View Full Version : 150th Anniversary Kit rumours and info thread

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

BlackSheep
30-04-2025, 08:24 AM
As it says on the tin, I figured we needed a thread to start speculating or even revealing info on our kits for next season.

Very little (if anything) has been leaked or released so far… but there’s always a few posters with inside info.

Fire away!

The only speculative detail so far is the potential for the harp/thistle badge… personally it’s not my cup of tea… I would’ve preferred a simple harp design from previous branding.

hibsforeurope
30-04-2025, 08:30 AM
i've no info but I hope we go back to offering long sleeve versions of the kit to tie in with the strips of the past.

30-04-2025, 08:40 AM
Our first kit was all white with green stripes down the shorts and green socks, would be interesting if we went for that.

Also wouldn't be surprised if we went with an all-green top ala 2014.

30-04-2025, 10:31 AM
Pretty pish rumour but I’ve heard that someone I trust knows what the strip will look like wasn’t giving away - didn’t probe tbf. So it must have been settled is the un-pish bit of news.

30-04-2025, 10:47 AM
Our first kit was all white with green stripes down the shorts and green socks, would be interesting if we went for that.

Also wouldn't be surprised if we went with an all-green top ala 2014.

That's the one it should be. With a harp on the shirt.

A lot of hibs fans on twitter seem obsessed with the idea it should be hoops, which as mentioned many times on here would be a very odd choice given it was only worn for two or three years and wasn't even the first kit.

30-04-2025, 10:59 AM
That's the one it should be. With a harp on the shirt.

A lot of hibs fans on twitter seem obsessed with the idea it should be hoops, which as mentioned many times on here would be a very odd choice given it was only worn for two or three years and wasn't even the first kit.

It doesn't make any sense, to me, to have any other strip than a replica of our first one.

30-04-2025, 11:02 AM
I really hope we make any anniversary kit our first choice kit for the season. It's pish when teams release these strips then wear them about twice.

Celtic had a kit for their 125th anniversary that was decent as far as Celtic things go and hardly wore it, same with Hearts last season (and controversially I thought that kit was very well done).

White anniversary kit as home/1st top, green as an away/2nd kit and not really fussed what we do for a 3rd.

mcohibs
30-04-2025, 11:10 AM
Hope the honking ‘bevvy’ sponsor is nowhere near any of our kits next season, whether that’s the anniversary version or the standard home and away kits.

babahibs
30-04-2025, 11:31 AM
Has to be our first kit, all white, green socks, not sure how they'd do the brown belt though.
Harp on chest, no sponsor, job's a good'un.
The hoops chat is nonsense.

30-04-2025, 11:32 AM
I’ve no problem with a dark green and white hooped top for a third strip.

30-04-2025, 11:41 AM
I’ve no problem with a dark green and white hooped top for a third strip.

But why would we have that?

30-04-2025, 12:50 PM
But why would we have that?

Sales

7Hero
30-04-2025, 12:59 PM
Sales

Be very surprised if the majority of Hibs fans were buying that, i for one have no desire to buy a top which makes us look like celtic. Regardless of it being a top we wore once a very long time ago it wasn't our first and the first white strip with the harp should be the one we use.

I cringe at the inevitable "cousins of celtic" "diet celtic" etc. that will be banded about - the club should go no where near that strip..

30-04-2025, 01:04 PM
Sales

I’ve zero interest in buying a green and white hooped football top.

30-04-2025, 01:06 PM
I asked Chat GPT to create a modern remake of our first strip

Something as plain and classy as that would go down well imo

30-04-2025, 01:08 PM

Same.

My worry is that Joma are making the kits.

This year's home kit, whilst still having a bizaare collar, has grown on me since we moved to white shorts, but the third white kit was so poorly executed for what should be a great kit. Hopefully they surprise me.

30-04-2025, 01:10 PM

Think that looks really good, particularly with the iconic harp badge.

30-04-2025, 01:17 PM
Sales

Is there demand for a hooped kit? From Hibs fans? I wouldn't buy it.

30-04-2025, 01:20 PM

The whole hoops obsession confuses me if I'm honest.

Beyond 'winding up Celtic' (which it wouldn't anyway) I see no reason at all why a significant anniversary should be marked by a hooped top. It wasn't our first strip, it wasn't an early strip that was used for a particularly long time and it's not the kit most synonymous with us throughout our history. We wore hoops for 3 years in the 19th century. That's it.

The hoops are Celtics. Ask anyone who knows Scottish football which club wore, wears and will forever wear green and white hoops and they will say Celtic. They didn't steal them from us, they adopted them more than 2 decades after we stopped wearing them. Of all the things to be bitter about when it comes to Celtic that is pretty far down the list imo.

Our 150th anniversary should be a celebration of Hibs. Hibs as a whole and only Hibs. Any thought that any part of it should be used to try and wind up Celtic or provoke a reaction from any other fanbase can quite frankly get in the bin. I'd buy pretty much any anniversary tat Hibs throw out for us but a hooped kit leaves me cold and I doubt I'd buy it.

30-04-2025, 01:25 PM
The sponsor / kit manufacturer has to be subtle or ideally with the sponsor not on it.
These things always ruin plain kits.

So you want to wear the home kit every time possible but doubt Bevvy will agree to not be on it unless a special edition kit.

hibsforeurope
30-04-2025, 01:43 PM
The sponsor / kit manufacturer has to be subtle or ideally with the sponsor not on it.
These things always ruin plain kits.

So you want to wear the home kit every time possible but doubt Bevvy will agree to not be on it unless a special edition kit.

I'm sure the initial Bevvy deal is up at the end of this season, i agree that it's a tough sell for a sponsor to agree to pay but not get the exposure on the kit.

hopefully the European exposure allows us to avoid putting a sponsor on the front of the 150th kit.

30-04-2025, 01:45 PM
I'm sure the initial Bevvy deal is up at the end of this season, i agree that it's a tough sell for a sponsor to agree to pay but not get the exposure on the kit.

hopefully the European exposure allows us to avoid putting a sponsor on the front of the 150th kit.

It was announced as "at least" two years so not sure if it's guaranteed to be up or if they've taken up options for another year etc. That said you'd like to think that we'd be getting announcements soon on a new shirt sponsor if we were getting one.

hibee bouncer
30-04-2025, 08:17 PM
If a sponsor is required (hopefully not) then I’d hope the club dictate maybe an embossed logo, the same colour as the top, so it doesn’t stand out as much or maybe put it on the back like the Crabbies one on the 2016 kit.

30-04-2025, 08:43 PM

Update with long sleeves and gold waistband

30-04-2025, 09:07 PM

Beyond 'winding up Celtic' (which it wouldn't anyway) I see no reason at all why a significant anniversary should be marked by a hooped top. It wasn't our first strip, it wasn't an early strip that was used for a particularly long time and it's not the kit most synonymous with us throughout our history. We wore hoops for 3 years in the 19th century. That's it.

The hoops are Celtics. Ask anyone who knows Scottish football which club wore, wears and will forever wear green and white hoops and they will say Celtic. They didn't steal them from us, they adopted them more than 2 decades after we stopped wearing them. Of all the things to be bitter about when it comes to Celtic that is pretty far down the list imo.

Our 150th anniversary should be a celebration of Hibs. Hibs as a whole and only Hibs. Any thought that any part of it should be used to try and wind up Celtic or provoke a reaction from any other fanbase can quite frankly get in the bin. I'd buy pretty much any anniversary tat Hibs throw out for us but a hooped kit leaves me cold and I doubt I'd buy it.

The hooped strip was the first top we had with green on it so there is a bit of significance. It also looks great with the HFC right across the chest. It can't really be anything barring the first top though for the centenary top but I wouldn't want it as the home strip as I think that should always be green. Maybe do the first strip we had that resembles our current strip for the home strip and the initial kit as the away top

30-04-2025, 09:14 PM

The hoops would be an interesting choice for a 3rd kit, to be worn at some point a few years after the anniversary year.

I quite like a nod back to a point in history (I think a smart, all white kit like the one that has been posted above is class for the 150th anniversary) and the hoops are part of that history, albeit a small one.

I’d like to see it done at some point but in an understated sort of way.

30-04-2025, 09:22 PM

It doesn't make any sense, to me, to have any other strip than a replica of our first one.

Totally agree with this

30-04-2025, 09:30 PM
Pretty pish rumour but I’ve heard that someone I trust knows what the strip will look like wasn’t giving away - didn’t probe tbf. So it must have been settled is the un-pish bit of news.

Has there ever been a bigger non-story? What was the point? 🤔

Trinity Hibee
01-05-2025, 05:32 AM
The hooped strip was the first top we had with green on it so there is a bit of significance. It also looks great with the HFC right across the chest. It can't really be anything barring the first top though for the centenary top but I wouldn't want it as the home strip as I think that should always be green. Maybe do the first strip we had that resembles our current strip for the home strip and the initial kit as the away top

Tend to agree that the home top should always be green. That’s who we are. An all white centenary top looks good too.

Hoops are an absolute no no for me

01-05-2025, 06:23 AM
For our 150th home kit I'd like to see our first ever white kit with the original club crest on it for a one off anniversary season , with our current crest on the back where the thistle logo usually is. For our away kit id like to see that reversed with a green away kit and same badge arrangement. Ideally no sponsor on home kit although appreciate that's probably not financially viable so maybe option to buy adult ones minus sponsor.

Jakhog1
01-05-2025, 07:02 AM
For our kit I would like to see a white home kit with the joma logo the same colour as the kit, also don't want to see the joma logo on the sleeves, badge should be exactly the same as the original in being the harp and hopefully no sponsors on it, keep it simple is the key here

mcohibs
01-05-2025, 07:12 AM
For our kit I would like to see a white home kit with the joma logo the same colour as the kit, also don't want to see the joma logo on the sleeves, badge should be exactly the same as the original in being the harp and hopefully no sponsors on it, keep it simple is the key here

Think that is likely what it will be, although I’ve a feeling it will be the harp/thistle badge that the club has been using recently

Ship of Hope
01-05-2025, 07:18 AM
We are celebrating our 150th year not our first and so not sure about the obsession with our first kit or the harp badge. I am hoping for a nice, well designed kit that reflects the club now. We are currently supported by people with a range of beliefs and backgrounds and the harp feels a little one dimensional to me. We have never been an Irish club and whilst formed by a catholic priest the club is way more than that now. It is the “now” we should be celebrating mostly imo with a nod to our heritage perhaps. What that looks like I am happy to wait and see

01-05-2025, 07:23 AM
We are celebrating our 150th year not our first and so not sure about the obsession with our first kit or the harp badge. I am hoping for a nice, well designed kit that reflects the club now. We are currently supported by people with a range of beliefs and backgrounds and the harp feels a little one dimensional to me. We have never been an Irish club and whilst formed by a catholic priest the club is way more than that now. It is the “now” we should be celebrating mostly imo with a nod to our heritage perhaps. What that looks like I am happy to wait and see

It's an anniversary of the year of formation, therefore it will celebrate the formation.

Normal years reflect the current club.

Ship of Hope
01-05-2025, 07:32 AM
I respect your opinion but disagree. A 25 year wedding anniversary does not celebrate the day you were married but the fact you are still married after 25 years. It celebrates the milestone not the inception. Same with the clubs 150th anniversary I feel.

Hibs3-2
01-05-2025, 08:01 AM
Update with long sleeves and gold waistband

Like that

01-05-2025, 09:32 AM
Not bought a Hibs top in years but I think I'll buy the 150th anniversary one. Will be a good thing to keep.

Incidentally, the last one I bought was the bottle green one we won the cup in so you can all thank me if we win the cup next season.

01-05-2025, 09:44 AM
So are we expecting 3 strips
Home
Away
150th Anniversary

Or is the 150th one going to be the home strip

01-05-2025, 09:47 AM
Home
Away
150th Anniversary

Yeah Home, and Away, and Neighbours 😁

hibsforeurope
01-05-2025, 09:49 AM
Home
Away
150th Anniversary

We need 3 kits for Europe, i wonder it the 150th will be our 4th kit next season.

Hibs Go Bragh
01-05-2025, 11:21 AM
There's no way we will get an anniversary kit without a sponsor as our home kit that we can wear every week. As already been said, just look at Hearts last year who only wore it a couple of times. We will be the same

I'm sure Aston Villa has an all black strip this year but the adidas logos etc are the same colour so you can't even notice it, we can surely get Joma to agree to that? but we'll still need a home strip with a sponsor imo.

BlackSheep
15-05-2025, 07:47 PM
Still no rumours

lugz
15-05-2025, 08:05 PM
Why are we consistently so late with releasing kits??

15-05-2025, 11:59 PM
I really hope the club get this right. A real chance to produce a cracker and something unique. Please no hoops though. We might have had them first but it’s not something anyone really associates with hibs anymore.

Plain white or green with the harp as the badge, no sponsor would be lovely.

16-05-2025, 12:47 AM
The Adidas Olympique Lyonnaise 75th Anniversary shirt is a thing of beauty.

https://www.ol.fr/en/news/adidas-unveils-an-exclusive-retro-collection-to-mark-the-75th-anniversary-of-olympique-lyonnais

16-05-2025, 06:01 AM
I really hope the club get this right. A real chance to produce a cracker and something unique. Please no hoops though. We might have had them first but it’s not something anyone really associates with hibs anymore.

Plain white or green with the harp as the badge, no sponsor would be lovely.

Whatever they come up with mate, there's one thing certain, it's not going to please everyone.

16-05-2025, 06:12 AM

The best kits become available at the end of the transfer window?

BlackSheep
26-05-2025, 08:34 AM
I am amazed we haven’t heard anything yet…. Not even any semi-solid rumours!

Always frustrates me seeing other teams kits already on sale for next year, while we seem nowhere near an announcement.

With this years kit having more focus / attention due to the anniversary I find this lack of info quite strange.

26-05-2025, 08:41 AM
I was always very strongly against the idea of a reintroducing the hooped shirt as a commemorative anniversary strip, and arguing that one of the main reasons folk had for proposing the idea was that it would wind up and annoy Celtic and their fans, but in light of the shambles at Hampden on Saturday and the consequences for Hibs, I’d like to see us reintroduce the hooped shirt as a commemorative anniversary strip.

26-05-2025, 08:52 AM
I was always very strongly against the idea of a reintroducing the hooped shirt as a commemorative anniversary strip, and arguing that one of the main reasons folk had for proposing the idea was that it would wind up and annoy Celtic and their fans, but in light of the shambles at Hampden on Saturday and the consequences for Hibs, I’d like to see us reintroduce the hooped shirt as a commemorative anniversary strip.

I want absolutely nothing to do with hoops, particularly after Saturday. The very idea of it makes me nauseous.

If you're joking/being sarcastic, my apologies.

26-05-2025, 08:55 AM

It's still May, I think we can survive for a couple more weeks before getting hysterical :wink:

26-05-2025, 08:59 AM
1) All White with green trim

2) Hoops

3) Bottle green top white shorts black socks

26-05-2025, 09:13 AM
I want absolutely nothing to do with hoops, particularly after Saturday. The very idea of it makes me nauseous.

If you're joking/being sarcastic, my apologies.
Absolutely baffling some still want hoops for whatever weird reason.

They are Celtics like it or not, we wore them for a few years a couple years after our inception and the idea of using our anniversary as an excuse to wind up Celtic and or Rangers is the most small time idea I’ve ever heard, utterly ridiculous

Hibs Go Bragh
26-05-2025, 09:19 AM

An all white top with absolutely nothing on it other than F*** You Celtic. Front and back! :greengrin

18Craig75
26-05-2025, 09:21 AM
Guy in the shop told me mid-June for the first strip release. Not sure which one but probably home.

26-05-2025, 09:52 AM
An all white top with absolutely nothing on it other than F*** You Celtic. Front and back! :greengrin

Stick me down for a Medium :aok:

26-05-2025, 10:20 AM
If they want to make money they should probably release standard home and away tops, followed by at least two 150 anniversary kits. One white, one green.

MKHIBEE
26-05-2025, 10:55 AM
Stick me down for a Medium :aok:

Stick me down for a something(cough cough) L

Hibs3-2
26-05-2025, 11:09 AM
Hooped third strip apparently.

26-05-2025, 11:10 AM

26-05-2025, 11:15 AM

Where have you heard this?

I'd be astonished if the club went with such a strange option as a kit we wore for a couple of years, after our original one.

26-05-2025, 11:59 AM

With land of hoop and glory played as well come out the tunnel no doubt!

26-05-2025, 12:01 PM
Purple hoops would be better with green hfc.

26-05-2025, 12:03 PM

They are Celtics like it or not, we wore them for a few years a couple years after our inception and the idea of using our anniversary as an excuse to wind up Celtic and or Rangers is the most small time idea I’ve ever heard, utterly ridiculous
A good few wrongly think the hoops were our first kit but as most of us know, its the plain white top.

26-05-2025, 12:18 PM

That's great. As someone who has a trouble making my mind up when I go clothes shopping at least that means I'll only need to decide between two options instead of three.

Not that I buy strips any more .... but I'm hoping to make an exception for our anniversary one :greengrin

26-05-2025, 12:21 PM
One of the reasons for having a third kit is for when we play Celtic away. Based on that having hoops would be bizarre.

26-05-2025, 12:46 PM

Fourth.

26-05-2025, 01:06 PM

I'd be astonished if the club went with such a strange option as a kit we wore for a couple of years, after our original one.

:agree:That would be a really stupid decision. Surely not!

26-05-2025, 01:32 PM

Can’t see it

26-05-2025, 02:01 PM

Wind-up merchant I suspect.

26-05-2025, 06:30 PM

Hooped bottom third of the new strip is what I’ve heard!!

26-05-2025, 07:20 PM

Oh god

26-05-2025, 07:31 PM

😂 you're at it! Or someone is.

There's no way the club could get it that spectacularly wrong!

hibsforeurope
26-05-2025, 07:37 PM

Who is responsible for deciding on new strips, when does it usually get finalised?

MikeyS
26-05-2025, 07:37 PM
�� you're at it! Or someone is.

I took that to mean hooped socks, which we've definitely had a few times in the recent past.

However, reading it again it does say strip so that would be weird for it to presumably merge from green in to hoops.

MikeyS
26-05-2025, 07:40 PM
Who is responsible for deciding on new strips, when does it usually get finalised?

I'd imagine it was Kensall and The Gordon's in the past, maybe someone in marketing then signed off by Iain Gordon now?

Ship of Hope
26-05-2025, 08:01 PM

Agree 100%

26-05-2025, 10:25 PM
Same design as home kit except purple replaces green. That would get all of my money.

26-05-2025, 11:19 PM
I took that to mean hooped socks, which we've definitely had a few times in the recent past.

However, reading it again it does say strip so that would be weird for it to presumably merge from green in to hoops.

No strip, EVER, looked good with hooped socks :confused:

Hibiza
29-05-2025, 08:23 AM

The woman in the snack kiosks hair dresser?

29-05-2025, 08:28 AM
One of the reasons for having a third kit is for when we play Celtic away. Based on that having hoops would be bizarre.

They didn’t say it was green and white hoops.

Could be red, white, blue and maroon hoops?

29-05-2025, 08:31 AM
There is still a good few teams in the EPL still to release any kit, i understand people just want to see it and I'm not different. It should be worth the wait.

OstKurve Hibs
29-05-2025, 08:32 AM
I think a home top would look smart with hoops, but not green and white.
Emerald green amd bottle green hoops for me.

29-05-2025, 08:36 AM
I think a home top would look smart with hoops, but not green and white.
Emerald green amd bottle green hoops for me.

For us older and er stouter chaps, hoops are a nightmare!

29-05-2025, 09:29 AM
You would think launching as early in the summer season as possible would make sense. We seem to always be one of the later reveals.

29-05-2025, 09:35 AM

but they are upside down hoops… white and green instead of green and white.

In solidarity with Block7 seemingly… :)

29-05-2025, 10:32 AM

That would fly off the shelves!

Renfrew_Hibby
29-05-2025, 10:51 AM
That would fly off the shelves!

...and straight into a bin.

ErinGoBraghHFC
29-05-2025, 10:57 AM
For us older and er stouter chaps, hoops are a nightmare!

Rubbish! Go to Santa Ponsa one day and see the size of some of the ****ers walking about in Celtic tops. Colossal, but they don’t let that stop them from wearing their Sunday best.

29-05-2025, 11:10 AM

https://i.imgur.com/HFPpFXo.jpeg

Looks tidy aye

29-05-2025, 11:16 AM

Nope! Just you wait and see!!

Top part of our strip will be green with a couple of white hoops below.

I’m staking my .net reputation on this happening!

29-05-2025, 11:50 AM
I'd be gutted by this. I want us to have zero association with anything Celtic. Original for us or not the vast majority of other fans will just see a Celtic connection.

I had a bad feeling our Anniversary Strip was going to be one of the last things Kensall had anything to do with... he had nae style and was a total get the badge in gadge.

29-05-2025, 11:54 AM
I'd be gutted by this. I want us to have zero association with anything Celtic. Original for us or not the vast majority of other fans will just see a Celtic connection.

I had a bad feeling our Anniversary Strip was going to be one of the last things Kensall had anything to do with... he had nae style and was a total get the badge in gadge.

If it's true (and let's wait and see), it would be poor.

I mean if you must go for the hoops, and that in itself would be a terrible decision, then at least make it the whole shirt.

Could look an awful mess if WTC is correct.

29-05-2025, 01:18 PM

If it's true (and let's and see), it would be poor.

I mean if you must go for the hoops, and that in itself would be a terrible decision, then at least make it the whole shirt.

Could look an awful mess if WTC is correct.

Two thin hoops wouldnt associate with Celtic for me, would likely be far better than full hoops IMO - but it doesnt make any sense in relation to our anniversary....

29-05-2025, 01:21 PM
Two thin hoops wouldnt associate with Celtic for me, would likely be far better than full hoops IMO - but it doesnt make any sense in relation to our anniversary....

The bigger problem is that it sounds like a horrendous kit.

Perhaps there's something fitting that description that would look ok, but I'm struggling to picture it.

badabing67
29-05-2025, 01:29 PM

Looks tidy aye

Looks like a kit for a Ranger Hertz select side

29-05-2025, 01:47 PM
was our first evert top not all white?? 🤦*♂️

29-05-2025, 01:56 PM

I bet you Jonnyboy had it.

29-05-2025, 01:58 PM

29-05-2025, 04:06 PM

It will be a major mistake and will flop. You’d think they would have taken some feedback from fans before doing this.

It’s just a strip though so I’m not worried but the opportunity to make some money from a big selling Centenary strip will have been a missed opportunity.

29-05-2025, 04:10 PM
I’m not massively for the hoops, but if it’s smart enough and resembles one of our first kits I still think it will self

Key will be thickness of hoops and the colour

hibby67
29-05-2025, 04:14 PM
I’m not massively for the hoops, but if it’s smart enough and resembles one of our first kits I still think it will self

Key will be thickness of hoops and the colour

Hoops are very unforgiving to us non athletic types so hopefully Hibs will not go for them
Stripes are a lot better for the figure

30-05-2025, 11:24 AM
The bigger problem is that it sounds like a horrendous kit.

Perhaps there's something fitting that description that would look ok, but I'm struggling to picture it.

Something like this would be ok (obviously green hoops and 2 rather than 3) which is what im guessing it could be:

But doesnt make sense for anniversary year as I said.

Joma is another big problem.

30-05-2025, 01:11 PM
Regardless of what the kit is like, who wass involved in its design?

I can't imagine we'd end up with a design loathed by the people that are meant to be buying it, especially given it's a significant milestone and the 150th year has been subject to various surveys/consultations. If that came to pass, you'd have to wonder why? It's not like Joma have done a crash course on our history and randomly come up with hoops as definitively the way to go.

Hibees1973
30-05-2025, 02:24 PM
Must admit I'd be astonished if they go with hoops. This along with bevvy on it, would be a switch off for me.

Fine, some people could retort with 'we had hoops first'. But really hoops have been and are synonymous will Celtic for the best part of 140 years and anyone other that Hibs supporters, if we turned out with a hoops top, would say this is like Celtic. The optics are not very good at all.

In recent years any kind of comparison with the ethics and beliefs of Celtic, which can be highly visible in their support is something to keep well away off. These ethics and beliefs are completely foreign to the vast majority of Hibs supporters I know.

A classic home kit, like the one from 1973 would do it for me.

It would not be a token gesture of 150th year and one we would see week in, week out.

Trinity Hibee
30-05-2025, 02:31 PM
Must admit I'd be astonished if they go with hoops. This along with bevvy on it, would be a switch off for me.

Fine, some people could retort with 'we had hoops first'. But really hoops have been and are synonymous will Celtic for the best part of 140 years and anyone other that Hibs supporters, if we turned out with a hoops top, would say this is like Celtic. The optics are not very good at all.

In recent years any kind of comparison with the ethics and beliefs of Celtic, which can be highly visible in their support is something to keep well away off. These ethics and beliefs are completely foreign to the vast majority of Hibs supporters I know.

A classic home kit, like the one from 1973 would do it for me.

It would not be a token gesture of 150th year and one we would see week in, week out.

1973/2000 home tops are the best we’ve had. Hopefully something like those.

I’d be amazed if anyone even suggested hoops as a design and even more amazed if it was agreed to go with them

30-05-2025, 02:52 PM
Something like this would be ok (obviously green hoops and 2 rather than 3) which is what im guessing it could be:

But doesnt make sense for anniversary year as I said.

Joma is another big problem.

Yeah, but the original version of the rumour was "hooped bottom third of the new strip", so it doesn't sound like it could just be a couple of thin hoops. Hope the whole thing is just a wind up.

30-05-2025, 03:41 PM
1973/2000 home tops are the best we’ve had. Hopefully something like those.

I’d be amazed if anyone even suggested hoops as a design and even more amazed if it was agreed to go with them

Both those kits were beauties.

Can't be a coincidence that we absolutely annihilated hearts in both those years too in two of our most celebrated derby results :greengrin

one day maybe...
30-05-2025, 04:38 PM
A copy of the purple bukta strip would be class as a second strip

30-05-2025, 05:13 PM
Hoops. Loadsy hoops.

https://i.ibb.co/Nf6FHrx/121v4hd.jpg (https://ibb.co/tnMHWzB)

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

30-05-2025, 05:19 PM
Both those kits were beauties.

Can't be a coincidence that we absolutely annihilated hearts in both those years too in two of our most celebrated derby results :greengrin

A very valid point! :greengrin Over to you Hibs :thumbsup:

30-05-2025, 08:19 PM
I wonder if we just got down the hearts root and have the anniversary kit as our third with a replica of our first kit, I would like to see the original harp but think it might be the one we released not long ago.

I think having 3 different replica like kits would be great, a 50's/70's style would be cool for the home, not sure about away kit, alot of people like the green and purple stripes, we've had that a couple of times in recent years, nice shout for the purple bukta away.

Not really sure any of other yellow numbers have been classics.

Chorley Hibee
30-05-2025, 09:03 PM
Port Vale 150th anniversary kit is a cracker.

Would love something like this.

https://www.thekitman.co.uk/port-vale-150th-anniversary-home-kit-2025-26/?srsltid=AfmBOooY4NcJV4uBwYCTvdtCOWD6S28KPEocZEyjd ZY_UYJyNdM0rJFA

30-05-2025, 09:10 PM
While we had hoops before Celtic, they weren't part of our strip 150 years ago so why would we have them. Doesn't make sense.

30-05-2025, 10:34 PM
Yeah, but the original version of the rumour was "hooped bottom third of the new strip", so it doesn't sound like it could just be a couple of thin hoops. Hope the whole thing is just a wind up.

Hmm that would be bad, agreed.

30-05-2025, 10:40 PM
Too many folk have got hoops upside their heids.

I'm with Olivia on this one. I'm hooplessly devoted to Hibs.

hibeejeebies
31-05-2025, 05:12 AM
Too many folk have got hoops upside their heids.

I'm with Olivia on this one. I'm hooplessly devoted to Hibs.

I hoop you're proud of that.

BlackSheep
31-05-2025, 06:11 AM
Port Vale 150th anniversary kit is a cracker.

Would love something like this.

https://www.thekitman.co.uk/port-vale-150th-anniversary-home-kit-2025-26/?srsltid=AfmBOooY4NcJV4uBwYCTvdtCOWD6S28KPEocZEyjd ZY_UYJyNdM0rJFA

Yes, this is a fine example of how to design an anniversary kit… for us is stay away from the lettering style badge and go for the classic harp…. But the plain and simple colouring is how I hope we go for.

I’d love to see the joma logos match the material colours they sit on and even the shirt sponsor do the same… it would really make the kit something to talk about so neither the manufacturer or sponsor would lose out on any attention.

BlackSheep
31-05-2025, 06:15 AM
Yes, this is a fine example of how to design an anniversary kit… for us is stay away from the lettering style badge and go for the classic harp…. But the plain and simple colouring is how I hope we go for.

I’d love to see the joma logos match the material colours they sit on and even the shirt sponsor do the same… it would really make the kit something to talk about so neither the manufacturer or sponsor would lose out on any attention.

Like this kit for Denmark by Hummel

Ship of Hope
31-05-2025, 06:27 AM

Looks tidy aye

I like that strip.. could be in hibs colours with all the shades of green we have worn, white, black and and purple. Not sure about a 150th top but might look quite smart with the coloured bands rather than hoops.

Ship of Hope
31-05-2025, 06:29 AM

Careful Chief things could be about to go from bad to worse 😂

31-05-2025, 09:11 AM
I'm not artistic, but done a little AI mock up of a blended version of the first and second kits; white, "hfc", and hoops.

I'm not sure I like it now I've actually seen it but I'm sharing anyone since its done now. :greengrin

31-05-2025, 09:19 AM
I've always quite fancied a home top with a white band across the middle a la Insave/P&D Windows in the 80s.

I would possibly tolerate hoops if it was a kind of fade thing from white to hoops to bottle green then topping out with emerald green and white sleeves. A kind of history of our kits in one. A bit like those mash ups Nike and Adidas sometimes do for their teams as a merch piece. It would probably be far too busy though and just look a mess.

The thing with hoops is there is a very, very noisy minority who are obsessed with them. It seems particularly notable on Twitter which is where Hibs do a huge amount of engagement and it may have created a false picture of how popular they would be. In real life I don't think I have ever spoken with a Hibs fans who wants a hooped kit.

My hope would be if we had some kind of hoop feature on our home kit it would be one of a trio of anniversary kits and we got a proper Hibs strip as a 3rd/anniversary strip proper.

31-05-2025, 09:35 AM
Careful Chief things could be about to go from bad to worse 😂

Yeah, think I’ll just lurk about quietly for a while …..

SonOfDavidFrancey
31-05-2025, 11:06 AM
I see Port Vale also have a 150th anniversary strip. Quite nice tbh. https://x.com/officialpvfc/status/1928485148414111916?s=46&t=KDatoGljZhQI7t7pvV9z4w

Dr What If?
31-05-2025, 11:20 AM
I've always quite fancied a home top with a white band across the middle a la Insave/P&D Windows in the 80s.

I would possibly tolerate hoops if it was a kind of fade thing from white to hoops to bottle green then topping out with emerald green and white sleeves. A kind of history of our kits in one. A bit like those mash ups Nike and Adidas sometimes do for their teams as a merch piece. It would probably be far too busy though and just look a mess.

The thing with hoops is there is a very, very noisy minority who are obsessed with them. It seems particularly notable on Twitter which is where Hibs do a huge amount of engagement and it may have created a false picture of how popular they would be. In real life I don't think I have ever spoken with a Hibs fans who wants a hooped kit.

My hope would be if we had some kind of hoop feature on our home kit it would be one of a trio of anniversary kits and we got a proper Hibs strip as a 3rd/anniversary strip proper.
I have never met a Hibs fan (in my circle anyway) who wants hoops, so we dabbled over a hundred years ago very briefly and someone took a picture....its just not us. I could maybe, just maybe accept a horizontal pinstripe but even as I type I find myself thinking 'meh'. For me a celebration of our history needs to take in the highlights of all our 150 years.....hoops were a blink of an eye that no one is alive to remember.

SonOfDavidFrancey
31-05-2025, 11:33 AM
I see Port Vale also have a 150th anniversary strip. Quite nice tbh. https://x.com/officialpvfc/status/1928485148414111916?s=46&t=KDatoGljZhQI7t7pvV9z4w

Dmas
31-05-2025, 11:34 AM
I have never met a Hibs fan (in my circle anyway) who wants hoops, so we dabbled over a hundred years ago very briefly and someone took a picture....its just not us. I could maybe, just maybe accept a horizontal pinstripe but even as I type I find myself thinking 'meh'. For me a celebration of our history needs to take in the highlights of all our 150 years.....hoops were a blink of an eye that no one is alive to remember.

Absolutely, the 1970s style strip is far more iconic, a throw back to that or the strip you see Eddie Turnbull in with the collar would be much better suited, any hoops would be a disaster

31-05-2025, 01:44 PM
We founded Hibs in a hoopless place...

31-05-2025, 03:02 PM

I’d be happy enough with these mock ups from AI

31-05-2025, 03:04 PM
Im dreading this new kit. The amount of moaning from grown men because it’s not exactly how they imagined it would be in their head is going to be off the scale.

WeAreHibs
31-05-2025, 03:06 PM

I’d be happy enough with these mock ups from AI

AI clearly misunderstood the green shorts prompt

31-05-2025, 03:06 PM

Miller would be struggling to pull those shorts up.

31-05-2025, 03:54 PM

01-06-2025, 08:19 AM

was just about to post this. It’s a beauty.

01-06-2025, 08:35 AM
was just about to post this. It’s a beauty.

Very simple and cool. Love the hooped socks :greengrin

Renfrew_Hibby
01-06-2025, 08:44 AM

Birmingham and Blackburn also founded in 1875. Be interesting to see what they come up with, probably see theirs before we see ours.

01-06-2025, 08:47 AM
Im dreading this new kit. The amount of moaning from grown men because it’s not exactly how they imagined it would be in their head is going to be off the scale.

I am a bit too. It's clearly never going to please everyone.

01-06-2025, 09:07 AM
Hooped socks wouldn’t be a surprise as a nod to our heritage but SDG is going to immediately ditch them for white shorts & socks…

01-06-2025, 09:12 AM

It’s barely any people though, on the grand scheme of things.

I imagine I’ll react to the new kit the same way I always do. I’ll like it or not when I first see it. Then I’ll get on with my life. Most folk will be the same.

Unless it’s hoops. If it’s hoops I’m gonnae make it my whole personality that I’m raging about it…

01-06-2025, 12:08 PM
People getting their knickers in a twist about people's potential reactions to a strip that hasn't come out yet:hilarious

Some people will like it some wont and they will post opinions either way on strip threads, its hardly the end of the world!

01-06-2025, 12:26 PM
Birmingham and Blackburn also founded in 1875. Be interesting to see what they come up with, probably see theirs before we see ours.

We’ll probably see their 200th anniversary kit before we see our 150th

01-06-2025, 12:40 PM
People getting their knickers in a twist about people's potential reactions to a strip that hasn't come out yet:hilarious

Some people will like it some wont and they will post opinions either way on strip threads, its hardly the end of the world!
:agree: As long as its not green and white again, i will be cool with most other colours.

hibeejeebies
01-06-2025, 10:03 PM

Made me chuckle

mcohibs
02-06-2025, 01:17 PM
I see that the dinner at the RWE game is advertising guests will be the first to hear an anniversary related announcement. Could that be the first look at the anniversary kit?

I suspect we’ll release home and away kits to the usual timeline and then the 150th kit will be released in place of a third kit.

1875Sean
02-06-2025, 04:07 PM
I see that the dinner at the RWE game is advertising guests will be the first to hear an anniversary related announcement. Could that be the first look at the anniversary kit?

I suspect we’ll release home and away kits to the usual timeline and then the 150th kit will be released in place of a third kit.

Surely not, with all the hype the 150th they won’t announce the 150th kit at later stage, I hope the standard home kit is the 150th one rather than a third kit

02-06-2025, 04:11 PM

Might be the Edinburgh castle event early next year that they’ll hear about.

02-06-2025, 04:19 PM
Surely not, with all the hype the 150th they won’t announce the 150th kit at later stage, I hope the standard home kit is the 150th one rather than a third kit

If it’s white like our first kit it’s unlikely to be our home kit.

02-06-2025, 04:32 PM
If it’s white like our first kit it’s unlikely to be our home kit.

Why not? Could do it for one season. Have a classic 70s style shirt as the “away” shirt then a retro purple bukta for our third.

MKHIBEE
02-06-2025, 04:47 PM
Replace the blue with green……………

02-06-2025, 05:00 PM
Whatever happens, we wore hoops before celtic

02-06-2025, 06:04 PM
Why not? Could do it for one season. Have a classic 70s style shirt as the “away” shirt then a retro purple bukta for our third.

I’m not saying we couldn’t do it, I’m saying we are unlikely to do it.

Ship of Hope
02-06-2025, 06:20 PM

Bit dull and unmemorable imo. Couldn’t give a monkeys backside about a harp badge either. Like a large part of our support, if not most, I’m not catholic and have no time for this religious nonsense.

02-06-2025, 06:28 PM
Bit dull and unmemorable imo. Couldn’t give a monkeys backside about a harp badge either. Like a large part of our support, if not most, I’m not catholic and have no time for this religious nonsense.

What would a harp badge have to do with religion or Catholicism?

Ship of Hope
02-06-2025, 06:34 PM
What would a harp badge have to do with religion or Catholicism?

Feels like a nod in that direction to me.. is that wrong? FWIW mum catholic and da protestant. I am ecumenical and just don’t feel we need to over emphasise our irish or catholic origins at this stage of our history. We are not celebrating our formation but our 150th anniversary. We are a scottish community orientated club and that is what we should be celebrating imo.

mcohibs
02-06-2025, 06:42 PM

The harp is a symbol of the island of Ireland. Which was part of the United Kingdom when we were founded. It still features on the current UK’s coat of arms. It has nothing to do with Catholicism, nor any religion whatsoever.

02-06-2025, 06:46 PM
Feels like a nod in that direction to me.. is that wrong? FWIW mum catholic and da protestant. I am ecumenical and just don’t feel we need to over emphasise our irish or catholic origins at this stage of our history. We are not celebrating our formation but our 150th anniversary. We are a scottish community orientated club and that is what we should be celebrating imo.

Let's change the name and colours whilst we're at it.

02-06-2025, 06:48 PM

A nod in that direction is exactly what it is. Nothing more. And what's wrong with that? That's Hibs history whether some people like it or not.

babahibs
02-06-2025, 06:58 PM

You're ecumenical but have no time for religious nonsense? Ok.......

The harp has nothing to do with religion.

02-06-2025, 07:05 PM
Feels like a nod in that direction to me.. is that wrong? FWIW mum catholic and da protestant. I am ecumenical and just don’t feel we need to over emphasise our irish or catholic origins at this stage of our history. We are not celebrating our formation but our 150th anniversary. We are a scottish community orientated club and that is what we should be celebrating imo.The harp has nothing to do with Catholicism.

It was/is our badge. As simple as that.

Garymcl
02-06-2025, 08:20 PM
Obviously a Poppy Thieve on the stir :thumbsup:

02-06-2025, 08:31 PM
I'd be surprised if it were to be our home kit for the season. It'll be a special 150 anniversary kit and we will only play in it a couple times.

02-06-2025, 08:33 PM
The suggestion of a couple of hoops at the bottom of a shirt doesn’t really fill me with horror. It could well be that it looks fine, and would blend into the white shorts. While It’s not the first kit, there’s no rules that say commemorative shirts have to follow strict protocols regarding the very first kit used. It’s a nod to the early years, part of of our heritage with it being the strip we played in for three of the first four years of our existence.

I wouldn’t be for going all in fully hooped, but I do think the suggestion has some potential. It can’t be any worse than the candy striped sleeves of the mid 90’s.

CanonHannon
03-06-2025, 04:30 PM
Home - 1970s style home kit with quality material. Classic design.
Away - White top like the first strip with Harp on there like the original.
Third - Hoops in dark green with HFC. Nothing like Celtics strip.

Everyone happy.

03-06-2025, 04:39 PM
I’ve heard there are going to be five strips next season, has anybody else heard similar?

Apologies if this has been posted earlier in the thread

McSwanky
03-06-2025, 04:51 PM
I’ve heard there are going to be five strips next season, has anybody else heard similar?

Apologies if this has been posted earlier in the thread5 strips? Are any of them zipped up the back?

Sent from my Pixel 8a using Tapatalk

03-06-2025, 04:57 PM
5 strips? Are any of them zipped up the back?

Sent from my Pixel 8a using Tapatalk

Possibly four of them

03-06-2025, 04:58 PM
I can only imagine the poster called Ship Of Hope has never quaffed a Guinness at the Balgreen Bowling Club (what with that ecumenical Harp logo)

And he'll not be flying Ryanair to any of our European ties...

03-06-2025, 08:33 PM
The harp is a symbol of the island of Ireland. Which was part of the United Kingdom when we were founded. It still features on the current UK’s coat of arms. It has nothing to do with Catholicism, nor any religion whatsoever.
Exactly. Need to announce Guiness as the sponsor for next season as well.

04-06-2025, 07:14 AM
Possibly four of them

Definitely four kits.

04-06-2025, 04:27 PM
Definitely four kits.

This seems really silly.

Fuzzywuzzy
04-06-2025, 06:48 PM
Launched with a new signing and rocky re-signing would do as a start

04-06-2025, 07:17 PM
I think we're waiting for the new kit to come out before we announce the new kit.

04-06-2025, 07:19 PM
I've heard Derek McInnes has hijacked the new kit and it's now in discussions with Hearts

04-06-2025, 07:21 PM
Trust the manufacturing process.

04-06-2025, 07:24 PM
This seems really silly.

I wonder if it might be a scenario like the Scotland 150 kit. I think that was only used 2 or 3 times despite being wildly popular.

3 regular kits and then a one off that is only used for the Essen game and maybe a derby later in the season or something.

I agree it seems a bit daft to do 4 or 5 but I suppose it's all but a license to print money so can see why there might be a thought process of the more, the merrier.

Or 5 kits could just mean home, away, 3rd and 2 goalie tops?

04-06-2025, 08:48 PM
Home, away, European and 150 anniversary.

04-06-2025, 09:32 PM
I wonder if it might be a scenario like the Scotland 150 kit. I think that was only used 2 or 3 times despite being wildly popular.

3 regular kits and then a one off that is only used for the Essen game and maybe a derby later in the season or something.

I agree it seems a bit daft to do 4 or 5 but I suppose it's all but a license to print money so can see why there might be a thought process of the more, the merrier.

Or 5 kits could just mean home, away, 3rd and 2 goalie tops?

4 outfield kits. One of them hooped.

hibeelin
04-06-2025, 09:34 PM
A nod in that direction is exactly what it is. Nothing more. And what's wrong with that? That's Hibs history whether some people like it or not.

100% 🇳🇬🇳🇬

04-06-2025, 09:37 PM
I've heard Derek McInnes has hijacked the new kit and it's now in discussions with Hearts

Don’t tell that walloper Scott Burns he’ll write any old *****ee

Sergio sledge
05-06-2025, 09:24 AM
Definitely four kits.

Imagine the day they unveil the 4 new kits with 4 new signings. That's the dream.

08-06-2025, 06:21 PM
A couple of seasons ago but Corinthians fans designed 110th Anniversary shirt is lovely. See what happens when fans get a say.

https://www.soccerbible.com/performa...rth-shirt/amp/

08-06-2025, 07:29 PM
Heard that the team will be sporting the same hairstyles & big mousers like the players did 150 years ago

09-06-2025, 09:34 AM

What an ignorant and uninformed comment.

The Harp celebrates our Irish immigrant origins just like our name and colours. Are they also "religious nonsense". Should they be ditched.

Our early history is something to be immensely proud of as is the evolution of the Club to be one that's followed today by people from all backgrounds and all or no religions. I've been involved in a number of Hibs-related historical projects and nearly all my pals I've worked with on them have been atheists, lapsed Church of Scotland members with few being Catholics and even fewer being practising Catholics. To try and paint anyone who's interested and proud of our early history as being driven by some kind of religious agenda is pure ignorance.

09-06-2025, 09:43 AM
Heard that the team will be sporting the same hairstyles & big mousers like the players did 150 years ago

Iredale will look fantastic with a tache like that :flag:

09-06-2025, 10:12 AM

Pretty Boy already asked the question but can you explain what a harp has got to do with religion?
Like you, I believe religion has zero place in football but I do believe that social history is firmly imbedded in pretty much every football club around the world. Maybe you picked up the keyboard at the wrong moment but surely you can see that now?

mcohibs
09-06-2025, 10:15 AM
What an ignorant and uninformed comment.

The Harp celebrates our Irish immigrant origins just like our name and colours. Are they also "religious nonsense". Should they be ditched.

Our early history is something to be immensely proud of as is the evolution of the Club to be one that's followed today by people from all backgrounds and all or no religions. I've been involved in a number of Hibs-related historical projects and nearly all my pals I've worked with on them have been atheists, lapsed Church of Scotland members with few being Catholics and even fewer being practising Catholics. To try and paint anyone who's interested and proud of our early history as being driven by some kind of religious agenda is pure ignorance.

It’s a real shame that Celtic fans warped sense of what it means to be Irish has led some of our support to be dismissive of our history.

We have a rich history and a unique origin story of which we should be immensely proud. Those bold people 150 years ago gave us a football club to cherish. It’s an integral part of who we are. It should be celebrated, it should be preserved.

Whether people like it or not the club’s links to Ireland lie deep in our name, colour and badge. Without it we’d be just another bland club in Scotland like that lot across the city.

09-06-2025, 10:16 AM
Did Scott Burns not recently tweet that Aberdeen had pipped us to the Harp for next season?

09-06-2025, 10:19 AM
Did Scott Burns not recently tweet that Aberdeen had pipped us to the Harp for next season?

What? :confused:

09-06-2025, 10:26 AM
What? :confused:

Tumble weed 😂

BlackSheep
10-06-2025, 11:39 AM
Some lad having a moan on twitter about our new kit..... not sure if it's just the usual winge without any knowledge or if he has seen to somehow?

10-06-2025, 11:52 AM
Some lad having a moan on twitter about our new kit..... not sure if it's just the usual winge without any knowledge or if he has seen to somehow?

The lad who seems to think it's our 145th anniversary rather than our 150th?

10-06-2025, 11:52 AM

Mental how many folk seem to get triggered by a thistle (if it’s the same guy)

10-06-2025, 12:44 PM
Mental how many folk seem to get triggered by a thistle (if it’s the same guy)

And many more by a harp

andyf5
10-06-2025, 02:36 PM
I just finished Alan Lugton's book "The Making of Hibernian—Volume 1," which was a really interesting read. The commitment to charity is something to be celebrated, but I also learnt that we were Scotland's only sectarian club, advocates for Irish Home Rule, and now understand why people have "Erin go bragh" flags. I started supporting Hibs in the 60s because my dad took me, not because of nationality or religion, so symbols of these things are not important to me.

10-06-2025, 03:05 PM
I just finished Alan Lugton's book "The Making of Hibernian—Volume 1," which was a really interesting read. The commitment to charity is something to be celebrated, but I also learnt that we were Scotland's only sectarian club, advocates for Irish Home Rule, and now understand why people have "Erin go bragh" flags. I started supporting Hibs in the 60s because my dad took me, not because of nationality or religion, so symbols of these things are not important to me.

We were a "sectarian" club because other clubs in town wouldn't have Catholics play for them.

andyf5
10-06-2025, 03:35 PM
We were a "sectarian" club because other clubs in town wouldn't have Catholics play for them.

I don't know about that - according to the book, both Rangers and Celtic allowed anyone to play for them while we allowed practicing Catholics only. Hearts broke the SFA directive forbidding teams to play us and after they played us other teams did. A surprising book.

10-06-2025, 03:43 PM

Which of course is absolutely fair enough. Hibs are open to all.

Those symbols are, however, part of Hibs history and in no way should be quietly brushed under the carpet for fear of offending people. The 150th should remember and include all of it.

Also, as Kato points out, whilst Hibs at that time may qualify as 'sectarian' on a technicality, it was a club set up for Irish catholics precisely because the rest of society at that time wouldn't have an Irish Catholic about the place! "We are catering for Scotsmen, not Irishmen".

They did however raise money for all sorts of causes, not just the ones connected with their own community and the Catholic church.

10-06-2025, 04:02 PM
This is not me wanting the hoops back as i have enough problems down here wearing Hibs gear with people thinking its Celtic but i thought this picture looks class in colour.

https://x.com/binzoboy/status/1931422200008999340/photo/1

10-06-2025, 04:17 PM
Which of course is absolutely fair enough. Hibs are open to all.

Those symbols are, however, part of Hibs history and in no way should be quietly brushed under the carpet for fear of offending people. The 150th should remember and include all of it.

Also, as Kato points out, whilst Hibs at that time may qualify as 'sectarian' on a technicality, it was a club set up for Irish catholics precisely because the rest of society at that time wouldn't have an Irish Catholic about the place! "We are catering for Scotsmen, not Irishmen".

They did however raise money for all sorts of causes, not just the ones connected with their own community and the Catholic church.

I often feel there is a decent chunk of a whole generation of Hibs fans who really want to shy away from our formative years. Perhaps an unintended consequence of the drive to make the club more appealing to all in the middle decades and beyond of the 20th century? Or maybe such a desperation to avoid comparisons with Celtic (and we are nothing ****ing like Celtic) meaning it's easier to just reject it rather than embrace it as our own.

Our early history is something to be proud of. Hibs were the inspiration for multiple football clubs beyond the obvious 2 in Dundee United and Celtic. There was Glasgow Hibernian (a protest club set up in opposition to John Glass and his less than charitable vision for Celtic) Dundee Harp, Harp FC (a follow on to Dundee Harp and Lochore Harp claim lineage to this day), Erin Rovers in Perth, Paisley Hibernian.......literally dozens of Hibernians, Celtics, Shamrocks and Harps and a decent chunk of them claimed inspiration from Canon Hannan and his vision for Hibs. A lot of them fell by the wayside, as Hibs almost did, but the reason those which thrived were able to do so without 'sectarian' signing policies was in no small part because Hibs had done the hard yards. The Hibs that came back from hiatus in 1893 abandoned the need for players to be members of the CYMS so the sectarianism, such as it was, made up a tiny part of our history.

For me the Hibs story is holistic. I'm not from Leith, I was born and raised in the Hearts end of town, but I would never deny the quintessentially Leith identity of the club even if it isn't my Hibs story. Equally I'm sure fans from Leith wouldn't deny that we are far more all encompassing of Edinburgh as a whole now, we are an Edinburgh team. It's why I struggle to understand people wanting to downplay our formative years; we are the club we are today because of the club we once were. To deny it or minimize it is to downplay the work of those who fought prejudice to ensure we have a club 150 years later. It's all important, it all shapes our identity and it should all be celebrated without fear of comparisons to Celtic; we should have a real a pride in where we came from. Our current badge reflects it brilliantly for me: a team founded by Irishmen and rooted in the societal struggles they faced at the time, a team who found it's home in Leith and a team that belongs to the entirety of Edinburgh.

10-06-2025, 04:48 PM
I don't know about that - according to the book, both Rangers and Celtic allowed anyone to play for them while we allowed practicing Catholics only.

Not quite right. You had to be member of the CYMS (Catholic Young Men's Society) to play for Hibs. To be a member of the CYMS you had to be a practising Catholic.

That might seem like splitting hairs but it's an indication of the clubs amateur status. There were a whole load of church and factory clubs who didn't allow outsiders to play for them. As amateurs that's perfectly fine.

Once professional the club was willing to sign anyone regardless. There were protestants who played for Hibs as guests before we turned professional.

BTW I'm not Catholic and couldn't give two hoots about religion. Still proud of Hibs origins and the way they represented their community in a very positive manner, which wasn't easy in 19th century Edinburgh where immigrants were seen with suspicion and some people thought Catholics had tails. Luckily most people have moved past all that. Not everybody, but most.

10-06-2025, 05:16 PM
I don't know about that - according to the book, both Rangers and Celtic allowed anyone to play for them while we allowed practicing Catholics only. Hearts broke the SFA directive forbidding teams to play us and after they played us other teams did. A surprising book.

It's a wonderful book, much more than the story of a football team.

Worth keeping in mind that Hibs trailblazed and preceded Celtic by 13 years. They broke a lot of ground in that time, not least by winning the Scottish Cup.

10-06-2025, 05:18 PM
I often feel there is a decent chunk of a whole generation of Hibs fans who really want to shy away from our formative years. Perhaps an unintended consequence of the drive to make the club more appealing to all in the middle decades and beyond of the 20th century? Or maybe such a desperation to avoid comparisons with Celtic (and we are nothing ****ing like Celtic) meaning it's easier to just reject it rather than embrace it as our own.

Our early history is something to be proud of. Hibs were the inspiration for multiple football clubs beyond the obvious 2 in Dundee United and Celtic. There was Glasgow Hibernian (a protest club set up in opposition to John Glass and his less than charitable vision for Celtic) Dundee Harp, Harp FC (a follow on to Dundee Harp and Lochore Harp claim lineage to this day), Erin Rovers in Perth, Paisley Hibernian.......literally dozens of Hibernians, Celtics, Shamrocks and Harps and a decent chunk of them claimed inspiration from Canon Hannan and his vision for Hibs. A lot of them fell by the wayside, as Hibs almost did, but the reason those which thrived were able to do so without 'sectarian' signing policies was in no small part because Hibs had done the hard yards. The Hibs that came back from hiatus in 1893 abandoned the need for players to be members of the CYMS so the sectarianism, such as it was, made up a tiny part of our history.

For me the Hibs story is holistic. I'm not from Leith, I was born and raised in the Hearts end of town, but I would never deny the quintessentially Leith identity of the club even if it isn't my Hibs story. Equally I'm sure fans from Leith wouldn't deny that we are far more all encompassing of Edinburgh as a whole now, we are an Edinburgh team. It's why I struggle to understand people wanting to downplay our formative years; we are the club we are today because of the club we once were. To deny it or minimize it is to downplay the work of those who fought prejudice to ensure we have a club 150 years later. It's all important, it all shapes our identity and it should all be celebrated without fear of comparisons to Celtic; we should have a real a pride in where we came from. Our current badge reflects it brilliantly for me: a team founded by Irishmen and rooted in the societal struggles they faced at the time, a team who found it's home in Leith and a team that belongs to the entirety of Edinburgh.

Brilliant post.

andyf5
10-06-2025, 05:25 PM
Not quite right. You had to be member of the CYMS (Catholic Young Men's Society) to play for Hibs. To be a member of the CYMS you had to be a practising Catholic.

That might seem like splitting hairs but it's an indication of the clubs amateur status. There were a whole load of church and factory clubs who didn't allow outsiders to play for them. As amateurs that's perfectly fine.

Once professional the club was willing to sign anyone regardless. There were protestants who played for Hibs as guests before we turned professional.

BTW I'm not Catholic and couldn't give two hoots about religion. Still proud of Hibs origins and the way they represented their community in a very positive manner, which wasn't easy in 19th century Edinburgh where immigrants were seen with suspicion and some people thought Catholics had tails. Luckily most people have moved past all that. Not everybody, but most.

Sure but no other clubs went down this route. The Catholic Institute where the players met was opened by the Lord Provost as a secular building. It was surprising to me. I read up on Cowgate poverty and drunkiness and setting up the team and all the nursery clubs was positive.

andyf5
10-06-2025, 05:28 PM
It's a wonderful book, much more than the story of a football team.

Worth keeping in mind that Hibs trailblazed and preceded Celtic by 13 years. They broke a lot of ground in that time, not least by winning the Scottish Cup.
Yes. We were first to play Celtic as their inspiration and in 1909 played Dundee Hibernian (later Utd) wearing our hooped shirts. There was a lot I didn't know.

10-06-2025, 05:41 PM
Sure but no other clubs went down this route.

The route of amateur clubs being members only?

10-06-2025, 05:51 PM
Sure but no other clubs went down this route. The Catholic Institute where the players met was opened by the Lord Provost as a secular building. It was surprising to me. I read up on Cowgate poverty and drunkiness and setting up the team and all the nursery clubs was positive.

I think you have to consider the Cowgate area at the time.

The Protestant Institute was housed at Magdalen Chapel right at the entrance to the Cowgate, having taken ownership in the late 1850s (it's home to the Scottish Reformation Society to this day). They took on the building to engage in 'outreach' with the local Catholic community. Outreach essentially meant pressure to convert with incentives not dissimilar to the soup kitchens in Ireland. Hibs became an important focal point for the community of the Cowgate (and beyond) to retain a part of their identity. It would be an untruth to say that was the sole driver for the foundation of the club, it arguably wasn't even a major driver, but it was a factor.

Incidentally the one insult that is thrown at us in Scottish football that really gets my back up is Celtic fans using 'soup takers'. Rangers insults towards us are borne from a misplaced hatred; with Celtic fans that term is wilful and inexcusable ignorance and it's grossly offensive to the memory of our founders.

andyf5
10-06-2025, 05:57 PM
The route of amateur clubs being members only?

Well, I'm only repeating what the book said - not sure about members etc. At the time looking after the spiritual health of players as well as physical health was a worthy thing. The "practising Catholics" only thing has a different perspective in 2025 but didn't seem to be an issue in the day.

andyf5
10-06-2025, 06:11 PM
I think you have to consider the Cowgate area at the time.

The Protestant Institute was housed at Magdalen Chapel right at the entrance to the Cowgate, having taken ownership in the late 1850s (it's home to the Scottish Reformation Society to this day). They took on the building to engage in 'outreach' with the local Catholic community. Outreach essentially meant pressure to convert with incentives not dissimilar to the soup kitchens in Ireland. Hibs became an important focal point for the community of the Cowgate (and beyond) to retain a part of their identity. It would be an untruth to say that was the sole driver for the foundation of the club, it arguably wasn't even a major driver, but it was a factor.

Incidentally the one insult that is thrown at us in Scottish football that really gets my back up is Celtic fans using 'soup takers'. Rangers insults towards us are borne from a misplaced hatred; with Celtic fans that term is wilful and inexcusable ignorance and it's grossly offensive to the memory of our founders.
Yes my grandparents were part of the Carrubers Close mission, an inter-denominational protestant outreach organisation that worked in the Cowgate.

I don't understand all the insults hurled at us.

What do you know about the Hibernian swimming club? Gets a passing mention. I remember hearing Rangers first trophy was for basketball as in these days multiple sports were played.

10-06-2025, 06:20 PM
Yes my grandparents were part of the Carrubers Close mission, an inter-denominational protestant outreach organisation that worked in the Cowgate.

What do you know about the Hibernian swimming club? Gets a passing mention. I remember hearing Rangers first trophy was for basketball as in these days multiple sports were played.

Not a lot about the swimming club unfortunately. I believe it existed in one guise or another well into the 1970s, possibly even early 80s though.

leith lynx
10-06-2025, 06:32 PM

Hibernian swimming club was based in the old Infirmary street baths, not sure of the actual dates but was active for many years (until the baths closed? 1990's?)

andyf5
10-06-2025, 07:20 PM
Hibernian swimming club was based in the old Infirmary street baths, not sure of the actual dates but was active for many years (until the baths closed? 1990's?)
Thanks. The Internet confirmed that. More a community swim than a club like Warrrender apparently.

sadtom
10-06-2025, 08:11 PM
As a couple have mentioned. We weren’t ‘sectarian’. Much more exclusive than that. In the formative years they had to belong to the parish.

andyf5
11-06-2025, 07:37 AM
As a couple have mentioned. We weren’t ‘sectarian’. Much more exclusive than that. In the formative years they had to belong to the parish.

The founding of Hibs was viewed as a very positive thing across the entire community hence the Lord Provost laying the foundation stone for St Mary's Hall. The word "sectarian" is viewed in a negative sense in 2025. At the time, as you say, players had to be a member of the parish until the rebirth of Hibs in the 1890s.

11-06-2025, 08:48 AM
Yes. We were first to play Celtic as their inspiration and in 1909 played Dundee Hibernian (later Utd) wearing our hooped shirts. There was a lot I didn't know.

We didn’t wear our hooped shirt against Dundee Hibernian, that strip hadn’t existed for over 30 years. We borrowed the black and white hooped strips from Edinburgh City so as not to clash with Dundee Hibernian who were playing in green. We also didn’t play Celtic in their first game they played Rangers. We were of course the inspiration for the club that was about to be formed. I love to annoy them by stating that they were formed by Hibs supporters

11-06-2025, 09:00 AM
We didn’t wear our hooped shirt against Dundee Hibernian, that strip hadn’t existed for over 30 years. We borrowed the black and white hooped strips from Edinburgh City so as not to clash with Dundee Hibernian who were playing in green. We also didn’t play Celtic in their first game they played Rangers. We were of course the inspiration for the club that was about to be formed. I love to annoy them by stating that they were formed by Hibs supportersYeah, there's sometimes a mix-up. Hibs played Cowlairs in the first match at Parkhead to raise funds for Celtc.

11-06-2025, 09:17 AM
Last years home kit was out for sale on the 20th June. If the timelines are roughly the same maybe we will see it this week.

WeAreHibs
11-06-2025, 10:44 AM
Rocky back home
New contract announcement wearing new strip?! 🤔🤞🏻💚🇳🇬

11-06-2025, 12:58 PM

In their early years Hibernian were essentially the St Pats parish football team and were one of a large number of parish recreational and also educational activities that fell under the umbrella of the St Pats branch of the Catholic Young Mens Society.

To quote the Lord Provost Willam Chambers speech on 2nd April 1869 when the St marys Street Halls foundation stone was laid it was specifically set up "for the purpose of carrying out the objects of the Catholic Young Mens Society viz the religious and social elevation of the working classes of the Catholic community" so its pretty clear that it was built as Church property for the use of that denomination. The fact that Chambers supported it's construction shows that while the Irish immigrants faced hostility from many quarters, they had the support of the Lord Provost in their quest to advance themselves.

The reason other Clubs didn't go down this route is that Hibs provided the blueprint or should that be greenprint :) for Celtic who very quickly eschewed any superficial charitable ethos for blatant commercialism and for Dundee Hibernian who formed nearly 40 years after Hibs didn't face the same hostility that our founders had faced.

mcohibs
11-06-2025, 01:08 PM
Would make sense for Hibs to release it before the draw next week. Folk might be less inclined to shell out on a new kit depending on cost of flights and hotels :greengrin

11-06-2025, 01:53 PM
Yeah, there's sometimes a mix-up. Hibs played Cowlairs in the first match at Parkhead to raise funds for Celtc.

As well as the benefit match at Parkhead, if my memory from Lugton serves me right, we also made a flat out financial donation to the embryonic Celtic, and 'loaned' them some players for their first matches..

Without wanting to de-rail the thread by dragging up ancient history...talk about being stabbed in the back. Celtic FC, a truly dishonourable club from the very start.

11-06-2025, 02:26 PM
In their early years Hibernian were essentially the St Pats parish football team and were one of a large number of parish recreational and also educational activities that fell under the umbrella of the St Pats branch of the Catholic Young Mens Society.

To quote the Lord Provost Willam Chambers speech on 2nd April 1869 when the St marys Street Halls foundation stone was laid it was specifically set up "for the purpose of carrying out the objects of the Catholic Young Mens Society viz the religious and social elevation of the working classes of the Catholic community" so its pretty clear that it was built as Church property for the use of that denomination. The fact that Chambers supported it's construction shows that while the Irish immigrants faced hostility from many quarters, they had the support of the Lord Provost in their quest to advance themselves.

The reason other Clubs didn't go down this route is that Hibs provided the blueprint or should that be greenprint :) for Celtic who very quickly eschewed any superficial charitable ethos for blatant commercialism and for Dundee Hibernian who formed nearly 40 years after Hibs didn't face the same hostility that our founders had faced.It's also worth pointing out the CYMS was set-up as Catholic version of the YMCA, as the YMCA wouldn't admit Catholics.

Also worth pointing out that the vast majority of the populace, every newspaper and every political party supported Irish Home Rule at the time, the politicians just never got around to it.

CanonHannon
11-06-2025, 04:46 PM
As well as the benefit match at Parkhead, if my memory from Lugton serves me right, we also made a flat out financial donation to the embryonic Celtic, and 'loaned' them some players for their first matches..

Without wanting to de-rail the thread by dragging up ancient history...talk about being stabbed in the back. Celtic FC, a truly dishonourable club from the very start.

Did Hibernian FC at the time not have quite a few players travelling through from Glasgow and the West. It made sense for them to join the new formed club called Celtic. Not sure they stole players like some Hibs fans state, reckon the players decided to play for their new local team. We were the first to wear the green though.

11-06-2025, 05:14 PM
Did Hibernian FC at the time not have quite a few players travelling through from Glasgow and the West. It made sense for them to join the new formed club called Celtic. Not sure they stole players like some Hibs fans state, reckon the players decided to play for their new local team. We were the first to wear the green though.

I would suggest you read the “ Making of Hibernian” volume 1, that will clarify what and how the club from the west treated us and how they enticed some of our players in the non professional era. They treated us very poorly in particular after everything we had done to help them set up. They were a major reason but not the only one that we had problems just after they were formed. They were also allegedly one of the clubs that voted against us being promoted when we won the second division for the first time back in 1893/94. Not the act of friendship I would have expected, they basically didn’t want us back in the top league as Hibernian still had a big support in Glasgow and the West of Scotland in fact games at parkhead the support could be about 40% of the crowd as the “old Irish” were still Hibernian

11-06-2025, 11:39 PM
Did Hibernian FC at the time not have quite a few players travelling through from Glasgow and the West. It made sense for them to join the new formed club called Celtic. Not sure they stole players like some Hibs fans state, reckon the players decided to play for their new local team. We were the first to wear the green though.The players from the West all moved through to Edinburgh. The reason they went to Celtc was illegal payments in one form or another from Celtcs owners (before professional football was legal). I don't blame the players either. I think by the their second season Celtc were fielding up to 10 ex Hibs players in some matches.

12-06-2025, 08:18 AM
We didn’t wear our hooped shirt against Dundee Hibernian, that strip hadn’t existed for over 30 years. We borrowed the black and white hooped strips from Edinburgh City so as not to clash with Dundee Hibernian who were playing in green. We also didn’t play Celtic in their first game they played Rangers. We were of course the inspiration for the club that was about to be formed. I love to annoy them by stating that they were formed by Hibs supporters

And raised the funds to create the fist Celtic Park. We played the fist ever game there, on 8th May, 1888. An exhibition match but it wasn’t against Celtic, it was a match to continue to raise funds to help get Celtic off the ground and against a side called Cowlairs apparently.

random sub
12-06-2025, 10:53 AM
Random fact but interesting to see that the Cockburn Society (heritage group) and Portobello High School are also celebrating their 150th anniversary next year.

Josh Doig (and Andy Irving) both getting their international debuts was a great moment for Porty High. It is a bit of a Hibs school- would love to see some community outreach from the club to celebrate their birthdays!

Thatdayinmay16
12-06-2025, 12:56 PM
Random fact but interesting to see that the Cockburn Society (heritage group) and Portobello High School are also celebrating their 150th anniversary next year.

Josh Doig (and Andy Irving) both getting their international debuts was a great moment for Porty High. It is a bit of a Hibs school- would love to see some community outreach from the club to celebrate their birthdays!

Both Sparky Griffiths and Sparky Mcnulty attended Porty as well.

Good few players have come through the doors at Porty High over the years, not including myself:greengrin.

12-06-2025, 01:14 PM
Getting really excited to see this kit now, whatever they've decided to go with.

Surely we can't be waiting much longer!

12-06-2025, 01:18 PM
Getting really excited to see this kit now, whatever they've decided to go with.

Me too and I'm not really fussed about new Hibs strips. Not bought a football top in years but I'll be buying this. Great one to have and keep.

lugz
12-06-2025, 01:20 PM

I'm actually very nervous, have no intel just worried they're going to royally F it up. You see mock ups online that are absolutely perfect and just hope the club goes similar.

EskbankHibby
12-06-2025, 03:14 PM
Might be reading too much into this but just bought my tickets for the Essen game.

They are a different shade of green from our season tickets in my Apple wallet.

Different shade of green on the new strips?

12-06-2025, 03:14 PM

Good few players have come through the doors at Porty High over the years, not including myself:greengrin.

Bowman and Robbo were the main ones just before I went to Porty. Gogs McLoed the only one that played professionally from the team I played in. Porty has an amazing record for fitba and TV/Movies

Thatdayinmay16
12-06-2025, 03:44 PM
Bowman and Robbo were the main ones just before I went to Porty. Gogs McLoed the only one that played professionally from the team I played in. Porty has an amazing record for fitba and TV/Movies

Jackie McNamara as well if I'm not mistaken.

12-06-2025, 03:59 PM

Who is Andy Irving? Never heard of him.

12-06-2025, 04:09 PM
Who is Andy Irving? Never heard of him.

Came through at Hearts and left to go to Europe and is now at West Ham.

12-06-2025, 04:44 PM
Came through at Hearts and left to go to Europe and is now at West Ham.

Cheers.

Bridge hibs
12-06-2025, 04:44 PM
Bowman and Robbo were the main ones just before I went to Porty. Gogs McLoed the only one that played professionally from the team I played in. Porty has an amazing record for fitba and TV/MoviesTommy O”Rourke Motherwell forward was at Porty as was Tommy Graham, hibs fan who spent over 10 years at Berwick Rangers, both Bingham lads

Salisbury Hibby
12-06-2025, 09:40 PM

Good few players have come through the doors at Porty High over the years, not including myself:greengrin.Holy Rood High School also provided some familiar names - Paul Kane & Eddie May are two. There may be more.

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk

12-06-2025, 10:07 PM
Holy Rood High School also provided some familiar names - Paul Kane & Eddie May are two. There may be more.

Yogi

Purple Bukta
13-06-2025, 06:34 AM
Davy Fellinger, Willie Miller and Alan Banks were all at Porty too.

Trinity Hibee
13-06-2025, 06:48 AM
No info but can see this being released next Thurs/Fri

13-06-2025, 09:49 AM
Holy Rood High School also provided some familiar names - Paul Kane & Eddie May are two. There may be more.

Mickey Renwick and think Chris Reid also holyrood

BlackSheep
14-06-2025, 05:58 PM
Another poster on twitter claiming to have seen the kit… but no details….

babahibs
14-06-2025, 06:30 PM

Social media user seeks attention shock!

14-06-2025, 06:34 PM
Just saw Ryan Porteous modelling the new kit outside ER...

Looks a belter 👀

14-06-2025, 06:35 PM
Just saw Ryan Porteous modelling the new kit outside ER...

Looks a belter 👀

That was Triantis.

14-06-2025, 07:06 PM

If it's the same guy I seen then it was very much tongue in cheek, as can been seen by the replies. Might not be the same tweet I seen right enough 😅

14-06-2025, 07:19 PM
Dark green home strip (with white sleeves obviously)
Yellow away strip
Black third kit.

Green and white hooped special edition 4th kit to be released later on in the season.

Apologies if already posted but that’s the rumour I’ve heard about the strips this season.

HendoDelivered
14-06-2025, 07:45 PM
Dark green home strip (with white sleeves obviously)
Yellow away strip
Black third kit.

Green and white hooped special edition 4th kit to be released later on in the season.

Apologies if already posted but that’s the rumour I’ve heard about the strips this season.

Heard same regarding home top and Hibs display pic on socials is a darkish green colour with the harp, so I think that all ties in!