View Full Version : Best stand
andrew_dundee
04-05-2025, 11:41 PM
I was in the South stand upper with my dad for the United match as we couldn't get two together in any of the other 3 (a good problem to have really). Great view and good atmosphere as we were only a short distance from the away support.
We had season tickets in the West stand upper last time (his preference). We were near the Famous Five end of it, which was great for atmosphere but view was a bit restricted when the action was at the other end.
I've not really been to the East as there were years I lived in London so only early went to games and stuck with what I knew (although I used to love the old East was an amazing atmosphere for big matches).
If I go to games myself I tend to go for FF upper. I prefer the top down view, let's you follow a bit better and notice some of the tactics etc, ppl getting into space. Also like having Block Seven below as I'd never sit in with them but the atmosphere carries well. It also seems a bit better on the catering front and has less of its prime seats taken up by hospitality.
Do you have a preference, and, if so, why?
04-05-2025, 11:56 PM
I was in the South stand upper with my dad for the United match as we couldn't get two together in any of the other 3 (a good problem to have really). Great view and good atmosphere as we were only a short distance from the away support.
We had season tickets in the West stand upper last time (his preference). We were near the Famous Five end of it, which was great for atmosphere but view was a bit restricted when the action was at the other end.
I've not really been to the East as there were years I lived in London so never went to games (although I used to love the old East was an amazing atmosphere at points).
If I go to games myself I tend to go for FF upper. I prefer the top down view, let's you follow a bit better and notice some of the tactics etc, ppl getting into space. Also like having Block Seven below as I'd never sit in with them but the atmosphere carries well. It also seems a bit better on the catering front and has less of its prime seats taken up by hospitality.
I’m in the West Upper, I much prefer watching a game from the side of the pitch rather than behind a goal. I struggle with the perception of distance from behind the goal when the action is at the opposite end.
04-05-2025, 11:58 PM
The East stand is nice and warm in the sunshine whereas the West is always freezing. The North doesn’t have as good a view as the East or West so it had to be the East. I’ve had a ST in the East and West snd much prefer the East.
05-05-2025, 12:03 AM
I’m in the West Upper, I much prefer watching a game from the side of the pitch rather than behind a goal. I struggle with the perception of distance from behind the goal when the action is at the opposite end.
I'm the same. My seat is almost at the back of the West Upper and I don't think I'd swap it for another seat in the stadium.
Gloucester Hibs
05-05-2025, 12:10 AM
Been in the FF lower safe standing section a lot this season and the view and the atmosphere is brilliant. I know Block 7 have had a lot of bad press on other threads but they really do get that section bouncing even if I don’t know half the songs they sing!
05-05-2025, 02:34 AM
Im now in the lower west towards the south almost in line with the goal, I’ve been in the old cowshed, then the FF, then the old East and then the New East far up toward the north side.
I love where I am right now ! I’m almost in line with the goals and can practically see everything apart from the the NW corner.
Trinity Hibee
05-05-2025, 04:03 AM
More leg room in the east
djw80!
05-05-2025, 06:25 AM
Im in the east with my 15yr old son, love it apart from the stairs lol, Great side view of all the pitch.
05-05-2025, 06:33 AM
Im really enjoying being in the South for recent games. I’ve sat in them all over the years and tend to avoid the East because i can’t be bothered with the stairs if youre high up, or the inability to see key bits of action because of fans leaving and then standing around at the exits, if youre lower down.
As a family we have been in the East Stand Singing Section since it's inception and enjoyed the Green Day, Hibs12thMan and Sect43 Tifo eras.
These days some of the young team that went away to the FF and are now are in their late 20s to 30s are back beside us, and a few are starting to bring their bairns.
That 15-year journey, standing up at every game, the banter / atmosphere and feeling of togetherness is as meaningful as enjoying the high up, side on view of every match. Being able to see two lots of goalmouth action is an aspect we all enjoy along with the big screen replays.
As a family group we also went to more away games this season. My brother is Hibs First, travels with 2016 and goes to almost every match. My older son lives in Dundee, is a member of NESH and along with me, visited the three Tayside clubs, Aberdeen, Killie, Celtic and Motherwell this season. The younger lad works Saturdays so only makes a few games a season. However the big one now travels from Dundee with a tall Canadian mate who is converting to a staunch Hibby.
Away games offer a contrast as we are mostly behind a goal or near a corner whilst still standing up. The end on view means that what goes on in the opposite goalmouth is a bit of a blur but the atmosphere more than makes up for it.
These days watching Hibs home and away offers a brilliant mix of match day atmospheres and viewing experiences. It's a wonderful time to be a Hibby. GGTTH 🇳🇬
05-05-2025, 07:06 AM
Been in the east since I was 14, cant really see me moving now, the atmosphere in the old east was really good, I used to sit right under the TV gantry on the halfway line. Was a bit mental sometimes but added to the atmosphere. I sat in the main stand for the 6-2 game with a mate and the south stand for a European game and just didn't feel the same so will stick to the east
05-05-2025, 07:07 AM
FF upper.
Love the view of Arthur's Seat peaking over the top of the south stand.
05-05-2025, 07:16 AM
FF upper.
Love the view of Arthur's Seat peaking over the top of the south stand.
It’s not the castle tho like our neighbours have….allegedly 😂
05-05-2025, 07:55 AM
Easter Road is a brilliant stadium and the improvements last few years have really helped too.
Glad they put in safe standing as the FF lower has a much better atmosphere now along with other parts of the ground too.
A big thing is obviously Hibs doing well and enjoying the home games more but the whole match day experience has improved so credit to the club.
Will definitely be interesting to see how ER looks in 5/10 years and what the next upgrades are.
05-05-2025, 08:18 AM
I’ve sat in the middle of the East stand for over 25 years, can’t see me ever moving from there tbh.
I had to sit in the south stand when the East was getting rebuilt and I hated it 😆 I hate sitting behind the goals, much prefer a side on view.
05-05-2025, 08:19 AM
I honestly can’t think of a game at ER where I’ve felt short changed by the view.
I’ve sat all over the ground over the years and have tickets vs Rangers in the famous five upper which is the first time I’ve been in there for 20 odd years.
Lendo
05-05-2025, 08:24 AM
The coldest I have ever been in my whole life was sitting in the South upper for a Motherwell game in mid-December when Riordan scored a 90+ minute winner. I’ve avoided the South since then.
05-05-2025, 08:25 AM
East.
Although most of the time I'm in the FF upper because my dad has a season ticket there.
TrinityHibby
05-05-2025, 08:28 AM
I've not really been to the East as there were years I lived in London so only early went to games and stuck with what I knew (although I used to love the old East was an amazing atmosphere for big matches).
I always prefer watching the games from the side of the pitch and have had the same seats in the Upper West since the stand was built. Three rows from the front towards the famous five stand gives you a fantastic view of the match :flag:
05-05-2025, 08:31 AM
Every year I've tried to move our STs to the front row of the West Upper (unobstructed view, great place to put your food/phone etc) but you ****ers keep renewing.
Renfrew_Hibby
05-05-2025, 08:34 AM
Easter Road is a brilliant stadium and the improvements last few years have really helped too.
Glad they put in safe standing as the FF lower has a much better atmosphere now along with other parts of the ground too.
A big thing is obviously Hibs doing well and enjoying the home games more but the whole match day experience has improved so credit to the club.
Will definitely be interesting to see how ER looks in 5/10 years and what the next upgrades are.
Maybe some nice new seating in the west?
Victor
05-05-2025, 08:35 AM
West upper, but moving downstairs next season, as it is a bit of a climb for old knees!
05-05-2025, 08:36 AM
The Cave
05-05-2025, 10:53 AM
At various times in all the stands. Was always East Terrace/original East Stand but then missed many seasons because of child care/duties. When I started to go back it was always the East until I realised there's: times the sun is blinding you, getting out is a pain in the erse, generally picked a seat next to "nutters/exuberance" that you can't casually move away from. Got my first ST in the East Upper figuring that's where the most fee seats were and probably less exuberance but after 3 years moved to West Upper where I was fortunate yo get a very decent seat in block 13.
05-05-2025, 11:08 AM
East is where I prefer but have sat in the famous five upper a couple of times.
05-05-2025, 11:41 AM
Every year I've tried to move our STs to the front row of the West Upper (unobstructed view, great place to put your food/phone etc) but you ****ers keep renewing.
I’m lucky enough to have a front row seat in West Upper, but it’s not completely unobstructed as there is a rail that runs along the top of the wall at front, so for touchline action you may need to adjust viewing positions, and while the wall looks a very handy spot to leave food, I’ve had stewards come along to tell me not to sit my cup of bovril on it. It does make sense for safety reasons I guess!
Other than that - they’re absolute top drawer seats.
05-05-2025, 12:01 PM
West upper, but moving downstairs next season, as it is a bit of a climb for old knees!
The only thing with the lower compared to the Upper is that the leg room in the lower is crap in comparison. My knees have always been rammed up against the seat in front on the very odd occasion I have sat in the lower.
05-05-2025, 01:05 PM
Ive went from the old east( standing) to FF lower with the kids. Upper FF is a good view. Not keen on the West stand as too tight for the legs. Have sat in the upper away end( Degraf double in Europe) what a false dawn that was) Back in the East right at the rear, just off the halfway line and it's definitely the best view imo.
DIXIHIBS
05-05-2025, 01:40 PM
The Cave
You mean the cowshed🤣🤣. Let's have a poll....
05-05-2025, 01:47 PM
I sit in the FF Upper and generally prefer watching the game from behind the goals.
I've sat all around the stadium though and the only area I would say I don't really like is the West Lower. I find it a bit cramped compared to elsewhere and I think I have just been unlucky but the 3 times I have sat there I always seem to get particularly crap seats. Once right at the away end in the seat right against the side of the stand and twice just to the left of the dug out which obscures the view of the corner at the away end on that west side.
I know why people wouldn't like being behind the goal but unless you are pretty close to the centre of a side stand you still have the same issue of being significantly further from one goal than the other. If you are up high in section 38 of the East as an example you are almost as far from the away end goals as someone in section 25 of the FF. I find it easier to see play unfold from behind the goals but I get everyone is different.
05-05-2025, 02:00 PM
I sit in the FF Upper and generally prefer watching the game from behind the goals.
I've sat all around the stadium though and the only area I would say I don't really like is the West Lower. I find it a bit cramped compared to elsewhere and I think I have just been unlucky but the 3 times I have sat there I always seem to get particularly crap seats. Once right at the away end in the seat right against the side of the stand and twice just to the left of the dug out which obscures the view of the corner at the away end on that west side.
I know why people wouldn't like being behind the goal but unless you are pretty close to the centre of a side stand you still have the same issue of being significantly further from one goal than the other. If you are up high in section 38 of the East as an example you are almost as far from the away end goals as someone in section 25 of the FF. I find it easier to see play unfold from behind the goals but I get everyone is different.
Some of us urnae goalies though.... You are used to watching games from there.
05-05-2025, 02:59 PM
The terracing.
aljo7-0
05-05-2025, 03:06 PM
Had a cat B season ticket in the South a few years back when the kids were wee. Found the loss of perspective when play was up at the Famous Five annoying. Moved to the top of the East Stand when they grew up and loved the view but hated the steps and the delay getting out. Now in the West Lower, as kids grew up and am beside my brother now.
Better views in the East but so much easier getting out from the West. Probably preferred the East but the West suits my old knees better now
Mcbizz1998
05-05-2025, 03:20 PM
I was always east stand and never planned to move. Moved to west this season as someone in our group renewed really late and we couldn’t get any decent seats together in the East.
I must say I’m really enjoying the west upper and lack of stairs when going for a pie or to the toilet. We have renewed for next season in same spot.
05-05-2025, 04:57 PM
Front row of the west upper. Plenty legroom and the wall is a nice place for the Prawn sarnies. The row behind actually has a better view, due to the safety barrier, but nowhere near the legroom. I've been lucky enough to sit in the directors area a few times and that is the best view I have had and the cushioned seat makes it the comfiest too. We benefit from being in the slightly cheaper seats which makes ours very good value.
05-05-2025, 05:03 PM
My little group has moved from east to west and back again. Always a bit of a debate, and I'm trying to convince the others to give FF upper a shot.
chasitup
05-05-2025, 05:13 PM
The old East Terracing/Stand especially pre seats. I'll be in the West Lower next season. Been there before and it's going to be interesting, I think we're in the 6th row from the front.
05-05-2025, 05:55 PM
I was in the top tier of the FF on Saturday and really liked it. I’d only been up there once or twice before.
Generally I prefer to be side on to the pitch, and prefer to be at the end Hibs are shooting into.
We’re fairly spoiled for choice at Easter Road though, there really isn’t a poor area at all.
05-05-2025, 06:04 PM
The old East Terracing/Stand especially pre seats. I'll be in the West Lower next season. Been there before and it's going to be interesting, I think we're in the 6th row from the front.
I hope you don't have long legs, mate.
I'm 5'11'' and found the legroom a bit limited.
chasitup
05-05-2025, 06:12 PM
I hope you don't have long legs, mate.
I'm 5'11'' and found the legroom a bit limited.
6 foot tall, I might introduce the west stand standing section!
05-05-2025, 06:25 PM
Really enjoyed the South Upper on Saturday. Only issue is the seats don't match up to the seating plan. Our seats were supposed to be the end of a row on the walkway but we ended up in row in front. Checked online for rangers game. Seats available and click on them but seat numbers are row BB not the one you click.
ruthven_raiders
05-05-2025, 06:34 PM
West Upper, yup it's colder but no sun in your eyes, I'm in line with the 18 yard line, so perfect for me☺️ tho I would like some of those hand rails they have in the east, I've seen to many near misses with people going up and down the stairs.......
05-05-2025, 06:42 PM
West Upper, yup it's colder but no sun in your eyes, I'm in line with the 18 yard line, so perfect for me☺️ tho I would like some of those hand rails they have in the east, I've seen to many near misses with people going up and down the stairs.......
Completely agree. Love my seat in the west upper.
Slightly restricted view for the corner flag between the FF and west, but other than that class view. No one ever seems to use the last two turnstiles either so I'm always straight in and up to my seat with no queue.
05-05-2025, 07:45 PM
6 foot tall, I might introduce the west stand standing section!
Im 6ft and the sat in the West lower for the Clydebank cup game.
No leg room as knees had to be wide of the seat in front.
06-05-2025, 11:28 AM
Enjoyed the view from the back top row of the West Upper half way line you can really see the game unfold and spot dangers and weaknesses in both sides almost immediately but you really need to take an oxygen mask with you and be half mountain goat
06-05-2025, 12:27 PM
Enjoyed the view from the back top row of the West Upper half way line you can really see the game unfold and spot dangers and weaknesses in both sides almost immediately but you really need to take an oxygen mask with you and be half mountain goat
Always sitting up in the stand worked well for Eddie Turnbull.
06-05-2025, 12:40 PM
Always the East for me. My seat in the old east and the new east are more or less where I used to stand on the terrace. First home game ever was against the previous Rangers and after being late in, there was no option but to stand there. Never changed since.
06-05-2025, 01:08 PM
Completely agree. Love my seat in the west upper.
Slightly restricted view for the corner flag between the FF and west, but other than that class view. No one ever seems to use the last two turnstiles either so I'm always straight in and up to my seat with no queue.
No queues to get in and also for Cat B games I am away within a few minutes after the final whistle and quick to get to Sainsbury's to avoid the queues in the car park.
06-05-2025, 01:52 PM
The East stand is nice and warm in the sunshine whereas the West is always freezing. The North doesn’t have as good a view as the East or West so it had to be the East. I’ve had a ST in the East and West snd much prefer the East.
I remember sitting in the east for a friendly game in the middle of summer a few years ago (against Blackburn possibly?). It was a baking hot day and my god it was insufferable in that stand with the sun coming right down on you. Was very envious of those in the west that day.
I appreciate this may not be a very regular problem in Edinburgh :greengrin
06-05-2025, 02:50 PM
Always sitting up in the stand worked well for Eddie Turnbull.
Yes was going to mention that my late father in law worked for Hart The Builder and painted his wee howf purple every day Ned would disturb him and say ‘ Have you no finished that yet ya wee Hearts bassa ? ‘
06-05-2025, 06:25 PM
When i had a season ticket it was in the East. Dont really get to enough games from Chesterfield to justify getting one these days. Tend to get a ticket for the FF upper these days. Have been in the West now and then. Can honestly say Ive never been in the South.
06-05-2025, 07:55 PM
I remember sitting in the east for a friendly game in the middle of summer a few years ago (against Blackburn possibly?). It was a baking hot day and my god it was insufferable in that stand with the sun coming right down on you. Was very envious of those in the west that day.
I appreciate this may not be a very regular problem in Edinburgh :greengrin
I must admit that whilst I’ve been “on loan” in the other stands lately, I haven’t missed squinting into the sunshine that often seems to be in your eyes in the East.
SON OF PADDY
06-05-2025, 10:49 PM
We've got our three seats in the West lower row K, section 6 brilliant view and decent folks around us.