View Full Version : RIP Sir Tom Farmer
SonOfDavidFrancey
10-05-2025, 11:09 AM
As it says. Sir Tom has passed away. RIP.
DIXIHIBS
10-05-2025, 11:14 AM
RIP sir. You saved our club. Forever a hero.
seanshow
10-05-2025, 11:16 AM
Legend and saviour, forever in our memory Sir Tom Farmer. :not worth
HendoDelivered
10-05-2025, 11:17 AM
Legend RIP Sir Tom 💚
Berwickhibby
10-05-2025, 11:18 AM
R.I.P Sir Tom, without your intervention there would be no Hibernian 🫡
USA_Hibee
A hero.
RIP Sir Tom.
norwayhibs
Sir Tom Farmer RIP
10-05-2025, 11:19 AM
Saved our club
scm70nyd1973
This is truly awful news - what a guy - I am so sad - RIP our saviour 🥲☹️
RIPhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250510/f819177f8f0ab0df2f97603efbad48f8.jpg
Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk
10-05-2025, 11:20 AM
Really sad news
Sir Tom was a major part of history, that we are here today as a Football club
Chorley Hibee
10-05-2025, 11:21 AM
I'd heard the news earlier this morning but didn't want to say anything until it was official.
Rest in peace and thank you for saving our club.
Time to name the East/West Stand in his honour.
10-05-2025, 11:21 AM
A Hibernian great for all he did to save our club. He has our eternal thanks for that.
Condolences to his family.
10-05-2025, 11:22 AM
Rest in Peace, Sir Tom.
Club owes you everything and should be some form of permanent tribute to the man be it a stand name or a statue.
Thank you, thank you 💚.
hibsfan7
10-05-2025, 11:22 AM
R.i.p sir tom you saved hibs
Bridge hibs
10-05-2025, 11:24 AM
RIP Sir Tom 💚
MKHIBEE
Forever indebted to you. Condolences to your friends and family. RIP
RIP Sir Tom.
K-Zazu
10-05-2025, 11:25 AM
RIP. Not sure if we will have a minutes silence next Saturday because we know who is coming to town.
Sad news, we are forever grateful for his work in 1990.
10-05-2025, 11:26 AM
RIP. Not sure if we will have a minutes silence next Saturday because we know who is coming to town.
Sadly that was one of my initial thoughts as well.
Whatever we do, they will disgrace themselves as always.
darwenhibby
10-05-2025, 11:26 AM
Thank you Sir Tom
Rest in Peace 🇳🇬
Gorebridge Hibb
10-05-2025, 11:27 AM
Surely they have one today at Parkhead. An absolute Hibs hero who always had time for a blether about Hibs when me and my Dad bumped in to him RIP
10-05-2025, 11:30 AM
Rest in peace Sir Tom.
I don't think he saved us from extinction, because the fans of this club would have kept it going in one form or another, but what he did do was save it as the club we all know and love and from a long long journey back to relevance, and for that he is a massive part of our history. The fact that under his ownership we finally broke that hoodoo was the icing on the cake.
Naming the west stand after him is an absolute no brainer at this point .... apart from anything else, he built the bloody thing.
18Craig75
10-05-2025, 11:31 AM
RIP and Thank You. There would be no Hibs without you.
What a hero. Thank you for everything Sir Tom.
Svengali
10-05-2025, 11:32 AM
Ironically just finished the book ‘Oblivion To Hampden’ whilst on holiday this week. Saved the club not once but twice in summers of 1990 & 1991.
Thank you STF.
Captain Emerald
10-05-2025, 11:33 AM
Indebted. A great guy. :not worth
Hibby Gav
Sleep well Sir Tom…..you saved our club 💚
Gordy M
RIP Sir Tom....condolences to all your friends and family.
Donegal Hibby
10-05-2025, 11:34 AM
Really sad to hear this .
Love to see a stand named after him as a lasting tribute to the man that saved our club.
RIP Sir Tom Farmer .
10-05-2025, 11:34 AM
Thank you for everything, Sir Tom.
You got the Scottish Cup win that your tenure deserved.
10-05-2025, 11:35 AM
A huge figure in our history. RIP Tom 💚
10-05-2025, 11:35 AM
RIP Sir Tom. Condolences to family & friends. Such sad news, thank you for all you done for our magnificent club :not worth
10-05-2025, 11:37 AM
RIP Tom, one of Leith's greatest sons.
He's here!
One of the most, if not THE most important figures in the history of Hibs. He didn't need to save our club but his family ties to Hibs and his Leith heritage convinced him it was the right thing to do.
RIP Sir Tom and thank you. Very glad
you got to see Hibs lift the Scottish Cup.
Trinity Hibee
RIP. Someone who did something for the local community which many generations will be grateful for. Glad he got to see the cup win, deserved that for all he did.
That's sad to hear, a legend at Hibs.
RIP Mr Farmer.
Rest in peace , a true hero to our club.
He's here!
10-05-2025, 11:39 AM
Love to see a stand named after him as a lasting tribute to the man that saved our club.
RIP Sir Tom Farmer .
He wouldn't have wanted that but I agree with the idea.
RIP Sir Tom Legend
Hibees1973
Legend.
RIP Sir Tom.
10-05-2025, 11:40 AM
That's extremely sad news. I literally gasped out loud when I saw the message on WhatsApp.
RIP Sir Tom Farmer.
dmc1875
10-05-2025, 11:40 AM
When it was time for a hero he stepped up and saved our club. Legend & a really sad loss.
10-05-2025, 11:41 AM
The man saved the club we all love. He wasn't alone in doing so but he went from being a reluctant companion to the man who did the deal.
A Hibs legend who gave us all something we should never, ever forget.
RIP.
Fenriz
10-05-2025, 11:42 AM
I remember that, as the open top bus prepared to leave Leith Links on May 22nd 2016, Sir Tom Farmer emerged acknowledge the sea of Hibees and to lift the trophy one final time for that afternoon. A truly spine-tingling moment, it felt like a reciprocal thank you from a man who'd never sought much limelight as owner of the club.
RIP, and thank you for everything Tom.
10-05-2025, 11:42 AM
RIP Sir Tom
Such sad news, thank you Sir Tom for everything you did to save the club in our greatest time of need.
RIP.
Pete70
10-05-2025, 11:45 AM
Gutted. RIP Sir Tom. Thanks for everything you did for our club.
10-05-2025, 11:45 AM
There's a place in our history and our hearts for this wonderful man and initially reluctant football club owner.
Son of Leith, RIP.
10-05-2025, 11:47 AM
RIP Sir Tom. A Hibees hero and legend.
Stuarty1875
10-05-2025, 11:49 AM
RIP Sir Tom. Thank You.
10-05-2025, 11:50 AM
RIP Sir Tom and thank you
Benny Brazil
10-05-2025, 11:51 AM
RIP Sir Tom
Responsible for the best moments of my time supporting Hibs
1991 Skol Cup
The Sauzee and Latapy 6-2 era
2007 League Cup
2016 Scottish Cup
All because of you - add to the list the stadium redevelopment and building the training centre
To the Angels High above
10-05-2025, 11:52 AM
RIP Sir Tom Farmer .
Very sad news, I agree we should name a stand after him, we could do it at 150th anniversary game against Rot-Weiss Essen
aljo7-0
10-05-2025, 11:54 AM
RIP Sir Tom, thank you
10-05-2025, 11:54 AM
RIP.
Stand and/or statue for a true Hibernian legend.
10-05-2025, 11:55 AM
RIP Sir Tom, this one hits hard for the Hibernian family, thank you for everything you done for our club :flag:
Thoughts with his friends and family at a sad time.
A few months before our 150th is devastating timing.
10-05-2025, 11:57 AM
Despite having no interest in football he stood up when we needed a saviour. RIP STF. I sincerely hope the the rangers support can manage to respect a few moments for his memory on our next and last home game of the season. Tough one.
May well be an occasion for a justified rendition of SOL
10-05-2025, 11:58 AM
Awfully sad news. Farewell to a Hibernian giant. Thank you, Sir Tom. Rest in peace.
Eaststand
10-05-2025, 11:59 AM
Condolences to all his friends and family.
RIP Sir Tom Farmer
Paulie Walnuts
10-05-2025, 11:59 AM
One of the most important people in the clubs history. Rest in peace, Sir Tom and thank you.
Seekyit
10-05-2025, 12:00 PM
RIP Sir Tom Farmer. And thank you Sir.
AltheHibby
10-05-2025, 12:00 PM
RIP Sir Tom, and thanks for all you did for us.
10-05-2025, 12:01 PM
Rest in peace Sir Tom.
We’ll be forever grateful [emoji120]
Hillsidehibby
10-05-2025, 12:01 PM
RIP Sir Tom.
Callyballybe
10-05-2025, 12:02 PM
RIP Sir Tom Farmer. Thoughts go out to the family.
As many have said, now more than ever a time to name the West stand after him.
badabing67
10-05-2025, 12:04 PM
RIPhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250510/f819177f8f0ab0df2f97603efbad48f8.jpg
The saddest of news this morning and I wish to extend my deepest sympathies to STF's family and friends. I have often wondered, but we will never know where or what we would be without him. In his own words the Custodian. Thanks for everything Sir Tom
Sir Tom thanks for you contributions to the whole community of Leith
Thank you Tom.
10-05-2025, 12:06 PM
We owe this man a debt of gratitude that words don't really do justice to.
Thank you Sir Tom.
10-05-2025, 12:07 PM
Sad news, RIP Sir Tom, legend.
wee Stevie
10-05-2025, 12:09 PM
RIP, Sir Tom, thank you for saving our club.
norhfc
10-05-2025, 12:10 PM
RIP Sir Tom, he saved our club we would literally not be here today without him. A true Hibs legend, condolences to friends and family 💚💚💚
Hibs Go Bragh
10-05-2025, 12:11 PM
I’m sure there is another photo of him holding the cup straight up in the air. It absolutely MUST be turned into a statue now. Crowd fund if needed. No one deserves it more.
RIP Sir Tom.
10-05-2025, 12:12 PM
https://youtu.be/-fdKz3JZNWw?si=wm5GEKZZY7WQ_oQF
Just a nice hearing listening to an hour “Ted Talk” as you will from 13/4 years ago
badabing67
10-05-2025, 12:17 PM
https://youtu.be/-fdKz3JZNWw?si=wm5GEKZZY7WQ_oQF
Just a nice hearing listening to an hour “Ted Talk” as you will from 13/4 years ago
Thank you for sharing this it's something I have not seen before, I will find sometime to watch this this evening where I have time to appreciate it.
10-05-2025, 12:18 PM
Thank you Sir Tom, sleep well ❤️🙏
HibeeSince85
RIP to the man who not only saved the club but went on to build the foundations to make us what we are today.
He will forever be remembered as a Hibernian legend.
Jim Herriot
RIP Sir Tom. Saved our club. Naming a stand and/or erecting a statue seems the right thing to do.
green.oracle
10-05-2025, 12:19 PM
Sad news.
Condolences to all his family and friends.
RIP Sir Tom Farmer.
10-05-2025, 12:20 PM
RIP Sir Tom, and thank you for all you’ve done for Hibernian FC.
10-05-2025, 12:20 PM
Sir Tom Farmer
Entrepreneur philanthropist humanitarian proud Scotsman and saviour of Hibernian Football Club for the people of Leith a community he held close to his heart
Sir Tom and his family saved our great club from the abyss not once but twice each time going on to win the Scottish Cup we will forever be in their debt
Deepest sincerest condolences to family and friends thank you for everything you did Sir Tom
10-05-2025, 12:22 PM
ah very sad :( thanks for saving Hibernian Football Club Sir Tom Farmer
sincere condolences to family and friends
R.I.P
Sad news. He saved the club for the community.
Sheffhibee
10-05-2025, 12:26 PM
RIP Sir Tom,
Hibernian FC owe you a huge debt of gratitude for stepping in to help in our darkest hour and for giving us a the foundations to build the club we are today
The West stand should be named in his honour at the first home game of next season
10-05-2025, 12:27 PM
Pity that we don't have a current all black third strip to play in as a proper mark of respect. True Hibs legend. RIP.
leith lynx
10-05-2025, 12:31 PM
Rest In Peace Sir Tom Farmer. What you did for Hibernian Football Club in it's time of need, we will never forget. Thank you. A man of great principles and a great Leither. Sleep well.
10-05-2025, 12:32 PM
Very sad news. Saved Hibs, in our darkest hour. Club needs to mark his contribution to Hibs / Leith over many years.
10-05-2025, 12:33 PM
I'll always remember when he came in to rescue the club he said in a documentary that it was pointed out to him that his grandfather was a founding member of the club. Despite not being a football fan, I think this along with being a Leither is what prompted him to put the money up to save the club. Forever grateful.
RIP Tom Farmer.💚
The Tubs
Total hero. RIP.
Green Reaper
RIP Sir Tom, thank you, thank youuuu❤️💚💚
Sir Tom Farmer Stand needs to be done now.
10-05-2025, 12:38 PM
An absolute hero for us. RIP Sir Tom 😔
10-05-2025, 12:38 PM
RIP Sir Tom, thank you, thank youuuu❤️💚💚
Sir Tom Farmer Stand needs to be done now.
This 👍💚
HIBS NUTS
10-05-2025, 12:40 PM
Thanks Tom for everything
Such sad news, both Hibernian FC and the wider community owe him a debit of gratitude. RIP Sir Tom.
10-05-2025, 12:42 PM
One of the greatest ever Hibernians. Rest in peace.
10-05-2025, 12:43 PM
RIP Sir Tom. Thank you for saving Hibernian FC.
Fratelli
10-05-2025, 12:45 PM
A truly selfless gentleman.
RIP Sir Tom…
10-05-2025, 12:45 PM
RIP Tom, thanks for everything you done for Hibs and into the bargain being a really nice guy. 🥲
10-05-2025, 12:52 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/495023558_1103914491774512_9017998786318190452_n.j pg?_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=127cfc&_nc_ohc=U_kWQPfjJ5oQ7kNvwH11h0-&_nc_oc=Adnf4wODEFF6RSJ4RnExSwQ_agJS3Jr9m6RdNUIstfT WLDoFSJ0VBifYyEL6QXvHnM4&_nc_zt=23&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&_nc_gid=2CjcocF4VssK1s3yhUQVuQ&oh=00_AfKDQDm3hWZjEXUdh1IuQxCX3NbrY1L504VlqWPqpI2J 9Q&oe=682503DE
Galahibby
10-05-2025, 12:53 PM
A very sad day for the Hibernian family. In the immortal words of the Reid brothers; “thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you!”.
If ever it was appropriate to name a stand after someone, this is the time 💚
RIP Sir Tom!
Sent from my SM-S918B using Tapatalk
RIP, and thank you for saving our club.
HFC93
10-05-2025, 12:56 PM
We should rename the West stand after him.
10-05-2025, 12:57 PM
Saved us in our darkest hour. Eternal rest grant unto him o’ Lord.
Glass half full
10-05-2025, 12:57 PM
A truly great man.
Made me remember those awful times before he stepped in to save The Hibs and provided us with the means to rebuild the ground and East Mains.
RIP STF 🙏
10-05-2025, 01:03 PM
2nd only to Canon Edward Joseph Hannan amongst all the important Hibernian FC historical figures.
RIP Sir Tom
10-05-2025, 01:07 PM
Some nice stories on kickback about Sir Tom
Very sad news indeed, I had the pleasure to meet him many times over the years and a very humble man he was. He was a proud Leither and although very much a rugby fane he stepped in and bought our club to save it from receivership due to his roots, he knew he was doing the right thing for the community. My thoughts go out to his son and daughter and his grandkids.
RIP Sir Tom.
Fanforlife
10-05-2025, 01:15 PM
R.I.P.Tom Farmer, we owe you our club.💚
Hibs07p
10-05-2025, 01:17 PM
RIP Sir Tom, came to our rescue when it mattered most, secured our future and made the blueprint to where we are now, forever in his debt.
Scottish Cup Winners
BH Hibs
10-05-2025, 01:21 PM
R.I.P Sir Tom thank you so very much.
10-05-2025, 01:23 PM
RIP.
Stand and/or statue for a true Hibernian legend.
Both should be done ASAP and there's no debate to be had really.
10-05-2025, 01:26 PM
RIP Sir Tom Farmer.
His contribution to Hibs is beyond being able to describe or put into words.
10-05-2025, 01:40 PM
R.I.P. Sir Tom and thank you for saving Hibs.
Mark05
10-05-2025, 01:40 PM
Thank you Sir Tom Farmer Without you I dread to think what would have happened RIP
10-05-2025, 01:43 PM
We owe a debt to the Farmer family that can never be repaid.
Tom followed in his ancestors footsteps and saved our club. A sad day, but his life should be celebrated.
hibeerealist
10-05-2025, 01:47 PM
Thank you Sir Tom, forever in your debt.
A lasting memory at ER now needed.
10-05-2025, 01:51 PM
Rest in peace Sir Tom, thank you for everything you done. Condolences to your friends and family 💚
10-05-2025, 01:53 PM
In having saved the club he may be the greatest ever Hibernian. Eternal gratitude. Respect and RIP.
hibeejeebies
10-05-2025, 01:56 PM
RIP Sir Tom 💚
10-05-2025, 01:57 PM
Very sad news. He did my daughter’s graduation ten years ago. Our eternal thanks to the great man. RIP Sir Tom 🙌
10-05-2025, 02:01 PM
Rip, brought the club into the modern era. Should have the West Stand named after him.
10-05-2025, 02:01 PM
RIP Sir Tom, Hibs owe you so much, you will always be in our thoughts.
Cheshire Hibby
10-05-2025, 02:08 PM
R.I.P. Sir Tom. Thank you for everything you did for Hibernian FC and for the local community. Time to name a stand in your memory. Sincere condolences to the family.
Forever_Green93
10-05-2025, 02:09 PM
Thanks for everything Sir Tom.
RIP.
WillowbraeHibby
10-05-2025, 02:14 PM
Rest in Peace Sir Tom.. Thank you.
10-05-2025, 02:15 PM
RIP Sir Tom, thanks for all you have done for Hibs and Leith, saving my club will never be forgotten
10-05-2025, 02:29 PM
Sad news.
Will always be remembered fondly for everything he did for us.
RIP.
10-05-2025, 02:42 PM
Time for the long overdue Sir Tom Farmer stand.
10-05-2025, 02:43 PM
Time for the long overdue Sir Tom Farmer stand.
Absolutely, the west stand. It’s a no brainer.
Would consider the East being renamed for Ron Gordon too but that’s for another thread.
10-05-2025, 02:59 PM
RIP Sir Tom
cannastar
10-05-2025, 03:01 PM
Very decent man used to come into a place i worked in briefly after the hands off hibs time cafe society in rose street a kind of jazz themed eaterie always polite and civil to staff. Rip to a gentleman. Always be indebted to him for what he did for our beloved hibs.
Absolutely gutted to hear this sad sad news.
RIP Sir Tom.
10-05-2025, 03:06 PM
RIP Sir Tom, condolences to his family and friends.
Hibernian will be forever in his debt. An exceptional owner who saved the club and helped it to prosper. He never made a penny out of it.
10-05-2025, 03:07 PM
Hibs saviour. Forever grateful. RIP
tbfhibs2
10-05-2025, 03:24 PM
RIP Tom, condolences to family and friends.
Huge part of the Hibees history 💚
10-05-2025, 03:46 PM
RIP Sir Tom, gone but never forgotten.
My heart was broken 💔
10-05-2025, 03:51 PM
Thoughts are with his family, we at Hibs should name the South Stand after him to remind the enemy, who saved the club when they tried to destroy us. R.I.P. Tom
Trinity Hibee
10-05-2025, 03:55 PM
Thoughts are with his family, we at Hibs should name the South Stand after him to remind the enemy, who saved the club when they tried to destroy us. R.I.P. Tom
Good shout that
10-05-2025, 03:57 PM
Sad news for a sunshine on leith day.
Thank you Sir Tom, thank you 💚
jakedance
10-05-2025, 04:03 PM
A life well lived and his legacies as a philanthropist, fitba club owner and businessman are considerable. Rest in peace.
10-05-2025, 04:10 PM
RIP Sir Tom and thank you.
10-05-2025, 04:12 PM
RIP Sir Tom and thank you
10-05-2025, 04:14 PM
RIP Sir Tom. Reluctant hero and a Hibs Legend. Hope I'm sitting in the Sir Tom Farmer stand next season.
My condolances to his family and friends.
Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk
10-05-2025, 04:19 PM
So sorry to learn of Sir Tom's passing. For someone with very little interest in football, to step in to save us from extinction was incredible.
I wish the West Stand had been named after him during his lifetime. Surely the Club will be considering this now.
Thank you and God Bless Sir Tom.
Condolences to Sir Tom's family and friends.
10-05-2025, 04:36 PM
Sad news we are forever indebted. Thank you Sir Tom. Rest in peace.
Roxyhibee
10-05-2025, 04:51 PM
Sir Tom Farmer is the most important figure in our club’s modern history. Absolute no brainer to have a statue or name a stand after the great man.
1875godsgift
10-05-2025, 05:22 PM
RIP Sir Tom 🙏 A true Hibs Hero 💚
Condolences to family and friends 💔
10-05-2025, 05:39 PM
RIP Sir Tom.
His main action(s) were before my time but I'm very much aware of the significance of his intervention. To then stick around for so long, steadying the ship, and building the infrastructure we have today went above and beyond. Incredible for someone who didn't seem to have any previous Hibs leanings.
His memory marches on.
10-05-2025, 06:12 PM
We owe a tremendous debt to the man, without, his intervention there would be no Hibs.
RIP Sir Tom
10-05-2025, 06:15 PM
Hibernian legend. RIP.
10-05-2025, 06:23 PM
We owe a tremendous debt to the man, without, his intervention there would be no Hibs.
RIP Sir Tom
Absolutely; we were almost finished when he intervened, a non-footballing man who saw the importance of Hibs to the Leith community and its wider fan base.
And shafted in consequence by the council over the Butterfly development.
Thoughts with his family.
LewysGot2
10-05-2025, 06:39 PM
Heard when driving to the game and a mate said. Not going to lie, I was more emotional than I'd ever thought I would be. Not unexpected but still very sad news.
Had he not stepped in we'd not have had all the memories since 1990...generations would never have known what it means to us.
Aye, things weren't always a bed of roses but we owed him everything.
Let's please do a minutes applause. He deserves thanks. The Orcs unbelievably visit again when we lose an important person. Let's not have them ruin it.
Albahibs
10-05-2025, 06:49 PM
Sir Tom Farmer is the most important figure in our club’s modern history. Absolute no brainer to have a statue or name a stand after the great man.
So sad, Sir Tom Farmer was a hero of mine. The Skol League Cup win in 91/92 will remain as a significant period of my life. It was brilliant after what had happened prior to the cup win.
RIP Sir Tom God Bless you Sir.
10-05-2025, 07:10 PM
Thank you for everything Sir Tom. Rest in peace
10-05-2025, 07:15 PM
https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1921279073030152642?t=wyu1c1qG8ICzpTOGBeVK_g&s=19
I've got relatively little knowledge of the man compared to countless people on this board, but that's a lovely read.
Would genuinely be interested in who was tasked with writing that - it's beautifully done.
That picture of Tom and Ron hits hard.
10-05-2025, 07:19 PM
A nice tribute from the club on the official site now:
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2025/may/10/rip-sir-tom-farmer/
We were talking about this earlier. When he took over the club it was 18 years since our last trophy, when he left it was 3. When he took over our average attendance was 9200 in a crumbling stadium, when he left it was 16500 in a modern, fit for purpose stadium. When he arrived we were training at Wardie playing fields or other public parks in Edinburgh. When he left we had a fully functioning training centre and unlike the likes of Murray and Cormack there was no ego from him to claim it for himself. Most importantly though when he arrived there had been no guarantee we would even have a club the following season. When he left he left a solid base for someone to take us on again. Aye it wasn't always plain sailing but from where he started to where he left us was genuinely transformational. One of the greatest Hibernians of them all.
10-05-2025, 07:27 PM
We were talking about this earlier. When he took over the club it was 18 years since our last trophy, when he left it was 3. When he took over our average attendance was 9200 in a crumbling stadium, when he left it was 16500 in a modern, fit for purpose stadium. When he arrived we were training at Wardie playing fields or other public parks in Edinburgh. When he left we had a fully functioning training centre and unlike the likes of Murray and Cormack there was no ego from him to claim it for himself. Most importantly though when he arrived there had been no guarantee we would even have a club the following season. When he left he left a solid base for someone to take us on again. Aye it wasn't always plain sailing but from where he started to where he left us was genuinely transformational. One of the greatest Hibernians of them all.
He leaves behind a great legacy, and his part in almost 30 years out of the 150 of our existence will be remembered as one of the most important.
It’s strange to think that if Sir Tom had not stepped in to save the club in 1990, Hibs would have just been some team my Grandad supported rather than such a big part of my life. Thank you Sir Tom. My condolences to the Farmer family. RIP.
vincipernoi
10-05-2025, 07:47 PM
I met Sir Tom a few times.
A humble, wonderful man who did his manifold good deeds away from any publicity.
Rest in peace and thank you from the depth of my heart.
We have to name a stand for him.
10-05-2025, 07:49 PM
Rip Sir Tom, a quiet, dignified Hibernian hero who we would potentially have been lost without
davym7062
10-05-2025, 07:53 PM
none of us us have a team to support i its not for him\ the stand shouldve been named decades ago
Silky
10-05-2025, 07:55 PM
none of us us have a team to support i its not for him\ the stand shouldve been named decades ago
100%. The man saved us. At the very least, name the West Stand after him. Rip Sir Tom.
Billy Bunter 07
10-05-2025, 07:58 PM
The word legend gets branded around far too much for my liking.
With Sir Tom, the cap well and truly fits as a Hibernian savior and legend.
An extremely charitable man also.
Rest in peace, Sir. GGTTH.
We were talking about this earlier. When he took over the club it was 18 years since our last trophy, when he left it was 3. When he took over our average attendance was 9200 in a crumbling stadium, when he left it was 16500 in a modern, fit for purpose stadium. When he arrived we were training at Wardie playing fields or other public parks in Edinburgh. When he left we had a fully functioning training centre and unlike the likes of Murray and Cormack there was no ego from him to claim it for himself. Most importantly though when he arrived there had been no guarantee we would even have a club the following season. When he left he left a solid base for someone to take us on again. Aye it wasn't always plain sailing but from where he started to where he left us was genuinely transformational. One of the greatest Hibernians of them all.Well said, PB.
RIP Sir Tom Farmer
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Ribs1875
10-05-2025, 09:55 PM
It's such sad news to hear about the passing of our former chairman. I met Sir Tom Farmer and his late wife at my work a few years back. Such an amazing man to chat with, especially when it came to the subject of the 2016 Scottish Cup. It was clear to see it meant so much to him the way it touched so many folks life's.
For someone who made it to the top, he was very humble and treated people equally. I hope he is recognised for all his achievements with a statue somewhere in Leith in the near future.
10-05-2025, 10:14 PM
Although he was at an event I’d attended couldn’t pluck up the courage to bother him to thank him for what he did for our club.
We are all indebted to this great man for saving our club during the darkest of times.
And leading us to glory. The enormity of what he achieved and did for this club will go down in history as one of the great Hibernians. Entirely apt that a stand and stature be considered.
RIP Sir Tom Farmer.
bordergreen
10-05-2025, 10:48 PM
Thank you Sir Tom. HOH
adam middlemass
10-05-2025, 11:17 PM
First met Sir Tom about 20 years ago, while waiting to go into a show at the Edinburgh Fringe. Walked over and shook his hand and thanked him for saving my beloved football club. We chatted for about 15 minutes and found him to be such a humble down to earth man with no airs or graces. Have such respect for him and his wife. Rest in peace Sir Tom, a true Hibernian Legend. :not worth
11-05-2025, 12:10 AM
He saved us.
HibeeMackenzie
11-05-2025, 12:56 AM
We had our day at Hampden and it’s all because of you.
Rest easy Sir, the reason we all have a team to support
hibeg
11-05-2025, 02:26 AM
RIP Sir Tom and thank you for saving Hibernian FC
11-05-2025, 06:34 AM
A humble, generous gentleman with a huge sense of what it meant to be a community and people pulling together for the greater good. If only there were more of his kind the world would be a far better place.
I am too young to have been around at the time of the Mercer attempted takeover but I have heard many stories from the older generations who were there and I can only imagine what a horrible time it must have been. He stepped in and saved us in our darkest hour, we owe him no end of gratitude. Myself and the generations following probably would never have known a Hibernian FC if it wasn't for him.
Name a the East Stand after him. A fitting tribute IMO.
RIP Sir Tom and thank you for everything
11-05-2025, 07:58 AM
R.I.P. Sir Tom, a true Hibernian legend
11-05-2025, 07:59 PM
RIP Sir Tom Farmer who did his community and his family proud.
11-05-2025, 08:34 PM
I think it's time we named a stand after him.
11-05-2025, 09:44 PM
RIP an astonishing part of the Hibs story
Quadrophenia
11-05-2025, 09:59 PM
RIP sir Tom
The west should be named ‘The Sir Tom Farmer Stand
11-05-2025, 10:07 PM
Rename the West Stand.
12-05-2025, 07:52 AM
It's amazing how many lives Sir Tom touched in the Edinburgh area. Not only through his saving of Hibs but his charity, community and employment.
A real Edinburgh legend who left the world a much better place than the one he came into.
Thank you for everything. Rest in peace Sir Tom
12-05-2025, 11:11 AM
The man who saved our club, not for personal gain of any kind but because he felt it was the right thing to do. We all owe him so much.
RIP Sir Tom Farmer.
12-05-2025, 11:57 AM
"You saw it, you claimed it, you touched it, you saved it"
Any visual tribute to Sir Tom on Saturday should include those words
Thatdayinmay16
12-05-2025, 12:14 PM
it's a shame that the minutes silence/applause no doubt planned for the game against the huns will be ruined by there abhorrent chanting/behaviour.
12-05-2025, 12:57 PM
"You saw it, you claimed it, you touched it, you saved it"
Any visual tribute to Sir Tom on Saturday should include those words
Brilliant idea mate :aok: :flag:
12-05-2025, 01:24 PM
A colossal figure in the history of Hibernian football club. Must admit I had a lump in my throat at the news and these things don't usually catch me like that.
A stand naming or a statue is a must. Personally feel it should have happened when he was alive but I'm sure I read something about him not wanting that. Might be wrong. You hardly heard a peep from Sir Tom. Not one to take any sort of limelight. I would love it if he was officially honoured in such a way by the club now. Eternally grateful.
12-05-2025, 03:29 PM
Some lovely tributes and stories about the man from our neighbours.
One or two roasters in there of course but the vast vast majority are classy and respectful. And as I said, some really heartwarming personal stories and anecdotes about STF
https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/207341-sir-tom-farmer-passes-away/
12-05-2025, 08:04 PM
Some lovely tributes and stories about the man from our neighbours.
One or two roasters in there of course but the vast vast majority are classy and respectful. And as I said, some really heartwarming personal stories and anecdotes about STF
https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/207341-sir-tom-farmer-passes-away/
Surprised but touched
12-05-2025, 08:10 PM
Would we even still exist without his intervention? Saviour! :not worth
13-05-2025, 11:07 AM
Would we even still exist without his intervention? Saviour! :not worth
Of course we would!! It might not have been at the same level but Hibernian would have survived in some way.STF buying the PLC and then separating the club from the assets ie the stadium and other parts ensured the football teams protection from the same thing ever happening again. Hands off Hibs were the organisation that saved Hibs, this should never be forgotten or mixed up with what STF did for us. They were the same but very different.
Hibs07p
13-05-2025, 12:11 PM
Of course we would!! It might not have been at the same level but Hibernian would have survived in some way.STF buying the PLC and then separating the club from the assets ie the stadium and other parts ensured the football teams protection from the same thing ever happening again. Hands off Hibs were the organisation that saved Hibs, this should never be forgotten or mixed up with what STF did for us. They were the same but very different.
I agree to just about al;l of what you said, the fans created the fight against the takeover, Sir Tom had the financies to tell Wallet to go and f*** himself. I do believe that the HOH organisers reached out to Sir Tom, in particular the St Patricks connection. As you say, we would have existed in some form, but Sir Tom had the financial and business accumen to ensure the rebuild went as smoothly as possible, although we might not have realised that at the time.Again, as you say, the same, but very different.
Scottish Cup Winners