View Full Version : The Team and fans today

Donegal Hibby
09-03-2025, 04:10 PM
It was always going to be a big ask today but I thought the team give us everything and that’s all you can ask from them .

Well done to every one of the 7,000 thousand there today , fantastic vocal support regularly heard throughout the match. Togetherness between the team and fans is brilliant .

Let’s now push on in trying to finish third ….

GGTTH :flag:

09-03-2025, 04:12 PM
We didn’t play well on the creative side, which happens, but gave our all on the commitment one, which is all the support ask and we showed our appreciation of that.

09-03-2025, 04:14 PM
We didn’t play well on the creative side, which happens, but gave our all on the commitment one, which is all the support ask and we showed our appreciation of that.

Hopefully the kind of match where our new number 10 can make a difference from the summer? We still miss that spark of magic in there to create out of nothing

InvertedFullBak
09-03-2025, 04:16 PM
Not a lot of positives to take from that I’m afraid.

09-03-2025, 04:18 PM

Zzzz

LoaningCrHibbie
09-03-2025, 04:20 PM
The run is over, but, I'm proud of our team and fantastic support today.

09-03-2025, 04:21 PM

Sure you could manage to find 1 or 2 if you try really hard!

scm70nyd1973
09-03-2025, 04:22 PM

Not our run in the league though

InvertedFullBak
09-03-2025, 04:24 PM
Zzzz

You manage to find any then ??

09-03-2025, 04:24 PM
The reaction to this game will define how our season ends, we had a fantastic run and put out the cup by the best team in the country. We need to bounce back next week.

09-03-2025, 04:25 PM

Absolutely. Thought our commitment was first class. Went toe to toe with the best team in the country. We’ll learn from that. And the fans were superb

andrew_dundee
09-03-2025, 04:32 PM
Wasn't at the game but did hear most on radio. Certainly sounds like we didn't embarrass ourselves and, although it may have been where BBC mics were, fans sounded great.

We had the toughest draw possible against a team that are far ahead of us in terms of league points and who will almost certainly win the cup too. No shame in that.

We need to dust ourselves off and get back to winning ways next week against Killie.

09-03-2025, 04:35 PM

I think it’s nice that posters that only show up when they’ve got something negative to say are finally free to post again.

Must’ve been a hard time for you.

09-03-2025, 04:36 PM
Phenomenal from the fans in particular today. Heard them loud and clear all through the match. Credit to the club as always! 💚

Cabbage-Patch
09-03-2025, 04:38 PM
We certainly didn't embarrass ourselves amd defended well for the most part but asides Bowies saved shot 1st half im struggling to remember another clear cut opportunity we had which is disappointing.

In saying that not many teams across Europe win at Celtic park and was literally the hardest draw we could have got.

The run is over and looks like both Caddens might be out a while so the real test of this team begins now. How do we react at Killie next weekend? Celtic will win the cup so 3rd has to the target in the last season with Guaranteed league stage football.

I have faith in SDG to deliver

cubehindthegoal
09-03-2025, 04:43 PM
It was always going to be a big ask today but I thought the team give us everything and that’s all you can ask from them .

Well done to every one of the 7,000 thousand there today , fantastic vocal support regularly heard throughout the match. Togetherness between the team and fans is brilliant .

Everyone gave their all, just not our day … to beat them twice in a row is a big ask.

Back to focus on league business now, and hopefully celtic win the cup too.

09-03-2025, 04:45 PM
As I said on the match day thread, we were poor, it's okay to admit it. But we also got put out the cup by a team that has only lost in this competition three time in the last 10 years.

Dust ourselves off and move on from it. We're in a really good place at the moment and need to keep working and staying behind SDG and the squad we have currently.

09-03-2025, 04:45 PM
Everyone gave their all, just not our day … to beat them twice in a row is a big ask.

Back to focus on league business now, and hopefully celtic win their cup too.

Celtic will piss the Scottish Cup. Leagues done and they'll want the treble. They'll win the semi and final by at least three goals each.

09-03-2025, 04:47 PM
We were so loud. First half especially, it dipped a bit 45-70 but the boys started playing better last 20mins and the 12th man responded. Proud to be part of it.

cubehindthegoal
09-03-2025, 04:48 PM
Celtic will piss the Scottish Cup. Leagues done and they'll want the treble. They'll win the semi and final by at least three goals each.

Hope so. But regardless, we just need to focus on the league now … we have better team and players than hearts and aberdeen … let’s continue to show it now.

09-03-2025, 04:49 PM
Hope so. But regardless, we just need to focus on the league now … we have better team and players than hearts and aberdeen … let’s continue to show it now.

Totally agree! Class actually believing and showing we’re better than both them again. Been a good while since that’s been the case

Gloucester Hibs
09-03-2025, 04:50 PM

Jordan Smith
NMW (first half anyway)
The magnificent Hibernian support

Onwards and upwards, next Saturday is huge

Gerard
09-03-2025, 04:52 PM
Celtic are by a long way the best team in the Scottish league. They have greatly more funds to spend on the team and infrastructure.
Hibs need to play as well as possible and finish third in the SPL. For Financial reasons if this happens Celtic will benefit US by winning the Scottish Cup .✅

cubehindthegoal
09-03-2025, 04:54 PM
Totally agree! Class actually believing and showing we’re better than both them again. Been a good while since that’s been the case

We were wise and sensible in the January window, and also we took someone from aberdeen that they didn’t want to lose since then for next season. Set up a good summer, and we already show we can compete. We are third.

MacGruber
09-03-2025, 04:54 PM

There were positives today absolutely.

Smith was superb
Miller & Iredale were very good defensively.
Moriah-Welsh got through a power of work
Hoilett still gives that touch of class coming on.y
Team as a whole defended well in the main.
Fully comitted
Still in a very hard cup tie in the 92nd minute
Youan back getting a run out on the grass.
Wasn't a heavy scoreline.

Plenty negatives of course, defended well but generally poor in possession. Campbell and especially Triantis poor. N Cadden injury, possibly both Caddens and ultimately out the cup.

Just read Celtic have lost 1 in 89 domestically at Parkhead, it went largely how you imagined it would

This team have been brilliant- we go again

cubehindthegoal
09-03-2025, 04:59 PM
Jordan Smith
NMW (first half anyway)
The magnificent Hibernian support

Onwards and upwards, next Saturday is huge

.. and much more … we showed glimpses of what we can do, and we will get stronger … and also came close to equalising … a goal from us could’ve shaken that up, just like the last time when we beat them … but we are a work in progress … celtic aren’t … they have what they have and will maintain it … with money they have …

… we did ok … just not our day, but we weren’t smashed … wonder if the others can do better lol

09-03-2025, 05:03 PM

I’m sure you could find something if you really wanted to. Obviously you don’t .

09-03-2025, 05:04 PM
When Celtic are on it you need everyone at their best and even then you need a big slice of luck.

Our set pieces weren't great which is the best chances you will get, we conceded sloppy goals (not unexpected given the pressure we were under) gave up a lot of good chances and hardly created any of our own. When we got into good positions we were very slack. 2 or 3 of those so crucial to our run where just off it today.

But.......The effort and commitment was spot on from first to last. Even those having bad days kept at it, we put bodies on the line to avoid conceding more goals, the keeper had several great saves and we made Celtic work for it. The players got a big reception as thanks for their effort in the last few months. In December relegation looked a very real possibility, today we are disappointed to lose away to Celtic and are 3rd in the league.

We just need to rest up for next week now and get back in track quickly. League is so tight we can't afford any big hangover. I'm confident we'll respond well.

09-03-2025, 05:07 PM
There were plenty over the road thought we lose by 5 or 6. We were still in the game in the third minute of stoppage time. Cup run over unfortunately. Plenty to play for in the League

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk

09-03-2025, 05:08 PM

Watching on tv, could hear the Hibs fans throughout. Only heard the home fans when they scored.

09-03-2025, 05:10 PM
When Celtic are on it you need everyone at their best and even then you need a big slice of luck.

Our set pieces weren't great which is the best chances you will get, we conceded sloppy goals (not unexpected given the pressure we were under) gave up a lot of good chances and hardly created any of our own. When we got into good positions we were very slack. 2 or 3 of those so crucial to our run where just off it today.

But.......The effort and commitment was spot on from first to last. Even those having bad days kept at it, we put bodies on the line to avoid conceding more goals, the keeper had several great saves and we made Celtic work for it. The players got a big reception as thanks for their effort in the last few months. In December relegation looked a very real possibility, today we are disappointed to lose away to Celtic and are 3rd in the league.

We just need to rest up for next week now and get back in track quickly. League is so tight we can't afford any big hangover. I'm confident we'll respond well.

Agree with all of that.

Thankfully no midweek game so a chance to recharge the batteries for Killie.

After that a fortnight’s gap until we play SJ at home

09-03-2025, 05:10 PM
Watching on tv, could hear the Hibs fans throughout. Only heard the home fans when they scored.

Their celebrations at scoring and winning are pish as well. It’s probably become all too normal for them it’s a bit formulaic.

09-03-2025, 05:11 PM
Agree with all of that.

Thankfully no midweek game so a chance to recharge the batteries for Killie.

After that a fortnight’s gap until we played well enough SJ

Hopefully means Nicky will only have to miss the Killie game if any. He’s a huge loss. Didn’t think Obita was on it at all today.

09-03-2025, 05:12 PM
Their celebrations at scoring and winning are pish as well. It’s probably become all too normal for them it’s a bit formulaic.

A stark example of glory hunting and entitled expectation versus supporting your team from the off and continuing to do so

09-03-2025, 05:13 PM
The support today was absolutely amazing

Not the team's best display, though the opposition played a large part in that, but we got behind them from start to finish.

09-03-2025, 05:13 PM

Saw a Celtic fud on X claim that we were silent the whole game until the last 10 mins. The Celtic support were like being in a library except when they scored.

Also knew about the pillar in the main away bit but didn’t realise until today that there’s pillars in the upper tier of the redeveloped bit too which is crap for a modern stadium.

09-03-2025, 05:14 PM

This. The game went with the wage bill and bridging that gap requires exactly what was said here.

I love this team: they fight all the way and never give up. Let’s refocus and bounce back and concentrate on the battle for third.

09-03-2025, 05:18 PM
Hopefully means Nicky will only have to miss the Killie game if any. He’s a huge loss. Didn’t think Obita was on it at all today.

Cadden gives the impression of knowing what he wants to do. He’s always looking to get into a position to cross, whether that’s by turning his man, or playing a 1-2 with a teammate (usually Triantis). He’s consistently positive in his play. Even in a defensive position he looks to do something constructive.

Whilst not digging Obita out, he’s not the same way. I think he’s instinctively more conservative in his playing style, and less likely to push forward so aggressively. Against hearts in the second half, time and again triantis and others played balls that cadden was moving onto and crossing, that wouldn’t happen with Obita. And today, a number of progressive moves slowed/spluttered out when Obita checked back, because he’s more inclined towards holding back

09-03-2025, 05:18 PM

We stood toe to toe with the best team in Scotland. We didn’t create much but who does through there . I thought the team and the supporters were excellent today

09-03-2025, 05:21 PM
From the moment that so-called comedian pulled our ball out of the pot and sent us to celtic park it felt like an almost impossible ask to reach the semi finals and so it proved.

Realistically a team shouldn't be beating another team that has a budget ten to twenty times bigger (and £60-70 million sitting in the bank). It just shouldn't happen. And yet we've managed to win one of the two games we've played against them in the last fortnight. And were in the game until the very end today. I'll take that. There's a huge prize waiting for us at the end of this season as long as we keep our heads in the next 2 months. European group stage football and the huge financial advantages that come with that. David Gray and our wonderful supporters deserve it.

09-03-2025, 05:24 PM
The big thing now for us, is not to let our heads go down after a defeat away, to a club with far greater resources than we have. We have an excellent chance of finishing in 3rd place, and reaping the rewards that would bring. We've still got so much to play for.

09-03-2025, 05:25 PM
In recent weeks, Nicky Caddens deliveries has been our most potent attacking weapon. That threat was removed by his injury and i think we should bear that in mind before being too critical of our attacking play.

09-03-2025, 05:34 PM
I think it’s nice that posters that only show up when they’ve got something negative to say are finally free to post again.

Must’ve been a hard time for you.

HarpOnHibee
09-03-2025, 05:35 PM
The biggest positive from today were the fans. Who never let up at any point and continued to sing all the way up to the final whistle. The other positive was that as disappointing as it was not to get a result, we never caved in and i'm confident this team will put this one behind them and push on to a strong league finish.

09-03-2025, 05:36 PM
Saw a Celtic fud on X claim that we were silent the whole game until the last 10 mins. The Celtic support were like being in a library except when they scored.

Also knew about the pillar in the main away bit but didn’t realise until today that there’s pillars in the upper tier of the redeveloped bit too which is crap for a modern stadium.

Amazing Celtic claim to have a great stadium but plenty pillars throughout blocking views. Really poor design.

Donegal Hibby
09-03-2025, 05:36 PM

Same here mate , thought our support was brilliant throughout the match and agree about the home fans too. 👍

09-03-2025, 05:47 PM
Amazing Celtic claim to have a great stadium but plenty pillars throughout blocking views. Really poor design.

The pillars are only at the ends of the main stand, wouldn't say it's throughout. Probably less than 1% of that stadium has restricted view.

09-03-2025, 05:47 PM

We stood toe to toe with the best team in Scotland. We didn’t create much but who does through there . I thought the team and the supporters were excellent today

09-03-2025, 05:49 PM
The pillars are only at the ends of the main stand, wouldn't say it's throughout. Probably less than 1% of that stadium has restricted view.

There are pillars in every stand. Have a wee look

hibeerealist
09-03-2025, 06:06 PM

This ........... all of it!

He's here!
09-03-2025, 06:08 PM

There are pillars all the way along the upper tier of the stand opposite the main one, not sure about the stands behind the goals.

kentao
09-03-2025, 06:21 PM
What happened to the green brigade and the best fans in the world, They got scudded off 7000 Hibees. The Hibs fans were fantastic for 90% of the game and really got behind the team. Was great to see so many still in the stands at full time giving the players all the support after a hard fought defeat. Hopefully the heads don't go down and we have a strong finish to the season.

09-03-2025, 06:21 PM

There is 14 pillars at least in the stadium.

4 main stand and rest in other tiered stand.

Anyway…it’s a dated design and will need improved at some point in future which won’t be cheap for them.

Trinity Hibee
09-03-2025, 06:23 PM
What happened to the green brigade and the best fans in the world, They got scudded off 7000 Hibees. The Hibs fans were fantastic for 90% of the game and really got behind the team. Was great to see so many still in the stands at full time giving the players all the support after a hard fought defeat. Hopefully the heads don't go down and we have a strong finish to the season.

Another case of a “special atmosphere” yet when you are there in person you don’t hear a peep. Same as tynie. A myth

PHeffernan
09-03-2025, 06:29 PM
Biggest positive was Jordan Smith who I thought had a great game.
Biggest negative was the injury to Beardy Cadden which could hurt us over the next month.

Hibs did as well as they were allowed to by a Celtic team well rested, determined and with it's best team on the pitch.
It's always gonna be tough when none of your players would get in the opposition team.
However, as we have come to expect from the current Hibs team they gave their all and were massively resilient, only conceding that single goal in 90 minutes before having to chase the game at the end.
Fair to say Hearts and Aberdeen would have been scudded by Celtic today.

Thought the Hibs support were great. Supported our players from beginning to end and amazingly I didn't hear any moaning and I didn't see anyone making an erse of themselves inside or outside the ground. 5 stars.

09-03-2025, 06:31 PM

Not getting hammered by a team with incoming revenue 8 times ours.

No one should be beating Celtic.

Their revenue is more than 75 times that of Ross County - as a side note - demonstrating how absurdly lop sided our top flight is.

As Trump would say (boo), Hibs aren’t holding the cards.

09-03-2025, 06:43 PM
Got to go again next week. Hopefully the players look at that backing they got today and pick themselves up for the Kilmarnock game. Third is in our own hands so let’s go and get it.

09-03-2025, 06:44 PM

There are pillars in every stand. Have a wee look

Chorley Hibee
09-03-2025, 06:47 PM
I thought we worked ourselves into some positive positions only to be let down by a poor final ball and, ultimately, a lack of genuine quality when it mattered.

Positives were our shape and work rate, which defines this current line-up from what we were witnessing for the first few months of this season.

Big test now is bouncing back this weekend.

Fans absolutely outstanding. 👏

09-03-2025, 06:55 PM
The first non-Green Brigade chant from the home fans was on 90+3 minutes.

That tells you all you need to know.

09-03-2025, 06:55 PM

Tell me you've never been to Celtic Park without saying you've never been to Celtic Park 🤣

09-03-2025, 07:01 PM
What happened to the green brigade and the best fans in the world, They got scudded off 7000 Hibees. The Hibs fans were fantastic for 90% of the game and really got behind the team. Was great to see so many still in the stands at full time giving the players all the support after a hard fought defeat. Hopefully the heads don't go down and we have a strong finish to the season.Hibs fans were terrific today, couldn't really hear the celtc much as there was what sounded like liverpool fans singing their anthem in the background to the Hibbies, but that was about it.

09-03-2025, 07:09 PM
I think we'll be ok in the final two months of the season, though obviously we can't really afford to lose Cadden.

SDG has a strong head on his shoulders. Doesn't get too giddy when we win, and doesn't lose his cool when we lose. There's nothing to suggest we're going to do an Aberdeen here. Third place is there for us. We need to go out there and grab it.

KingFranck
09-03-2025, 07:17 PM
I love how the Jambos are slating us over on sickback
They must be happy that Celtic are through, good luck if they draw them at Hampden they'll get a doing

09-03-2025, 07:21 PM
They must be happy that Celtic are through, good luck if they draw them at Hampden they'll get a doing

An irrelevant club whom we basically own at the moment.

09-03-2025, 07:28 PM
An irrelevant club whom we basically own at the moment.They're probably high as kites at being able to watch someone beating us.

e2los
09-03-2025, 07:41 PM

Same, our fans are first class.

09-03-2025, 07:59 PM
Couldn’t fault the effort of the players, just lacking that touch of quality from midfield to the forwards. Hibs fans were superb. Celtc fans quiet apart from sounds of disgruntlement when they got edgy at only being 1-0 up.

Let’s make third place and European football next season ours.

Donegal Hibby
09-03-2025, 08:27 PM
Even though we lost there is something about this Hibs team that maybe some of our past teams have lacked in it has spirit and a togetherness .

There were a few times today players put themselves on the line to block shots . I remember one in particular from NMW .

Apart from the result I don’t think we can fault the effort or the attitude of the team , keep that going for the remainder of the season and hopefully we will finish the season off well .

CentreForward
09-03-2025, 09:41 PM
An irrelevant club whom we basically own at the moment.

Edinburgh’s wee team. So wee that you’d hardly even notice them!

09-03-2025, 09:48 PM
They're probably high as kites at being able to watch someone beating us.

Last 8 Edinburgh derbies, the Famous have won the grand total of 1.

09-03-2025, 09:50 PM
Last 8 Edinburgh derbies, the Famous have won the grand total of 1.Their one was the most atmospheric though, and I'm sure their man Mikey will have identified it.

09-03-2025, 11:23 PM
Thought we did well the first 30 to contain them.

Gave them far too much possession though. Triantis was poor. Midfield was non-existent until Levitt came on.

09-03-2025, 11:50 PM
It was always a hard ask to beat Celtic twice on the bounce. The home side played well today I thought, and allowed Hibs little opportunity to build possession. We defended resolutely and Smith made some great saves but when we did get the chance to go forward we didnt show enough quality to make enough clear cut chances to deserve a win really. That said the game remained in the balance going into the 5 mins injury time, and you could still see the resilience and belief about this side that has seen them put together such an amazing run of 15 undefeated.
The fans were magnificent today from start to finish and it was great to be part of such a big noisy Hibs support in what is, pillars and all, still a great sporting arena imo. Despite the defeat, the majority stayed behind to give the players a deserved ovation recognising the incredible run that had just been brought to an end. Hopefully the players will take heart from that and keep that positivity rolling forward into the next bunch of games in the league (still unbeaten in 13)

10-03-2025, 12:10 AM
The first non-Green Brigade chant from the home fans was on 90+3 minutes.

That tells you all you need to know.

I was in the hospitality above the Green Brigade.

They are certainly noisy, but the Hibs fans were immense. Celtic fans around me were raving about the Hibs support.

Donegal Hibby
10-03-2025, 01:52 PM
We were so loud. First half especially, it dipped a bit 45-70 but the boys started playing better last 20mins and the 12th man responded. Proud to be part of it.

A few pictures of the fans here …

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2025/march/10/gallery--incredible-away-support-at-celtic-park/

LewysGot2
10-03-2025, 05:51 PM

The response to yesterday showed we definitely have gotten under the Parody Tribute Act fans’ skins after their entitlement took a knock 2 weeks ago- a lot of glory hunting nonsense from green and grey jerseyed followers living in East Lothian, Fife, Inverness and Galashiels. Brendan’s whine fest has reinforced the cheated never defeated narrative. Meanwhile, in rover driving, pullover wearing, scarf twirling land they’re cuddling the comfort blanket and rejoicing in the quirk of fate that gave us and not them the worst draw any team can get right now…and we got that same draw in both cups this season We will likely be at Parody Park 4 times this season :rolleyes: