View Full Version : McGrath

Up-the-slope
19-04-2025, 04:20 PM
McGrath - nice to see him on the pitch and involved in winner against Hearts.

Hope its too soon for 90 minutes next week for him though

Mcbizz1998
19-04-2025, 05:09 PM
Yep, glad he is back and I thought he improved them when he came on.

Hopefully he loses every game from now until the end of the season and we’ll see you in the summer Jamie!

19-04-2025, 05:38 PM
Yep, glad he is back and I thought he improved them when he came on.

Hopefully he loses every game from now until the end of the season and we’ll see you in the summer Jamie!

Agent McGrath wants European football.. own goal would help.

19-04-2025, 07:00 PM
I thought he did well. Considering how long he's been out plus it going to extra time.

Donegal Hibby
19-04-2025, 07:42 PM
I thought he did well. Considering how long he's been out plus it going to extra time.

Put some good crosses in . I remember watching him for the ROI where he played LW and played well . I was gutted we didn’t get him the last time when the deal wasn’t completed in time .

I think he will prove to be a good signing for us in he’s versatile, will chip in with a few goals and assists too . The whole Aberdeen thing about not wanting to give him the extra year we did is a mystery in all .

Stokesy's on fire
19-04-2025, 07:44 PM
Aberdeen were stinking though. No wonder he wants out.

19-04-2025, 07:52 PM
Aberdeen were stinking though. No wonder he wants out.

Even good teams can be rubbish in semi-finals.

19-04-2025, 07:58 PM
Never really noticed him tbh think I had lost the will to live by the time he came on

Hearts have that affect on me will pay more attention next time

Did concentrate on KN however who I thought was poor too keen snatching at everything looking low on confidence and poor body language perpetually greeting at his teammates and behind play

Found it difficult to pick out individual Aberdeen players in their change strip and this was reflected in the first 20 minutes when they seemed unable to find a teammate with their passes but got there in the end

Just seen McGrath’s cross for the winner was decent

19-04-2025, 08:44 PM
I get the fear Aberdeen with the cup and get the European football, he plays a pivotal part and they offer him the extra gear and he changes his mind and signs for them again

Paul1642
19-04-2025, 08:47 PM
I get the fear Aberdeen with the cup and get the European football, he plays a pivotal part and they offer him the extra gear and he changes his mind and signs for them again

Based on what I’ve seen of Aberdeen this season, especially today, there is very little chance of this happening.

Stokesy's on fire
19-04-2025, 08:56 PM

Contracts signed.

19-04-2025, 09:05 PM
Contracts signed.

Has there not been previous where players have cancelled the pre contracts and that their essentially not worth a huge amount?

19-04-2025, 09:05 PM
Nice cross into the box for the winner which ended Hearts faint Euro and cup hopes. Nice to him already hurting them.

19-04-2025, 09:24 PM

Celtic will win the cup.

19-04-2025, 09:54 PM

How much gear have we offered?

Bridge hibs
19-04-2025, 09:58 PM
How much gear have we offered?

A couple o trakkies, a bag o balls and a toaster (remember toaster gate)

Aberdeen have removed the players' toaster in a cost-cutting exercise at Pittodrie.
The cash-strapped club will also ask the playing staff to pay for their own cups of tea and coffee in an effort to bring down overheads.

But Aberdeen chief executive Gordon Bennett insisted that the measures were necessary to steady the financial situation at the club.

"We have to run within our means or end up in liquidation," warned Bennett.

"The club lost £1.8m in the six months leading up to December. That's £300,000 a month and that couldn't be allowed to continue.

w pilton hibby
19-04-2025, 10:02 PM
A couple o trakkies, a bag o balls and a toaster.

Two or four slices?

Asking for a friend.

Donegal Hibby
20-04-2025, 01:01 AM
When McGrath came on yesterday he was booed ! I naturally took it that it was the hertz fans which it still might have been but it also came from the Aberdeen fans too …. Just can’t get my head around why fans would boo one of their own players even if they know he’s leaving… mental.

20-04-2025, 01:08 AM
When McGrath came on yesterday he was booed ! I naturally took it that it was the hertz fans which it still might have been but it also came from the Aberdeen fans too …. Just can’t get my head around why fans would boo one of their own players even if they know he’s leaving… mental.

Did we not do this with Gary Caldwell before his move to Celtic?

TrumpIsAPeado
20-04-2025, 01:31 AM

Heard the booing at the time. But seen nothing to indicate that it was coming from Aberdeen supporters.

20-04-2025, 06:31 AM

My memory is he was upfront with us and open about it and we accepted he was a lowlife traitor and he tried his best for us for the rest of his contract and was our Captain

Thanks for us taking a chance on him and rescuing his career and looking after him when he was out injured for the first half of his second season

All the sweeter when he returned to Easter Road with his new chums and got a sound 2-1 skelping in funnily enough Scott Brown’s last game

Did the dirty on Gordon Strachan after failing to turn up to sign an agreed contract extension with Celtic and signing for Wigan

Mercenary

20-04-2025, 07:01 AM

Yes, but I think he also scored an OG/was generally hapless in the subsequent game (maybe vs Aberdeen actually?).

McSwanky
20-04-2025, 07:34 AM
Did we not do this with Gary Caldwell before his move to Celtic?Aye, but he's a ****

Sent from my Pixel 8a using Tapatalk

20-04-2025, 07:47 AM
Did we not do this with Gary Caldwell before his move to Celtic?I think we just booed him because he was Gary Caldwell though, so it's different

20-04-2025, 08:05 AM
Even good teams can be rubbish in semi-finals.

My mates a Dons fan, was at the semi, says they are brutal to watch, we should pump them 3-0.

20-04-2025, 08:11 AM
BBC sportsound and their love in for Aberdeen and sir Jimmy thelin would have you believe they just qualified for the final of the champions league

Let’s bring them right back down to reality next week please

20-04-2025, 08:40 AM

No way he is changing his mind

20-04-2025, 09:16 AM
Has there not been previous where players have cancelled the pre contracts and that their essentially not worth a huge amount?

There was, Richard Brittain Ross C to St Johnstone, he then signed an extension in April 2013 which in turn St Johnstone paid a fee of £40k in June 2013, so really depends on the individual and his honesty.

20-04-2025, 09:20 AM
Looks a player though!

Will absolutely fit in to a David Gray Hibs team. Be vital for us in the knockout stages of the Europa League next season.

20-04-2025, 09:33 AM
Yes, but I think he also scored an OG/was generally hapless in the subsequent game (maybe vs Aberdeen actually?).

He had been roundly boo,d by the home support from the start.

20-04-2025, 09:45 AM

How do you know where it came from?

Donegal Hibby
20-04-2025, 11:01 AM
Heard the booing at the time. But seen nothing to indicate that it was coming from Aberdeen supporters.

I read them discussing it on their forum . Apparently the ones booing were getting told to shut up by other fans when McGrath was coming on . Strange considering the magnitude of the game to boo one of your own players even if he has signed a contract with one of their rivals .

Donegal Hibby
20-04-2025, 11:04 AM
How do you know where it came from?

On the Dons forum . Some openly admit they were booing him coming on .

20-04-2025, 11:56 AM

Hopefully they'll boo him loudly next week!

20-04-2025, 01:03 PM
Hopefully they'll boo him loudly next week!

After his 3rd own goal

maturehibby
20-04-2025, 03:25 PM
Recycling of we've got Mcgrath super Jamie McGrath once he shows us his class
Move over John
Heard the Villa fans belting it out yesterday :

20-04-2025, 06:17 PM
Recycling of we've got Mcgrath super Jamie McGrath once he shows us his class
Move over John
Heard the Villa fans belting it out yesterday :

I enjoy following the progress of Mcginn/Villa but then reading the praise he gets is bittersweet when they inevitably bring up how much of a bargain/steal he was...

20-04-2025, 06:26 PM
Did he not put in the cross that lead to the goal?

You could see he brought a control and intelligence to the Aberdeen team that they had been lacking, and that was his first game in almost 3 months.

I think he'll turn out to be a very good signing.

20-04-2025, 06:29 PM

So Aberdeen fans no different to any other fans

20-04-2025, 06:35 PM
Did he not put in the cross that lead to the goal?

You could see he brought a control and intelligence to the Aberdeen team that they had been lacking, and that was his first game in almost 3 months.

I think he'll turn out to be a very good signing.

I’m really excited about him signing, I think he’ll do well.

If I’m honest, I thought he was pretty poor when he came on yesterday though. I thought it showed it was his first game for a few months.

Donegal Hibby
20-04-2025, 06:50 PM
So Aberdeen fans no different to any other fans

Maybe though doesn’t make it any less daft to boo your own player coming on when you’re actually hoping he can have a positive effect on a game unless you don’t want him too which would be very strange indeed .

20-04-2025, 07:38 PM
Maybe though doesn’t make it any less daft to boo your own player coming on when you’re actually hoping he can have a positive effect on a game unless you don’t want him too which would be very strange indeed .

Yep ridiculous thing to do

20-04-2025, 07:42 PM
I’m really excited about him signing, I think he’ll do well.

If I’m honest, I thought he was pretty poor when he came on yesterday though. I thought it showed it was his first game for a few months.

Thought he was ok considering first minutes in 4.5 months and he was expected to play 52 mins in a semi final !!

Was involved with the winning goal - has a shot off target and played some decent enough passes. Had a few crap crosses though but looks like he will suit Hibs style of play. Think he made a difference to the Dons and must be rated if they chucked him in after being out injured for so long.

MJ hibs
20-04-2025, 07:57 PM
As folk have said we can't properly judge since he has been out for so long.

But I thought he was one of the few Aberdeen players trying something when they were struggling for a breakthrough. Hopefully he gets minutes and is ready for pre-season

21-04-2025, 08:37 AM
His footballing intelligence won Aberdeen the game

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
21-04-2025, 09:22 AM
Thought he was ok considering first minutes in 4.5 months and he was expected to play 52 mins in a semi final !!

Was involved with the winning goal - has a shot off target and played some decent enough passes. Had a few crap crosses though but looks like he will suit Hibs style of play. Think he made a difference to the Dons and must be rated if they chucked him in after being out injured for so long.

At one point before his injury he was doing well for them in getting assists and goals …

https://youtu.be/hYwGlwMpOTI?si=sHTEL2NtI3NaZZwc

21-04-2025, 12:58 PM
Awkward position for him next week. Imagine if he scores a goal that contributes to us missing out on 3rd at Aberdeen's expense.

21-04-2025, 01:20 PM
Hope he does play and wants to play. It'll show his character.

Mcbizz1998
21-04-2025, 01:35 PM
I’d be pretty surprised if he plays v Us tbh.

21-04-2025, 04:14 PM
It's good of them to get him ready and fit for our European Campaign next season 👌👍

21-04-2025, 04:16 PM
Awkward position for him next week. Imagine if he scores a goal that contributes to us missing out on 3rd at Aberdeen's expense.

Deal's off if he costs us 3rd.

21-04-2025, 04:40 PM
Hope he does play and wants to play. It'll show his character.
He will be sh***ing himself after Rocky has a quiet word with him.

21-04-2025, 05:02 PM
I’d be pretty surprised if he plays v Us tbh.Agree

It puts him in a terrible position

I've seen Scott Brown mentioned playing against Celtic but what was at stake ?

We are talking about direct competition for group European football with your future employers

I doubt Aberdeen will put him in that position

21-04-2025, 05:41 PM

Just the way it goes he is still an Aberdeen player

21-04-2025, 05:41 PM
Agree

It puts him in a terrible position

I've seen Scott Brown mentioned playing against Celtic but what was at stake ?

We are talking about direct competition for group European football with your future employers

I doubt Aberdeen will put him in that position

Think he will come on from the bench

Up-the-slope
26-04-2025, 09:06 AM
Really looking forward to seeing how he integrates with squad next season - just hope he does not get on the pitch today

26-04-2025, 09:08 AM
Think he will come on from the bench

Oh well. Not much he can do from 0-3 down.

26-04-2025, 03:52 PM
Been descent since coming on. Needs to be reminded he's playing in green next season.

coldingham hibs
26-04-2025, 04:54 PM
Was probably Aberdeens best player when he came on.

Ardenttwo
29-04-2025, 04:47 PM
Was probably Aberdeens best player when he came on.

Dont shoot the messenger but I play golf with an Aberdeen FC director who is very friendly with Jamie and who was out for dinner with him last week. From the horses mouth he is on £20,000 a week at Hibs,four year contract Just bought a house in Glasgow. He was on £15,000 at Aberdeen. a week.

29-04-2025, 04:48 PM
Dont shoot the messenger but I play golf with an Aberdeen FC director who is very friendly with Jamie and who was out for dinner with him last week. From the horses mouth he is on £20,000 a week at Hibs,four year contract Just bought a house in Glasgow. He was on £15,000 at Aberdeen. a week.

Hahaha.

£20k a month, maybe.

29-04-2025, 04:50 PM

Aye mate, we are definitely paying him over £4m over the course of his contract. In what world do you think Jamie McGrath is commanding £15k pw let alone £20k, he won’t even be getting half of that.

29-04-2025, 04:55 PM

No danger that's true. He was keen to stay at Aberdeen according to reports but Aberdeen were only offering 3 years, Hibs offered 4 years. We aren't paying him 20k per week

29-04-2025, 05:00 PM

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Is it April 1st?

Hibs4185
29-04-2025, 05:01 PM
The wages rumour I’d normally dismiss without even a thought but we did lose £7 million last year which is £140k a week.

It’s not insane to suggest that some players are on stupid wages although I highly doubt anyone is on more than £10k a week, maybe Boyle.

29-04-2025, 05:03 PM
The wages rumour I’d normally dismiss without even a thought but we did lose £7 million last year which is £140k a week.

It’s not insane to suggest that some players are on stupid wages although I highly doubt anyone is on more than £10k a week, maybe Boyle.

Sorry. But it IS insane to think that Hibs are paying any player £20,000 a week. A million a year. [emoji23]

29-04-2025, 05:05 PM
Sorry. But it IS insane to think that Hibs are paying any player £20,000 a week. A million a year. [emoji23]

Its completely and utterly insane. Its laughable to suggest it.

And now, it'll probably make it’s way on Twitter and become ‘fact’

The Baldmans Comb
29-04-2025, 05:09 PM

Beyond bonkers. Nobody on this planet can possibly believe Hibs are paying one player around 5X as much as anyone else.

It's just to preposterous but fair play for being "in the know" but maybe try not to make yourself look so ridiculous.

29-04-2025, 05:16 PM

Thought Boyler was supposed to be on that or he was ? 😀

( Hearsay )

cubehindthegoal
29-04-2025, 05:20 PM

Wait until word gets out we are giving players £4m for four year contracts that take them into their 30+ years … a fair few outstanding players will be queuing at the door.

… obviously a wind up joke 😂

HIBS NUTS
29-04-2025, 05:22 PM
Nobody has or will be on £20,000 a week at hibs, as one poster says, £20,000 a month.
Perhaps a slip of the tongue.
Imagine the other players finding out McGrath was on £20,000 a week, and they were on £3000.🤔

29-04-2025, 05:24 PM

Pretty unprofessional from Director. Is he Aberdeen's version of Kensell? Can't believe JM would command £20k a week with us.

Bridge hibs
29-04-2025, 05:45 PM
Pretty unprofessional from Director. Is he Aberdeen's version of Kensell? Can't believe JM would command £20k a week with us.

Theres an Aberdeen Director at my local croquet club who likes to tell all and sundry about whats happening at his club, Ken Bellsen, wonder if its the same guy.

cubehindthegoal
29-04-2025, 06:01 PM
Theres an Aberdeen Director at my local croquet club who likes to tell all and sundry about whats happening at his club, Ken Bellsen, wonder if its the same guy.

All the Board of a certain north east ish club I heard of also get their fish and chips from my local chippy in aberdour .. or wait, it’s aber… no wait. Can’t tell you, it’s a secret 🤫

Davy Mac
29-04-2025, 06:37 PM
Thought Boyler was supposed to be on that or he was ? 😀

( Hearsay )

Yes, Boyler from what I've been told from a player was our highest paid at £7.5k per week, so i would be extremely disappointed to be forking out that kind of of dough for McGrath.

The whole wage structure would need to change if this is the case and i just can't see that happening at the moment.

29-04-2025, 06:41 PM
Yes, Boyler from what I've been told from a player was our highest paid at £7.5k per week, so i would be extremely disappointed to be forking out that kind of of dough for McGrath.

The whole wage structure would need to change if this is the case and i just can't see that happening at the moment.

Yip that sounds closer to the mark

Mantis Toboggan
29-04-2025, 07:15 PM

Sorry mate but I think on this occasion that we do need to shoot the messenger

29-04-2025, 07:16 PM
Aye mate, we are definitely paying him over £4m over the course of his contract. In what world do you think Jamie McGrath is commanding £15k pw let alone £20k, he won’t even be getting half of that.

£20k per month is possible.

1875M
29-04-2025, 07:31 PM
£20k per month is possible.

20k per month, 5k per week. Much more possible. 20k a week 🤣🤣🤣

29-04-2025, 08:37 PM
Let’s not go on and on, I think we know the poster meant a month!

cubehindthegoal
29-04-2025, 08:56 PM
Let’s not go on and on, I think we know the poster meant a month!

Or a year 😉

Orchard_Hibs
29-04-2025, 09:01 PM
Mind when dean sheils posted on hear? Hahahaha

29-04-2025, 09:12 PM

:greengrin:greengrin

Paul1642
29-04-2025, 09:15 PM

No danger are we paying one incoming player a figure almost 10% of our current total staff expenditure (£243k per week covering 131 wages). He won’t even be on half that amount.

If we were willing to bat**** with the wages, we could have kept Maolida for that amount 😂

29-04-2025, 09:39 PM

I know there's alot of players on around 5k a week at Hibs and yes, Boyle I've also heard is nearer the 7.5 mark. I mean it's still mental money and needs highlighted when folk think Hibs don't pay well etc. 30k a month, I mean let that sink in for me and you. Sure that's before tax but it still affords you to live a hell of a lavish lifestyle playing for Hibs!

HibeeSince85
29-04-2025, 09:49 PM
No danger are we paying one incoming player a figure almost 10% of our current total staff expenditure (£243k per week covering 131 wages). He won’t even be on half that amount.

If we were willing to bat**** with the wages, we could have kept Maolida for that amount 😂

Is that what we're spending on wages? Nearly a million a month. What is our wage to turnover ratio?

I know that's total staff costs but that's a lot for a club the size of Hibs on current turnover.

29-04-2025, 10:24 PM

My only conclusion when people post utter ***** like this is that they are looking to cause bother.

Either that or your "good mate" from Aberdeen is looking to sow division at Hibs.

Either way, spending 30 seconds considering if this bollocks sounds logical before posting would be helpful?

30-04-2025, 03:11 AM
I played shinty with a first team player from Aberdeen. He told me in confidence that McGrath is on £2k per week plus a white pudding supper every time he scores.

Don't tell anyone I told you though.

30-04-2025, 03:16 AM
I played shinty with a first team player from Aberdeen. He told me in confidence that McGrath is on £2k per week plus a white pudding supper every time he scores.

Don't tell anyone I told you though.

Plus two picked eggs as a bonus if we win. Important details in the fine print don't dontcha know....

30-04-2025, 06:01 AM

Not shooting the messenger, but no way are we paying £20k a week for McGrath 😳

30-04-2025, 06:07 AM
Looks a very decent signing for us. Pity we didn’t get him a few years back

30-04-2025, 06:12 AM

I thought he looked very useful when he came on to knock Hearts out the cup and again when he came on against us - certainly felt he impacted the game each time. Good signing imho.

30-04-2025, 06:52 AM
I thought he looked very useful when he came on to knock Hearts out the cup and again when he came on against us - certainly felt he impacted the game each time. Good signing imho.

Would need to see more of him

My memory is a niggling wee diving bassa good at winning and taking free kicks

Might be just what we are needing ?

Last time I felt that way about a player was Darren Jackson

Didn’t turn out too bad ?

30-04-2025, 07:10 AM
Sorry mate but I think on this occasion that we do need to shoot the messenger
Who has been well and truly set up with a big target on his bahookie......

Donegal Hibby
30-04-2025, 11:13 AM

Good player . I like the fact that he can play a few positions is handy too . A few times I’ve watched him he’s played well in a more wider role….

https://footystats.org/players/republic-of-ireland/jamie-mcgrath

Bridge hibs
30-04-2025, 11:42 AM

We couldnt afford £20k a week back then 🤐

01-05-2025, 06:40 AM
Good player . I like the fact that he can play a few positions is handy too . A few times I’ve watched him he’s played well in a more wider role….

https://footystats.org/players/republic-of-ireland/jamie-mcgrath

Also very good at set pieces and pens

01-05-2025, 06:41 AM
We couldnt afford £20k a week back then ��

:greengrin if only we could have got that fax machine to work or maybe we tried pigeons

Paul1642
03-05-2025, 06:42 PM
Another 35 mins for him today.

When we first announced the signing whilst he was out injured I was worried he might not be fully up to speed for the start of next season. Glad that’s not the case.

No idea how he played.

03-05-2025, 06:43 PM
Another 35 mins for him today.

When we first announced the signing whilst he was out injured I was worried he might not be fully up to speed for the start of next season. Glad that’s not the case.

No idea how he played.Gave away the free kick that led to st.mirrens goal. Good lad

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

03-05-2025, 06:46 PM
Gave away the free kick that led to st.mirrens goal. Good lad

Sent from my SM-A405FN using TapatalkAgent McGrath, well done [emoji106]

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

1875M
03-05-2025, 06:47 PM

Possibly the most unbelievable thing I’ve ever read on here and that’s saying something. 20k a month, yes possibly. 20k a week 🤣🤣

Stairway 2 7
03-05-2025, 06:59 PM
Possibly the most unbelievable thing I’ve ever read on here and that’s saying something. 20k a month, yes possibly. 20k a week 🤣🤣

Mikey Forrester Russian sailor's. I had a fourball with Dave Cormack at the fountain park mini golf and he said it was 30k

03-05-2025, 07:30 PM
They're talking about him being their best player on the Aberdeen forum.

03-05-2025, 07:31 PM
They're talking about him being their best player on the Aberdeen forum.

Our player now 💚

Trinity Hibee
03-05-2025, 08:05 PM

😂😂😂😂😂

Stokesy's on fire
01-06-2025, 11:36 AM
When does he join?

01-06-2025, 11:37 AM
When does he join?Id assume his contract starts today

Donegal Hibby
01-06-2025, 11:50 AM
I’m still actually quite surprised we got him .. strange one from an Aberdeen point of view IMO .

01-06-2025, 12:10 PM
I’m still actually quite surprised we got him .. strange one from an Aberdeen point of view IMO .

Apparently they wanted to keep him, and hearts were in also, but we offered a longer deal

01-06-2025, 12:39 PM
Apparently they wanted to keep him, and hearts were in also, but we offered a longer deal

Nowhere near good enough for get in Jamestown Team apparently. If he had shown up there is only one place he was headed at that’s to the Gorgie Galicticos. So says my Jambo chums.

I keep hearing they are shopping in a totally different market now?

Donegal Hibby
01-06-2025, 12:43 PM

I think before his shoulder injury he was one of their top players for goals and assists , think Hibs have played a blinder in getting him over an extra year.

01-06-2025, 12:48 PM
Nowhere near good enough for get in Jamestown Team apparently. If he had shown up there is only one place he was headed at that’s to the Gorgie Galicticos. So says my Jambo chums.

They are, we shop in Sainsbury’s and they are at Farmfoods.

Bridge hibs
01-06-2025, 12:50 PM
They are, we shop in Sainsbury’s and they are at Farmfoods.

Gorgie Farm Foods

Stokesy's on fire
01-06-2025, 12:57 PM
Id assume his contract starts today

That's what I would expect.

Stokesy's on fire
01-06-2025, 12:58 PM

Hibs and hearts are both bigger clubs than Aberdeen.there shouldn't be a time when Aberdeen could beat us to any player. Him coming to us makes perfect sense.

Donegal Hibby
01-06-2025, 01:56 PM
Hibs and hearts are both bigger clubs than Aberdeen.there shouldn't be a time when Aberdeen could beat us to any player. Him coming to us makes perfect sense.

I think seeing as he was an Aberdeen player they were probably in the driving seat to tie him down or at least try to by offering a similar deal .

They made it sound like they weren’t prepared to offer a 4 year deal and yet I think they offered an older player they signed a 3 year one which is what I mean was surprising especially considering McGrath’s figures before his injury for them made him one of their top players.

Probably could be a case of they were a bit lackadaisical and we were on the ball .

01-06-2025, 02:05 PM
10 goal contributions in 25 matches for Aberdeen in the season just gone, Him and Hoilett if he decides to stay will be good options to have, i think it would push Campbell down a bit but that wont be a problem i don't think.

Donegal Hibby
01-06-2025, 03:05 PM
10 goal contributions in 25 matches for Aberdeen in the season just gone, Him and Hoilett if he decides to stay will be good options to have, i think it would push Campbell down a bit but that wont be a problem i don't think.

Think McGrath will be a key player for us next season and having Hoilett and Campbell gives us another two different options if needed … it’s all good 👍 .

01-06-2025, 04:49 PM
Gorgie Farm Foods

Aye but they call it Murrayfield farm foods.

Hibiza
01-06-2025, 05:42 PM
Gorgie Farm Foods

😀😀😀

01-06-2025, 06:26 PM

The barras

01-06-2025, 06:36 PM

aye, they’re at Ingleston market by the looks of things

01-06-2025, 09:00 PM

Silly stuff really.

Aberdeen benefit hugely from being the only top flight club in that city, a relatively wealthy city with a large catchment area.

Stokesy's on fire
02-06-2025, 04:43 AM
Silly stuff really.

Aberdeen benefit hugely from being the only top flight club in that city, a relatively wealthy city with a large catchment area.

A dull city with no soul.

02-06-2025, 08:08 AM
Aye but they call it Murrayfield farm foods.In Budge speak, they are world class enhanced consumptive opportunities.

02-06-2025, 10:07 AM

Nonsense

02-06-2025, 10:12 AM
Nonsense

Yes, that as well.

Stokesy's on fire
02-06-2025, 10:17 AM
Nonsense

Ever been to Aberdeen? Ive lived in the area for long enough and its got nothing on Edinburgh any footballer with any sense would choose edinburgh over a city as dull as aberdeen.

02-06-2025, 10:18 AM
Ever been to Aberdeen? Ive lived in the area for long enough and its got nothing on Edinburgh any footballer with any sense would choose edinburgh over a city as dull as aberdeen.

4 years at Uni and a year working afterwards.

I loved my time there, and it certainly does have a soul.

timewilltell
02-06-2025, 10:19 AM

What utter nonsense!

Stokesy's on fire
02-06-2025, 10:20 AM

Yet to see it lives in aberdeenshire my entire life and find aberdeen to have no soul at all

02-06-2025, 10:51 AM
What utter nonsense!

I suppose it’s matter of opinions. The granite is dull grey and that does not help. However, they do make a big deal of how it sparkles in the rain, and it does.

Old Aberdeen is beautiful and there is lots of great Scottish history in both parts as well as the surrounding area. Two great salmon rivers is a bonus and lots of wildlife on and off the coast, whilst the history and architecture of the Aberdeenshire are is fabulous. Then, of course there have been the years of prosperity, bringing diverse people to the city for work.

It’s sad that there is also a significant divide between the haves and have nots but that’s true of every city. I do feel it is exaggerated because of the oil wealthy incomes and successful locals.

On balance, I agree with those saying Aberdeen City is dull. The saving grace is what surrounds it.

Mcbizz1998
02-06-2025, 11:00 AM
If you are lucky enough to have been born and brought up in Edinburgh then you probably aren’t impressed by other Scottish cities.

I know that’s certainly the case for me. Dull is a fair summary of Aberdeen imo.

Victor
02-06-2025, 12:00 PM
Aberdeenshire, the area around the City is very nice and largely unvisited.

02-06-2025, 12:17 PM
If you are lucky enough to have been born and brought up in Edinburgh then you probably aren’t impressed by other Scottish cities.

I know that’s certainly the case for me. Dull is a fair summary of Aberdeen imo.
I'm born and raised in the NE and I always found Aberdeen a depressing and dreary place. Edinburgh on the other hand, after all of the travelling I've done in my lifetime, remains my favourite city in the world to this day.

147lothian
27-06-2025, 01:22 PM
I'm born and raised in the NE and I always found Aberdeen a depressing and dreary place. Edinburgh on the other hand, after all of the travelling I've done in my lifetime, remains my favourite city in the world to this day.

Because everything is made out of granite stone when it rains Aberdeen looks very much like a dull uninspiring place to me.

27-06-2025, 02:45 PM
Because everything is made out of granite stone when it rains Aberdeen looks very much like a dull uninspiring place to me.

I get the reverse. When it rains the granite sparkles and looks good. It’s when it’s dry it’s as dull as dishwater.
Perceptions eh?

27-06-2025, 02:50 PM
Aberdeenshire, the area around the City is very nice and largely unvisited.

I agree. Amazing countryside with a vast amount of prehistoric sites, as well as castles. It's not too touristy and has lots of great walks, costal and inland.

Plenty of sheep running around, for those inclined to that kind of thing. Some bonnie belters of the Yow can be found.

28-06-2025, 01:53 PM
The club from the dull city with no soul has just announced significant investment

Aberdeen FC - £8 million New Investment Round into Aberdeen FC https://share.google/lrfkWWu8XRIysqaQ0

joe t
28-06-2025, 02:14 PM
The club from the dull city with no soul has just announced significant investment

Aberdeen FC - £8 million New Investment Round into Aberdeen FC https://share.google/lrfkWWu8XRIysqaQ0

The slow realisation that the council will never be buying them a nice shiny new stadium and they will have to spend multiple millions to fix the *****hole that is pittodrie. A chain around their neck for the next 2 decades at least.

28-06-2025, 02:42 PM
Lived in Aberdeen for 6 years before moving back home to Edinburgh.

Whilst I agree with a poster above that, similarly, I have seen many cities around the world and Edinburgh is absolutely one of the best all-rounders in my opinion, I do think Aberdeen gets a hard rep. The countryside around the city is absolutely glorious and the city still has some great wee pockets like Old Aberdeen, Belmont Street, Hazelhead Park, Duthie Park, the West End etc. I just think it’s very easy for Edinburghers to judge, living in a city which consistently is rated highly in global quality of life indexes etc.

Give me Aberdeen over Glasgow any day though.

28-06-2025, 07:18 PM

£5m for capital expenditure (training facilities and upgrades to their crumbling stadium).

This will continue ad infinitum as there is no way the council is coming on board for tens of millions when they are skint.

I don't think Aberdeen fans are as gullible as Hearts fans in this respect and understand that most of this cash is already sunk.

28-06-2025, 07:36 PM
£5m for capital expenditure (training facilities and upgrades to their crumbling stadium).

This will continue ad infinitum as there is no way the council is coming on board for tens of millions when they are skint.

I don't think Aberdeen fans are as gullible as Hearts fans in this respect and understand that most of this cash is already sunk.

The stadium saga has been going on for 20 years now and they seem no nearer to a solution.

In general I welcome investment into Scottish football though, even if it's one of our main rivals. It should help to boost Scotland's competitiveness against other leagues and nations.

28-06-2025, 09:50 PM
The stadium saga has been going on for 20 years now and they seem no nearer to a solution.

In general I welcome investment into Scottish football though, even if it's one of our main rivals. It should help to boost Scotland's competitiveness against other leagues and nations.

Hibs will be taking in a lot of grant money for the development work at HTC, I’m sure.

29-06-2025, 06:13 AM

echo that - was there for a years work placement 91-92. Actually been the only home terrace I’ve stood on that’s not been Hibs - obv away end when we played.
Some great funny, warm generous and kind souls there as sick of the uglies as we are. basket case of a club over the years tho

29-06-2025, 06:17 AM
Aberdeen is a **** hole and their accents are diabolical. **** Aberdeen.

29-06-2025, 06:50 AM
Edinburgh has the best largest central area of any city in Scotland. But other global cities have more diversity and more interesting areas outside their city centres. If you have lived in other major global cities, then on return to Edinburgh it seems parochial and lacking in diversity.

29-06-2025, 07:54 AM
.........anyway, back to Jamie McGrath.

I am delighted he has signed for us, I think he is an excellent technical player and will be pretty important for us this coming season.

29-06-2025, 08:05 AM
.........anyway, back to Jamie McGrath.

I am delighted he has signed for us, I think he is an excellent technical player and will be pretty important for us this coming season.

Said it previously but I was massively impressed with the great attitude and commitment McGrath gave for Aberdeen in the games he played at the end of the season. That, despite his having committed to a move to Hibs. The complete opposite of “putting the tools away”.
That’s not forgetting he is a seriously good player. Can’t wait to see his impact in our midfield.

29-06-2025, 08:24 AM
Aberdeen is a **** hole and their accents are diabolical. **** Aberdeen.

Good to have a balanced assessment 😄

29-06-2025, 11:11 AM
Edinburgh has the best largest central area of any city in Scotland. But other global cities have more diversity and more interesting areas outside their city centres. If you have lived in other major global cities, then on return to Edinburgh it seems parochial and lacking in diversity.

Way off topic, but Edinburgh is tiny compared to many 'global cities'. To be even considered as one seems like Auld Reekie is punching way above its weight.

Trinity Hibee
29-06-2025, 11:13 AM
Way off topic, but Edinburgh is tiny compared to many 'global cities'. To be even considered as one seems like Auld Reekie is punching way above its weight.

One of the few cities in the Uk actually growing economically

29-06-2025, 05:08 PM
The one thing is take from Aberdeen and transport to Edinburgh, is their beach area with restaurants entertainment etc
The problem with Edinburgh is where would you put it

Hibiza
29-06-2025, 05:19 PM
Porty

29-06-2025, 05:33 PM
Good to have a balanced assessment 😄

Somebody had to say it

29-06-2025, 05:40 PM
Porty

That’s not Edinburgh and near the City Centre

HIBS NUTS
29-06-2025, 05:43 PM

Do other cities have a massive extiinict volcano, to walk around, more green areas than any small cities, a parliament, a palace, the coastal area with bars and restaurants, the royal yacht Britannia, a 1 and 1/2 mile Sandy beach, 30 golf courses, a rugby international staduim, a world renowned zoo, the biggest international festival in the world, a mountain range with a ski slope .🤔

29-06-2025, 05:48 PM
Do other cities have a massive extiinict volcano, to walk around, more green areas than any small cities, a parliament, a palace, the coastal area with bars and restaurants, the royal yacht Britannia, a 1 and 1/2 mile Sandy beach, 30 golf courses, a rugby international staduim, a world renowned zoo, the biggest international festival in the world, a mountain range with a ski slope .🤔

And a castle with a view of…. Most of the city really but not a random restaurant on the west side 🤔

29-06-2025, 05:49 PM

Well Rio, don't know if you have ever been. And they have beautiful women to. Thankfully, we don't pander to the Royal Family which we got rid of. Are you comparing Porty beach to Copacabana and Ipanema? The Maracana. Thank God rugby is not played there. The best bars in the world are in Rio. Sugar Mountain vs Arthur's seat.

HIBS NUTS
29-06-2025, 05:55 PM
Well Rio, don't know if you have ever been. And they have beautiful women to. Thankfully, we don't pander to the Royal Family which we got rid of.

Never been to RIO, and indeed they have beautiful women and a beach, they also have a massive lawless shanty town, were the police can’t go with regular shootings, and criminal activity spreading into the city, not a saft place at night, give me Edinburgh everytime, not sure what the royal family has to do with the conversation.

HIBS NUTS
29-06-2025, 05:56 PM
I like McGrath, and think he will be a great player for us.

29-06-2025, 06:01 PM
Dunfermline has grown significantly in the last couple of years and will soon become a major Scottish city.

29-06-2025, 06:14 PM
Dunfermline has grown significantly in the last couple of years and will soon become a major Scottish city.

Not for the first time.

Archie70
29-06-2025, 06:32 PM

What about a castle?🤔

DIXIHIBS
29-06-2025, 06:35 PM
Well Rio, don't know if you have ever been. And they have beautiful women to. Thankfully, we don't pander to the Royal Family which we got rid of. Are you comparing Porty beach to Copacabana and Ipanema? The Maracana. Thank God rugby is not played there. The best bars in the world are in Rio. Sugar Mountain vs Arthur's seat.

Rio doesn't have the hibees...end of.

29-06-2025, 06:41 PM

And the most atmospheric football stadium in the world.

29-06-2025, 06:53 PM
Not for the first time.

might be the third, fourth or fifth time but given the development that is currently happening re private housing, the area is getting bigger daily.

29-06-2025, 06:57 PM
As a Hibs fan who grew up outside the capital I do find the "all other cities are ****in ***** and we're great" patter from some of our support really tiresome.

29-06-2025, 07:06 PM
Rio doesn't have the hibees...end of.

But the Hibs have played there, they are captured for ever in the Maracana museum, with pictures of their visit. Forca Santos our home city.

29-06-2025, 07:10 PM
I think that there are a few people like me who have lived in Edinburgh for decades that now consider it to be a gigantic building site with roads dug up for years and buildings covered in scaffolding with no sign of work going on. Frankly central Edinburgh is a disgrace as are the councillors and officials who run it.

29-06-2025, 07:15 PM

And the Hibees

29-06-2025, 08:36 PM
I like McGrath, and think he will be a great player for us.

I think she’ll be a club legend. One of the best signing we’ve made IMHO

ErinGoBraghHFC
29-06-2025, 09:41 PM
As a Hibs fan who grew up outside the capital I do find the "all other cities are ****in ***** and we're great" patter from some of our support really tiresome.

I also grew up outside of the capital but that sentiment does appear to be fairly accurate to me. Outside of Glasgow, no other city in Scotland can even think about comparing the quality of life it has to offer to what Edinburgh can offer.

29-06-2025, 10:18 PM

I had the best burger ever in Ipanema and Copacabana beach is great, but no chance I'd want to live there.

Best bars? Really? Some great areas where the weather allows you to drink out on the street, but the poverty is brutal as is the crime. Pop into any of the Favelas and let us know how you get on.