25-04-2025, 10:09 AM
Thoroughly deserved 👏
Up-the-slope
25-04-2025, 10:11 AM
Helps retention & recruitment when the manager commits
Black Knights must be happy now :greengrin
Thatdayinmay16
25-04-2025, 10:14 AM
Jason Statham to play him in the documentary when we win the League, Scottish & Europa?
25-04-2025, 10:15 AM
Delighted with this as I've tried to back him from the beginning.
Onwards and upwards.
Donegal Hibby
25-04-2025, 10:16 AM
Great news …
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2025/april/25/new-deals-for-david-gray---coaching-staff-/
He's here!
25-04-2025, 10:17 AM
Excellent news. Delighted for him.
25-04-2025, 10:17 AM
Brilliant news
Think quite a few teams will still be after him this summer, especially if he gets third
Paulie Walnuts
25-04-2025, 10:20 AM
Great news.
How long was his original deal? I presume this doesn’t actually add all that much longer onto it, maybe a year? Presumably gives him more favourable remuneration though which could fend off future interest.
25-04-2025, 10:21 AM
Delighted.
He’s the real deal, and was always going to be.
I’d be surprised if he’s with us that long but it’s good to see him adequately rewarded in both monetary and security terms for the top class job he’s done.
It’s good to see Hibs getting folk signed up and committed.
25-04-2025, 10:21 AM
He's earned that.
25-04-2025, 10:22 AM
Hibs doing not badly for a club and team with no identity :rolleyes:
Well done David Gray and Hibs
Brilliant news. Does this weeks contract announcements fall into the category of us getting our summer business done early? Feels like a good start and base to build from :aok:
Jason Statham to play him in the documentary when we win the League, Scottish & Europa?He is not hard enough to play David Gray.
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
Trinity Hibee
25-04-2025, 10:25 AM
David David Gray, David David Gray!
25-04-2025, 10:25 AM
Jason Statham to play him in the documentary when we win the League, Scottish & Europa?
Mark Strong - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mark_Strong) maybe
25-04-2025, 10:26 AM
Brilliant news
Think quite a few teams will still be after him this summer, especially if he gets third
I did wonder if they may be the reason for throwing a deal in front of him - give him better terms in the expectation or knowledge of a few other teams sniffing around.
25-04-2025, 10:27 AM
Brilliant news 👍💚
Thatdayinmay16
25-04-2025, 10:34 AM
He is not hard enough to play David Gray.
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
Nobody is.
HendoDelivered
25-04-2025, 10:34 AM
I hope they let him write whatever numbers he wanted to for his new salary!
SonOfDavidFrancey
25-04-2025, 10:35 AM
Mark Strong - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mark_Strong) maybe
My friend plays football with Mark Strong. Apparently he’s got a bit of bite on the field…
SonOfDavidFrancey
25-04-2025, 10:37 AM
I’m sure this is a good turn of events but I hope we will retain a sense of realism as we hit the new season. Nothing is guaranteed as our neighbours found to their cost this year and managing a Europe / Domestic mix is very difficult for clubs of our scale.
25-04-2025, 10:38 AM
Great news and well deserved. Means stability for the foreseeable future
25-04-2025, 10:39 AM
Brilliant news. Does this weeks contract announcements fall into the category of us getting our summer business done early? Feels like a good start and base to build from :aok:
It does.
And whilst Hibs have deserved criticism in the past for dithering and inactivity, they deserve huge credit for getting this business done now.
We’ve normally just binned our manager at this point with an absolute ton of work ahead to be ready for the new season whilst the previous one fizzles out. This is absolutely streets ahead.
Good stuff, thank you to all responsible.
Hibs Go Bragh
25-04-2025, 10:41 AM
Just build the statue now! Also rename the training centre, name one of the stands or maybe even the whole stadium after him and change the badge to his face.
That'll probably do for now then we can look at more things next year!
25-04-2025, 10:43 AM
Congratulations SDG fully deserved.
After an extremely difficult start, our second half of the season had been nothing short of sensational. We look nothing like that team of the first four months or so of the season, bottom of the league, lacking confidence, looking like we couldnt string 2 passes together, shambolic at the back, substitutions that made little sense.... it was a total mess.
The second half of the season has been a relevation. Well done David, you kept faith in yourself and Persevered. I think all of us are excited about what we might achieve going forward. The team has put a smile back on the face of its fanbase and we're all so proud.
25-04-2025, 10:45 AM
Well done SDG! Much deserved and good timing to end the season strong, another good season and no doubt teams will be looking at him if they ain't already.
cubehindthegoal
25-04-2025, 10:50 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c2309edpen1o
Great news!
Totally, and totally deserved.
The basic pieces are shaping up nicely for next season now. At some point we will inevitably hit a (hopefully small and distant) dip in form, and that’s when we need to keep our nerve … and David Gray showed the players, the fans and the whole club this season just how to do that. What a role model he is.
25-04-2025, 10:56 AM
Well deserved after the most traumatic of starts.
SDG has every opportunity of becoming a modern day Eddie Turnbull (iconic player / successful manager). Here's hoping :thumbsup:
Delighted for SDG and the management team. The resilience in adversity they showed after a sticky start is to be admired. SDG always a club legend but comes across well in interviews and is clearly getting the best out of his players the last few months. Hope this inspires more our of contract players to commit next season. Great time to be a Hibee!
GreenGray
25-04-2025, 11:04 AM
Great news! Showed great resilience to get through the tricky start and his man management skills are clearly unbelievable. I just hope the new contract doesn't cause our form to suffer like it has done to other managers and clubs in the past.
25-04-2025, 11:04 AM
Excellent news, if we get third and go unbeaten for the rest of the season there's no doubt he should be manager of the year.
Rogers will get it though and it will be like giving MOTM to a 10 year old who plays against toddlers.
25-04-2025, 11:12 AM
Some turnaround for him.
Fully deserved and has proved loads of people wrong, including myself.
Garymcl
25-04-2025, 11:21 AM
The brilliant news and feel good factor just keeps coming out of our club at this moment in time ,so good to be supporter of this club right now , let’s smash the record for season tickets sold and do our bit to show the appreciation the good work our owners are putting in ,exciting times for now and next season Europe here we come :thumbsup::flag:
25-04-2025, 11:43 AM
Get the job done then announce all the new deals IMO
25-04-2025, 11:49 AM
Great news and well deserved.
Every time I get a Hibs notification now I feel disappointed if it's not an extension to a contract.
Incidentally, has anyone else noticed the witch hunt of Malky McKay seems to have stopped since we went on our unbeaten run:wink:
Billy Bunter 07
25-04-2025, 12:07 PM
A justified reward for a tremendous turnaround on the park for Sir Dave and Co. I would give him a lifelong deal to be honest but hey, who's being greedy?
Statue next season when we win the Scottish Cup imo. :agree:
Billy Bunter 07
25-04-2025, 12:08 PM
Every time I get a Hibs notification now I feel disappointed if it's not an extension to a contract.
Incidentally, has anyone else noticed the witch hunt of Malky McKay seems to have stopped since we went on our unbeaten run:wink:
Aye, it's about time we got the Nicky Cadden 6 year extension one imo. :agree::greengrin
Fantastic news, an extra year and a bit more cash for doing so well
Donegal Hibby
25-04-2025, 12:18 PM
I don’t know if you can get this or not ….
https://x.com/HibernianFC
25-04-2025, 12:21 PM
Nobody is.
I disagree Lewis Stevenson with a shaved head could play him in the film.
cubehindthegoal
25-04-2025, 12:26 PM
That’s true about notifications, I do expect something good too … positivity breeds positivity.
And that’s a fair point about McKay ..
.. so perhaps, negativity also breeds negativity.
25-04-2025, 12:33 PM
Great news. Spot on move by Hibs. Well done, the boss folk.
I see the his assistant coaches have extended as well which is good news, as an aside is there any update on Eddy Mary's recovery.
25-04-2025, 12:39 PM
I disagree Lewis Stevenson with a shaved head could play him in the film.[emoji16]
Lewis Stevenson doesn't appear in films, they make films about him
25-04-2025, 12:53 PM
Ridiculous for a novice coach who’s living on his cup winning glories, he’s hardly proven he’s up to it yet. 😉
25-04-2025, 01:11 PM
Aberdeen 2 Hibs 0
Joking aside very well deserved. Hopefully sets a new record tomorrow.
Thatdayinmay16
25-04-2025, 01:26 PM
I disagree Lewis Stevenson with a shaved head could play him in the film.
Lewis Stevenson can pee his name onto concrete.
DIXIHIBS
25-04-2025, 01:50 PM
Well deserved SDG. Keep it going now and get us that 3rd place.
25-04-2025, 01:56 PM
I was hoping for the return of Lee Johnson but I suppose this will have to do.
cubehindthegoal
25-04-2025, 01:57 PM
I was hoping for the return of Lee Johnson but I suppose this will have to do.
😁 Greedy
25-04-2025, 02:06 PM
It all just feels as if the footballing decisions at the club are making perfect sense just now.
Trinity Hibee
25-04-2025, 02:26 PM
You do have to wonder if seeing a number of failed managers in his time at Hibs has had a huge impact on Gray and how he manages players and sets up his team. Basically don’t do what the last 3 managers have done.
Great news!
25-04-2025, 02:28 PM
I see the his assistant coaches have extended as well which is good news, as an aside is there any update on Eddy Mary's recovery.
I’m sure he’s back in the dugout
cubehindthegoal
25-04-2025, 02:41 PM
You do have to wonder if seeing a number of failed managers in his time at Hibs has had a huge impact on Gray and how he manages players and sets up his team. Basically don’t do what the last 3 managers have done.
Great news!
That’s a great point, and very probably true. Learning from others, and your own, mistakes can be the strongest education.
25-04-2025, 02:56 PM
Hope he's doing a lot better, the wee lamb :greengrin
cubehindthegoal
25-04-2025, 03:07 PM
Hope he's doing a lot better, the wee lamb :greengrin
Wait .. nope, I’m not going to ..
.. ach, what the, it’s Friday and week nearly done ..
Meh.
25-04-2025, 03:25 PM
Great news!
He'd have had to be daft not to have learned from their mistakes. He's our best since Jack Ross. I just hope we don't screw him over in the summer like we did Ross. I'm sure the club have also learned from previous mistakes.
25-04-2025, 03:30 PM
Great news!
It may be an unwise man who doesn't learn from his own mistakes, but it's a damn fool who doesn't learn from everybody else's.
Dr. Frasier Crane.
The other way to look it it is there may also have been some good to draw on from the managers he worked with.
cubehindthegoal
25-04-2025, 03:44 PM
It may be an unwise man who doesn't learn from his own mistakes, but it's a damn fool who doesn't learn from everybody else's.
Dr. Frasier Crane.
The other way to look it it is there may also have been some good to draw on from the managers he worked with.
“Niles, will you please stop giggling ? It's very distracting.”
Ribs1875
25-04-2025, 04:29 PM
It's basically a one year extension he's signed. Well deserved for him and the team. He's already been linked with vacant posts, so it's only logical to tie him down. I think he's there for the foreseeable future, but long-term he will want to try his hand down in England.
It will be an interesting summer for departures and arrivals. Hopefully lessons are learnt and we become efficient in the recruitment side of things, and not just throw our eggs into one basket like we did with McGowan only to drag it out and lose out.
25-04-2025, 04:36 PM
Better news each day , reunited the club and bringing all the fans back 👏
cubehindthegoal
25-04-2025, 04:50 PM
It's basically a one year extension he's signed. Well deserved for him and the team. He's already been linked with vacant posts, so it's only logical to tie him down. I think he's there for the foreseeable future, but long-term he will want to try his hand down in England.
It will be an interesting summer for departures and arrivals. Hopefully lessons are learnt and we become efficient in the recruitment side of things, and not just throw our eggs into one basket like we did with McGowan only to drag it out and lose out.
It’s a very rare person who doesn’t want to progress in a job they love. David Gray and Hibs are forever linked, but of course he will want to move on at some point if he does well … we aren’t Barcelona, after all .. and it will also be for his family too ..
.. I hope he does so well with us, that he has great offers coming in … can’t think of anyone who deserves it more anyway.
Billy Bunter 07
25-04-2025, 04:53 PM
It’s a very rare person who doesn’t want to progress in a job they love. David Gray and Hibs are forever linked, but of course he will want to move on at some point if he does well … we aren’t Barcelona, after all .. and it will also be for his family too ..
.. I hope he does so well with us, that he has great offers coming in … can’t think of anyone who deserves it more anyway.
I think it would be a massive risk for SDG to move away from Hibernian at any point unless it's for a life changing offer.
cubehindthegoal
25-04-2025, 05:01 PM
I think it would be a massive risk for SDG to move away from Hibernian at any point unless it's for a life changing offer.
Never? I’m not sure what you mean tbh. Why?
[QUOTE=Billy Whizz;7944483]I’m sure he’s back in the dugout[/QUOTE
Thanks for that, good news 👍]
25-04-2025, 05:06 PM
It would be a massive waste for him not to, if he continues to be successful. What he’s achieved here so far is remarkable and historic,and it points at someone who may be especially talented in his role.
I don’t want him away but would not just understand but back him if he got a big opportunity down south. Since that 4-1 loss to Dundee he’s had us on a run of form that sustained over the season would be title challenging.
Donegal Hibby
25-04-2025, 05:28 PM
David Gray …
https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1915804726295204028
25-04-2025, 05:32 PM
I'm not sure what he means either. There will obviously be a right time for a move. The right club. The right project.
I don't think we're there yet. There might be clubs interested and perhaps offering head turning wages. It is no good to Gray if he jumps at one of these and they sack him after ten games. Wrong club. Wrong people.
However, if he continues to impress here. Leads us into Europe. Gets a bit closer to his ceiling. Then he'd have that body of work to fall back on. That is the thing for me. We're in a good place. Gray can progress here. He can bide his time for the right opportunity.
Billy Bunter 07
25-04-2025, 05:47 PM
For a middle of the road championship team for the sake of a slight career progression it would be a massive gamble for him considering what he has with us. If of course a club was chucking life changing sums like I said then that's different. He already has a legacy in place here, he could move like Stubbs and look at him now.
I know what I mean in my head, probably really brutal at explaining :greengrin
25-04-2025, 05:49 PM
Fantastic news, good to hear it's a decent length contract.
25-04-2025, 06:24 PM
Well earned after the turnaround and ongoing unbeaten run.
cubehindthegoal
25-04-2025, 06:26 PM
I'm not sure what he means either. There will obviously be a right time for a move. The right club. The right project.
I don't think we're there yet. There might be clubs interested and perhaps offering head turning wages. It is no good to Gray if he jumps at one of these and they sack him after ten games. Wrong club. Wrong people.
However, if he continues to impress here. Leads us into Europe. Gets a bit closer to his ceiling. Then he'd have that body of work to fall back on. That is the thing for me. We're in a good place. Gray can progress here. He can bide his time for the right opportunity.
Unless you are the top team in the world, there is always scope to move on and achieve. I don’t have a problem with that, for those that want to, follow your ambition and I wish you the utmost best.
If it was me, like ? Well, Hibee til I die 💚 Simples. But hey, that’s my problem, I won’t inflict it on others .. esp folk like David Gray, who has served us to death tbh already ! GGTTH 👍
cubehindthegoal
25-04-2025, 06:36 PM
For a middle of the road championship team for the sake of a slight career progression it would be a massive gamble for him considering what he has with us. If of course a club was chucking life changing sums like I said then that's different. He already has a legacy in place here, he could move like Stubbs and look at him now.
I know what I mean in my head, probably really brutal at explaining :greengrin
Fair dos, I think I know what you mean. Managers have in the past, not just Hibs managers, moved on and regressed in their careers. Who knows, maybe it was because they had hit their limit already.
We don’t yet know where our managers limit is. But hopefully he does so well here, it becomes obvious (like Alex Ferguson, that would be good !! … Ok, I know … dream on!)
01-05-2025, 11:12 PM
Michael Stewart questions Hibs announcement ahead of Aberdeen loss (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/football/michael-stewart-questions-hibs-announcement-ahead-of-aberdeen-loss/ar-AA1DZyA2?ocid=msedgdhp&pc=U531&cvid=aa9c20ad056c486f93d0b4c34be8aeef&ei=9)
I thought I'd give this thread a bump after reading the above article. Michael Stewart spraffs about the timing of Gray's new deal announcement. Is this incisive analysis or just the bitter musings of a Yam fud? Or somewhere in between maybe? Please discuss...
01-05-2025, 11:43 PM
Good assessment - in terms of timing it kicks any speculation re SDG's immediate future into the long grass which can only be a good thing. He is not in a hurry to go anywhere I think - but the incredible stats he's racked up this season are bound to attract attention.
In terms of recruitment I think we have seen a major sea change over the last year or so from speculative hit and hope experiments to more focused recruitment and better squad management. Good start going into next season already with McGrath signed up. Credit due for Mackay?
02-05-2025, 12:24 PM
Michael Stewart questions Hibs announcement ahead of Aberdeen loss (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/football/michael-stewart-questions-hibs-announcement-ahead-of-aberdeen-loss/ar-AA1DZyA2?ocid=msedgdhp&pc=U531&cvid=aa9c20ad056c486f93d0b4c34be8aeef&ei=9)
I thought I'd give this thread a bump after reading the above article. Michael Stewart spraffs about the timing of Gray's new deal announcement. Is this incisive analysis or just the bitter musings of a Yam fud? Or somewhere in between maybe? Please discuss...
I disagree with Stewart here.
It didn't "dominate" the build up to the game and imo had no impact on the outcome of the game.
We lost a tight game that could have gone either way, away to a decent team and lost to a very good goal. Not sure there really needs to be too much soul searching about it.
Put it behind us, big game tomorrow.
02-05-2025, 12:46 PM
I disagree with Stewart here.
It didn't "dominate" the build up to the game and imo had no impact on the outcome of the game.
We lost a tight game that could have gone either way, away to a decent team and lost to a very good goal. Not sure there really needs to be too much soul searching about it.
Put it behind us, big game tomorrow.
GIRUY ya BGYF (bitter ginger yam fud)
02-05-2025, 01:10 PM
Looks to turn everything into a confrontation and generate disagreements by taking extreme and opposing views every time he opens his mouth for a while now. Must be tiring walking around acting exasperated by something at all times 24 hours a day. Lost complete respect for him at this point best ignored.
02-05-2025, 01:18 PM
These things are usually signed and done ages before they're announced. The problem with announcing it at the end of the season is that there is a realistic chance we finish 5th and although it's still a good season considering where we were, it'll feel a bit disappointing to not have gotten at least top 4.
Sentiments can change in football quickly and the club announced it when the feel good was as high as it has been.
02-05-2025, 01:48 PM
As usual MS is being a bitter, contrarian, Hearts minded fud about everything Hibs.
02-05-2025, 02:03 PM
Wait until he finds out about the Hearts managerial announcement ahead of their relegation clash with Ross County.
02-05-2025, 03:30 PM
Michael Stewart lives a miserable life doesn’t he.
Must be brutal getting annoyed at absolutely everything
02-05-2025, 03:40 PM
It was strange timing. Very strange timing. Teams often lose straight after an announcement like that so why even risk it before such a big game? Not very streetwise. Odd thing to have a go at Stewart about. He's right.
Donegal Hibby
02-05-2025, 04:06 PM
A bit of a comedian is Mikey Stewart ..
Timing of Grays appointment now , before that ..
He could see a clear “ Identity “ under Critchley ..
Hertz should never have appointed Critchley …
Concerns about the Hibs squad and Rocky ..
Hertz a good balance to the squad..
McCart a good signing … 😂😂😂
02-05-2025, 04:08 PM
It was strange timing. Very strange timing. Teams often lose straight after an announcement like that so why even risk it before such a big game? Not very streetwise. Odd thing to have a go at Stewart about. He's right.
How would it have changed Hibs preparation for the game, or how we played?
SickBoy32
02-05-2025, 04:17 PM
You’re at it.
Absolutely bizarre angle for Stewart to take. Total nonsense.
Used to be a good pundit but he’s a ***** one now 🎼
TrinityHFC
02-05-2025, 04:33 PM
I’m convinced he reads threads here then picks some of the more extreme views to repeat. He’s repeated several things you really only read here.
02-05-2025, 04:56 PM
You’re at it.
Absolutely bizarre angle for Stewart to take. Total nonsense.
Used to be a good pundit but he’s a ***** one now 🎼
If you look on social media when it was announced there were loads of comments from fans of different teams saying that we'd now get beat. There's something in it. I didn't see the need to give away any sort of psychological edge before a huge game even if it was a small one.
02-05-2025, 04:58 PM
If you look on social media when it was announced there were loads of comments from fans of different teams saying that we'd now get beat. There's something in it. I didn't see the need to give away any sort of psychological edge before a huge game even if it was a small one.
How does us giving Gray a new contract give the opposition a psychological edge? Doesn't make any sense at all.
02-05-2025, 05:00 PM
How does us giving Gray a new contract give the opposition a psychological edge? Doesn't make any sense at all.
Because there's been numerous times clubs have announced a new deal for a manager and they lose the next game.
02-05-2025, 05:03 PM
Because there's been numerous times clubs have announced a new deal for a manager and they lose the next game.
It has absolutely no impact on the game at all
02-05-2025, 05:04 PM
There’ll be numerous clubs that have made an announcement and won the next game though.
I just don't personally see how it would give the opposition any advantage.
02-05-2025, 05:11 PM
There’ll be numerous clubs that have made an announcement and won the next game though.
If loads of fans said (in jest) "that'll be Hibs losing then", then it would have been in the back of the Hibs and Aberdeen players minds too. I just think it was poor timing and I totally agree with Stewarts take on it.
02-05-2025, 05:12 PM
I'd put money on there being lots of teams who've given their manager a new contract winning their next game, and i'd bet there's many who've drawn too. :confused:
Donegal Hibby
02-05-2025, 05:29 PM
If loads of fans said (in jest) "that'll be Hibs losing then", then it would have been in the back of the Hibs and Aberdeen players minds too. I just think it was poor timing and I totally agree with Stewarts take on it.
Hutton said if we had won it could have been seen as a good move too , really had no bearing whatsoever on the game other than Stewart trying to make it into one .. surprised anyone agrees with him tbh .
andrew70
02-05-2025, 05:33 PM
Yeah, I am with you. Was silly to announce it then for so many reasons. End of the season far more appropriate.
02-05-2025, 05:49 PM
Hibs should really never lose a game of football again, going by all the minute things we did so wrong prior to and during Saturday's match.
02-05-2025, 05:56 PM
Specifically what happens if we don’t make the announcement?
Nisbet feels less inspired before scoring his goal?
Campbell feels a bit less secure about his future so focuses better and takes one of his chances?
These were the things that decided the outcome of the game.
I’m just not buying that an announcement the prior week influenced anything to do with the game, either the organisation or motivation of either team.
02-05-2025, 06:15 PM
Specifically what happens if we don’t make the announcement?
Nisbet feels less inspired before scoring his goal?
Campbell feels a bit less secure about his future so focuses better and takes one of his chances?
These were the things that decided the outcome of the game.
I’m just not buying that an announcement the prior week influenced anything to do with the game, either the organisation or motivation of either team.
It’s a wee bit like me blaming my father in law who I go to games with for constantly tempting fate by saying stupid things like, “our goalies no made a mistake for a while”, “yes, I’m pleased they’re bringing that guy on, he’s rubbish” or “can’t see Hibs losing a goal now, this has been easy”. I suppose technically speaking he can’t really be blamed for those things happening directly after he’s mentioned it, the reality is though, all those things happening after he said them were entirely his fault.
Basically what Hibs did was tempt fait on a grander scale than normal. Nothing logical about them announcing it impacting the game, doesn’t mean we can’t still blame them a bit though, just cos.
02-05-2025, 06:16 PM
It wouldnt
02-05-2025, 06:33 PM
I'm glad we never did it before the derby, dont like getting beat from them.:greengrin
Bridge hibs
02-05-2025, 07:08 PM
Yeah, I am with you. Was silly to announce it then for so many reasons. End of the season far more appropriate.
Silly for so many reasons ? What were the so many reasons ?