View Full Version : Rate the season out of ten
18-05-2025, 11:42 AM
Dreadful start, bottom of the league after the first round of games, it looked like it could be a very difficult season. SDG looked lost. To finish a clear third from there, with only two league defeats in the second half of the season is tremendous. It was also enjoyable to watch as the season went on. The team looked organised and confident. European football to look forward to.
8 out of 10 for me :aok:
Well done to SDG, his staff and the players.
Trinity Hibee
18-05-2025, 11:48 AM
I’d also agree 8. Shocking start, superb from December onwards. Just a shame we got Celtic in both the cups too.
18-05-2025, 11:49 AM
Aye, 8 for me as well.
What a ****ing season and what a ****ing team!
18-05-2025, 11:49 AM
I’d also agree 8. Shocking start, superb from December onwards. Just a shame we got Celtic in both the cups too.
Yes, we didn’t get any luck in the cups.
18-05-2025, 11:53 AM
I think 8 it fair with the start we had.
18-05-2025, 11:55 AM
It's a 9 for me as we've done as well as we can do in the league, and 10s are reserved for seasons when we win a trophy.
Add in the fact that we're unbeaten in the derby with two wins and a draw, have beaten Celtic and Rangers, all sorts of hoodoos have fallen (first win at Tynie in 5 years, first win at Ibrox in 7), and we've matched a nearly 80 year old club record set by the famous 5 no less to boot, and there's no way it can be less than a 9. The fact we came from bottom to 3rd since November just makes it even better.
We've also played some lovely, expansive and inventive football and the connection between club and fans is back.
18-05-2025, 11:59 AM
Climbing to 3rd from adversity, two good derby wins, goals of the season, beating the Old Firm, icon players, surprise package players, support and squad completely united, European football, and a leader in the dugout.
Got to be a resounding 10 ⭐️
18-05-2025, 12:01 PM
League is 10. We finished as high as anyone outside Glasgow realistically can. Unbeaten in the derby and took points of both Rangers and Celtic.
Scottish Cup a 7. Disappointed to go out early but we won the games we should have and lost one you expect us to.
League Cup a 3. Costly defeat in the group stages, left unseeded and we paid the price. That is the one real disappointment for me this season. It's by far and away the easiest way to get a trip to Hampden and we let it slip.
Overall a good season with more highs than lows. A solid 8 out of 10 all things considered.
Just_Jimmy
18-05-2025, 12:05 PM
8/10
League start was brutal. Since the Aberdeen draw its been incredible but imagine we'd started better...
0/10 League cup.
Awful.
7/10 Scottish Cup
Only draw we didn't want.
Sent from my SM-S931B using Tapatalk
18-05-2025, 12:07 PM
League season 10/10. Beating the Yams x2, Dons, Huns and Celtic in one season is rare.
Cup games 2/10. 2 trip to Celtic Park was ridiculuous.
18-05-2025, 12:08 PM
Can I have 8.5 ?
18-05-2025, 12:10 PM
Can I have 8.5 ?
Naw, whole numbers only :greengrin
18-05-2025, 12:13 PM
Naw, whole numbers only :greengrin
Has that decision gone to VAR? I have a statement on the launch pad.:greengrin
18-05-2025, 12:14 PM
Hmmm an interesting question. First third of the season was a nightmare, contrasting hugely to the last 2 thirds of the season. We were in a state of total despair and that was part of this season and does need taking into consideration.
SDG and the team have performed a minor miracle to get the team from bottom 3rd and lets be realistic, 3rd is about as good as it gets for a non OF side.
Immense pride in where we ended up but if we are grading the season we cant just ignore the first part.
I'll go 7.5
18-05-2025, 12:17 PM
Ten.
The summer break last season was miserable - a downward spiral since we stupidly sacked Jack Ross after failing to back him and replaced him with Maloney. A very poor squad, two of our greatest servants having left the club, a mess off the pitch and on.
The start to the season has made the last two thirds feel all the more incredible. SDG, Craig, May, and Samson have been excellent. We’ve finally ditched Kensall. Results have been incredible. European football next season. Easter Road jam packed.
There’s such an incredible feeling that Hibs are back after a few years away. It’s restored my faith in the club after a summer where I genuinely considered having a season of ground hopping as it felt that the heart had been ripped out of the club.
Naw, whole numbers only :greengrin85 out of 100
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Musselbound
18-05-2025, 01:34 PM
I'd say 9. The only thing that could make it better would be winning a trophy and winning the league itself doesn't seem realistic (though the women have just done it!).
We've actually performed better in the league than times when we have won trophies. If we do get group stage European football that will be another first.
18-05-2025, 01:46 PM
13/15.
8/10 doesn’t quite do it justice.
It’s exactly the sort of situation that those clever fowk who created the “out of 15” system created it for.
18-05-2025, 01:49 PM
13/15.
It’s exactly the sort of situation that those clever fowk who created the “out of 15” system created it for.
Keeping it decimal. Nae imperial measures.
13/15.
12/15?
9.5/10 shocking start , followed by record breaking run . Easter Road is a fortress again and the women are champions .
Paul1642
18-05-2025, 01:52 PM
10 for me if Aberdeen loose the cup final.
Might be controversial because we never made it to Hampden at any point, but to come from around 26 points behind 3rd place, to finishing 5 clear is exceptional.
3rd is a pretty rare occurrence for us Hibs fans and with the guaranteed European football if the cup final goes to script,it’s easily our most important 3rd place finish we have achieved, made all the more important by the fact that Scotland Coefficient drops for at least the next year or two.
The main thing though is the connection and love between the squad and the fans. I absolutely love so many of our players right now and you can see how much they care. We’ve always had a handful of guys in that category, but for it to be a large majority of the squad is beyond rare.
Donegal Hibby
18-05-2025, 02:09 PM
A 10/10 would be a cup win . As this season goes with the start we made up until we played Aberdeen where at one point it looked like we were going to be 26 points behind them . The turnaround has been quite amazing with two derby victories, beating the OF , under 18’s and ladies team’s success today … it’s easily a :9:
Been a rollercoaster of a season that’s ended up a very enjoyable and memorable one :greengrin
Garymcl
18-05-2025, 02:26 PM
As a whole it’s been an unbelievable season ,we’ve got 3 teams in Europe next season WTF :thumbsup:
I’ve been supporting tha Hibees for approx 50 years and I’ve never felt the love (including 2016)that the bond between everybody and feel good factor is fantastic ,we must build on this and as supporters play our part in the only way we can and back the club financially by either buying a season ticket or turning up to as many games as possible or even just purchasing merchandise canny wait already for the pre season fixtures never mind the icing on the cake another jolly or two into Europe following the mighty Hibees bring it on :flag::flag:
18-05-2025, 02:27 PM
13/15.
12/15?
Roxyhibee
18-05-2025, 02:31 PM
Well I’d be a 10. I’ve seen great sides in 60 plus years of supporting Hibs but this team, coaching staff etc across the whole club have established us as a club with guts, confidence and a sense of togetherness I’ve never really experienced before. We must build on that, including us as fans.
18-05-2025, 02:40 PM
It’s been a quite remarkable season, and watching us since December has been as enjoyable as I can ever remember.
That sensation of walking out a stadium and immediately looking forward to the next game and seeing them again is not one that is always present.
While the draws weren’t kind in the Cup, there does remain a slight disappointment with the defeat at Parkhead in the Scottish, where we were flying and backed by a huge support.
While we didn’t disgrace ourselves, we barely laid a glove on them, and I was hoping to see a bit more than what we did that day.
All in all, it’s an 8 for me.
A hugely enjoyable season, with many highlights to look back on. I can’t wait for next season.
18-05-2025, 02:41 PM
12/15?
The equivalent to 8/10, which I think is a tad low (in agreement with a poster above).
18-05-2025, 02:42 PM
Started a 2 and finished a well done, 8.9 with better still to come next season.
18-05-2025, 02:45 PM
Started a 2 and finished a well done, 8.9 with better still to come next season.
I think room for improvement needs to be priced in, especially as it looks like we’re keeping the majority of this squad together, with improvements still to come…
18-05-2025, 02:46 PM
13/15.
13/15 for me as well.
Women's team - Champions.
Under 18's - Champions.
Men's - third place, beating (almost) everyone along the way.
A reconnection with the support, investment into the club, establishing a robust football structure incorporating the various levels, and above all some great football played by players who have given everything for the badge and the team this season.
People talk about likeable teams, this is a very likable team but not only that, we can be proud of the club again.
And a Head Coach who is becoming one of the most significant figures in the club's history.
18-05-2025, 03:13 PM
13 out of 15, 8.5 out of 10? This is anarchy
:tsk tsk:
:rules:
18-05-2025, 03:16 PM
Anarchy would 11 out of 10.
nsandy62
18-05-2025, 04:20 PM
13/15 for me as well.
Women's team - Champions.
Under 18's - Champions.
Men's - third place, beating (almost) everyone along the way.
A reconnection with the support, investment into the club, establishing a robust football structure incorporating the various levels, and above all some great football played by players who have given everything for the badge and the team this season.
People talk about likeable teams, this is a very likable team but not only that, we can be proud of the club again.
And a Head Coach who is becoming one of the most significant figures in the club's history.
Was thinking about scores but this says it all for me - especially after the Women today.
kentao
18-05-2025, 04:37 PM
10/10 for me its not how you start the season its where you finish it ( ask Aberdeen :na na::na na::na na:) The team has finished as better than the rest, Record breaking run with terrific results against the Huns, Celtic Aberdeen & Hearts. Unfortunate with the cup draws but the players gave the fans some belief as we took 7,000 to Celtic Park. It was an enjoyable season with some terrific play and lots of goals (our highest in the top flight since 09/10 season). Hopefully most of the squad can stick together and we are only looking for a couple of additions instead of a full rebuild this term.
18-05-2025, 04:40 PM
The equivalent to 8/10, which I think is a tad low (in agreement with a poster above).
Yeah, I know it is. Never read the post correctly 😀
jakedance
18-05-2025, 04:47 PM
10/10. Great craic. Just a shame with the cup draws but such is life.
Ship of Hope
18-05-2025, 04:52 PM
U18 winning league; hibs ladies winning league; hibs mens third in league. champions league football for 2 teams and hopefully group stage football for mens team. 10/10 for me.
18-05-2025, 05:24 PM
7 out of 10
It's been a fantastic run since the 3-3 game v Aberdeen but, if we're judging it over the whole season, we can't overlook the horrendous start.
Honestly not being overly negative here, as I fully believe we'll be more consistent next season
18-05-2025, 05:38 PM
9/10. We’ve finished 3rd for the second time in 19 years and very unlucky with both of our cup draws away to Celtic Park which won’t ever happen again. We’ve done it all in style with some really memorable games along the way that I won’t forget.
18-05-2025, 06:37 PM
6.8/10
18-05-2025, 06:40 PM
League is 10. We finished as high as anyone outside Glasgow realistically can. Unbeaten in the derby and took points of both Rangers and Celtic.
Scottish Cup a 7. Disappointed to go out early but we won the games we should have and lost one you expect us to.
League Cup a 3. Costly defeat in the group stages, left unseeded and we paid the price. That is the one real disappointment for me this season. It's by far and away the easiest way to get a trip to Hampden and we let it slip.
Overall a good season with more highs than lows. A solid 8 out of 10 all things considered.
I think this is a fair assessment.
Being 3rd is the best that can reasonably be expected given the vast gulf in resources.
Agree with the cup chat and overall score.
hibsdaft
18-05-2025, 06:50 PM
We'll be talking about it for years to come. The poor run made the finish all the sweeter. Some huge results along the way. Very close to 10/10 for me.
darwenhibby
18-05-2025, 07:22 PM
I was with the guys I meet in Robbie’s after the game.
It’s the first time we all felt we didn’t want the season to end.
Cant wait for next season already 9/10🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
Best league season in my time as a hibs supporter. First game was 1975.
Unfortunately in the cup to be drawn away at parkhead twice.
18-05-2025, 08:06 PM
Both the women and the u18s won their leagues and the men finished ahead of everyone except the Ugly Sisters.
The cups weren't as good for either the men or women but overall I'd put this at 9.5 out of 10 for our club.
18-05-2025, 10:24 PM
8 out of 10 for the ‘big’ team …….. 10 out of 10 for the club’s overall success this season. :hibees
18-05-2025, 10:46 PM
9 out of 10.
OK, League Cup was a disaster but ultimately we were put out of the SC by a team with a budget x10 of ours, who are pretty much unbeatable. With a different draw we'd be in the final.
League is our bread and butter and given what 3rd gets us, it's been the most successful campaign in my 30+ years supporting Hibs. Yes we've been 3rd before but short of Aberdeen pulling off a miracle we will be getting group stage European football and millions off the back of that.
Now next season let's make it an 10/10.
18-05-2025, 11:05 PM
10 for me as it’s given me my hibs mojo back and got me back to games and a season ticket for next season
Add in unbeaten against hearts beating Celtic , winning at Ibrox and the sheer joy of watching cadden deliveries from the wing , Gayles sublime skill and vision and goals , Rocks rise to inspirational defender , Boyles resurgence ,Iredale s consistency , Triantis on his day bossing midfield , Levit s skill and passing , Smoth emerging as a great shop stopper , watching Bowies progress , Hoilett taking players on and contributing goals and assists
I could go on
18-05-2025, 11:31 PM
Given that you can only really judge a season on where you finish at the end of it, then it has to be a 10.
19-05-2025, 01:11 AM
8/10 for me rising to 9/10 if Celtic win the cup.
For us to have three teams playing in Europe next season is nothing short of incredible and we will do well to repeat it.
I feel the club as a whole is stronger than it has been for many years and has got a lot of supporters back on board, probably after being close to losing them.
Usually I’m quite content for the season to end but not this time, roll on 2025/26💚
19-05-2025, 02:20 AM
8. A 9 for me would be second place and a 10 winning it.
I expect SDG to do that soon! :wink: :flag: