View Full Version : Players Nationalities
big-mo
23-05-2025, 11:28 AM
With just about half our first team now being in the Australian squad, I was checking back my list of different nationalities that have played for Hibs, that list currently stands at 50 different nationalities. However, I am looking to find out if I have missed any and therefore, I am asking for your help. Please let me know any nationalities I have missed.
From the list below, you will see all the countries I have identified, if you are puzzled by any of the countries I have listed and can’t work out who played for Hibs that came from wherever, just let me know and I will identify the player or maybe players.
There are listed a few countries that no longer exist, but I have included them as that was the players nationality when they played for us, e.g. West and East Germany.
As you will see, we have never had a Brazilian or even an Italian player play for us, (no, Joe Tortolano was not Italian), we did have an Under 18s keeper last season, Smith Samuel, who was eligible to play for Italy but he never made the first team squad, and left to go to Uni.
You also may want to use this list as a wee quiz over the summer to try and work out a player from each of the countries listed. BTW from my records, we have had just over 1,700 players play for us, but that may not be a complete list, and I may have missed a few. There are also a couple of players who had duel nationalities so would have been eligible to play for either country.
Algeria
Australia
Austria
Belgium
Benin
Cameroon
Canada
Congo
Côte d’Ivoire
Czechoslovakia
Denmark
East Germany
Ecuador
England
Estonia
Finland
France
Ghana
Greece
Honduras
Hungary
Iceland
Ireland
Libya
Lithuania
Mali
Monaco
Morocco
Netherlands
Netherlands Antilles
New Zealand
Nigeria/Hungary
Northern Ireland
Norway
Poland
Portugal
Scotland
Somalia
Spain
St Lucia
Sweden
Switzerland
The Gambia
Trinidad & Tobago
Ukraine
Uruguay
USA
Wales
West Germany
Yugoslavia
23-05-2025, 11:33 AM
You can add Uganda for Obita if he gets capped
23-05-2025, 11:33 AM
NMW for Guyana. Uganda for Obita?
23-05-2025, 11:35 AM
Dylan Vente Suriname 4 caps
23-05-2025, 11:47 AM
Germany is missing.
Matty Jack and Dirk Lehman both played for us after E&W had reunited.
NoTottiNoParty
23-05-2025, 11:49 AM
Albania (Kamberi)?
Good quiz question 👍🏻
23-05-2025, 11:54 AM
Nohan Kenneh Liberia 7 caps
Who was the East German?
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
23-05-2025, 11:58 AM
Marciano - Israel
Paulie Walnuts
23-05-2025, 12:07 PM
I’m always surprised to hear we’ve never had an Italian.
23-05-2025, 12:10 PM
We did , Joe Tortolano
Prof. Shaggy
23-05-2025, 12:12 PM
Both Congos should be there.
Donegal Hibby
Maolida plays for Comoros .
Who could forget "the Gambian Roberto Carlos"? 😩
23-05-2025, 12:13 PM
Is it country of Birth or country you played for?
Mariah-Welsh is a Guyana International, born in England
We had an Italian play in a development game at the Oriam under Lennon
You were probably at the game Big-Mo
23-05-2025, 12:16 PM
Jack Hodge was born in Brazil, did he ever play a 1st team game/friendly
23-05-2025, 12:20 PM
We did , Joe Tortolano
Scottish
23-05-2025, 12:22 PM
Scottish
Aye akent that :thumbsup:
Radge70
23-05-2025, 12:28 PM
Kwon - South Korea
23-05-2025, 12:31 PM
Chris Humphrey Jamaica. 12 caps
23-05-2025, 12:46 PM
Aye akent that :thumbsup:
I thought you probably did, but you know, here to help! 😃
23-05-2025, 12:48 PM
Yrick Rapisura Gallantes - Philippines (did he get his debut?)
Missing Croatia (Marijan Cabraja) & Burundi (Gael Bigirimana)
23-05-2025, 12:50 PM
Yrick Rapisura Gallantes - Philippines (did he get his debut?)
Computer says no
big-mo
23-05-2025, 01:18 PM
Thanks for all these, I did have many of the ones mentioned on a list but I could only find a old copy of it that did not have the updates.
Just for clarification, the player did not need to have been capped but just have been eligible.
Matty Jack was from East Germany and Dirk from West Germany.
big-mo
23-05-2025, 01:22 PM
Thanks for all these, I did have many of the ones mentioned on a list but I could only find a old copy of it that did not have the updates.
Just for clarification, the player did not need to have been capped but just have been eligible.
We also had Thorsten Schmugge from Germany.
hibsdaft
23-05-2025, 01:58 PM
We also had Thorsten Schmugge from Germany.
And that young defender Collins signed from Monaco. If he ever got on the pitch.
franck sauzee
23-05-2025, 01:59 PM
And that young defender Collins signed from Monaco. If he ever got on the pitch.
Torben Joneleit
23-05-2025, 02:02 PM
We also had Bojang, who was wired to the Moon.
23-05-2025, 02:18 PM
Did we not have a player that was from/ represented Egypt and have someone from Afghanistan (but think they got fired before 1st team)
edit it was Iran - see below.
23-05-2025, 02:21 PM
South Korea - Kwon (or loanees not count?)
23-05-2025, 02:21 PM
Did Allen Orman get selected for Nigeria?
23-05-2025, 02:25 PM
Albania (Kamberi)?
Good quiz question 👍🏻
Did he not qualify for 3 places - Switzerland, Austria, Albania?
23-05-2025, 02:26 PM
Now 38 :greengrin
Time flies
23-05-2025, 02:30 PM
Did he ever get a game - Shana Haji? Iranian - John Collins signing.
what about the infamous Showumni brothers?
23-05-2025, 02:33 PM
Dickoh - Born in Denmark represented Ghana
we had the other boy from Denmark last season who got his fitness up here did some podcasts. Had nice hair. scored some great freekick then left.
Emiliano Marcondes. Born Copenhagen to a Brazilian mother - there we have our Brasileiro!
Donegal Hibby
23-05-2025, 03:06 PM
St Lucia .. player?
23-05-2025, 03:23 PM
Gael Bigirimana - played for us once, against Aberdeen.. played 22 times for Burundi
23-05-2025, 03:25 PM
St Lucia .. player?
My name is Earl
23-05-2025, 03:28 PM
St Lucia .. player?
Earl Jean
23-05-2025, 03:39 PM
Shelton Martis - curacao
23-05-2025, 03:45 PM
St Lucia .. player?
Earl Jean.
23-05-2025, 03:49 PM
Kleton Perntreou… played in goal for us twice around 2014… Albanian by birth
23-05-2025, 03:50 PM
Both would only be eligible to play for Germany at the time we had them.
23-05-2025, 03:54 PM
Bulgaria - Sylvester Jasper.
23-05-2025, 03:56 PM
Guadeloupe - Mickael Antoine-Courier (transfer market)
23-05-2025, 04:02 PM
Craig Rocastle got capped for Grenada
23-05-2025, 04:22 PM
Didier Agathe, Reunion Island
Prof. Shaggy
23-05-2025, 05:30 PM
Didier Agathe, Reunion Island
Hmmm....
Technically a Département de France.
Like the 2 Congos, that's Colonialism for you.
23-05-2025, 05:31 PM
Guadeloupe - Mickael Antoine-Courier (transfer market)
Hmmm....
Technically a Département de France.
Like the 2 Congos, that's Colonialism for you.
As is Guadeloupe.
I think there's a trivia question in there. Something like "which European country borders the most countries?"
big-mo
24-05-2025, 10:30 AM
As is Guadeloupe.
I think there's a trivia question in there. Something like "which European country borders the most countries?"
Correct, but Guadeloupe still gets added to the list as they do have an international football team. And he did play for them.
big-mo
24-05-2025, 10:47 AM
Shelton Martis - curacao
Curacao used to be the Netherlands Antilles (Dutch Antillies), Shelton played under both flags.
big-mo
24-05-2025, 10:50 AM
Gael Bigirimana - played for us once, against Aberdeen.. played 22 times for Burundi
Thanks, another to be added to the list.
big-mo
24-05-2025, 10:56 AM
Dickoh - Born in Denmark represented Ghana
we had the other boy from Denmark last season who got his fitness up here did some podcasts. Had nice hair. scored some great freekick then left.
Emiliano Marcondes. Born Copenhagen to a Brazilian mother - there we have our Brasileiro!
Junior Agogo also played for Ghana.
big-mo
24-05-2025, 10:57 AM
South Korea - Kwon (or loanees not count?)
Yes, another one added, Thanks
big-mo
24-05-2025, 11:01 AM
Missing Croatia (Marijan Cabraja) & Burundi (Gael Bigirimana)
Good spot, another two added to the list.
big-mo
24-05-2025, 11:05 AM
Chris Humphrey Jamaica. 12 caps
Correct, dont know how I missed that one.
big-mo
24-05-2025, 11:19 AM
Nohan Kenneh Liberia 7 caps
Another one I missed, good spot. Now up to 61 countries.
As for Jack Hodge, I never knew he was born in Brazil, he only ever played for the U18s, but as he pulled on the Hibs strip, just like our U18s Italian goalie, I will include them both.
24-05-2025, 12:27 PM
As is Guadeloupe.
If you exclude external territories not in Europe, then it's Germany, which borders nine countries.
Sad factoid: I can recite all nine from memory. :rolleyes:
24-05-2025, 12:55 PM
Another one I missed, good spot. Now up to 61 countries.
As for Jack Hodge, I never knew he was born in Brazil, he only ever played for the U18s, but as he pulled on the Hibs strip, just like our U18s Italian goalie, I will include them both.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/have-hibs-really-been-represented-by-players-of-61-different-nationalities-3854477