View Full Version : Stadium sound systems
Helensburghhibs
16-03-2025, 11:05 AM
Why do clubs feel the need to kill the pre match atmosphere with the pa system. Do they actually think that's what fans want or need. Celtic Park is the worst I've encountered last week but all the grounds are just as bad. Case and point today, rangers fans herded in 2 hours early at the request of police Scotland, from the videos I've seen the away end was bouncing. Now turn your TV on and all you can hear is crap pop music or Irish folk tunes. No atmosphere whatsoever. Surely it's obvious that it kills any build up?
16-03-2025, 11:18 AM
I agree, at ER you can't really manage a blether with pals. Too loud music adds nothing to the match build up.
16-03-2025, 11:27 AM
I have given up at ER cannae hear yourself think never mind conduct a conversation :grr:
HarpOnHibee
16-03-2025, 11:47 AM
Bah, you're all getting old. Turn it up I say! :greengrin
16-03-2025, 12:07 PM
Why do clubs feel the need to kill the pre match atmosphere with the pa system. Do they actually think that's what fans want or need. Celtic Park is the worst I've encountered last week but all the grounds are just as bad. Case and point today, rangers fans herded in 2 hours early at the request of police Scotland, from the videos I've seen the away end was bouncing. Now turn your TV on and all you can hear is crap pop music or Irish folk tunes. No atmosphere whatsoever. Surely it's obvious that it kills any build up?
Killing the "atmosphere" which the Huns' end creates seems like a good idea to me.
Helensburghhibs
16-03-2025, 01:14 PM
Killing the "atmosphere" which the Huns' end creates seems like a good idea to me.
Applies to both ends of this bilefest but I was making a wider point
16-03-2025, 01:42 PM
Stade de France is the worst. The guy literally screams, 120 dbs.
16-03-2025, 01:44 PM
I have given up at ER cannae hear yourself think never mind conduct a conversation :grr:
A change from the 80's when fans complained you couldn't hear the p a system.
This was the talk on East Terrace.
16-03-2025, 01:52 PM
Dunno can still mind A good Heart by Feargal Sharkey belting oot as Benny warmed up and we had Everything I own by Ken Boothe for decades 😀
16-03-2025, 03:57 PM
Anything drowning out the huns is good in my book. Even pish Irish folksongs
16-03-2025, 04:54 PM
Radio Hibs!
16-03-2025, 05:18 PM
We could at least stop the music a minute before kick off, or when the teams come out.
Playing it right up to the start, or when a goal is scored, is a pain in the ass.
16-03-2025, 07:35 PM
There was a midweek game at Celtic Park in the early days of the Disco Lights and we were bombarded with a very loud pre match playing of “Thunderstruck” by AC/DC.
I was in the company of my friend that night who was a big AC/DC fan and had seen them recently play live at Hampden and he was bemoaning the fact they the playing of the song on the Parkhead tannoy was louder than that of the live show at Hampden.
I wasn’t sure how serious he was being, but I got the feeling he really did mean it.
16-03-2025, 08:52 PM
and 90s. How PA systems back in the day passed any Health and Safety checks beyond me and if there was an incident (the CS gas thrown by Celtc casuals was just little before time) that could have seen Hibs in the dock you have to imagine.
17-03-2025, 02:53 PM
“streets of Edinburgh” by the proclaimers should be played before every match like Newcastle play local hero
17-03-2025, 03:01 PM
You also cant beat the occasional ear screeching crackle from Hibs current PA system. What the heck is that all about?