View Full Version : Campbell
dastardly8
26-04-2025, 04:03 PM
Absolutely offers nothing , how he got 90 mins today is beyond me
26-04-2025, 04:04 PM
He's got a great engine on him and is a Hibs fan though.
26-04-2025, 04:05 PM
He was our best out ball today, won everything in the air from goalkeeper, hit the post, set up Nectar, recovered the ball.
26-04-2025, 04:06 PM
Would have preferred Levitt to stay on and him to go off for N Cadden.
26-04-2025, 04:06 PM
I don’t understand why Gray keeps going back to him. The midfield has been great since Xmas with Triantis, Levitt, NMW, Hoillet etc for the first time in about 5 years. Why keep occasionally turning to Campbell? So frustrating.
26-04-2025, 04:07 PM
One of his poorer games
Streaky player
He was our best out ball today, won everything in the air from goalkeeper, hit the post, set up Nectar, recovered the ball.
Very close with diving header as well, just the scapegoat
26-04-2025, 04:09 PM
Can’t understand why Hoilett was dropped today. JC has been poor away from home all season.
chasitup
I don’t understand why Gray keeps going back to him. The midfield has been great since Xmas with Triantis, Levitt, NMW, Hoillet etc for the first time in about 5 years. Why keep occasionally turning to Campbell? So frustrating.
Exactly that, he really was poor today.
He was our best out ball today, won everything in the air from goalkeeper, hit the post, set up Nectar, recovered the ball.He should've scored the one that he hit the post. Rocky should've scored his header too. At the very least you've got to hit the target. Two great chances.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
26-04-2025, 04:10 PM
Very close with diving header as well, just the scapegoat
Triantis was a bigger problem today. We all know how good he can be, but there is no doubt he has poor afternoons and today was one of them. He has complete brainfarts with some of his passes and gives away possession too many times.
Paul1642
26-04-2025, 04:10 PM
Was disappointed to see him start but gave Gray the benefit of the doubt that’s he knew what he was doing. Post match still disagree with that one.
supermcginn
26-04-2025, 04:11 PM
He couldn't lace Hoilett's boots. All football goes out the window when he starts.
26-04-2025, 04:11 PM
Bowie was worse than Campbell today.
duffers
26-04-2025, 04:12 PM
Subbing off Levitt for Cadden was odd. As others have said, not entirely sure why we made 3 changes today. If it’s not broken, don’t fix it. O’Hora for Miller should have been the only change
26-04-2025, 04:13 PM
Bowie has looked more effective coming off the bench. I can see why Gray started him but there was a good argument for starting same front line that did v Dundee.
26-04-2025, 04:14 PM
Couldn’t understand him in for Hoilett today
Still can’t understand it
26-04-2025, 04:14 PM
I kind of understood why he was starting today even if I didn't agree with it.
For me we changed too much today both in personnel and approach. We were coming off arguably our best performance of the season, maybe 2nd to the one v Celtic, and beyond the enforced change it really feels like it should have been same again.
I'm not a huge fan of Myko but today was custom designed for him to soften then up then bring Bowie on to win us the game. Campbell was ok but he's not got the same guile or creativity as an in form Hoillet.
26-04-2025, 04:15 PM
Bowie was really poor today. Not for the first time when starting a game. Seems a better option to come off the bench at present.
26-04-2025, 04:16 PM
Triantis was a bigger problem today. We all know how good he can be, but there is no doubt he has poor afternoons and today was one of them. He has complete brainfarts with some of his passes and gives away possession too many times.
Not having either Newell or Campbell in the midfield makes the rest look better. Triantis, Levitt, NMW and Hoillet have thrived in a better shape. There is no denying that we are much better without.
He's got a great engine on him and is a Hibs fan though.
And Gray seems to like him.
26-04-2025, 04:17 PM
I kind of understood why he was starting today even if I didn't agree with it.
For me we changed too much today both in personnel and approach. We were coming off arguably our best performance of the season, maybe 2nd to the one v Celtic, and beyond the enforced change it really feels like it should have been same again.
I'm not a huge fan of Myko but today was custom designed for him to soften then up then bring Bowie on to win us the game. Campbell was ok but he's not got the same guile or creativity as an in form Hoillet.
Fully agree with this.
I really hope today hasn't blown things. Some people have been getting way too carried IMO away thinking 3rd is in the bag, despite Dons and Utd being so close to us.
26-04-2025, 04:18 PM
Did wonder how long it would take for all these threads to crop up again.
There will be a Malky Mackay and Ian Gordon out thread by 6
26-04-2025, 04:18 PM
He makes the midfield less than the sum of its parts, IMO, and winning headers and working hard doesn’t offset his lack of impact on games IMO.
26-04-2025, 04:19 PM
Did wonder how long it would take for all these threads to crop up again.
There will be a Malky Mackay and Ian Gordon out thread by 6
It’s a legitimate thread tbh. Introduce him back into the starting 11 over a player who’s been playing well and he plays poorly.
Donegal Hibby
26-04-2025, 04:19 PM
Campbell started in our two previous wins against Aberdeen . Only good thing about the knives coming out again at him is it gives Youan a break …
Really is sad to see how quickly some turn on a player they don’t like when we lose … sad stuff :rolleyes:
26-04-2025, 04:22 PM
I thought he was solid. One of our brighter players today.
26-04-2025, 04:23 PM
Campbell started in our two previous wins against Aberdeen . Only good thing about the knives coming out again at him is it gives Youan a break …
Really is sad to see how quickly some turn on a player they don’t like when we lose … sad stuff :rolleyes:
It’s just people calling it like they see it. Bowie was fantastic against Dundee and praised as such, people have called out he was poor today. Same with Campbell, he was poor today and the long-standing conundrum of how and when to use him is still no closer to being clear.
Ribs1875
26-04-2025, 04:25 PM
This thread is bonkers! Give the guy a break, if we win today and he played **** no one would bat an eyelid. Let's appreciate the fact he's done well during this unbeaten run that ended today and get behind him for the next game.
26-04-2025, 04:25 PM
This thread is bonkers! Give the guy a break, if we win today and he played **** no one would bat an eyelid. Let's appreciate the fact he's done well during this unbeaten run that ended today and get behind him for the next game.
But we never and he never, that’s the point of the thread?
Donegal Hibby
26-04-2025, 04:35 PM
It’s just people calling it like they see it. Bowie was fantastic against Dundee and praised as such, people have called out he was poor today. Same with Campbell, he was poor today and the long-standing conundrum of how and when to use him is still no closer to being clear.
Not really in there’s certain posters who repeatedly come after Campbell on here when we lose but vanish into thin air when he plays well or makes a positive contribution..
Today Campbell back tracked , won flick ons , nearly scored and was no worse than some of the other players . We have been on an amazing run which Campbell and the rest of the players contributed greatly too and I think they should be given a bit of slack rather than the pathetic finger pointing after our first defeat in 17 ! …
Where’s the togetherness and spirit ? .
Murphys Touch
26-04-2025, 04:37 PM
If you want to be a dominating 3rd force - players of limited ability like Campbell should not be starting games
We scored 3 against St J, 4 against Dundee and played unreal football in those games. Have had a week off and returned with dropping the ONLY linking player we have in Hoilett and replace him with Campbell - someone who barely touches the ball
26-04-2025, 04:45 PM
Not really in there’s certain posters who repeatedly come after Campbell on here when we lose but vanish into thin air when he plays well or makes a positive contribution..
Today Campbell back tracked , won flick ons , nearly scored and was no worse than some of the other players . We have been on an amazing run which Campbell and the rest of the players contributed greatly too and I think they should be given a bit of slack rather than the pathetic finger pointing after our first defeat in 17 ! …
Said.
NC1875
26-04-2025, 04:46 PM
Dropping someone with the quality of Hoillett to play a workhorse in Campbell was mental.
He’s a very limited footballer and in games you want to dominate and go and win, he shouldn’t be playing ahead of Junior.
Murphys Touch
26-04-2025, 04:47 PM
I get this - and you are right
But we are allowed to analyse this match and he was a wasted jersey…ESPECIALLY when there were proven better options available.
He tracked back….id hope so
Glad to see we found our scapegoat for the first loss in 17. I thought Josh was fine today. Nothing special but he had chances that I don't think Hoilett would have had, one goes in and we'd call it an inspired tactical decision from SDG. Fine margins.
supermcginn
If you want to be a dominating 3rd force - players of limited ability like Campbell should not be starting games
We scored 3 against St J, 4 against Dundee and played unreal football Tim those games. Have had a week off and returned with dropping the ONLY linking player we have in Hoilett and replace him with Campbell - someone who barely touches the ball
100 percent correct.
26-04-2025, 04:48 PM
Very poor touch & terrible workrate today
Gave Clarkson the Freedom of the park
26-04-2025, 04:59 PM
Glad to see we found our scapegoat for the first loss in 17. I thought Josh was fine today. Nothing special but he had chances that I don't think Hoilett would have had, one goes in and we'd call it an inspired tactical decision from SDG. Fine margins.
Missing good chances doesn’t go in the plus column for me.
26-04-2025, 05:06 PM
The usual hyperbolic ***** is back with a vengeance. Boring as ****.
26-04-2025, 05:08 PM
Crazy Hoilett was dropped for Campbell.
Donegal Hibby
26-04-2025, 05:08 PM
:agree: The Josh Campbell haters out in force after our first loss in 17 even though the player has played a massive part in that run in his goals against Celtic etc …
We lost today due to not scoring and them having a really good shot on goal , ends nil-nil and there’s no meltdown . As you say fine margins.
26-04-2025, 05:09 PM
No one is scapegoating anyone. Campbell was terrible today. Folk are just giving an opinion on his performance.
26-04-2025, 05:10 PM
Missing good chances doesn’t go in the plus column for me.
Carrying a goal threat is always a plus. He was unlucky to not have scored the one at the back post that hit the post, arguably should have done better I will admit. Then his one in the second half was a tough one but would have had the keeper beat if it was on target. All ifs and buts I'll admit, I just think he carried a different threat to what Hoilett would have and it wasn't far from working.
I will concede he probably shouldn't have seen the length of game time he did and the sub for Levitt to come off and move Campbell a bit deeper killed our midfield presence. But I don't believe the decision to start him was wrong.
26-04-2025, 05:13 PM
Carrying a goal threat is always a plus. He was unlucky to not have scored the one at the back post that hit the post, arguably should have done better I will admit. Then his one in the second half was a tough one but would have had the keeper beat if it was on target. All ifs and buts I'll admit, I just think he carried a different threat to what Hoilett would have and it wasn't far from working.
I will concede he probably shouldn't have seen the length of game time he did and the sub for Levitt to come off and move Campbell a bit deeper killed our midfield presence. But I don't believe the decision to start him was wrong.
It’s only a plus if he scores. But if he doesn’t, it’s not worth the trade off for the impact he had on other aspects of our performance today for me.
Donegal Hibby
26-04-2025, 05:16 PM
No one is scapegoating anyone. Campbell was terrible today. Folk are just giving an opinion on his performance.
What’s your assessment of Levitt today?
26-04-2025, 05:17 PM
It’s only a plus if he scores. But if he doesn’t, it’s not worth the trade off for the impact he had on other aspects of our performance today for me.
He's a better presser than Hoilett is, better at tracking back and tackling imo. It's not as black and white for me as one is better on the ball so he needs to start. They have different skillsets that can be used in different scenarios.
One of the reasons we've managed to string this run together was that we adapted our starting XI and used our entire squad well. Today it didn't pay off, it's ***** but I just don't think it's fair to pinpoint Campbell for it in the way I've seen within the first hour of the full-time whistle. I appreciate people can have different opinions on what the right approach was which is fine but some people sound like they've been waiting patiently to dig him out again.
26-04-2025, 05:18 PM
Shouldn't this thread be about SDG if Josh is the weakness some folk insist he is? He didn't pick himself. Go on, then...
26-04-2025, 05:20 PM
I don't think Josh Campbell is being singled out just for being Josh Campbell. I think it's more that he came in for a player who had been in very good form so that is always going to attract more scrutiny, particularly when you lose.
Had we won or even got a point today then this thread probably wouldn't exist. We didn't though and that's football. Things that get glossed over in victory get dissected in defeat. If we win next week and Campbell plays a blinder then this thread will get dragged back up with a 'where are you now' and that would be understandable, again that's football and that's how these things have played out for about 100 years.
26-04-2025, 05:22 PM
He's a better presser than Hoilett is, better at tracking back and tackling imo. It's not as black and white for me as one is better on the ball so he needs to start. They have different skillsets that can be used in different scenarios.
One of the reasons we've managed to string this run together was that we adapted our starting XI and used our entire squad well. Today it didn't pay off, it's ***** but I just don't think it's fair to pinpoint Campbell for it in the way I've seen within the first hour of the full-time whistle. I appreciate people can have different opinions on what the right approach was which is fine but some people sound like they've been waiting patiently to dig him out again.
He runs about more but I’m not sure about him being better at pressing. Hoilett knows what he’s doing, Boyle goal against St Johnstone as an example.
Thought we changed too much today, unnecessarily.
Hoilett has started the last four games when our pressing was a big feature. Today, it wasn’t.
26-04-2025, 05:24 PM
Poor aye, Campbell thread though nah?
26-04-2025, 05:26 PM
Strange thing today, Campbell was our only real goal threat
Shame but not surprising, there’s a negative thread on him
26-04-2025, 05:27 PM
That subbing him for someone who doesn’t play in the middle of the park was odd.
26-04-2025, 05:30 PM
This thread is an abomination.
There were several players who contributed less than Josh yet here we are piling into the boy as per usual.
It's graceless, classless and, most importantly, not justified.
26-04-2025, 05:31 PM
Shame but not surprising, there’s a negative thread on him
Yes, not surprised to see Campbell getting stick once again. It's absolutely pathetic from the same old posters.
Was the best of the midfield 3, his substitution made us poorer.
He runs about more but I’m not sure about him being better at pressing. Hoilett knows what he’s doing, Boyle goal against St Johnstone as an example.
Thought we changed too much today, unnecessarily.
Hoilett has started the last four games when our pressing was a big feature. Today, it wasn’t.
For what it's worth I don't really mind your view point here, I think Hoilett has been playing well would have been a good option still to start. My gripe isn't as much of saying "I would maybe have went with this option" but more "we need better than him to do X" I just think it's needless rhetoric in a time where we're competing to achieve something none of us thought possible 5 months ago.
26-04-2025, 05:36 PM
There were several players who contributed less than Josh yet here we are piling into the boy as per usual.
Agree with all of this, but last sentence in particular is bang on the money.
26-04-2025, 05:42 PM
Didn't have a good game the day, but I don't think any of the forward thinking players did.
He's here!
26-04-2025, 05:43 PM
Fully agree with this.
I really hope today hasn't blown things. Some people have been getting way too carried IMO away thinking 3rd is in the bag, despite Dons and Utd being so close to us.
Not so long ago finishing in the top six seemed like a forlorn hope yet we've overhauled a 23-point deficit on Aberdeen and already secured a European spot. We've not 'blown' anything. 5th would still be a great season bearing in mind where we were in November. Still think we're good enough to stay third tho.
The OTT reaction to a first defeat in 20 games to a side outwith Celtic is crazy.
Shame but not surprising, there’s a negative thread on himHe played the whole game and had an assist when we beat them 2-0 at ER.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
ChicoM1875
26-04-2025, 05:48 PM
Aye - think some of the plums on here had their posts typed before the game started. Rubbing their wee hands together at full time. Plums
26-04-2025, 05:56 PM
Not so long ago finishing in the top six seemed like a forlorn hope yet we've overhauled a 23-point deficit on Aberdeen and already secured a European spot. We've not 'blown' anything. 5th would still be a great season bearing in mind where we were in November. Still think we're good enough to stay third tho.
The OTT reaction to a first defeat in 20 games to a side outwith Celtic is crazy.
I never said we'd blown anything yet. But if we don't finish third now we will have blown that huge opportunity. It will still be a decent season all things considered, but dissapointing given our advantage going into the split.
Of course we still have a great chance. But there is no doubt some people have thought we had third all but wrapped up when its anything but.
26-04-2025, 06:03 PM
I never said we'd blown anything yet. But if we don't finish third now we will have blown that huge opportunity. It will still be a decent season all things considered, but dissapointing given our advantage going into the split.
Of course we still have a great chance. But there is no doubt some people have thought we had third all but wrapped up when its anything but.
I agree with you.
If you look at the season as a whole then finishing 5th would be fine. With the position we are in now not finishing 3rd would be a massive disappointment. Expectations are constantly evolving in football.
A bit like when we reached the LC semi final under Ross. In itself getting to a semi final is a decent cup run. Being in the last 4 with St Johnstone, Livingston and St Mirren and not even reaching the final never mind winning the thing is a massive disappointment.
Donegal Hibby
26-04-2025, 06:08 PM
Poor aye, Campbell thread though nah?
So Levitt was poor and Campbell terrible ? IMO Campbell was more involved in the game than Levitt .
Donegal Hibby
26-04-2025, 06:13 PM
I get this - and you are right
But we are allowed to analyse this match and he was a wasted jersey…ESPECIALLY when there were proven better options available.
He tracked back….id hope so
He was no worse than our other midfielders and probably better than some . The other thing was he was probably our main threat . Also the proven better options came on but we didn’t look any better .
I agree with you.
If you look at the season as a whole then finishing 5th would be fine. With the position we are in now not finishing 3rd would be a massive disappointment. Expectations are constantly evolving in football.
A bit like when we reached the LC semi final under Ross. In itself getting to a semi final is a decent cup run. Being in the last 4 with St Johnstone, Livingston and St Mirren and not even reaching the final never mind winning the thing is a massive disappointment.
For me, its because this is the last season for who knows how long that 3rd spot (assuming Celtic cup win) gets guaranteed European group stage football.
Its what that means in terms of financially and more importantly at least 8 European fixtures to look forward to as fans - people can surely understand why there is a bit of a negative reaction after today.
He played the whole game and had an assist when we beat them 2-0 at ER.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Campbell has put in a lot of very good performances at home during this run, away from home he has been largely poor though. I think people would struggle to name a good away performance from him in 2025.
26-04-2025, 06:15 PM
We won’t get a chance like this again. Today has drawn a negative reaction because we didn’t approach it the way we have in the last 4 months IMO. We weren’t a team hungry to win today.
We need to bounce back next week. If we don’t finish third there will be a lot of regret.
26-04-2025, 06:19 PM
My main gripe is changing a midfield that was winning and had done nothing wrong previously.
Hoilett is a better player than Campbell. Campbell is obviously going to draw criticism when he comes in for a player better than him and we lose.
Donegal Hibby
26-04-2025, 06:25 PM
My main gripe is changing a midfield that was winning and had done nothing wrong previously.
Hoilett is a better player than Campbell. Campbell is obviously going to draw criticism when he comes in for a player better than him and we lose.
But when Campbell isn’t actually the worse player on the park I think the criticism then becomes unfair . Campbell didn’t lose the game , the team did .
26-04-2025, 06:39 PM
But when Campbell isn’t actually the worse player on the park I think the criticism then becomes unfair . Campbell didn’t lose the game , the team did .
He had a few chances to put us ahead though.
I agree. I just don’t agree that the starting 11 needed changed or Campbell had to be introduced.
26-04-2025, 06:39 PM
Back to what I said earlier, surely it should be a thread hammering Gray then?
Murphys Touch
26-04-2025, 06:48 PM
The team played worse…having Campbell instead of Hoilett in my opinion was a huge contributing factor to that. Gray was scared of Aberdeen and we had proved to have the team that could have taken the game to him.
I am no where near a JC fan, this was a thread on him and there were others who had bad games (Boyle for example). But the last few weeks was some of the best football in years and Campbell in the middle stopped that happening today
No one to link the midfield and attack.
But hey - he tracks backs
26-04-2025, 06:57 PM
Changing two of the front three didn’t make sense
Bowie hold up play, poor
Hoilett not starting, bizarre
26-04-2025, 06:58 PM
Back to what I said earlier, surely it should be a thread hammering Gray then?
Nobody is stopping you starting that thread.
26-04-2025, 06:59 PM
Nobody is stopping you starting that thread.
Why would I? I don't have a problem with Josh getting a start.
26-04-2025, 07:00 PM
Changing two of the front three didn’t make sense
Bowie hold up play, poor
Hoilett not starting, bizarre
I think that is the crux of the matter for many.
I wouldn't be at all surprised to see those changes reversed next week. Partly because it's a totally different game, partly because it didn't really work today.
Gray hasn't got much wrong in recent months. Today I think he got a couple of big calls wrong. It happens.
Donegal Hibby
26-04-2025, 07:53 PM
The team played worse…having Campbell instead of Hoilett in my opinion was a huge contributing factor to that. Gray was scared of Aberdeen and we had proved to have the team that could have taken the game to him.
I am no where near a JC fan, this was a thread on him and there were others who had bad games (Boyle for example). But the last few weeks was some of the best football in years and Campbell in the middle stopped that happening today
No one to link the midfield and attack.
But hey - he tracks backs
Campbell came on in the 64 minute against Dundee , did we get worse in that ? Hoilett had 10 minutes today and as short as the amount of time he was on for I don’t remember anything of note happening . I don’t even think Levitt was involved as much as Campbell was today and thought Triantis was probably the pick of the midfield…
He doesn’t just track back , he was probably our biggest threat to them today , wither there would have been a different outcome today if Hoilett had started is in the land of IF’S and MAYBE’S because quite frankly that was always going to be a tight game whoever we picked and laying the blame on one players door is absolutely nonsense IMO .
26-04-2025, 07:56 PM
So Levitt was poor and Campbell terrible ? IMO Campbell was more involved in the game than Levitt .
Genuinely thought Levitt was very good
Murphys Touch
26-04-2025, 07:59 PM
Me too - we just weren’t adventurous enough. And having Campbell rather than Hoillet was part of that 100%
Donegal Hibby
26-04-2025, 08:06 PM
Genuinely thought that Triantis was our best midfielder and Campbell more involved than Levitt was . In saying that after our first defeat in seventeen games I think we can cut all the players a bit of slack even though it was disappointing to lose rather than blaming certain individuals .👍
26-04-2025, 08:21 PM
I think that is the crux of the matter for many.
I wouldn't be at all surprised to see those changes reversed next week. Partly because it's a totally different game, partly because it didn't really work today.
Gray hasn't got much wrong in recent months. Today I think he got a couple of big calls wrong. It happens.
Yeah grays got big calls right
Today he got some wrong imo, to the posters who are calling it negative it’s not it’s just an observation.
I just don’t think changing a winning team is recommended
Campbell and Bowie, gayle all strong subs to bring on, as you said i expect Bowie, Campbell dropped next week and to be honest id prob find a way of getting Nicky cadden back in.
26-04-2025, 08:27 PM
Today he got some wrong imo, to the posters who are calling it negative it’s not it’s just an observation.
Campbell and Bowie, gayle all strong subs to bring on, as you said i expect Bowie, Campbell dropped next week and to be honest id prob find a way of getting Nicky cadden back in.
We spoke about that on the way down. In fact, we spoke about it on the way up. He’s overthought things a bit rather than just doing what was working for me.
O’Hora had to come in obviously. And Bowie I wouldn’t have argued with although, for the criticism, you could see why Myko has been on the team in front of him. Campbell was the one that really changed things though, in terms of the way we played.
TrinityHFC
26-04-2025, 08:45 PM
Gray has consistently changed the team based on what he thinks is the best way to win the game. It has worked up until now.
It's not Josh's fault that he is used as a journeyman midfielder, asked to play different roles in different games.
It's not his fault that we didn't score the two goals required to win at Pittodrie today.
Let's be honest. We don't have a fit, 90-minute, goalscoring centre forward
Stop looking for a fall guy.
Donegal Hibby
26-04-2025, 09:25 PM
Me too - we just weren’t adventurous enough. And having Campbell rather than Hoillet was part of that 100%
Campbell in the 17 games …
1. Ross County (H) ..came on 65th minute and scores to put the game to bed .
2. Aberdeen (A) .. plays full game.
3. Hertz (A) .. plays full game .
4. Killie (H) .. plays full game .
5. St Johnstone (A) ..plays 86 minutes.
6 . Sevco (H) .. plays full game.
7. Motherwell (H) ..plays 77 minutes.
8. Ross County (A) .. plays full game.
9. Aberdeen (H) .. plays full game .
10. St Mirren (A) ..plays full game.
11. Celtic (H) .. plays full game and scores two .
12. DundeeUtd (A) .. plays 76 minutes.
13 . Hertz (H) .. plays full game.
14 . Killie (A) .. came on 81st minute.
15 . St Johnstone (H) came on the 88th minute.
16 . Sevco (A) .. came on 62nd minute.
17 . Dundee ( H) .. came on 64th minute
Wouldn’t suggest having Campbell in at times is as big a problem as it seems! .
26-04-2025, 09:28 PM
It's not Josh's fault that he is used as a journeyman midfielder, asked to play different roles in different games.
It's not his fault that we didn't score the two goals required to win at Pittodrie today.
Let's be honest. We don't have a fit, 90-minute, goalscoring centre forward
Stop looking for a fall guy.
Tbf, he should’ve scored in first half. Looked easier to hit the target
26-04-2025, 10:05 PM
Campbell has a decent record against Aberdeen.
26-04-2025, 10:31 PM
Did Campbell and Bowie not both start when we beat Celtic?
Whilst the changes didn’t pay off, I definitely get the logic behind them.
I’d have stuck as close as possible to the team that has been playing well and winning, only making enforced changes such as O’Hora for Miller.
Hindsight says Gray got it wrong. Reality is, we’re a few poor finishes and a class goal from Nisbet from picking up an excellent result.
Hello again “fine margins” my old friend.
Ribs1875
26-04-2025, 11:18 PM
That is exactly my thoughts. I still believe 3rd is ours, I'm right behind this group.
27-04-2025, 01:38 AM
Come summer Triantis will be away so that will be a big gap to fill in the middle of park. I'd also be looking at players to come in and start ahead of Campbell and Levitt.
That's not to say I think either are a waste of space but I think we need more competition in that area of the pitch. McGrath will help.
532 makes us solid but we need a goal threat from the midfield 3. That was completely lacking against Aberdeen.
Donegal Hibby
27-04-2025, 02:49 AM
Certainly on a roll 😂….
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?369296-Lewis-Miller
27-04-2025, 07:13 AM
I may get some pelters for this but I thought Campbell did pretty well in the forward areas, got himself into some really good areas and should have got at least one of his efforts on target.
What he didnt do well was link the midfield to the forward players - which imo Hoilett would have offered.
The problem is, the area Campbell was asked to play is a key one and giving a "close but no cigar" performance didnt do us any favours.
I dont think yesterday can be hung on Campbell, a sliding doors moment might have had him as a two goal hero yesterday.
Cest la Vie
27-04-2025, 08:37 AM
Was obviously there for a hard working mainly defending role while offering a threat going forward. Should have scored his early header but thought he was ok team shape seemed to get lost a bit when Levitt off and Josh back. Certainly no way could he be blamed
27-04-2025, 10:14 AM
Was obviously there for a hard working mainly defending role while offering a threat going forward. Should have scored his early header but thought he was ok team shape seemed to get lost a bit when Levitt off and Josh back. Certainly no way could he be blamed
That sub was a mistake. We were hardly on the ball after it. Think Gray just wanted Cadden on the park but didn’t think about the impact of not really playing him in his actual position.
He's here!
27-04-2025, 11:07 AM
Campbell in the 17 games …
1. Ross County (H) ..came on 65th minute and scores to put the game to bed .
2. Aberdeen (A) .. plays full game.
3. Hertz (A) .. plays full game .
4. Killie (H) .. plays full game .
5. St Johnstone (A) ..plays 86 minutes.
6 . Sevco (H) .. plays full game.
7. Motherwell (H) ..plays 77 minutes.
8. Ross County (A) .. plays full game.
9. Aberdeen (H) .. plays full game .
10. St Mirren (A) ..plays full game.
11. Celtic (H) .. plays full game and scores two .
12. DundeeUtd (A) .. plays 76 minutes.
13 . Hertz (H) .. plays full game.
14 . Killie (A) .. came on 81st minute.
15 . St Johnstone (H) came on the 88th minute.
16 . Sevco (A) .. came on 62nd minute.
17 . Dundee ( H) .. came on 64th minute
Wouldn’t suggest having Campbell in at times is as big a problem as it seems! .
I've never agreed with the flak he takes. Been integral to our success this season and has scored plenty of key goals down the years.
27-04-2025, 11:09 AM
That sub was a mistake. We were hardly on the ball after it. Think Gray just wanted Cadden on the park but didn’t think about the impact of not really playing him in his actual position.
I could work that one out at all? Cadden’s crossing ability is his main attribute so could not see why we would play him in the middle?
27-04-2025, 11:26 AM
The reality is though that we score less and concede more when he is on the pitch.
Donegal Hibby
27-04-2025, 11:44 AM
The reality is though that we score less and concede more when he is on the pitch.
In our unbeaten run I think he’s started and finished eighth or nine of the seventeen games and it’s something roughly like fifteen for and eight against.
Donegal Hibby
27-04-2025, 12:22 PM
I've never agreed with the flak he takes. Been integral to our success this season and has scored plenty of key goals down the years.
The run we have been on Josh Campbell has played his part in , starting and finishing the majority of big games like hertz , Aberdeen , Celtic and Sevco …
Yesterday’s game I didn’t think there was much between the teams and certainly didn’t think Campbell was anywhere near the worst player on the park . In fact I thought he was our biggest threat to them ..
It’s a classic case of needing somebody to blame for some ( scapegoat ) when there doesn’t need to be .. fine margins and all that .
27-04-2025, 12:56 PM
The run we have been on Josh Campbell has played his part in , starting and finishing the majority of big games like hertz , Aberdeen , Celtic and Sevco …
Yesterday’s game I didn’t think there was much between the teams and certainly didn’t think Campbell was anywhere near the worst player on the park . In fact I thought he was our biggest threat to them ..
It’s a classic case of needing somebody to blame for some ( scapegoat ) when there doesn’t need to be .. fine margins and all that .
It’s nothing to do with scapegoats or whatever.
As soon as you saw the team sheet, you knew we were going to play in a different way to the last few games. We did and it was to our detriment. It’s not making someone a scapegoat to suggest that their presence was one of the reasons we played a bit differently, which was obviously going to be the case bringing him in for Hoilett. Being a threat is all good and well, he missed our best chance though and that was a big moment.
Donegal Hibby
27-04-2025, 01:26 PM
As soon as you saw the team sheet, you knew we were going to play in a different way to the last few games. We did and it was to our detriment. It’s not making someone a scapegoat to suggest that their presence was one of the reasons we played a bit differently, which was obviously going to be the case bringing him in for Hoilett. Being a threat is all good and well, he missed our best chance though and that was a big moment.
Maybe not from everyone but there are a few that you don’t see posting as much when Campbell does well and if he doesn’t or we lose like yesterday are all over threads like these agreeing with everything bad that’s posted about the player .. that’s scapegoating in my book ! .
Campbell has been an integral part of the run we’ve been on playing 9 of the 17 games (normally the big games)…
We have won two previous matches with Campbell playing against the dons so I really don’t think it was a major factor in us losing , might have still lost with Hoilett in anyhow . I could understand why Campbell played , Bowie too and your right in Josh did miss our best chance which unfortunately hit the post .. fine margins and all that ! Really don’t think anyone is to blame but if there is you could probably look at various other players to point the finger at ahead of Campbell for losing …
At the end of the day I’m not going to change people’s minds about Campbell (don’t really want to either) as I know some just have it in for the guy anyhow..
I look on Campbell as a good player to have in our squad who always gives us 100% and is a good Hibby too.
27-04-2025, 01:35 PM
Maybe not from everyone but there are a few that you don’t see posting as much when Campbell does well and if he doesn’t or we lose are all over threads like these agreeing with everything bad that’s posted about the player .. that’s scapegoating in my book ! .
Campbell has been an integral part of part of the run we’ve been on playing 9 of the 17 games ( normally the big games )…
We have won two previous matches with Campbell playing against the dons so I really don’t think it was a major factor in us losing , might have still lost with Hoilett in anyhow . I could understand why Campbell played , Bowie too and your right in Josh did miss our best chance which unfortunately hit the post .. fine margins and all that ! Really don’t think anyone is to blame but if there is you could probably look at various other players to point the finger at ahead of Campbell for losing .
What’s the opposite of posters scapegoating Campbell? Whenever there’s a Campbell thread you have double the amount of posts as the next poster on the thread and are just as unbalanced as those who go out their way to criticise Campbel, IMO.
Was Campbell solely to blame for yesterday? No. Did he have a poor game? Yes. Are we any closer to working out how to best use Cambell’s niche skill set, where he’s an attacking midfielder who is better without the ball, after 3 or 4 years? I don’t think we are.
Donegal Hibby
27-04-2025, 01:57 PM
What’s the opposite of posters scapegoating Campbell? Whenever there’s a Campbell thread you have double the amount of posts as the next poster on the thread and are just as unbalanced as those who go out their way to criticise Campbel, IMO.
Was Campbell solely to blame for yesterday? No. Did he have a poor game? Yes. Are we any closer to working out how to best use Cambell’s niche skill set, where he’s an attacking midfielder who is better without the ball, after 3 or 4 years? I don’t think we are.
I don’t think I am just as unbalanced . I’m not wanting to single out any player for losing a game by a narrow margin that could have went anyway.
Fair enough if you thought he had a poor game though I certainly didn’t think he was by any means the worst player on the park yesterday though I don’t see multiple threads having a go at other players .
This one has also been started by a poster that done one were he was wanting rid of Miller which shows we can all jump the gun in our assessments of our players .
Are we any closer to working out how best to use Campbell in the team ? I say Gray has when he’s started him in nine of the seventeen games we had went unbeaten .
Sioux
27-04-2025, 02:02 PM
I look on Campbell as a good player to have in our squad who always gives us 100% and is a good Hibby too.
This is your problem. Being a Hibs fan doesn't make him a good player, nor does giving 100% effort. Every player should give 100%.
The issue is his overall performance, and that's usually a player with limited ability that frequently gives the ball away, often due to a poor first touch. He's certainly not a passer. Not a good look for a midfielder.
Donegal Hibby
27-04-2025, 02:07 PM
This is your problem. Being a Hibs fan doesn't make him a good player, nor does giving 100% effort. Every player should give 100%.
The issue is his overall performance, and that's usually a player with limited ability that frequently gives the ball away, often due to a poor first touch. He's certainly not a passer. Not a good look for a midfielder.
Your right in being a Hibs fan doesn’t make him a good player though what he has contributed to the team on a regular basis I think does .
Thatdayinmay16
28-04-2025, 09:19 AM
Personally, the decision to start him over Hoilett was mental, he's technically absolutely miles of ever being that calibre of player (Which is understandable) but every time I watch him I struggle to see what he brings to this hibs side.
He's got legs, but his range of passing is awful and he squanders far to many big chances in games at times.
In games where he's come on that we are winning he usually struggles to adapt, just can't see it ever working for the guy.
Donegal Hibby
28-04-2025, 09:35 AM
Personally, the decision to start him over Hoilett was mental, he's technically absolutely miles of ever being that calibre of player (Which is understandable) but every time I watch him I struggle to see what he brings to this hibs side.
He's got legs, but his range of passing is awful and he squanders far to many big chances in games at times.
In games where he's come on that we are winning he usually struggles to adapt, just can't see it ever working for the guy.
https://www.skysports.com/scottish-premiership-highlights/video/36629/13314777/hibs-2-1-celtic-scottish-premiership-highlights
https://youtu.be/t9KlB6Pg2mo?si=r2at8RyVe7nZOZ8N
https://youtu.be/DMFdeS0o4f8?si=9g444dkSn1UEHr8P
https://youtu.be/qNMCVa7CkSE?si=gG14YBpROc7Lf6fA
https://youtu.be/ImnQPGMMaGA?si=UrCbNp2nZ3J_y5Si
Baffled how some fans are singling him out after our first league defeat in 5 months!
He was included for his aerial ability. Two previous games this season against Aberdeen he won the ball in the air by flicking them on in the build up to couple of crucial goals. On Saturday he had a couple of headers, one struck the post and the other was inches wide. One of them goes in on another day and we're six points clear of the Dons.
Thatdayinmay16
28-04-2025, 09:54 AM
https://www.skysports.com/scottish-premiership-highlights/video/36629/13314777/hibs-2-1-celtic-scottish-premiership-highlights
https://youtu.be/t9KlB6Pg2mo?si=r2at8RyVe7nZOZ8N
https://youtu.be/DMFdeS0o4f8?si=9g444dkSn1UEHr8P
https://youtu.be/qNMCVa7CkSE?si=gG14YBpROc7Lf6fA
Showing me goals from 2022 doesn't disprove what I said, he's been in and out of the side this year because consistently he isn't or hasn't been good enough.
If you look at the guys currently playing in the side since November, they've been consistently brilliant.
Unless Hoilett had picked up an injury, he didn't merit being in the starting 11 based on performances recently, Hoilett did. I can show you 10+ years of footage of Hoilett doing it at the highest level in some of the most difficult leagues in the world if you'd like?
Trinity Hibee
28-04-2025, 09:57 AM
Baffled how some fans are singling him out after our first league defeat in 5 months!
He was included for his aerial ability. Two previous games this season against Aberdeen he won the ball in the air by flicking them on in the build up to couple of crucial goals. On Saturday he had a couple of headers, one struck the post and the other was inches wide. One of them goes in on another day and we're six points clear of the Dons.
Agreed, I’m not Campbell’s biggest fan but he’s done a great job in recent months. Too easy to start jumping on his back again.
It looked like the approach was too cautious on Saturday and certainly didn’t mirror our previous performances.
Donegal Hibby
28-04-2025, 10:11 AM
Showing me goals from 2022 doesn't disprove what I said, he's been in and out of the side this year because consistently he isn't or hasn't been good enough.
If you look at the guys currently playing in the side since November, they've been consistently brilliant.
Unless Hoilett had picked up an injury, he didn't merit being in the starting 11 based on performances recently, Hoilett did. I can show you 10+ years of footage of Hoilett doing it at the highest level in some of the most difficult leagues in the world if you'd like?
Goals there from this season too and again in the incredible 17 game unbeaten run we went on Campbell has started and finished in 9 and the other 8 he’s came on at some point even though you said he struggles to adapt when coming on but don’t let these facts get in way .
28-04-2025, 10:23 AM
Agreed, I’m not Campbell’s biggest fan but he’s done a great job in recent months. Too easy to start jumping on his back again.
It looked like the approach was too cautious on Saturday and certainly didn’t mirror our previous performances.
Not away from home he hasn’t, struggling to think of a good performance away from home in 2025.
His performances at Easter Road have been very good.
Hibspur
28-04-2025, 10:23 AM
He's made well over 100 appearances for Hibs, scoring a decent number of goals from midfield. Reasonable to suggest it's worked for him.
I'm sceptical about the success of our youth system bearing in mind the scarcity of players who actually come through to establish themselves in the first team, but it sometimes feels as though there's a reluctance from some to embrace the few who actually do. When you bear in mind the swathes of utterly duff signings we've made over a number of years, the flak Campbell takes the instant we have a disappointing result is well over the top.
28-04-2025, 10:44 AM
Was unlucky on Saturday thought he might have scored that header first half did well to get into that position and came close second half to snatching a goal
Appreciate what he brings to the team with his work rate running and goal threat
Frustrates the life out of me with his touch and passing at times but have to admit his sublime finish past Schmeichel at ER was one of the highlights of a brilliant season
Donegal Hibby
28-04-2025, 10:50 AM
Not away from home he hasn’t, struggling to think of a good performance away from home in 2025.
His performances at Easter Road have been very good.
Our record away from home in 2025 while we probably could have picked up a few more points isn’t really all that bad in it’s something like 2 wins , 4 draws and 1 defeat. 8 goals for and 5 against.
28-04-2025, 10:58 AM
Our record away from home in 2025 while we probably could have picked up a few more points isn’t really all that bad in it’s something like 2 wins , 4 draws and 1 defeat. 8 goals for and 5 against.
Failed to beat 10 man St Johnstone
Awful up in Ross County
Failed to register a shot on target away to St Mirren
Awful against Dundee Utd until VAR bailed us out and our subs changed the game
Decent against Kilmarnock, lost control after subs
Very good against Rangers
Poor against Aberdeen
28-04-2025, 11:05 AM
Josh has his pros and cons just like most footballers, personally I would have kept holiett in the starting lineup but can see why SDG went for Campbell.
Would expect Holiett to return to the team next week out.
Donegal Hibby
28-04-2025, 11:37 AM
Failed to beat 10 man St Johnstone
Awful up in Ross County
Failed to register a shot on target away to St Mirren
Awful against Dundee Utd until VAR bailed us out and our subs changed the game
Decent against Kilmarnock, lost control after subs
Very good against Rangers
Poor against Aberdeen
St Johnstone one the team on a whole were off it alright.
Ross County unfortunate to lose a late penalty in .
St Mirren isn’t the easiest places to go and considering we had to play the closing stages with ten men a point wasn’t a total disaster I think.
Didn’t play well collectively but we’re still in it at 1-1 when Campbell went off . Thought VAR got the Dalby handball right and subs made a big difference alright against a tiring Utd team . Excellent result in the end up .
Decent against Killie , considering the pitch , way Killie play , a point not a terrible result there even though it was disappointing to lose a late goal which happened a few times earlier in the season too .
Excellent against Sevco where Campbell came on and played the around 30 , 35 minutes? .
Aberdeen .. difficult game considering they’ve picked up recently and probably got a lift in getting to the cup final . Didn’t think there was a lot between the teams . We it the post , they score a worldie … fine margins , nobody to blame or at least there shouldn’t be considering how we have done for months.
Donegal Hibby
28-04-2025, 11:42 AM
Josh has his pros and cons just like most footballers, personally I would have kept holiett in the starting lineup but can see why SDG went for Campbell.
Against Utd I do see Hoilett coming back in and possibly Campbell playing at Parkhead and against the huns basically because he gives us that bit more energy.
28-04-2025, 11:43 AM
Still folk coming out with the scapegoats and agendas pish on here whenever they read something slightly negative. It’s a total pain in the arse.
28-04-2025, 11:49 AM
He does, but his pros and cons are simply bizarre for a midfielder.
You can’t knock his work rate or knack for scoring goals but his touch and passing have always looked way short of what is needed for a player at this level.
I like him as a player, very useful to have in a squad but we can’t be blind to his weaknesses.
28-04-2025, 12:08 PM
You can’t knock his work rate or knack for scoring goals but his touch and passing have always looked way short of what is needed for a player at this level.
I like him as a player, very useful to have in a squad but we can’t be blind to his weaknesses.
Hard to disagree with this tbh and I don't think he's a scapegoat, people are just calling it how they see it with Campbell.
Thatdayinmay16
28-04-2025, 12:12 PM
He's made well over 100 appearances for Hibs, scoring a decent number of goals from midfield. Reasonable to suggest it's worked for him.
I'm sceptical about the success of our youth system bearing in mind the scarcity of players who actually come through to establish themselves in the first team, but it sometimes feels as though there's a reluctance from some to embrace the few who actually do. When you bear in mind the swathes of utterly duff signings we've made over a number of years, the flak Campbell takes the instant we have a disappointing result is well over the top.
Alex Harris & Oli Shaw played about 60 games for us, didn't mean they were good enough.
Tbh If McGrath and we somehow manage to hold onto Triantis and Hoilett for another year, I'm not sure where it leaves Campbell. He's not going to play over both McGrath or Hoilett and then that leaves Levitt, Triantis, Newell and potentially Manneh (If he kicks on) who he isn't better than and doesn't suit playing as a CM as he doesn't have the range of passing or reading of a game to play in such a position.
28-04-2025, 12:18 PM
Still folk coming out with the scapegoats and agendas pish on here whenever they read something slightly negative. It’s a total pain in the arse.
Cant fault Campbell for his attitude and commitment.
Realistically though, he's just not a very good footballer.
28-04-2025, 12:24 PM
He was a scapegoat as there were several players worse than him on Saturday
He's an easy target on here which is why some people feel the need to add perspective now and again.
Trinity Hibee
28-04-2025, 12:26 PM
He's an easy target on here which is why some people feel the need to add perspective now and again.
Agree. Everyone was poor but it’s Campbell who’s getting a lot of the flak. His inclusion is down to the management. He was no better or worse than anyone else on Saturday.
Donegal Hibby
28-04-2025, 12:28 PM
28-04-2025, 12:29 PM
Hows he an easy target? A target for what?
There must have been players who you didn’t fancy as much as others, did you have an agenda against them?
It’s just posters giving their opinion of a player. If we can’t do that on here, what’s the point?
28-04-2025, 12:35 PM
It’s not scapegoating for people to respond to a thread about him. If someone started a thread on the several other players you felt were worse, I’d share my opinions on those players too.
28-04-2025, 12:36 PM
His skill set is almost that of a traditional defensive midfielder. Work rate, winning headers, defending from the front. Yet he plays either as an attacking midfielder or off the striker. I’ve rarely seen a more unorthodox option for a position.
28-04-2025, 12:43 PM
It’s not scapegoating for people to respond to a thread about him. If someone started a thread on the several other players you felt were worse, I’d share my opinions on those players too.
When that thread is the only one started about one of our players after the match and it's sole purpose is to blame him for the defeat then that seems like scapegoating to me unless it was actually the case that he was solely responsible for the result.
28-04-2025, 12:54 PM
When that thread is the only one started about one of our players after the match and it's sole purpose is to blame him for the defeat then that seems like scapegoating to me unless it was actually the case that he was solely responsible for the result.
Then the person who started the thread could possibly be accused of scapegoating - other posters simply sharing their opinion on a thread isn’t scapegoating. It’s a discussion board for sharing opinions, if someone starts a topic for discussion, people are going to share their opinion on it.
28-04-2025, 12:56 PM
Then the person who started the thread could possibly be accused of scapegoating - other posters simply sharing their opinion on a thread isn’t scapegoating. It’s a discussion board for sharing opinions, if someone starts a topic for discussion, people are going to share their opinion on it.
Absolutely and my opinion is that he is being made a scapegoat, you disagree so looks like the forum is working as intended.
Donegal Hibby
28-04-2025, 12:58 PM
Thread started off in “ he offers nothing “ and moved on to “ he barely touches the ball “ . After losing our first game in seventeen even though the player has contributed massively in that run some want someone to blame and Campbell is the easiest target even though he was by no way the worst player in the team .. There’s no other word for it but Scapegoating sadly.
Thatdayinmay16
28-04-2025, 01:13 PM
Thread started off in “ he offers nothing “ and moved on to “ he barely touches the ball “ . After losing our first game in seventeen even though the player has contributed massively in that run some want someone to blame and Campbell is the easiest target even though he was by no way the worst player in the team .. There’s no other word for it but Scapegoating sadly.
He touched the ball 29 times on Saturday, Jordan Smith touched it 34 times. Mitov touched it 33 times, if both goalkeepers are playing more passes than you as a creative midfielder, then unfortunately your going to take slack.
Not a scapegoat, fwiw I thought Cadden was worse on Saturday (Albeit carrying an illness bug). He's simply not good consistent enough.
Donegal Hibby
28-04-2025, 01:48 PM
He touched the ball 29 times on Saturday, Jordan Smith touched it 34 times. Mitov touched it 33 times, if both goalkeepers are playing more passes than you as a creative midfielder, then unfortunately your going to take slack.
Not a scapegoat, fwiw I thought Cadden was worse on Saturday (Albeit carrying an illness bug). He's simply not good consistent enough.
You see that’s where you fall down on your assessment of Campbell , he’s not in the team as a creative midfielder . He’s in for other attributes that he has which are better than some of our other players in his work rate , ability to win headers and his ability to get into good goal scoring positions…
And you say he’s simply not good enough or consistent enough and yet he’s played a massive part in our 17 game unbeaten run .. again don’t let these facts get in the way of your criticism of the player though .
supermcginn
28-04-2025, 03:25 PM
That's a staggering statistic, Hoilett must have been absolutely raging to be dropped after the form he's been in including a brilliant away win at Ibrox against a better team than Aberdeen.
He's here!
28-04-2025, 04:01 PM
Alex Harris & Oli Shaw played about 60 games for us, didn't mean they were good enough.
Tbh If McGrath and we somehow manage to hold onto Triantis and Hoilett for another year, I'm not sure where it leaves Campbell. He's not going to play over both McGrath or Hoilett and then that leaves Levitt, Triantis, Newell and potentially Manneh (If he kicks on) who he isn't better than and doesn't suit playing as a CM as he doesn't have the range of passing or reading of a game to play in such a position.
Campbell has played comfortably more games for Hibs than Harris and Shaw's combined tally. He's also still being picked some six years since he made his debut as a teenager so he's clearly been rated by numerous managers ahead of what must be scores of youth academy players who haven't made the grade.
Stevenson and Hanlon racked up around a thousand Hibs appearances between them yet some maintained they weren't good enough right up to the end.
It all comes down to opinion and I personally think Campbell's improved under Gray and done a good job for us this season. Still only 24 so he can improve further.
Donegal Hibby
28-04-2025, 04:07 PM
That's a staggering statistic, Hoilett must have been absolutely raging to be dropped after the form he's been in including a brilliant away win at Ibrox against a better team than Aberdeen.
Hoilett wouldn’t be raging as the squad have shown they have a good spirit and togetherness.
28-04-2025, 08:37 PM
His skill set is almost that of a traditional defensive midfielder. Work rate, winning headers, defending from the front. Yet he plays either as an attacking midfielder or off the striker. I’ve rarely seen a more unorthodox option for a position.
The reason is that he also knows where the back of the net is. He got a couple of opportunities on Saturday, didn't take either but he is undeniably a goal-scoring threat.
Agree that he's a strange kind of midfielder, personally I'm not sure he's technically good enough, but his commitment and workrate cover over a lot of cracks.
28-04-2025, 08:48 PM
The reason is that he also knows where the back of the net is. He got a couple of opportunities on Saturday, didn't take either but he is undeniably a goal-scoring threat.
Agree that he's a strange kind of midfielder, personally I'm not sure he's technically good enough, but his commitment and workrate cover over a lot of cracks.
Decent enough scoring record at home but averages only 1 goal away from home per season. We accommodate this perceived attacking threat at the detriment to the attacking threat of the team as a whole.
Donegal Hibby
28-04-2025, 09:21 PM
Campbell couldn’t have been playing ? …
https://youtu.be/CtlPfmwaIlE?si=apK6VZDX-hmEa-Vw
https://youtu.be/d8LgzoZ8QeI?
si=QM33KKB9VtVu7t2q
https://youtu.be/mDWxap6YiBc?si=a7z-_Og-MrqzbRn9