View Full Version : Bad/ strange decisions in football and Hibs games

Donegal Hibby
12-03-2025, 12:52 PM
I was watching some of our games today and started with our recent victory over Celtic , still can’t understand why Boyle didn’t get a foul in that game and more bizarrely how they got it …

Another one I watched was our game against Ross County when our keeper was just totally taken out as they scored, how a foul wasn’t given is again mind-boggling . Are there others you remember in Hibs or any other games ?.

Watched this of some bad/ Strange decisions in football in general…

https://www.google.com/search?q=strange+decisions+in+football&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&hl=en-ie&client=safari#fpstate=ive&vld=cid:678b6d0d,vid:JXuMxF5PyZs,st:0

12-03-2025, 12:55 PM
Not the most serious of competitions... but I remember we were once penalised for playing keep ball whilst ahead against Celtic in the Tennents Sixes. The ref gave them a foul for it being "unsporting" or some such, they went up the park and scored and we were knocked out.

It remains to this day the absolutely worst decision I've seen on a football park - and I've played in a game when the ref has blown for half time ten minutes early because he wanted to go to the burger van.

12-03-2025, 12:57 PM
Not the most serious of competitions... but I remember we were once penalised for playing keep ball whilst ahead against Celtic in the Tennents Sixes. The ref gave them a foul for it being "unsporting" or some such, they went up the park and scored and we were knocked out.

It remains to this day the absolutely worst decision I've seen on a football park - and I've played in a game when the ref has blown for half time ten minutes early because he wanted to go to the burger van.

I love that not only have you remembered something that happened in the Tennent Sixes, you are still annoyed about it. :greengrin

Hibs Go Bragh
12-03-2025, 01:13 PM
The Falkirk play off game at ER!

12-03-2025, 01:17 PM
28642Griffiths derby freekick ruled no goal. Astonishing. And 12 years ago.

12-03-2025, 01:25 PM
Colin Campbell being monstered by the Girven Lighthouse, Scottish Cup final 1979. No pen.

@ 27 secs

https://youtu.be/5GNIcayXleU?si=UIVU-ExHllr5vQdi

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

MacGruber
12-03-2025, 01:37 PM

Brilliant - thought it was just me! I remember watching it clear as day and still bring it up now and again. Was absolutely raging for weeks 😅

12-03-2025, 01:38 PM
I've played in a game when the ref has blown for half time ten minutes early because he wanted to go to the burger van.

That was me.

MacGruber
12-03-2025, 01:41 PM
Waif like Dean Shiels being sent off for bumping into that lanky plank Gordon who made sure he was in the way and made sure of the red with the dramatics. No doubt we would have won that day having come back from 2 down aswell

12-03-2025, 01:48 PM
I seem to remember back in the day when pass backs were allowed. A referee instructed our goalkeeper to kick it long and stop passing it around the back. Against Celtic I think.

12-03-2025, 02:02 PM
By far the worst decision at a football match I have witnessed was in January 1985 against Dumbarton ( we won 3-1 I think.. Durie deffo scored) . My mate Mikey was refusing to speak to me because I’d got off with a girl he fancied at a party on the Friday night. It was a bloody freezing day and so I went and bought him a pie and a cup of tea at half time a an olive branch… he took it, looked at me.. dropped the pie and stood on it and poured the tea on the top of the congealing mess. She wasn’t even that good a snog! Ridiculous decision!! I still mourn the loss of that pie.

12-03-2025, 02:05 PM
John O'Neil passing the ball to himself by going round a player and driving into the box and getting brought down, the ref gave a Penalty but Martin O'Neill basically ran up the touch line and put the linesman's flag up, it was given as offside somehow(that somehow being that it was against Celtc)

Still gives me the rage to this day and not many people seem to remember or even mention it

12-03-2025, 02:16 PM
Hibs player gets booked for helping a Celtic player who slipped trying to save a throw in

Who knew ?

https://youtu.be/7SoY0QaCZLo?si=y6PH9HMAsMGTTamC

12-03-2025, 02:16 PM
Match against St Johnstone(?).

Hibs free kick but the wall is about 7 yards away. Hibs player points it out to the ref. The ref paces out 10 yards but starts from where the St Johnstone wall is, then places the ball the 3 yards back the way.

12-03-2025, 02:21 PM
Ref starting a game at Parkhead when we didn’t have a goalkeeper Jim Leighton was off injured and Darren Jackson was changing into a goalie top on the sideline

Celtic of course sportingly had a shot on goal

12-03-2025, 02:22 PM
Willie Wilson being penalised for taking a 5th step against Leeds in 1968 and Jackie Charlton equalising from the free kick 3 minutes from the end. The first and one of the rare times I saw a goalkeeper punished for this.

12-03-2025, 02:24 PM
Willie Wilson being penalised for taking a 5th step against Leeds in 1968 and Jackie Charlton equalising from the free kick 3 minutes from the end. The first and one of the rare times I saw a goalkeeper punished for this.

My Dad and Granda raged about that one for years. So much so that I (and I wasn't there) am still raging about it. :greengrin

12-03-2025, 02:25 PM

Gary Sprake had been doing it the whole game for Leeds and Clive Thomas the Welsh Ref loved being the centre of attention disallowing a goal at the World Cup because it was scored on the 45th minute saying he had blown for half time

12-03-2025, 02:27 PM
Match against St Johnstone(?).

Hibs free kick but the wall is about 7 yards away. Hibs player points it out to the ref. The ref paces out 10 yards but starts from where the St Johnstone wall is, then places the ball the 3 yards back the way.

Where to begin, seen so many. Remember a Huns penalty given against Ulrik Laursen for getting up off the turf and the ball hit the arm as he was pushing himself to his feet. The only time I'd ever seen a penalty retaken for encroachment - before they really clamped down on it - was 1996 when Brian Laudrup hit the bar with Jim Leighton in goals.. Retaken and Leighton saved it. We won 2-1

Ron D Hibbie
12-03-2025, 02:31 PM
Hibs player gets booked for helping a Celtic player who slipped trying to save a throw in

Who knew ?

https://youtu.be/7SoY0QaCZLo?si=y6PH9HMAsMGTTamC

Our mate mr Clancy i think.

12-03-2025, 02:32 PM
Andy Goram for Hibs at Ibrox laying in the box semi-concious after a "tackle". Mickley Weir noticed he was turning blue (no, not the kind) and was jumping around trying to get trainers on and for the refs attention. Ref plays on, Rangers score into an open goal and Mickey gets sent off for dissent.

Donegal Hibby
12-03-2025, 02:35 PM
Morelos stamp on was it Porto’s knee getting missed. Morelos was such a dirty …..

12-03-2025, 02:36 PM
Alex McLeish does a Joe Jordan in his own box penalty to Hibs ?

Wrong !

https://youtu.be/1zlbrNoRrkU?si=dhdEDmXRbVH6qCGg

12-03-2025, 02:39 PM
Andy Goram for Hibs at Ibrox laying in the box semi-concious after a "tackle". Mickley Weir noticed he was turning blue (no, not the kind) and was jumping around trying to get trainers on and for the refs attention. Ref plays on, Rangers score into an open goal and Mickey gets sent off for dissent.

Remember that one. Just blatant cheating and not a hope in Hell it would happen the other way round.

12-03-2025, 02:41 PM
Gary Sprake had been doing it the whole game for Leeds and Clive Thomas the Welsh Ref loved being the centre of attention disallowing a goal at the World Cup because it was scored on the 45th minute saying he had blown for half time
My dad thought Clive Thomas was a strange appointment as he was refereeing in the same league as one of the teams.
The Hamburg game
The McDonald dive
The Aberdeen game offside and penalty incident

Thatdayinmay16
12-03-2025, 02:54 PM
Penalty incident in gorgie last season that kept us from a win and cost us a position in the top 6.

12-03-2025, 03:20 PM
Where do you want to start?

Falkirk playing basketball in their own box in the play offs.

Porteous being shoved over in the last minute of the final V Celtic and no penalty.

David Bates with the most blatant handball you will ever see for the Huns and no penalty given.

Vargas being given a penalty for a dive. Despite a VAR check saying it should be overturned.

Willie Collum (now head of the west coast refs) not giving a free kick to Hibs for Hanlon being completely wiped out and rangers then score from it.

Tim Clancy being completely hacked down in the Falkirk box in the 4-3 semi and no penalty given.

Griffiths free kick.

Ollie Shaw at Tynecastle.

Alan Freeland V Falkirk in general.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

FastEddieFelson
12-03-2025, 03:48 PM
There was a game against the huns at easter road, think it might have been in the Championship period around 2015 or so, and Paul Hanlon was absolutely wiped out by a Rangers player (Kenny Miller maybe) just before Rangers scored. A foul every day of the week. The goal was given and not an awful lot seemed to be said about it.

Thatdayinmay16
12-03-2025, 03:52 PM
There was a game against the huns at easter road, think it might have been in the Championship period around 2015 or so, and Paul Hanlon was absolutely wiped out by a Rangers player (Kenny Miller maybe) just before Rangers scored. A foul every day of the week. The goal was given and not an awful lot seemed to be said about it.

Was this the challenge cup game? I remember it. Watched it in a pub in Blackpool and thought to myself the same at the time.

12-03-2025, 03:52 PM
There was a game against the huns at easter road, think it might have been in the Championship period around 2015 or so, and Paul Hanlon was absolutely wiped out by a Rangers player (Kenny Miller maybe) just before Rangers scored. A foul every day of the week. The goal was given and not an awful lot seemed to be said about it.When they scored 6 against iirc. Petrified Forest Cup maybe.

First ever match attended by someone with an actual Magic Hat.

Not so magic.

12-03-2025, 04:01 PM

This was in the 2-0 defeat at ER (our only loss to them in the league that season) that gave Hearts the title.

12-03-2025, 04:12 PM
Gascoigne getting booked for showing the yellow card to the ref which the ref had dropped.

David_D
12-03-2025, 04:24 PM
Already been mentioned but the Alan Freeland game was something else. Never seen anything like it.

12-03-2025, 04:41 PM
Already been mentioned but the Alan Freeland game was something else. Never seen anything like it.

It was mental.

Ref lost control of a game that wasn't even a dirty or controversial game or in danger of spiralling out of control. It was entirely the referee's doing that it went the way it did.

Highly suspicious.

12-03-2025, 04:50 PM
Disallowing that Zico (?) goal cost him his international career, really daft decision to let the corner be taken if it was time up. It was the end of the match so Brazil didn't get another opportunity for a winner IIRC.

12-03-2025, 04:58 PM
Gascoigne getting booked for showing the yellow card to the ref which the ref had dropped.
Rangers beat us 7-0 at Ibrox that day and in true Hibs style we beat Hearts 2-1 at ER on New Years Day in the next game when no one gave us a chance

12-03-2025, 05:02 PM

Willie Collum, think it might have been Lee Wallace. That's the one I always think of - absolutely incredible decision not to give a free kick.

Alan Hutton v Italy. Sigh.

12-03-2025, 05:04 PM
Disallowing that Zico (?) goal cost him his international career, really daft decision to let the corner be taken if it was time up. It was the end of the match so Brazil didn't get another opportunity for a winner IIRC.

Aye that’s right it was the final whistle when the ball was in the air from the corner makes it even worse

Arrogant wee prick !

https://youtu.be/GuDd41DOYiM?si=szV15_goI2Oreayx

12-03-2025, 05:07 PM
Aye that’s right it was the final whistle when the ball was in the air from the corner makes it even worse

Arrogant wee prick !
I always thought he was an excellent referee, maybe even the best in the world at that time but the world revolved around him and he was his own worst enemy.

Donegal Hibby
12-03-2025, 05:26 PM
Lost teeth , broken vertebrae. In a coma and took 6 months to recover yet no action was taken against the player who did this and went on to help win the game ….

https://youtu.be/lSnGCoFKKRA?si=DPlQLWIAbCTesD25

12-03-2025, 05:47 PM
Lost teeth , broken vertebrae. In a coma and took 6 months to recover yet no action was taken against the player who did this and went on to help win the game ….

Ref gave a goal kick. Harald Schumacher one of the worst villains in football

GRA
12-03-2025, 05:50 PM
Rangers beat us 7-0 at Ibrox that day and in true Hibs style we beat Hearts 2-1 at ER on New Years Day in the next game when no one gave us a chance

Though we won the derby how Hearts never had a player sent off that game is a mystery. Bruno went about assaulting our players and the ref sh*t it, disgrace.

12-03-2025, 06:26 PM

Aye, but Brenda's had a look and says it's not conclusively over the line.

12-03-2025, 06:34 PM

Pretty sure Scotland's own Bob Valentine was on the line, and any chance of being involved in the final was gone after that tackle.

Donegal Hibby
12-03-2025, 06:44 PM
Pretty sure Scotland's own Bob Valentine was on the line, and any chance of being involved in the final was gone after that tackle.

It was a brutal challenge , no where near getting the ball . For some reason I kept thinking on the bad injury Gordon got against Utd when I watched it .

I remember on the hertz forum at the time Fletcher got a lot of abuse though I thought Gordon was out of control when it happened.

Stumbled across this one involving Utd v Partick thistle..

https://youtu.be/xKuLtLXl7FI?si=0V1SaH674rFF-zDr

12-03-2025, 06:52 PM

Seem to recall him failing to send off a Falkirk player who received a second booking and the Falkirk player remained on the park for at least several minutes and though my memory is hazy, I think he might have then been booked a THIRD time and Freeland then produced a red.

12-03-2025, 07:06 PM
Brilliant - thought it was just me! I remember watching it clear as day and still bring it up now and again. Was absolutely raging for weeks 😅

Me too 😄

K-Zazu
12-03-2025, 07:15 PM
The Clancy/VAR/Vargas one is probably one of the worst I’ve ever seen, he actually got sent to the monitor to change his decision and ended up just giving the penalty anyway. Absolutely incredible.

12-03-2025, 07:32 PM
Bobo Balde's assault on Paul Fenwick at ER.

12-03-2025, 08:18 PM
Was this the challenge cup game? I remember it. Watched it in a pub in Blackpool and thought to myself the same at the time.

No it was a league game. One down but putting them under pressure until Willie Collum assisted the second.

12-03-2025, 08:22 PM
Willie Collum, think it might have been Lee Wallace. That's the one I always think of - absolutely incredible decision not to give a free kick.

Alan Hutton v Italy. Sigh.

Yes was Lee Wallace. Collum with the arrogant shrug of the shoulders. Think he had about three retrospective red cards in derbies all in first half. Scandalous really

FastEddieFelson
12-03-2025, 09:19 PM
This was in the 2-0 defeat at ER (our only loss to them in the league that season) that gave Hearts the title.

Sounds right aye.

Also remember how shockingly little extra time was played in the game against the huns in the championship playoffs. We lost 2-0 at Ibrox, then in the home leg it looked like we were going out with a whimper, drawing 0-0 until Cummings scored in the 90th minute. There definitely should have been time for us to get the ball up the park but the referee just decided to end it immediately after the restart.

13-03-2025, 06:45 AM

Think that might have been Freeland also we were 1 nil up in first half stick on red card perfect view. A shocker

13-03-2025, 06:46 AM
Sounds right aye.

Also remember how shockingly little extra time was played in the game against the huns in the championship playoffs. We lost 2-0 at Ibrox, then in the home leg it looked like we were going out with a whimper, drawing 0-0 until Cummings scored in the 90th minute. There definitely should have been time for us to get the ball up the park but the referee just decided to end it immediately after the restart.

Beaton pretty sure he called time when we were attacking

13-03-2025, 06:49 AM

That was mental, it was a really blatant foul, not at all difficult for the referee to spot.

There was the penalty we didn’t get for one of the clearest handballs you’ll ever see against Falkirk in the play offs as well.

13-03-2025, 07:00 AM

That one always springs to mind.

Also the penalty given for handball against a prone Uli Laursen against the Huns.

SickBoy32
13-03-2025, 07:09 AM

Remember this one clear as day, just a blatant blatant foul.

Collum just shrugged at the Hibs players who were complaining after the goal, as if to say what do you want me to do!

And now we have folk taking this muppets word as gospel on the VAR reviews as if he was Pierluigi Collina FFS. The officials have always been (really) bad, but we’re at an all time low currently with VARball. Bleak as ****.

SickBoy32
13-03-2025, 07:10 AM
The Clancy/VAR/Vargas one is probably one of the worst I’ve ever seen, he actually got sent to the monitor to change his decision and ended up just giving the penalty anyway. Absolutely incredible.

Clancy the cheat. Simple as. Guys got less integrity than a sewer rat.

13-03-2025, 07:13 AM

Horrific assault by Schumacher that gets no easier to watch after 4 decades.

Delighted he lost both world cup finals he played in.

13-03-2025, 07:28 AM
Similar to the Schumacher incident a refereed decided this challenge only merited a yellow card:

https://youtu.be/puB4i8FCw_Q?si=iS3YqtMLWfvwacMV

13-03-2025, 07:50 AM

That’s the first game that comes to mind when threads like this pop up.

It was crazy, he completely lost control and it escalated very quickly.

There was nearly a riot in the east :greengrin

13-03-2025, 08:13 AM
Does anyone remember Ivan Sproule trying to batter a Celtic player? It was at Easter road and I'm sure he had a go at Bobo Balde after it too. Somehow Craig Thomson of all people only booked him.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

13-03-2025, 08:59 AM
It’s a stage now where there are baffling decisions in every single game we play.

That second half against St Mirren when the ref lost the plot, everyone in the ground was confused by every decision he made. It seems to be happening more and more.

ChilliEater
13-03-2025, 09:23 AM
Similar to the Clive Thomas world cup one, I seem to remember Keith Wright scoring at home to Motherwell only for the ref blow for half time just as the ball was leaving his foot. Think it would have put us 2-0 up, but could be wrong on that.

AJHibby
13-03-2025, 09:28 AM
Maybe not the all time worst decision but the Killie striker a couple of seasons ago being sent off at ER for a run of the mill foul was pretty shocking.

Other recent one that springs to mind was the Aberdeen handball that wasn't given as a penalty to us last season. Still irks me.

13-03-2025, 09:28 AM
Celtic defender hacking away at Nisbet from behind. Ref eventually gives the foul when he could have blown seconds earlier saving Nisbet from being months out injured.

13-03-2025, 09:43 AM
Gordon Hunter getting sent off at Ibrox after being rugby tackled by Mark Hateley.

13-03-2025, 09:54 AM
That utter ****** referee Ferguson in a home game against Aberdeen in the 80s. Not just one bad decision but a whole catalogue of incompetency/bias that gave them a win in a game we should have had all the points from. Still raging. ****ing ********.

13-03-2025, 09:58 AM
Similar to the Clive Thomas world cup one, I seem to remember Keith Wright scoring at home to Motherwell only for the ref blow for half time just as the ball was leaving his foot. Think it would have put us 2-0 up, but could be wrong on that.

There might be some auld yins on here that remember a game against Dundee Utd in the mid sixties when we were 4-0 down at half time. Down the slope in the second half, we got it back to 4-3 when I think Peter Cormack equalised with a shot from the edge of the box only for the ref to chalk it off amid the wild celebrations indicating that he had blown for full time as the ball was on its way into the net.
He needed a police escort down the tunnel!

13-03-2025, 10:26 AM

Did that not happen TWICE to Griffiths in separate derbys?

The above was bad enough but I remember being utterly stunned when very similar happened within a year or so - honestly makes you feel like giving up when you get multiple decisions like that!

13-03-2025, 10:28 AM
Did that not happen TWICE to Griffiths in separate derbys?

The above was bad enough but I remember being utterly stunned when very similar happened within a year or so - honestly makes you feel like giving up when you get multiple decisions like that!

Don't think so. There was a disallowed goal at Tiny from Ollie Shaw that was over the line but it was quite close. The Griffiths one at ER you could've seen from Arthur's Seat it was over the line. :rolleyes:

13-03-2025, 10:32 AM
That utter ****** referee Ferguson in a home game against Aberdeen in the 80s. Not just one bad decision but a whole catalogue of incompetency/bias that gave them a win in a game we should have had all the points from. Still raging. ****ing ********.

https://youtu.be/1zlbrNoRrkU?si=BkAHo9Ppi2H6MG_u

Enjoy :greengrin

13-03-2025, 10:33 AM
Don't think so. There was a disallowed goal at Tiny from Ollie Shaw that was over the line but it was quite close. The Griffiths one at ER you could've seen from Arthur's Seat it was over the line. :rolleyes:
That may be the one - as I remember though it wasn't close at all. Maybe not a yard like Griffiths' effort but easily a foot over the line - was absolutely spitting blood at the time.

13-03-2025, 10:36 AM
That may be the one - as I remember though it wasn't close at all. Maybe not a yard like Griffiths' effort but easily a foot over the line - was absolutely spitting blood at the time.

https://e0.365dm.com/17/12/1600x900/skysports-hibernian-hearts-oliver-shaw_4193265.jpg?20171227223646

13-03-2025, 10:37 AM
Brian Laudrup diving for a penalty at the home end at ER in a game where I seem to recall there was crowd trouble - possibly as a result of his dive. I think they won 3-1 or 3-0. It was utterly blayant and infuriating that it was given. Particularly since they were such a good side anyway.

13-03-2025, 10:43 AM
https://youtu.be/1zlbrNoRrkU?si=BkAHo9Ppi2H6MG_u

Enjoy :greengrin

FFS. Mother****ers. Shows the penalty we should have had and the goal that was onside but chalked off. What that doesn't show is what my memory says was their offside goal that was given and their penalty that was given but that wasn't a penalty.

13-03-2025, 10:47 AM
https://e0.365dm.com/17/12/1600x900/skysports-hibernian-hearts-oliver-shaw_4193265.jpg?20171227223646

Griffiths definitely wins the Most Egregiously Cheated Out of a Derby Win sweepstakes. This one was just a bawhair in comparison (but still clearly a goal).

13-03-2025, 11:12 AM
Neil MacFarlane on Paul Wright. We only got a free kick. PW was out the game for ages. Still boils my piss.

Donegal Hibby
13-03-2025, 11:35 AM
Not 100% conclusive?🙄…

https://youtu.be/s3HTBQmPJGA?si=I7M1bhlJx_vw03ps

13-03-2025, 11:46 AM
Neil MacFarlane on Paul Wright. We only got a free kick. PW was out the game for ages. Still boils my piss.

Neil Berry?

13-03-2025, 11:49 AM
Neil Berry?Ach yes. Wrong blond Jambo hacker....

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk

13-03-2025, 12:10 PM
Not 100% conclusive?🙄…

https://youtu.be/s3HTBQmPJGA?si=I7M1bhlJx_vw03ps

3:00 in. That never, ever gets allowed. Except that time!

13-03-2025, 12:10 PM
I remember playing a game up at Currie about 20 years ago. It had rained all night, pitch was a state, ref could've refused to play it. Both teams and ref agree to play the game. We're 4-1 up, other team have had 2 red cards, into the last 10 mins and the ref abandoned the game :faf: it hadn't rained any more, it was just the pitch being a state.

chasitup
13-03-2025, 12:18 PM
Any time Charlie Richmond made a decision on a football pitch.

Spudster
13-03-2025, 12:27 PM

I remember Balde hitting double figures on fouls at ER but oddly never got booked.

Spudster
13-03-2025, 12:34 PM
Ian Black on Leigh Griffiths 2012 cup final. We were a one man team and Black was willing to take a red to eliminate him. Not even a booking.

13-03-2025, 03:46 PM
Maybe not the all time worst decision but the Killie striker a couple of seasons ago being sent off at ER for a run of the mill foul was pretty shocking.

Other recent one that springs to mind was the Aberdeen handball that wasn't given as a penalty to us last season. Still irks me.

Vassel, I think? Was in hospitality (Tornadoes) for that one as a birthday gift, so it sticks in my mind.

I seem to recall he was sent off for dangerous play, he (unintentionally) booted a Hibs player in the face going for a high ball. Nobody in the ground was screaming for a red, he was originally booked and most were pretty content with that, VAR looked at it and recommended a red card.

Fanforlife
13-03-2025, 04:00 PM
There might be some auld yins on here that remember a game against Dundee Utd in the mid sixties when we were 4-0 down at half time. Down the slope in the second half, we got it back to 4-3 when I think Peter Cormack equalised with a shot from the edge of the box only for the ref to chalk it off amid the wild celebrations indicating that he had blown for full time as the ball was on its way into the net.
He needed a police escort down the tunnel!I was there and have memory of goal being chalked off but unsure of time, think United still played in black and white at that time and had a few Scandinavian players.

Donegal Hibby
13-03-2025, 04:03 PM
3:00 in. That never, ever gets allowed. Except that time!

It was a shocker alright , clear as day they went to take out Marshall .

13-03-2025, 04:08 PM
Aye, but Brenda's had a look and says it's not conclusively over the line.

Remember the lino saying to Griffiths than it wasn't over the line yet he had a perfect view.

13-03-2025, 04:10 PM
Carl Starfelt’s tackle on Nisbet in March 2022 was a shocker, and he was out for months

13-03-2025, 04:27 PM
It was a strange decision from Dave Beaumont not to put Wayne Foster up in the air on the halfway line. 😠

13-03-2025, 04:34 PM
It was a strange decision from Dave Beaumont not to put Wayne Foster up in the air on the halfway line. 😠

That terrible decision stemmed from the aforementioned terrible decision to send Gordon Hunter off at Ibrox meaning he was banned for the cup game with Hearts.

13-03-2025, 06:20 PM
Seem to recall him failing to send off a Falkirk player who received a second booking and the Falkirk player remained on the park for at least several minutes and though my memory is hazy, I think he might have then been booked a THIRD time and Freeland then produced a red.

That incident is my only claim to football fame

I knew the guy had been booked twice

I used to sit close behind the home dugout and told Mark Venus who told Freeland who finally sent the guy off

In a sea of strong candidates that still remains by quite some distance the worst refereeing performance I have ever seen

There have been dozens of really really poor individual decisions in lots of games but that was an absolute **** up from start to finish

At no point did he either have control of the game or you could fathom why he made some of the decisions he did.

He should never have been allowed to referee another senior game after it.

13-03-2025, 07:27 PM
Vassel, I think? Was in hospitality (Tornadoes) for that one as a birthday gift, so it sticks in my mind.

I seem to recall he was sent off for dangerous play, he (unintentionally) booted a Hibs player in the face going for a high ball. Nobody in the ground was screaming for a red, he was originally booked and most were pretty content with that, VAR looked at it and recommended a red card.

I was in tornadoes that day too and remember it - there was a poster in here who was adamant it should’ve been red as every high foot is worthy of that.

Hibs07p
14-03-2025, 04:48 AM
Reported in the herald 05/02/1996.

PARTICK Thistle will defend Rod McDonald who was cautioned during their game against Rangers on Saturday for blessing himself. The player was later booked for lunging into a tackle against John Brown and was dimsissed, but the Firhill club's chairman Jim Oliver said he will look at a film of the first incident in which McDonald, who scored Thistle's goal in the 2-1 defeat, blessed himself as he left the pitch at half-time, and then make contact with the SFA.

And John O’Neil? Being sent off at Ibrox after a tackle, when the rangers player was breaking away, he caught his studs in johns lace.

John scouters deliberate hand ball on the line, no red card!

Uli laurssen red carded v rangers when the ball was played against his supporting arm as he tried to get up.

Scottish Cup Winners 2016

14-03-2025, 09:12 AM
It was a shocker alright , clear as day they went to take out Marshall .

In the age of VAR you can only come away from watching that thinking the refs are somehow bent. It's stunningly obvious Marshall is taken out by not just one but TWO players - there is not even a shadow of a doubt about it.