View Full Version : Do you prefer any other sports to football?
Hibspur
18-04-2025, 09:02 AM
On the Other Sports thread I noticed that somebody had posted that there's no better sport than golf when it's as exciting as the Masters was last weekend. Somebody else has mentinoned enjoying rugby as much as football.
Got me wondering, is football hands down your favourite sport or do you have another sport you prefer? Personally, I would have said football without question when I was younger but these days I don't actually watch much other than Hibs. More of a Hibs fan than a football fan if that makes sense!
I think what I actually get most enjoyment out of is watching my children play the various sports they're involved with.
18-04-2025, 09:13 AM
I enjoy playing golf (when I say enjoy...🤔) but I don't watch much of it. I usually watch at least the last day of the majors but I was in Spain last week and missed the masters completely.
18-04-2025, 09:16 AM
On the Other Sports thread I noticed that somebody had posted that there's no better sport than golf when it's as exciting as the Masters was last weekend. Somebody else has mentinoned enjoying rugby as much as football.
Got me wondering, is football hands down your favourite sport or do you have another sport you prefer? Personally, I would have said football without question when I was younger but these days I don't actually watch much other than Hibs. More of a Hibs fan than a football fan if that makes sense!
I think what I actually get most enjoyment out of is watching my children play the various sports they're involved with.Like you I follow Hibs. If I'm free, and football is on a I have I might watch or have it on in the background. The most effort would be finding a Scotland game from behind a pay wall.
The athletics at Olympics or Commonwealth will be a decent distraction.
Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk
18-04-2025, 09:17 AM
I think what I actually get most enjoyment out of is watching my children play the various sports they're involved with.
I used to be heavy into all football, other than Hibs I would follow the Prem a lot as well as the major stories in the European leagues (even if I didn't quite watch many games). But over the last 5/6/7 years or so I've found myself starting to get fairly sick of world football that isn't Scottish. In it's place I've picked up a lot more of NFL, F1, certain bits of Cricket, and Golf as something I enjoy watching. Rugby is still something i'm struggling to to get into.
I get far more excitement out of an F1 race now for example than if I was to sit and force myself to watch Everton vs Nottingham Forest. I'm just finding it harder to care about a lot of it now.
K-Zazu
18-04-2025, 09:23 AM
Darts because of Luke Littler, he’s fantastic to watch in full flow a generational talent.
Mcbizz1998
18-04-2025, 09:28 AM
I pretty much only watch Hibs, very rarely any other football.
I watch a lot of Rugby & Boxing. Played rugby when I was younger and box now.
I also like Golf and Darts.
Always been into a lot of sports and had a 4-5 year period of really bad insomnia so some of the sport I'd watch then was bizarre (Kabadi is a great and weird sport for anyone who hasn't seen it).
Nowadays it's Football (Hibs and Blackpool), Rugby (Union mainly but the odd bit of League) and NFL as the main 3.
18-04-2025, 09:30 AM
I get bored and easily distracted watching most football now other than hibs. Within minutes I'm either asleep or scrolling on my phone.
18-04-2025, 09:34 AM
I'm a massive Hibs fan but not so much of a football fan these days. I don't watch a huge deal of sport on TV but I would be more likely to tune in to Baseball World Series than the World Cup, The Ashes to the FA Cup Final or a six Nations match not featuring Scotland over a similar football international not featuring Scotland. Hibs are playing a style of football I enjoy but for the most part the top teams style is so boring I have no interest in watching. The way football is rigged with seeding and everything focused on making the big teams bigger puts me off the sport too.
18-04-2025, 09:38 AM
It's just Hibs first by a long way, I used to enjoy watching boxing but the era I'm talking about is long gone. Been quite a few Rugby league games and enjoy watching them still on TV
I attend random EFL and non league football games around my area but that's more of a casual day out thing. Hibs is my love/poison.....
Musselbound
18-04-2025, 09:44 AM
No, but snooker is close. Sometimes I will watch it over football depending on who is playing. There's so much football on TV now. Too much really.
I like the darts too.
Hibspur
18-04-2025, 09:46 AM
Two of my children played football but drifted away from it. What particularly put me off the game at that level was the appalling behaviour of certain parents on the touchline. Utterly uncalled for.
Other sports they've played include hockey, basketball, netball, tennis, fencing and swimming. Fencing is one which goes under the radar but it's actually a helluva demanding sport. We were lucky to find a great community club down south which was very accessible. Tennis is also great and I think it gets overlooked in terms of the multiple skills it requires.
Hibspur
18-04-2025, 09:48 AM
No, but snooker is close. Sometimes I will watch it over football depending on who is playing. There's so much football on TV now. Too much really.
I like the darts too.
Couldn't agree more.
18-04-2025, 09:49 AM
I don't prefer any other sports to Hibs and Scotland but I prefer loads of other sports to most other football.
Horse racing, running, cycling, NFL and boxing are all hands down more interesting to me as either spectator or participant than football. Rugby league, tennis and golf also get far more airtime in my house than football as well.
Hibspur
18-04-2025, 09:55 AM
I don't prefer any other sports to Hibs and Scotland but I prefer loads of other sports to most other football.
Horse racing, running, cycling, NFL and boxing are all hands down more interesting to me as either spectator or participant than football. Rugby league, tennis and golf also get far more airtime in my house than football as well.
Football is rarely on in our house either. Can't remember the last time I watched an international match, so it's more or less just Hibs these days.
Do you think if Hibs didn't exist you'd watch football at all? I'm honestly not sure if I would.
Donegal Hibby
18-04-2025, 10:17 AM
I don’t refer any other sports over football , absolutely live for football and especially Hibs . The All-Ireland,Ryder Cup and Six Nations are a close second . I did watch the Masters though but that was more a one off because I was hoping Mcllroy would win it …
I use to like other sports like Snooker, Tennis ,Boxing , Darts and Formula One and Horse racing but have since lost interest in most of them .
I suppose because I feel a lot of them Sports have lost characters like Jimmy White , Higgins , Jimmy Conners , McEnroe , Prost , Senna etc and are now filled with more robotic sports Men/women who lack personality and character , horse racing I very rarely watch or have a bet on now after hearing from a vet that was involved in it which put me off it .
Paulie Walnuts
18-04-2025, 10:29 AM
Playing sports always takes precedence for me, I enjoy playing football and playing golf way more than watching a football match. So for me, football is my favourite sport, but I’d play other sports ahead of watching it.
One sport I despise is horse racing. Hate every single thing about it.
1875M
18-04-2025, 10:34 AM
I really like football but I love Hibs more. Only team I watch a full game of, most of the time. If it’s a big game, Euros final, champions league final etc, I’ll watch it. Apart from that, I don’t watch any other full games. I’ll sometimes have games on in the background. Apart from football, golf. Relaxing (most of the time!) way to wind down from work and catch up with friends doing so.
18-04-2025, 10:45 AM
I like the darts too.
I’m the same. The Eurosport coverage of snooker was excellent and enjoyed the shot recreation they used to do with Ronnie, Jimmy Andy Goldstein. Now it’s on TNT, and the early signs aren’t great. Ally McCoist and another guy doing commentary at this years world championship, even if it’s an add on to the old Eurosport commentators, despite them boasting they know nothing about snooker in the promos. It sounds like snooker will die a slow death on TNT.
Like others hardly watch any football now. 10 or 15 years ago I went home and away, now try and fit Hibs around time with my young family.
H18BYM
18-04-2025, 11:12 AM
I like the darts too.
Same for me with Snooker, but also enjoy watching Pool when it's shown on TV. Sky/Matchroom starting showing some events but some recent ones have moved to pay per view. The Mosconi Cup in particular is a great watch where Europe play the US in format similar to the Ryder Cup i.e. singles and pairs. Usually on around end of Nov/early Dec.
I'm also an avid watcher of F1 although it can sometime be a bit of a procession.
18-04-2025, 11:22 AM
Other than Hibs I have no massive interest in football in general anymore.
On the other hand I absolutely love snooker, always really enjoyed it but over the last two or three years i’d rather sit and watch it over any football not involving Hibs, particularity the triple crown events on the BBC. Just a pity I’m absolutely HOPELESS playing 😂
18-04-2025, 11:34 AM
Cue sports for me is the only other sport I follow with any real interest.
I’d watch football or snooker over pretty much anything.
18-04-2025, 11:36 AM
I love sea fishing and Hibs - but watching Hibs has brought me some of the most joyful days of my life as no other sport can have the emotional roller coaster that is football. Played rugby at school which I loved but never watch it.
18-04-2025, 11:37 AM
I play golf and enjoy watching golf when I can, and the Masters last Sunday night was just gripping viewing. There is no non-Hibs football that can come close to that for entertainment for me.
I’m only interested in watching Hibs, and love doing so and it’s a big part of my life.
It might seem like a strange thing to say, but football in general I’d admit that I enjoy, but it’s all the parts of it without the actual game of football, if that makes sense.
18-04-2025, 11:47 AM
Formula 1, British Touring Cars and MotoGP are all my 'first loves'. Anything with an egine really. Used to sit and watch it all with my dad when I was younger, he wasn't a big football guy so it was motorsport, boxing and golf for him and me. Only really got into football through pals when I was a teenager and we would go Easter Road one week and Tynecastle the next, often nipping over to Dunfermline. Settled on Hibs after I realised what the Tynecastle party songs were all about and vowed never to return.
For me now, I think Formula 1 is still my number one sport, I love the marginal gains and the search for consistent perfection from the drivers. Football, golf and boxing probably tie for second place (enjoy watching the NFL and NBA too when it's on and I happen to catch it). I've just taken up golf again after having to stop after having kids about 20 years ago as it became completely unaffordable. So that might end up at the top soon if I can remember how to hit a ball correctly.
18-04-2025, 11:51 AM
Other than my Hibs fix every week, cricket is the only sport of any interest to me. Used to spend hours and hours watching the EPL but not anymore, the wife imitates me by saying "ok that's enough of that" when I inevitably get bored watching an English game.
He's here!
18-04-2025, 11:58 AM
Other than my Hibs fix every week, cricket is the only sport of any interest to me. Used to spend hours and hours watching the EPL but not anymore, the wife imitates me by saying "ok that's enough of that" when I inevitably get bored watching an English game.
Watching a cricket match can be a great way to pass a sunny day with a few beers.
He's here!
18-04-2025, 12:01 PM
I play golf and enjoy watching golf when I can, and the Masters last Sunday night was just gripping viewing. There is no non-Hibs football that can come close to that for entertainment for me.
I’m only interested in watching Hibs, and love doing so and it’s a big part of my life.
It might seem like a strange thing to say, but football in general I’d admit that I enjoy, but it’s all the parts of it without the actual game of football, if that makes sense.
Completely get that. Back in the day the pre-match pints were my favourite part of the day (ie before things had the chance to be spoiled by the football!). Once kids came along and time was more limited I came to realise when watching games completely sober that football often isn't all it's cracked up to be!
18-04-2025, 12:03 PM
Darts because of Luke Littler, he’s fantastic to watch in full flow a generational talent.
Heading up to Aberdeen for the premier league darts in a few weeks time. Looking forward to it.
I definitely prefer American Football over Football, MMA in particular the UFC isn't far behind.
For me Football is so diluted now a days it's on 7 days a week. You get the odd madness like last night at old Trafford but truth be told the majority of the games are boring.
18-04-2025, 12:25 PM
Golf
Rugby Union
Rugby League
Ice Hockey
stuart-farquhar
18-04-2025, 12:27 PM
Red ball cricket, ODI if pushed.
18-04-2025, 12:29 PM
Boxing the only one that comes close really. Watch a lot of sport, anything that isn't motorsport.
18-04-2025, 12:29 PM
I'll watch a lot sports happily and especially in the Olympics because of what's at stake, which can even make things like clay pigeon shooting and skateboarding riveting. Though outside of the Olympics I wouldn't open the curtains if swimming, basketball and triathlons for example were being held in my back garden.
Everything else has it's merits, but for me especially the NFL which I've loved since the 80s ........ hell. I'm even willing to overlook the ridiculous notion that a team winning the championship in the only country that plays the game to any serious level can have the cheek to call itself 'world champion' :greengrin
But none of them beat football ... I'm one of these folk who will watch anybody play anybody at any level.
18-04-2025, 12:31 PM
Completely get that. Back in the day the pre-match pints were my favourite part of the day (ie before things had the chance to be spoiled by the football!). Once kids came along and time was more limited I came to realise when watching games completely sober that football often isn't all it's cracked up to be!
I was meaning more football in general rather than Hibs - will be completely ingrained into the game itself when Hibs are playing. It’s any other game that I just can’t muster up enough interest in to be able to watch!
18-04-2025, 12:37 PM
Enjoy many sports but more than football? No, none even close.
18-04-2025, 12:40 PM
Hibs still absolutely number one. I'll take a passing interest in Scotland, less than that in Sunderland and outside of that I have next to zero interest in football. I just couldn't imagine sitting down and watching a game on the telly, albeit I might consider a random trip to watch a random game somewhere with mates or my partner. I used to do that quite a lot with her pre-kids so would happily do something like that if she suggested it.
American football has probably overtaken football as my favourite sport and I only got into that for the first time late 2023, and I follow golf closely too.
My mate sent a picture out earlier today to a GC I'm in and it was of historical kits of the Champions League semi finalists. I genuinely couldn't have told you who they were prior to that, wouldn't have had any idea who was still left in that competition. I was also surprised to hear that Liverpool were top of the English league. That I wouldn't have known these things only 5-10 years ago would have been unthinkable but like others I think I've just lost interest through saturation of coverage over the years, as well as being distracted by kids etc.
I am going to have an upcoming dilemma about what to guide my son towards over the coming years.
18-04-2025, 12:56 PM
Football and Hibs are my number one and always will be.
Given Hibs aren't in action this weekend, I'm hoping to be able to spend a bit of time watching the WEC 6 Hours of Imola on Sunday, I managed to catch a significant chunk of the opening round of the WEC's 1812km of Qatar.
18-04-2025, 01:07 PM
I wonder too how much of it is that age plays into losing interest in sports? Or is it just that horizons expand? With the exception of watching Hibs when they are on, I'd honestly rather cook than watch any other sport though that's really only happened in the last few years. Effort=reward I guess and top notch scran wins the day usually over EPL, American Football etc
TheHibernator
18-04-2025, 02:01 PM
I agree with OP in that I’m definitely a bigger Hibs fan than a football fan, with that said football still by far my favourite sport and nothing else comes close. I find the English prem a difficult watch these days it just seems so diluted, commercialised and boring.
I can enjoy rugby if Scotland are playing and will watch the odd boxing or UFC fight.
I have no interest in any other sport really and would rather enjoy non-sport related activities. Used to rate tennis when Andy Murray was active!
scm70nyd1973
18-04-2025, 02:54 PM
I lived in Melbourne for a while and started to get into the AFL big time - I reckon if I had stayed there then I would have liked it as much as football.
I then moved to NZ and started to get into Rugby a bit more but it will never match football.
I love cricket and watching the Black Caps but still not better than football for me.
Net result football is the stand out for me - including Scotland and West Ham - the Cabbage always have prevailed and always will prevail 😁
18-04-2025, 03:08 PM
Basketball is my second sport, did used to love all American sports and watch them when they was on C5, only problem is the time difference of course.
Snooker/pool and darts would be the others.
Can watch most sports when it's a major event.
18-04-2025, 03:30 PM
American football is my sport really, has been since i was young. Ive waxed and waned with fitba through my life, a lot more in recent years as my son started playing and i took an interest in his games. Hibs and Easter Road is like a church i go back to, and following them is a grounding experience.
Hibiza
18-04-2025, 03:34 PM
Female beach volleyball . Soz if anyone upset.
18-04-2025, 03:45 PM
Football will always be number one
Number 2 is definitely bowls, both playing and watching.
Then comes
Boxing
F1
Athletics
Snooker just bores me these days, can’t bring myself to sit and watch it for very long at all, used to love it.
scm70nyd1973
18-04-2025, 04:25 PM
Female beach volleyball . Soz if anyone upset.
Not at all - there was a L club at the bottom of my road when I lived in NZ - when I took the dog out it was on my route so it was interesting to see the games going on.
I've a new found love of Darts, watch and play as often as I can, like others I used to love football, Hibs but also Prem, Italy and Germany consuming as much content as possible but ive lost that now, still mad on hibs and have a lot of prem on tv but its mostly background noise whilst I chuck darts
18-04-2025, 04:58 PM
I enjoy the Six Nations and the Rugby World Cup when it’s on, although having never played Rugby my understanding of the rules is rudimentary !
I’ve been to a Boston Red Sox game which was an experience to watch live but would never do it again ! And like some on here I enjoy the Olympics only to take in some sports I would never normally watch !
Hibspur
18-04-2025, 05:03 PM
Very interesting to see how many of those who've responded seem to rarely watch much football other than Hibs and how many have kind of drifted away from the fanaticism of their younger years. Does that say something about the demographic of those who post on hibs.net?
18-04-2025, 05:10 PM
I like watching Cricket, Motorsport and Boxing but nothing comes close to football for me, whether Hibs are playing or not. Any level the game is played at will reveal moments of magic for me that no other game has. Love it.
18-04-2025, 05:23 PM
Beach Volleyball.
(I used to play it, though wasn't particularly good)
Hibspur
18-04-2025, 05:24 PM
I agree with OP in that I’m definitely a bigger Hibs fan than a football fan, with that said football still by far my favourite sport and nothing else comes close. I find the English prem a difficult watch these days it just seems so diluted, commercialised and boring.
I can enjoy rugby if Scotland are playing and will watch the odd boxing or UFC fight.
I have no interest in any other sport really and would rather enjoy non-sport related activities. Used to rate tennis when Andy Murray was active!
When he was at his peak Hibs were pretty awful so there's no question I enjoyed tennis more than football then. Damn shame his top level career was cut so short with that injury in 2017 as he'd probably still have had five or six competitive years we could have enjoyed.
Silky
18-04-2025, 05:38 PM
Apart from Hibs and Scotland matches I don't really watch mu h football. Used to watch loads of matches when I was younger, particularly Football Italia on Channel 4 in the 90's. There was a time I fell out of love with the game completely and spent a lot of time playing and watching golf, another game I enjoy. When my daughter came along, she was interested in football, so I started going back and watching games again, then my son got into it in a big way. He's now 14 and is a massive Hibby. He also plays every week, so between that and his training, I'm.probably more involved in football than I've been for 20 odd years when I played. I think now watching him and watching Hibs is about as much as I can take!
18-04-2025, 05:52 PM
My interest in football is pretty much limited to Hibs and Hibs Women, although I still do the fantasy EPL out of habit.
I think rugby would be the only sport I watch if I don't support either team and even then that's only the internationals. My NFL interest is limited to the Eagles and other sports such as cricket or cycling it tends to only be the big events that I keep an eye on.
I'd agree with those who say that the amount of sport on TV is a negative factor. There isn't the same sense of occasion watching a Scottish Cup Final when so much football is available or the SuperBowl when I can watch every NFL game live, so it's easy to do other things instead of making the effort to watch.
18-04-2025, 06:10 PM
To watch.. deffo football.. I can stand in a park and watch amateurs in the rain. When it comes to actually taking part… it’s fishing for me. I was in a fairly high profile lure fishing competition last weekend and won it, beating two Individual world champions and 6 other England Internationals…(England are World Champions at this particular type of fishing) it’s just a pity Scotland don’t have a team !
18-04-2025, 06:14 PM
I’m also a rugby fan. But football tops the pack.
I grew up in Bath where rugby was played at state schools the whole city is rugby daft. Played and watched rugby throughout, now coach my son’s team.
Big Bath fan. However if it’s a straight question Hibs to win the Cup or Bath to win the Prem it’s Hibs and the Cup every time.
18-04-2025, 06:59 PM
Very interesting to see how many of those who've responded seem to rarely watch much football other than Hibs and how many have kind of drifted away from the fanaticism of their younger years. Does that say something about the demographic of those who post on hibs.net?
I think it's saturation as much as anything.
TV football was undeniably a thing when I was a bairn but it was in it's infancy as a 24/7 concept. I loved Italian football (I could reel of the Milan team of the 90s easier than I could the current Man City side) and never missed Gazzeta on a Saturday morning or the live Channel 4 game on a Sunday afternoon. I loved watching the Newcastle side of the mid 90s, a team who just went out to try and outscore the opposition every week. Through my teens and early 20s it was a social thing; a weekend was rounded off with a few pints watching the Sunday afternoon games with mates.
In the last decade or so I just don't much like the way the game has gone. While acknowledging there is a bit of rose tinted glasses when thinking back to the 90s it seems a much more deliberately overly complicated and thus duller game now. My passion for Hibs has never waned, in fact it's become more prominent to fill the void if anything. I also still love watching lower league or non league football live and finding new grounds to see. The Champions League, EPL, La Liga etc just do nothing for me now though.
18-04-2025, 07:06 PM
Used to love football but not now apart from Hibs games - probably due to saturation coverage but also a dislike of boring modern formulaic tactics and other new bits I don't like such as VAR.
Sports I prefer are ice-hockey, baseball and tennis.
Mcbizz1998
18-04-2025, 07:47 PM
I’m also a rugby fan. But football tops the pack.
I grew up in Bath where rugby was played at state schools the whole city is rugby daft. Played and watched rugby throughout, now coach my son’s team.
Big Bath fan. However if it’s a straight question Hibs to win the Cup or Bath to win the Prem it’s Hibs and the Cup every time.
Nice one mate.
I’m gutted that Edinburgh v Bath is same day as Hibs v United. Would have loved to go along and see Finn at wee Murrayfield!
18-04-2025, 07:56 PM
I used to watch every game that was on the telly, and watch Hibs live every week. Now apart from Hibs and Scotland, the games MIGHT be on in the background but not all the time, so much so I couldnt tell you who is playing day to day now, when in years gone by i knew every one.
I play Golf 3-4 times a week, but only really watch the big tournements, i think as i'm getting older sport does not feel as important as it once did for me.
Still cant do without Hibs though, that will never die. :greengrin
18-04-2025, 08:03 PM
I had both Edinburgh Capitals and Hibs season tickets as a teenager, and whilst I’ll still watch ice hockey on TV now and again, I’ve got nowhere near the interest I did back in the day.
In the past 15 years or so I’ve taken a far greater interest in rugby: to some extent it coincided with obtaining Italian citizenship through ancestry, and rugby gave me a decent social circle - to some extent pre-made - in Italy. Nowadays I balance my Hibs season book with following the Italian rugby team home and away, with a few Benetton Treviso (another team in green and white!) fixtures thrown in for good measure.
18-04-2025, 08:18 PM
Yes, unique atmospheric identity based non football occasions are what do it for me, so Tynecastle park is the place to be.
joebakerforever
18-04-2025, 09:29 PM
Have followed Hibs since 1955 & the Edinburgh Monarchs & Speedway in general since 1963.
When the football season ends, get yourself along to Armadale on Friday nights for an adrenalin fix:hyper
18-04-2025, 09:57 PM
No. I like lots of other sports like rugby, both union and league, NFL, cricket, Aussie Rules etc. though. Only sport that ever came close for me was tennis. Loved playing as a kid at the Rosefield courts at Porty but a posh sport back then so there was no chance of getting lessons let alone joining a club.
18-04-2025, 10:20 PM
I enjoy the Six Nations and the Rugby World Cup when it’s on, although having never played Rugby my understanding of the rules is rudimentary !
I’ve been to a Boston Red Sox game which was an experience to watch live but would never do it again ! And like some on here I enjoy the Olympics only to take in some sports I would never normally watch !
When I was in my late teens early 20s my friends dad would have a house full for Scotland's 5 nations games, he even had a piper at one of them :greengrin it was absolutely magic with drink flowing, brilliant folk and incredible patter ..... the only thing I can think that has ever matched it is being in the pub pre match with loads of Hibs fans before we play at Hampden.
As the game ( rugby ) became professional the enthusiasm of these days seemed to wane and my mate's dad's rugby house parties died away as that almost innocent amateurism of the game was lost. But those brilliant days in the late 70s early 80s will live with me all of my life. I seriously think rugby lost something going professional and I don't have anything like the, not love, but affection, I had for it in those days.
18-04-2025, 11:51 PM
No
Big UFC fan till the mags brigade took over, can’t bring myself to watch it now.
19-04-2025, 12:53 AM
I enjoy playing golf (when I say enjoy...🤔) but I don't watch much of it. I usually watch at least the last day of the majors but I was in Spain last week and missed the masters completely.
Never played golf but like going to watch it.
19-04-2025, 01:05 AM
I enjoy watching many different sports but football is definitely my favourite with Hibs front and foremost and Scotland also a passion. In any sport - from bowling through tennis, golf, motor racing, athletics, judo - if there's a Scot involved I'll always be more interested. I played a wee bit of Rugby as a kid and I find rugby union at international level an awesome spectacle. Football though is the sport I feel most at home with and if it's Hibs at home vs watching Scotland at Rugby on the telly I'll be down at Easter Road :flag:
Bainsford hibby
19-04-2025, 05:58 AM
All football. Hibs first. When i stayed in the states, it was ice hockey and a little baseball.
Rugby League used to be up there but has gone very poor in last couple of years.
19-04-2025, 06:18 AM
I also forgot to mention Curling ! Watching it gives me the same therapeutic feeling I get from doing dishes 😅
Ribs1875
19-04-2025, 06:56 AM
Winter Olympics is like porn to me, so much so I prefer it over the football world Cup. It's incredible how talented one has to be in order to compete in these sports.
Bridge hibs
19-04-2025, 08:14 AM
Football
6 nations
Golf but mostly european or when we spank the yanks
Love watching bowls and curling
Lost interest in snooker and darts and cricket, baseball or American football bores the tits off me
Newcastlehibby
19-04-2025, 08:20 AM
Prefer? No but I only enjoy watching Hibs and sometimes enjoy watching Scotland. Can’t be bothered with the likes of MOTD any more due to the over analysis of everything. I enjoy watching Scotland playing rugby and golf majors last two days as well as athletics during the Olympics and world championships.
19-04-2025, 08:22 AM
Winter Olympics is like porn to me, so much so I prefer it over the football world Cup. It's incredible how talented one has to be in order to compete in these sports.
Really :greengrin
19-04-2025, 08:29 AM
You are very probably not alone in preferring porn to the world cup. Some of them are very talented
Alfiembra
19-04-2025, 08:32 AM
My favourite sport is golf and still try to play a bit. Like many have said I’ve no real interest in football now other than Hibs and I’m always on tender hooks following the game either online or the radio, don’t go to matches anymore. Have played and still enjoy watching Badminton and Judo.
19-04-2025, 08:58 AM
My favourite sport is golf and still try to play a bit. Like many have said I’ve no real interest in football now other than Hibs and I’m always on tender hooks following the game either online or the radio, don’t go to matches anymore. Have played and still enjoy watching Badminton and Judo.
My second favourite sport is correcting other people's grammar.
While we're on that subject; it's 'on tenterhooks', not 'on tender hooks'
😁
19-04-2025, 09:06 AM
Keep an eye on La Liga and what's going on, watching the bigger games.
Like going to the baseball but other than the world series not a fan of watching on TV.
Used to love NFL and was what I played as a kid/ teenager. Jets are my team and used to try watching them when possible and have been to their London games to see them but have lost interest of late if I'm honest.
Winter sports? Definitely a fan of the ladies skeleton and luge when on the telly. Can't stand the cold so no chance of me seeing it live though.
Alfiembra
19-04-2025, 09:50 AM
My second favourite sport is correcting other people's grammar.
While we're on that subject; it's 'on tenterhooks', not 'on tender hooks'
😁
:thumbsup:bloomin auto correct, that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it!