View Full Version : Match Updates Scottish Cup Final Aberdeen v Celtic

Pages : 1 2 [3]

24-05-2025, 05:01 PM
Club better pump money in now. Aberdeen have a guaranteed £6m, Hearts have big money coming in.

Our owners need to back the club with big money in summer or we are falling behind Aberdeen and Hearts for years.

Both of those teams have had Euro money recently and done absolutely **** all. It’s not game changing in that sense, just a few great trips for their fans that we’ll likely miss out on now.

Club better pump money in now. Aberdeen have a guaranteed £6m, Hearts have big money coming in.

Our owners need to back the club with big money in summer or we are falling behind Aberdeen and Hearts for years.

Reactionary pish.

He's a very good player.

Would you have said the same if he scored a penalty?Yes. I said it before he even took a pentalty. Too much of a *****bag to leave Scottish football as he would be found out like he was countless times for Scotland and in European games for Celtic.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

That's disappointing, we just need to make sure were up there again next season and hope for a nicer draw in the play-offs.

24-05-2025, 05:02 PM
It's not btw.

Clearly is. Best player in the country by a distance

Wonder how it would feel to go through a season as a Hibs fan without getting a kick in the baws.

Clearly is. Best player in the country by a distanceAye if your eyes are painted on which seems to apply to plenty on this site tbh.

badabing67
Unseeded for 2nd QF round.

Is that right, 2nd QF round. of what?

24-05-2025, 05:03 PM

Absolute nonsense. Hearts have had way more money coming in than us for years and have **** all to show for it.

Europa league I think?

Europa League

LewysGot2

Europa

dmc1875

Europa league. I think we have to win that (unseeded), then go into yhe 3rd QF and if we win that, it’s the playoff round.

If we win the 2nd QF and lose the 3rd I think we drop into the Conference playoff.

It’s going to be a really tough ask

Mcbizz1998
24-05-2025, 05:04 PM
I hope anyone but Celtic (and hearts) win the league next season. If that means the Huns then so be it.

24-05-2025, 05:04 PM
I hope anyone but Celtic (and hearts) win the league next season. If that means the Huns then so be it.

Yup. Time for some humility, pricks.

24-05-2025, 05:05 PM
Having to start the season in July … brutal

Green-Hibee-7
24-05-2025, 05:07 PM
Congrats to Aberdeen. Nothing we could do to influence that other than having beaten Celtic at Parkhead. Is what it is. In many ways I’m actually surprised I allowed myself to get excited of the prospect of European football till Christmas. A massive ask now and very unlikely.

Brendan Rodgers manager of the year. Wow.

Hopefully some of our fans with Celtic leaning sympathies can fully join the rest of us of hating these cretins.

HendoDelivered
24-05-2025, 05:07 PM

Mate stop ****ting the bed man 😂 you did this when we were trying to secure third as well. What will be will be, chill oot.

24-05-2025, 05:08 PM
Well done Aberdeen, despite the effect on Hibs, Celtic were absolute dross

24-05-2025, 05:08 PM
Europa league. I think we have to win that (unseeded), then go into yhe 3rd QF and if we win that, it’s the playoff round.

If we win the 2nd QF and lose the 3rd I think we drop into the Conference playoff.

It’s going to be a really tough ask

Very likely the seeded teams we could face are.

Shakhtar Donetsk
Legia Warsaw
Partizan Belgrade
Anderlecht
CFR Cluj

24-05-2025, 05:09 PM
Some folk coming across very bitter. We had a great year, this does not change that. Yeah it's a bit **** but we just need to care for ourselves.

badabing67
24-05-2025, 05:09 PM
Having to start the season in July … brutal

Of course we do we have Rot Weiss on the 9th

24-05-2025, 05:11 PM
I do. Winning a final with 18% possession is a joke.

Crystal Palace did it last week with not much more possession than that.

Aberdeen did what they had to do, what practically every club has to do, when faced with a club that has 10X the resources they do. So fair f'ing play to them.

What let us down today was a Celtic team who clearly listened to everything said about this game in the last fortnight and thought they just had to turn up to win, as witness just the casual acceptance that it was simply the natural way of things when they went one up, it was as if they had scored against Annan Athletic in an early round league cup tie.

So well done Aberdeen and **** Celtic who can kiss their own f'ing multiple hoops and then mine.

24-05-2025, 05:11 PM
Some folk coming across very bitter. We had a great year, this does not change that. Yeah it's a bit **** but we just need to care for ourselves.

I think it’s more the impact on the type of player we can recruit, now we know that we don’t have guaranteed Euro games.

That will be the real impact.

Just_Jimmy
24-05-2025, 05:12 PM
Some folk coming across very bitter. We had a great year, this does not change that. Yeah it's a bit **** but we just need to care for ourselves.We did, we finished 3rd over the league season above aberdeen who finished 5th. They won a cup, and apparently thats better than 38 games.

Its a ***** rule.

Sent from my SM-S931B using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
24-05-2025, 05:12 PM
Disappointing result though we still had a remarkable season.

24-05-2025, 05:14 PM

Correct.

“The most Hibs thing ever” how is that? The most Hibs thing ever would’ve been finishing in the playoffs or getting relegated. This team pulled themselves up off the mat, went on a mental unbeaten run, beat Hearts home and away, beat Celtic, beat Rangers at Ibrox, beat Aberdeen home and away and finished 3rd.

We could not possibly ask any more from Hibs. Just because Celtic shat the bed doesn’t change how good our season was.

Aye missing the conference groups is a bit **** (if we do miss out that is) but how did that go for Hearts this season. Did the money completely transform them? Oh no, wait. They were utter dug*****.

Hibee Daft
Everyone take a breath, Aberdeen won and deserve that europa spot now. The Scottish cup is a better achievement than third.

Well done to Aberdeen.

It has still been a great season for us to get third and we were also unfortunate we had to play Celtic away in the cup.

Jock O
I think it’s more the impact on the type of player we can recruit, now we know that we don’t have guaranteed Euro games.

That will be the real impact.

It is a huge impact, but one that was totally out of our hands really, Other than winning the cup.

We just need to finish at least 3rd and win the cup, then we don't give a toss about a ridiculously complacent arrogant Celtic. I spent the second half of extra time on hoping they lost. They deserved nothing else.

Hibees1973
That’s that ****ed for us then

It is indeed Stuart93. Can forget about the league stage football in the Europa League and Conference League up until Christmas. Would only give us a 5% of getting there.

Would have to win 3 two legged ties to qualify for the Europa League stage (8 league games up to Christmas). If we lose one on the Europa League two legged ties we fall into the Conference League qualifying stages and possibly another 2 legged ties to quaiify for the Conference League phase (6 league games up to Christmas).

We will come across a biggie at one point in any scenario.

Whatever way you look at it Aberdeen are the big winners today.

D-I-S-A-S-T-E-R

24-05-2025, 05:16 PM
I complain often enough about the lack of competition in Scottish football so can't complain about the result today, and there are still so exciting European games to look forward to.

ED Hibee
24-05-2025, 05:18 PM

100% I’m bitter about this. We never ever get a Celtic team like that turn up against us in a Cup Final. This I think is the last season in a while that 3rd place get guaranteed group stage football and of course it is the one season we end up third and lose out to team in 5th place!

24-05-2025, 05:22 PM

If there is bitterness it is very much directed at Celtic who were as heavy favourites for a cup final against a fellow premiership team as they have ever been and contrived to be absolutely gash on the day.

This isn't Hibs fault and it certainly isn't Aberdeen's fault ....... **** Celtic !!!

TrinityHFC
24-05-2025, 05:22 PM
100% I’m bitter about this. We never ever get a Celtic team like that turn up against us in a Cup Final. This I think is the last season in a while that 3rd place get guaranteed group stage football and of course it is the one season we end up third and lose out to team in 5th place!

It is typical but ultimately nothing we can do about it. The prize for 3rd is what it is and you may get an added benefit if the cup goes the right way. It didn’t and it’s hugely disappointing but we can only concentrate on us.

I did think Ian Gordon should not have been talking yesterday about group stage football.

24-05-2025, 05:23 PM
On the upside I didn’t have much confidence that we’d have built a squad capable of playing in Europe until December and competing in the league. Well that’s what I’m telling myself.

It was always a prize for the cup winners and Aberdeen won the cup even though they parked the bus to do it.

24-05-2025, 05:24 PM
But Brendan Rodgers - manager of the year. Bang average manager with a huge budget.

24-05-2025, 05:26 PM
We should now be asking the question why the cup winners get the prize of group stage European football over the team who finished 3rd over a 38 game season.

An absolute joke.

And Celtic can **** right off.

It was the way it always was.

The Cup Winners' Cup was recognised as the second-rated European competition after the European Cup, and Hibs got to the quarter-final of that competition after losing 6-1 in the domestic Cup Final.

Hibs have been third and above many more times than they have won the cup.

Jock O
24-05-2025, 05:27 PM
It is typical but ultimately nothing we can do about it. The prize for 3rd is what it is and you may get an added benefit if the cup goes the right way. It didn’t and it’s hugely disappointing but we can only concentrate on us.

I did think Ian Gordon should not have been talking yesterday about group stage football.

Ian Gordon said we could have group stage football, which was totally correct, wtf should he not mention it. More nonsense.

1875Sean
24-05-2025, 05:27 PM
But Brendan Rodgers - manager of the year. Bang average manager with a huge budget.

Sure McGylnn won manager of the year

hibbie02
24-05-2025, 05:29 PM
That fud McGregor bawling his eyes out after the game. A grown man and professional athlete! I think since Hibs last won the Cup, Celtic have played about 14 finals at Hampden (League Cup and Cup) and this was the first one they lost. Yet that tool, who probably played in all of them, is crying his eyes out! Talk about entitlement.

24-05-2025, 05:29 PM

24-05-2025, 05:32 PM
Bollocks!!

Soap-dodging, rat-devouring ********s!

No doubt they’ll be whining about the refereeing into the New Year

NC1875
24-05-2025, 05:34 PM
That fud McGregor bawling his eyes out after the game. A grown man and professional athlete! I think since Hibs last won the Cup, Celtic have played about 14 finals at Hampden (League Cup and Cup) and this was the first one they lost. Yet that tool, who probably played in all of them, is crying his eyes out! Talk about entitlement.

Wee fud. Couldn’t motivate his team to get one more game over the line for a treble. Then misses a penalty and he’s balling his eyes out.

He can GTF, him and Rodgers

sauzeelegod
24-05-2025, 05:35 PM
We did, we finished 3rd over the league season above aberdeen who finished 5th. They won a cup, and apparently thats better than 38 games.

Its a ***** rule.

Yep, it’s a terrible rule to be honest

Wull
24-05-2025, 05:40 PM
That result worstens when it makes the dons, the buns, and the fn hertz happy, terrible result, and I hate the smeltic.

Perfect storm today, no Jota and Hatate , Forrest going off early after coming on, Maeda having a stinker, Idah anonymous, and Celtic relying on the likes of Scales, Bernardo and Yang.

They were complacent, played like a 5-a-side team, and credit to Aberdeen tactically as Thelin did an Ange and outfoxed Rodgers with his untried formation. Which stifled Celtic well, and once they got the equaliser they got belief.

We still had an excellent season, we’ll have our stab at Europe, and what will be will be. It’ll obviously affect transfers and budget that’s the sickener, but even the qualifiers bring in decent money. Hibs have had an excellent season and that shouldn’t be overlooked or underestimated- especially after a game we had zero control over.

We’ll still need the passports and beach balls 😊

JJP
I can’t ****ing believe this. **** Celtic.

24-05-2025, 05:42 PM

Guff, £50m our neighbours have pished away. Aberdeen have had similar backing and have a cup to show for it.

Calm down to a panic ffs.

24-05-2025, 05:44 PM
As much as it ****ed us it was good to see those ****ing horrible Celtic ***** lose

24-05-2025, 05:45 PM
As much as it ****ed us it was good to see those ****ing horrible Celtic ***** lose

It wasn't

24-05-2025, 05:45 PM
Perfect storm today, no Jota and Hatate , Forrest going off early after coming on, Maeda having a stinker, Idah anonymous, and Celtic relying on the likes of Scales, Bernardo and Yang.

They were complacent, played like a 5-a-side team, and credit to Aberdeen tactically as Thelin did an Ange and outfoxed Rodgers with his untried formation. Which stifled Celtic well, and once they got the equaliser they got belief.

We still had an excellent season, we’ll have our stab at Europe, and what will be will be. It’ll obviously affect transfers and budget that’s the sickener, but even the qualifiers bring in decent money. Hibs have had an excellent season and that shouldn’t be overlooked or underestimated- especially after a game we had zero control over.

We’ll still need the passports and beach balls 😊

Complacency done Celtic. Thought they could wander through the game. Reaction to the first goal, their players barely even celebrated.

They’re not normally like that at that stage of the competition, ****ing typical they decided to be today.

24-05-2025, 06:27 PM
Disappointing result though we still had a remarkable season.

Have no issue with Aberdeen winning the Cup, that’s great for everyone. It’s the fact they ate our £6M lunch ! Hibs getting 3rd, beating Aberdeen on the process deserved better financial reward.

That’s a huge win for Aberdeen.

He's here!
24-05-2025, 06:35 PM
Just relieved Aberdeen beat Hearts in the semi after watching that Celtic non-performance today.

24-05-2025, 06:38 PM
Hearts fans celebrating today like it’s their biggest result this season. Pathetic bunch of supporters.

TheHibernator
24-05-2025, 06:45 PM

It really wasn’t. Has cost us millions and made qualification to the groups extremely unlikely.

24-05-2025, 06:57 PM
Hearts fans celebrating today like it’s their biggest result this season. Pathetic bunch of supporters.

Beneath that bravado there'll be a wince too. They know perfectly well that could have been them.

24-05-2025, 06:58 PM

It is their biggest result of the season. It's how big clubs roll.

24-05-2025, 07:02 PM
Hearts fans celebrating today like it’s their biggest result this season. Pathetic bunch of supporters.Open topped bus down Gorgie way, unless it's a bit chilly then it'll be ordinary bus but with buttoned up cardigans for the bottom sixers

24-05-2025, 07:03 PM

We’d probs be doing the same nah? I'd definitely be giving my Jambo mates a wee message

24-05-2025, 07:22 PM

We would be doing exactly the same, just as well it was Aberdeen in the final as Hearts would have beaten that rank Celtic performance today also. That would really have hurt.

24-05-2025, 08:27 PM

We would be doing exactly the same

24-05-2025, 08:28 PM
We would be doing exactly the same, just as well it was Aberdeen in the final as Hearts would have beaten that rank Celtic performance today also. That would really have hurt.

Yes the only thing worse would have been Hearts not Aberdeen winning the cup

Donegal Hibby
24-05-2025, 08:44 PM

We certainly would . I wonder if any of them while celebrating the result today have taken any time out to think on the great opportunity they had that they blew in the semi .

24-05-2025, 08:44 PM

Aye but still, **** them.

24-05-2025, 08:45 PM
Aye but still, **** them.

Indeed

Silky
24-05-2025, 08:54 PM
Absolutely disastrous. Not only ****ed us for guarenteed group football but Aberdeen will get a massive boost for the next few years with a cup win

We were never guaranteed group stage football anyway. We knew at the start of the season that the Scottish Cup carried that reward. Both us and Aberdeen played Celtic in the Cup. They beat them, we didn't. We ****ed ourselves.

24-05-2025, 09:11 PM
Today also showed why non Glasgow clubs should get the opportunity to sell half of Hampden for semis and finals. It's a complete nonsense the SFA/SPFL trying to cut allocations to give those two bigger ones. I've no idea if Aberdeen having half of Hampden today helped them today but it certainly didn't harm their chances.

24-05-2025, 09:17 PM
Well done the Dons,**** for us but ah well *** celtic

Just_Jimmy
24-05-2025, 10:39 PM
We were never guaranteed group stage football anyway. We knew at the start of the season that the Scottish Cup carried that reward. Both us and Aberdeen played Celtic in the Cup. They beat them, we didn't. We ****ed ourselves.We played them away. We'd have beaten them today no problem, although I suspect they'd have shown us more respect than they showed Aberdeen.

24-05-2025, 10:59 PM
Top trolling for the Aberdeen sponsors to give MoM to the guy that knobbled Hatate in the league game :)

25-05-2025, 06:44 AM
We played them away. We'd have beaten them today no problem, although I suspect they'd have shown us more respect than they showed Aberdeen.

Number of clubs could have played Celtic yesterday and won the cup. All that was needed was good organisation and chunk of luck.

Strangely, had it been a bottom six team (other than the obvious) or even a Champ side, I'd be less pissed off. It's fact we overcame a 26 point deficit, played better football throughout, fought like Hell to get best of the rest ... and then a crappy Aberdeen led by Shiinnie nicks in and steals the winnings for 3rd place.

Bridge hibs
25-05-2025, 08:19 AM
Number of clubs could have played Celtic yesterday and won the cup. All that was needed was good organisation and chunk of luck.

Strangely, had it been a bottom six team (other than the obvious) or even a Champ side, I'd be less pissed off. It's fact we overcame a 26 point deficit, played better football throughout, fought like Hell to get best of the rest ... and then a crappy Aberdeen led by Shiinnie nicks in and steals the winnings for 3rd place.Thelin done his homework against celtc and it worked, fair enough they were boring as **** but to stifle celtc it worked as they hardly got the ball wide and when they did they fluffed their lines.

Thelin changed it up again and they had more an attacking threat as celtc started to panic at the back. He outdone Rodgers with his tactics, not the greatest game but they won the cup, we wouldnt have complained if it was us in their welly boots.

I actually thought celtc were dull and it looked like Maeda had been out on the sauce last night.