View Full Version : Falkirk or Livy

27-04-2025, 11:18 AM
Interesting final day of the Championship on Friday night, Falkirk should have had it all done & dusted by now but in the last few weeks have bottled it, now neck and neck on same points with Falkirk still top on GD.
Livvy have the harder game against Partick who’s play off place isn’t secure whistle Falkirk are playing relegated basket case Hamilton.
Who do we think/want. Personally prefer Falkirk, decent sized support. Livingston are a club that offers the league nothing, in my opinion.

27-04-2025, 11:21 AM
With their plastic pitches, neither bring anything of note to the top flight.

It’s a bit like having to choose between Fred West and Peter Sutcliffe.

jakedance
27-04-2025, 11:24 AM
It’s a dreadful choice I’d go with Livi, purely because it’s such an easy away game to get to.

hibsforeurope
27-04-2025, 11:25 AM
I had hoped Ayr would have lasted the distance but sadly not.
I’ll say Falkirk as they have a bigger support and the plastic pitch argument will be over after next season.

I’d like to see the spfl bring in fines for poor pitches in the premiership too, they are happy to fine Bonnyrigg and small teams but some of the pitches have been terrible this season.

27-04-2025, 11:27 AM
With their plastic pitches, neither bring anything of note to the top flight.

It’s a bit like having to choose between Fred West and Peter Sutcliffe.

Fred for me.

I'll go Falkirk. It's been home for a good while. Good for the town to have a top flight club. I'd love to see this place flooded with fellow hibs fans a couple of times a season.

They need to relax and do against Hamilton what they have been doing all season. As do we, in our game against Dundee Utd.

27-04-2025, 11:33 AM
If Livi changed to a grass pitch, then they would be my first choice.

We're guaranteed a massive amount of tickets and take decent numbers.

If they're keeping the plastic pitch, then Falkirk.

Cat Stanton
27-04-2025, 11:36 AM
Neither.

But if it has to be one then Falkirk. At least they have some fans.

Donegal Hibby
27-04-2025, 11:36 AM
It’s a bit like when the OF are playing one another in hoping the lesser evil wins ..Falkirk or Livy ? Livy everyday of the week for me . I can’t stand Falkirk , horrible football club .

27-04-2025, 11:37 AM
Livingston for me. Falkirk think they are a big club with a self entitlement about them. Martindale & Rice have been unreal for Livingston on tiny budget. They also have a proper stadium unlike that 3 side effort of the bairns

27-04-2025, 12:16 PM
Falkirk will end up comfortably beating a poor Hamilton side. But they'll toil next season and probably go straight back down. Id rather have neither in the top flight.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

27-04-2025, 12:18 PM
The fact that the 2 vying for a place in Scotland's top league play on plastic sums up the current state of Scottish football, won't make a blind bit of difference which one comes up.

27-04-2025, 12:19 PM
I'd take both if Hertz are in the playoffs.

HendoDelivered
27-04-2025, 12:19 PM
Falkirk.

Livi are a tin pot team, with tin pot fans and a tin pot ground/pitch. Shouldn’t be anywhere near the topflight and add zero to it.

Don’t really like Falkirk but it’s a no brainer between them both.

27-04-2025, 12:20 PM
Falkirk every day of the week.

Decent potential fanbase. Decent wee stadium even if it is only 3 sides, play some really nice football and they have a bit of needle with a few clubs.

I appreciate the job Martindale has done for Livi but they are just a bit of a nothing club. No one really cares about them in the positive or the negative. Falkirk are one of our biggest small clubs and bring far more to the party.

Billy Bunter 07
27-04-2025, 12:23 PM
It’s a bit like when the OF are playing one another in hoping the lesser evil wins ..Falkirk or Livy ? Livy everyday of the week for me . I can’t stand Falkirk , horrible football club .

Why do you consider Falkirk a horrible football club? They are in a part of the world its glory hunter galore yet they still get quite good attendances. They had a kid on rivalry with us for a year or two but there's not much horrible about them at all.

Billy Bunter 07
27-04-2025, 12:24 PM
The fact that the 2 vying for a place in Scotland's top league play on plastic sums up the current state of Scottish football, won't make a blind bit of difference which one comes up.

It will actually, Falkirk will bring a lot bigger support to Easter Road than Livi so we earn more money.

27-04-2025, 12:25 PM
Falkirk the much better away day and a proper club. Although, would be beautiful to see them throw their big league away and stand down.

27-04-2025, 12:25 PM
On the basis that Falkirk will bring more fans to ER, I’d go for them
On a selfish point, would rather have Livvi than Ross County, as it’s easier to get too

Sloop67
27-04-2025, 12:42 PM
There's a chance both of them could end up getting promoted , it will be interesting to see if either of them lay a new playing surface over the summer , if they have any long term ambitions of staying up then they'll have to , not sure which one of them is best equipped too .

LewysGot2
27-04-2025, 12:43 PM
Neither to be honest.

I'd have rather it was Raith or Ayr. Hopefully one of them can get up via the playoff.

Paul1642
27-04-2025, 12:46 PM
Falkirk to win the league and Ayr to come up via the playoffs at Hearts expense.

27-04-2025, 12:50 PM
I’d prefer to hastily push through league reconstruction. Reduce Premier League to 10 teams for next season - lose bottom two of and no promorion.

Go back to 12 the season after next providing both Livingston and Falkirk are nowhere near promotion places.

27-04-2025, 12:54 PM
Falkirk.

Livi are a tin pot team, with tin pot fans and a tin pot ground/pitch. Shouldn’t be anywhere near the topflight and add zero to it.

Don’t really like Falkirk but it’s a no brainer between them both.

Agree. I'd rather any team was promoted over Martindale's motley crew of hoofballing 6 foot 8 National League rejects.

27-04-2025, 12:57 PM
Would be funny to see Falkirk blow it. Just a shame it’s Livvy who are the alternative

Donegal Hibby
27-04-2025, 01:04 PM
Why do you consider Falkirk a horrible football club? They are in a part of the world its glory hunter galore yet they still get quite good attendances. They had a kid on rivalry with us for a year or two but there's not much horrible about them at all.

Don’t like Airdrie either and look on both as wannabe wee versions of the huns . I was rooting for Ayr Utd at the start but now that it’s down to Livy and Falkirk … Livy are the lesser of two evils for me .

27-04-2025, 01:12 PM
Don’t like Airdrie either and look on both as wannabe wee versions of the huns . I was rooting for Ayr Utd at the start but now that it’s down to Livy and Falkirk … Livy are the lesser of two evils for me .

I worked beside a Falkirk fan and he hated the huns more then me. No comparison with Airdrie. They have got a nasty element in their support, no doubt. But at least they have a support.

KdyHby
27-04-2025, 01:14 PM
Falkirk, for the reasons given in a number of posts above.

Will be heading through to Hampden on Friday night hoping that Rovers clinch the last play off position. Partick Thistle are away to Livi, so Rovers hoping for a Livi win.

27-04-2025, 01:28 PM

Couldn’t have put that better myself. Plastic pitches have no place in the top flight. They could both make it and we’d have three sides with plastic pitches. At least two of which are outrageously bad surfaces only there to provide an advantage to the home team.

Billy Bunter 07
27-04-2025, 01:44 PM

Makes no sense. Falkirk are anything but wannabe huns. Ayr Utd managed by a guy who couldn't wait to get out of our club and then turned us down for Aberdeen? Ayr which is populated with actual huns who attend their games? :greengrin

Up-the-slope
27-04-2025, 02:51 PM
Both - after play offs - and only because plastic pitches are going after next year (both horrible and home advantage thats unacceptable) as it moves top flight football to Central / East and might just precipitate meaningful discussion about league reconstruction

I realise that will likely still get torpedoed by the OF self interest but at least exposes them for what they are - serial complainers about lack of competition who ultimately do anything to maintain their vile sectarian monopoly

27-04-2025, 03:30 PM
Falkirk to win the league and Ayr to come up via the playoffs at Hearts expense.

27-04-2025, 03:41 PM
Will they have to have grass pitches for the season after next?

Big issue with cost and both allow others to use by community etc.

Livingston have teams training on that pitch every night of the week - same with Killie.

Donegal Hibby
27-04-2025, 03:54 PM
Makes no sense. Falkirk are anything but wannabe huns. Ayr Utd managed by a guy who couldn't wait to get out of our club and then turned us down for Aberdeen? Ayr which is populated with actual huns who attend their games? :greengrin

Always liked Brown and Whittaker who helped us win a cup . We also got a sizeable fee for Brown too . I suppose part of wanting Ayr to get promoted was the novelty of it . Still prefer Brown over a jumbo too :greengrin

27-04-2025, 05:25 PM

Livingston have teams training on that pitch every night of the week - same with Killie.

Season after next

Sloop67
27-04-2025, 05:29 PM

Killie are already changing back to a grass pitch

27-04-2025, 05:31 PM

Killie delayed it and will be plastic again next season I'm sure. Then every team will have to be grass the season after as the rule comes in.

Dunno why, but I can't see it happening and the SPFL will back down.

27-04-2025, 05:36 PM
It's a pity it has to be Livi or Falkirk. I think we all assumed Falkirk were coming up but their inplod in recent weeks is quite amusing, just a pity it would be brick a brac Livi who take advantage. I would take either coming up with Partick with St Johnstone and the Jambos going down.

He's here!
27-04-2025, 05:58 PM
My issue with both is that we have ofen found them very stuffy opponents but as someone else said I'd have them both up if it meant Hearts were going down.

27-04-2025, 06:00 PM
Killie delayed it and will be plastic again next season I'm sure. Then every team will have to be grass the season after as the rule comes in.

It’s such a leveller for them, I can’t imagine them ever changing back.

27-04-2025, 06:01 PM
It’s such a leveller for them, I can’t imagine them ever changing back.

As things stand, they’ll have to for season 26/27

27-04-2025, 06:21 PM
It's like a choice between eating my own arm or having my eyes tattooed.

Falkirk, on the basis they have the least crap pitch and I often say get tae Falkirk when there's kids around.

27-04-2025, 06:27 PM

I’m fully anticipating a backing down or a further period of grace. There will be some kind of appeal against the ruling and the whole thing will be delayed them just forgotten about. The likes of Livingston, Kilmarnock and Falkirk will still be hoofing the ball about on plastic pitches in 2030.

27-04-2025, 06:30 PM
It’s a dreadful choice I’d go with Livi, purely because it’s such an easy away game to get to.

I suppose it depends where you're travelling from...

FYI Easter Road to the Falkirk Stadium (straight up the M9) is a whole 7 miles further than ER to Livi (straight down the M8) 🧐

Pick a side if you like, but easier to get to seems a weird defining category to use,.

27-04-2025, 07:02 PM

They said they were changing to grass next season but now its the season after as thats when all top flight will have to be grass.
Probably Falkirk for me as at least they bring a decent support but Livi beating Hearts in the playoffs would be hilarious.

27-04-2025, 07:12 PM
Makes no sense. Falkirk are anything but wannabe huns. Ayr Utd managed by a guy who couldn't wait to get out of our club and then turned us down for Aberdeen? Ayr which is populated with actual huns who attend their games? :greengrin Scott Brown gave his signing on fee to our under 21's when he left and was one of the best players we've ever had, there's numerous examples of that. Fair enough you would rather have Falkirk, no need to slag off Brown, it's got nothing to do with it.

27-04-2025, 07:26 PM
Livingston= 6 mins 35 seconds by car with thousands of parking spaces within several min walk to the stadium or short walk getting off a bus

Falkirk= 20 mins by car, no bus :(

therefore Livi :cb

end of

p.s. Falkirk will easily beat Hamilton

27-04-2025, 07:31 PM
Falkirk. Decent club that at least has some fans.

Hoping anyone bar Livi wins the playoff as 2 up 2 down makes things more interesting next season.

Happy to see Hearts or Ross Co go down.

27-04-2025, 08:32 PM
Livi because you can watch from the side and it is a completed stadium. Falkirk has a better pitch but 3 stands is rubbish

27-04-2025, 09:18 PM
I don't get how Livi have managed to continue to function as a football club. They have no fans, have been in admin twice but are still somehow not just still operating but challenging for our top league.

I am fed up with them. Why can't they just go away?

27-04-2025, 09:53 PM
I don't get how Livi have managed to continue to function as a football club. They have no fans, have been in admin twice but are still somehow not just still operating but challenging for our top league.

I am fed up with them. Why can't they just go away?

Why should they “go away”? They are in with a chance of automatic promotion because they are winning games within the league they are competing. They have a loyal base of fans who follow them home and away, it might not be a large amount but why should that matter? Would you prefer that our league was a closed shop where regardless of how good or bad you are that there is no potential of getting into the top league. I hope they get promoted as if they come top they will have deserved it regardless of their crowd size

28-04-2025, 06:59 AM
Imagine Livingston v Ross County in the top flight. 1000 fans, a wee gadgy screeching on the touchline. No thanks. Falkirk please.

28-04-2025, 07:20 AM
Imagine Livingston v Ross County in the top flight. 1000 fans, a wee gadgy screeching on the touchline. No thanks. Falkirk please.

Which is why a 16/18 team top league will never happen.

28-04-2025, 08:49 AM
Which is why a 16/18 team top league will never happen.

Which is why we will always get what we've always got. A poor top flight and numerous, irrelevant, lower leagues.

Green Man
28-04-2025, 08:59 AM
I’d like Falkirk to blow the title just because it would be funny. Their collapse from top of League 1, and subsequent failure in the playoffs, was classic Scottish football banter years stuff. But in terms of opposition next season, I’d be happy with Falkirk as it’s years since we’ve been in the same league as them and I’ve never been to a game there.

28-04-2025, 09:16 AM
At the start of the season if you said to a Falkirk fan 'better or match Livi v Partick whilst you are at home against Hamilton to win the league in last game of season' they would have bitten your hand off.

It's Falkirk's to lose.

WestStandWillie
28-04-2025, 10:50 AM
I think we'll end up with both but if having to pick one it would be Falkirk.

Livi aren't a top division side. Falkirk have some substance about them and they have a fairly sized fanbase.

I doubt very much that the team who finishes 11th (hopefully Hearts) will enjoy a match against either of those sides (that also includes Ayr/Partick/Raith)

28-04-2025, 11:07 AM
Choice between the two would be Falkirk to come up as champions.

Green_one
28-04-2025, 11:09 AM
Falkirk.

Yip :agree: I remember too what Livi did to be created and the money they got from Local authorities. Plus they basically robbed us of a League cup by playing players they could not afford. I loath them

Green_one
28-04-2025, 11:17 AM
Falkirk.

Yip :agree: I remember too what Livi did to be created and the money they got from Local authorities. Plus they basically robbed us of a League cup by playing players they could not afford. I loath them

Billy Bunter 07
28-04-2025, 06:09 PM

Good point.

28-04-2025, 06:17 PM
Falkirk won't drop points to Hamilton. No chance. Ayr or the Rovers up in the playoffs at the expense of Hearts. Livingston can stay away for ever more.