View Full Version : Swansea considering move for David Gray
05-03-2025, 05:02 PM
https://x.com/footballleaguew/status/1897278997081546891?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
As the title says.
Hopefully it’s just paper talk.
Swansea are a big club tbf but I don’t think Gray seems the type of person who jumps ship at the first opportunity.
05-03-2025, 05:04 PM
https://x.com/footballleaguew/status/1897278997081546891?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw
As the title says.
Swansea are a big club tbf but I don’t think Gray seems the type of person who jumps ship at the first opportunity.
Wonder who we're playing at the weekend?
05-03-2025, 05:09 PM
Exactly. Lets start a rumour than Man Utd looking at Brenda. Guess who the source is Alan Nixon from the Sun🤔
Hopefully he sees the benefit of doing at least a couple of seasons with us before he considers going somewhere else. Would imagine having European football on your CV would be a big plus.
Keepthefaith
05-03-2025, 05:24 PM
there's no chance SDG is going anywhere for some time yet. the level of gratitude he will feel for the club sticking by him when all around were calling for his head will mean so much to him.
I reckon we'll at least get another few seasons, even if he's incredibly successful with a league and cup double next year...
PHeffernan
05-03-2025, 05:24 PM
As the title says.
Not impossible, other clubs will be having a wee shuftie at Gray and any other manager who is doing well, but naming a specific club is made up rubbish.
Swansea need a manager and Gray's team are on a great run so journoman Nixon marries them up and low and behold he gets thousands of revenue clicks from Hibs and Swansea supporters.
05-03-2025, 05:25 PM
Alan Nixon said it so it’ll be pish.
However, I don’t think Gray would be interested at this moment in time. He’s obviously been brilliant for Hibs but Hibs have also been brilliant for him. Plenty work to do yet.
Of course money could always change things but I don’t see it with him just now.
05-03-2025, 05:28 PM
If SDG keeps going in an upward trajectory there will undoubtedly be interest. If that happens he will leave eventually .... but IMO he's probably not the kind of guy to jump at the first offer to come along before he has had a chance to get a couple of seasons in his first managerial post under his belt.
On the other hand of course if Swansea or similar are prepared to offer him a 3 year deal at £1,000,000 a year and guarantee to pay off that contract in full if he gets the tin tack ..... The man has a family and it might be too tempting to turn down.
05-03-2025, 05:32 PM
Alan Nixon 😅😅😅
He talks some amount of Lillian Gish
05-03-2025, 05:36 PM
He's done a brilliant job so he was always going to be linked with jobs down south.
Saying that I don't think he'd be interested in the Swansea job at this time and id be amazed if he isn't our manager come the first game of next season.
05-03-2025, 05:37 PM
Hopefully he sees the benefit of doing at least a couple of seasons with us before he considers going somewhere else. Would imagine having European football on your CV would be a big plus.
I'm not sure that actually managing in Europe would be seen as a massive plus, it would be more the achievement of getting the club there in the first place.
No English team in the Championship is going to be playing European football.
05-03-2025, 05:38 PM
I don't know much about Alan Nixon but I thought from reading on .net he was meant to be one the better ones, at least in the past?
05-03-2025, 05:43 PM
Swansea?
Why would David Gray consider taking a step down?
He'll be ambitious for sure, and if he's a success at Easter Road he'll attract attention at bigger clubs than Hibs.
Up-the-slope
05-03-2025, 05:47 PM
:agree:.... still time for 'OF considering bids to parent club for Nectar Triantis' headlines too....
Hibees1973
05-03-2025, 05:51 PM
Exactly. Lets start a rumour than Man Utd looking at Brenda. Guess who the source is Alan Nixon from the Sun🤔
I'm ashamed to admit I bought that rag back in the early 80s when I was in my teens and read it on the way to work on the bus. What a daftie.
Have never bought it once in the subsequent 40 years.
Never heard of this Nixon guy, but wouldn't regard him or his rag as a barometer of truth.
HarpOnHibee
05-03-2025, 05:56 PM
It's on twitter.ru, so it must be true.
Tully
05-03-2025, 06:02 PM
😂😂😂😂
Murphys Touch
05-03-2025, 06:21 PM
The mighty, all conquering, mega rich Celtic on Saturday is it
Embarrassing
05-03-2025, 06:22 PM
We are on a great run currently no doubt about that but nevertheless SDG is in the early days of his managerial career. As good as he may yet become, I doubt that teams with any kind of EPL ambitions will be looking his way at this time.
05-03-2025, 06:39 PM
Given how four months ago his managerial career was perilously close to being over at Scottish Premiership level, it wouldn't surprise me if Gray gave serious consideration to any offer at this level if the approach was made.
I'm not sure that actually managing in Europe would be seen as a massive plus, it would be more the achievement of getting the club there in the first place.
No English team in the Championship is going to be playing European football.
Yeah, fair enough.
Just hope he's in no rush to move on.
05-03-2025, 08:15 PM
Are they aye?
05-03-2025, 08:46 PM
Absolutely no chance 😂 SDG is here to stay for a long time I think. He loves us and we love him, he’s part of the fabric our club and I’m sure is really enjoying it now as a manager. If he keeps going, I have no doubt the Gordon’s and BKG will give him a pay-packet which would chill any interest he may have for a team like Swansea.
Funnily enough, Celtic this weekend. When will the story come out about Youan or Boyle to Celtic? Pathetic.
05-03-2025, 08:58 PM
Who do we play this weekend again?
05-03-2025, 09:01 PM
I'd be amazed if SDG would be tempted to move on at this stage of his career. He has only just begun ffs! Also he has a deep connection with Hibs and, although I'm sure he will have ambition I believe that will be tempered with integrity.
Swansea GTF!
EHZERO7
05-03-2025, 09:15 PM
Was just wondering what tom kite the gutter press would come up with basing it on who we are playing this weekend and hey presto.
He will maybe just sell the hoose he’s no moved into yet then 😀😀😀
05-03-2025, 10:39 PM
Given the run we are on there will definitely clubs be looking at SDG albeit probably a Celtc minded journo looking to make trouble. I think SDG is as genuine and honourable as they come but football management can be a very short career, arguably his could already have been ended once, and he has a young family. I'm long past blaming footballers or managers taking up life changing opportunities if it is right for them and theirs. The difference in wages down south makes it hard to decline a good offer. Saying that, I would absolutely love if he did that after becoming a legendary manager as well as player though.
06-03-2025, 07:21 AM
Coincidental timing of this on FB: :greengrin
Celtic and Wolfsburg both in a race to sign Elie Youan. Apparently Celtic want him to replace Kyogo but Wolfberg are favourites and have a verbal agreement with the player.
06-03-2025, 07:59 AM
So, so predictable.
I swear Celtic have more moles, spies and agents working the media than Russia.
06-03-2025, 08:05 AM
I smell Tom Kite
C’mon the Hibees let’s do this
Thatdayinmay16
06-03-2025, 08:29 AM
David Gray hates swans, he's always been a bigger fan of ducks.
06-03-2025, 09:10 AM
There's a £75 M buyout clause in SDG contract. Meet that, and he's all your's :thumbsup:
HendoDelivered
06-03-2025, 09:12 AM
If anything SDG will be getting improved terms offered.
06-03-2025, 09:44 AM
I'm considering a move to pump Jennifer Lawrence. It's never going to happen though.
06-03-2025, 09:54 AM
I'm considering a move to pump Jennifer Lawrence. It's never going to happen though.
Not with that attitude it won’t.
06-03-2025, 10:00 AM
Not a chance in hell will SDG be moving on. 2 more years of upward spiral? Maybe.
If Gray carries on an upward trajectory in his career, he won't be here long term, having Gray improve as a manager can only be a good thing Hibs.
06-03-2025, 10:33 AM
If Gray carries on an upward trajectory in his career, he won't be here long term, having Gray improve as a manager can only be a good thing Hibs.
Interesting thing for Gray to consider is the support network he has at Hibs. He’s got Malky Mackay who backs him and supports him but he’s also got access to all that the Black Knights have to offer. Iraola is looking like potentially being one of the best young managers in the world and sure I read that Tim Bezbatchenko was saying at the AGM Gray is going to spend some time at Bournemouth and Iraola would come up here from time to time. For a young manager like Gray, that’s an incredible support network to be able to lean on and learn from.
There’s also the possibility if he continues to make an impression he could provide some continuity for Bournemouth when Iraola eventually leaves.
It would have to be an incredible offer to tempt Gray away from that, I don’t think for a second Swansea would offer anything like what he’s getting from Hibs just now.
06-03-2025, 10:56 AM
Not with that attitude it won’t.
06-03-2025, 11:15 AM
2nd favourite with the bookies after their current caretaker manager. I know it's not a huge market and nobody should pay attention, just thought I'd post it anyway 😅
06-03-2025, 11:29 AM
David Gray hates swans, he's always been a bigger fan of ducks.
That's the whole story goosed then.
06-03-2025, 12:00 PM
David will I'm sure have taken note of what happened to his old boss Alan Stubbs.
Had a good bit of success with us but made a poor move down south - wrong club, wrong time and now he's been out for a job for years.
06-03-2025, 12:26 PM
David will I'm sure have taken note of what happened to his old boss Alan Stubbs.
Had a good bit of success with us but made a poor move down south - wrong club, wrong time and now he's been out for a job for years.
His old boss had no other option or his wife was leaving him. Not a ⚽ decision.
06-03-2025, 12:37 PM
Swansea would pay him enough that if he was sacked after a year he’d probably never need to work again!
As for the Celtic guff, that’s just paranoid crap.
You really think they made up the rumour and got a journalist to run with it in the hope that it somehow distracts Gray so much he doesn’t know how to set us up at the weekend?!!
Guess it’s one way to look at it!
Another would be that Swansea have seen what he’s done with us in a short space of time and fancy a bit of it.
I wouldn’t be so quick to write off their interest or to assume that Gray would turn them down.
If he’s offered £1m a year, for example, he’ll be off.
Donegal Hibby
06-03-2025, 02:32 PM
Swansea have had something roughly like 9 managers in 8 years . I don’t think Gray will go yet for a few reasons … 1 . It’s early days in his managerial career .. 2 . He’s doing really well now and why rock the boat by jumping clubs at this stage… 3 . He has a board that have backed him when others wouldn’t have … 4 . I think Swansea will be looking at bigger names such as Sean Dyche , Steve Cooper etc … 4 . It’s a Nixon article before a big game for us .:rolleyes: … 5 David Gray .. I’m fully committed to what I’m doing here and I’m 100% behind what we’re trying to to do moving forward.
06-03-2025, 03:51 PM
So, so predictable.
I swear Celtic have more moles, spies and agents working the media than Russia.
Да, товарищ
06-03-2025, 03:54 PM
The usual nonsense.
We should almost just pre-emptively spoof the whole things
06-03-2025, 04:36 PM
Swansea would pay him enough that if he was sacked after a year he’d probably never need to work again!
As for the Celtic guff, that’s just paranoid crap.
You really think they made up the rumour and got a journalist to run with it in the hope that it somehow distracts Gray so much he doesn’t know how to set us up at the weekend?!!
Guess it’s one way to look at it!
Another would be that Swansea have seen what he’s done with us in a short space of time and fancy a bit of it.
I wouldn’t be so quick to write off their interest or to assume that Gray would turn them down.
If he’s offered £1m a year, for example, he’ll be off.
Swansea wouldn't pay him anything of a sort. Why do the same names keep on the managerial merry-go-round if they're getting that sort of money? Lee Johnson for example?
He doesn't have enough experience for the Swansea gig. It's as simple as that. So there is crap being spouted but it is in the press. As usual.
Musselbound
06-03-2025, 05:21 PM
Hopefully he will be here for a while. But it makes a change if our manager is wanted by other clubs rather than getting rid of them.
06-03-2025, 06:02 PM
Let me see if I've got this right:
Swansea are not in for David Gray, and have possibly never even heard of him.
The whole thing is made up by a media fantasist ahead of a big game against Celtc.
Why's this thread still open?
As the title says.
Yeh, right!! Wouldn’t be playing the OF this weekend would we?
Donegal Hibby
06-03-2025, 07:01 PM
Read an article on their manager search and part of it said that Swansea was still a good club for any manager despite their on / off field problems .. wonder what they are ?
https://www.fansnetwork.co.uk/football/swanseacity/news/63934/david-gray-in-swans-link-tales-of-the-unexpected-context