23-03-2025, 05:54 PM
Gordon 🙄
i've only just realised Nisbet is on the bench
and he brought on that wee laddie from Heartz
lol Stevie you kidderoner you
Has he touched the ball ?....probably but on for the experience.....if that's the future, we're in for a rough ride..
Genuinely, Hibs specs off.
How on earth is he in this squad, ahead of others, and getting brought on?
Everytime I've seen him he's been ineffective. He might have potential but this is scraping the barrel stuff.
Absolutely incredible selection. Then you have Lennon Miller who is standout in our league not getting on :confused:
23-03-2025, 05:55 PM
Full time whistle has gone :hyper
Another positive is Craig Gordon is absolutely done. Been outstanding against us too often.
Absolutely. He’s irreplaceable for Hearts, but he’s definitely done. Some career and hard to dislike him, but definitely finished.
I'd be more inclined to stick with Wilson than Conway. The former is young, not ready yet but at 17/18 there is potential.
Conway is in his 20s and every time I have seen him he just screams cart horse.
23-03-2025, 05:56 PM
Wilson looking like the lost wee boy he is - crap sub and shows how wafer-thin our attacking options are.
Shades of McKirdy playing for us. Miles oot his depth. Hopefully that was just to tie him into the Scotland setup. But he’s nowhere near ready for international football and doubtful he might ever be.
Shocking performance by the BBC and Scotland. The crap coverage reflected the performance. Horrible.
Longest Hanley has played in one go this season at club level is 23 minutes and Clarke wants him to play 180 minutes over 4 days? Mental.
23-03-2025, 05:57 PM
Time for Gordon to go well past it
That was grim.
Cabbage-Patch
Worst Scotland performance I've seen in years. The creative players we have in folk such as McTominay. Ferguson, McGinn completely counter acted by continuing to pick folk like Hanley. Ralston and McLean. Never want to see any of them play for Scotland again.
Hirst also looks absolutely miles off it at international level. The lad Wilson from Hearts too, I honestly don't get the hype, he would struggle to get into the under 18s! Sobering performance and to think we will have to play this lot again twice in the qualifiers and possibly Portugal too. World Cup looks pretty far away at this stage.
Also the BBC coverage was absolutely embarrassing. Audio issues and having to listen to anaylsis from that absolute baloon that is Steven Naismith. Surely there are others would be more suited to TV Work. Makes me want to mute the sound. We always get gubbed on the BBC or is it just me?
23-03-2025, 05:59 PM
Just checked.
James Wilson has scored 5 (FIVE) goals all season for Hearts in the SPFL. 1 (ONE) assist. That puts him 23rd in the SPFL. Nikki Cadden has had 5 goals and 4 assists from wingback. What a joke - handing a cap out when we are chasing in such a big game. Absolutely raging at that.
23-03-2025, 06:00 PM
I’d have had Simon Murray ahead of any of our attacking options today. On a technical level he’s lacking but he’d have broken himself trying to make something happen and we lacked that badly.
23-03-2025, 06:01 PM
Who would you play? Liam Kelly??
That's it Gunn injured Gordon's has a great career but not same
23-03-2025, 06:05 PM
Also the BBC coverage was absolutely embarrassing. Audio issues and having to listen to anaylsis from that absolute baloon that is Steven Naismith. Surely there are others would be more suited to TV Work. Makes me want to mute the sound. We always get gubbed on the BBC or is it just me?
unfortunately qualifies for a BBC contract due to his Heartz connections, Heartz have everything covered at BBC sportsound/whatever/everything
:)
23-03-2025, 06:06 PM
SJM just said it was a "kick up the backside" and that Greece are "no mugs". Love the guy, but that's crazy-talk. Scotland got outplayed all over the park by a distance, it could have been 5 or 6-0.
It's not a learning experience. It was chastening and embarrassing in equal measure.
23-03-2025, 06:06 PM
unfortunately qualifies for a BBC contract due to his Heartz connections, Heartz have everything covered at BBC sportsound/whatever/everything
:)
Not listening to the aftermath but Naismith's analysis of Hibs games has been excellent recently. There are far far worse than him.
Musselbound
23-03-2025, 06:08 PM
Looks like the team were playing a couple of seconds behind Greece as well.
23-03-2025, 06:09 PM
Not listening to the aftermath but Naismith's analysis of Hibs games has been excellent recently. There are far far worse than him.
awk i'm only jokin i even put a wee smiley
but our neighbours are very VERY well represented at the BBC, indeed overly represented
23-03-2025, 06:10 PM
awk i'm only jokin i even put a wee smiley
but our neighbours are very VERY well represented at the BBC, indeed overly represented
No doubt about it and we are under-represented although Scott Allan has been really good.
Trinity Hibee
23-03-2025, 06:11 PM
Just checked.
James Wilson has scored 5 (FIVE) goals all season for Hearts in the SPFL. 1 (ONE) assist. That puts him 23rd in the SPFL. Nikki Cadden has had 5 goals and 4 assists from wingback. What a joke - handing a cap out when we are chasing in such a big game. Absolutely raging at that.
Really odd selection by Clarke given he doesn’t take many risks and then to bring him on in a game like that is baffling. I don’t even blame Wilson, that’s on the manager.
23-03-2025, 06:13 PM
I gave up on Clarkes Scotland after the dismal Euros, sounds like not a lot has changed. He should have been binned ages ago.
23-03-2025, 06:13 PM
Really odd selection by Clarke given he doesn’t take many risks and then to bring him on in a game like that is baffling. I don’t even blame Wilson, that’s on the manager.
Spot on, Clarke is a *** joke
Another reason why I have so little interest nowadays in the International games, at least back in the day most of our players were playing at top level clubs and were household names, hardly recognise half of the players in the squad and we have 3-4 players at the top and even then they're not real stars of their teams. Oh how I long for players like Dalglish, Hanson, Souness etc.
23-03-2025, 06:19 PM
even though Denmark are 1-0 ahead from the first leg v Portugal i can't stop thinking we would be better having them in our group rather than Portugal
dreading playing tonights opponents another twice though
i think :rolleyes:
23-03-2025, 06:20 PM
Worst Scotland performance I've seen in years. The creative players we have in folk such as McTominay. Ferguson, McGinn completely counter acted by continuing to pick folk like Hanley. Ralston and McLean. Never want to see any of them play for Scotland again.
Hirst also looks absolutely miles off it at international level. The lad Wilson from Hearts too, I honestly don't get the hype, he would struggle to get into the under 18s! Sobering performance and to think we will have to play this lot again twice in the qualifiers and possibly Portugal too. World Cup looks pretty far away at this stage.
No chance of qualifying for the WC with those 3 starting. McLean's role in the 1st goal was embarrassing. Caught out in midfield and then couldny even be @rsed breaking into a trot to chase back. Slow as a month of Sundays and canny tackle.
23-03-2025, 06:22 PM
Just checked.
Was Wilson eligible to play for another country? Think someone said he could have played first Ireland?
I’m assuming that’s why he was put on tonight.
23-03-2025, 06:27 PM
Just checked.
He had eligibility to play for NI, I assume that's why he got minutes tonight.
I don't disagree on Cadden, and if he had been fit I think he would have been in the squad.
23-03-2025, 06:29 PM
Pumped
23-03-2025, 06:31 PM
I don't disagree on Cadden, and if he had been fit I think he would have been in the squad.
Hopefully we get back to people getting into the squad by earning their place now.
23-03-2025, 06:37 PM
Another reason why I have so little interest nowadays in the International games, at least back in the day most of our players were playing at top level clubs and were household names, hardly recognise half of the players in the squad and we have 3-4 players at the top and even then they're not real stars of their teams. Oh how I long for players like Dalglish, Hanson, Souness etc.
Only 3-4 players at the top? Robertson still playing at the league leaders,McGinn captain of Villa,Christie the driving force at Bournemouth,an unheard of four players playing for good Italian clubs. Ok it’s thin on the ground after that but we have plenty of players playing at the top.
23-03-2025, 06:41 PM
Only 3-4 players at the top? Robertson still playing at the league leaders,McGinn captain of Villa,Christie the driving force at Bournemouth,an unheard of four players playing for good Italian clubs. Ok it’s thin on the ground after that but we have plenty of players playing at the top.
We just need a decent coach to get the best out of them consistently, there are good building blocks to work with
23-03-2025, 06:46 PM
I was at the game tonight as usual. Very poor. Adams, Hanley and Ralston are honest triers but the lack of real quality was found out. The lack of a top centre forward means it’s hard to see much progress really. Oh for a talisman like Haaland, Bale or Lewandowski.
Hibspur
23-03-2025, 08:09 PM
I'm not Scottish but my son's girlfriend is Greek so we watched some of the game earlier. Last time I watched Scotland was at last year's Euros and if anything I thought they looked even more limited than they did then. An especially bad day at the office or just outclassed?
Couple of things which struck me. Craig Gordon looks slow, stiff and old. I thought the same about him with Boyle's opener in the recent derby win, sharp as his finish was. How come he's back in the side anyway? Did he not retire from international duty before the Euros? There must surely be a younger keeper worth trying.
McGinn. We all love him but I didn't see actually see that much of him in the flesh at Hibs as we were living down south at the time. I've seen him for Villa a few times and it strikes me that he's a great asset when a team's on song but doesn't fare so well when it's up against it.
The overall concern though I'd suggest is an alarming lack of depth to the squad.
23-03-2025, 09:01 PM
Just checked.
Nothing against the young guy but by the time he is 19 he could well have more caps than Pat Stanton.
I think the ridiculous number of international games that are played and the way caps are handed out like confetti just devalues the honour of representing your country now.
GonzoReturns
23-03-2025, 09:13 PM
After the Euros this should have been a rebuilding job identify good youngsters (like Greece) instead Hanley, Ralston, McLean, Adams even Gordon. Lazy recruitment.
23-03-2025, 09:15 PM
Is he ever going to pick Northern Ireland instead of Scotland? Wouldn't think so but who knows. What is clear he is absolutely miles away from this level. Gifted a cap when nowhere near isn't a great look imo
AmericanKev
23-03-2025, 10:51 PM
Can someone explain to me what we've actually lost out on here? Next nation league will be group B teams where winning it could secure a play off spot for Euro28, is that right??
Sounds like we'll play slightly easier teams if so??
What did we actually lose out on by not staying in A? Was there a play off spot for WC if we'd won tonight?
23-03-2025, 11:14 PM
Can someone explain to me what we've actually lost out on here? Next nation league will be group B teams where winning it could secure a play off spot for Euro28, is that right??
What did we actually lose out on by not staying in A? Was there a play off spot for WC if we'd won tonight?
We would have pretty much got a guranteed play off spot through League A as you would expect majority of teams in League A will qualify for the Euro 2028.
Now we have to win the group in League B we’re in to have a play off spot at least.
PHeffernan
23-03-2025, 11:17 PM
I'm still hopeful for the World Cup qualifying campaign which starts next season.
Here's why
Half a team of big upgrades will return for those games:
Angus Gunn will return in goal
Aaron Hickey will hopefully return at right back which will be a massive upgrade
Kieran Tierney will hopefully be fully fit again. He was very obviously holding himself back to protect his injury tonight which was a good decision
Ben Doak will return with his X factor
Lyndon Dykes will return. Not the best but has scored vital goals, has character and looks a lot better player than Hirst showed us.
Tonight was almost certainly Craig Gordon's last game for Scotland and Hanley and McLean might have played their last Scotland games at the age of 33.
My only concerns moving forward for Scotland is a lack of quality and depth at Centre Half, Centre Forward and Goalkeeper.
Worse still, there is no obvious cavalry on the horizon for any of those positions.
Souttar and McKenna are probably the best we have at centre half, Adams and Dykes our best at centre forward with Gunn our only quality goalkeeper.
Hendry and Porteous are probably the best of the other centre halfs but one has effectively retired from high level club football and the other at 26 still makes immature decisions when under pressure.
Conway is probably the best of the other forwards but I would be gutted if he started a game as our centre forward. The rest are miles off it.
There is no able replacement in goal for Angus Gunn as we saw having to play a 42 year old this week. I actually think Gordons deputy at Hearts is the next best Scottish keeper but he is a big drop off from Gunn and I would have the fear if he was in goal for an important Scotland game.
24-03-2025, 05:46 AM
Was this a game where cautious Clarke should have won out? He would know that Greece would come at us, so could have brought Tierney into a back 3/5 to make it a more substantial base to work from, especially with Hanley, Ralston and Gordon in there.
24-03-2025, 05:48 AM
Heffernan, Your hope is fair enough and justified by the absence of Ben Doak, not so much by AngusGunn who is having an awful season and Lyndon Dykes, who yourself say is not the best. Those two in key positions are so far off international standard its frightening.
24-03-2025, 06:59 AM
After the Euros this should have been a rebuilding job identify good youngsters (like Greece) instead Hanley, Ralston, McLean, Adams even Gordon. Lazy recruitment.
Agree in principle. Should have accepted that a rebuild was necessary for the longer good, accepted that we will actually be better off having a spell in Group B instead of scrabbling/getting pumped in Group A, so winning v Greece was not crucial in the long term, then used these two games and the two friendlies coming up v Iceland and Lichtenstein to start blooding/testing youngsters, or certainly to ditch the older players who are at the tail end of their international careers and/or are simply not good enough. But I emphasise again in principle. If Wilson is the level of player we'd be bringing in then God help us.
But, but, but.......we missed Ben Doak according to the pundits.
24-03-2025, 07:08 AM
Was telling when Clarke was asked prematch about the changes Greece had made to their starting line up ?
He had no real answer and no answer on the pitch
Didn’t really see anything in a Scotland jersey that gave me hope for the future going forward :confused:
24-03-2025, 07:33 AM
The whole Nations league thing seems a pointless exercise to me. It just clutters up the domestic calendar even more and for little purpose.
24-03-2025, 07:35 AM
Yes, we have better quality in the team compared to teams from the recent past, but the depth of quality is poor. Being reliant on players not regulars for teams in England and Scotland is a big issue. Aside from the usual suspects, I was surprised how poor Tierney was when he came on.
I hope that's the last we see of Gordon, Hanley, Ralston, McLean etc, despite all putting in some good performances in the past. We need to get some promising youngsters into the team, and those who are better quality than Wilson.
24-03-2025, 08:00 AM
We have absolutely ZERO width, none, not a single iota of a threat from out wide, therefore we are very very easy to defend against as we can only really threaten through the middle. Doak is obviously the great hope for getting width into the team but that's a lot of pressure on the laddie. Feel we have a very good base to build from for the next 5-10 years, but we are desperate for width and a striker. Manager needs binned off, would rather we done it before the start of the qualifiers but god knows who we replace him with.
24-03-2025, 08:04 AM
I'm not Scottish but my son's girlfriend is Greek so we watched some of the game earlier. Last time I watched Scotland was at last year's Euros and if anything I thought they looked even more limited than they did then. An especially bad day at the office or just outclassed?
Couple of things which struck me. Craig Gordon looks slow, stiff and old. I thought the same about him with Boyle's opener in the recent derby win, sharp as his finish was. How come he's back in the side anyway? Did he not retire from international duty before the Euros? There must surely be a younger keeper worth trying.
McGinn. We all love him but I didn't see actually see that much of him in the flesh at Hibs as we were living down south at the time. I've seen him for Villa a few times and it strikes me that he's a great asset when a team's on song but doesn't fare so well when it's up against it.
The overall concern though I'd suggest is an alarming lack of depth to the squad.
Ach ! SJM is alright many a game for Hibs and Scotland I have seen him roll up his sleeves and stick that big bum oot and drag us up the park kicking and screaming when many about him had already thrown in the towel sheer Captain material
The fact he has already scored 20:75 from midfield tells you all you need to know about his dedication to the Scotland cause already overtaking Ally McCoist in the goalscoring stakes and there is more to come
He even had a shot on target last night which was one more than Che Adams another poultice
I remember his penultimate game for Hibs Asteras Tripolis away he knew he was away but put his body on the line time and time again for the Hibee cause even scoring our goal in a 1-1 draw to make sure we went through
Would have the likes of SJM, SDG and Big Daz beside me in the trenches any day of the week probably three reasons why we won the Cup
Would keep SJM in the Scotland squad for the foreseeable
Agree re lack of depth need to find more Scottish grannies
24-03-2025, 08:07 AM
This is our level. We have some class options at 6 and 8, options at wingback.
Then it's Championship and SPFL players. Floating between the top 2 tiers would be a fair reflection of our available quality.
Hopefully we have an injury free run for the qualifiers, because we need that.
24-03-2025, 08:08 AM
I gave up on Clarkes Scotland after the dismal Euros, sounds like not a lot has changed. He should have been binned ages ago.
He disagrees with McGinn that was embarrassing, time to go!
Calidad
24-03-2025, 08:10 AM
We have absolutely ZERO width, none, not a single iota of a threat from out wide, therefore we are very very easy to defend against as we can only really threaten through the middle. Doak is obviously the great hope for getting width into the team but that's a lot of pressure on the laddie. Feel we have a very good base to build from for the next 5-10 years, but we are desperate for width and a striker. Manager needs binned off, would rather we done it before the start of the qualifiers but god knows who we replace him with.
Not surprising when we’re playing central midfielders on the wing. No pace in the side either.
24-03-2025, 08:23 AM
He disagrees with McGinn that was embarrassing, time to go!
His eyes must be painted on
He's here!
24-03-2025, 08:30 AM
It goes back further than the Euros though? Is Scotland's record over the last year or more not pretty dreadful?
24-03-2025, 08:33 AM
The whole Nations league thing seems a pointless exercise to me. It just clutters up the domestic calendar even more and for little purpose.
There's no more games since the Nations League was introduced. It replaced friendlies.
I was there last night. Other than the opening spell where Greece made a number of errors, we didn't look like laying a glove on them. I said at the game that we'd regret missing those chances that Greece presented us with and we did.
The lack of a quality forward is really hampering us. Adams runs about a lot but the amount of times he lost the ball was criminal and he rarely looks a threat when playing for Scotland.
As many others have said, the likes of McLean, Hanley and Ralston aren't international quality either.
Spudster
24-03-2025, 09:16 AM
Is Scotland's record over the last year or more not pretty dreadful?
Post euros:
Scotland 2-3 Poland
Portugal 2-1 Scotland
Croatia 2-1 Scotland
Scotland 0-0 Portugal
Scotland 1-0 Croatia
Poland 1-2 Scotland
Greece 0-1 Scotland
Scotland 0-3 Greece
Played 8 W3 D1 L4 F8 A11
Not a bad record against teams ranked significantly higher. Fine margins bar last nights very poor performance.
24-03-2025, 09:20 AM
Isn't it something like three wins in the last 18 games under Clarke
24-03-2025, 09:27 AM
Isn't it something like three wins in the last 18 games under Clarke
Probably but a bit perspective is required. We were in Pot C when he started and got us to Pot A so playing far better teams. And got us to two Euros. Dropping to Pot B is probably our level as we were punching a bit.
Last night was awful though, can’t be denied. I think he should get the WC qualifiers and then move on
Thatdayinmay16
24-03-2025, 09:38 AM
4 wins in 20.
Playing one of your best players on the left side (which was proven not to work at the Euros)
Giving the nod to Kenny Mclean, Grant Hanley and Anthony Ralston.
How can there genuinely be a case for him to stay? The guy is an absolute dinosaur.
He's here!
24-03-2025, 10:50 AM
Post euros:
Scotland 2-3 Poland
Portugal 2-1 Scotland
Croatia 2-1 Scotland
Scotland 0-0 Portugal
Scotland 1-0 Croatia
Poland 1-2 Scotland
Greece 0-1 Scotland
Scotland 0-3 Greece
Played 8 W3 D1 L4 F8 A11
Not a bad record against teams ranked significantly higher. Fine margins bar last nights very poor performance.
The wins you've highlighted are the only ones (bar a bounce game against Gibraltar) since September 2023 though. I think it was one win in 15 prior to those.
H18S NX
24-03-2025, 10:50 AM
My only disappointment is Scotland did not score,I had them at 3-1 for greece.
PHeffernan
24-03-2025, 11:02 AM
Heffernan, Your hope is fair enough and justified by the absence of Ben Doak, not so much by AngusGunn who is having an awful season and Lyndon Dykes, who yourself say is not the best. Those two in key positions are so far off international standard its frightening.
I didn't know Gunn was having an awful season. That is a real concern because there really is no other Scottish keeper of any standing.
Hearts, Rangers and Ipswich back up goalies is it unless there is someone I have forgotten about!
24-03-2025, 11:22 AM
I didn't know Gunn was having an awful season. That is a real concern because there really is no other Scottish keeper of any standing.
Hearts, Rangers and Ipswich back up goalies is it unless there is someone I have forgotten about!
There’s an American goalie doing well in the MLS we are trying to convince to become Scottish, apart from that, the goalkeeping department is grim.
Remember we called up that Dundee goalie earlier in the season and he’s absolutely horrendous!
With regards to Clarke, I’ve defended him a lot, even his win/loss record is a bit unfair to judge him on as he’s chosen a lot of very difficult friendlies to try and get us better prepared for the tougher competitive games. He’s definitely a victim of his own success in that regard.
I do think we’re probably at the stage where it’s best for both parties to go our separate ways. If he leaves now he can point to a pretty successful period as Scotland manager, he got so much wrong last night though, I personally think it can’t just be ignored.
Part of me is wondering if we’ve achieved some success in spite of him recently rather than because of him. I think we would benefit from a fresh face and ideas and hopefully a more positive mindset although we do need to be realistic, we can’t play too much front foot attacking football against nations miles better than us.
I’ve absolutely no idea who would replace him though.
Gareth Southgate anybody? 😃
PHeffernan
24-03-2025, 11:38 AM
There’s an American goalie doing well in the MLS we are trying to convince to become Scottish, apart from that, the goalkeeping department is grim.
Remember we called up that Dundee goalie earlier in the season and he’s absolutely horrendous!
With regards to Clarke, I’ve defended him a lot, even his win/loss record is a bit unfair to judge him on as he’s chosen a lot of very difficult friendlies to try and get us better prepared for the tougher competitive games. He’s definitely a victim of his own success in that regard.
I do think we’re probably at the stage where it’s best for both parties to go our separate ways. If he leaves now he can point to a pretty successful period as Scotland manager, he got so much wrong last night though, I personally think it can’t just be ignored.
Part of me is wondering if we’ve achieved some success in spite of him recently rather than because of him. I think we would benefit from a fresh face and ideas and hopefully a more positive mindset although we do need to be realistic, we can’t play too much front foot attacking football against nations miles better than us.
Gareth Southgate anybody?
Yeah, I remember Phil's brother being in the squad. He makes bad errors and has rightly lost his club place to the superior Carson.
Re the American guy, I just took that as one of those pish flights of fancy like the ones about Jack Harper at Real Madrid.
However, given the chasm in ability behind Gunn, he will get included in a squad if he is decent.
24-03-2025, 11:44 AM
Yeah, one of the worst keepers in the championship, in the low percentiles in all the stats you can look at, except ‘defensive actions outside the penalty area’. Which means hes either been deployed high and expected to be a sweeper keeper or maybe hes rushing out when he doesnt need to. Regardless ,hes not been offered a new contract at Norwich despite being a fixture there so probably on the move.
AmericanKev
24-03-2025, 01:27 PM
We would have pretty much got a guranteed play off spot through League A as you would expect majority of teams in League A will qualify for the Euro 2028.
Now we have to win the group in League B we’re in to have a play off spot at least.
Really? Ok didn't know that sorry. . Thought we had to finish top of a group to get some sort of play off spot - not merely escape relegation via a play off.
24-03-2025, 02:37 PM
Has Jordan Smith got a Scottish granny?
24-03-2025, 02:44 PM
Gareth Southgate anybody? 😃
Wonder if the SFA wouild offer Ange the job if he leaves Spurs this year.
24-03-2025, 02:45 PM
Wonder if the SFA wouild offer Ange the job if he leaves Spurs this year.
I hope not. He's intolerable when winning, never mind losing.
24-03-2025, 03:19 PM
Would take Ange in a heartbeat, don't think he'd fancy it though.
24-03-2025, 03:47 PM
Not surprising when we’re playing central midfielders on the wing. No pace in the side either.
The lack of pace in the side is desperate. Makes you wonder how the hell Scotland allowed Martin Boyle to be snapped up by Australia - we were crying out for a player like him on Sunday.
Thatdayinmay16
24-03-2025, 03:58 PM
The lack of pace in the side is desperate. Makes you wonder how the hell Scotland allowed Martin Boyle to be snapped up by Australia - we were crying out for a player like him on Sunday.
Why would you have pace on the park, when you can pack the side with more 33 year old has been's in the likes of Kenny Mclean & Co.
Hibspur
24-03-2025, 06:46 PM
Really? Ok didn't know that sorry. . Thought we had to finish top of a group to get some sort of play off spot - not merely escape relegation via a play off.
I've never understood the Nations League either. It's especially confusing right now with World Cup qualifiers and friendlies going on at the same time. I thought it was supposed to have done away with meaningless friendlies, yet I saw Steve Clarke talking about two that are coming up in the summer??
24-03-2025, 06:57 PM
Cracked me up! :faf:
AmericanKev
25-03-2025, 11:22 AM
I've never understood the Nations League either. It's especially confusing right now with World Cup qualifiers and friendlies going on at the same time. I thought it was supposed to have done away with meaningless friendlies, yet I saw Steve Clarke talking about two that are coming up in the summer??
I think summer friendlies are still there but it must mean all the others are no longer there.
25-03-2025, 05:17 PM
I think summer friendlies are still there but it must mean all the others are no longer there.
Cue a raft of call offs and a load of new caps dished out.
25-03-2025, 05:35 PM
The 2 Scotland friendlies in June are during an international window
The Hibs Aussie players will be away as well, as they have 2 qualifiers, so not much of a rest for them
AmericanKev
25-03-2025, 05:43 PM
The 2 Scotland friendlies in June are during an international window
The Hibs Aussie players will be away as well, as they have 2 qualifiers, so not much of a rest for them
Oh yea. There was always qualifiers in the summer of the odd year. Hard to keep track these days
K-Zazu
25-03-2025, 06:36 PM
I really think some players don’t have the same appetite for international football these days, get paid an absolute fortune playing for there clubs. Why risk getting injured etc half of them don’t even look bothered when they are singing the national anthem then just spend most of the game passing sideways to each other. Zzzzzzz
25-03-2025, 06:40 PM
I really think some players don’t have the same appetite for international football these days, get paid an absolute fortune playing for there clubs. Why risk getting injured etc half of them don’t even look bothered when they are singing the national anthem then just spend most of the game passing sideways to each other. Zzzzzzz
Disagree totally. Very few of that squad in the last few years have missed games or have the impression they can’t be arsed.
Problem is we have a manager who is very limited and can’t do it in the big games.
25-03-2025, 07:55 PM
Disagree totally. Very few of that squad in the last few years have missed games or have the impression they can’t be arsed.
Problem is we have a manager who is very limited and can’t do it in the big games.
Agree re the manager, who I think is over-rated.
The standard of some of the players we have now is much higher than his predecessors had. There’s no doubt we still have problem positions but he’s never really found a creative solution to any of our problem positions.
Where he most deserves credit, is probably the fact that in an era that makes it difficult to tiptoe round egos, he’s always maintained a good level of motivation from the players within his squad.
I think his personal limitations are starting to be exposed though and that the players may achieve in spite of him rather than thanks to him.
PHeffernan
25-03-2025, 09:18 PM
Cracked me up! :faf:
PHeffernan
25-03-2025, 09:33 PM
Yeah, one of the worst keepers in the championship, in the low percentiles in all the stats you can look at, except ‘defensive actions outside the penalty area’. Which means hes either been deployed high and expected to be a sweeper keeper or maybe hes rushing out when he doesnt need to. Regardless ,hes not been offered a new contract at Norwich despite being a fixture there so probably on the move.
That makes grim reading right enough.
Despite that Gunn is still the best we have for the forseeable future.
I saw him making a point last week that he had not been offered a new contract by Norwich.
Interesting to see where he ends up next season.
Hopefully he doesn't become one of those non playing 3rd choice keepers for a big club in the EPL.
AmericanKev
25-03-2025, 10:26 PM
I saw him making a point last week that he had not been offered a new contract by Norwich.
Hopefully he doesn't become one of those non playing 3rd choice keepers for a big club in the EPL.
I know he's hearts but is Zander Clark not pretty good? Or at least can do all the basics.
26-03-2025, 05:36 AM
I know he's hearts but is Zander Clark not pretty good? Or at least can do all the basics.
Clarks not terrible. But when you’re suggesting a hearts backup as an international starter youre definitely starting from a position of weakness.
26-03-2025, 05:42 AM
Clarks not terrible. But when you’re suggesting a hearts backup as an international starter youre definitely starting from a position of weakness.
He must be a better option than old man Gordon though?
26-03-2025, 06:27 AM
Played a couple of times for Scotland and was throwing them in
26-03-2025, 10:35 AM
Last week's results have moved us up 1 place in the FIFA rankings. That would've moved us up a pot for the World Cup qualifiers. :rolleyes:
AmericanKev
26-03-2025, 10:52 AM
Last week's results have moved us up 1 place in the FIFA rankings. That would've moved us up a pot for the World Cup qualifiers. :rolleyes:
World cup groups already been drawn but
26-03-2025, 12:19 PM
World cup groups already been drawn but
I know, that's why I put the rolling eyes. If the draw had been today, we'd have been pot 2
PHeffernan
26-03-2025, 12:40 PM
I think Clark is best of the rest including Gordon.
At least he will be playing every week next season and hopefully get himself into a groove of consistency (dilemna wish for a Hibee).
It's likely the other options Kelly and Slicker will remain back ups with their clubs which makes them non starters on the Scotland front.
If Gunn can get himself sorted it may not matter in the short term but if he goes for a holiday back up post in the EPL we could be toiling. I would like to think he wants to play club football at only 29.
PHeffernan
26-03-2025, 01:15 PM
I read a Norwich piece on the situation a few days ago which stated
"Angus Gunn has been City’s undisputed number one all season. When he’s fit and available he plays. When he’s been missing it’s been largely obvious why Gunn starts most weeks. Neither George Long nor Vicente Reyes have done anywhere near enough to suggest they should be in the team more regularly.
Yet Long and Reyes have been awarded contract extensions during the season while Angus Gunn is still waiting. It seems like a strange situation but perhaps Gunny junior is in the process of being hoisted by the very circumstances that handed him his Norwich debut in Daniel ****e’s first season."
The guy then goes onto suggest that Gunn may leave in a similar cost cutting exercise to that which saw him emerge.
So basically Norwich getting someone in to be the number 1 keeper but on much less money.
So not getting a contract renewal for money reasons rather than ability.
I still think we are lucky to have him and he will be Scotland number 1 in the short and medium term until we can find another keeper of ability.
26-03-2025, 01:27 PM
Is he worth a cheeky wee bid ?
Sofa have his value at 2.3m so say 1m ?
We could make him into a better Keeper with our goalkeeping school and his international chances will improve
AmericanKev
26-03-2025, 02:39 PM
Is he worth a cheeky wee bid ?
Sofa have his value at 2.3m so say 1m ?
We could make him into a better Keeper with our goalkeeping school and his international chances will improve
Who you talking about?
26-03-2025, 02:40 PM
I read a Norwich piece on the situation a few days ago which stated
"Angus Gunn has been City’s undisputed number one all season. When he’s fit and available he plays. When he’s been missing it’s been largely obvious why Gunn starts most weeks. Neither George Long nor Vicente Reyes have done anywhere near enough to suggest they should be in the team more regularly.
Yet Long and Reyes have been awarded contract extensions during the season while Angus Gunn is still waiting. It seems like a strange situation but perhaps Gunny junior is in the process of being hoisted by the very circumstances that handed him his Norwich debut in Daniel ****e’s first season."
The guy then goes onto suggest that Gunn may leave in a similar cost cutting exercise to that which saw him emerge.
So basically Norwich getting someone in to be the number 1 keeper but on much less money.
So not getting a contract renewal for money reasons rather than ability.
I still think we are lucky to have him and he will be Scotland number 1 in the short and medium term until we can find another keeper of ability.
I was on the canaries fan’s messageboard and it is a bit mixed, some think its the defenders fault and playing out from the back all the time, others think they should get rid of Gunn and hes the problem. One things not in doubt, his stats have all regressed and hes just not making enough saves.
26-03-2025, 02:41 PM
Who you talking about?
Angus Gunn
Keep up
AmericanKev
26-03-2025, 03:19 PM
Angus Gunn
Keep up ��
Thought he was crap according to this thread
26-03-2025, 03:25 PM
Thought he was crap according to this thread
Was responding to PHeffernan’s post #342 Norwich City fans seem to be undecided by all accounts started off well for Scotland played 15 won his first 5 but had a few mistakes latterly IIRC
AmericanKev
26-03-2025, 04:31 PM
Was responding to PHeffernan’s post #342 Norwich City fans seem to be undecided by all accounts started off well for Scotland played 15 won his first 5 but had a few mistakes latterly IIRC
I would rather stick with what we have
26-03-2025, 04:52 PM
I would rather stick with what we have
What Plooky Gordon?
I think he is done tbh he can hardly move still diving for Boyle’s goal
Gotta be someone somewhere with a Scottish grannie
What about that dude in the US we are supposed to be interested in Chris Brady ?
AmericanKev
26-03-2025, 05:14 PM
What Plooky Gordon?
I think he is done tbh he can hardly move still diving for Boyle’s goal
Gotta be someone somewhere with a Scottish grannie
What about that dude in the US we are supposed to be interested in Chris Brady ?
No I mean hibs, why we talking about signing Gunn? The national side can stick with Gordon for the near future. Hell probably hang it up this gloves this summer or after next WC group
26-03-2025, 05:19 PM
Angus Gunn
Keep up ��
Wouldn’t be his first time in a Hibs shirt
26-03-2025, 05:21 PM
No I mean hibs, why we talking about signing Gunn? The national side can stick with Gordon for the near future. Hell probably hang it up this gloves this summer or after next WC group
Aw ok
Agree we need a new #1 for Hibs with Smith as back up
Hoping Malky Mackay or the BK’s can pull a rabbit out of the hat in the summer
26-03-2025, 05:23 PM
Wouldn’t be his first time in a Hibs shirt
Was that no his Dad ?
Undefeated against the Hearts 😀
26-03-2025, 05:46 PM
Aw ok
Sounds like it’s going to be Alex Paulson
26-03-2025, 06:06 PM
Was that no his Dad ?
Undefeated against the Hearts 😀
https://images.app.goo.gl/P8FduoEdh2Qxxp326
26-03-2025, 06:14 PM
https://images.app.goo.gl/P8FduoEdh2Qxxp326
Aw there ye go !
Funnily enough I read an EEN article this morning ( sad I know ) that Bryan Gunn said he loved it here though unfortunately couldn’t save us from relegation only played 12 games then had to retire due to injury broken leg played in the famous game Hearts were going for the title and we were fighting for our lives and beat them 2-1 thanks to goals from Lavety and Harper also had a shut out at Darkheid
He's here!
26-03-2025, 07:28 PM
Aw ok
Any keeper we sign is surely as back-up to Smith? We wouldn't have signed Smith up long term as a sub goalie.
AmericanKev
26-03-2025, 07:32 PM
Bound to be some new keepers coming through.
As for Scotland I think Zander Clark should be given the nod and auld Gordon can bow out having been a great servant (for national team only not that lot)
26-03-2025, 07:37 PM
You need to ask big Eck about that one. One of the more bizarre decisions of any Scotland manager in recent times.
26-03-2025, 07:43 PM
Any keeper we sign is surely as back-up to Smith? We wouldn't have signed Smith up long term as a sub goalie.
Hope no
26-03-2025, 07:49 PM
I've said it before but Callan McKenna at Bournemouth is the guy I think will be the answer in the medium to long term. He's a freak of a boy.
He needs to be playing though. Sacrificed 1st team football at 16 at Queen's Park to go down to the EPL. Can't blame him for that but at 18 now you'd hope they would be looking at loans to get him playing. Plenty young keepers have been playing club football at that age and knocking on the international door. We aren't blessed with options so if he could get game time then he'd be in with a shout.
AmericanKev
26-03-2025, 08:09 PM
I've said it before but Callan McKenna at Bournemouth is the guy I think will be the answer in the medium to long term. He's a freak of a boy.
He needs to be playing though. Sacrificed 1st team football at 16 at Queen's Park to go down to the EPL. Can't blame him for that but at 18 now you'd hope they would be looking at loans to get him playing. Plenty young keepers have been playing club football at that age and knocking on the international door. We aren't blessed with options so if he could get game time then he'd be in with a shout.
Put him on loan to whoever is away to the old firm every week 🤣.
26-03-2025, 08:19 PM
Do you think he could be an option for us or will he be too raw for our level?
Think a lot of young Bournemouth players go out on loan to non league clubs down in their part of the world.
26-03-2025, 08:33 PM
Do you think he could be an option for us or will he be too raw for our level?
Think a lot of young Bournemouth players go out on loan to non league clubs down in their part of the world.
Hard to say as he has played so little first team football. He certainly looked the part at Queen's Park in his appearances there and he's made the Bournemouth match day squad a few times since. I think Hibs feels like a natural progression for him but quite possibly another year down the line after a stint in the Conference or similar.
It was a terrible performance
PHeffernan
26-03-2025, 10:38 PM
You know what's gonna happen, we will have only Gunn for 3 seasons then McKenna et al will arrive en masse.
We still won't have a great striker obviously but a group of good keepers will be welcome.
As you say we could see McKenna in the Conference next season perhaps even the EFL 2nd Division.
PHeffernan
26-03-2025, 10:42 PM
I was on the canaries fan’s messageboard and it is a bit mixed, some think its the defenders fault and playing out from the back all the time, others think they should get rid of Gunn and hes the problem. One things not in doubt, his stats have all regressed and hes just not making enough saves.
Norwich will know all his stats and they may have decided he isn't worth the wages they are paying him and it may be they have someone already teed up who they think is better value.