View Full Version : Dons it

Stokesy's on fire
15-05-2025, 07:35 AM
The term "Don's it" refers to the act of discussing aspirations for winning the league, only to ultimately finish below a team that is at the bottom of the standings, trailing by a significant margin—often around 30 points. It encapsulates the notion of losing an opportunity in a dramatic fashion, highlighting the disappointment of failing to meet their deluded expectations.

THE DONS ARE FALLING APART AGAIN

Get that right up them!

15-05-2025, 07:44 AM
I wonder what the media reaction and would have been had Hibs done similar?

Just think about that.

15-05-2025, 07:46 AM
Hope Dundee Utd beat them

15-05-2025, 07:47 AM
They fired on Joy Divison at full time after they beat us thinking they were doing something. This season has been an all timer in terms of getting it up them and the jambos.

15-05-2025, 07:47 AM

That would be hilarious.

Thought they'd finish second. Ended up fifth.

DIXIHIBS
15-05-2025, 07:49 AM
I wonder what the record is for a points deficit being pulled back over a season. We were 25? points behind Dons and now 4 ahead. Conceivably 7 by Saturday.cant be many teams have bettered that.

15-05-2025, 07:51 AM
Won the league in September
Finished 2nd in October
Blew a 24 point lead over Hibs
Beat Hibs to finish 3rd in April
Will probably actually finish 5th

Donsd it

15-05-2025, 08:02 AM
I wonder what the record is for a points deficit being pulled back over a season. We were 25? points behind Dons and now 4 ahead. Conceivably 7 by Saturday.cant be many teams have bettered that.

I think the maximum they were ahead of us at any point was 23 points and they'd played a game less than us at that point.

When they scored their 3rd at Easter Road on minute 90+5 they were heading 26 points ahead of us (having played a game less).

Crazy.

As good as hibs have been since then, and SDG and the team deserve all the credit, it couldn't have happened without Aberdeen's complete collapse over the winter months.

15-05-2025, 08:03 AM
They played love will tear us apart after the game at pittodrie the other week 😂😂😂😂

Sheep’d it

15-05-2025, 08:07 AM

When, with 5 minutes of injury time played and Aberdeen scored to make it 2-3, we were bottom of the league with 8 points from 14 games and 26 points behind them.

Stokesy's on fire
15-05-2025, 08:08 AM
They fired on Joy Divison at full time after they beat us thinking they were doing something. This season has been an all timer in terms of getting it up them and the jambos.

And it backfired

15-05-2025, 08:14 AM
Bottle jobs no two ways about it , Absolutely shat the bed bigtime :agree:

15-05-2025, 10:17 AM
I heard before the game from a Dons fan and the rumour there is that they could well be looking for a new boss as Theilen is homesick family never moved across.

I was very surprised to hear that. Like stunned.

15-05-2025, 10:20 AM
That would be hilarious.

Thought they'd finish second. Ended up fifth.

Remember the weekly love in with the Scottish fitba meeja and Thelin? These summer romances never turn out well, do they? :na na::greengrin

15-05-2025, 10:23 AM
I heard before the game from a Dons fan and the rumour there is that they could well be looking for a new boss as Theilen is homesick family never moved across.

Sounds more like Thelin is fed up with the Dons, going by the way he's been hanging the players out to dry in the press after yet another loss. Dave Cormack must be questioning things too, given how much he backed Thelin in the summer and winter transfer windows and how many of those players haven't delivered much.

15-05-2025, 10:35 AM
Egg on their face playing tear us apart after they beat us

Even if they moved above us in the league you could still argue it’s a long way to go in the season

But with Aberdeen fans I remember calling in at the start of the season calling him sir Jimmy and splitting the old firm nonsense

Welcome back! Numpties

15-05-2025, 11:32 AM
Remember when the media were acting like it was 1985 again back in October?

Stokesy's on fire
15-05-2025, 11:41 AM

Sure do.

15-05-2025, 11:42 AM

Richard Gordon and Willie Miller have never been the same since.

15-05-2025, 11:43 AM

To be fair they had taken 31 points from a possible 33 and were unbeaten in 20 league games stretching back to March the previous season (winning 16 and drawing 4). That's an impressive run for anyone outside the uglies and I think they were deserving of the plaudits they were getting at that time.

Their 4 month long collapse after that was both shocking and hugely satisfying for the rest of us.

15-05-2025, 11:45 AM
The temptation to ridicule them is strong but it is worth keeping your powder dry until after the cup final. If their moons aligned they could fluke a win, you never know.

Stokesy's on fire
15-05-2025, 12:00 PM
The temptation to ridicule them is strong but it is worth keeping your powder dry until after the cup final. If their moons aligned they could fluke a win, you never know.

Would be typical.

15-05-2025, 01:28 PM

I've gone all out. Will just delete social media and destroy my phone if they do .

15-05-2025, 01:49 PM
Won the league in September
Finished 2nd in October
Blew a 24 point lead over Hibs
Beat Hibs to finish 3rd in April
Will probably actually finish 5th

Donsd it

New Craig David song

TrumpIsAPeado
15-05-2025, 01:51 PM
Dons it - Jambottler's in sheep's clothing

OstKurve Hibs
15-05-2025, 01:53 PM

I worked up there last year for 8 months, that was enough for me aswell.

Trinity Hibee
15-05-2025, 02:04 PM
I've gone all out. Will just delete social media and destroy my phone if they do .

😂👏🏻

15-05-2025, 02:09 PM

This 100%

15-05-2025, 03:30 PM
Sounds more like Thelin is fed up with the Dons, going by the way he's been hanging the players out to dry in the press after yet another loss. Dave Cormack must be questioning things too, given how much he backed Thelin in the summer and winter transfer windows and how many of those players haven't delivered much.

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/6757503/aberdeenfc-jimmy-thelin-close-the-gap/

Would appear - at least for now - to be putting a brave face on it or the rumours are just that.

15-05-2025, 04:03 PM

I honestly cannot see how. Celtics B team tore them apart at Pittrodrie.

Since I’ve been alive my Cup Finals vs Celtic have been Played three, Lost 3.

Celtic rarely lose Cup Finals at the moment. Celtic chasing the treble with their full squad. It ain’t happening.

Their biggest threat will be complacency.

15-05-2025, 04:27 PM
I agree, it's very very unlikely.

And yet the team that was relegated yesterday beat them only a few weeks ago. Strange things can happen in football.

I'll not be completely happy until that game at hampden is done with the expected outcome.

Edit: this is in reply to Bristolhibby's post

15-05-2025, 08:45 PM
New Craig David song

worthy worthy! Bravo sir like your style.

Stokesy's on fire
17-05-2025, 01:31 PM
Hahaha haha brilliant collapse. Falling apart again!

17-05-2025, 01:34 PM
Would rather have had St Mirren 4th. Dons and United biggest crappers in Scottish football.

I mean no disrespect to Hearts.

17-05-2025, 01:38 PM
Title Challenge ❌
Split the Ugly Sisters ❌
Finish Third ❌
Finish Fourth ❌
Finish Fifth ✅

Dons'd It

leithsansiro
17-05-2025, 01:39 PM
Aberdeen fans have been way too smug for way too long. Living off past glories from the 80s. The media sucking up to them after the first nine games was way over the top, as good as their run was.

Cynically, I’d suggest that the GFA was determined to pile pressure on them after their good start just in case they were able to sustain it.

Either way though, their collapse has been funny. Just need to make sure it’s not us having a similar fate, as Hibs will have the target on their back next season

17-05-2025, 01:40 PM
Come on Celtic - gub them in the final

Dons are falling apart, again

17-05-2025, 01:40 PM
Oh it's so ****in funny

17-05-2025, 01:46 PM
What a beautiful day. Aberdeen's prolapse since December has been with the sight to behold.

17-05-2025, 01:48 PM
Hope Kevin Nisbet is having a good day. Maybe take a wee selfie? Knob

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

17-05-2025, 01:49 PM
What a beautiful day. Aberdeen's prolapse since December has been with the sight to behold.

Lost 4 in a row, only 5 wins in their last 27 league games. Thelin must STAY!

Stokesy's on fire
17-05-2025, 01:52 PM
Hope Kevin Nisbet is having a good day. Maybe take a wee selfie? Knob

Sounds like the sheep fans have injured one of their own players. Throwing seats was mentioned.

17-05-2025, 01:54 PM
Brilliant effort to finish 5th from where they were in November. A real achievement to **** up quite so badly.

17-05-2025, 01:56 PM
https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/ace/standard/640/cpsprodpb/vivo/live/images/2025/5/17/c37d7b18-d848-45da-b281-f9931eaac7be.jpg.webp

17-05-2025, 02:00 PM
https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/ace/standard/640/cpsprodpb/vivo/live/images/2025/5/17/c37d7b18-d848-45da-b281-f9931eaac7be.jpg.webp

Five point gap between Hibs and Aberdeen/Utd.

Dontcha just love it. 😁

17-05-2025, 02:03 PM
Five point gap between Hibs and Aberdeen/Utd.

Dontcha just love it. 😁

And 20+ goals! :greengrin

TrumpIsAPeado
17-05-2025, 02:05 PM

That cannae be right. Where's Hearts? Unless they finished in 0th place above Celtic like they made out they were going to do.

17-05-2025, 02:05 PM
Sounds like the sheep fans have injured one of their own players. Throwing seats was mentioned.

https://i.postimg.cc/t4DDTPXZ/IMG-0301.jpg

17-05-2025, 02:06 PM
Willie Miller trying his hardest to blame Dundee United fans for Aberdeen fans hitting one of their own players with a chair

Jock O
17-05-2025, 02:10 PM
Willie Miller trying his hardest to blame Dundee United fans for Aberdeen fans hitting one of their own players with a chair

I don't think he is too be fair, he is calling out against mass pitch invasions, and to be fair, apart from the obvious exception we all have a blind spot for, its a fair point. Some of them recently have had players manhandled, and now someone has been badly hurt. He is making it clear it was an Aberdeen fan that hit his own player with a seat.

17-05-2025, 02:16 PM
5 wins in 27 league games. Managers have been sacked for less.

Lose next week, start next season poorly and Thelin will be history by September.

17-05-2025, 02:16 PM
Goodwin saying he's been hit with missiles from Aberdeen fans a few times in the past

17-05-2025, 02:22 PM
I don't think he is too be fair, he is calling out against mass pitch invasions, and to be fair, apart from the obvious exception we all have a blind spot for, its a fair point. Some of them recently have had players manhandled, and now someone has been badly hurt. He is making it clear it was an Aberdeen fan that hit his own player with a seat.

That picture at the top looks like the guy got a really nasty head injury. Hope the police get the thug who did that - totally reckless to start chucking objects around.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/live/cy75gnd3medt#LiveReporting

17-05-2025, 02:24 PM

Lose next week, start next season poorly and Thelin will be history by September.

He's signed another player for next season already, paid a fee for him. I wonder that Dave Cormack lets him bring in more players given the way the last 6 months have panned out. He let Thelin bring in a lot last summer and then again in the winter window. A bit like player bingo.

Paul1642
17-05-2025, 02:24 PM
A few people might have questioned McGrath’s decision a few months ago. Bet he can’t wait to get away from the place now.

Jock O
17-05-2025, 02:26 PM
That picture at the top looks like the guy got a really nasty head injury. Hope the police get the thug who did that - totally reckless to start chucking objects around.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/live/cy75gnd3medt#LiveReporting

It was Jack McKenzie, and they were saying there he is now getting stitches indoors but had a nasty hit. As I say they have identified it as a seat been thrown from the Aberdeen fans, not sure if they have the exact culprit.

17-05-2025, 02:31 PM
There are so many parallels between Thelin and Lee Johnson. The streakiness, the post match interviews. Love it.

17-05-2025, 02:36 PM
It was Jack McKenzie, and they were saying there he is now getting stitches indoors but had a nasty hit. As I say they have identified it as a seat been thrown from the Aberdeen fans, not sure if they have the exact culprit.

Most stadiums have CCTV that can be used to identify any troublemakers, so hopefully that will allow the police to get the guy.

PS: I assume it was a guy!

Stokesy's on fire
17-05-2025, 03:10 PM
Most stadiums have CCTV that can be used to identify any troublemakers, so hopefully that will allow the police to get the guy.

Interesting interview with Jim Goodwin after the game. He has been attacked by them in the past. They really are one horrible set of supporters.

The dalmeny
17-05-2025, 03:17 PM
Can say Cheerio to alcohol at football.

17-05-2025, 03:28 PM
Takes some going to bottle 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th in one season. Fair play.

17-05-2025, 03:40 PM
5 league wins in 25 for Aberdeen since we drew 3-3 on 26th November.

Shocker of a run.

Green_one
17-05-2025, 03:44 PM

Throws like a girl:greengrin I’ll get my coat

Major punishment coming up either way.

7Hero
17-05-2025, 03:55 PM

17-05-2025, 03:57 PM
Throws like a girl:greengrin I’ll get my coat

Major punishment coming up either way.

Hey she might have been a shotputter for East Germany in a previous life! :greengrin

17-05-2025, 03:58 PM
5 league wins in 25 for Aberdeen since we drew 3-3 on 26th November.

Shocker of a run.

If they hadn't had that unbelievable start to the season Thelin's jaiket might be on a shoogly peg. I wonder if the Dons fans are turning against him yet?

AugustaHibs
17-05-2025, 04:15 PM
Can say Cheerio to alcohol at football.

Chairio*

17-05-2025, 04:16 PM
Chairio*

10/10

hibbie02
17-05-2025, 04:20 PM
I think Sheeped It sounds better….

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

17-05-2025, 04:22 PM
Doesn’t matter does it

They won the league in October and that’s what the history books will say

The dalmeny
17-05-2025, 04:30 PM
Chairio*

sharp

Stokesy's on fire
17-05-2025, 04:58 PM

Brilliant

TrumpIsAPeado
17-05-2025, 05:05 PM
Chairio*

This joke has legs.

17-05-2025, 05:09 PM
It's borderline criminal they finished fifth after that start. Mental.

Will he get sacked?

Stokesy's on fire
17-05-2025, 05:12 PM
It's borderline criminal they finished fifth after that start. Mental.

Will he get sacked?

On the AFC chat one of them said he did better with the team he inherited. They were calling him the next Alex Ferguson when he took them on that good run but that run was with another managers players. They thought they signed a hero when they signed Nisbet he's been awful for them.

Weststandwanab
17-05-2025, 05:47 PM

Who ?

17-05-2025, 05:48 PM
Delighted that they got beat today. Maybe their stadium announcer can play Joy Division tonight.

17-05-2025, 06:28 PM
Imagine our manager had gone on a run of only 5 wins in 25, despite being backed big time in two transfer windows. Any bets on how much we would have been chanting for his head?

17-05-2025, 06:30 PM
The BBC darlings finished 5th (FIFTH) 2 places behind the mighty Hibees. Get it up the lot of them - DONS, DONS ARE FALLING APART AGAAAAAAIN.

17-05-2025, 07:29 PM
On the AFC chat one of them said he did better with the team he inherited. They were calling him the next Alex Ferguson when he took them on that good run but that run was with another managers players. They thought they signed a hero when they signed Nisbet he's been awful for them.

Nisbet’s been awful for them? Absolute nonsense statement.

17-05-2025, 07:31 PM
Nisbet’s been awful for them? Absolute nonsense statement.

Totally. I'm not the guys biggest fan, but he's been more than decent for them.

Hibs Go Bragh
17-05-2025, 07:34 PM
https://x.com/scotlandscoeff1/status/1923766878209441826?s=46&t=wDQYbWVKcRGMtS_7aQxGIQ

This is an absolute shocker!

17-05-2025, 07:37 PM
https://x.com/scotlandscoeff1/status/1923766878209441826?s=46&t=wDQYbWVKcRGMtS_7aQxGIQ

This is an absolute shocker!That's horrendous, a really nasty head knock like that can be so serious. Hope they find the guy who threw this and press charges.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

linlithgowhibbie
17-05-2025, 07:42 PM

Aye and it works so well in identyfing fans singing sectarian filth, letting off flares and chucking stuff!

17-05-2025, 07:49 PM

There’s another angle where it looks like it bounces up off another persons shoulder first which, sounds daft, is lucky.. if that comes straight down onto someone’s head it could’ve been disastrous. Imagine it hit a bairn, what is wrong with folk,

17-05-2025, 08:03 PM

Shocking for the fan to lob a seat but seems a bit OTT from United fans to invade the pitch for finishing 4th 🤣

Stokesy's on fire
17-05-2025, 08:38 PM
Shocking for the fan to lob a seat but seems a bit OTT from United fans to invade the pitch for finishing 4th 🤣

Na they made europe first season back up and beat a team with a very entitled and arrogant support. The Aberdeen fans are also complaining about them invading the pitch but they also invaded the pitch after beating livi in a general league match. They are hurting which is absolutely perfect. Haha

Donegal Hibby
17-05-2025, 08:51 PM
For all the money they’ve spent there doesn’t look to be any significant improvement with that Dons team , ending up 5th and hopefully a good pumping in the cup final maybe Thelin will be under pressure at the the start of the new season.

17-05-2025, 09:14 PM
A mate was there, said there was more things thrown but towards the manager.
Dont think at Aberdeen hes got that lovin Thelin.

17-05-2025, 09:30 PM
A mate was there, said there was more things thrown but towards the manager.
Dont think at Aberdeen hes got that lovin Thelin.

Good one.

You've lost that loving Thelin
Oh, that loving Thelin
You've lost that loving Thelin
Now it's gone, gone, gone

17-05-2025, 09:37 PM
Interesting that Willie Miller can’t remember pitch invasions back in his day. Pretty sure there was one that’s resulted in no alcohol in stadiums.

Se7enUp
17-05-2025, 09:48 PM
Can't say I'm bothered about Dons.

I ****ing hate hearts.

Hearts are the biggest bottle merchants in Scottish football, ever. They came up with H******t it to hide their own *****ness.

scm70nyd1973
17-05-2025, 09:49 PM
Can't say I'm bothered about Dons.

I ****ing hate hearts.

Hearts are the biggest bottle merchants in Scottish football, ever. They came up with H******t it to hide their own *****ness.

Spot on and never let them forget it - eightysixtit

Se7enUp
17-05-2025, 09:50 PM

No, he hasn't.

17-05-2025, 10:09 PM
Thelin has spent a fortune to get fifth spot. They had a great run of fixtures at the start of the season, avoiding the better sides until they'd built up some momentum, but they took advantage and looked like they were going to skoosh third place.
I think they were eight points clear in second place at one point as well.
To have the lead they had over us in November and end up fifth is a humiliation on their part. It's laughable, and given the behaviour of some of their fans on social media , it's a hugely enjoyable collapse to witness.

Dmas
18-05-2025, 07:04 AM
Thelin has spent a fortune to get fifth spot. They had a great run of fixtures at the start of the season, avoiding the better sides until they'd built up some momentum, but they took advantage and looked like they were going to skoosh third place.
I think they were eight points clear in second place at one point as well.
To have the lead they had over us in November and end up fifth is a humiliation on their part. It's laughable, and given the behaviour of some of their fans on social media , it's a hugely enjoyable collapse to witness.

Absolutely fantastic, I was delighted to see them finish 5th, would be a decent shout on Thelin to be first sacked next year 5 wins in last 27 games and as you say spent a fortune and continues to by the looks of things

18-05-2025, 07:12 AM
If they don’t get off too a good start next season I can see the knives being sharpened further

He’s just agreed to sign another winger for 400k

He’s certainly been backed - sheep fans still living in the 80s have this sense of entitlement. Can’t wait for the witch hunt around September when it’s all going Pete Tong

Hibs Go Bragh
18-05-2025, 08:32 AM
I’ve maybe got this wrong but I’m sure their form guide since the 3-3 game is even worse than St Johnstone!

18-05-2025, 09:43 AM

Nisbet won their Player's Player of the Year award......which kind of flies in the face of the perception he has a terrible attitude.

18-05-2025, 09:45 AM
Hopefully Jamie McGrath starts in the cup final and deliberately gets himself sent off within 5 minutes of kick off. 8-0 Celtic.

I've absolutely loved their downfall after all the big licks they were giving in 1983...sorry I mean the start of the season.

Get it right up them.

18-05-2025, 11:06 AM
There’s another angle where it looks like it bounces up off another persons shoulder first which, sounds daft, is lucky.. if that comes straight down onto someone’s head it could’ve been disastrous. Imagine it hit a bairn, what is wrong with folk,

https://x.com/bbcsportscot/status/1923759653667864892?s=46

18-05-2025, 11:10 AM
So, as well as a bottle crash job, ending up 5th, their fans have disgracefully abused a disabled Saints fan and concussed their own player with a thrown seat.

Nice bunch.

18-05-2025, 11:25 AM
Nisbet won their Player's Player of the Year award......which kind of flies in the face of the perception he has a terrible attitude.

Yes. His goals stopped the rot during their really poor run too. About the only saving grace in a poor second half of the season.

If anything has quality has kept Thelin in a job. Probably not for the best in the long run.

18-05-2025, 11:33 AM

I'd have him back. Bowie, Boyle and Nisbet would be three strong options. Need one more for backup.

Stokesy's on fire
18-05-2025, 10:46 PM

Wow he's been rotten as well

18-05-2025, 11:01 PM
Wow he's been rotten as wellNo he hasn't

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

18-05-2025, 11:03 PM
Wow he's been rotten as well

Your comedy hatred of Aberdeen completely clouds your judgement regarding stuff like this.

He's here!
18-05-2025, 11:57 PM
Yes. His goals stopped the rot during their really poor run too. About the only saving grace in a poor second half of the season.

If anything has quality has kept Thelin in a job. Probably not for the best in the long run.

I wouldn't say he's been particularly great but as you say he's probably kept them top six.

They took more points in their first 10 games than in the subsequent 28. If the rot had set in sooner they'd have been in the relegation frame.

19-05-2025, 11:59 AM
Hes definitely not been great for them only in the second half of the season he came on to a game IMO, on saying that how crap must Aberdeen really be to have a player of the year who only had half a good season. I like Nisbet and hope we might be in for him if he only has a season contract with them.

Thatdayinmay16
19-05-2025, 12:07 PM
Hes definitely not been great for them only in the second half of the season he came on to a game IMO, on saying that how crap must Aberdeen really be to have a player of the year who only had half a good season. I like Nisbet and hope we might be in for him if he only has a season contract with them.

Same could be said for the majority of any side in the top 6 out with Celtic.