21-05-2025, 04:55 AM
9 years ago today, need I say more? 🤭
21-05-2025, 06:13 AM
Hibs Scottish Cup Fairytale
https://youtu.be/ZrtYbJqenhA?feature=shared
21-05-2025, 06:37 AM
BC - Before Cup. AD - After David ((Gray) GGTTH!
21-05-2025, 06:52 AM
What a day that was. Fully expected yet another dick punch that day, instead we got the greatest single day in the club's history.
21-05-2025, 06:57 AM
Happy Anniversary 💚
21-05-2025, 07:04 AM
Happy Anniversary 💚 it hit home to me this year the amount of Tribute to Absent Friend messages which had along the lines of “21.05.2016 - We Were There” added. Just shows you that day transcended football for so many people and will very likely never, ever be topped for us Hibs fans still here today. Thank you SDG and that team.
21-05-2025, 07:28 AM
Random question but does anybody have a link to The BBC Sportsound commentary from that day? I've never heard it and always wanted to.
I've heard Crocker, Liam McLeod and even some random French guy but never the radio commentary.
21-05-2025, 07:38 AM
What a day!!!
Gloucester Hibs
21-05-2025, 07:42 AM
Random question but does anybody have a link to The BBC Sportsound commentary from that day? I've never heard it and always wanted to.
I've heard Crocker, Liam McLeod and even some random French guy but never the radio commentary.
I'd like to hear this too. Have you seen the Sportscene highlights from the evening of 21/05/16? Tom English is the pundit :greengrin
21-05-2025, 07:45 AM
Greatest day of my football supporting life bar none.
21-05-2025, 07:48 AM
BBC Sportsound commentary post match immediately after the final whistle lasts 49 minutes
https://youtu.be/-uZA1ZYnHa8?si=ucu2YvIoifxP_OU7
Gloucester Hibs
21-05-2025, 07:59 AM
BBC Sportsound commentary post match immediately after the final whistle lasts 49 minutes
Cheers Billy - will listen to this tonight :thumbsup:
21-05-2025, 08:07 AM
Probably one of the most unique finals of all time. The whole build up, and month or so leading up. Two championships clubs. Rangers winning the league then EXPECTING and RAGING at not getting a guard of honour. Beating them 3-2 in the league that day.
Losing the LCF in the 90th min. Us falling behind Falkirk in the league. Losing in the last minute to them in the play offs. Rangers having 3 weeks off vs us playing 2 games a week
Going ahead early. Hitting the post, should have been a few up then fall behind (here we go again). They tire, we bring on Liam Henderson (to deliver) and the subsequent 15 mins that changed hibstory forever
Should be a movie about it. We were there. What a day. Time for Heroes indeed
21-05-2025, 08:10 AM
Hard to believe almost a decade has passed since. What a day:flag:
21-05-2025, 08:12 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250521/d29a502fe3e3217eb34d9904bea7e618.jpg
21-05-2025, 08:15 AM
THE most mental weekend of my life.
Does it get any better? Maybe. But if I never see it I don't care.
21-05-2025, 08:15 AM
I've only heard this one - it was John Barnes I think, who would be nowhere near my preferred soundtrack for the day, and it was incredibly underwhelming.
21-05-2025, 08:32 AM
https://g.co/kgs/NFEmH3N
I'm in bits again!
21-05-2025, 08:37 AM
I've only heard this one - it was John Barnes I think, who would be nowhere near my preferred soundtrack for the day, and it was incredibly underwhelming.
John Barnes only in it for a wee bit Richard Gordon and especially Chick Young making out as though it was worse than the infamous 1980 Scottish Cup Final the sinking of the Titanic or JFK thankfully enough Hibs minded people coming forward to put a positive spin on things without Chick Young overreacting and putting a damper on things and Willie Miller piling in wi his big wooden spoon
21-05-2025, 09:08 AM
Brilliant thanks;
21-05-2025, 09:13 AM
It’s mad that it’s almost always overlooked that we were in the second tier when we won it. I think that fact simply bypasses non Hibs supporters because it was a rangers we beat
The best day of my life, bar none
21-05-2025, 09:24 AM
Lasted about 60 seconds and then everything went a bit watery as always. On of the most profoundly emotional and beautiful days of my life.
Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you.
21-05-2025, 09:27 AM
I still remember feeling so raw from the Falkirk game and almost that feeling off I really can’t be arsed.
Our hibs retro bus picked us up and off to cambuslang bowling club, Wotherspoon was there doing a raffle that went on for a good while.
Drinks flowed, goals scored, history changed
What a day!
21-05-2025, 09:27 AM
You have to be careful posting stuff like this, someone could be anywhere when they see it and the consequences are pretty lethal.
Dublin07
21-05-2025, 09:29 AM
They were talking about how hearts were going to win the league in 2016/17 with their team of galacticos and missed the goal. Talked about our lucky win for 20 seconds then went over to a shinty quarter final.
21-05-2025, 09:31 AM
You have to be careful posting stuff like this, someone could be anywhere when they see it and the consequences are pretty lethal.
That is why I only watch it once a year gets me every time 🥲
21-05-2025, 09:50 AM
9 years today, wow time goes so fast.
Let's do it again on the 10th year anniversary!
21-05-2025, 10:01 AM
If memory serves, non season ticket holders (myself and pals amongst thousands of others) had to traipse down to ER early Saturday 14th which was the day after the Falkirk defeat.
21-05-2025, 10:21 AM
9 years is mental. Just shows how quick and short life is. There hasn't been a single year since that I haven't shed a tear or two reminiscing about that glorious day in May. So proud to be a Hibby.
Donegal Hibby
21-05-2025, 10:37 AM
Hard to believe it’s 9 years since that day … what a day it was 😁 …
https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1925108356911431868
21-05-2025, 10:47 AM
Cheers Billy - will listen to this tonight :thumbsup:
Me too 💚💚💚💚💚💚💚💚
21-05-2025, 10:52 AM
Thought we’d go on and win it multiple times but not to be, yet! But! who cares, that was a day that will live long in the memory, just bloody fantastic 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
21-05-2025, 11:08 AM
Feels like yesterday. I know it's greedy but I'd like to do it again sometime soon:agree:
Always say it but the game day itself is still a bit of a blur to me. Before the game was great with loads of family, pals and posters on here. After the winner I was just numb rather than ecstatic, totally and utterly drained and I ended up in bed surprisingly early.
The Sunday was, at the time, the best day of my life. Attending the parade with my parents, Grandad (who had waited 83 years for that moment) and a wider group of extended family and friends will stay with me forever. I've got married and had 2 kids since then so have to say it's only the 4th best day of my life now (but it's really the first albeit my daughter is so mad on Hibs at the moment that I think she'd be more disappointed if I said it wasn't 1st tbh:greengrin).
21-05-2025, 11:27 AM
:hyper what a day that was
21-05-2025, 12:25 PM
This. This is THE video that sums up that day better than any other. Meant so much to so many on almost every continent on earth.
21-05-2025, 12:39 PM
This sounds very bleak but I’ve accepted I’ll never feel joy like I felt that day. I don’t think it’s humanly possible.
What a spectacular, special, historic day.
21-05-2025, 12:53 PM
John Barnes only in it for a wee bit Richard Gordon and especially Chick Young making out as though it was worse than the infamous 1980 Scottish Cup Final the sinking of the Titanic or JFK thankfully enough Hibs minded people coming forward to put a positive spin on things without Chick Young overreacting and putting a damper on things and Willie Miller piling in wi his big wooden spoon
Forgotten just how much pearl clutchy teeth gnashing there was immediately in the aftermath. Quite funny really. Remember some Hun (Diddy Doddy MacDonald maybe?) in the papers the next day calling for Hibs to be stripped of the cup so the New Huns would qualify for Europe. :greengrin
21-05-2025, 01:10 PM
Simply the best two days I've ever had supporting Hibs, though to be honest I can barely remember the day of the game up until 3pm for some reason. The cup parade was unbelievable and I doubt we will ever be able to replicate it, even if ( when ) we win the cup again.
I sincerely hope we drastically reduce the waiting time between wins .... it's mental to think there were people who watched the whole famous five and Tornadoes eras and never got to see us win the cup :confused:
This sounds very bleak but I’ve accepted I’ll never feel joy like I felt that day. I don’t think it’s humanly possible.
Ispoke with fellow supporter when we were in Molde. Both of us agreed that even special family occasions including the birth of our children never felt like we did that day.
To be there with my Dad & my son was very special.
To quote my Dad at his 90th Birthday dinner when asked what were the highlights of his 90 years.
"Hibs winning the Scottish cup"
And he saw 3 league titles.
21-05-2025, 01:57 PM
Agreed. Also don't think I'll feel stress and anxiety like I felt in the final few minutes either. I'm sure it's taken a few years off my life expectancy. I still thought we'd blow it somehow even after SDG's goal. That's what years of disappointment will do I guess. The final whistle, I'm not ashamed to admit I was in floods of tears. What an emotional rollercoaster. I was completely drained that evening.
21-05-2025, 02:06 PM
Simply the best day of my life
Went back to a pub but strangely couldn’t relive that final whistle feeling must have been emotionaly completely drained
However the Sunday on wards well that’s a different story
21-05-2025, 02:07 PM
Agreed. Also don't think I'll feel stress and anxiety like I felt in the final few minutes either. I'm sure it's taken a few years off my life expectancy. I still thought we'd blow it somehow even after SDG's goal. That's what years of disappointment will do I guess. The final whistle, I'm not ashamed to admit I was in floods of tears. What an emotional rollercoaster. I was completely drained that evening.
Can’t remember who it is but I’m sure in the last minute some Rangers player plays a big diagonal right over Stevensons head. It ran out of play but I think I **** a little bit.
scm70nyd1973
21-05-2025, 02:15 PM
I still get stressed when I watch the last few minutes after the goal 😂
scm70nyd1973
21-05-2025, 02:16 PM
Can’t remember who it is but I’m sure in the last minute some Rangers player plays a big diagonal right over Stevensons head. It ran out of play but I think I **** a little bit.
Barry McKay was it ?
itslegaltender
21-05-2025, 02:27 PM
that wee guy (who from memory I think was in Germany) celebrating all on his own in the pub. Gets me every time.
21-05-2025, 02:30 PM
:hyper what a day that was
Was a pleasure meeting you the day after at the links :aok:
21-05-2025, 02:36 PM
Melbourne Hibs 😂
Scenes Limbs pints getting kicked over just quality sheer delight
https://youtu.be/VLkGJikRDOM?si=wI62Os8AbxQ-6YNZ
SickBoy32
21-05-2025, 03:04 PM
Blessed to be there with family and friends on that historic day - simply magic.
With hindsight - extremely grateful that we all got to enjoy it prior to VAR destroying football.
The eternal champions of 21/05/16 💚🏆
21-05-2025, 03:07 PM
The circumstances can't be replicated mate. Not possible.
Of course we'll win it again some day, hopefully soon, and it will be wonderful when we do, but it won't be like 2016.
As gutted as I was in 2021 about the sterile non-performance we put in against St Johnstone, had we won that day it would hard to imagine a bigger contrast than that empty, silent stadium and what happened five years earlier.
21-05-2025, 03:09 PM
Melbourne Hibs 😂
Limbs pints getting kicked over just quality sheer delight
https://youtu.be/VLkGJikRDOM?si=wI62Os8AbxQ-6YNZ
The Charles Dickens pub. Spent many happy afternoons in there
21-05-2025, 03:18 PM
https://g.co/kgs/NFEmH3N
I'm in bits again!
And there are the tears again.....
21-05-2025, 03:28 PM
The circumstances can't be replicated mate. Not possible.
Of course we'll win it again some day, hopefully soon, and it will be wonderful when we do, but it won't be like 2016.
As gutted as I was in 2021 about the sterile non-performance we put in against St Johnstone, had we won that day it would hard to imagine a bigger contrast than that empty, silent stadium and what happened five years earlier.
99.99999% of people in this world will never feel what we all felt that day.
21-05-2025, 03:37 PM
It’s mad that it’s almost always overlooked that we were in the second tier when we won it. I think that fact simply bypasses non Hibs supporters because it was a rangers we beat
The best day of my life, bar none
Only hibs, and east Fife ( my mum was there when they won) from the second tier
Bushwoof
21-05-2025, 03:43 PM
Blessed to be there with family and friends on that historic day - simply magic.
With hindsight - extremely grateful that we all got to enjoy it prior to VAR destroying football.
The eternal champions of 21/05/16 💚🏆
Very true. Who knows what VAR would have done, but I don't think it would have been good. Such a joy to just celebrate like a lunatic without any nagging doubts.
Anyway, there was no VAR, no unhappy ending, just the best day ever.
21-05-2025, 04:17 PM
99.99999% of people in this world will never feel what we all felt that day.
It wasn't even just the day. I walked about on cloud 9 for months afterwards.
I had always said the Scottish Cup hoodoo never bothered me that much and to the extent that I didn't go about thinking about it every second of every day that was true. Subconsciously it was there for all of us though and it heightened the hurt after every one of those defeats at Hampden every time we got close (which was more often than most). I know we all joke about Hearts 'special relationship' with the cup but the fact they had ended their 40 odd year drought and then won it 3 times in relatively quick succession annoyed me. Whatever the reason fabricated for why each one of those 'didn't really count' the record books show that they do and they lorded it up big time (as was their right).
Winning the thing obliterated all of that. Hibs had suddenly won a major trophy, in fact both major trophies, more recently than Hearts, we beat them in on the way to doing it in hilarious fashion and they didn't even try to hide how much it bothered them. 'Hibsing it' meant nothing anymore (I use it as a bit of a laugh now it's so redundant). The truth is our Scottish Cup drought mattered because we should have won it multiple times in 114 years, you expect a club like Hibs to have won it. Dundee haven't won it for 120 years now and it is hardly mentioned because there just isn't the same expectations as there is for Hibs. It was almost a backhanded compliment but it also meant it weighed heavier. Winning it removed all of that and I genuinely felt like a bit of a burden had been lifted.
21-05-2025, 04:23 PM
It wasn't even just the day. I walked about on cloud 9 for months afterwards.
I had always said the Scottish Cup hoodoo never bothered me that much and to the extent that I didn't go about thinking about it every second of every day that was true. Subconsciously it was there for all of us though and it heightened the hurt after every one of those defeats at Hampden every time we got close (which was more often than most). I know we all joke about Hearts 'special relationship' with the cup but the fact they had ended their 40 odd year drought and then won it 3 times in relatively quick succession annoyed me. Whatever the reason fabricated for why each one of those 'didn't really count' the record books show that they do and they lorded it up big time (as was their right).
Winning the thing obliterated all of that. Hibs had suddenly won a major trophy, in fact both major trophies, more recently than Hearts, we beat them in on the way to doing it in hilarious fashion and they didn't even try to hide how much it bothered them. 'Hibsing it' meant nothing anymore (I use it as a bit of a laugh now it's so redundant). The truth is our Scottish Cup drought mattered because we should have won it multiple times in 114 years, you expect a club like Hibs to have won it. Dundee haven't won it for 120 years now and it is hardly mentioned because there just isn't the same expectations as there is for Hibs. It was almost a backhanded compliment but it also meant it weighed heavier. Winning it removed all of that and I genuinely felt like a bit of a burden had been lifted.
The “Hibs are falling apart” song really irked me earlier this season. One of the most glorious things about this season is it’s put it in the same category as “Hibsing it”.
When the Orcs tried to sing it at the last game of the season it sounded genuinely funny to hear. Hibs have teeth again and where our form has got tongues wagging outwith the usual Scottish bubble, that cup win and the scenes for days after was the envy of many outwith our own little bubble as well.
scm70nyd1973
21-05-2025, 04:54 PM
The Charles Dickens pub. Spent many happy afternoons in there
Me too - until I moved to NZ
21-05-2025, 08:44 PM
that wee guy (who from memory I think was in Germany) celebrating all on his own in the pub. Gets me every time.
Switzerland. And I'm a reasonable 6 foot tall cheers 😂
22-05-2025, 01:43 PM
itslegaltender
22-05-2025, 04:49 PM
and they say the camera puts pounds on you! :greengrin
22-05-2025, 06:42 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/pXM4gXKY/IMG-6922.jpg (https://postimg.cc/14MvFSCf)
23-05-2025, 09:26 PM
I really wish they'd find a way to release time for heroes and extra time for heroes digitally.
I've got the dvds, but no way to watch them.