View Full Version : Players you follow post-Hibs…
20-03-2025, 09:56 PM
Hibernian Retro had a well used pic of JC at Hibs.
JC played 195 times for the club.
In comparison according to Wikipedia (sorry pet hate of stat quotes)
SJM played 105 times - he played well over double that for Villa.
Both memorable careers destined for greater things but they have us great shifts and great memories.
I imagine Probably 2 of the most followed players in their post-Hibs careers. SJM seems to be loved wherever he goes!
So who are the players you’ve taken and interest in their post Hibs careers.
Anyone that says Jarkko will get the MacEnroe treatment #YouCannotBeSerious! ;)
20-03-2025, 10:47 PM
David Wotherspoon in recent times for me. Great pro and did very well post Hibs. Des Bremner back in the day when he left for Aston Villa.
Donegal Hibby
20-03-2025, 11:12 PM
I look out for Forrest Greens results and check to see if Doidge has scored , liked Doidge .
Trinity Hibee
21-03-2025, 04:03 AM
Liam Henderson
cameronw-hfc
21-03-2025, 05:06 AM
I like to keep an eye out for a few when I check results. Sometimes players that weren't any good, sometimes players that were excellent. Villa being my English team has helped keeping an eye on SJM I have to admit!
One odd one was Jamie Insall. His story was a bit different and when he first signed I had a joking exchange on either twitter or Facebook with him that resulted in a bet, if he hit 10 goals before Christmas in his first season I'd buy a pair of his boots. Didnt even make 10 apps for us never mind goals lol. Never really took to him as a person with his after football stuff but that interaction made sure I kept an eye out for where he went after Hibs!
21-03-2025, 05:10 AM
Harry Clarke
Bridge hibs
21-03-2025, 05:13 AM
I like to keep an eye out for a few when I check results. Sometimes players that weren't any good, sometimes players that were excellent. Villa being my English team has helped keeping an eye on SJM I have to admit!
One odd one was Jamie Insall. His story was a bit different and when he first signed I had a joking exchange on either twitter or Facebook with him that resulted in a bet, if he hit 10 goals before Christmas in his first season I'd buy a pair of his boots. Didnt even make 10 apps for us never mind goals lol. Never really took to him as a person with his after football stuff but that interaction made sure I kept an eye out for where he went after Hibs!
I met Insall a few times and he was actually quite a funny guy who probably didnt come down to earth after signing for hibs, and other things 🫣 he was super ****ing hyper though and if you were a cog inside his head then you would be ****ing worn out 🤣
MKHIBEE
21-03-2025, 05:47 AM
James Collins.
21-03-2025, 06:22 AM
Like to see all ex Hibs doing well from Fletcher Porto to Doig Henderson.
21-03-2025, 07:04 AM
Two obvious ones are Lewis and Paul.
21-03-2025, 07:06 AM
Me too.
Unless they've gone to Glasgow, or seem to be a bit of a knob - like Florian Kamberi.
Musselbound
21-03-2025, 10:34 AM
Yes, similar. Anyone who does well in England or abroad. Fletcher was the first that sprung to mind for me too.
21-03-2025, 10:55 AM
Liam Henderson
Agreed. A very impressive guy in my opinion who took a bold step to move to not just a foreign country but also the lower tier of it, could have easily came running back to a Hibs or something when the Bari situation went upside down but stuck it out and has carved a great wee career over there.
Would love to see him get a Scotland call up or finish his career here.
Me too.
Unless they've gone to Glasgow, or seem to be a bit of a knob - like Florian Kamberi.
Yep, keep an eye open for all ex-hibees. If they’re a bit of a knob I just don’t particularly root for them
21-03-2025, 02:48 PM
Went down to Bristol a few times to see Ivan after he left us.
22-03-2025, 08:37 AM
Momodou Bojang.
He was fair banging them in for Marrakech before signing for Seinäjoen Jalkapallokerho in Finland last season.
I'll be interested to see what he can do at that level and whether or not he can remain extinguished.
Greenio
22-03-2025, 09:01 AM
Two obvious ones are Lewis and Paul.
How have they been getting on?
25-03-2025, 03:14 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/14541554/allan-smart-police-van-drunken-bust-up-wife/
Remember this lad
25-03-2025, 04:20 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/14541554/allan-smart-police-van-drunken-bust-up-wife/
Remember this lad
Think he played under McLeish. Was he a loan
He played at Livvi away the game after we played AEK Athens
25-03-2025, 04:39 PM
Me too.
Murray, Whittaker, Collins, Riordan, Goram, Brown, Thomson etc etc.
25-03-2025, 04:43 PM
Wonder how many were cheering for the Hertz when Thee Gordon Smith signed for them.
25-03-2025, 04:45 PM
Momodou Bojang.
He was fair banging them in for Marrakech before signing for Seinäjoen Jalkapallokerho in Finland last season.
I'll be interested to see what he can do at that level and whether or not he can remain extinguished.
The boy was on fire for Marrakech last season
Radge70
25-03-2025, 04:56 PM
Remember this lad
Made me think of what other notorious players there were and I thought of Olle Gottskalksson. I hadn't realised just how much he'd been up to, most of which is documented in this 17 year long Brentford post - https://griffinpark.org/forums/threads/olafur-gottskalksson.34757/
25-03-2025, 06:36 PM
Wonder how many were cheering for the Hertz when Thee Gordon Smith signed for them.
Not too many. Especially when they beat us 5-0 at Easter Road and Smith scored.
25-03-2025, 06:42 PM
Not too many. Especially when they beat us 5-0 at Easter Road and Smith scored.
Ouch!
25-03-2025, 07:17 PM
The boy was on fire for Marrakech last season
Bridge hibs
25-03-2025, 07:23 PM
Nah sod that, I would have just followed the result on ceefax
25-03-2025, 07:30 PM
No one
Same
25-03-2025, 07:39 PM
Pony Express
25-03-2025, 08:04 PM
Pigeon Post in those days.
PHeffernan
25-03-2025, 08:41 PM
Remember this lad
What a lifetime horrible ahole he is.
Highly appropriate that he lives in Nimrod Street.
25-03-2025, 10:30 PM
Remember this lad
Vaguely recall him playing, no idea he was such a ned mind you.
26-03-2025, 11:18 AM
It's interesting to see how any and all players get on after Hibs really. Even if a player has failed to cut the mustard at ER, watching their subsequent progress can be informative about the relative quality of different leagues - or whether we've somehow missed a trick. Harry McKirdy for example - just could not get off the ground at Hibs (health issues notwithstanding) but seems to have hit the ground running at Bromley in English League 2. Dylan Tait could not buy a start at Hibs but has found success at Falkirk. Both these guys have probably found their level, but going the other way, the likes of Fletcher, McGinn and Doig were successful at Hibs and have duly gone on to flourish when taking a step up to what are reckoned to be tougher leagues.
26-03-2025, 03:16 PM
Vaguely recall him playing, no idea he was such a ned mind you.
Was he no here under Eck ?