View Full Version : Board changes announced

23-05-2025, 04:02 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2025/may/23/hibernian-fc-announce-board-changes/

23-05-2025, 04:07 PM
Interesting.

No mention of whether he is an exec or non exce chairman, McPherson was the latter. I'd assume the former for IG.

He's here!
23-05-2025, 04:09 PM
New CEO chosen. Is that common knowledge? I must have missed that if so.

23-05-2025, 04:09 PM
Looks like Kensell is effectively being replaced by Black Knight then. Good.

Is Colin Gordon Ron's other son?

23-05-2025, 04:10 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BztgkrdJqFw

The video of the interview

23-05-2025, 04:15 PM

:agree: The interview above is pretty good, explains the changes and why they've been made.

TrinityHFC
23-05-2025, 04:17 PM

No, Kensell is being replaced by the new CEO who has accepted the role but we haven’t announced his name.

23-05-2025, 04:18 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BztgkrdJqFw

The video of the interview

Liking the chat of investment for scouting and players. Get the money out, please!

23-05-2025, 04:22 PM
Interesting.

No mention of whether he is an exec or non exce chairman, McPherson was the latter. I'd assume the former for IG.

Says Executive Chairman on the video

23-05-2025, 04:26 PM
The change in IG’s confidence in these interviews is quite stark. He’s no longer the nervous character he used to be. Appreciate that it is an in-house interview but even in some of them previously he didn’t come across well.

23-05-2025, 04:26 PM

Aah I didn't watch the video, just read the article.

23-05-2025, 04:27 PM
Liking the chat of investment for scouting and players. Get the money out, please!

I think there will be investment but I think it will be more about integrating Hibs fully into their current system, a system that have dug up so many gems its let AFC Bournemouth compete in the EPL. I think Real Madrid have just signed Dean Huijsen for €60million, AFCB signed him last year for €18.2. Their scouting network covers the world.

23-05-2025, 04:31 PM
I think there will be investment but I think it will be more about integrating Hibs fully into their current system, a system that have dug up so many gems its let AFC Bournemouth compete in the EPL. I think Real Madrid have just signed Dean Huijsen for €60million, AFCB signed him last year for €18.2. Their scouting network covers the world.

Aw without a doubt, the video does say it's about integrating all clubs and having them closer together, which makes complete sense and looking forward to see how that works.
Tim says

"We're committed to developing players, investing in scouting and recruiting and figuring out how to learn from each other" Sounds ideal.

23-05-2025, 04:32 PM
Aw without a doubt, the video does say it's about integrating all clubs and having them closer together, which makes complete sense and looking forward to see how that works.
Tim says

"We're committed to developing players, investing in scouting and recruiting and figuring out how to learn from each other" Sounds ideal.

It does sound ideal. Exciting times ahead :flag:

Jock O
23-05-2025, 04:39 PM

Which makes sort of sense if we are appointing a new CEO, he will effectively sit above them on the board but leave the day to day operations to CEO, who I assume will also sit on board.

It sounds like he still has lots to do with various operations that he can now delegate.

Personally, and it will be unpopular but not convinced we need a CEO, would have left Ian in that role and appointed an experienced Operations director for the non football stuff at probably a quite significantly lower salary. Then him and Malky both reported into Ian. He has effectively being doing that role, and yes lots of mistakes but with the right people below him now then not sure it would be much different to what will happen in practice, as I assume with his shares he can overrule any decisions they make at board level. The difference obviously is he would not be involved in day to day operations and he is effectively working with the Blacknights CEO as consultant.

This also seems to formalise a specific role for Tim Bezbatchenko within Hibs as I thought he would, and suggests that him and Ian Gordon are effectively managing the partnership.

I really see little value of a CEO at the level Kensall was earning because of this, so will be interested to see how this evolves.

A special thanks to Kit Gordon who probably has been a silent director at present, keeping the relationship alive, and now steps into the Foundation rather than just sloping off. Further proof to me these guys are well invested in Hibs in everything, not just money.

Hopefully even more upwards we go.

23-05-2025, 04:40 PM
The change in IG’s confidence in these interviews is quite stark. He’s no longer the nervous character he used to be. Appreciate that it is an in-house interview but even in some of them previously he didn’t come across well.

He looks like a leader now.

23-05-2025, 05:07 PM
Which makes sort of sense if we are appointing a new CEO, he will effectively sit above them on the board but leave the day to day operations to CEO, who I assume will also sit on board.

It sounds like he still has lots to do with various operations that he can now delegate.

Personally, and it will be unpopular but not convinced we need a CEO, would have left Ian in that role and appointed an experienced Operations director for the non football stuff at probably a quite significantly lower salary. Then him and Malky both reported into Ian. He has effectively being doing that role, and yes lots of mistakes but with the right people below him now then not sure it would be much different to what will happen in practice, as I assume with his shares he can overrule any decisions they make at board level. The difference obviously is he would not be involved in day to day operations and he is effectively working with the Blacknights CEO as consultant.

This also seems to formalise a specific role for Tim Bezbatchenko within Hibs as I thought he would, and suggests that him and Ian Gordon are effectively managing the partnership.

I really see little value of a CEO at the level Kensall was earning because of this, so will be interested to see how this evolves.

A special thanks to Kit Gordon who probably has been a silent director at present, keeping the relationship alive, and now steps into the Foundation rather than just sloping off. Further proof to me these guys are well invested in Hibs in everything, not just money.

Hopefully even more upwards we go.
Kit has been heavily involved with the Foundation for a long time.

23-05-2025, 05:13 PM

He’s also had a fair amount of media training, which is by no means a dig - it was the right decision and shows a commitment to the position.

Stairway 2 7
23-05-2025, 05:38 PM

The amount of players who gave her a big hug when the women were picking up their medals last week, showed to me she isn't just a come in once a year and sign a check person. We've been very fortunate in our last two owners

23-05-2025, 05:47 PM

He’s certainly confident Aberdeen are getting beat tomorrow talking about group stages in an interview the day before the match.

23-05-2025, 05:48 PM
He’s certainly confident Aberdeen are getting beat tomorrow talking about group stages in an interview the day before the match.

We can still get group stages if Aberdeen win tomorrow. We'll just need to win more games to get there.

23-05-2025, 05:48 PM
In the video IG said him and Colin are now leading the family’s business interests. I wonder if there will be a change soon to Kit’s 100% ownership of Bydand

23-05-2025, 05:49 PM
We can still get group stages if Aberdeen win tomorrow. We'll just need to win more games to get there.

I’m aware we can, but we will find it very difficult.

Up-the-slope
23-05-2025, 05:53 PM
:agree: The interview above is pretty good, explains the changes and why they've been made.

:aok: good to have a bit more direct communication and put faces to names / see them sitting together... my hope would be that communication ongoing is not just when things are positive but if / when there are bumps they don't vanish back to the odd generic statements and hide

23-05-2025, 05:54 PM

Absolutely, we got to the play-off game not too long ago, just got possibly the worst draw imaginable in Villa.

Up-the-slope
23-05-2025, 05:58 PM
No, Kensell is being replaced by the new CEO who has accepted the role but we haven’t announced his name.
step up the research sleuths to work out who in football with appropriate CV and experience is working their notice :aok:

Stairway 2 7
23-05-2025, 06:01 PM

You've clearly no watched us since December, the Europa is ours and therfore champions league 2026

23-05-2025, 06:01 PM

I found it interesting he referenced it.

If Aberdeen win tomorrow I got the impression we will still be targeting group stage European football. It’s not to say we will get it but we won’t just write off our chance because it’s difficult.

I think our recruitment this summer could be really exciting regardless of the result of the game tomorrow.

23-05-2025, 06:28 PM
Things have been good since the board realised what was going on and no doubt Foley stepped in, no problem with these announcements and would expect Ian to still be sitting back and letting others do their jobs.

23-05-2025, 06:36 PM

And very committed to it.

I was in one evening less than a couple of weeks after Ron passed away and she was sitting in on a board meeting of the Foundation. Not one single person would have blamed her for giving that a miss. She was also immensely proud of the Girls Football Festival, delighted to see so many young girls playing football and it be 'ours'.

jakeshibs
23-05-2025, 06:44 PM
The amount of players who gave her a big hug when the women were picking up their medals last week, showed to me she isn't just a come in once a year and sign a check person. We've been very fortunate in our last two owners

Excellent and totally agree

BS44
23-05-2025, 06:59 PM

Someone coming from Leicester City to take up the position

23-05-2025, 06:59 PM
Someone coming from Leicester City to take up the position
Jamie Vardy?:dunno:

Donegal Hibby
23-05-2025, 07:16 PM
Things have been good since the board realised what was going on and no doubt Foley stepped in, no problem with these announcements and would expect Ian to still be sitting back and letting others do their jobs.

The two appointments of Malky MacKay and David Gray while not entirely popular at the time when the Gordons /Hibs board made them I think have been brave and the correct ones which have played a big part in our improvement.

Thought the interview with Ian Gordon and the BK’s guy was good in there’s a lot to be positive about going forward in the future .

23-05-2025, 07:21 PM
Undoubtedly grown into the role, well done. 👍

23-05-2025, 07:37 PM
Cracking interview!!

Hibees1973
23-05-2025, 07:43 PM
Revealing interview.

I'm still coming to terms with Black Knight investment into the club. I have though come round to the consensus that if Hibs are going to become regular European Group stage competitors we couldn't really stick with the status quo. I remember continuous European football in the 70's, but the game has changed since then.

Whether it was Ron, Ian Gordon, or both, there clearly came a point a couple of years ago when they realised they had to open out and get different people involved to make us successful. As others have said Ian Gordon seems to have grown into his responsibilities at Hibs.

The odd appearance in Europe really does not appear to be Ian & Tim's vision. They want this to be regular and also success and growth throughout all aspects of the club.

Who knows if this can be achieved, time will tell. But from the outside looking in, there does seem to be a much more structured and professional strategy in place now, with qualified people in place.

This season can be regarded as a success. It will be a challenge to repeat 3rd place next season, closing the gap to the OF and even a cup final appearance, while competing in Europe.

But it's going to be fun watching it transpire.

Jock O
23-05-2025, 07:44 PM

I worded that clumsily, I meant she has retained her involvement when it would have been easy for her now to step back.

I was using it as an example of the family commitment across the whole organisation.

Just_Jimmy
23-05-2025, 07:56 PM
Much better interview. Ian presents so much better.

Perhaps he's grown into the role but I also suspect that our current situation and atmosphere around the club is much healthier and he probably feels a weight off his shoulders.

Tim is impressive also. Very happy with how they both spoke about the club and future. Exciting times.

If only Tim could say HIBernian rather than HIGHbernian, the same way he manages to say Hibs. [emoji6]

Sent from my SM-S931B using Tapatalk

23-05-2025, 10:20 PM
Undoubtedly grown into the role, well done. 👍

I do think that it appears that he knows what he is and what he isn’t.

We have football people running the football department, the Gordon’s covering the shortfall in the short term but no doubt working to make us financially sustainable, a good relationship with the Black Knights, and are finally shot of Kensell who came across as overbearing and the sort of person you see get punted on week four of the Apprentice.

The best thing he can do is to oversee each department but also to work with the Black Knights to have the right person in each position. It also feels like we trust our key decision makers more too. I may be well off with some or all of this but from the outside looking in, it all looks way more professional and with direction. Or identity, as some may say.

He’ll learn way more from the Black Knights than anyone else IMO.

sauzee1989
23-05-2025, 11:05 PM
Good update but by god is that interviewer annoying 😂 every single question he says the word obviously.

24-05-2025, 06:28 AM
Good update but by god is that interviewer annoying 😂 every single question he says the word obviously.

I never noticed, I like Adam tbh.

24-05-2025, 06:49 AM
I think these changes are (as far as these things go) relatively exciting and are the strongest indication yet of the club having got its act together off the pitch.

I think this sets us up to really take advantage of the investment we got from BKFC, so it is more than just £6m cash put into the club to get some shares and then forget about us - a situation that looked possible a while back.

This looks like we have a clear strategy, the right people in the right places to deliver on it, and I think crucially - the right balance between getting it right for the group and putting Hibs’ priorities first (which they have to be).

Reading between the lines, SDG finishing third has moved the dial on what happens next in terms of player recruitment and I don’t think anyone is happy for us to be going into Europe just to make up the numbers or write off Europa League group stages just because Conference League could be guaranteed - and definitely not writing off group stages even if Aberdeen win the cup and find themselves with the best Euro placing.

I think we’re at the start of something that could be very special.

MikeyS
24-05-2025, 09:10 AM
Much better interview. Ian presents so much better.

Perhaps he's grown into the role but I also suspect that our current situation and atmosphere around the club is much healthier and he probably feels a weight off his shoulders.

Tim is impressive also. Very happy with how they both spoke about the club and future. Exciting times.

If only Tim could say HIBernian rather than HIGHbernian, the same way he manages to say Hibs. [emoji6]

Sent from my SM-S931B using Tapatalk

I would think the majority of us would pronounce our name as HIGHbernian, no?

The song certainly pronounces it as HIGHbee, HIGHbernian. :confused:

24-05-2025, 09:48 AM
Have always called us HIbernian and don't go with songs or chants. My cousins don't live in Engerland.

24-05-2025, 09:54 AM
I think these changes are (as far as these things go) relatively exciting and are the strongest indication yet of the club having got its act together off the pitch.

I think this sets us up to really take advantage of the investment we got from BKFC, so it is more than just £6m cash put into the club to get some shares and then forget about us - a situation that looked possible a while back.

This looks like we have a clear strategy, the right people in the right places to deliver on it, and I think crucially - the right balance between getting it right for the group and putting Hibs’ priorities first (which they have to be).

Reading between the lines, SDG finishing third has moved the dial on what happens next in terms of player recruitment and I don’t think anyone is happy for us to be going into Europe just to make up the numbers or write off Europa League group stages just because Conference League could be guaranteed - and definitely not writing off group stages even if Aberdeen win the cup and find themselves with the best Euro placing.

I think we’re at the start of something that could be very special.

There's been times when we've gone into European qualifiers treating them as pre season games. And paid the price.

malcolm
24-05-2025, 12:58 PM

Hib-ernian
Hi(gh)-bees
Hib-ee
Hi(gh)bee

Are among variants used but for me it is always Hibs and Hibernian with no ‘high’ involved at all :greengrin. The BK guy’s pronunciation sounds weird to my ears :wink:

24-05-2025, 01:10 PM

I'm firmly of the belief that Colin Chisholm pronounced it that way deliberately to **** with us.

It's HI-bernian. That's what it is in the original latin. Why are we Hibs instead of Hybs?

24-05-2025, 01:18 PM
I'm firmly of the belief that Colin Chisholm pronounced it that way deliberately to **** with us.

It's HI-bernian. That's what it is in the original latin. Why are we Hibs instead of Hybs?

But then we had the old chant
H-I-B-E-R-N-I-A-N - HIBERNIAN

Bridge hibs
24-05-2025, 01:28 PM
C’mon the eebs

24-05-2025, 01:29 PM
Ian Gordon does seem a wee bit more confident in front of the camera, but I still get the impression it's not been, and probably never will be, his favourite part of the job. Which maybe isn't a bad thing, there's far too many gob*****s in fitba who can't wait to get in front of a camera and make fools of themselves.

EG .......... Kris Boyd, who I watched on You Tube the other night say the Black Knights were putting £6,000,000 a year into Hibs ... If only :greengrin

I've always said HIBernian ..... HIGHbernian doesnae soond right :confused: