View Full Version : David Gray - manager of the Month again

04-04-2025, 10:44 AM
Just fantastic, and lessons to be learned for all of us, not just Hibs.

New managers make mistakes, hit bad form but ultimately need to be given time to grow into the role.

04-04-2025, 10:46 AM
Manager of the month, man of the year, intergalactic lifeform of the millennium…he deserves all the allocades coming.

04-04-2025, 10:50 AM
Is this the record? Definitely for us, but ever?

ElginHibbie
04-04-2025, 10:55 AM
Is this the record? Definitely for us, but ever?

Looking back Steve Clarke got 3 in a row in 2017/18

04-04-2025, 10:58 AM

So Dave Gray for Scotland manager?

Bridge hibs
04-04-2025, 11:06 AM
Needs a statue, a stand and a street named after him

04-04-2025, 11:13 AM
Needs a statue, a stand and a street named after him
Earl Gray Street?

Ribs1875
04-04-2025, 11:14 AM
Everyone at the club deserves credit, could not have asked for anymore. Hopefully more of the same tomorrow.

04-04-2025, 11:21 AM

David Gray has three this season (to date..) but not consecutively.

David Gray has three of the last four, with Neil Critchley winning the January award. Great for Edinburgh football.

04-04-2025, 11:24 AM
Earl Gray Street?

That sort of thing isn't my cup of tea.

04-04-2025, 11:30 AM
It just feels wholly appropriate that as we prepare to celebrate our 150th anniversary, that David Gray will be the manager who leads us through it.

04-04-2025, 11:32 AM
First time a Hibs manager has won 3 in a season, outstanding.

Massive well done and couldn’t happen to a better man

badabing67
04-04-2025, 11:34 AM
Another well done. If he can win it for April we will be sitting pretty :greengrin

04-04-2025, 11:35 AM
Fantastic achievement. At this rate we'll be doing well to keep hold of SDG. Never thought I'd be saying that a couple of months in to the season.

04-04-2025, 11:37 AM
He’s the best manager in world football. Love the guy.

Genuinely think he’s going to have a phenomenal managerial career.

04-04-2025, 11:52 AM
Congratulations everyone at Hibs

Bridge hibs
04-04-2025, 11:52 AM
Earl Gray Street?

Gray Green

04-04-2025, 11:54 AM
It just feels wholly appropriate that as we prepare to celebrate our 150th anniversary, that David Gray will be the manager who leads us through it.

Couldn’t agree more.

Has there ever been such a good fit for an anniversary celebration?

speedy_gonzales
04-04-2025, 11:56 AM
Manager of the month, man of the year, intergalactic lifeform of the millennium…he deserves all the allocades coming.

Accolades too 🤭

Trinity Hibee
04-04-2025, 11:56 AM
If he gets 3rd place you’d think he’s a shoe in for manager of the year. They’ll prob still find a way to give it to Rodgers though or maybe even Barry the Crab

04-04-2025, 11:57 AM
Couldn’t agree more.

Has there ever been such a good fit for an anniversary celebration?

The centenary in 1975 with Hibs royalty Turnbull in charge, and Pat Stanton (descendant of one of the founders) holding the captaincy?

Thatdayinmay16
04-04-2025, 12:01 PM
The usual manager of the season will go to Brendan Rodgers for winning the league on a shoestring budget no doubt:rolleyes:.

However anyone with half a brain will recognise that Gray is Manager of the season.

Rock bottom of the league to 3rd following 2 defeats in 20 in all competitions in his first full year of management.

Donegal Hibby
04-04-2025, 12:22 PM
Really delighted for Gray and his staff …

https://x.com/ScotlandSky/status/1908105180572184808?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1908105180572184808%7Ctwgr% 5Ef537f93920b0287a13b36c6a407e858a06c2cd5d%7Ctwcon %5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.rangersnews.uk%2Fnews%2F david-gray-takes-hibs-accolades-ahead-of-rangers-clash-but-confirms-three-major-injury-doubts-for-ibrox%2F

Billy Bunter 07
04-04-2025, 12:32 PM
The usual manager of the season will go to Brendan Rodgers for winning the league on a shoestring budget no doubt:rolleyes:.

However anyone with half a brain will recognise that Gray is Manager of the season.

Rock bottom of the league to 3rd following 2 defeats in 20 in all competitions in his first full year of management.

Unfortunately if they win the treble the manager delivering the treble will get the award. So here's hoping SDG doesn't win manager of the year. :wink:

04-04-2025, 12:35 PM
If he gets 3rd place you’d think he’s a shoe in for manager of the year. They’ll prob still find a way to give it to Rodgers though or maybe even Barry the Crab

You're not wrong .... Lest we forget Callum Davidson did the cup double with St Johnstone ....... ST JOHNSTONE FFS !!! ..... and he still didn't win it, because Steven Gerrard had managed to beat the only club capable of competing with Rangers for it to the league title :faf:

Thatdayinmay16
04-04-2025, 12:42 PM
Unfortunately if they win the treble the manager delivering the treble will get the award. So here's hoping SDG doesn't win manager of the year. :wink:

Shouldn't be though, their budget eclipses ours 6 times over.

With the money they have and spend they should be winning a treble every year.

Billy Bunter 07
04-04-2025, 12:50 PM
Shouldn't be though, their budget eclipses ours 6 times over.

With the money they have and spend they should be winning a treble every year.

Oh I agree with you. But we know it's not the way it works in this country. :aok:

Trinity Hibee
04-04-2025, 01:02 PM
[/B]

You're not wrong .... Lest we forget Callum Davidson did the cup double with St Johnstone ....... ST JOHNSTONE FFS !!! ..... and he still didn't win it, because Steven Gerrard had managed to beat the only club capable of competing with Rangers for it to the league title :faf:

😂 ridiculous

04-04-2025, 02:54 PM
Congratulations SDG and his team, another successful month in April please.

04-04-2025, 02:59 PM
Any mair of you disparaging tea and I'll tannin yer windaes....

04-04-2025, 05:17 PM
Time for a 'Shades of Gray St'?

04-04-2025, 05:19 PM

Don’t milk it

04-04-2025, 05:51 PM
Time for a 'Shades of Gray St'?

BBC Scotland discussing herts chances of top six, interview with that wee weirdo who manages them, not a word about SDG manager of the month award

Hibees1973
04-04-2025, 06:06 PM
Results speak for themselves. Well done to all at Hibs so far this season.

Can we maintain this form for the last 7 league games.

I reckon 12 points (3 wins, 3 draws and just one defeat) will clinch 3rd.

Can this be achieved.

04-04-2025, 06:09 PM

Can this be achieved.

I think we beat Rangers and Dundee then take it from there.

04-04-2025, 06:10 PM

I think we beat Rangers and Dundee then take it from there.

If we beat Rangers and Dundee I think 3rd is pretty much ours, although if don't think we'll win at Ibrox unfortunately.

04-04-2025, 06:18 PM
BBC Scotland discussing herts chances of top six, interview with that wee weirdo who manages them, not a word about SDG manager of the month award

I think I prefer the MSM this way - more entertaining.

04-04-2025, 06:23 PM

Can this be achieved.

12 points and only losing 1 game is an absolutely massive task

Aberdeen at hearts both likely to be away games? Both with massive points to prove against us too.

United won’t be easy and then the old firm too

Hibees1973
04-04-2025, 06:40 PM
12 points and only losing 1 game is an absolutely massive task

Aberdeen at hearts both likely to be away games? Both with massive points to prove against us too.

United won’t be easy and then the old firm too

And this is the key.

I hope we beat Dundee (pre split) and Dundee Utd (post split) at home. These are must wins, if we are to achieve 3rd.

It's the head to head games against Aberdeen & The Yam (I'm not ruling them out as they will have us & Aberdeen at home post split) which may prove crucial. We must look to cancel them out by a least drawing them.

04-04-2025, 06:43 PM
Have any of our players players picked up a POTM award this season and who was the last player to get same achievement in a season.

04-04-2025, 06:49 PM
Gray seserves manager of the year for how he turned our season round despite being a rookie.

But Rodgers will get it for buying the treble.

04-04-2025, 06:52 PM
Have any of our players players picked up a POTM award this season and who was the last player to get same achievement in a season.

Cadden did.

04-04-2025, 07:02 PM
Gray seserves manager of the year for how he turned our season round despite being a rookie.

But Rodgers will get it for buying the treble.
Oh come now, romping home first in a one horse race is very tough don't you know?

04-04-2025, 07:56 PM

David Gray has three of the last four, with Neil Critchley winning the January award. Great for Edinburgh football.

**** hearts. And Neil Critchley. Respectively.

04-04-2025, 07:57 PM
To be fair if Gray deserves it if we get 3rd you'd have to say Goodwin or Thelin would also if the achieved that, so it's probably too early to call.

04-04-2025, 08:07 PM
**** hearts. And Neil Critchley. Respectively.

Correct. I might be wrong but don't think Critchley has won a game against a top 6 side. Maybe beat Dundee United not sure.

04-04-2025, 08:12 PM
Correct. I might be wrong but don't think Critchley has won a game against a top 6 side. Maybe beat Dundee United not sure.

Yeah they won 1-0 at Tannadice in January. A wee draw at Tynie this weekend would do nicely.

05-04-2025, 11:17 AM
At this rate we're gonna struggle to keep a hold of SDG next season.

05-04-2025, 03:38 PM

As we are dismantling the Orcs 0-2 on 75 minutes, i was just thinking the same. Big clubs will be watching this incredible run now.

ChicoM1875
05-04-2025, 04:06 PM
Hibs Legend

05-04-2025, 04:07 PM
Manager of season for me

05-04-2025, 04:08 PM
Should the statue of him be bronze or marble?

05-04-2025, 04:08 PM
Enjoy SDG now as he’ll be a wanted man come the summer. Absolute legend :agree:

05-04-2025, 04:09 PM
Manager of season for me

He's up there , if he can get us to 3rd he has to get it

05-04-2025, 04:39 PM

The downside of doing well unfortunately but he absolutely deserves every bit of recognition and credit.

I'm sure there will be some very tempting offers come his way, ones that he will quite understandably be tempted with but i really hope he stays at least another season or 2 and builds up his experience and hopefully maybe even wins something here with us before moving on to something bigger. I'd hate to see him jump too soon and take on something he's not quite ready for. If and when he decides to move on I hope he's mega successful.

05-04-2025, 04:39 PM

i reckon he'll give us another year, along with Boyler - can't wait to see what a SDG team is like in Europe :flag::flag:

leith lynx
05-04-2025, 05:08 PM
As we are dismantling the Orcs 0-2 on 75 minutes, i was just thinking the same. Big clubs will be watching this incredible run now.
He's at a big club already, hopefully we get a few more years, would like to see Darren McGregor promoted to first team coaching team next season with a view to following Sir David 's footsteps in time.Keep it Hibernian.

Hibs4185
05-04-2025, 05:11 PM
I don’t get the feeling that SDG and the coaching team will be jumping ship at the first opportunity.

Even if we do get offers, I feel pretty confident they’ll be here next season

Se7enUp
05-04-2025, 05:20 PM

Suspect the winner of the dons/hertz semi-final will sneak the next

05-04-2025, 05:48 PM
I'm going to leave my Mrs for him. He might object but giving him the opportunity.

05-04-2025, 06:03 PM
Was so clear today the difference in the teams and how well drilled they are. Granted it was against 'Bazza' and he's ****, but I haven't seen as comfortable a win at Ibrox as that in my life. Schooled them.

Honestly couldn't be happier.

Murphys Touch
05-04-2025, 07:21 PM
I was definitely leading the SDG out chants in October - i thought the team/club needed a stronger character/someone vastly experience to handle those under performing on and off the pitch, while taking on the supporters.

Results and performances were brutal, we were bottom! My fear was that he hadn’t seemed to learn from mistakes of others. Cost us in the LC and the refusal to change blatant worries in the team (keeper, shape etc)

Now look at us eh

The FULL squad is flying, every single player is improving and the club are planning for something special going into our 150th year.

Fair ****s to SDG

05-04-2025, 07:46 PM
Some big clubs will be looking at him no doubt.

Not just the run we’re on, but beating Celtic, rangers and then hearts and Aberdeen twice

Big games he’s getting results in

05-04-2025, 07:53 PM
I was definitely leading the SDG out chants in October - i thought the team/club needed a stronger character/someone vastly experience to handle those under performing on and off the pitch, while taking on the supporters.

Results and performances were brutal, we were bottom! My fear was that he hadn’t seemed to learn from mistakes of others. Cost us in the LC and the refusal to change blatant worries in the team (keeper, shape etc)

Now look at us eh

The FULL squad is flying, every single player is improving and the club are planning for something special going into our 150th year.

Fair ****s to SDG

Yeah. You look a right tit now though.

05-04-2025, 08:32 PM
SDG and his team simply must be our bosses next season. If we achieve nothing else over the summer, it must be this.

05-04-2025, 08:43 PM
Hibs as ****

He will have ambition. But he's the sort of the guy that will respect and appreciate the support from last season

Imagine a 16 game unbeaten run next season without going on that brutal run at the start of the season?

06-04-2025, 02:28 AM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/488649384_1081235394050783_8830275717980524241_n.j pg?_nc_cat=102&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=833d8c&_nc_ohc=zePhV4g8mjkQ7kNvwHSRcfZ&_nc_oc=AdkzS0rsFXhZScUZvFzNv-wElCLD0i2xC_Z1DzqbwcrYLe4XTnoZ_ZLZUCmEG4gZ8QE&_nc_zt=23&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&_nc_gid=31Gg78jNT1qzpbBggfudcQ&oh=00_AfFGQ_SXIfFFuf747oqTzhxVWqc9Br5_J6bJs6oqqBIT hQ&oe=67F7B2D0

06-04-2025, 05:39 AM
SDG and his team simply must be our bosses next season. If we achieve nothing else over the summer, it must be this.

If SDG gets this team to 3rd place, you can sure Ian Gordon and BKG will support and reward him. SDG would be crazy to move for money this early in his managerial career. He's at the perfect club at the minute.

Murphys Touch
06-04-2025, 06:42 AM

Aye alright

Albert Kidd 86’
06-04-2025, 07:03 AM
It’s no coincidence a number of players are being quoted as “ in the form of their lives”, the one constant in all those cases is Sir David Gray’s management of the team, along with his coaches they have created a fantastic atmosphere in and around the club.

I don’t not want this season to end, but thinking ahead to next season gets me REALLY excited, I mean the sky’s the limit as far as I can see.

Hibees1973
06-04-2025, 07:07 AM

Got to think the club are reviewing Gray's contract.

Should be given the highest salary of any Hibs manager in our history.

His coaching team, an aw.

06-04-2025, 07:08 AM

Rubbish. I was probably one of the louder backers of giving SDG more time and even still I think that’s a hideously unfair comment. Much like anyone giving people stick because they thought a certain player was rubbish, or we were getting relegated, or whatever.

All the evidence in front of us pointed to those scenarios. If anyone is saying that they saw this very scenario they’ve seen happen for the rest of the season coming, then they’re a liar.

Hibees1973
06-04-2025, 07:09 AM
I'm going to leave my Mrs for him. He might object but giving him the opportunity.

I'm seeing her already.

hibbydog
06-04-2025, 07:22 AM
Surely has to be manager of the season? From bottom to third, beating the old firm twice and hearts twice.

Delighted for SDG

Crunchie
06-04-2025, 07:30 AM
If SDG gets this team to 3rd place, you can sure Ian Gordon and BKG will support and reward him. SDG would be crazy to move for money this early in his managerial career. He's at the perfect club at the minute.
He'd be crazy not to, this run won't last forever and the minute the next bad run comes along the ones who wanted him out will be all over him again, it's what they do.

06-04-2025, 07:41 AM
He'd be crazy not to, this run won't last forever and the minute the next bad run comes along the ones who wanted him out will be all over him again, it's what they do.

I agree with this. You just have to look at what happened to Naismith and Robson after a brilliant start, finishing 3rd and then the impact of conference league.

If SDG got a good offer elsewhere and failed, he’d still have good options in Scotland - especially with us.

MacGruber
06-04-2025, 07:45 AM
Surely has to be manager of the season? From bottom to third, beating the old firm twice and hearts twice.

Delighted for SDG

No, has to be Rodgers. People don't appreciate how difficult it is to win things in this league with 20 times the budget of your rivals and massive squad full of multi million pound internationalist. It's a tough gig

06-04-2025, 07:55 AM

Said this before, his stock won’t get any higher at Hibs irrelevant of how well he does going forward. Just a hunch, think he’ll be off this summer. Career wise he’d be daft not to.

It’s sadly the reality of being a non OF club in this league.

06-04-2025, 08:14 AM
Said this before, his stock won’t get any higher at Hibs irrelevant of how well he does going forward. Just a hunch, think he’ll be off this summer. Career wise he’d be daft not to.

That would be devastating. I'd want him to lead our charge in the europa league group stage!

06-04-2025, 09:18 AM

I'm not so sure.

Gray had at least one opportunity to be a manager in his own whilst a coach at Hibs but he turned it down as he didn't think it was the right situation.

kiwihibby
06-04-2025, 09:37 AM
I'm not so sure.

Gray had at least one opportunity to be a manager in his own whilst a coach at Hibs but he turned it down as he didn't think it was the right situation.

Personally think SDG will be with Hibs for as long as the club want him. He loves the club too much. Only my opinion:flag:

06-04-2025, 02:05 PM

No chance he is leaving Hibs this summer.

06-04-2025, 02:06 PM

He’s not leaving in the summer.

06-04-2025, 02:11 PM
Personally think SDG will be with Hibs for as long as the club want him. He loves the club too much. Only my opinion:flag:

I wouldn't go that far, but if he gets 3rd this season and next and maybe wins a cup his stock would be massively high and I could see him going.

I'd be surprised if he's not here next year though.

06-04-2025, 08:08 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/NfvTthSL/IMG-6314.jpg (https://postimg.cc/hhMh8YSq)