View Full Version : Dundee United at Home
26-04-2025, 03:59 PM
MUST WIN. Must go for it and must start Hoilett over Campbell.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Bob Box Fish
26-04-2025, 04:03 PM
Let’s get this sold out and back the team
Was already a massive game even bigger now, Aberdeen away to st mirren is far from a guaranteed 3 points for them.
Paul1642
26-04-2025, 04:05 PM
Win this and Dundee United are out the equation and the momentum is back to Hibs. Saints doing us a favour would be perfect.
Fail to win, especially a loss and 3rd is a big ask.
26-04-2025, 04:19 PM
Think we will need to win 3 of the last 4 now to finish 3rd.
Even 2 wins and a draw won’t be enough now IMO
26-04-2025, 04:20 PM
It depends on Aberdeen ‘s results.
I reckon 2 wins and a draw would be enough
Aberdeen ain’t winning 3 of the next 4 games. No chance either are Dundee United.
26-04-2025, 04:21 PM
It depends on Aberdeen ‘s results.
I reckon 2 wins and a draw would be enough
Momentum with Aberdeen now.
26-04-2025, 04:22 PM
Not really. We’re still in 3rd.
We still have the momentum
Paul1642
26-04-2025, 04:22 PM
Disagree. Beating United and St Mirren is probably enough. Easier said than done though.
Aberdeen are hard pushed to take more than 6 points from
St Mirren away
Rangers away
Celtic at home
Dundee United away.
I’m not convinced they beat both Saints and United leaving then needing a win vs OF
26-04-2025, 04:27 PM
Disagree. Beating United and St Mirren is probably enough. Easier said than done though.
Aberdeen are hard pushed to take more than 6 points from
St Mirren away
Rangers away
Celtic at home
Dundee United away.
I’m not convinced they beat both Saints and United leaving then needing a win vs OF
Potentially playing Utd when they could have nothing to play for
Paul1642
26-04-2025, 04:29 PM
Potentially playing Utd when they could have nothing to play for
Both us and Aberdeen can say the same about our fixtures against Saints, Celtic and Rangers. Doesn’t make any of them easy.
26-04-2025, 04:29 PM
I woudn't put it past Aberdeen to get a win at St. Mirren.
Next week really is must win.
26-04-2025, 04:31 PM
I woudn't put it past Aberdeen to get a win at St. Mirren.
Next week really is must win.
Then we’ll likely get nothing at Parkhead
26-04-2025, 04:33 PM
I'd be stunned if 7 points from 12 wasn't enough.
26-04-2025, 04:33 PM
Exterminate! Exterminate!
26-04-2025, 04:34 PM
3rd will come down to us and Aberdeen results against the old firm I think.
Paul1642
26-04-2025, 04:35 PM
3rd will come down to us and Aberdeen results against the old firm I think.
I think more likely it comes down to our results against United and Saints. I don’t think we both take 6 points form those, and the team that does takes 3rd.
Win on Saturday and 4th all but guaranteed. Good chance we might move ahead of sheep as well. Massive.
26-04-2025, 04:37 PM
I think more likely it comes down to our results against United and Saints. I don’t think we both take 6 points form those, and the team that does takes 3rd.Yep. We need to set a marker on Saturday and come out the traps like we did V Dundee. Then we need an improved performance V st.mirren compared to our last trip there.
The big question mark is Rangers. Both ourselves and Aberdeen are capable of taking points from them as they're ***** and have nothing to play for after next week's derby but you never know what you're going to get from them.
26-04-2025, 04:39 PM
Win on Saturday and 4th all but guaranteed. Good chance we might move ahead of sheep as well. Massive.
We are ahead of Aberdeen at the moment.
26-04-2025, 04:42 PM
Us and Aberdeen play the same teams for the next 4. We just have to match their results.
Paul1642
26-04-2025, 04:46 PM
Us and Aberdeen play the same teams for the next 4. We just have to match their results.
We also have more, and better home games IMO.
Hibs have United and Rangers at home.
Aberdeen only have Celtic.
It’s been said that Celtic have nothing to play for, but it’s the dress rehearsal for the treble winning cup final.
26-04-2025, 04:50 PM
Got to win or we’re struggling.
We’ve played for weeks knowing we needed to win and coped with it brilliantly. Today, our mindset was different and we got what we deserved. Hope the need to win gets us back to what we’ve been doing well.
Player for player I think we have better players. We have more of a goal threat. And we have two games at home and they have one. We are also ahead on goal difference (equivalent of a point.
Beat Dundee United and St Mirren and I think they will struggle to pick up 7 points. And I would fancy us in last game v Rangers.
HFC93
26-04-2025, 05:10 PM
No chance Aberdeen will win 3 of the next 4 games.
26-04-2025, 05:11 PM
No chance Aberdeen will win 3 of the next 4 games.
Rangers are the weird one. Think every team could beat them. Last day of the season could be epic.
26-04-2025, 05:23 PM
Rangers are the weird one. Think every team could beat them. Last day of the season could be epic.
Agree with this. Guaranteed a few twists and turns before the final places are sorted out. Huns are the fly in the ointment - capable to beating and being beat by anyone. As ever, if Hibs want 3rd place we MUST go and take it. Aberdeen and Utd are not going to just hand it to us.
Today was an amazing chance to make 3rd our's and we failed. Simple as that. Luckily we have a second chance.
26-04-2025, 05:24 PM
Biggest game of the season now.
I think we'll say that a few more times between now and May 17th though.
He's here!
26-04-2025, 05:52 PM
We ARE ahead of the sheep. Have been for weeks.
He's here!
26-04-2025, 05:55 PM
Agree with this. Guaranteed a few twists and turns before the final places are sorted out. Huns are the fly in the ointment - capable to beating and being beat by anyone. As ever, if Hibs want 3rd place we MUST go and take it. Aberdeen and Utd are not going to just hand it to us.
Today was an amazing chance to make 3rd our's and we failed. Simple as that. Luckily we have a second chance.
Why was it an 'amazing' chance? It was hardly a gimme. For all they went on a diabolical run Aberdeen are still in the hunt for third and in the cup final. It was a chance but no more than that.
26-04-2025, 06:15 PM
We're still favourites for 3rd. Our goal difference is vastly superior to the Sheep and Dundee United. It may well be decided on that.
AdidasHibernian
26-04-2025, 06:22 PM
Appreciate it is easy to say and also rich going by today's result, but we have a far better chance scoring goals than Aberdeen. They don't look massively like out scoring us so long as we can match them as others have said we should be ok.
mcohibs
26-04-2025, 06:30 PM
Our goal difference is effectively an extra point in our favour.
26-04-2025, 07:35 PM
On the basis we
WIN v Utd
Lose v Celtic
Win v St Mirren
Makes rangers a dead rubber if Aberdeen lose both old firm games.
I really dread it coming down to the last day with us needing something
26-04-2025, 07:42 PM
On the basis we
WIN v Utd
Lose v Celtic
Win v St Mirren
My worry is what team Celtic will play at Pittodrie. Played a weakened team when we beat them 4-2 at ER
26-04-2025, 07:43 PM
Next week is as good as we could hope for as the next match after today's disappointment. United really aren't all that, and I think our guys will be hurting after today. I'm very confident we'll be walking out happy at 5 next week.
26-04-2025, 07:43 PM
The way I see it is we have to now beat Utd and St Mirren minimum.
Win them both and think we have a very good chance of finishing 3rd on goal difference.
Utd and Aberdeen don’t like each other so final game of the season won’t be easy for Aberdeen away from home.
But as said above we could be going into gin game 3 points ahead and better goal difference so unless we get hammered by the Huns. We finish 3rd.
Key is to now bounce back and win anyway possible against Utd.
Hibees1973
26-04-2025, 08:37 PM
i said when the fixtures were announced that it was the perfect schedule for Aberdeen and manipulated to their advantage.
Us first, to bridge the gap, St Mirren next, then Dundee Utd last game, when Utd are likely to be out of the running for 3rd.
My fear is that if at any point Aberdeen manage to get above us, we may not get back into 3rd. This makes a win against Utd next week imperative.
If Aberdeen do get above us at any point, it's likely we will have to beat either Celtic or Rangers, which is a big ask when the pressure is on.
26-04-2025, 08:44 PM
Get the tickets sold now, get the place bouncing and do our bit. Then the team need to do their bit.
We are a better side than Dundee Utd, turn up and show it. Go after them and win the game.
This game has become unbelievably big after today. We need to win it. Biggest game at Easter Road in a very long time IMO.
26-04-2025, 10:01 PM
My worry is what team Celtic will play at Pittodrie. Played a weakened team when we beat them 4-2 at ER
It's in Celtc's own interest to play a full strength team because they won't want Aberdeen getting a win over them in advance of the Cup final, particularly with a treble on the line.
26-04-2025, 10:07 PM
Get the tickets sold now, get the place bouncing and do our bit. Then the team need to do their bit.
We are a better side than Dundee Utd, turn up and show it. Go after them and win the game.
This game has become unbelievably big after today. We need to win it. Biggest game at Easter Road in a very long time IMO.
Agree with absolutely everything you've said here.
This has now become as big a game as I can remember in the league at Easter Road in years, probably going all the way back to that last day when us and Rangers 1872 agreed to stop trying after the news came through that Celtic were losing at Motherwell.
This is entirely different to that day, there will be no gentlemen's agreements with 15 minutes to go. We simply can't sit back or be passive in our approach, we need to fire right out of the blocks from the word go and the crowd will play a huge part. This has to be an AEK Athens type atmosphere, nothing more nothing less.
Ye ken .... folk go on about how pish our league is till you get fed hearing it. Well this is the type of game our 'pish league' rarely throws up for us, a game of such massive importance to the club and to us as supporters it's significance simply can't be overstated ........... lets make it sound like that and get the place rocking !!!
27-04-2025, 09:12 AM
The United is a must win game. I don't think there will be much in it. But it is certainly winnable.
Aberdeen have a hard away fixture at St Mirren. No team goes there and wins easily. The reality is we want to finish third we've got to get another couple of wins minimum and that's not going to be easy.
MacGruber
27-04-2025, 09:13 AM
Must win and if we don't we don't deserve to finish 3rd. Aberdeen had that same pressure yesterday, they had to win and did. It's our turn next week, our home game against a direct rival. We need to step up and win this otherwise 3rd will likely be gone. I think we will though
27-04-2025, 09:19 AM
This is the biggest home game we have had in years. Potentially worth 6-8 million to the club. We have to pack ER out.
if as a fan you don’t want to goto this game then what’s the point…
27-04-2025, 09:37 AM
After missing a short putt on the 18th to win the Masters, as they left the green to prepare for a play off his caddie congratulated him and said we’d have taken this at the start of the week. He then won the play off with an impressive birdie.
I see similarities here. After our terrible start to season we’ve done ever so well to find ourselves in third place, with four games to go. We had a chance yesterday to give ourselves a big advantage, but the opportunity still presents itself.
Really looking forward to Saturday.
27-04-2025, 09:50 AM
Final 2 home games for a while.
Get your Hibs fix before the summer.
Should be a cracking game and I think the team need ha more than ever to get behind them after yesterday. A positive - loud Easter Road could be the difference.
This game is about being 6 ahead of Utd plus better goal difference and making it harder for us to finish any lower than 4th.
27-04-2025, 10:07 AM
I kinda get what happens if we finish 3rd and celtic win the cup.
What happens if Aberdeen finish 3rd and win the cup. Is there any difference to what the team who finish 4th get compared to finishing 4th and celtic win the cup?
27-04-2025, 10:08 AM
Looked at last 7 games we played Dundee Utd and only 1 win which was the last game 3-1 !
We haven’t kept a clean sheet against them since May 2021 - that’s 11 games since then!
27-04-2025, 10:11 AM
What happens if Aberdeen finish 3rd and win the cup. Is there any difference to what the team who finish 4th get compared to finishing 4th and celtic win the cup?
I don’t think it makes a difference who wins the cup if we finish 4th
DIXIHIBS
27-04-2025, 12:51 PM
3rd or cup win gets the group stages. 3rd AND cup gets the same.
Earlydelivery
27-04-2025, 01:00 PM
6 days to go till our biggest game of the season and the ticket sales look very sluggish
27-04-2025, 01:02 PM
6 days to go till our biggest game of the season and the ticket sales look very sluggish
There’s no rush now to buy them since we have been selling seats in the south right from the get-go. Fairly certain we will come close to a sell out by next Saturday
27-04-2025, 01:19 PM
They have their tails up by getting to final only difference yesterday was Nizzys goal but feel we have enough to see it over line
Paul1642
27-04-2025, 01:28 PM
I don’t think it makes a difference who wins the cup if we finish 4th
Unless it were to be Dundee United who finished above us. Then we would still want Celtic.
27-04-2025, 01:34 PM
Unless it were to be Dundee United who finished above us. Then we would still want Celtic.
Of course
27-04-2025, 04:26 PM
Not much of an uptake in the south as yet, always going to be the case when there were tickets available in the other three stands.
Not many in the three stands where you can get two seats together, basically the end sections.
The south will then virtually get all tickets sold.
I think we’re heading for a very good crowd
27-04-2025, 05:11 PM
Was already a massive game even bigger now, Aberdeen away to st mirren is far from a guaranteed 3 points for them.
St Mirren have a very good record against Aberdeen at home. Not lost since 2020.
We just need to make sure we beat Utd.
28-04-2025, 07:51 AM
Dundee Utd have sold out their allocation, wonder when we’ll make a decision to give them some more or not?
28-04-2025, 07:52 AM
Dundee Utd have sold out their allocation, wonder when we’ll make a decision to give them some more or not?
I hope not, and same with Sevco last match.
28-04-2025, 07:59 AM
There is no decision to make. We are already selling tickets next to them.
28-04-2025, 08:09 AM
28-04-2025, 08:18 AM
They won’t get anymore
28-04-2025, 08:26 AM
They won’t get anymore
Should they?
Back to the debate on here last week when we sold out our allocation and there were empty seats in the home end. Could easily fit the amount of Hibs fans who have bought a ticket in the south into the bottom left section, opening it up for Utd to get more.
*Hope it doesn't happen at I've tickets for the South. Should it though.....
28-04-2025, 08:32 AM
Aberdeen cut our allocation and had swathes of empty seats in their own sections. It's something fans are just going to have to get used to.
28-04-2025, 08:40 AM
Should they?
Back to the debate on here last week when we sold out our allocation and there were empty seats in the home end. Could easily fit the amount of Hibs fans who have bought a ticket in the south into the bottom left section, opening it up for Utd to get more.
They shouldn’t if we manage to sell them ourselves. The obvious argument will come on Saturday if we have loads of empty seats in our end which I don’t think will happen
Green Man
28-04-2025, 09:03 AM
We’ve not sold many tickets in the south stand but the other three stands are mostly full, so there’s every chance we see sales for the south picking up towards the weekend.
28-04-2025, 09:38 AM
Aberdeen cut our allocation and had swathes of empty seats in their own sections. It's something fans are just going to have to get used to.
I'd feel a wee bit put out sat in barely full South Stand, likely drowned out by a big away support, if there was ample room in the other home stands.
Once you get past any selfish views though, it's like you say - it's going to happen everywhere given your individual fan isn't likely to flag up a non-attendance days in advance. Simply can't be helped - doesn't matter what ground it is, can't shuffle everyone round to fill every vacant spot just to fit 800 odd extra away fans in.
28-04-2025, 09:39 AM
We’ve not sold many tickets in the south stand but the other three stands are mostly full, so there’s every chance we see sales for the south picking up towards the weekend.
Given the importance of the game following defeat by Aberdeen , you would hope we will see a big uptake in the south as week progresses
DIXIHIBS
28-04-2025, 09:39 AM
Should they?
The home end was sold out against Dundee. The empty seats were people who had tickets but chose not to go.
28-04-2025, 09:47 AM
Given the importance of the game following defeat by Aberdeen , you would hope we will see a big uptake in the south as week progresses
100%
this really is a massive game and a full home end will really help the team.
Musselbound
28-04-2025, 09:49 AM
On the basis we
WIN v Utd
Lose v Celtic
Win v St Mirren
I don't think we can assume anyone will be losing to the Old Firm. Rangers recent record is poor as everyone knows and Celtic now have less motivation.
It might ultimately be the points picked up against those two by ourselves, Aberdeen or DU that make the difference.
Trinity Hibee
28-04-2025, 09:59 AM
Reset for Saturday, win the game and hopefully Aberdeen drop points at st Mirren. We are still in this
28-04-2025, 10:14 AM
Yep. We need to set a marker on Saturday and come out the traps like we did V Dundee. Then we need an improved performance V st.mirren compared to our last trip there.
The big question mark is Rangers. Both ourselves and Aberdeen are capable of taking points from them as they're ***** and have nothing to play for after next week's derby but you never know what you're going to get from them.
The Huns play the Dons at Ibrox. I know it’s not the advantage it once was, but you’ve got to think it is an edge.
28-04-2025, 10:48 AM
There is no decision to make. We are already selling tickets next to them.
Ok, I wasn’t sure of where we were selling too
28-04-2025, 11:20 AM
It’s one game at a time right now.
Hibs really need the full backing this weekend.
Hopefully sales pick up - the opportunity to finish 3rd with 4 games to go is still in our hands with the better goal difference but we need to beat Utd.
28-04-2025, 09:12 PM
I would never have a go at any individual for not going. Each to their own and all that... but I'd be astonished if we can't sell this one out. Surely everyone sees the importance of this game.
29-04-2025, 07:10 AM
Cutting of away allocations proving to be quite farcical.
Aberdeen could've given us the full usual allocation of 1700 and it would've made absolutely no difference at all to the number of home fans in attendance.
We've restricted Dundee Utd's allocation and have sold 100 seats in the south stand and still have a few hundred to sell in the wings of the East, West and North Lower. Poor stand management from Hibs selling tickets in the blocks directly behind the goal in the south. Should've been kept empty and then given to either Hibs or Utd fans depending on the sales.
29-04-2025, 07:17 AM
Aberdeen could've given us the full usual allocation of 1700 and it would've made absolutely no difference at all to the number of home fans in attendance.
We've restricted Dundee Utd's allocation and have sold 100 seats in the south stand and still have a few hundred to sell in the wings of the East, West and North Lower. Poor stand management from Hibs selling tickets in the blocks directly behind the goal in the south. Should've been kept empty and then given to either Hibs or Utd fans depending on the sales.
We’ve no really cut anything though. They have a standard away allocation. Sales will pick up significantly over the next few days I’m sure. The amount of tickets sold to Hibs fans will exceed what is sold in the three home stands so we are right to make the rest of the south available to our own.
29-04-2025, 07:55 PM
I think someone on another thread stated we had just over 2100 tickets to sell for the Utd game. That is hardly an issue with 4 days of sales still to go. If we sell 1500 of those tickets it will have been worthwhile. The more Hibs fans in the ground the better. The only club to have their allocation cut are the Huns, utd have been given their normal allocation.
Pete70
29-04-2025, 08:34 PM
Sales seem to have picked up a bit today. A few sections in the West now sold out.
30-04-2025, 05:39 AM
How many fans do United usually bring? Still few days until the game.
hibsforeurope
30-04-2025, 07:55 AM
I think they got and sold the same allocation to this game as they did earlier in the season, around 1500 i think.
30-04-2025, 08:07 AM
They could easily sell more given the importance of the game . But Hibs wanted to have as many Hibs fans in the ground as possible to back the Team
So it’s up to The Fans to respond
Wednesday 11:30 dot count: 1930
East - 182
FF - 117
West - 117 (a fair number were lighter blue so maybe in baskets or about to be released, either way I have included them)
South - 1453.
Nearly at the stage now where the tickets sold in the south is lower than the tickets remaining in the 3 other stands.
Garymcl
30-04-2025, 03:02 PM
Let’s do this and get this game sold out , so much at stake on Saturday a full house will be brilliant :flag:
30-04-2025, 03:07 PM
Let’s do this and get this game sold out , so much at stake on Saturday a full house will be brilliant :flag:
Someone just posted on another thread it’s a Bank Holiday on Monday do famillies and couples could of booked up a break pre knowing the importance of this fixture
So I suspect that scuppers a sell out
30-04-2025, 03:11 PM
Someone just posted on another thread it’s a Bank Holiday on Monday do famillies and couples could of booked up a break pre knowing the importance of this fixture
I wouldn’t think that’ll be the reason it won’t sell out. If it doesn’t sell out it’ll just be that the interest isn’t quite there. There will always be people missing for various reasons but I did think it would be looking a bit closer to a sell out by now. It’s not exactly a million miles away though, hopefully sales really pick up over the next couple days. The significance of the game maybe isn’t quite recognised.
Ribs1875
30-04-2025, 03:41 PM
I dislike Dundee utd 2nd to the ****bos. Mainly because the whole signing skacel thing and him using them to poke fun at us summed them up as a club. Their supporters never conducted themselves in a good light either.
30-04-2025, 03:41 PM
I wouldn’t think that’ll be the reason it won’t sell out. If it doesn’t sell out it’ll just be that the interest isn’t quite there. There will always be people missing for various reasons but I did think it would be looking a bit closer to a sell out by now. It’s not exactly a million miles away though, hopefully sales really pick up over the next couple days. The significance of the game maybe isn’t quite recognised.
It's a shame, considering how many thousand are able to make it to Hampden when they can be bothered.
Bridge hibs
30-04-2025, 04:37 PM
It's a shame, considering how many thousand are able to make it to Hampden when they can be bothered.
This garbage gets spouted all the time, you cant compare a cup final to a league game ffs.
Two days to go, how about waiting until Saturday to see what the crowd will be.
30-04-2025, 05:02 PM
Like every single football team on the planet will take more to a cup final than a league game , It's not just Hibs
For the record i think we have a tremendous home support to what we used to get a few years ago
30-04-2025, 05:10 PM
Dundee United are probably the least glamorous of our top 6 fixtures.
30-04-2025, 05:12 PM
It’s also a bigger game than any derby this season.
30-04-2025, 06:59 PM
Less glamorous than St Mirren, really?
30-04-2025, 07:31 PM
The Huns play the Dons at Ibrox. I know it’s not the advantage it once was, but you’ve got to think it is an edge.
They haven’t won any of Thier last five games at ibrox I think
Garymcl
30-04-2025, 07:42 PM
Well said Callum Laidlaw ,if this was that lot from gorgie we were playing in the exact situation there wouldn’t be one single seat to be had also no doubt there would be the usual spare ticket thread simply don’t get it :greengrin
30-04-2025, 07:50 PM
Sales look like they are starting to pick up. Think there’ll be a big dent made in it tomorrow and we won’t be far away come Saturday. Always need a wee bit urgency created with these things.
30-04-2025, 07:55 PM
This garbage gets spouted all the time, you cant compare a cup final to a league game ffs.
Two days to go, how about waiting until Saturday to see what the crowd will be.
Like every single football team on the planet will take more to a cup final than a league game , It's not just Hibs
For the record i think we have a tremendous home support to what we used to get a few years ago
I was just being facetious.
SickBoy32
30-04-2025, 08:08 PM
It’s also a bigger game than any derby this season.
Disagree, derbies matter a lot more than most fixtures IMO. This is just a standard league game in a season, where we may finish 3rd in a few weeks. Nothing to be clinched with this game.
FWIW I can remember when we were going for the Championship league title vs Utd under Lennon in winter time, ER was packed. To be close to getting a similar crowd this weekend, when you remove the excitement of a title race between the 2 clubs - is a great effort from the fans IMO.
30-04-2025, 08:12 PM
Disagree, derbies matter a lot more than most fixtures IMO. This is just a standard league game in a season, where we may finish 3rd in a few weeks. Nothing to be clinched with this game.
FWIW I can remember when we were going for the Championship league title vs Utd under Lennon in winter time, ER was packed. To be close to getting a similar crowd this weekend, when you remove the excitement of a title race between the 2 clubs - is a great effort from the fans IMO.
This isn’t a standard league game. With the timing of it, where we are and what we are looking to achieve, it’s as big a league game as we’ve had at Easter Road for a long, long time.
30-04-2025, 08:15 PM
A few Utd fans buying tickets in our end of the South.
Hibspur
30-04-2025, 08:31 PM
Schools are off Monday AND Tuesday next week. There's no half-term break in the summer term (or at least not for state schools), so quite a few folk do go away over this particular weekend even though it's not long since the Easter break.
I know this is a game with a lot riding on it, but I don't think it's likely to sell out. 17 or 18k would still be very decent for a game v Dundee United.
30-04-2025, 08:57 PM
A few Utd fans buying tickets in our end of the South.
I thought you had to be on the hibs data base to be able to do that
Not sure if this changed but I’m sure you only had to be on the Hibs database for CatA games which
Used to be Hearts, Rangers, Celtic.
for the other games anyone can purchase which then gets you onto the Hibs Database
s2hart
30-04-2025, 09:18 PM
Quick question if someone can shed some light please, I'm going to the game with 4 other guests, have purchased tickets in the south stand (old Dunbar end) the tickets are saying need to enter by Hawkhill Ave and walk up the back of the east to enter in turnstiles 1-2, I presume the road outside the away end (Albion Road) will have barriers up so can't access those turnstiles? Thanks in advance.
30-04-2025, 09:43 PM
That's right. You need to set up an account to get a reference number, without which you can't buy a ticket.
If Hibs suspect it's away fans buying tickets, they will be cancelled.
Happened to Hibs fans at Aston Villa.
30-04-2025, 09:59 PM
interesting perspective. We have 2 home games, I’m not taking my kids to the rangers game for many reasons. One of them being it could be a dead rubber if we beat Utd.
Quick question if someone can shed some light please, I'm going to the game with 4 other guests, have purchased tickets in the south stand (old Dunbar end) the tickets are saying need to enter by Hawkhill Ave and walk up the back of the east to enter in turnstiles 1-2, I presume the road outside the away end (Albion Road) will have barriers up so can't access those turnstiles? Thanks in advance.
Not usually, we often park at the retail park at meadowbank and cut through the new flats and walk into the main stand via Albion Rd, have never came across barriers even when Hibs supporters are in the south stand.
No doubt hibs just trying to limit traffic from hibs fans around that side of the south stand
01-05-2025, 06:57 AM
????? It's not a Cat A game. Anyone can register and buy tickets. Take them all of 5 minutes. How do folk think that actual Hibs fans get tickets or put onto the database.
As for Villa, same idea applied. Hibs fans managed to go online, create an account and buy tickets for the Villa end. Was only after everyone on here started saying they managed to do it that Villa started cancelling the ticket
01-05-2025, 07:07 AM
????? It's not a Cat A game. Anyone can register and buy tickets. Take them all of 5 minutes. How do folk think that actual Hibs fans get tickets or put onto the database.
As for Villa, same idea applied. Hibs fans managed to go online, create an account and buy tickets for the Villa end. Was only after everyone on here started saying they managed to do it that Villa started cancelling the ticket
Hibs will know with any new addresses in Tayside. If it's Edinburgh/Localish based Utd fans, nothing to stop them.
01-05-2025, 07:53 AM
I think its been lost on a lot of people what the actual main purpose of Hibs and Aberdeen cutting allocations is.
Aberdeen clearly did it last week to limit the number of Hibs fans and the backing Hibs got in a vital must win fixture for them. It worked as they won the game.
The idea that Hibs should have given Utd more tickets and help the backing they get is one that doesnt make sense to me. Yes both Hibs and Aberdeen could have made a few more bucks by giving more tickets to away fans, but it's far more important financially to finish 3rd.
I am surprised we haven't sold more tickets - feels like last weeks defeat has knocked the stuffing out of some fans.
If you were around in the early seventies, with the stars we had then and crowds as low as in the 5,000's. I remember the home game against East Fife, four days after the 7-0 game, and I was delighted that we got a crowd of 17 K.
01-05-2025, 08:17 AM
I think its been lost on a lot of people what the actual main purpose of Hibs and Aberdeen cutting allocations is.
Aberdeen clearly did it last week to limit the number of Hibs fans and the backing Hibs got in a vital must win fixture for them. It worked as they won the game.
The idea that Hibs should have given Utd more tickets and help the backing they get is one that doesnt make sense to me. Yes both Hibs and Aberdeen could have made a few more bucks by giving more tickets to away fans, but it's far more important financially to finish 3rd.
I am surprised we haven't sold more tickets - feels like last weeks defeat has knocked the stuffing out of some fans.
The last paragraph would be such a ridiculous turn of events that I'd rather refuse to believe it's true.
01-05-2025, 08:18 AM
The last paragraph would be such a ridiculous turn of events that I'd rather refuse to believe it's true.
Have a look on X and Facebook
01-05-2025, 08:20 AM
Have a look on X and Facebook
Yeah, that's why I said I'd rather believe it's true. I fear it might be though.
Did we win too many games between December and April and now folk feel let down by one defeat?
Sioux
01-05-2025, 08:27 AM
So Aberdeen won the game because there were a few more home fans attending? Behave.
01-05-2025, 08:31 AM
Agree with the last paragraph. I thought the tickets would have been flying out for this one. I think the significance of the game is maybe being underestimated. Everything was built up towards last week and the defeat actually makes Saturday even bigger.
Mcbizz1998
01-05-2025, 09:27 AM
Not sure where all the panic is coming from. We all but sold out the usual home end. My rough count this morning -
West: 56
East: 138
FF: 150
That’s pretty good going I reckon? Will be a virtual sell out in the home end and then the south open for any stragglers. Not sure what people were expecting for a league game v United. Nothing will be confirmed either way on Saturday.
01-05-2025, 09:30 AM
Not sure where all the panic is coming from. We all but sold out the usual home end. My rough count this morning -
That’s pretty good going I reckon? Will be a virtual sell out in the home end and then the south open for any stragglers. Not sure what people were expecting for a league game v United. Nothing will be confirmed either way on Saturday.
No sure that there is any panic, I just thought demand might be higher.
There will still be a good crowd in but it’s not just a run of the mill league game on Saturday, even if nothing will be decided, IMO.
CentreForward
01-05-2025, 11:31 AM
St Mirren away surely, and what on earth is glamorous about a home game against Rangers when you think about it, although at least there will be fewer of them than normal chanting their usual nonsense.
01-05-2025, 11:40 AM
So Aberdeen won the game because there were a few more home fans attending? Behave.
Oh FFS I didn't think I'd have to quantify that point!
Of course there is no way of saying unequivocally how it influenced things, and of course its not just down to that. But its perfectly reasonable to assume it might have made a difference overall in helping Aberdeen win and Hibs put in our worst performance in some time.
And for me there is no doubt whatsoever that's why Aberdeen reduced our allocation and not Celtic's. Had we won that game it was third place in the bag for us practically.
01-05-2025, 11:44 AM
Agree with the last paragraph. I thought the tickets would have been flying out for this one. I think the significance of the game is maybe being underestimated. Everything was built up towards last week and the defeat actually makes Saturday even bigger.
No sure that there is any panic, I just thought demand might be higher.
There will still be a good crowd in but it’s not just a run of the mill league game on Saturday, even if nothing will be decided, IMO.
One theory I have is that from a marketing the game point of view, announcing we had extra Hibs tickets in the South Stands early has maybe led to slower sales, as everyone knows they will get a ticket easily.
If the home three stands were looking like selling out last week ( and that's only place tickets were available for) then that scarcity panics/encourages people to buy tickets.
01-05-2025, 12:29 PM
Whatever happens with sales between now and 3pm on Saturday it's still going to be a big crowd. It's not how many fans we have in the stadium but how much backing they can give the team, as fans of this club have proved time and again.
As for folk saying it's a game that will settle nothing. Not if we win it, but if we lose and Aberdeen win at St Mirren we will have 3 games to make up the points, with two of them being away from home ...... Not just that but it will also put Utd level with us with two home fixtures to come against St Mirren and Aberdeen and an away game at Ibrox, a place everybody seems to think they have a chance at these days.
This game is as big as it gets and I simply don't get the absolute paradox that happens not just with us but other clubs. Insomuch as we can get a crowd of over 19,000 for a game against Aston Villa in a fixture we had practically no chance of winning, that had a KO time you would only set if you were deliberately trying to put people off. And yet for a game that is absolutely massive in our season at 3pm on a Saturday against a team we are not only capable of beating, but must beat, people aren't snapping tickets up.
Baffling :confused:
PS .... If you have genuinely been put off because we lost at Aberdeen you are the very definition of a fair weather fan. In fact you have redefined the meaning.
CentreForward
01-05-2025, 01:53 PM
Whatever happens with sales between now and 3pm on Saturday it's still going to be a big crowd. It's not how many fans we have in the stadium but how much backing they can give the team, as fans of this club have proved time and again.
As for folk saying it's a game that will settle nothing. Not if we win it, but if we lose and Aberdeen win at St Mirren we will have 3 games to make up the points, with two of them being away from home ...... Not just that but it will also put Utd level with us with two home fixtures to come against St Mirren and Aberdeen and an away game at Ibrox, a place everybody seems to think they have a chance at these days.
This game is as big as it gets and I simply don't get the absolute paradox that happens not just with us but other clubs. Insomuch as we can get a crowd of over 19,000 for a game against Aston Villa in a fixture we had practically no chance of winning, that had a KO time you would only set if you were deliberately trying to put people off. And yet for a game that is absolutely massive in our season at 3pm on a Saturday against a team we are not only capable of beating, but must beat, people aren't snapping tickets up.
PS .... If you have genuinely been put off because we lost at Aberdeen you are the very definition of a fair weather fan. In fact you have redefined the meaning.
Was it really that baffling? Villa were a huge draw and arguably we could have filled the ground at 3am in the morning. Some top stars, including one of the world’s great goalkeepers, plus the SJM factor. Of course Saturday is massive in its own way but that Villa game was huge even if we had no chance.
01-05-2025, 01:58 PM
I don’t disagree with you in regards to how big a game it is. It seems pretty low key. We have 2 and a bit weeks to achieve something that none of us have ever seen before in terms of European group stage football. But I don’t think it was surprising more people wanted to see us play Villa.
01-05-2025, 02:11 PM
Hugely important, but if you're a walk-up attending the odd game you might look and say that nothing will be decided on Saturday is the reality. If we don't sell another ticket between now and then I think it's a good crowd and looking forward to it :aok:
Hibspur
01-05-2025, 02:42 PM
I found the flak the team/Gray took from quite a lot of posters after a record-equalling 17-game run finally came to an end pretty depressing. Maybe those whose expectations are so unrealistically high that defeat at Pittodrie was unacceptable are voting with their feet this weekend?
01-05-2025, 06:17 PM
Another Huge game coming up at the weekend, 3 points is a must and hopefully the players can bounce back from a disappointing result and performance last week.
O'Hora was fine last week so not sure if Miller comes back if available.
Think N.Cadden, Hoilett and Myko come back in for this one.
Another Huge game coming up at the weekend, 3 points is a must and hopefully the players can bounce back from a disappointing result and performance last week.
O'Hora was fine last week so not sure if Miller comes back if available.
Think N.Cadden, Hoilett and Myko come back in for this one.
i would bring Miller back in, just as solid and much better going forward and creating opportunities. I thought we missed Miller last week.
Cabbage-Patch
02-05-2025, 07:14 AM
Ticket sales for this are frankly embarrassing. Club have cut Dundee utds allocation and opened half the south with only a handful of tickets sold for that section. We were up in arms about Aberdeen slashing our allocation but at least they sold thier extra seats. I hate seeing the south practically empty on most home games and hoped this may be the start of that changing but obviously not
02-05-2025, 07:18 AM
Ticket sales for this are frankly embarrassing. Club have cut Dundee utds allocation and opened half the south with only a handful of tickets sold for that section. We were up in arms about Aberdeen slashing our allocation but at least they sold thier extra seats. I hate seeing the south practically empty on most home games and hoped this may be the start of that changing but obviously not
Why are you embarrassed?
And you’re wrong about Aberdeen selling all their tickets
We didn’t cut their allocation either
02-05-2025, 07:18 AM
Utd's allocation hasn't been cut and Aberdeen didn't manage to sell their tickets.
Apart from that...
02-05-2025, 07:20 AM
No they didnt, the crowd was 18620 out of a claimed capacity of 20800.
Try again................
02-05-2025, 07:32 AM
In in South upper. If sales continue to be pretty much the same, what's the chances of them moving us down into the South lower?
Trinity Hibee
02-05-2025, 07:41 AM
We haven’t “cut” DU’s allocation. They’ve got the same as they normally do and a fairly sizeable for an away support coming to ER. Embarrassing ticket sales? In what sense? The ground will be over 90% full and we only ever sell out for derbys. Folk are pretty thin skinned if they are embarrassed by ticket sales. Hope you manage with the tension of the game on Saturday
02-05-2025, 07:43 AM
We didn't cut United's allocation. They got the standard away allocation and if we had given them more we are now at a point at which Hibs fans would have missed out so it was the correct decision.
I posted yesterday as well that 17K Hibs fans in the ground, probably closer to 18K come kick off is exceptional. 20 years ago we played Aberdeen in a game that would have seen us seal 3rd with a win. The crowd was just over 15K total.
As someone said yesterday it took years to sell out ER for a cat A game after we built the East. Now we are to be 'embarrassed' because we are only selling out the capacity of 3 home stands plus a bit extra against Dundee United. Suggests the club and fans together are doing their bit to me.
02-05-2025, 07:53 AM
This post is like an exercise for schoolchildren, how many mistakes are there in the paragraph
02-05-2025, 08:04 AM
In in South upper. If sales continue to be pretty much the same, what's the chances of them moving us down into the South lower?
Zero chance of that happening. Everywhere else is virtually sold out, there will be a decent number sold in the south between now and kick off. It started picking up yesterday looking at the map.
Thatdayinmay16
02-05-2025, 08:27 AM
We didn't cut United's allocation. They got the standard away allocation and if we had given them more we are now at a point at which Hibs fans would have missed out so it was the correct decision.
I posted yesterday as well that 17K Hibs fans in the ground, probably closer to 18K come kick off is exceptional. 20 years ago we played Aberdeen in a game that would have seen us seal 3rd with a win. The crowd was just over 15K total.
As someone said yesterday it took years to sell out ER for a cat A game after we built the East. Now we are to be 'embarrassed' because we are only selling out the capacity of 3 home stands plus a bit extra against Dundee United. Suggests the club and fans together are doing their bit to me.
Spot on. Couldn't have said it better myself.
02-05-2025, 08:51 AM
100% :agree:
The obsessing over crowd sizes and study of previous turnouts for certain fixtures appears to be a relatively modern phenomenon.
Have to admit that I’ve been dragged into doing so myself, but I can’t recall this being much of thing in the past. When did this all start? Was it The Wealdstone Raider who propelled crows sizes to the forefront?