View Full Version : Cerny behaviour
16-03-2025, 04:45 PM
If, as it seemed, Cerny celebrated by spraying Celtic supporters with what, presumably, was water, should he face an SFA charge?
16-03-2025, 04:45 PM
If, as it seemed, Cerny celebrated by spraying Celtic supporters with what, presumably, was water, should he face an SFA charge?
Only if there was soap in it. That sort of behaviour should not be tolerated.
16-03-2025, 04:47 PM
Id imagine he’ll get a ban.
16-03-2025, 04:50 PM
It's not really on and he'll get punished but I always find it funny that fans dish out all kinds of vile abuse to players for 90+ minutes but go absolutely mad if they get a bit back.
Reminds me of the game v Celtic at ER years ago when Boruc had a howler and we were giving him it tight all game. At FT he stuck his finger up at us and folk were demanding Police involvement😅😅
16-03-2025, 04:55 PM
It's not really on and he'll get punished but I always find it funny that fans dish out all kinds of vile abuse to players for 90+ minutes but go absolutely mad if they get a bit back.
Reminds me of the game v Celtic at ER years ago when Boruc had a howler and we were giving him it tight all game. At FT he stuck his finger up at us and folk were demanding Police involvement😅😅
Was that the John Rankin squiggler game
Bridge hibs
16-03-2025, 04:55 PM
He will get away with is as he will say it was holy water
16-03-2025, 04:59 PM
Id imagine he’ll get a ban.
Hope so we play them in two games. Will not happen though
16-03-2025, 05:00 PM
Was that the John Rankin squiggler game
I thought it was the one when Shiels scored late on. He was at fault for both Fletcher's opener and the winner, but he might well have done it twice. He had a few howlers against us over that couple of seasons.
He's here!
16-03-2025, 05:02 PM
Cantona obviously set the bar high in terms of reacting to fan abuse.
Simon Murray ran the length of the pitch today to stick it to the United fans who chucked missiles at him.
16-03-2025, 05:05 PM
If it had been the other way around, would the fan be arrested?
PHeffernan
16-03-2025, 05:15 PM
Is this a case of Celtic supporters giving abuse to opposition players in the dug out but not being able to hack it when they get a bit of fun back.
Poor wee souls.
16-03-2025, 05:17 PM
Only if there was soap in it. That sort of behaviour should not be tolerated.
That did occur to me right enough 😂
I’d just like to see Cerny out for our game at Ibrox. For me he’s by far their best player.
16-03-2025, 05:19 PM
Good on him.
If it was a Hearts player doing it to Hibs fans I’d be a bit peeved so I know I’m being hypocritical but **** it, I’m fine with that.
PHeffernan
16-03-2025, 05:28 PM
i.e. if players were abusing opposition supporters behind the dug out all game and a supporter later scooshed some water at them in jest after their team scored would they get arrested.
The answer is no as the supporters would have been demanding action when the players started abusing them so action would have been taken against the players at that point.
HarpOnHibee
16-03-2025, 05:30 PM
i.e. if players were abusing opposition supporters behind the dug out all game and a supporter later scooshed some water at them in jest after their team scored would they get arrested.
The answer is no as the supporters would have been demanding action when the players started abusing them so action would have been taken against the players at that point.
The players are "high profile", the fans aren't. A player could be at fault and it would be the fan who get's arrested for complaining about it.
16-03-2025, 05:33 PM
Better banter if he’d thrown them a bar of soap too.
16-03-2025, 05:33 PM
Oh no that is so sad, imagine a player dishing back 0.0001% of the abuse he takes from fans
16-03-2025, 05:37 PM
Hilarious imo
PHeffernan
16-03-2025, 05:48 PM
The players are "high profile", the fans aren't. A player could be at fault and it would be the fan who get's arrested for complaining about it.
Supporters who complain about players are generally the type of erses who like to dish it out but lose their **** when a tiny fraction comes back at them.
Other than Eric kung fuing the Crystal Palace supporter I can't remember players stepping over the line in response in the UK.
16-03-2025, 05:51 PM
Supporters who complain about players are generally the type of erses who like to dish it out but lose their **** when a tiny fraction comes back at them.
Other than Eric kung fuing the Crystal Palace supporter I can't remember players stepping over the line in response in the UK.
Even Cantona was close to justified. The guy he kicked was a racist bawbag.
16-03-2025, 06:05 PM
Was there conclusive proof that the water hit anyone in the crowd as the touchline there is quite wide did the water actually go over the hoardings. Will Cerny be hung out to dry by the Spfl. At least something associated with The Rangers is liquid.Water fuss over nothing.
HarpOnHibee
16-03-2025, 06:05 PM
It's one thing to throw words around. But fans that throw things at players, whether it be water, a bottle or any other projectile can expect to be ejected and arrested for it.
PHeffernan
16-03-2025, 06:31 PM
Even Cantona was close to justified. The guy he kicked was a racist bawbag.
I loved it, the guy was a complete moron as you will see and hear in the following
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yac1Q0DLJik
16-03-2025, 06:58 PM
I think it was a game Celtic won around that time
The dalmeny
16-03-2025, 07:11 PM
Is this a case of Celtic supporters giving abuse to opposition players in the dug out but not being able to hack it when they get a bit of fun back.
Poor wee souls.
fragile as f….
16-03-2025, 08:29 PM
fragile as f….
Soluble surely? 😉
16-03-2025, 08:30 PM
It’s a bit of fun and nobody ever got hurt by a clown spraying water into the crowd at the circus.
The problem for him here is that the environment in which he’s done this is one engulfed with bile and hate, where for the protection of players and fans a safety netting has had to be constructed within the stadium.
I suspect his actions are not going to go without any sanctions coming his way.
16-03-2025, 08:37 PM
It’s a bit of fun and nobody ever got hurt by a clown spraying water into the crowd at the circus.
The problem for him here is that the environment in which he’s done this is one engulfed with bile and hate, where for the protection of players and fans a safety netting has had to be constructed within the stadium.
I suspect his actions are not going to go without any sanctions coming his way.
I agree that nobody gets hurt by what he did.
But whilst we don’t have the same level of hatred or need the nets etc, the reaction would be exactly the same if a Hearts player did the same at ER. There would be folk piling down to get involved.
I actually think it was quite funny but you can’t do that. Being a Rangers player he might get away with it right enough.
16-03-2025, 08:45 PM
I loved it, the guy was a complete moron as you will see and hear in the following
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yac1Q0DLJik
I didn’t know that the guy (the abusive can lost it when he caught charged with provocation)
Fair play to Ferdinand for calling it out for what it was - a “non-problem” until it was racism towards a white player. When he got asked to front the ad campaign it must have been a wtf? moment.
16-03-2025, 10:01 PM
Was it hilarious? Yes.
Should he banned for it? Also yes.
K-Zazu
16-03-2025, 10:12 PM
The whole safety net thing, when away fans were allowed at old firm games before was it really that bad? It was hardly Partizan/Red Star levels.
16-03-2025, 10:17 PM
Absolutely hilarious
But when you get booked now for celebrating infront of fans I imagine he’ll get some form of retrospective treatment as they’ll go down the potential to incite violence/riot etc
16-03-2025, 10:22 PM
I narrowly avoided jail for emptying the contents of a pint over a pub owner back in the day. True story. Classed as assault.
1875Sean
17-03-2025, 12:04 AM
Hopefully he will miss the game against us if they do ban him on recent form he is their best player
17-03-2025, 06:13 AM
Good player would take him in a heartbeat never gives up puzzling though that a professional footballer cannae kick with his weaker foot shoulda done better with that chance
Hope he is suspended against us
17-03-2025, 08:19 AM
Is it funny? Yes.
Should he be banned? Maybe but even better if it helps us :greengrin
The meltdown on social media about it is hilarious though. One Celtic fan on X said there could have been anything in the bottle. Players often have bottles of acid on them right enough 😆
17-03-2025, 08:30 AM
Is it funny? Yes.
Should he be banned? Maybe but even better if it helps us :greengrin
The meltdown on social media about it is hilarious though. One Celtic fan on X said there could have been anything in the bottle. Players often have bottles of acid on them right enough 😆
Probably Orange Juice
17-03-2025, 02:11 PM
Th police would have been right in there and dragged the fan away.
LunasBoots
17-03-2025, 03:48 PM
Not just Cerny that done it, while we all know he'll likely not be arrested im pretty sure the SPFL will have to hand a ban to warn others its not acceptable
17-03-2025, 04:14 PM
Ah so no mention of Celtic fans pelting the away dugout with objects
Probably Orange Juice
This is a very good post. 👌🏻
Donegal Hibby
18-03-2025, 10:30 AM
I see the sun is saying Cerny could potentially be hit with 8 game ban , seems a lot but even if it was even half that it would be good . He’s not the only one in bother with Sterling referring to Parkhead as a s******* on social media as well apparently .
Thatdayinmay16
18-03-2025, 10:34 AM
I see the sun is saying Cerny could potentially be hit with 8 game ban , seems a lot but even if it was even half that it would be good . He’s not the only one in bother with Sterling referring to Parkhead as a s******* on social media as well apparently .
Neither should be banned or in trouble. If your banned for words on an Instagram post then the world truly has gone mad.
18-03-2025, 10:49 AM
I thought it was funny, he shouldn't be doing it and if I watched a Hearts player do it to me I'd no doubt be pissed off as well. But in the end no one is hurt and you sometimes have to take your medicine and move on.
Slap on the wrist, if they want him to miss the game vs us then great, if not then just fine him and put the money to charity or something.
Mcbizz1998
18-03-2025, 11:01 AM
It’s pretty funny but he’s assaulted the fans (I know it’s water but it’s technically an assault). If fans started throwing water at him it wouldn’t be a laughing matter. He should get absolutely nailed with a ban, he would if it was a Hibs player in a derby.
Donegal Hibby
18-03-2025, 11:04 AM
Neither should be banned or in trouble. If your banned for words on an Instagram post then the world truly has gone mad.
I don’t know what the rules are on it or how the powers that be will look on it , maybe Cerny’s actions will be looked on as inciting fans ? . 8 games would be a lot but if he was to miss our game over it as a result I’d be delighted as he’s their main player.
18-03-2025, 11:26 AM
I don’t know what the rules are on it or how the powers that be will look on it , maybe Cerny’s actions will be looked on as inciting fans ? . 8 games would be a lot but if he was to miss our game over it as a result I’d be delighted as he’s their main player.
It is absolutely inciting fans.
He'll not get 8 games, but he will rightly be suspended.
18-03-2025, 11:27 AM
Not sure you are but are you suggesting that there should be no policing of social media?
18-03-2025, 11:28 AM
If that had been Maeda at Ibrox they would have dragged him into the stands.
Donegal Hibby
18-03-2025, 11:37 AM
Hopefully it’s more than one game as I think it would be a boast if he’s out when we play them . Whatever he gets he was an idiot for doing it in the first place.
18-03-2025, 11:40 AM
Hopefully it’s more than one game as I think it would be a boast if he’s out when we play them . Whatever he gets he was an idiot for doing it in the first place.
:agree: with your first part
Not so sure about the second. It was the icing on the cake for their fans in what has been a brutal domestic season. In years time they'll still look back at it and love it. Cerny has probably bought a load of goodwill in an otherwise humpty SPL season. The downside? He'll miss a few league games that are effectively worth nowt anyway.
18-03-2025, 11:49 AM
Not really. Bringing the game into disrepute isn’t a new thing. An Insta post is no different to a post match interview, there are things you can and cannot say.
FWIW I don’t think Sterling should get a ban for what he actually said in this case. Also just shows how small time Rangers are, lapping up this win despite the fact Celtic are on course for a treble.
18-03-2025, 11:52 AM
You can go to jail in this country for words on Instagram, social media in general.
18-03-2025, 12:19 PM
When I watched the incident behind the Rangers dugout, you clearly see a Celtic fan swing a punch at the steward trying to stop the bother.
As for running up the sideline spraying water, I think if he is not punished, what will be the next thing to try and agitate the fans???
Thatdayinmay16
18-03-2025, 12:19 PM
Not sure you are but are you suggesting that there should be no policing of social media?
For words like "****hole" there should be no retrospective action.
Thing's including Racism is obviously a completely different matter, but let's be serious here, Sterling should face 0 actions for saying something like that, I'd actually encourage it from footballers, it's good to see stuff like that from footballers rather than the usual "Great 3 points" "we keep fighting" guff.
18-03-2025, 12:22 PM
8 games seems a bit extreme
StevieT
18-03-2025, 12:22 PM
OFFINABUS - Offensive, Insulting or Abusive language or actions is a red card offence. If his behaviour id deemed to fall in this category then a retrospective red could be applied along with the appropriate action.So unless they have something else to apply, I suspect it will be a one or two game ban at most for OFFINABUS
18-03-2025, 12:36 PM
8 games seems a bit extreme
It is.
I think it's one of those situations that is now being judged based on the ludicrous concept of 'whatever next'. It's been a tactic of the rag papers for years.
'It was water this time but what could it have been?'. Well it's a player in a football stadium so Powerade maybe? 'If we let him off with this what will he do next?'. Well again it's a player in a football stadium so he's hardly likely to have the means to carry out a frenzied knife attack. He might really **** things up by cupping his ears or blowing a kiss to the crowd though.
It was a bit of a daft thing for him to do but it was a few drops of water that went in the direction of a few people in the front row of the stand. I'd wager more Celtic fans got soaked by flying pints in the boozer when they equalised than were impacted by Cerny. People always seem to want to call for more characters or more laughs in football then something like this happens and people get all po faced wanting huge bans and police involvement. Laugh it off FFS.
18-03-2025, 01:00 PM
It was a bit of a daft thing for him to do but it was a few drops of water that went in the direction of a few people in the front row of the stand. I'd wager more Celtic fans got soaked by flying pints in the boozer when they equalised than were impacted by Cerny. People always seem to want to call for more characters or more laughs in football then something like this happens and people get all po faced wanting huge bans and police involvement. Laugh it off FFS.
Do you think you'd be saying the same in the aftermath of a late Hearts winner at Easter Road and that wee scrote Vargas running along spraying you with water? :greengrin
18-03-2025, 01:03 PM
You can go to jail in this country for words on Instagram, social media in general.
They have to be pretty specific words that are inciting pretty specific things.
18-03-2025, 01:06 PM
Do you think you'd be saying the same in the aftermath of a late Hearts winner at Easter Road and that wee scrote Vargas running along spraying you with water? :greengrin
I'm a football fan so by the very nature of that I'm entitled to be a massive hypocrite and call for him to be jailed for life:greengrin
18-03-2025, 01:18 PM
He'll get a ban, you can't have players doing that and not expect to get punished. Especially in a powderkeg fixture.
Can you imagine if a Celtic player done similar at Ibrox after a last minute winner? Knowing the typical behaviour of Sevco fans they'd probably have started a riot, which is why he needs to be punished to deter it.
Mcbizz1998
18-03-2025, 01:21 PM
They have to be pretty specific words that are inciting pretty specific things.
Don’t think you have to incite anything. Simply using certain words can be perceived as a hate crime, crucially it’s how the alleged victim perceives the words said, the intent of the person who said it is irrelevant.
18-03-2025, 01:24 PM
Don’t think you have to incite anything. Simply using certain words can be perceived as a hate crime, crucially it’s how the alleged victim perceives the words said, the intent of the person who said it is irrelevant.
This isn't the forum to get into it, but the idea that you get the jail for just having some free speech online is utter baws. You get the jail for being a **** online, and I'm yet to read about someone going to jail for what they've said and felt sorry for them.
Mcbizz1998
18-03-2025, 02:12 PM
This isn't the forum to get into it, but the idea that you get the jail for just having some free speech online is utter baws. You get the jail for being a **** online, and I'm yet to read about someone going to jail for what they've said and felt sorry for them.
It’s not utter baws though, people are jailed for things they say online. It just happens that you don’t like what they said so it doesn’t bother you. I’m somewhat of a free speech absolutist, minute you start deciding what people can and can’t say it’s a slippery slope. Let’s hope one day someone doesn’t get into power that criminalises saying things online that you DO agree with.
18-03-2025, 02:25 PM
It’s not utter baws though, people are jailed for things they say online. It just happens that you don’t like what they said so it doesn’t bother you. I’m somewhat of a free speech absolutist, minute you start deciding what people can and can’t say it’s a slippery slope. Let’s hope one day someone doesn’t get into power that criminalises saying things online that you DO agree with.
Does that mean you think there should be nothing people can't say regardless of how it might affect somebody else?
18-03-2025, 02:27 PM
Oh here we go 😅
Thatdayinmay16
18-03-2025, 02:34 PM
Does that mean you think there should be nothing people can't say regardless of how it might affect somebody else?
You're the epitome of if someone said they liked pancakes you'd be straight on there case asking if that meant they hated waffles.
Give it a rest.
18-03-2025, 02:59 PM
You're the epitome of if someone said they liked pancakes you'd be straight on there case asking if that meant they hated waffles.
Give it a rest.
If we're gonnae go completely off on a tangent then I'll add that I've recently been buying Birdseye Potato Waffles and eating them as snacks instead of toast. Potato waffles are way better than desert waffles. For an added treat, a wee slice of plasticky cheese in between 2 waffles :aok:
18-03-2025, 03:00 PM
Do you have any examples of things people have said that you don't think they should have been jailed for?
18-03-2025, 03:05 PM
Do you have any examples of things people have said that you don't think they should have been jailed for?
These days, you get arrested and thrown in jail if you say you're English.
Thatdayinmay16
18-03-2025, 03:08 PM
If we're gonnae go completely off on a tangent then I'll add that I've recently been buying Birdseye Potato Waffles and eating them as snacks instead of toast. Potato waffles are way better than desert waffles. For an added treat, a wee slice of plasticky cheese in between 2 waffles :aok:
Does that mean you hate non plasticky cheese?!?!
18-03-2025, 03:13 PM
"No, but if on an official form you cross out British and write white English, they'll send it back."
Mcbizz1998
18-03-2025, 03:22 PM
Yep, quite a few. But don’t think this is really the forum to dive into specifics.
Basically, I don’t think you should be criminally prosecuted for any speech with the exception of calls for violence. It’s easy to find examples of people being prosecuted (some jailed) for saying some pretty reprehensible things online - I don’t agree with what they said but I believe they should have the right to say it.
18-03-2025, 03:28 PM
I suspect he'll get a similar ban that Lenny got for his airplane celebration, can't remember how log that was though.
18-03-2025, 03:35 PM
Yep, quite a few. But don’t think this is really the forum to dive into specifics.
Basically, I don’t think you should be criminally prosecuted for any speech with the exception of calls for violence. It’s easy to find examples of people being prosecuted (some jailed) for saying some pretty reprehensible things online - I don’t agree with what they said but I believe they should have the right to say it.
I am genuinely curious to know what cases these are you're referring to as I've only seen people calling for violence being jailed. I hear people say these things constantly but yet have never shown me anything to prove it.
18-03-2025, 03:41 PM
Posting on social media anything which breaks existing laws is absolutely fair enough if they get charged
Mcbizz1998
18-03-2025, 03:54 PM
Posting on social media anything which breaks existing laws is absolutely fair enough if they get charged
Ok, that’s one view. Let’s hope these laws don’t start infringing on things that you want to say online 👍
Mcbizz1998
18-03-2025, 03:59 PM
I am genuinely curious to know what cases these are you're referring to as I've only seen people calling for violence being jailed. I hear people say these things constantly but yet have never shown me anything to prove it.
Jamila Abdi, a black woman, was charged for using the N-word when referring to Isak of Newcastle United.
Lee Joseph Dunn - posted some offensive memes relating to Asian people and centred around his views towards mass immigration. He later removed and apologised but was sentenced to 2 months in prison.
2 off the top of my head. And before anyone starts accusing me of anything, I don’t agree with what either of these people posted but I don’t believe that it should be criminal to do so.
18-03-2025, 04:04 PM
Do you think people should have the right to make things up about you with malicious intent (e.g. saying you're a child molester or similar) and post them online as long as they're not specifically calling for violence?
No offence but the general perception I have of 'free speech' warriors at the moment is that they're generally the most massive hypocrites.
Mcbizz1998
18-03-2025, 04:09 PM
Do you think people should have the right to make things up about you with malicious intent (e.g. saying you're a child molester or similar) and post them online as long as they're not specifically calling for violence?
No offence but the general perception I have of 'free speech' warriors at the moment is that they're generally the most massive hypocrites.
That’s a very good point and not one I’ve ever considered. I think I would probably be another exception I would include alongside calls for violence.
18-03-2025, 04:15 PM
Jamila Abdi, a black woman, was charged for using the N-word when referring to Isak of Newcastle United.
Lee Joseph Dunn - posted some offensive memes relating to Asian people and centred around his views towards mass immigration. He later removed and apologised but was sentenced to 2 months in prison.
2 off the top of my head. And before anyone starts accusing me of anything, I don’t agree with what either of these people posted but I don’t believe that it should be criminal to do so.
The first one has had charges and case dropped.
The second posted 'memes' insinuating things that violent Asians male gangs with knives were coming to people's towns in the UK in the middle of a heated period of race riots.
Again, do you have any examples of people who have not incited violence that have been jailed?
PHeffernan
18-03-2025, 04:21 PM
Do you think it could have been the gobbing Hearts taxi driver that said that to the clever comedian?
PHeffernan
18-03-2025, 04:25 PM
Back on topic ... kind off
How wet are these complaining supporters.
Obviously they may actually have become wet via Mr Cerny.
One more wet and they will be a sweet little mystery.
Mcbizz1998
18-03-2025, 04:27 PM
The first one has had charges and case dropped.
The second posted 'memes' insinuating things that violent Asians male gangs with knives were coming to people's towns in the UK in the middle of a heated period of race riots.
Again, do you have any examples of people who have not incited violence that have been jailed?
It was only dropped as it was deemed as it could be racist to prosecute a black woman for using the N word. It would not have been dropped if it were a white person.
The second was not inciting violence. The timing of the posts is irrelevant, you can’t have speech that is illegal depending current events at a particular time - they were memes that you may well disagree with but were not calling for violence. We clearly disagree so will leave it there mate 👍
18-03-2025, 05:12 PM
Give it a rest.
Nah.