View Full Version : Various stadium tours
HibbyDave
12-03-2025, 07:00 PM
Been to Madrid, Milan and Berlin stadia tours.
Anyone been to Seville?
If so, any comments please?
Also share others if you’ve done this type of thing in the past.
12-03-2025, 07:13 PM
Done the Nou Camp tour when I was around 8.
Done the Anfield and Old Trafford tours in the past few years.
12-03-2025, 07:16 PM
I've done four, and one wasn't a football stadium but hugely impressive all the same.
The old Wembley, Barcelona, Easter Road & Croke Park.
12-03-2025, 07:17 PM
Been to Madrid, Milan and Berlin stadia tours.
Anyone been to Seville?
If so, any comments please?
Also share others if you’ve done this type of thing in the past.
I’ve done the Sevilla stadium tour, thought it was class, me and my boy really enjoyed it.
Also did the Malaga and Arsenal ones, really enjoyed them too.
12-03-2025, 07:19 PM
Did Munich Allianz Arena a while back.
Really boring tbh. Stadium was miles out in middle of nowhere and didn't seem that impressive. Dont remember there being much to see.
12-03-2025, 07:19 PM
Damn football tourists, eh? :rolleyes:
I've done the Spurs stadium and I've booked to see the Bernabeu next month.
Mcbizz1998
12-03-2025, 07:20 PM
I’m off to Seville in middle April, would be keen to hear thoughts on stadium tour as well.
Though, I only just discovered (somehow) that Real Betis are based in Seville as well. I never knew that! Obviously I now want a Betis top as they play in green and white.
Anyone done Real Betis stadium tour?
12-03-2025, 07:24 PM
Really boring tbh. Stadium was miles out in middle of nowhere and didn't seem that impressive. Dont remember there being much to see.
I love an empty football stadium.
Not sure if that’s weird or not but I do 😂, doesn’t have to be a big stadium either, they feel almost therapeutic and peaceful I think.
12-03-2025, 07:25 PM
When I was there last year for the Euro’s. I thought it was a great stadium but like you said miles away from city centre.
12-03-2025, 07:25 PM
I’m off to Seville in middle April, would be keen to hear thoughts on stadium tour as well.
Though, I only just discovered (somehow) that Real Betis are based in Seville as well. I never knew that! Obviously I now want a Betis top as they play in green and white.
I haven't done the Betis tour, but have seen a game there. Cracking stadium.
Was against Barca, with all their tiki-taka stars of the day. Watching Puyol from on high was a delight.
It all just proved to me that fitba fans are the same all over the world. Messi got booed for every touch, and the biggest cheer was when he went off injured.:greengrin
12-03-2025, 07:26 PM
Sevilla tour isn’t a guided tour, you’re left to walk round at your own pace but there’s people about to answer your own questions if you have any. Sure there’s references to Dundee Utd in the museum but can’t remember why.
12-03-2025, 07:31 PM
I'll be in Seville next month too, but I can't subject Mrs R to a second tour in a week.
12-03-2025, 07:33 PM
Oh, I forgot to mention, I've done Maracana tour as well.
12-03-2025, 07:34 PM
Not sure if that’s weird or not but I do , doesn’t have to be a big stadium either, they feel almost therapeutic and peaceful I think.
I saw a game in the Maracana once, and it may as well have been empty. The game was live on telly, so there was only 4,000 there...in a stadium that holds 100,000.
And the fans changed ends at half time. :greengrin
When I walked in, ignorant of who was playing, I spotted a crowd of fans in green, and another in maroon. Naturally, I went with the green lot. ..... only to find, as the teams came out, the home team (Fluminense?) were in green and maroon. :rolleyes:
12-03-2025, 07:44 PM
Not sure if that’s weird or not but I do ��, doesn’t have to be a big stadium either, they feel almost therapeutic and peaceful I think.
When I was there last year for the Euro’s. I thought it was a great stadium but like you said miles away from city centre.
Maybe I was just too hungover that day to appreciate it:greengrin
Sure it would be class when full, just felt different to tours I'd been on previously at famous stadiums like Bernabeau, Camp Nou and Easter Road. I think the fact it was so remote played a part.
LewysGot2
12-03-2025, 07:51 PM
Yup - unfortunately it’s a bit of a Sellickfootballclub love in at the start…:rolleyes:
Apparently they think the green and greys were the first to wear green and white hoops…and are their inspiration
12-03-2025, 08:01 PM
I've done Cathkin Park a few times.......
12-03-2025, 08:26 PM
Maybe I was just too hungover that day to appreciate it:greengrin
Sure it would be class when full, just felt different to tours I'd been on previously at famous stadiums like Bernabeau, Camp Nou and Easter Road. I think the fact it was so remote played a part.
I sat at the top of the Allianz last year (2nd last row) and the steps were a bit steep walking up. 😂
Renfrew_Hibby
12-03-2025, 09:30 PM
Done Hibs, Barca and Man Utd a few years ago.
The guide at Old Trafford was brilliant but kept dropping the odd comment here and there. It was only at the end of the tour that he revealed he was actually a Mancunian born lifelong Liverpool fan, a season ticket holder to boot!
12-03-2025, 10:04 PM
Done a few tours.
Hope I don't get banned from the forum for this but one I want to do is Ibrox. Marble staircase etc. Can't stand that club but I have a keen interest in stadiums, particularly the older, rather grand ones.
I’ve done Barca, Real Madrid, Man Utd, Man City, Hampden all good with good guides except Spurs which all thought a cracking stadium the tour was boring with no guide except at the start when a guy who started it was very poor. I’m doing Easter road tonight with Rob Jones which is hopefully a good night.
SickBoy32
13-03-2025, 07:19 AM
Nou Camp, Allianz, Hampden, Easter Road and the Tinycastle for me.
All interesting in their own way, Hampden and Nou Camp museums in particular I found really interesting.
The guide in Gorgie genuinely spent 60mins (of a 90min tour) talking about WW1 links to HMFC - a club with a serious lack of charisma 😂💩 (the other 30mins were spent talking about the Hibees, naturally!)
Gloucester Hibs
13-03-2025, 07:30 AM
Did the Madrid one about 15 years ago, was really good. Was self-guided and started up in the gods and ended up in the press room. Could go at your own pace, sure we stopped for a pint at one point :party:
13-03-2025, 07:33 AM
I’ve done Easter Road and Camp Nou. The biggest surprise was how run down the seating was in the Camp Nou. Far inferior to Easter Road. Its current revamp is well overdue.
13-03-2025, 07:38 AM
The Falkirk Stadium tour as advertised on the their pitch side boards always made me smile 😃
13-03-2025, 07:48 AM
I’ve done the Stade de France tour years ago, that was pretty good.
13-03-2025, 07:48 AM
Done a few tours.
Hope I don't get banned from the forum for this but one I want to do is Ibrox. Marble staircase etc. Can't stand that club but I have a keen interest in stadiums, particularly the older, rather grand ones.
I did the Ibrox one last year (my wife is a The Rangers fan and a former Rangers ST holder - don’t judge me). It was decent and the museum is interesting too. They don’t assume everyone on the tour is a Hun. They ask who everyone supports at the start - there were a couple of Celtic fans on the tour (albeit I think they were like me in that they were there with a Hun) and a few other Scottish teams too.
The guide we had probably made it a bit better as generations of his family worked for Rangers and The Rangers so he had stories of when he was a kid, etc. The staircase, etc. is lovely. Shame about the photos and paintings of the royal family everywhere, though.
Trophy room has several instances of the word “The” before “Rangers” too to wind the Huns up with :greengrin:
Other tours I’ve done are Easter Road, Bernabéu, Old Trafford, New Den (as part of hospitality). I wouldn't really describe them as tour but rather walkarounds of the Olympic Stadium in Munich (when Bayern still played there) and the Olympic Stadium in Barcelona (during Barcelona's current stint there).
stuart-farquhar
13-03-2025, 08:14 AM
Benfica was good. And you can't beat a coffee and a Nata, whilst watching the world go by in Lisbon.
Hillsidehibby
13-03-2025, 08:15 AM
Done a few already mentioned but did a tour of Ajax a while ago but it was in Dutch. It was all the time I had but was still quite good.
13-03-2025, 08:32 AM
The Falkirk Stadium tour as advertised on the their pitch side boards always made me smile 😃
I was trying to remember if that advert was at Falkirk or Hamilton - thanks for clarifying!
13-03-2025, 08:36 AM
I wasn't sure what you meant and googled 'Falkirk Stadium Tour' - is it genuinely an online tour like you get on a house sale listing?
Fuzzywuzzy
13-03-2025, 08:36 AM
Done a few tours.
I think that some of the Archibald leitch stands looked fantastic so get this. Can't be too many of them left
Fuzzywuzzy
13-03-2025, 08:38 AM
Done milan and psg. Both good tours. Psg you just get to wander round.
They might beat the Dundee teams for closest neighbours soon as Paris FC might relocate to the rugby ground next door
13-03-2025, 10:14 AM
Barcelona in the 90s. Nice big picture of Archie aside, I didn't think it was all that. Much preferred going to an actual game. So I tend just to do that rather than any stadium tours nowadays.
In Scotland, Hampden (museum is quite interesting) and, to my eternal shame, Tiny. Team I played for as a youngster got a tour there because the coach knew someone. This was back in their early 80s yo-yo days. It was as unimpressive a dump as you'd imagine.
13-03-2025, 10:37 AM
I wasn't sure what you meant and googled 'Falkirk Stadium Tour' - is it genuinely an online tour like you get on a house sale listing?
It now appears to be!
Presumably the physical tour didn't attract the expected stampede 🤣
H18S NX
13-03-2025, 10:42 AM
Done the San Siro,could not wait to leave,did not think it was very good,in the trophy room first thing i saw was a Hertz programme.Ajax stadium was very good.
13-03-2025, 11:31 AM
Benfica was good. And you can't beat a coffee and a Nata, whilst watching the world go by in Lisbon.
Best one I ever tasted was in the Time Out market in Lisbon.
I could have eaten a dozen. So delicious.
13-03-2025, 12:18 PM
Did you go to Belem? The nuns at the monastery there are supposed to be the inventors. Not sure if that's true and it's a bit of a tourist trap but the pasteis are incredible.
Hibees1973
13-03-2025, 04:05 PM
Yup - unfortunately it’s a bit of a Sellickfootballclub love in at the start…:rolleyes:
Apparently they think the green and greys were the first to wear green and white hoops…and are their inspiration
I've followed Betis closely for 40 years and it's not like that at all from the Betis side. Fair enough, may have adopted the green and while, but that is where it ends.
Betis & Celtic have completely different ethics. I know Betis would never entertain a Basque flag, Palestinian flag or any anti-semitic antics from anyone within their stadium.
Hibees1973
13-03-2025, 04:11 PM
Cannae beat a Portuguese tart.......the custard one.
13-03-2025, 04:14 PM
Did you go to Belem? The nuns at the monastery there are supposed to be the inventors. Not sure if that's true and it's a bit of a tourist trap but the pasteis are incredible.
We didn't, but I will next time I visit.
The Tubs
13-03-2025, 04:56 PM
I've followed Betis closely for 40 years and it's not like that at all from the Betis side. Fair enough, may have adopted the green and while, but that is where it ends.
Betis & Celtic have completely different ethics. I know Betis would never entertain a Basque flag, Palestinian flag or any anti-semitic antics from anyone within their stadium.
Doesn't put them off a little Gary Mackay-like behaviour.
https://www.nytimes.com/athletic/4290998/2023/03/09/vinicius-jr-racism-real-madrid-betis/
13-03-2025, 05:09 PM
I actually enjoyed the tour of the Allianz Arena, but I must admit that I preferred the tour of the Olympic Stadium, where Bayern (and 1860) played in previously.
There's a lot to do there when you finish the tour, with the surrounding park and the Olympiaturm worth a visit.
13-03-2025, 05:44 PM
Can beat the lot o ye !
Done ER
Guy went intae a cupboard pulled oot an auld Hibs jersey with a #8 on it
Said to me ‘Wee Jimmy wore that at 0-7’
He even let me touch it before carefully putting it back and removing his white gloves
13-03-2025, 06:02 PM
I've done the Celtic one 🙊.
13-03-2025, 06:51 PM
The several high profile incidents of racial abuse from Betis fans that you ignore will meet with your approval I assume.
Hibees1973
13-03-2025, 08:02 PM
The several high profile incidents of racial abuse from Betis fans that you ignore will meet with your approval I assume.
Fair enough. I'm not really willing to get into a tit for tat debate on this. Yes, there is a serious problem across Spanish clubs with regards players of colour. Numerous clubs have been called out for this, for which Betis is one and whose behaviour I do not condone. An inept FA (yes there are others) have been unable to punish clubs properly and this is why it continues.
Most clubs have their problems and very few are angels. My earlier comment was merely to question the closeness between Betis and Celtic. When really, the only link is that they both play in green and while.
14-03-2025, 07:38 AM
Fair enough. I'm not really willing to get into a tit for tat debate on this. Yes, there is a serious problem across Spanish clubs with regards players of colour. Numerous clubs have been called out for this, for which Betis is one and whose behaviour I do not condone. An inept FA (yes there are others) have been unable to punish clubs properly and this is why it continues.
Most clubs have their problems and very few are angels. My earlier comment was merely to question the closeness between Betis and Celtic. When really, the only link is that they both play in green and while.
That's not entirely true though. We bit more to it than they both just play in green and white lol.
Renfrew_Hibby
14-03-2025, 07:56 AM
That's not entirely true though. We bit more to it than they both just play in green and white lol.
One of Betis early coaches/managers was a Glaswegian and on a trip back home he bought a job lot set of old kit from Celtic and the rest is history. Remember that Celtic used to wear stripes and green socks. I think the hoops were only introduced around the 1st World War?
14-03-2025, 09:29 AM
One of Betis early coaches/managers was a Glaswegian and on a trip back home he bought a job lot set of old kit from Celtic and the rest is history. Remember that Celtic used to wear stripes and green socks. I think the hoops were only introduced around the 1st World War?
Seems to be quite common for Spanish teams to have stuck with somebody else's cast off kit. Barca play in FC Basel colours, Athletic Bilbao in Southampton's, Atletico Madrid in Athletic Bilbao's!
14-03-2025, 09:51 AM
There is more to it than that. Bloke called Manuel Ramos Asensio came to study in Scotland in the early 1900s. Not sure where but is was something to do with Brother Walfred. Anyways Ramos Asensio was one of the founders of the original Betis and through making connections at this place he was studying got involved with celtic and going to their games. This apparently resulted in a partnership forming between the clubs which lead to Betis changing their colours from BLUE to green and white. Green and white being the colours of Andalusia it was acceptable to everyone else. In the early days celtic would send equipment to Spain every month for Betis including the materials need to make the strips.
Betis (the club) have recognised celtic in past celebrations.