View Full Version : Europe

19-04-2025, 05:47 PM
So, if Celtic beat Aberdeen in the cup. Do Aberdeen get a European place and are, therefore, out of the hunt for the Euro spot that comes with league placings?

19-04-2025, 05:50 PM
​
So, if Celtic beat Aberdeen in the cup. Do Aberdeen get a European place and are, therefore, out of the hunt for the Euro spot that comes with league placings?

19-04-2025, 05:50 PM
No, they would get Europe based on their league placing. Cup runners-up get nothing

19-04-2025, 05:55 PM
Is this the last season where 3rd place gets guaranteed group stage?

mcohibs
19-04-2025, 06:05 PM

I think so

19-04-2025, 06:09 PM

3rd place doesn’t get guaranteed group places, it’s the winner of the Scottish Cup. 3rd only gets it if one of the two teams in 1st or 2nd win the cup. 👍

But it is the last season that will happen.

He's here!
19-04-2025, 06:27 PM
Celtic will thump that Aberdeen team in the final.

Hibs Go Bragh
19-04-2025, 06:44 PM

This worries me about not finishing 3rd this year but at least we are absolutely guaranteed to finish 3rd next season 😂

Paul1642
19-04-2025, 06:51 PM
If we start next season playing the way we are then conference league group stages are only the fallback. There’s nothing stopping us winning the playoff and gaining Europa League groups.

In 2023 Aberdeen lost 5-3 on aggregate to BK Haecken. Aberdeen were crap that season.

In 2024 Hearts lost 2-0 on aggregate to Victoria Plzen. Hearts were crap this season.

If we are at our best then there’s nothing stopping us winning a tie of against that calibre of team.

One step at a time though, beat Aberdeen at the weekend, or even draw, and 3rd is well and truly ours to loose.

19-04-2025, 07:31 PM
If Celtic win tomorrow then 5th gets a European place too.

19-04-2025, 07:35 PM

What a shame hearts missed the cut

19-04-2025, 07:59 PM

When would the season start for 5th place and how many qualifiers would that be?

Paul1642
19-04-2025, 08:09 PM
When would the season start for 5th place and how many qualifiers would that be?

I think I would be the same as us last year, 3 round to get through with the first being pretty early.

SonOfDavidFrancey
19-04-2025, 08:32 PM
If we start next season playing the way we are then conference league group stages are only the fallback. There’s nothing stopping us winning the playoff and gaining Europa League groups.

In 2023 Aberdeen lost 5-3 on aggregate to BK Haecken. Aberdeen were crap that season.

In 2024 Hearts lost 2-0 on aggregate to Victoria Plzen. Hearts were crap this season.

If we are at our best then there’s nothing stopping us winning a tie of against that calibre of team.

One step at a time though, beat Aberdeen at the weekend, or even draw, and 3rd is well and truly ours to loose.

I think the danger is that we could easily slip into that sequence if the issue is that apart from the OF Scottish club squads can’t maintain a two game a week schedule.

19-04-2025, 08:32 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cn8v1yv81l8o

Decent explanation there.

19-04-2025, 08:40 PM

June and FIVE BILLION OH MY GOD is my educated guess.

Prof. Shaggy
20-04-2025, 10:59 AM

Unless Aberdeen win the cup and finish sixth.

20-04-2025, 11:08 AM
Unless Aberdeen win the cup and finish sixth.

Basically amounts to the same thing though, if Celtic win today, we are pretty much guaranteed European football I think?

St Mirren would need to win their 5 remaining games which isn’t happening and we would need to lose all 5, again unlikely, although I don’t like to tempt fate 😃

20-04-2025, 12:31 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cn8v1yv81l8o

Decent explanation there.

Yea it is.

And what we need to remember (assuming Celtic win the semi) is 3rd and 4th are both decent outcomes. 5th really isnt, because it doesn’t give you guaranteed group stage, where the real money is. History tells us the Scottish team that finishes 5th will probably get emptied before the group stage.

So we can’t afford to slip up to the point that BOTH Aberdeen and Utd overtake us.

DIXIHIBS
20-04-2025, 12:42 PM
Yea it is.

And what we need to remember (assuming Celtic win the semi) is 3rd and 4th are both decent outcomes. 5th really isnt, because it doesn’t give you guaranteed group stage, where the real money is. History tells us the Scottish team that finishes 5th will probably get emptied before the group stage.

So we can’t afford to slip up to the point that BOTH Aberdeen and Utd overtake us.

Probably already been covered but surely 4th doesn't guarantee group stage?

20-04-2025, 12:55 PM
Probably already been covered but surely 4th doesn't guarantee group stage?

It doesn’t under any circumstances. There’s only one group stage guarantee (other than Celtic with the UCL). That is the cup winner that gets that. If Celtic win the cup, that goes to the third place. Without the Celtic cup winner, third gets Europa League second qualifying round. If Celtic win the cup, 4th gets the Europa second qualifying round that third would normally get.

davhibby
20-04-2025, 01:04 PM
It doesn’t under any circumstances. There’s only one group stage guarantee (other than Celtic with the UCL). That is the cup winner that gets that. If Celtic win the cup, that goes to the third place. Without the Celtic cup winner, third gets Europa League second qualifying round. If Celtic win the cup, 4th gets the Europa second qualifying round that third would normally get.

4th still gives you a decent chance though. 2 wins from 3 ties and if you can win the first tie you’d probably be seeded for the Conference League playoff if you lost the 3rd round

20-04-2025, 01:06 PM

All well and good, but if we start the next season like we did this one, Hibs will be another Scottish clun emptied out of Europe early doors.

bringbackbenny
20-04-2025, 01:08 PM
This site explains all the permutations. Not easy to follow but you eventually get there!

https://kassiesa.net/uefa/AccessList2025.html

20-04-2025, 01:13 PM
What a shame hearts missed the cut
5th would still have been a stretch even if they'd scraped in. So near, and yet so far 😁

20-04-2025, 01:18 PM

Paul I liked the rest of your post but in my view we need to win all of Buddies and Sheep away and Arabs at home to go into our last game against the Cream Buns in an unassailable position.

20-04-2025, 01:37 PM
Paul I liked the rest of your post but in my view we need to win all of Buddies and Sheep away and Arabs at home to go into our last game against the Cream Buns in an unassailable position.

I don’t know why everyone is getting so hung up on third…

We win every game and The Rangers lose every game and we’re off to the champions league 🤩

21-04-2025, 12:21 AM

We win every game and The Rangers lose every game and we’re off to the champions league 🤩

Pit the bong doon, that's long enough.....:greengrin

21-04-2025, 01:25 PM
https://x.com/alanftemple/status/1914258200297197982?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

Good article in the Dundee Courier about permutations that should explain it all pretty clearly.

21-04-2025, 01:54 PM
All if's, but's and maybe's I know but if we had one all of our games in October last year instead of losing 2 and drawing two we'd only be 3 points behind Sevco and they would be sh*****g in their pantaloons. Imagine their terror at the thought of no Champions League :greengrin

21-04-2025, 02:10 PM
https://x.com/alanftemple/status/1914258200297197982?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

Good article in the Dundee Courier about permutations that should explain it all pretty clearly.

Thanks for sharing
Just need to get 3rd and wait for Cup Final Day for a Celtic win

21-04-2025, 03:08 PM
All if's, but's and maybe's I know but if we had one all of our games in October last year instead of losing 2 and drawing two we'd only be 3 points behind Sevco and they would be sh*****g in their pantaloons. Imagine their terror at the thought of no Champions League :greengrin

We don't have to imagine that, we can just watch them lose in the qualifiers. :greengrin

It is also just possible for the 2nd place team in Scotland to miss out on group stage football if they lose their first CL qualifier. They'd drop to the 3rd qualifying round of the Europa League and if the lost that, the Conference League play off round. Lose that and yer oot.

The Huns should have a good enough seeding to get through at least one of those rounds but it would be hilarious!

BS44
21-04-2025, 04:36 PM
All the dates for Europa and Conference, if everything goes the way we all hope in the league

https://x.com/scottmillar1/status/1914333989784944876?s=48

Hibspur
21-04-2025, 04:43 PM
Truly underlines the scale of the turnaround that as recently as November we'd have been happy to avoid a relegation battle and now we're going to feel a bit deflated if we don't finish third.

We're clearly good enough to finish the job, so fingers crossed we can get this over the line.

Silversand
21-04-2025, 06:57 PM
All the dates for Europa and Conference, if everything goes the way we all hope in the league

https://x.com/scottmillar1/status/1914333989784944876?s=48The Europa League 1st leg playoff match, Aug 21st, is the same night as AC/DC Murrayfield

Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk

Mcbizz1998
21-04-2025, 07:03 PM
The Europa League 1st leg playoff match, Aug 21st, is the same night as AC/DC Murrayfield

Oh dear, I and several from our season ticket group have tickets for AC/DC. Hopefully we are away first leg.

21-04-2025, 07:04 PM
The Europa League 1st leg playoff match, Aug 21st, is the same night as AC/DC Murrayfield

And it’s during the festival… If you thought the Festival was busy enough 🤪

21-04-2025, 07:39 PM
Oh dear, I and several from our season ticket group have tickets for AC/DC. Hopefully we are away first leg.

Hells bells.
Im literally thunderstruck by that news

21-04-2025, 07:40 PM
Hells bells.

Good grief. :greengrin

21-04-2025, 08:01 PM
Hells bells.

That's because you're a Problem Child.

21-04-2025, 08:18 PM
That's because you're a Problem Child.

:agree: riff raff

DIXIHIBS
21-04-2025, 08:25 PM
:agree: riff raff

That's a touch too much...

21-04-2025, 09:35 PM
That's a touch too much...

At least he's not beating around the bush.

21-04-2025, 10:00 PM
At least he's not beating around the bush.

Someone should be but not me though, too old for that nonsense.

21-04-2025, 10:49 PM

A Complete/Diary Clash.
It’s just a Rock n Roll Damnation but given the ticket price, Murrayfield it’ll have to be.

HibbyDave
22-04-2025, 09:58 AM
We can all take beach balls and wear sombreros to the final derby this season………….

Oh wait😂

He's here!
22-04-2025, 11:02 AM
The Europa League 1st leg playoff match, Aug 21st, is the same night as AC/DC MurrayfieldSent from my SM-S928B using TapatalkIf anyone's got any spare AC/DC tickets let me know. My son was well hacked off to miss out.

Crazyhorse
22-04-2025, 12:03 PM
We can all take beach balls and wear sombreros to the final derby this season………….

Oh wait😂

Big balls?

22-04-2025, 12:19 PM
AC/DC? Not spending that kind of money, I can get a headache for free just listening to the wife.

22-04-2025, 12:28 PM

AC/DC at Murrayfield

AC/Milan in the Leith San Siro

22-04-2025, 12:49 PM
If it's a policing/stewarding issue we might get moved to the Wednesday if we're drawn at home

22-04-2025, 07:22 PM
AC/DC? Not spending that kind of money, I can get a headache for free just listening to the wife.

If she's nagging at you night and day and you want her gone then it sounds like you want dirty deeds done dirt cheap.

22-04-2025, 07:30 PM
If it's a policing/stewarding issue we might get moved to the Wednesday if we're drawn at home

Was this a hidden track :dunno:

22-04-2025, 07:43 PM
If anyone's got any spare AC/DC tickets let me know. My son was well hacked off to miss out.

Tell him to save his money and watch the real thing on youtube.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=n0y_s_uuVZQ&pp=ygURYWNkYyBnbGFzZ293IDE5Nzg%3D

JasonC1875
25-04-2025, 01:12 PM
https://x.com/footrankings/status/1915434809830014998?s=46

Updated projected pots for Conference League

Thatdayinmay16
25-04-2025, 01:28 PM

Borussia Dortmund:pray:

25-04-2025, 01:29 PM
Cmon MALLORCA!!!!!!

Billy Bunter 07
25-04-2025, 01:38 PM
The excitement begins.

It's the final countdown.

Posh Swanny
25-04-2025, 01:44 PM

Just imagine...

Hibs vs Bournemouth in the final game of the group stage. They've already qualified and Hibs need a point to go through. :stirrer:

Paul1642
25-04-2025, 05:52 PM
Just imagine...

Hibs vs Bournemouth in the final game of the group stage. They've already qualified and Hibs need a point to go through. :stirrer:

Whilst I like the BKs involvement with Hibs, this hypothetical situation is exactly why multi club ownership is an issue in terms of sporting integrity.

Now take the same situation but we both need the point to qualify. Our own co-owners would be willing us to loose.

Nevi_SOL
25-04-2025, 06:28 PM
Cmon MALLORCA!!!!!!

That would be incredible. 8k Hibs fans in Magaluf 😂

Paul1642
25-04-2025, 06:52 PM

7-8 points done the job this season. I don’t think it’s remotely beyond our ability to get through the groups (although let’s confirm getting there first 😂 )

cubehindthegoal
25-04-2025, 07:16 PM
Celtic will thump that Aberdeen team in the final.

I’ll thump them if they don’t.

Ok, I won’t.

cubehindthegoal
25-04-2025, 07:22 PM

Totally brilliant mate 🤣 Call me crazy, but I’ve just gone and booked hotel for the final tonight based on that. Going to get expensive closer to the date ..

cubehindthegoal
25-04-2025, 07:27 PM

If Hibs get AC/DC in the draw then, totally sorted home and away. Can use my bus pass to both.

03-05-2025, 05:32 PM
Heard someone say after the game today we can’t finish any lower than fourth now.

Am I right in saying that’s not correct, I know the numbers get complicated slightly by the fact teams all play each other but I think we could still technically finish 5th?

03-05-2025, 05:34 PM
Heard someone say after the game today we can’t finish any lower than fourth now.

Am I right in saying that’s not correct, I know the numbers get complicated slightly by the fact teams all play each other but I think we could still technically finish 5th?

Not sure about technically but there's no chance United are finishing above us now. We're effectively 7 points ahead of them with 3 games to play, they're not winning all 3 games.

Paul1642
03-05-2025, 05:35 PM

I think you’re correct that we can still finish 5th.

Hibs pick up 0 points take us to 56pts
Aberdeen beat old firm takes them to 59pts
Dundee United win all three games = 59pts

LewysGot2
03-05-2025, 05:39 PM
Not sure about technically but there's no chance United are finishing above us now. We're effectively 7 points ahead of them with 3 games to play, they're not winning all 3 games.

Yup, pretty much this. And one of the games they play the Sheep…a nice head to head where one or both will lose points. :agree:

Hibees1973
03-05-2025, 05:39 PM
Can anyone send a link with the updated projection pots for Europe.

I like looking at them :hyper

Paul1642
03-05-2025, 05:41 PM

I second this. My favourite light reading these last few weeks :)

Today’s the first day it feels really close to happening for me.

03-05-2025, 05:42 PM

https://x.com/footrankings/status/1918620847306055924?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

That’s the most recent one from earlier on today.

Paul1642
03-05-2025, 05:43 PM
https://x.com/footrankings/status/1918620847306055924?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

We’re up to pot 5! Wonder what changed.

03-05-2025, 05:47 PM
We’re up to pot 5! Wonder what changed.

People in charge realised we are ****ing magic I presume.

03-05-2025, 05:48 PM
Where are we going? Is it nice?

Paul1642
03-05-2025, 05:50 PM
How does the draw work? There’s only 6 pots but you also play 6 games.

03-05-2025, 06:01 PM

Hope it's somewhere better than France

03-05-2025, 06:05 PM

They've qualified for the champions league

Hibees1973
03-05-2025, 07:08 PM

Nice one bingo70.

Trips to Rome (Lazio), Vienna (Rapid) & Pamplona (Osasuna) would be tremendous.

After today, I'm getting a wee bit excited, but not carried away.

03-05-2025, 07:15 PM
Nice one bingo70.

Trips to Rome (Lazio), Vienna (Rapid) & Pamplona (Osasuna) would be tremendous.

After today, I'm getting a wee bit excited, but not carried away.

If Hibs manage to get stages in Europe - reckon tickets will be gold dust for home and away games. Important to get a Season ticket to at least get a chance to see the games.

HibeeMackenzie
03-05-2025, 07:16 PM
How does the draw work? There’s only 6 pots but you also play 6 games.

You play one team from each pot including your own

03-05-2025, 07:20 PM
Whilst I like the BKs involvement with Hibs, this hypothetical situation is exactly why multi club ownership is an issue in terms of sporting integrity.

Now take the same situation but we both need the point to qualify. Our own co-owners would be willing us to loose.

Easy draw no 😂

yonder1875
03-05-2025, 09:00 PM
Forgive my naivety but what’s the script if we finish third? Is it Europa League playoff qualifier and at the minimum group stage Conference League football?

And how would Aberdeen winning the cup affect that?

03-05-2025, 09:03 PM
Forgive my naivety but what’s the script if we finish third? Is it Europa League playoff qualifier and at the minimum group stage Conference League football?

I'm still confused as to what happens in that scenario or what happens If we finish outside the top 3? I'm sure it's been explained to me several times 😅

03-05-2025, 09:07 PM

You are correct.

If Aberdeen win the cup we’d go into the Europa league 2nd qualifying round.
If we lose in the qualifiers you drop into the next stage of the conference qualifiers.

03-05-2025, 09:15 PM
You are correct.

If Aberdeen win the cup we’d go into the Europa league 2nd qualifying round.
If we lose in the qualifiers you drop into the next stage of the conference qualifiers.

So if we finish 3rd and Aberdeen win the cup, we’d still have two chances to try and get group stage football. Europa league and then down to the conference league?

If we finish third and Celtic win the cup we have one attempt to get into the Europa league but if we lose we drop down to the conference league group stages?

03-05-2025, 09:15 PM
So if we finish 3rd and Aberdeen win the cup, we’d still have two chances to try and get group stage football. Europa league and then down to the conference league?

If we finish third and Celtic win the cup we have one attempt to get into the Europa league but if we lose we drop down to the conference league group stages?

Spot on, aye.

If Aberdeen win the Cup we'd need to win Europa League second qualifying round, third qualifying round and then the play off round. So six games. Lose any of those and you drop down into the relevant Conference League qualification stage.

Celtic win the Cup we enter at the Europa League play-off round. So a two leg tie. Lose that and it's Conference League group stages.

03-05-2025, 09:17 PM

Yep.
In the example where Aberdeen win the cup we’d have -
2nd Q round
3rd Q round
Playoff

To get to group stages.

But say we got beat in the Europa league 3rd qualifying round, we’d go into the conference league playoff.

Hibees1973
04-05-2025, 07:18 AM
My understanding if we finish 5th.

We go into the Conference League qualifying stages, the lower rated European competition.

Likely have to play in three ties. 2 qualifying rounds and a play-off round. My hunch is that if we finish 5th it is highly unlikely we will get through to the League phase proper as in the play-off round we will come across a biggie, it was Aston Villa last time we tried to get to the League stage. If we lose this play-off round we are out. If we manage to get through to the Conference League phase we have 6 European games until Christmas.

Finish 4th we are in the Europa League. A couple of qualifying rounds and a play-off round. Highly unlikely to get through, with no fall into the Conference League if we lose any tie.

So we have to finish 3rd and Celtic win the cup for guaranteed European games until Christmas. In doing this we qualify for the Europa League and straight into a play-off round. Win this, we are in the Europa League phase proper with 8 games against some serious opposition. We may be out of our depth. Lose the Europa League play-off round we drop into the Conference League the 6 games until Christmas. Conference League games are more winable with a chance of a knock out tie over two legs after Christmas. Do this we can fill in the corners at Easter Road and install a helipad. :greengrin

04-05-2025, 07:30 AM

We go into the Conference League qualifying stages, the lower rated European competition.

Likely have to play in three ties. 2 qualifying rounds and a play-off round. My hunch is that if we finish 5th it is highly unlikely we will get through to the League phase proper as in the play-off round we will come across a biggie, it was Aston Villa last time we tried to get to the group stages. If we lose this play-off round we are out. If we manage to get through to the Conference League phase we have 6 European games until Christmas.

Finish 4th we are in the Europa League. A couple of qualifying rounds and a play-off round. Highly unlikely to get through, will not fall into the Conference League.

So we have to finish 3rd and Celtic win the cup for guaranteed European games until Christmas. In doing this we qualify for the Europa League and straight into a play-off round. Win this, we are in the Europa League phase stages proper with 8 games against some serious opposition. We may be out of our depth. Lose the Europa League play-off round we drop into the Conference League with the 6 games until Christmas. Conference League games are more winable with a chance of a knock out tie over two legs after Christmas. Do this we can fill in the corners at Easter Road and install a helipad. :greengrin

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250504/bba0ac15306eef78dc36b91245b039cd.png

3rd place (Aberdeen win cup) - 2nd qualifying round Europa league
3rd Place (Celtic win cup) Europa play off

4th place - 2nd qualifying round Europa league
Unless Aberdeen win the cup and come 5th. Then 4th would be 2nd qualifying round of Conference league

Hibees1973
05-05-2025, 08:19 PM
Came across this on some UEFA website. List of clubs who qualified for the European club competitions for the 2025/26 season after this weekend's domestic games. Obviously we don't know which competiton yet, but very nice to see.

And there we are. Among some giants and familiar foes we have played previously.

Get yer sun tan lotion and beach balls oot.

The following teams have qualified for European club competitions for the 2025/26 season, and can still qualify for the UECL: Arsenal (https://www.flashscore.com/team/arsenal/hA1Zm19f/) (England), Manchester City (https://www.flashscore.com/team/manchester-city/Wtn9Stg0/) (England), Newcastle (https://www.flashscore.com/team/newcastle-utd/p6ahwuwJ/) (England), Chelsea (https://www.flashscore.com/team/chelsea/4fGZN2oK/) (England), Villarreal (https://www.flashscore.com/team/villarreal/lUatW5jE/) (Spain), Real Betis (https://www.flashscore.com/team/betis/vJbTeCGP/) (Spain), Eintracht Frankfurt (https://www.flashscore.com/team/eintracht-frankfurt/8vndvXTk/) (Germany), Viktoria Plzen (https://www.flashscore.com/team/plzen/2LA0e86b/) (Czechia), Hibernian (https://www.flashscore.com/team/hibernian/f5Fnxcx4/) (Scotland), AEK Athens (https://www.flashscore.com/team/aek/ANpZncAM/) (Greece), PAOK (https://www.flashscore.com/team/paok/Kry6HxA9/) (Greece), Sturm Graz (https://www.flashscore.com/team/sturm-graz/zsktjfsD/) (Austria), Austria Wien (https://www.flashscore.com/team/austria-vienna/lvnOzIkE/) (Austria), Hapoel Be'er Sheva (https://www.flashscore.com/team/h-beer-sheva/EXAD1YZP/) (Israel), Maccabi Haifa (https://www.flashscore.com/team/maccabi-haifa/zVucZzyE/) (Israel), Maccabi Tel Aviv (https://www.flashscore.com/team/maccabi-tel-aviv/req5XE5Q/) (Israel), Dynamo Kyiv (https://www.flashscore.com/team/dynamo-kyiv/nNpqXMwH/) (Ukraine), Oleksandriya (https://www.flashscore.com/team/oleksandriya/nHJnN4vh/) (Ukraine), Shakhtar Donetsk (https://www.flashscore.com/team/shakhtar/4ENWX2OA/) (Ukraine), Partizan Belgrade (https://www.flashscore.com/team/partizan/8OLvlKz0/) (Serbia), Dinamo Zagreb (https://www.flashscore.com/team/din-zagreb/8G5ufQTg/) (Croatia), Hajduk Split (https://www.flashscore.com/team/hajduk-split/2w5qgpq0/) (Croatia), Rijeka (https://www.flashscore.com/team/rijeka/zXKuUR5J/) (Croatia), Rakow Czestochowa (https://www.flashscore.com/team/rakow-czestochowa/SQOrbYim/) (Poland), Lech Poznan (https://www.flashscore.com/team/lech-poznan/OpNH7Ouf/) (Poland), Aris Limassol (https://www.flashscore.com/team/aris-limassol/tINNchXL/) (Cyprus), Puskas Academy (https://www.flashscore.com/team/puskas-academy/2m24xZpe/) (Hungary), Ferencvaros (https://www.flashscore.com/team/ferencvaros/pKS9M7R7/) (Hungary), Hammarby (https://www.flashscore.com/team/hammarby/SQsg3nME/) (Sweden), Zira (https://www.flashscore.com/team/zira-fk/4CQ5BXNJ/) (Azerbaijan), Olimpija Ljubljana (https://www.flashscore.com/team/o-ljubljana/hr3HR5OR/) (Slovenia), Maribor (https://www.flashscore.com/team/maribor/6ycYQFJU/) (Slovenia), Milsami Orhei (https://www.flashscore.com/team/milsami/2HA76NHc/) (Moldova), Ilves (https://www.flashscore.com/team/ilves/pYGmWmwa/) (Finland), Drogheda United (https://www.flashscore.com/team/drogheda/b9MAm71N/) (Ireland), Noah (https://www.flashscore.com/team/noah/IeATrtcs/) (Armenia), Ararat-Armenia (https://www.flashscore.com/team/ararat-armenia/xlT9cL89/) (Armenia), Zrinjski (https://www.flashscore.com/team/zrinjski/0C6tPiIc/) (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Borac Banja Luka (https://www.flashscore.com/team/borac-banja-luka/pWGUPhrD/) (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Birkirkara (https://www.flashscore.com/team/birkirkara/Wj5d6e4h/) (Malta), Egnatia (https://www.flashscore.com/team/kf-egnatia/CjYs7BO9/) (Albania), Vllaznia (https://www.flashscore.com/team/vllaznia/0OGo7WXG/) (Albania), Partizani Tirana (https://www.flashscore.com/team/partizani/IFgZ7CIA/) (Albania), Shkendija (https://www.flashscore.com/team/shkendija-tetovo/je0pik4r/) (North Macedonia), Sileks (https://www.flashscore.com/team/sileks/OOOcul3J/) (North Macedonia).

05-05-2025, 08:22 PM
https://x.com/footrankings/status/1912868244383220093?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

Interesting looking at the projected Europa league playoff round seeded and unseeded teams.

Few tough potential fixtures in there!

05-05-2025, 08:30 PM
https://x.com/footrankings/status/1912868244383220093?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

Interesting looking at the projected Europa league playoff round seeded and unseeded teams.

There was a lot of chat when Hearts got an opportunity for Europa league or Europa Conference- basically more chance of winning games in the conference league and progressing. More wins could even mean more money ?? Realistically we wouldn’t win many in Europa league but win 3 games out of 6 in conference league and in the large league table that would get you another playoff game. 2 wins may also get you through too. So basically home games are massively important to win and get through.

Someone correct me if that’s wrong.

05-05-2025, 08:34 PM

Never mind that, there’s some cracking trips in there!

Hibees1973
05-05-2025, 08:35 PM

Nothing to be frightened of there bingo.

05-05-2025, 08:38 PM
There was a lot of chat when Hearts got an opportunity for Europa league or Europa Conference- basically more chance of winning games in the conference league and progressing. More wins could even mean more money ?? Realistically we wouldn’t win many in Europa league but win 3 games out of 6 in conference league and in the large league table that would get you another playoff game. 2 wins may also get you through too. So basically home games are massively important to win and get through.

Someone correct me if that’s wrong.

Yeah, they were discussing that on the long bangers podcast a couple of weeks back.

As you say, there’s more guaranteed money in the Europa league but more winnable games in the conference league so the games you win will equal it out,

I’d personally like us to get the Europa league, forgetting the money I think you should always want to push yourself against the best you can do. More chance of big teams in the Europa, it would also mean we’ve won a play off game against a really top side, that’s the sort of thing that you remember forever.

05-05-2025, 08:42 PM
Yeah, they were discussing that on the long bangers podcast a couple of weeks back.

As you say, there’s more guaranteed money in the Europa league but more winnable games in the conference league so the games you win will equal it out,

I’d personally like us to get the Europa league, forgetting the money I think you should always want to push yourself against the best you can do. More chance of big teams in the Europa, it would also mean we’ve won a play off game against a really top side, that’s the sort of thing that you remember forever.

Of course - aim high.

If we finish 3rd and Celtic win cup we then would have 8 games minimum in Europe then ? Is that correct ? 1 play off over 2 legs and 6 group games ? So x4 home and x4 away.

EH54
05-05-2025, 08:44 PM

Europa also has two extra games one obviously being at home.

maybe wrong but I’m sure Conference is 6 group games Europa being 8.

I understand the logic of it but I would love to see us in the Europa.

05-05-2025, 08:45 PM
Europa also has two extra games one obviously being at home.

I understand the logic of it but I would love to see us in the Europa.

No contest for me. You want to be in the better competition. With 8 games to play you’d be guaranteed some really big teams that would be once in a generation type opportunities.

05-05-2025, 08:53 PM
Of course - aim high.

If we finish 3rd and Celtic win cup we then would have 8 games minimum in Europe then ? Is that correct ? 1 play off over 2 legs and 6 group games ? So x4 home and x4 away.

Getting out the conference league group is very doable if you get a favourable draw.

Hibees1973
05-05-2025, 08:55 PM

If you are in the Europa League phase you have 8 league games to play (4 home/4 away). If you are in the Conference League phase you play 6 games (3 home/3 away).

If we finish 3rd and Celtic win the cup we will have a Europa League play-off second leg on 28 August, which is probably only a couple of days before the transfer window closes.

Depending on which tournament we are in, may go some way to determine how much money we spend in the transfer window.

05-05-2025, 08:58 PM
So if we qualified for the Europa league we would play 10 games including the 2 legged play off, that would be tremendous

05-05-2025, 09:01 PM
So is it possibly 10 games minimum if we got into Europa league..winning a playoff tie (home and away) and the 8 group games.

8 games minimum if we end up in Conference league - but easier chance to progress and win games.

You can see why these European competitions put a strain on a smaller squads with Scottish teams and league form.

We need to get another league win this season and feel like we could pretty much be there - everything crossed we could do it ideally before the Huns visit and we can have a final day celebration / appreciation/ send off for the squad in a sold out Easter Road.

06-05-2025, 12:03 AM

Likely have to play in three ties. 2 qualifying rounds and a play-off round. My hunch is that if we finish 5th it is highly unlikely we will get through to the League phase proper as in the play-off round we will come across a biggie, it was Aston Villa last time we tried to get to the League stage. If we lose this play-off round we are out. If we manage to get through to the Conference League phase we have 6 European games until Christmas.

Finish 4th we are in the Europa League. A couple of qualifying rounds and a play-off round. Highly unlikely to get through, with no fall into the Conference League if we lose any tie.

So we have to finish 3rd and Celtic win the cup for guaranteed European games until Christmas. In doing this we qualify for the Europa League and straight into a play-off round. Win this, we are in the Europa League phase proper with 8 games against some serious opposition. We may be out of our depth. Lose the Europa League play-off round we drop into the Conference League the 6 games until Christmas. Conference League games are more winable with a chance of a knock out tie over two legs after Christmas. Do this we can fill in the corners at Easter Road and install a helipad. :greengrin

If we finish fourth then we play Europa League qualifiers, if we lose then we drop down to Conference League qualifiers

JasonC1875
06-05-2025, 03:48 PM
https://x.com/footrankings/status/1919776580336775383?s=46

Latest update on projected pots

Green Man
06-05-2025, 04:51 PM

For potential away ties, Malmö or Brøndby would be ideal.

06-05-2025, 04:54 PM

Leipzig away would be good.

06-05-2025, 05:06 PM
For potential away ties, Malmö or Brøndby would be ideal.

We've already been there, i'd like someone different and sunny. :greengrin

06-05-2025, 05:07 PM
We've already been there, i'd like someone different and sunny. :greengrin

They were both sunny the last time we played them, maybe you can’t remember it😂

06-05-2025, 05:09 PM
They were both sunny the last time we played them, maybe you can’t remember it😂
True. :greengrin

Paul1642
06-05-2025, 05:12 PM

Top 5 of the potential away trips of most like to see based on a mixture of footballing reasons and location would be:

Rayo Vallecano (Madrid)

Panathinaikos (Athens)

LASK (Linz, Austria)

Vitória S.C. (Portugal)

Lazio

AltheHibby
09-05-2025, 08:24 AM
I just found this on Twitter. I like how it mentions our European legacy.

https://x.com/UEFAObscura/status/1920184149689675948?t=NYDGqSSOa1rAoetS6ogeIA&s=19

09-05-2025, 09:32 AM
Top 5 of the potential away trips of most like to see based on a mixture of footballing reasons and location would be:

Rayo Vallecano (Madrid)

Panathinaikos (Athens)

LASK (Linz, Austria)

Vitória S.C. (Portugal)

Lazio

Take any of those but Lazio would be awesome. Rome is amazing, stadium is huge so we'd all get in no bother.

09-05-2025, 09:52 AM
Take any of those but Lazio would be awesome. Rome is amazing, stadium is huge so we'd all get in no bother.

Plus when we play pro-fascist teams in light blue (yes I'm looking at you Rangers) we tend to win 3-2:flag:

09-05-2025, 09:52 AM

If we got a European away trip to Rome and the Olimpico I'd think I'd died and gone to heaven

09-05-2025, 10:00 AM

Check our coefficient score.....it's a sign!

09-05-2025, 10:12 AM
Check our coefficient score.....it's a sign!

😁

hibby67
09-05-2025, 10:15 AM

I would take another crack at AEK Athens not only are they the lowest seeded team I feel we should have beat them last time we played them .. still think about Paco Luna’s header at the back post in the dying minutes of normal time

09-05-2025, 10:16 AM

Rayo Vallecano (Madrid)

Panathinaikos (Athens)

LASK (Linz, Austria)

Vitória S.C. (Portugal)

Lazio

Nazio would be an awful trip. Not only are their fans right wing roasters, they're very, very stabby.

I'd love a trip away to royal antwerp personally.

09-05-2025, 10:17 AM
Great info.

Question if all planets align, would we be seeded or unseeded in Europa qualifier?

09-05-2025, 10:21 AM
Great info.

Question if all planets align, would we be seeded or unseeded in Europa qualifier?

Very much unseeded. The seedings are mostly based on a club's indivdual performance with a 20% baseline from the country rankings.

https://kassiesa.net/uefa/data/method5/trank2025.html

09-05-2025, 10:22 AM

Getting one over the jambo roasters that are Union SG would be nice. :greengrin

Edit: Surprised Qarabag would be unseeded. They've had a few good runs in recent years. Zoubir is still there I think.

Paulie Walnuts
09-05-2025, 10:47 AM

I don’t know why but that’s quite a disappointing list imo. Only a small handful of teams in there I’d be excited about going away to so the chances of drawing them for an away tie are slim.

Hopefully some movement in other leagues. Mallorca qualifying would be nice, Hibs away in Magaluf :greengrin

09-05-2025, 11:20 AM
Nazio would be an awful trip. Not only are their fans right wing roasters, they're very, very stabby.

I'd love a trip away to royal antwerp personally.

I love Rome, but I wouldnt want to be in a away support there. Call me a big jessie if you want but its a bit too stabby for me.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2025/jan/23/shameful-rome-mayor-dismayed-after-lazio-thugs-attack-real-sociedad-fans

09-05-2025, 11:25 AM
Based on those pots it would be possible to get

Lazio
Panathenaikos
Poznan
Bournemouth
Brondby

Some ties in there

09-05-2025, 11:40 AM
if you are wondering about where we finish and what it brings us - get yer head round this !

https://kassiesa.net/uefa/files/2024-27-uefa-club-competitions-scheme.png

for 25/26 Scotland is the 11th ranked nation - keys here

So that means 3rd in league (Celtic win cup) =
Europa League play off game, if we lose that entry to Conference league group stage

3rd in league Dons win cup =
Europa LeagueEL-Q2 round, if we lose that entry to Conference league Q3 round

4th in league cup winners irrelevant =

5th in league cup winner Celtic =
Entry to Conference league Q2 round

I THINK!!!!

09-05-2025, 11:42 AM
I love Rome, but I wouldnt want to be in a away support there. Call me a big jessie if you want but its a bit too stabby for me.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2025/jan/23/shameful-rome-mayor-dismayed-after-lazio-thugs-attack-real-sociedad-fans

There are some places I just don't particularly fancy going to be an away fan in. Rome and Istanbul are an immediate two that spring to mind.

09-05-2025, 12:06 PM
if you are wondering about where we finish and what it brings us - get yer head round this !

Europa League play off game, if we lose that entry to Conference league group stage

Entry to Conference league Q3 round

I THINK!!!!

If we finish 4th we get the same as 3rd and Dons win cup.

09-05-2025, 12:15 PM
Based on those pots it would be possible to get

Lazio
Panathenaikos
Poznan
Bournemouth
Brondby

Some ties in there

Some possible doings as well. La2io and Bournemouth would give me the fear to be honest. If we make the group stages of either competition the downside will be the strain playing these games will put on our squad, there's no doubt St Mirren, Killie and Hearts all suffered as a result. I've already seen folk talking about some of our players looking 'leggy' in the last few games and that's on the back of a season with no European football and no long run in either cup.

It is what it is though and doings and knackered players aside, it would be great to see this club finally make a European group stage.

Chorley Hibee
09-05-2025, 12:18 PM
Drawing an Israeli club might be interesting. 👀

09-05-2025, 12:18 PM
I don’t know why but that’s quite a disappointing list imo. Only a small handful of teams in there I’d be excited about going away to so the chances of drawing them for an away tie are slim.

Hopefully some movement in other leagues. Mallorca qualifying would be nice, Hibs away in Magaluf :greengrin

Really? Some brilliant trips in there. A few big teams and lots of more obscure destinations too. The more obscure the better. This has me VERY excited.

09-05-2025, 12:47 PM

Hibs fans crack me up - potential for 4 away games till Xmas!

Would rather anywhere in Europe away than some league cup trip to some lower league team like this season.

DIXIHIBS
09-05-2025, 12:58 PM

Would rather anywhere in Europe away than some league cup trip to some lower league team like this season.

Exactly. Having travelled a fair bit with Scotland over the last 25 years, sometimes the least obvious trips are the best. All better than Dumbarton in the league cup!!

09-05-2025, 01:10 PM

correct!

Thatdayinmay16
09-05-2025, 01:17 PM

Eh?

Lazio, Leipzig, Alkmaar, Lyon, Istanbul Basaksheir, Bournemouth, Antwerp, Poznan, Vittoria S.C, Besiktas, Malmo, Panathanikos, Brondby, Dinamo Minsk & Rayo Vallecano are not disappointing potential ties.

09-05-2025, 01:17 PM

Entry to Conference league Q3 round

I THINK!!!!

Not exact but nearly. :greengrin

4th in league, cup winner isn't irrelevant.

If we are 4th and the Dons are 3rd, the ranking is Celtc - Huns - Dons - Us - Utd, whoever wins the cup.
If we are 4th, the Dons win the cup and United are 3rd (unlikely), then the ranking is Celtc - Huns - Dons - Utd - Us
If we are 4th, Celtc win the cup and United are 3rd, it's Celtc - Huns - Utd - Us - Dons
If we are 5th the cup winner is irrelevant.

09-05-2025, 01:18 PM

correct!

Yeah I’ve removed Dundee Utd from the equation to save head space!

Hibees1973
09-05-2025, 01:21 PM

I THINK!!!!

If we are in the Conference League qualifying round 3, or even worse qualifying round 2, our chances of reaching the League stages are very slim. Likely to come across a biggie in the play-off round.

09-05-2025, 01:22 PM

I’ve been at a game in the Olympic stadium too
Inside and outside the ground there’s loads of violence

09-05-2025, 01:22 PM
Eh?

Lazio, Leipzig, Alkmaar, Lyon, Istanbul Basaksheir, Bournemouth, Antwerp, Poznan, Vittoria S.C, Besiktas, Malmo, Panathanikos, Brondby, Dinamo Minsk & Rayo Vallecano are not disappointing potential ties.

Bournemouth is a bit meh and Minsk aren't allowed to play at home (sanctions on Belarus). Everything else. :aok:

Thatdayinmay16
09-05-2025, 01:29 PM
Bournemouth is a bit meh and Minsk aren't allowed to play at home (sanctions on Belarus). Everything else. :aok:

Where do Minsk play European games now? Must be better than Belarus

09-05-2025, 01:36 PM
Where do Minsk play European games now? Must be better than Belarus

The international team have been playing in Hungary but we're still waiting to hear where the Scotland game in September will be played. There's also been no fans at their games, although the SFA are trying to get some Scotland fans to the game, wherever it's played. Hearts played Dynamo Minsk in Azerbaijan. Not many countries are pally with Belarus at the moment so options are limited.

I'd love to get back to Minsk.....one of my favourite Scotland away trips ever.

09-05-2025, 01:40 PM
Exactly. Having travelled a fair bit with Scotland over the last 25 years, sometimes the least obvious trips are the best. All better than Dumbarton in the league cup!!

Agreed....anywhere with 'stan' in the name is the dream trip :wink:

09-05-2025, 01:40 PM

If Bournemouth and Hibs both qualify, I'm assuming there will be changes that need to be made re BKFC?

Judging by what happened with Man City/Girona and Man City/Nice this year, it looks like Foley and Caswell would need to resign from our board, we couldn't transfer players between the two clubs and we couldn't share data through player databases, etc.

Hibees1973
09-05-2025, 01:48 PM
Drawing an Israeli club might be interesting. 👀

If away, will be played in a neutral (Poland or Hungary, at a guess), near empty stadium.

One to avoid.

Thatdayinmay16
09-05-2025, 01:50 PM
The international team have been playing in Hungary but we're still waiting to hear where the Scotland game in September will be played. There's also been no fans at their games, although the SFA are trying to get some Scotland fans to the game, wherever it's played. Hearts played Dynamo Minsk in Azerbaijan. Not many countries are pally with Belarus at the moment so options are limited.

I'd love to get back to Minsk.....one of my favourite Scotland away trips ever.

I'd be more than happy if we played Minsk in Hungary, that's a great trip. Heard Hungary is a beautiful country and certainly one I'd be happy to tick off the list.

09-05-2025, 01:50 PM
If Bournemouth and Hibs both qualify, I'm assuming there will be changes that need to be made re BKFC?

Judging by what happened with Man City/Girona and Man City/Nice this year, it looks like Foley and Caswell would need to resign from our board, we couldn't transfer players between the two clubs and we couldn't share data through player databases, etc.

Are we not ok because it's a less than 30% stake?

Thatdayinmay16
09-05-2025, 01:52 PM
Are we not ok because it's a less than 30% stake?

I don't think United & Nice could have been drawn together in the EL due to Ratcliffe owning Nice and only having 27.8% or something at united.

Could be wrong though.

Stairway 2 7
09-05-2025, 01:53 PM

Sure they would work it out, RB Leipzig and Salzburg have played each other in Europe a few times

Stairway 2 7
09-05-2025, 01:55 PM

Bournemouth would be a nightmare to get tickets but if it was one of the earlier games it could be a good trip. Jolly boys outings on the bus, drinking on the pier and a wee win on the 2p puggys

09-05-2025, 02:15 PM
If we get beat tomorrow and Dundee utd beat St.Mirren it's both of us on 53 points ? They then have Aberdeen and Rangers whilst we have St.mirren and Rangers no danger is 3rd place done and dusted

Chorley Hibee
09-05-2025, 02:17 PM
If we get beat tomorrow and Dundee utd beat St.Mirren it's both of us on 53 points ? They then have Aberdeen and Rangers whilst we have St.mirren and Rangers no danger is 3rd place done and dusted

Dundee Utd are 6 points behind us (7 if you include our far superior goal difference).

09-05-2025, 02:20 PM
Dundee Utd are 6 points behind us (7 if you include our far superior goal difference).

Aw thank **** :greengrin Am blaming bet365 they have it wrong !!

09-05-2025, 02:28 PM
I don't think United & Nice could have been drawn together in the EL due to Ratcliffe owning Nice and only having 27.8% or something at united.

Could be wrong though.

Yeah maybe me throwing Man City/Girona was a red herring - they are more of a true multi-club model.

Man City and Nice are more like our situation and it seems to be management influence that is key rather than the ownership of shares with us and I think you'd struggle to say BKFC don't have management influence with them having two board members. That said, IIRC the new articles of association seems to guarantee them places on the board so I'm not sure how we get round that. The SFA made it a condition of allowing the BKFC deal that we wouldn't have an issue if we qualified for European competition, so they must have a plan for this situation.

Paulie Walnuts
09-05-2025, 02:38 PM

That’s a massive leap from what I said to be fair.

Looking at who’s around the teams listed in their league tables I’d be hoping some of them could be replaced by others is all I’m saying really.

For example, I’d rather go to Florence and play Fiorentina or Turin to play Juve than go to Rome and play Nazio. I’d rather go to Mallorca or Seville than Madrid, Monaco, Nice or Lille than Lyon,Dortmund than Leipzig etc.

Nobody is suggesting they’d rather be in the league cup. But there’s very few teams or locations in there that I’d look at and go ‘man I wish I could watch Hibs play that team/in that location one day.’

10-05-2025, 06:58 PM
If we start off in the Europa playoff and are drawn at home first is the AC/DC concert likely to mean we have to move dates?

Might sound a stupid question but might be requested by the police due to staff shortages and public transport.

CB Hibs 68
10-05-2025, 07:41 PM
If we start off in the Europa playoff and are drawn at home first is the AC/DC concert likely to mean we have to move dates?

Might sound a stupid question but might be requested by the police due to staff shortages and public transport.

Nah stupid question.

15-05-2025, 06:15 AM
I’m sure this has been answered a lot already but now things are a bit clearer, can someone tell me what competition and stage we go in at if Aberdeen win the cup.

I know if Celtic win the cup we go into the Europa league play off then drop into the conference if we lose but not sure about what happens if Aberdeen win the cup.

Trinity Hibee
15-05-2025, 06:20 AM
I’m sure this has been answered a lot already but now things are a bit clearer, can someone tell me what competition and stage we go in at if Aberdeen win the cup.

I know if Celtic win the cup we go into the Europa league play off then drop into the conference if we lose but not sure about what happens if Aberdeen win the cup.

We go into the 2nd qualifying round of conference I think. So that would be 3 ties to get into conf groups I think

15-05-2025, 06:20 AM

“Entry into the second qualifying round of the Europa League is the prize on offer for finishing third in the Premiership this season. The club in question would be required to negotiate that tie, plus the third qualifying round and play-off round to reach the league phase. As mentioned above, the earnings for doing so are substantial. There are parachutes into the Conference League for defeat in Q2, Q3 and play-off of the Europa.

Third place becomes considerably more lucrative if Celtic win the Scottish Cup because that would mean the team in third taking the cup’s European spot in the Europa play-off. This is what guarantees league-stage football and rewards upwards of £5m because of the drop into the Conference League in the event of defeat.”

Mr Grieves
15-05-2025, 06:22 AM

We would go into the Europe league 2nd qualifying round, hen there's a 3rd qualifying round, and then the play off

15-05-2025, 06:24 AM
Really? Some brilliant trips in there. A few big teams and lots of more obscure destinations too. The more obscure the better. This has me VERY excited.

Very much this. 👏

15-05-2025, 06:25 AM
“Entry into the second qualifying round of the Europa League is the prize on offer for finishing third in the Premiership this season. The club in question would be required to negotiate that tie, plus the third qualifying round and play-off round to reach the league phase. As mentioned above, the earnings for doing so are substantial. There are parachutes into the Conference League for defeat in Q2, Q3 and play-off of the Europa.

Third place becomes considerably more lucrative if Celtic win the Scottish Cup because that would mean the team in third taking the cup’s European spot in the Europa play-off. This is what guarantees league-stage football and rewards upwards of £5m because of the drop into the Conference League in the event of defeat.”

Great, so we’ve definitely qualified for the Europa league and will at least have a stab at dropping down to the conference league play off if we lose in the Europa? Guaranteed at least two ties in Europe, more obviously if Celtic win the cup.

bringbackbenny
15-05-2025, 08:07 AM
Great, so we’ve definitely qualified for the Europa league and will at least have a stab at dropping down to the conference league play off if we lose in the Europa? Guaranteed at least two ties in Europe, more obviously if Celtic win the cup.

Almost, if Aberdeen win the cup and we then lose Europa R2 would drop to Conference R3 then the play off as final round pre the Group. I think, all too confusing!

15-05-2025, 08:13 AM
Almost, if lose Europa R2 then drop to Conference R3 then the play off as final round pre the Group. I think, all too confusing!

I thought if we failed to win the Europa League play off we dropped right into the group stages of Conference League with guaranteed Europe until Christmas.

I maybe wrong though!

bringbackbenny
15-05-2025, 08:15 AM
I thought if we failed to win the Europa League play off we dropped right into the group stages of Conference League with guaranteed Europe until Christmas.

I maybe wrong though!

Sorry I had meanr if Aberdeen win the cup. Will edit my reply

15-05-2025, 08:16 AM
Sorry I had meanr if Aberdeen win the cup. Will edit my reply

[emoji1303]

15-05-2025, 08:26 AM
So we're guaranteed at least 2 qualifying ties, 1 in the Europa and 1 in the Conference, assuming we lose both?

15-05-2025, 08:26 AM
"Entry into the second qualifying round of the Europa League is the prize on offer for finishing third in the Premiership this season. The club in question would be required to negotiate that tie, plus the third qualifying round and play-off round to reach the league phase. As mentioned above, the earnings for doing so are substantial. There are parachutes into the Conference League for defeat in Q2, Q3 and play-off of the Europa."

So worst case scenario, Aberdeen win the cup -

▪︎ 2 leg tie in 2nd qualifying round of Europa League (24 July & 31 July)

Lose that & enter Conference League 3rd Qualifying round.

▪︎ 2 leg tie in 3rd qualifying round of Conference League (7 Aug & 14 Aug)

So guaranteed minimum 4 games - is my understanding.

15-05-2025, 08:49 AM
So we're guaranteed at least 2 qualifying ties, 1 in the Europa and 1 in the Conference, assuming we lose both?

Aye, spot on. Worst case scenario.

15-05-2025, 08:58 AM
I think this should be right, correct me if wrong!

If Aberdeen win the cup -

(Win & enter Europa League 3rd Qualifying round)

(Lose & enter Conference League 3rd Qualifying round)

▪︎ 2 leg tie in 3rd qualifying round of either Europa or Conference League (7 Aug & 14 Aug)

(If in Europa & win enter Europa play off round, if in Europa & lose (or Conference & win) enter Conference play off round (21 Aug & 28 Aug).

If Celtic win the cup or we are successful in 3rd round of Europa above -

2 leg tie in Play Off Round of Europa (21 Aug & 28 Aug)

Win - enter Europa group stage.
Lose - enter Conference group stage.

Alternatively, if successful in 3rd round of Conference above -

2 leg tie in Play Off Round of Conference (21 Aug & 28 Aug)

Win - enter Conference group stage.

15-05-2025, 08:58 AM
Aberdeen winning the cup looks highly unlikely but anything can happen

15-05-2025, 09:02 AM
So if Aberdeen win the cup, we'd have to negotiate 3 rounds to get a group stage. But, we're allowed to lose 1 of those rounds at some point and end up in the conference as opposed to European.

15-05-2025, 09:03 AM
"Entry into the second qualifying round of the Europa League is the prize on offer for finishing third in the Premiership this season. The club in question would be required to negotiate that tie, plus the third qualifying round and play-off round to reach the league phase. As mentioned above, the earnings for doing so are substantial. There are parachutes into the Conference League for defeat in Q2, Q3 and play-off of the Europa."

Yup - that’s it Aberdeen win cup. 2 home euro ties - 2 away euro ties.

Celtic win the cup then it’s either 10 games (5 home / 5 away - that’s if we win a difficult Europa league play off tie but rewards are you enter Europa league) or 8 games (4 home and 4 away - conference only play 3 home and 3 away plus Europa league playoffs which we would have lost ) minimum.

Don’t forget it’s the new big table format so 24 out of 36 teams qualify.

You need minimum 2 wins and a draw plus good goal difference to finish in top 24.

Win 3 games ( for example 2 home and 1 away) and you will get x2 more matches (home and away minimum).

We REALLY need Celtic to win the cup final.

Stairway 2 7
15-05-2025, 09:04 AM
Aberdeen 12/1 on betfair I think only red cards would stop celtic getting the treble

15-05-2025, 09:12 AM
So if Aberdeen win the cup, we'd have to negotiate 3 rounds to get a group stage. But, we're allowed to lose 1 of those rounds at some point and end up in the conference as opposed to European.

Yes, we can either go:

WWW - Europa League group

Or any of WWL, WLW, LWW to get to Conf League group

LL, LWL, or WLL we're oot.

All academic when the Dons lose the cup final. :pray:

Franck Le God
15-05-2025, 01:23 PM
Yes, we can either go:

WWW - Europa League group

Or any of WWL, WLW, LWW to get to Conf League group

LL, LWL, or WLL we're oot.

All academic when the Dons lose the cup final. :pray:

Clearest I’ve seen it explained, lovely stuff.

Coach Jon
15-05-2025, 01:32 PM
Aberdeen 12/1 on betfair I think only red cards would stop celtic getting the treble

The club should stick 500K on Aberdeen to win 6M as a saver then.

15-05-2025, 01:39 PM

Even if the incredibly unlikely happens and Aberdeen win the Cup, I'll be delighted with this for next season.

I'm not even gonna think about any other possible scenarios until after the Cup Final.

15-05-2025, 01:51 PM
Even if the incredibly unlikely happens and Aberdeen win the Cup, I'll be delighted with this for next season.

I'm not even gonna think about any other possible scenarios until after the Cup Final.

I’m the same, that’s why I’m pretty relaxed about Aberdeen winning the cup.

From a financial perspective the group stages would be amazing but probably my best ever Hibs away day came at Villa park so it’s still possible to get a good draw in the play offs.

15-05-2025, 02:00 PM
Hotel booked for 20th May 2026 in Istanbul😉 Book now to avoid stupid prices!

15-05-2025, 02:03 PM
The club should stick 500K on Aberdeen to win 6M as a saver then.

Those odds will be to win in 90 min. Don't know about Betfair, but on Bet365 Aberdeen are 11/2 to win the trophy.

15-05-2025, 02:17 PM
For our Jambo friends the thread title refers to a large continental land mass east of here.

HendoDelivered
15-05-2025, 04:24 PM
I take it even if Aberdeen win the cup, do we still get ECL group stage football til Xmas if we go out in the EL Qualifiers? Sorry if already covered.

15-05-2025, 04:28 PM
I take it even if Aberdeen win the cup, do we still get ECL group stage football til Xmas if we go out in the EL Qualifiers? Sorry if already covered.

Nope, we need to qualify.

Solonleith1
15-05-2025, 04:57 PM
I remember there was a reply on a thread showing the potential Europa league play of opponents. Anybody got an updated version. Last update had no easy ties to say the least.

Paul1642
15-05-2025, 05:03 PM
I remember there was a reply on a thread showing the potential Europa league play of opponents. Anybody got an updated version. Last update had no easy ties to say the least.

Potentially this?

Hibees1973
15-05-2025, 05:07 PM
Potentially this?

Only a couple on that list to avoid are Braga & PAOK.

The rest of them, when at our best, we would have a decent chance. Particularly early in the season.

Paul1642
15-05-2025, 05:18 PM

The rest of them, when at our best, we would have a decent chance. Particularly early in the season.

Im ever the optimist with Hibs but even I don’t see us beating the majority of the seeded teams over 2 legs. Judging by the lack of green ticks, none ore locked in yet for certain so hopefully an easier team or two make it in.

DIXIHIBS
15-05-2025, 05:36 PM
Obviously be great to see Hibs in Europa league group but very tough games even if we can qualify. Maybe conference more realistic and get a couple of wins and a chance of getting through to next stage? Hopefully a couple of decent trips for the fans.

LewysGot2
15-05-2025, 06:05 PM

We beat PAOK last year :greengrin:wink:

Hibees1973
15-05-2025, 06:16 PM
We beat PAOK last year :greengrin:wink:

Aye, good shout, so we did.

Just Braga to avoid then.

15-05-2025, 06:18 PM
Aye, good shout, so we did.

Just Braga to avoid then.

And Salzburg
And Young Boys
And Midtylland
And Legia
And Sparta
And Anderlecht
And Dynamo
And Sherrif

IMO of course…they almost all have recent champions league experience in at least the playoff round.

Solonleith1
15-05-2025, 06:26 PM
Potentially this?

That is it yes! Cheers!

Aye tough fixtures there but exciting times, providing Celtic do the business as expected.

15-05-2025, 06:26 PM
And Salzburg
And Young Boys
And Midtylland
And Legia
And Sparta
And Anderlecht
And Dynamo
And Sherrif

IMO of course…they almost all have recent champions league experience in at least the playoff round.

Utrecht are a handy side too. 4th in the Eredivise currently.

There are no easy ties at this level really.

15-05-2025, 06:41 PM
And Salzburg
And Young Boys
And Midtylland
And Legia
And Sparta
And Anderlecht
And Dynamo
And Sherrif

That looks a tough list when you consider in the last few years at the same stage Aberdeen were knocked out by BK Hacken of Sweden and Hearts were papped out with a whimper by the bottom side in Switzerland at the time.

15-05-2025, 06:42 PM

If Aberdeen win the cup, we might only get one tie. Is that correct?

15-05-2025, 06:58 PM
If Aberdeen win the cup, we might only get one tie. Is that correct?

If Aberdeen win the cup, we still get a Europa league play off tie, if we lose that we drop down to a conference league qualifying round.

We’ll definitely get two ties in Europe as a minimum now.

15-05-2025, 07:41 PM

If Aberdeen win the cup, we still get a Europa league play off tie, if we lose that we drop down to a conference league qualifying round.

We’ll definitely get two ties in Europe as a minimum now.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250515/4498c193d7c434ea33e5fb32824f8f98.jpg

Decent wee graphic of what we get if Aberdeen win the cup.

15-05-2025, 09:10 PM

We desperately need Celtic to win the cup

16-05-2025, 06:05 AM
We desperately need Celtic to win the cup

Wouldn't worry about that.

Paul1642
16-05-2025, 06:10 AM

That’s a tough path from QR2! Two, two legged ties won just to earn what is already guaranteed for the SC winner spot.

16-05-2025, 06:42 AM
That’s a tough path from QR2! Two, two legged ties won just to earn what is already guaranteed for the SC winner spot.

I’m guessing one of them likely to be against a team from a really low ranking though.

DIXIHIBS
16-05-2025, 07:27 AM

It is tough. Also stars a month earlier which isn't great for players at start of season.

16-05-2025, 07:32 AM
Wish we were in the League Cup groups..

Not

16-05-2025, 07:32 AM

Nice graphic. :aok:

Next question(s) - are we seeded for these, and what is the standard of potential opponent for each?

At a complete guess; seeded for the first game against relatively beatable teams, then unseeded going forward and our most probable route would be W-L-L and out.

16-05-2025, 07:54 AM

Next question(s) - are we seeded for these, and what is the standard of potential opponent for each?

At a complete guess; seeded for the first game against relatively beatable teams, then unseeded going forward and our most probable route would be W-L-L and out.

Knowing our luck we'll get somebody of the level of Aston Vila in the 2nd round.

16-05-2025, 08:03 AM
So just to clear up, do we still have to play a qualifier before going into the Europa? And if we get beat in that we go into the Conference? Just trying to work it all out. Obviously that's assuming Celtic see off Aberdeen in the SC.

16-05-2025, 08:13 AM
So just to clear up, do we still have to play a qualifier before going into the Europa? And if we get beat in that we go into the Conference? Just trying to work it all out. Obviously that's assuming Celtic see off Aberdeen in the SC.

It’s making me laugh the frequency these questions are being asked.

Can a message be pinned to a thread, maybe change the title to reflect the routes.

If celtic win we go into the EL playoff. If we progress we are in the EL groups. If we don’t we are in the ECL groups.

If sheep win we have three EL two legged ties to win. If we win them we are in the EL groups. If we lose any of they ties, we go into the next round of two legged ties in the ECL where we can either be put out at any stage or make it into the groups.

So if we lose our initial EL tie we would have two ECL two legged ties to negotiate before reaching the groups.
Etc.

16-05-2025, 08:18 AM
Celtic winning the cup is worth £5m extra revenue and about £4m profit. Guaranteed 4 ties in Europe so 4 away trips.

Absolutely massive. Football is a funny game so let hope for no surprises.

16-05-2025, 08:29 AM

Only thing we need to know just now is when to book provisional holidays in with work;

Celtic Win - 21st August or 28th August (and two days either side if away)
Aberdeen Win - 24th July or 31st July (and two days either side if away)

16-05-2025, 08:29 AM
Knowing our luck we'll get somebody of the level of Aston Vila in the 2nd round.

I think and I could be wrong but IF Chelsea win the conference there will be no English clubs playing in it next season. Was reading an article on Real Betis and they mentioned it so no idea if true or not.

16-05-2025, 08:30 AM
I think and I could be wrong but IF Chelsea win the conference there will be no English clubs playing in it next season. Was reading an article on Real Betis and they mentioned it so no idea if true or not.

Don't think that's the case, Brentford are projected to be in it currently.

16-05-2025, 08:39 AM

Almost certainly unseeded even in EL-Q2.

16-05-2025, 08:57 AM
Celtic winning the cup is worth £5m extra revenue and about £4m profit. Guaranteed 4 ties in Europe so 4 away trips.

Absolutely massive. Football is a funny game so let hope for no surprises.

on paper celtic should win easily however we have seen over the years in cup finals that it doesnt always happen , 1 bounce of a ball, deflection or wonder goal can and do win finals

16-05-2025, 09:00 AM
Don't think that's the case, Brentford are projected to be in it currently.

I think it's if Chelsea win it but don't finish in a champions league spot in the league.

16-05-2025, 09:04 AM
on paper celtic should win easily however we have seen over the years in cup finals that it doesnt always happen , 1 bounce of a ball, deflection or wonder goal can and do win finals

My only for the final is Celtic are such big favourites - surely though a treble at stake and the form they are in they will get the job done.

Celtic have taken 19 goals off them in last 5 games !

16-05-2025, 09:38 AM
My only for the final is Celtic are such big favourites - surely though a treble at stake and the form they are in they will get the job done.

You know the final won’t be as straightforward as people think. Anticipate a nervy game

16-05-2025, 10:02 AM
You know the final won’t be as straightforward as people think. Anticipate a nervy game

Yip. I've got a horrible feeling about all of this.

16-05-2025, 10:30 AM

you only need 1 goal to win

since 1975 Aberdeen have won 2 finals against Celtic while Celtic have won just 1 against Aberdeen however the 2 Aberdeen wins were in 80's and 1 went to extra time and 1 to penalties

Aberdeen and rangers are the only 2 teams to beat Celtic in a final since 1961 when Dunfermline beat them

On a positive note celtic have won thier last 10 finals last time they lost was 2002 to rangers

16-05-2025, 10:36 AM
Yip. I've got a horrible feeling about all of this.

Aberdeen just got scudded off Celtic second-string team 5-1 and 6-0 last time they played at Hampden.

I was slightly worried about it until Wednesday night.

16-05-2025, 10:54 AM
Aberdeen just got scudded off Celtic second-string team 5-1 and 6-0 last time they played at Hampden.

I was slightly worried about it until Wednesday night.

I’m hoping Thelin hasn’t learnt his lesson and plays Shinnie at LB

Spudster
16-05-2025, 12:22 PM
since 1975 Aberdeen have won 2 finals against Celtic while Celtic have won just 1 against Aberdeen however the 2 Aberdeen wins were in 80's and 1 went to extra time and 1 to penalties

Aberdeen lost 2 in one season during Rogers first stint so no way this is correct.
Edit - Being extra pedantic that Aberdeen penalty win was May 1990 too

16-05-2025, 12:39 PM
Aberdeen lost 2 in one season during Rogers first stint so no way this is correct.
Edit - Being extra pedantic that Aberdeen penalty win was May 1990 too

2 lost in one season was league cup and scottish cup im only talking about scottish cup
1990 win i counted as it was 89/90 season

Scottish Cup Past Winners | Scottish Cup | Scottish FA (https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish-cup/scottish-gas-mens-scottish-cup/archive/scottish-cup-history/scottish-cup-winners/)

16-05-2025, 12:57 PM

It will, Celtic will pump them. Match will be over as a contest before HT.

16-05-2025, 08:13 PM
Few teams beat Celtic in the May, Hampden sunshine. Let's hope it more of the same, and we can all look forward to a Euro adventure.

Paul1642
16-05-2025, 08:34 PM

Not against Celtic you don’t.

They haven’t failed to score at Hampden in the last 13 years, which was also the last time they lost a domestic cup final.

They haven’t lost a Scottish cup final since 2002 (or 1990 disregarding Old firms finals)

Between Celtic’s dominance and Aberdeen not being very good since November, I think this will go to plan.

16-05-2025, 08:35 PM

Aberdeen and rangers are the only 2 teams to beat Celtic in a final since 1961 when Dunfermline beat them

On a positive note celtic have won thier last 10 finals last time they lost was 2002 to rangers
Those are the kind of stats we want to hear going in to this. more of that

seanshow
17-05-2025, 02:21 AM
Come the end of the domestic campaigns only 5 of the 24 teams in the Europa League Qualifying round will be known in advance of next season.

Two already are -
Racing Genk (Belgium)
Sigma Olomouc (Czech)

and the other 3 from -
Aberdeen or Hibernian (Scotland) tbc 24th May
FC Biel Bienne or FC Basel (Switzerland) tbc 1st June
Besiktas JK or Samsunspor (Turkey)* tbc 1st June

* Technically also Istanbul Başakşehir FC, but they would need a miracle to leapfrog the two named above and finish 3rd in the Turkish league and claim the Europa league qualifying position.

:nerd: Insomnia

17-05-2025, 04:37 PM
Come the end of the domestic campaigns only 5 of the 24 teams in the Europa League Qualifying round will be known in advance of next season.

Two already are -
Racing Genk (Belgium)
Sigma Olomouc (Czech)

and the other 3 from -
Aberdeen or Hibernian (Scotland) tbc 24th May
FC Biel Bienne or FC Basel (Switzerland) tbc 1st June
Besiktas JK or Samsunspor (Turkey)* tbc 1st June

* Technically also Istanbul Başakşehir FC, but they would need a miracle to leapfrog the two named above and finish 3rd in the Turkish league and claim the Europa league qualifying position.

:nerd: Insomnia

German league finished today.

Mainz qualify for the conference league.
Freiburg qualify for Europa league.

17-05-2025, 05:02 PM
German league finished today.

Mainz qualify for the conference league.
Freiburg qualify for Europa league.

Also think the winner of the FA cup has implications for who we face.

If Palace win the cup, 8th in the Premiership get European conference league football (currently Brentford), if City win the cup 7th place get European conference league football (currently Nottingham Forest).

I may have that the wrong way around but I can’t be bothered finding the tweet,

17-05-2025, 05:04 PM
Also think the winner of the FA cup has implications for who we face.

If Palace win the cup, 8th in the Premiership get European conference league football (currently Brentford), if City win the cup 7th place get European conference league football (currently Nottingham Forest).

I may have that the wrong way around but I can’t be bothered finding the tweet,

Really hope Palace win this. **** Man City.

18-05-2025, 05:06 PM
https://x.com/footrankings/status/1924101920194462107?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

New Conference league projected groups are out.

Strasbourg away would appear to be a decent away trip.

Paul1642
18-05-2025, 05:14 PM
From @footrankings on twitter last night

Celtic are ON THE BRINK of moving to the seeded side of the Champions League Play-offs!

📈 🇭🇷 Rijeka are just ONE WIN away from winning the title in Croatia, which would move Celtic to seeded side!

Shame Rijeka are currently 1-0 down putting them back in second as things stand 😂😂

Hibees1973
18-05-2025, 05:57 PM
https://x.com/footrankings/status/1924101920194462107?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

If we get to the Conference League phase, Pot 6 is interesting.

if drawn away would prefer to avoid Copenhagen (Brondby) as we have been there recently, however this may be the best shot. The other pot 6 sides will be very difficult journeys to get to. (Kazakhstan/Georgia/Armenia). If you throw in another geographically/politically difficult away trip (Podgorica or Tiraspol) from another pot, it's possible we may only have one 'jolly boys trip' in the league phase.

Might be best to get the pot 6 side at home. Due to the away journey and with it being the lowest ranked pot, we are more likely to get points on the board.

The Yam however, dropped points at home to some pot 6 Moldovan minnow.:greengrin

18-05-2025, 06:20 PM

I was in Strasbourg last year. It's a lovely place. I also saw us play them in the late 70's at Easter Road. My second European game after we beat Norkopping in the previous round.

Hibees1973
18-05-2025, 06:27 PM
I was in Strasbourg last year. It's a lovely place. I also saw us play them in the late 70's at Easter Road. My second European game after we beat Norkopping in the previous round.

I remember the home game.

Strasbourg were a bit of a 'gang' and top of the French league at the time, which they went on to win. They were very lucky to keep 11 men on the park, but knocked us out 2-1 on aggregate.

Would be nice to right this wrong some nearly 50 years later.

18-05-2025, 06:44 PM

Strasbourg is a fantastic city. Food amazing. Theyve punched above their weight in ligue 1 this year, and were in the running for top 3 until last week. Theyre on paper a lot better than us.

18-05-2025, 06:45 PM

Lot's of nice potential in there. Sparta Prague, Rayo Vallecano, Utrecht. I'd like Poland but they do not look as accessible as you'd think.

Green Man
18-05-2025, 07:03 PM
Lot's of nice potential in there. Sparta Prague, Rayo Vallecano, Utrecht. I'd like Poland but they do not look as accessible as you'd think.

Prague would be a great trip, but Sparta appear to be doing their best not to qualify for Europe this season.

Trinity Hibee
18-05-2025, 07:14 PM

What’s the latest Europa league?

18-05-2025, 07:14 PM

I only realised earlier on today that Rayo Vallecano is in Madrid.

Apologies to all concerned for my ignorance. That’d be a tremendous trip though.

18-05-2025, 07:17 PM
What’s the latest Europa league?

https://x.com/footrankings/status/1924179106398101592?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

I don’t know why there’s only 4 pots in the Europa league but that’s all they ever post?

Hibees1973
18-05-2025, 07:23 PM
https://x.com/footrankings/status/1924179106398101592?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

I don’t know why there’s only 4 pots in the Europa league but that’s all they ever post?

Not 100% sure.

But you may play 2 teams from each pot .....2 x 4 = the 8 games you play in the Europa League phase.

Some potentially epic trips in the Europa League. Might be a few tankings mind.

18-05-2025, 07:30 PM
I don't expect Hibs to do anything in Europe realistically, and I almost don't care either, I'm just delighted that we've got trips to look forward to and, like everyone, I'm hoping for straightforward journeys.

Bring it on!

18-05-2025, 07:57 PM
I don't expect Hibs to do anything in Europe realistically, and I almost don't care either, I'm just delighted that we've got trips to look forward to and, like everyone, I'm hoping for straightforward journeys.

Bring it on!

Why not? Hearts should have qualified from the group phase but failed to beat the bottom team, Petrocub, at Tynecastle. The team that pipped them had 7 point from 6 games with a -3 gial difference. 24 teams out of 36 go through to the knockout phase. Not unrealistic to think we could get through (assuming Celtic win the cup).

18-05-2025, 07:58 PM

If we ever get to this stage..is there any chance we could move into pot 5 or will it be pretty much be pot 6

18-05-2025, 08:01 PM
If we ever get to this stage..is there any chance we could move into pot 5 or will it be pretty much be pot 6

No, we’ve floated briefly between pot 5 and 6 on that website. We’ve been in pot 6 most of the time but there has been the odd fleeting move up so I’m guessing it could happen again.

18-05-2025, 08:07 PM
No, we’ve floated briefly between pot 5 and 6 on that website. We’ve been in pot 6 most of the time but there has been the odd fleeting move up so I’m guessing it could happen again.

Thanks..

Looking at the teams..

Could be.Lazio, Nottingham Forest, Rayo Vallecano, Strasbourg, Hibs and another !

Please Celtic do not mess this up!!

18-05-2025, 08:07 PM
Why not? Hearts should have qualified from the group phase but failed to beat the bottom team, Petrocub, at Tynecastle. The team that pipped them had 7 point from 6 games with a -3 gial difference. 24 teams out of 36 go through to the knockout phase. Not unrealistic to think we could get through (assuming Celtic win the cup).

It's possible, and I hope we do, but I don't expect we will.

We certainly won't if we somehow got through the Europa qualifier. (Assuming Celtic win the cup.)