View Full Version : Glasgow Rangers FC

04-05-2025, 09:36 PM
Feels like the only place we can have a conversation about this vile institution and deliberated over whether it was even worth it. But I genuinely despise them and everything they stand for

Most will have seen their latest tifo display, followed by the usual songs and bucky bottles amongst other missiles launched on the pitch after the opposition dared to equalise (subs were running on to get the debris so ref never saw it)

What can be done about them? Almost media blackout on their shenanigans today. Is there latest tifo in response to the support for Kneecap?

A blight on Scottish football. Horrible

04-05-2025, 09:48 PM
Not everybody watches Star Wars and wants to be on the good guys side.[emoji2369]

Dmas
05-05-2025, 06:47 AM
Feels like the only place we can have a conversation about this vile institution and deliberated over whether it was even worth it. But I genuinely despise them and everything they stand for

Most will have seen their latest tifo display, followed by the usual songs and bucky bottles amongst other missiles launched on the pitch after the opposition dared to equalise (subs were running on to get the debris so ref never saw it)

What can be done about them? Almost media blackout on their shenanigans today. Is there latest tifo in response to the support for Kneecap?

A blight on Scottish football. Horrible

Much like yourself I hate them and everything they stand for, I’m now of the belief nothing will ever be done about it, I’ll soon be 43 and this sort of stuff has been allowed to go on at the football my whole life and before it.

If there was songs sung and tifos made about any other religious group/group of people there would quite rightly be all out condemnation, people don’t even blink because it’s just catholics or even worse just football banter. There’s no shock, it’s expected, it’s part of the show, now you will get a few days of whataboutery and everything will be forgotten until the next one comes round.

Hibs4185
05-05-2025, 08:06 AM
Remember when Irvine Welsh called them currant buns and the outrage was all over social media and the newspapers.

It’s not even remotely in the same league as yesterday but there’s hardly a peep criticising it.

The best that can happen is that the potential investors walk away.

05-05-2025, 08:17 AM
Surely we’ll hear from John Swinney and all the other politicians losing their **** last week over kneecap?

05-05-2025, 08:20 AM
Remember when Irvine Welsh called them currant buns and the outrage was all over social media and the newspapers.

It’s not even remotely in the same league as yesterday but there’s hardly a peep criticising it.

The best that can happen is that the potential investors walk away.

They still talk about that as well. Huns I know reference it on occasion

I remind them that they interrupted our minute of reflection for our owner passing, as well as hoping serious injury upon Martin Boyle as he lay still on the ground

Vermin. I know people I'd consider to be reasonable that follow them. I just don't get how they're all fine by this nonsense and in most cases, lap it up

We're not perfect. There's an element in our support that bring nonsense to ER and odd away game like signing about the queen or pro IRA nonsense but we can state with absolute certainty it is the minority thankfully

jamie_1875
05-05-2025, 08:25 AM
They still say it's a minority but it was the whole stand, perhaps many didn't understand what they were holding but if they did that's not a small minority. It's always brushed under the carpet in Scotland and I don't really understand why. I am Edinburgh born so I have never really understood it all.

05-05-2025, 08:27 AM
They still say it's a minority but it was the whole stand, perhaps many didn't understand what they were holding but if they did that's not a small minority. It's always brushed under the carpet in Scotland and I don't really understand why. I am Edinburgh born so I have never really understood it all.

A banner that size surely doesn’t get inside the stadium without co-operation with the club?

05-05-2025, 08:30 AM
Surely we’ll hear from John Swinney and all the other politicians losing their **** last week over kneecap?

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkYou know the answer to that one in relation to hun behaviour.

Which has always struck me as strange now the modern day SNP has real power since they are pretty active and vocal about just about every other minority, racist offences and fighting prejudices generally, and rightly so, but on this one and others like it there's no action, maybe a bit of navel gazing and hoping it goes away at best.

I say this as someone who identifies with a lot of what the SNP are about and have been doing. It's almost as if they are scared of huns and their media.

05-05-2025, 08:39 AM

Two-tier freedom of speech.

05-05-2025, 09:00 AM
I don't think it's any coincidence that the statements about fans started around the time potentially investors got involved.

jamie_1875
05-05-2025, 09:00 AM
A banner that size surely doesn’t get inside the stadium without co-operation with the club?

The club could claim they didn't know what the display was going to be? But if so that's just negligence on their behalf, they should have checks in place. Do Hibs always know what our displays are etc? I don't know.

jamie_1875
05-05-2025, 09:01 AM
I don't think it's any coincidence that the statements about fans started around the time potentially investors got involved.

The investors must be looking at that and thinking is this what we want to invest in?

05-05-2025, 09:19 AM
The investors must be looking at that and thinking is this what we want to invest in?

You'd like to think so, but it looks like it's imminent.

Hibs4185
05-05-2025, 09:26 AM
Maybe the banner was aimed at the new investors seems as though they are catholic? Now that would be hilarious

05-05-2025, 09:59 AM
Maybe the banner was aimed at the new investors seems as though they are catholic? Now that would be hilariousNot just any old catholics.

The family's connection to the Catholic faith is significant, with multiple members having attended Catholic schools and colleges.*For example, John York, chairman of the 49ers, is a graduate of Catholic High, and Denise DeBartolo York, co-chairwoman, attended Saint Mary's College of Indiana.*Jed York, CEO of the 49ers, also attended St. Charles Elementary School and Cardinal Mooney High School, both Catholic institutions.*

Have donated whole buildings to catholic boys schools, maybe they'll get some collection buckets out at hunbox?

I'm wondering if the big hun gun will be out again.

05-05-2025, 10:08 AM
Was the guy holding the shotgun supposed to be Michael Stone? Could have been him or a young Graeme Souness.

It's totally pitiful but what can you do? You already have them pointing to displays Celtic have had in the past, particularly one featuring the words of civil rights campaigner Bernadette Devlin and a picture of a boy in a gas mask. This is the fundamental problem. Neither side will ever admit they are in the wrong, neither side will say enough is enough, get their own house in order and then actually have a moral high ground to take. It's 'he said, she said' or 'aye but they did it first'. Worse than that some of them just seem to find it funny and any complaints are just 'woke':rolleyes:

It won't change. It's an accepted part of Scottish society, a bit of a weird quirk rather than a national disgrace. I've said it before but if there are marches viewed as racist, Islamophobic etc etc in Scotland then the counter protests regularly outnumber the actual march and thank god for that. Yet for months every summer we have anti Irish, anti Catholic marches parading about the streets and there is barely a peep in opposition. It's good for a laugh on Hogmanay TV though.

Nothing will be done. There will be a few days of chat then everyone will move on until the next OF game when the inevitable response comes. Rinse and repeat.

05-05-2025, 11:48 AM
I hope the 49’rs have done their due diligence ?

Horrible despicable club

Would not give them a brass farthing

The way they responded to Ron Gordon’s minutes silence/ applause was an absolute disgrace

Saying that I was surprised Ron Gordon went ahead with his investment when one of our own came out of the East to attack Tavernier when he was on a recce ?

05-05-2025, 11:50 AM
The sun online reporting that the banner has been “seized” by the Cops
You’d hope the people behind it will be getting a chap on the door soon
I can’t believe rangers have been blindsided by this

05-05-2025, 12:01 PM
According to the BBC "Any potential charges brought against Rangers by the Scottish Professional Football League could depend on whether the incidents are included in the match delegate's report"

I'm going to bet that the 'delegate' was probably looking the other way.

05-05-2025, 12:18 PM
According to the BBC "Any potential charges brought against Rangers by the Scottish Professional Football League could depend on whether the incidents are included in the match delegate's report"

Poor reporting, no?

Pretty sure the SPFL have no power to act.

05-05-2025, 12:29 PM

It’s a ridiculous star of affairs anyway if they say they can’t act unless one man writes in a report.

05-05-2025, 12:46 PM
It’s a ridiculous star of affairs anyway if they say they can’t act unless one man writes in a report.

If the person hasn’t seen it/reported it, they aren’t fit for the job

05-05-2025, 12:46 PM

They can't act.

05-05-2025, 12:53 PM

I'm going to bet that the 'delegate' was probably looking the other way.The delegate probably got in to see his team free[emoji23]

05-05-2025, 12:56 PM

“We demand to know the identity of that one man!”

(The reason why it won’t find its way into any report).

05-05-2025, 01:00 PM
“We demand to know the identity of that one man!”

(The reason why it won’t find its way into any report).

Does the name of the match delegate get published anywhere

05-05-2025, 01:02 PM
UEFA do not hang about when it comes to the uglies

Sectarianism is racism

Bring in strict liability

05-05-2025, 01:16 PM
They can't act.

Why not? If bottle throwing etc is included them it can be actioned upon. Surely the same goes for a very offensive banner.

jamie_1875
05-05-2025, 01:33 PM

John Swinney is reported to have called it "unacceptable"

Fair play to him, he could have ignored it like his predecessors.

Bridge hibs
05-05-2025, 01:34 PM
Why not? If bottle throwing etc is included them it can be actioned upon. Surely the same goes for a very offensive banner.

More likely they will just look at is as silly boys and the other silly bhoys will do the same the next time. It seems to be accepted and sadly nothing will change.

Be it hibs or hearts then rest assured both clubs would get hammered.

05-05-2025, 02:01 PM

The clubs can't be held accountable by the football authorities for the actions of their fans.

The bottle-thrower will, if identified, be sanctioned by the club, the police and probably given an FBO.

The same holds for the banner, albeit it will be trickier to make stick.

But the SFA and SPFL have no way of closing grounds, fining or points deductions, as has been suggested.

09-05-2025, 01:56 PM
I see they have published part 1 of the meeting between the Rangers Fan Advisory Board and Rangers Leadership team
Part 2 to follow

https://assets.ctfassets.net/39646iezddpk/6yJMNtgGOylW9P3RysMYxy/8fac08f8fcdca819b71660b0638bd021/FAB_Meeting_6_May_2025.pdf

MKHIBEE
09-05-2025, 04:22 PM
I see they have published part 1 of the meeting between the Rangers Fan Advisory Board and Rangers Leadership team
Part 2 to follow

https://assets.ctfassets.net/39646iezddpk/6yJMNtgGOylW9P3RysMYxy/8fac08f8fcdca819b71660b0638bd021/FAB_Meeting_6_May_2025.pdf
Basically ‘ Aye but whit aboot everyin else? It’s no fair’.

09-05-2025, 04:43 PM

SFA will look to make an example of the next (non Glasgow) club that steps out of line and will hammer them and then completely ignore the next time one of the smellies breach the rules. It's the way it's always been.

09-05-2025, 04:43 PM
Basically ‘ Aye but whit aboot everyin else? It’s no fair’."We're only bigoted because everyone hates us, honest, and the club should be mindful to protect our tradition of being bigots."

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

09-05-2025, 04:53 PM
'Our traditions' must be the most used equivocation among the Rangers fanbase.

Just say it like it is:

'wur grandas wur allowed tae hate kafflicks openly and we want tae dae the same by the way big man'

bringbackbenny
09-05-2025, 05:25 PM
SFA will look to make an example of the next (non Glasgow) club that steps out of line and will hammer them and then completely ignore the next time one of the smellies breach the rules. It's the way it's always been.

Due to our lack of strict liability I'm not convinced any meaningful actions can be taken by the SFA

09-05-2025, 08:20 PM

It's a total joke. I do hate them, I hate what they stand for and I hate that they seem intent on continuing it and painting themselves as the victims

10-05-2025, 05:51 AM
Hey Big man what was the score ?

1-0 to Hibs

Who missed Rangers’ penalty ?

MKHIBEE
10-05-2025, 12:44 PM
It's a total joke. I do hate them, I hate what they stand for and I hate that they seem intent on continuing it and painting themselves as the victims

Im sure that view is shared by many Hibs fans, not to mention other teams supporters

11-05-2025, 02:44 AM
Part 2 to follow

'the club is largely disliked which leads to frustration...'

I thought they didn't care!? :greengrin

11-05-2025, 07:39 AM
Part 2 to follow

If that was a public forum, it would read like gaslighting from the rangers fans representatives. As it’s not, it reads as delusion and lack of comprehension of the real world.

11-05-2025, 08:53 AM
I wish them well today.[emoji6][emoji23]

14-05-2025, 02:03 PM
Somebody had to post this....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A1zH2x1-7LA