View Full Version : Fifteen Unbeaten in the League

30-03-2025, 07:15 AM
Every single Hibby (unless you’re as old as the hills) is witnessing Hibs history unfolding in front of their eyes with this current run we are on and it got me thinking, outwith the old firm, does anyone know if any other club done anything similar in terms of 15 unbeaten?

30-03-2025, 07:22 AM
Fantastic and very rare achievement for us but I doubt if it's that unusual. Aberdeen for example went 20 league games unbeaten between March and November last year (admittedly across two seasons). Can't think of many others off the top of my head right enough.

I do know that Hearts went 27 unbeaten in 1985-86 when they won the league. (At least I assume they won it, I avoided all news on the last game and went to live in a cave in ireland for a month)

30-03-2025, 07:28 AM
The incredible Albert Kidd season saw them put an impressive run together 😂😂😂

Craigmount Hibs
30-03-2025, 07:32 AM
Erm, time for a quick mention of our knuckle dragging, puddle drinking, cardigan wearing, pink bus shelter dwelling neighbours? And Sir Albert Kidd?

33 games unbeaten for that shower. Not sure if they won anything, as a result....

DIXIHIBS
30-03-2025, 07:40 AM
Erm, time for a quick mention of our knuckle dragging, puddle drinking, cardigan wearing, pink bus shelter dwelling neighbours? And Sir Albert Kidd?

33 games unbeaten for that shower. Not sure if they won anything, as a result....

As the song went at the time, '33 games and ye won fu@& all' doo da doo da.

30-03-2025, 08:33 AM

Mita won this and mita won that.

Appropriate shirt sponsor

30-03-2025, 08:36 AM

33 games unbeaten? Surely they won something with a run like that!

If not it would have taken a monumental disaster to prevent this...

Garymcl
30-03-2025, 09:28 AM
We’re on brilliant run this team deserve to supported ,we’re getting great home attendances on the back of this next home game against Dundee could see a near sell out on the way to 3rd place and Europe :flag:

30-03-2025, 10:41 AM
Fantastic and very rare achievement for us but I doubt if it's that unusual. Aberdeen for example went 20 league games unbeaten between March and November last year (admittedly across two seasons). Can't think of many others off the top of my head right enough.

I do know that Hearts went 27 unbeaten in 1985-86 when they won the league. (At least I assume they won it, I avoided all news on the last game and went to live in a cave in ireland for a month)

That was when they were sponsored by Mita..because they Mita won the league and Mita won the cup..

30-03-2025, 11:29 AM
It's done wonders for my mental health, 4 months of weekends not spoiled.

30-03-2025, 11:37 AM
I’m not sure if we are really giving this the recognition it deserves? I hadn’t given the run much of a thought when walking back after game until it then hit me that run extends another game and was up to 15.

It may not be fully appreciated until it comes to an end.

The other impressive stat is that it was our sixth consecutive home win. A strong hime record is the foundation for every successful club, and making points hard to come by at Easter Road has contributed majorly to our rise up the table.

Long may that continue.

Cooshed Kid
30-03-2025, 11:47 AM
It's done wonders for my mental health, 4 months of weekends not spoiled.

👍👍

It’s something I never thought possible.

jakedance
30-03-2025, 11:58 AM
Winning is brilliant eh? You can see why other clubs are so into it. We should have done this years ago.

Skol
30-03-2025, 12:02 PM
When you consider the start was the worst we have had since 1979 and the managers job was in doubt, it really shows an amazing turnaround.

Trinity Hibee
30-03-2025, 12:37 PM
When you consider the start was the worst we have had since 1979 and the managers job was in doubt, it really shows an amazing turnaround.

It does. Strangely mirroring Aberdeen from 2 years ago except we stuck with our manager and they sacked Goodwin

30-03-2025, 01:30 PM
Our longest unbeaten run IN THE CHAMPIONSHIP was fourteen games, which we've now exceeded.

Is this the longest unbeaten top flight run in our history?

30-03-2025, 01:31 PM
Our longest unbeaten run IN THE CHAMPIONSHIP was fourteen games, which we've now exceeded.

Is this the longest unbeaten top flight run in our history?

No. Went 17 unbeaten in 47-48

30-03-2025, 01:32 PM
No. Went 17 unbeaten in 47-48

Ah, okay. It's impressive that we're even close to it.

30-03-2025, 01:35 PM
https://www.soccerstats.com/homeaway.asp?league=scotland

Home and away table, 4th and 4th

30-03-2025, 01:42 PM
I’m not sure if we are really giving this the recognition it deserves? I hadn’t given the run much of a thought when walking back after game until it then hit me that run extends another game and was up to 15.

It may not be fully appreciated until it comes to an end.

The other impressive stat is that it was our sixth consecutive home win. A strong hime record is the foundation for every successful club, and making points hard to come by at Easter Road has contributed majorly to our rise up the table.

Long may that continue.

I think it’ll only be really appreciated if we finish the job now.

Shows just how bad the start was that we’ve went on a run like this and are still only a point clear on third. Don’t think we’ll see a run of 15 (or more) games unbeaten in the league again any time soon.

30-03-2025, 04:11 PM
According to wiki even in our 1903 league season when we won the league at a canter with only one defeat in 22, 15 games unbeaten was the longest unbeaten run that year. Unless ive missed something if we exceed the 17 unbeaten league run of 1947 that will be the all time record. Just require three more; have to avoid defeat against the hun, dundee and AN Other top 6 opponent.

PHeffernan
30-03-2025, 05:09 PM
https://www.soccerstats.com/homeaway.asp?league=scotland

Home and away table, 4th and 4th

Thanks for that incredibly revealing graphic.
Killie, only 9 points from the 48 available taken away from home and St J not much better with 12 from 48!

30-03-2025, 08:24 PM

"As suddenly Dundee went 2 up at Dens and the ****te from Tyncastle won f all again"

31-03-2025, 09:28 AM
Undefeated in the league since Celtic away 0-3 7/12/2024 a game we should have been 2-0 up in ?

Not bad considering it is now 31/03/2025

Are you not entertained ?

David David Gray David David Gray !

badabing67
31-03-2025, 10:05 AM
Thanks for that incredibly revealing graphic.
Killie, only 9 points from the 48 available taken away from home and St J not much better with 12 from 48!

But you can clearly see the massive home advantage Killie have got from the Killie carpet over STJ. It is ridiculous, quite simply it should not be allowed.

31-03-2025, 10:15 AM
Undefeated in the league since Celtic away 0-3 7/12/2024 a game we should have been 2-0 up in ?

Not bad considering it is now 31/03/2025

Are you not entertained ?

David David Gray David David Gray !

Thinking about that game the other day, Schmeicel made 9 saves. When Rangers beat them recently they only had 5 shots on target, so little doubt that we gave Celtics back line the hardest game they would have had all season. We were excellent and 3-0 scoreline was a travesty really.

31-03-2025, 10:35 AM
Thinking about that game the other day, Schmeicel made 9 saves. When Rangers beat them recently they only had 5 shots on target, so little doubt that we gave Celtics back line the hardest game they would have had all season. We were excellent and 3-0 scoreline was a travesty really.

It makes me a bit frustrated that we didn't have a bit more of a go in the cup game the other week. Yeah we could have ended up losing heavier than 2-0. But who knows, it could have gone the other way.

31-03-2025, 10:43 AM

It makes me a bit frustrated that we didn't have a bit more of a go in the cup game the other week. Yeah we could have ended up losing heavier than 2-0. But who knows, it could have gone the other way.

Was a major disappointment and a let down on the day too many players off it just couldn’t control water just cannae turn up at Celtic Park and play like that but saying that it almost worked just needed a goal to force it to ET injuries to the Cadden’s didn’t help ?

Celtic definitely vulnerable at the back

Jordan Smith MOTM

The Tubs
31-03-2025, 11:13 AM

Did we not get a lot of joy from that game before Christmas playing balls behind Scales? Gray obviously must have tried to identify points where we could damage them but Scales was probably easier to exploit than any member of their back four in the cup game.

Thatdayinmay16
31-03-2025, 12:23 PM
Did we not get a lot of joy from that game before Christmas playing balls behind Scales? Gray obviously must have tried to identify points where we could damage them but Scales was probably easier to exploit than any member of their back four in the cup game.

Probably due to the fact Scales is absolutely dreadful.

05-04-2025, 03:49 PM
According to wiki even in our 1903 league season when we won the league at a canter with only one defeat in 22, 15 games unbeaten was the longest unbeaten run that year. Unless ive missed something if we exceed the 17 unbeaten league run of 1947 that will be the all time record. Just require three more; have to avoid defeat against the hun, dundee and AN Other top 6 opponent.

Sweet Sixteen.
Two more for even more history making.

05-04-2025, 03:50 PM
Scotland’s form team :flag:

05-04-2025, 04:03 PM
16 and could be 17 plus…

Let’s keep this run going.

Incredible

05-04-2025, 04:10 PM
16 and could be 17 plus…

Let’s keep this run going.

Incredible

It is incredible, given the disastrous start we had. I can’t recall anything like it.

Paul1642
05-04-2025, 04:21 PM
It is incredible, given the disastrous start we had. I can’t recall anything like it.

Me neither, at any club, not just Hibs or SPL.

05-04-2025, 04:24 PM
This is easily the best run we've had in my lifetime, and that of almost every living Hibs Fan.

I genuinely thought it was going to end today... I should have more faith in this team.

05-04-2025, 04:24 PM

It's completely bipolar. Really fantastic

05-04-2025, 04:26 PM
17 and we match the famous of 1949.

HarpOnHibee
05-04-2025, 04:27 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ClxXDfvtoj0

05-04-2025, 04:55 PM
17 and we match the famous of 1949.

1947 i think. 1949 was 13 undefeated.

05-04-2025, 05:10 PM
We've beaten every single one of our rivals in the top 6 on this unbeaten run. Played 4 of them twice. Beat 4 of them away including Hearts home and away. Pretty incredible :flag:

Trinity Hibee
05-04-2025, 05:12 PM
We've beaten every single one of our rivals in the top 6 on this unbeaten run. Played 4 of them twice. Beat 4 of them away including Hearts home and away. Pretty incredible :flag:

It really is unprecedented

05-04-2025, 05:22 PM
1947 i think. 1949 was 13 undefeated.

We need to start digging around further into history than 1947 now... any advance on 17 and when?

05-04-2025, 05:25 PM
We need to start digging around further into history than 1947 now... any advance on 17 and when?

Maybes 1902-03 we won the Cup and the League?

BS44
05-04-2025, 05:25 PM
25 undefeated when leading at halftime, won 18 and drew 7

05-04-2025, 05:26 PM

I am going to get someone proving me wrong here (RIP John Campbell who would know the answer definitively)…but ive checked all our years when we had good seasons and i think if we stay undefeated the next two thats the alltime record.

05-04-2025, 05:28 PM

That was an impressive 15 games, which weve just overtaken today :greengrin:

leith lynx
05-04-2025, 05:44 PM
I am going to get someone proving me wrong here (RIP John Campbell who would know the answer definitively)…but ive checked all our years when we had good seasons and i think if we stay undefeated the next two thats the alltime record.
Astonishing really, hope we do it, a fitting 150th birthday present!

05-04-2025, 06:09 PM
That was an impressive 15 games, which weve just overtaken today :greengrin:

We're going for 22 now.

That might just see us finish 3rd.

05-04-2025, 06:21 PM
Astonishing really, hope we do it, a fitting 150th birthday present!

It is an amazing statistic. I am well into my 70th decade and I've never experienced a run like this, even during the Turnbull days. We should all enjoy it while it lasts, it is unlikely any of us will see a run like this again.

HarpOnHibee
05-04-2025, 06:24 PM
I am well into my 70th decade.

Knew you were an auld codger, but dearie me!

05-04-2025, 06:42 PM
Knew you were an auld codger, but dearie me!

That just means 60-plus

05-04-2025, 06:45 PM
... I am well into my 70th decade...

That just means 60-plus

Uhm, I think you'll find it means he's over 600 years old.

HarpOnHibee
05-04-2025, 06:49 PM

690. Although he said "well into". So I'll say 698 just to be modest. :greengrin

05-04-2025, 06:54 PM
It is an amazing statistic. I am well into my 70th decade and I've never experienced a run like this, even during the Turnbull days. We should all enjoy it while it lasts, it is unlikely any of us will see a run like this again.

Is your real name yoda by any chance

05-04-2025, 06:55 PM
690. Although he said "well into". So I'll say 698 just to be modest. :greengrin

don’t ask him about the 1756/57 season.. what could have been !

HIBS NUTS
05-04-2025, 06:56 PM
We are brilliant

05-04-2025, 06:59 PM

05-04-2025, 07:16 PM
One more and we equal the record. Two and we break it.

Literally on the verge of history.

05-04-2025, 07:28 PM

Oops!

K-Zazu
05-04-2025, 07:29 PM
So how many are we unbeaten now, 16? And what is our club record??

Trinity Hibee
05-04-2025, 07:31 PM
So how many are we unbeaten now, 16? And what is our club record??

Currently 16 and it seems the record is 17

cameronw-hfc
05-04-2025, 08:32 PM
It's actually bordering on comical the fact we are most pundits favourite for 3rd place now given not long before Christmas we were sitting bottom.

Genuinely incredible and should be manager of the year worthy but Rodgers will get it no doubt.

05-04-2025, 08:35 PM
Keep it going !

05-04-2025, 09:02 PM
Amazing when you consider that a lot of posters on here wanted more than half the team that started today emptied from the club and a few who were on the bench as well.

05-04-2025, 09:09 PM
Amazing when you consider that a lot of posters on here wanted more than half the team that started today emptied from the club and a few who were on the bench as well.

Amazing

05-04-2025, 09:48 PM

I'm a wee bit younger than you and only caught the tail end of the Tornadoes. This feels different, back then it was about our players, this time it just feels like it's the manager that is at the centre of the momentum.

I didn't think I would see Pat Stanton eclipsed as a Hibs legend, but David Gray is well on his way to doing so if he hasn't already done that.

06-04-2025, 07:32 AM

Just checked :

1902 :15

1903 : 19

06-04-2025, 07:35 AM
Anyone know the record for unbeaten top flight league games in the 21st century, outwith the Old Firm? In a single season not over two.

Crunchie
06-04-2025, 07:37 AM
Every single Hibby (unless you’re as old as the hills) is witnessing Hibs history unfolding in front of their eyes with this current run we are on and it got me thinking, outwith the old firm, does anyone know if any other club done anything similar in terms of 15 unbeaten?
No one man deserves it more, a Hibernian legend who will unfortunately be poached like every other decent manager before him.

06-04-2025, 07:42 AM
Anyone know the record for unbeaten top flight league games in the 21st century, outwith the Old Firm? In a single season not over two.

Us, current run.

06-04-2025, 07:52 AM
Us, current run.

👍

06-04-2025, 08:13 AM
What is the list of the only unbeaten sides in Europe in 2025?

Or is it just us? 😂

06-04-2025, 05:15 PM
Just checked :

1902-3 unbeaten run was 19 league AND cup. 15 league 4 cup. So we’ve beaten the 1902 league run in 2025 with 16.

06-04-2025, 05:18 PM
1902-3 unbeaten run was 19 league AND cup. 15 league 4 cup. So we’ve beaten the 1902 league run in 2025 with 16.

👍

06-04-2025, 05:42 PM
Thread title needs changed

06-04-2025, 06:35 PM
Me neither, at any club, not just Hibs or SPL.

Leicester come to mind the season before they won the league. Looked dead and buried in the relegation zone and went on a marvellous streak (albeit not as many games unbeaten) to stay up.

Maybe next year we'll win the league.

06-04-2025, 06:36 PM
Does anyone know how many points Celtic have accumulated over the course of our unbeaten run?

06-04-2025, 06:37 PM
Does anyone know how many points Celtic have accumulated over the course of our unbeaten run?

Someone posted a table recently that started at gameweek 15, we were top.

06-04-2025, 07:27 PM

Since they beat us 3-0 on 7th December... they've taken 35 points and we've taken 38.

06-04-2025, 08:01 PM
One league defeat in 19? Away to Celtic?

Trinity Hibee
06-04-2025, 08:07 PM
One league defeat in 19? Away to Celtic?

Correct

06-04-2025, 09:11 PM
Since they beat us 3-0 on 7th December... they've taken 35 points and we've taken 38.

Cheers. I suspected it would be similar. Just shows you the standard clubs would need to reach to ever compete for the title again.

07-04-2025, 12:00 PM
Cheers. I suspected it would be similar. Just shows you the standard clubs would need to reach to ever compete for the title again.

Celtic have played a game more than us since then too.

To outperform a team with 10 or 20 times our budget over a period of four months is pretty amazing.

07-04-2025, 12:28 PM
Just checked :

17 is our best unbeaten league run in the League winning season 1947/48
It was Dundee that ended our run funnily enough.
Let's equal our record on Sunday.

08-04-2025, 04:02 PM

I wanted the Ball Boys, Stewards and the Snack Bar attendants fired as well.

08-04-2025, 04:14 PM

Maybe he was shipped out from the US? One of these older punters that the DOGE hit squad discovered?

12-04-2025, 06:52 AM
17 is our best unbeaten league run in the League winning season 1947/48
It was Dundee that ended our run funnily enough.
Let's equal our record on Sunday.

Yip let’s match this incredible record on Sunday and go on undefeated into game 18 and onwards to make history

Hibs once again are on the brink of history and everyone of us can say I was there

An incredible achievement all things considered

12-04-2025, 08:58 AM
If we do the unthinkable and get beat tomorrow, should we all hang around and cheer the team off the pitch for the previous 17 unbeaten games, or should we just 'boo like Jambos' for the humiliation of losing to Dundee?

12-04-2025, 09:05 AM
If we do the unthinkable and get beat tomorrow, should we all hang around and cheer the team off the pitch for the previous 17 unbeaten games, or should we just 'boo like Jambos' for the humiliation of losing to Dundee?

16 undefeated in the League prior to tomorrow

Need to change thread title

12-04-2025, 09:07 AM

I think they'll deserve a huge ovation for the last four fantastic months.