View Full Version : Last game of ‘85/‘86 vs first of ‘86/‘87
scm70nyd1973
04-05-2025, 09:01 AM
I saw a post yesterday of someone who said being at ER on 03/05/1986 was his best ever at ER.
The first game of the following season was against Der Hun.
I was fortunate to be at both.
Both were epic games for different reasons (schadenfreude v elation) but it did get me thinking about which one I look back on and loved more.
I can’t choose to be honest - I should go for the first of the ‘86/‘87 but the last in 5/86 was a bit special.
As an aside I think that Beedie scored the last goal of the ‘85/‘86 season and then scored the first of the next one.
I’d love to know what others who were at both think.
PS - Apologies again to the guy who’s face I trod on when he fell to the deck after the red card was shown to Souness
04-05-2025, 09:21 AM
I too was at both games but the Souness game was, in my view, far better. Place was totally radge! Having said that though seeing the yams fall at the final hurdle was also v funny
scm70nyd1973
04-05-2025, 09:32 AM
I too was at both games but the Souness game was, in my view, far better. Place was totally radge! Having said that though seeing the yams fall at the final hurdle was also v funny
A scorching day it was v der hun - a bit grey on 3/05 IIRC but it got brighter 🤭
Mcbizz1998
04-05-2025, 10:35 AM
I wasn’t alive at the time but surely we aren’t saying hearts losing the league was a better day at Easter Road than Hibs beating rangers?
04-05-2025, 10:43 AM
I wasn’t alive at the time but surely we aren’t saying hearts losing the league was a better day at Easter Road than Hibs beating rangers?
Of course it is.
We have beaten Rangers plenty of times since and will do again but it’s highly unlikely Hearts will ever get another opportunity like that in your lifetime and we would have had to live with the constant crowing if they had won it.
DIXIHIBS
04-05-2025, 10:55 AM
2 great, but very different, days. Souness game was just mental. Rangers full of English internationals gonna hammer the hibees. Naw. Souness off and 2-1 to Hibs. Limbs as they say nowadays. Hearts losing...ER was half empty v Utd and everyone waiting on the inevitable bad news from Dens. Up pops Albert. ER erupts as everyone listening to their radios hears the score. The teams on the park literally stop and look, wondering what is going on. If I remember rightly utd
went up the park and scored while this was going on. The relief of that lot not winning the league was quite something.
04-05-2025, 11:19 AM
That's where I am too.
04-05-2025, 11:38 AM
I was at both two. It would be like comparing apples with oranges. Hardly watched the last game of 85/86 as was gathered round the tranny(very different language back then). I remember going back to The Abercorn waiting for the Jambos to return more than the game. Only one fight and a good night had by all with us celebrating and them drinking their sorrows away. The Sounness game has to be up there with one of my favourite games at ER
04-05-2025, 11:43 AM
Of course it is.
We have beaten Rangers plenty of times since and will do again but it’s highly unlikely Hearts will ever get another opportunity like that in your lifetime and we would have had to live with the constant crowing if they had won it.
I was at the game v Dundee Utd and to be honest, the Hearts score would have given me the same joy no matter where I was. Being at a dire end of season encounter where we lost was irrelevant.
LewysGot2
04-05-2025, 11:55 AM
I saw a post yesterday of someone who said being at ER on 03/05/1986 was his best ever at ER.
The first game of the following season was against Der Hun.
I was fortunate to be at both.
Both were epic games for different reasons (schadenfreude v elation) but it did get me thinking about which one I look back on and loved more.
I can’t choose to be honest - I should go for the first of the ‘86/‘87 but the last in 5/86 was a bit special.
As an aside I think that Beedie scored the last goal of the ‘85/‘86 season and then scored the first of the next one.
I’d love to know what others who were at both think.
PS - Apologies again to the guy who’s face I trod on when he fell to the deck after the red card was shown to Souness
Was at both but - and this is a reality - there are honestly not many who were. Attendance for the United match was 3,500.
Edinburgh had emptied of Hibs fans getting away from what we'd feared would be celebrations off the scale.
I didn't but went to the game expecting nothing. It was the days of folk only knowing what was happening elsewhere during the game via transistor radio. Folks were listening to Radio Scotland and hoping against hope.
We got beaten but my abiding memory on a very empty East terrace was Stuart Beedie actually stopping in the middle of the game - in open play - to ask fans on the terrace if Dundee had scored when the news of AK started to come through. He then went round telling the other players.
At the second and in the aftermath there was a conga around the East as we all had the best schadenfreude party ever.
We lost but the couple of thousand of us actually at ER celebrated more than the United fans 🤣🤭
LewysGot2
04-05-2025, 12:01 PM
For those questioning us celebrating Hearts losing and who weren't born or old enough to remember- you had to live a whole year with that mob gloating all year about winning the league and living with it being almost a certainty in that week. It was absolutely insufferable. Completely and utterly insufferable. For them to not only keech their load on the final day with a 7 goal swing then go on to do the same in the Cup Final the next Saturday- and see Walter Kidd become the first player sent off in the SC Final was absolutely off the scale.
A brilliant 8 days that made up for everything that preceded it 👏👏👏
04-05-2025, 12:01 PM
Wasn't born in 86' but I can only imagine the utter dread waking up that morning thinking Hearts were about to win the league. Feel sick just thinking about it tbh.
That being said I can't imagine the feeling of joy when it all came spectacularly crashing down on them! Absolutely beautiful scenes watching them cry on the terraces!
Still though, at least they consoled themselves with the cup the following week . . .
Wasn't born in 86' but I can only imagine the utter dread waking up that morning thinking Hearts were about to win the league. Feel sick just thinking about it tbh.
That being said I can't imagine the feeling of joy when it all came spectacularly crashing down on them! Absolutely beautiful scenes watching them cry on the terraces!
Still though, at least they consoled themselves with the cup the following week . . .My memory after the roar for Dundee's first goal, the second quickly followed and all I heard was laughing. Was in the old enclosure and it was like being at a stand up show, gales of laughter everywhere.
People you didn't even know were into football had suddenly revealed themselves as Hearts fans, weeks and weeks of them assuming they'd won the league. Pride comes before a fall indeed.
Rangers game was totally different as it was about us beating what was seen as a team who wouldn't be beaten, before a ball had been kicked.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
I was working in a Saturday job at Cameron toll on the day hearts won the league. I finished at 16:30 and remember walking to the bus stop, running on my radio and hearing hearts in fact did not appear to be winning the league b
First game of the next season I sadly also missed as I was in Benidorm with my rabid hun supporting mate. On the Monday morning we went to ge5 the Sunday paper to see what the score was and I loved when I read the headline.
SOURNESS.
At the United game, there was a guy standing next to us who was listening to the other games unfold on a wee hand held radio.
When Dundees' 1st goal went in he shouted '******, Kidd's just scored ... wait, it isnae Walter, it's Albert' and the place went metal. 🤣
I remember when news of the 2nd Dundee goal came through, a huge roar went up and the Hibs players stopped playing to watch and cheer with the support. The United players played on and scored their second goal amidst the celebrations but nobody cared. 🤣
There were maybe only about 6000 at Easter Road that day but the celebrations were just as good as if the stadium had been full. :flag::flag:
04-05-2025, 12:53 PM
That day was pne of the funniest days of my life, sitting in the pub after the match and calling all the hearts clubs and pubs asking if there was an Albert Kidd in the bar gave us hours on entertainment, especially when we got an unsuspecting female shouting it through the bar to the members.:faf:
Childish i know, but who gave a **** that night?
LewysGot2
04-05-2025, 12:57 PM
At the United game, there was a guy standing next to us who was listening to the other games unfold on a wee hand held radio.
When Dundees' 1st goal went in he shouted '******, Kidd's just scored ... wait, it isnae Walter, it's Albert' and the place went metal. 🤣
I remember when news of the 2nd Dundee goal came through, a huge roar went up and the Hibs players stopped playing to watch and cheer with the support. The United players played on and scored their second goal amidst the celebrations but nobody cared. 🤣
There were maybe only about 6000 at Easter Road that day but the celebrations were just as good as if the stadium had been full. :flag::flag:
3500. That was all. It was empty
Less than I thought, but, it was priceless to celebrate the Merricks ****ting the bed no matter how many of us were there. 😁
Less than I thought, but, it was priceless to celebrate the Merricks ****ting the bed no matter how many of us were there. [emoji16]Only guy I didn't see celebrate was Eddie May in Ma Wilsons after the match. He didn't like Dundee Utd much.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
04-05-2025, 02:14 PM
I was at the game v Dundee Utd and to be honest, the Hearts score would have given me the same joy no matter where I was. Being at a dire end of season encounter where we lost was irrelevant.
Poor crowd that day, we lost to Utd. then the news filtered through that Kidd had scored, I’m sure I wasn’t the only one to think it was Wally Kidd, but after that is was pure delirium, even the players looked bemused!
The Souness game was brilliant for its own reasons!