will still win.
24-05-2025, 03:53 PM
Triple celtic sub after 60 mins was bizarre whereas aberdeen subs have positively impacted them
24-05-2025, 03:54 PM
Jeez how’s he missing that??
Maeda has to score there
dmc1875
Wasn’t a dig at all - he wasn’t laughing at us he just was stating facts that we’d have our heads in our hands, which we did.
Celtic will win this
That's a big save
Bernardo is utterly honking - and Maeda FFS !!!
Really can’t see Celtic winning this. Aberdeen will win on penalties
Trinity Hibee
Who’s ****ting themselves? Everything seems to be pointing to an Aberdeen win
Paul1642
Really has to be scoring that.
cameronw-hfc
24-05-2025, 03:55 PM
Trying to walk it in. How many times do they have space edge of the box and keep playing it out wide? Hit a bloody shot.
Aye ****ing MAEDA misses that ****ing chance. You'd have BURST THE NET IF IT WAS US YOU WERE PLAYING YOU ****ING BOTTLER
Who’s ****ting themselves? Everything seems to be pointing to an Aberdeen win
Me
dmc1875
Now the big save and big miss. This has a really bad feeling about it
Maeda should've scored there, sitter.
NC1875
Maeda scores that 99/100
ChicoM1875
Wasn’t a dig at all - he wasn’t laughing at us he just was stating facts that we’d have our heads in our hands, which we did.
Awright pal!
Mcbizz1998
This is going to end badly for us
Aberdeens name is on it, it seems.
Gutted, but group stage football is not impossible if we get a kind draw or two
badabing67
24-05-2025, 03:56 PM
Ffs
Ref giving Celtic very little
dmc1875
24-05-2025, 03:56 PM
Awright pal!
It wasn’t though? People having a go at Stewart for nothing 😂
The guy Morris has made a real difference to Aberdeen.
Just_Jimmy
24-05-2025, 03:57 PM
Gutted, but group stage football is not impossible if we get a kind draw or twoWe won't. We're hibs.
Sent from my SM-S931B using Tapatalk
The guy Morris has made a real difference to Aberdeen.
I was surprised they left it so late to bring him on
ChicoM1875
Awright pal. People like to argue for nothing
dmc1875
Just got to hope Celtic step up in extra time
1875M
He said nout wrong, people just like to moan. Every hibs fan will be sitting with their head in their hands. I really don’t see an issue.
pollution
24-05-2025, 03:58 PM
Help
Gutted, but group stage football is not impossible if we get a kind draw or two
This game is far from won.
Much rather no having to qualify.
I feel physically sick. I hate Celtic.
Extra time it is
Mcbizz1998
I ****ing hate these rats.
Extra time then.
24-05-2025, 03:59 PM
FFS. Useless plastic twats.
Hibees1973
It's mighty difficult getting European League stage football if we don't enter at the Europa League play-off stage.
Aberdeen have to lose this.
ChicoM1875
He said nout wrong, people just like to moan. Every hibs fan will be sitting with their head in their hands. I really don’t see an issue.
Christ. Make a flippant comment! You're moaning!
Well, the 11/1 rank outsiders force the certain winners to extra time.
I actually despise Maeda
NC1875
What a ****show from Celtic.
Had we made the final, they’d have been on top form no doubt.
chasitup
Don Robertson really makes some bewildering decisions. Brutal referee.
dmc1875
It's is mighty difficult getting European League stage football if we don't enter at the Europa League play-off stage.
Aberdeen have to lose this.
Yup. Celtic need to step up big time
badabing67
No way Aberdeen winning this now they are shot