View Full Version : Watch Yer Car Mister

07-03-2025, 12:43 PM
For those driving to Parkhead & parking in the vicinity of the stadium BEWARE. If a fiver year old approaches you wi a huge Alsatian Dug and says "I'll watch Yer Car for £5 Mister". Just give him it. You'll thank me later 🤣

07-03-2025, 12:48 PM
It’s no the kids these days. It’s the jakey adults cycling about in their high vis jackets as if it’s a genuine pay and display area they’re managing.

07-03-2025, 12:48 PM
Or just say youll give him it when you get back so long as the car is ok. They are usually well gone by then.

07-03-2025, 01:08 PM
Or just say youll give him it when you get back so long as the car is ok. They are usually well gone by then.

Oh they will be there after the game to collect there sheckles be assured of that, they will get a couple of quid when I get back and my car if it is in working order. :greengrin

07-03-2025, 01:14 PM
On a serious note,read that they will be ticketing cars who park on pavements. Funnily enough this weekend is the first time they will be implementing this.

07-03-2025, 01:16 PM
Oh they will be there after the game to collect there sheckles be assured of that, they will get a couple of quid when I get back and my car if it is in working order. :greengrin
Might be in working order but minus your wheels.

07-03-2025, 01:16 PM

We tried that once.:no way:
Since then we've just treated it like an informal parking charge.

07-03-2025, 01:18 PM
Nah, not for me. If he's long gone and unpaid you'll have a memento on your car paint work.

07-03-2025, 01:23 PM
Naw ah’ve goat a dug !

Hey Mister can yer dug blow up tyres ?

At 1-5 parked in a wee cul de sac and every car apart from mine had their tyres let doon

Must have got back in the nick of time

07-03-2025, 01:25 PM
Naw ah’ve goat a dug !

At 1-5 parked in a wee cul de sac and every car apart from mine had their tyres let doon

Must have got back in the nick of time

The day wasn't a total loss then

07-03-2025, 01:30 PM
Mentioned on another thread - I’ve used park on my drive websites and always been really good and close to stadium for small fee knowing car will be safe. Just make sure you check the reviews of the the person you book with.

Worth a check if unsure of the area etc as always find it really hard to park around the stadium.

Anyone with decent tips for streets which are free ?

07-03-2025, 01:32 PM
Last time I went to Ibrox one oh them wee neds asked if he could watch ma car.

I said 'sure but you might need binoculars, it's in Mount Florida'.

hibstag
07-03-2025, 01:51 PM
Mentioned on another thread - I’ve used park on my drive websites and always been really good and close to stadium for small fee knowing car will be safe. Just make sure you check the reviews of the the person you book with.

Worth a check if unsure of the area etc as always find it really hard to park around the stadium.

Anyone with decent tips for streets which are free ?

Is the forge shopping center not free for parking?

07-03-2025, 02:22 PM
Is there not car parks along London road close to the celtc club.

07-03-2025, 02:24 PM
Is the forge shopping center not free for parking?

3 hours then £1 an hour

07-03-2025, 02:27 PM
Is this actually still a thing?

Do they actually keep an eye on your car or is it 100% racketeering?

07-03-2025, 02:36 PM

Protection racket, they'd be the ones scratching your car if you don't pay.

£5 though, inflation out of control!

PHeffernan
07-03-2025, 02:38 PM
On a serious note,read that they will be ticketing cars who park on pavements. Funnily enough this weekend is the first time they will be implementing this.

It always amazes me how many cars, including many residents vehicles, are parked on pavements around Celtic Park.

07-03-2025, 02:44 PM
Naw ah’ve goat a dug !

..or...

"kin yer dug put a fire oot"

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

07-03-2025, 02:55 PM

It translates as, "If ye gie me a fiver, I'll no break yer car, mister."

07-03-2025, 02:58 PM
..or...

"kin yer dug put a fire oot"

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

07-03-2025, 03:16 PM
Sure son just mind the Tesla whilst the mobbing Parisians approach…

RMQ1967
07-03-2025, 03:47 PM
I booked a space on someone's driveway on the Your Parking Space site.

Wasn't cheap (£20+) but I don't have any stress of trying to find a space or worrying about it getting decorated while I'm at the game.

10 mins walk from the stadium & looks like an easy exit to the motorway.

07-03-2025, 04:16 PM
Now illegal to park on pavement in Glasgow.If you do you are liable to get a ticket.Same as in Edinburgh.

07-03-2025, 05:07 PM
Is there not car parks along London road close to the celtc club.

No, just on street parking on the streets off London Rd
It was reduced from 2 lanes to one lane and one cycle lane a few years ago
It’s basically gridlock on London Rd after the game

07-03-2025, 05:12 PM

Wasn't cheap (£20+) but I don't have any stress of trying to find a space or worrying about it getting decorated while I'm at the game.

Did the same when we played Villa in 2023. Drove up from Wiltshire and parked on a guys drive. It was jam packed all round Villa Park.

Up-the-slope
07-03-2025, 05:44 PM
Used to always deal with the 'watch your car mister' by ripping a note in half and telling them other half theirs after game when things in order.... worked a treat. Now these pesky plastic notes have made that impossible :grr:

07-03-2025, 05:55 PM
I have lived in the east end of Glasgow for 40 years. Pay after if at all, but know that no-one watched your car during the game. A fiver is bonkers talk as well. This is purely begging with a story.

Forge is fine for parking, although discouraged by the shop owners obviously. However it is at the wrong side of the ground. No problem going to the ground, but you might get a couple of awkward glances going back, once we have knocked them out of the cup.

07-03-2025, 06:09 PM
I have lived in the east end of Glasgow for 40 years. Pay after if at all, but know that no-one watched your car during the game. A fiver is bonkers talk as well. This is purely begging with a story.

Forge is fine for parking, although discouraged by the shop owners obviously. However it is at the wrong side of the ground. No problem going to the ground, but you might get a couple of awkward glances going back, once we have knocked them out of the cup.

I don’t think anyone expects their car to be watched. If you don’t chuck the jakey a quid, you might come back to a scratch on the car though.

07-03-2025, 06:10 PM
At any big Glasgow stadium, I always park 2 miles away. My lads and I can usually stride that distance in 30 minutes. Well worth it for a smooth getaway.

Forecast is meant to be nice on Sunday. If you are fit, get your map out and take parking and queueing stress out of a great awayday.

07-03-2025, 07:43 PM
Used to always deal with the 'watch your car mister' by ripping a note in half and telling them other half theirs after game when things in order.... worked a treat. Now these pesky plastic notes have made that impossible :grr:

Use scissors!

07-03-2025, 09:07 PM
People Make Glasgow though.

07-03-2025, 09:37 PM

Same idea seems good option

08-03-2025, 09:31 AM
I'll be parking at the Duke Street multi storey. Not the cheapest but only 40 mins walk from the ground and secure.

08-03-2025, 09:41 AM
£5 to watch yir car for that price expect them to bloody wash it as well.

08-03-2025, 09:43 AM
It’s been the grown men in high viz for many years now. The strange thing is that the police don’t seem to be that concerned about what is effectively a protection racket being run every match day.

You never used to bother when it was kids - a bit of pocket money for them, but the adults just feels wrong. The last time I went with a Celtic supporting regular he payed something like £3. Certainly not a fiver but it wouldn’t surprise me if it’s up to that now!

The one thing though with Celtic is that despite crowds of 50 odd thousand, you can get parked quite close to the ground.

MGmick
08-03-2025, 01:01 PM
Use scissors!

:hmmm: Headline in Mondays' Daily Wreckord

"East coast football thug brandishes blades at startled local when offered help with parking!"

08-03-2025, 01:24 PM
If everybody asked for money just decked the wee Barstewards it would put an end to this quite soon.

08-03-2025, 02:11 PM
:hmmm: Headline in Mondays' Daily Wreckord

"East coast football thug brandishes blades at startled local when offered help with parking!"

Not if he cuts it before he goes to the game 😂

08-03-2025, 02:25 PM
https://youtu.be/mucRM0FvJ7I?si=jJXcxFzT15qKvdYB

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

08-03-2025, 03:33 PM
If everybody asked for money just decked the wee Barstewards it would put an end to this quite soon.

Unfortunately not all of us are hardmen - I’d struggle to knock Anne Budge out!

MGmick
08-03-2025, 03:56 PM

Hillsidehibby
08-03-2025, 04:03 PM
I can remember when the going rate was 50p

09-03-2025, 08:42 AM

Brilliant!

09-03-2025, 08:48 AM
People Make Glasgow though.

You missed a four letter word out after Glasgow...

09-03-2025, 09:39 AM
This used to happen regularly back in the day.

We’d rip a fiver in half and tell him he’d get the other half when we got back to the car!

09-03-2025, 09:46 AM
Unfortunately not all of us are hardmen - I’d struggle to knock Anne Budge out!

Give them an evil stare?

09-03-2025, 05:14 PM
Parked in the Haghill area and walked down. Would recommend for anybody in the future. Car in one piece and no neds asking you for cash. Great for getting back on the road too. Almost home.

09-03-2025, 05:25 PM
Been a few years since I've been to the Barras but it remains a unique experience. Passing through today one of the sellers shouts was "Get yer Cigarettes, Tobacco and Viagra here"

PHeffernan
09-03-2025, 07:14 PM

Nobody told the Cellik supporters. Cars parked in radge places all over the shop as usual.
Half on half off pavements, full on pavement, on grass areas, between trees, half on half off pavement at a junction. No ****s given.

09-03-2025, 07:30 PM
Nobody told the Cellik supporters. Cars parked in radge places all over the shop as usual.
Half on half off pavements, full on pavement, on grass areas, between trees, half on half off pavement at a junction. No ****s given.

Be interesting to see if there was a mass ticketing.

09-03-2025, 07:43 PM
Parked in the Haghill area and walked down. Would recommend for anybody in the future. Car in one piece and no neds asking you for cash. Great for getting back on the road too. Almost home.

We parked in the Forge and covered our number plate up on the way out, seemed to be the done thing so joined in.

09-03-2025, 07:47 PM
It’s all pretty lawless around Celtic Park.

People drinking in the streets (banned outside of Edinburgh).
All the bars cash-only (sniff-sniff).
Even some “pop-up” bars with no signage etc.

They must think coming to Easter Road is like visiting The Ritz.

09-03-2025, 07:50 PM

It’s also filthy.

yerauldda
09-03-2025, 09:04 PM

The litter is incredible too. Total disregard for their own ‘home’.

I lived next to Easter Road for a couple of years and the mess they left outside the away end was the worst of any away support by a distance. Filth.

The whole choreographed atmosphere is incredible dull. I’m sure it’s good in OF and champions league games but my god are they quiet the rest of the time.

09-03-2025, 10:05 PM
The whole choreographed atmosphere is incredible dull. I’m sure it’s good in OF and champions league games but my god are they quiet the rest of the time.

The half time play list was like being at a funeral tea in a really crap Irish bar

PHeffernan
09-03-2025, 10:14 PM
Be interesting to see if there was a mass ticketing.

If you were on a bonus for issueing parking tickets you would absolutely clean up.
Basically parking a motor vehicle anywhere other than on the roadway in a public place is an offence.
I walked the length of London Road and in that and the streets abutting it was wall to wall illegal parking.
Feel sorry for residents and any blind person, wheelchair user etc that have to use the pavements on matchday.

It just selfish and inconsiderate behaviour. I say that as someone who comes up with creative ways to park my motor for free but not at a cost to others. Today that involved a long walk to and from the game.

09-03-2025, 10:30 PM
So was anyone asked if their motor wanted watching?

10-03-2025, 05:24 AM

Yes in a way. Driving in residential area and this guy was standing in middle of road trying to direct cars to move left into estate with parking. Probably in his thirties. He then collected cash when drivers walked past him after parking much to the surprise of the drivers.

Your typical weegie gadgey. I drove past him but he must have got a number of cars. I then saw him kicking about when walking back to my car jangling about with lots of coins in his pockets!!

GRA
10-03-2025, 07:28 AM

Aye I parked near to where the old McVitie's factory was in Tollcross and had a young man, who looked slightly out of it with a bottle of MD2020 and a vape, ask me that. He looked to be pacing the street asking other motorists the same.

The rest of the walk up London road was jakey central, thankfully car was in one piece when I returned! Supporters bus next time...

OstKurve Hibs
10-03-2025, 07:45 AM
Me and my nephew walked from queen street station to the stadium there and back, must have got asked at least 5 times from different folk if had any spare change.
All weegies out chancing there luck.
Even had a boy looked about 70 ask for change for the bus lol, I wasn't quick enough and should have asked him where his free bus pass is.

10-03-2025, 09:22 AM
If everybody asked for money just decked the wee Barstewards it would put an end to this quite soon.How are you getting home with 4 slashed tyres? [emoji848]

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk

10-03-2025, 09:35 AM
How are you getting home with 4 slashed tyres? [emoji848]

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk

Wasn't a problem

10-03-2025, 10:38 AM
Wasn't a problem

Is that a Nissan Hurtado

10-03-2025, 10:49 AM
We got parked round the corner from West brewery and then a 25 odd minute walk from there. Fantastic spot, though the queues were slow the beer was worth the wait.

I could have happily stayed there all afternoon in the sun. If I ever go back to Parkhead that's what I'll be doing.

10-03-2025, 10:56 AM
Me and my nephew walked from queen street station to the stadium there and back, must have got asked at least 5 times from different folk if had any spare change.
Even had a boy looked about 70 ask for change for the bus lol, I wasn't quick enough and should have asked him where his free bus pass is.

One day, you will be asked to jump through the hoops to get your bus pass. Even for people with the means and the technology, it is not an easy process.

10-03-2025, 10:56 AM
The litter is incredible too. Total disregard for their own ‘home’.

I lived next to Easter Road for a couple of years and the mess they left outside the away end was the worst of any away support by a distance. Filth.

Aye because Edinburgh is litter free.

10-03-2025, 10:58 AM
I parked at Duke Street multi storey, £6 for the whole day - 45 min walk to the stadium and my feet were aching by the end but after seeing what was available on the way there I'm glad I did.

10-03-2025, 11:19 AM
I got parked on Melbourne Place , £15 and a 2 minute walk from the ground.

The owners of the drive saw me arrive through the window but never came out which I thought was a bit odd. I had a wee box of chocs for them as well 😂

Would use it again as we were off straight away although got stuck for about 15 mins on Dalmarnock rd.

10-03-2025, 02:24 PM

TBF 'looking about 70' in the weedge might mean that the boy's got about another 10 years till he's due a bus pass.