View Full Version : Derbies (generally)
SonOfDavidFrancey
01-03-2025, 06:30 AM
I’m sure this is well trodden ground but in relation to something I am researching / writing:
Could I have nominations for favourite derby ever OUTSIDE the obvious ones?
01-03-2025, 06:33 AM
I was at Tynecastle in, I think, 1965 when Hibs went four goals up in the first twenty minutes. Two for Eric Stevenson and two for Jimmy O'Rourke. It finished 4-0 after a tedious second half!
01-03-2025, 06:35 AM
I'm not sure if it falls into the obvious category but the game we beat them 2-0 to end their unbeaten start to the season in 2005.
They were a really good side then as was proven over the course of the season. The game was really high quality from start to finish. Just two good teams going at it; it was end to end, a real battle, we were marginally the better of 2 good sides on the day and got the result we deserved in the end.
I struggle to think of another derby that has been of such high quality since.
01-03-2025, 06:42 AM
There is 2 that springs to mind, the 'Kerr' scored inside the first few minutes. There so called 'lower tier' right behind goals and bouncing from start to finish.
And the 'riordan,' game. We were going to get beat 4,5,6 0 or whatever and bedlam (sure it was also half a stand aswell) I ended up about 8 rows down when he scored, and didn't even know someone swung a punch till about 4 hours later when u got back to my local in livi at the time
When we beat them 1-0 in the Scottish Cup in 2016. We've had some bad days but that is the worst I have ever felt watching a football match, I felt physically sick. I was desperate to beat them that night in particular.
We scored early and should have been out of sight. Then the tide started to turn and somehow we didn't let a goal in. They scores a few times but they were all offside. Their centre forward (can't mind his name) somehow missed one from about a yard.
Then it was good because they went down to 10 men only for Cummings to follow suit. Keatings missed an open goal to make it 2-0 right at the end. I am sure Fyvie and McGeouch were missing. Dan Carmichael even got on IIRC.
Probably the best ever rendition of Sunshine on Leith at the end.
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/10171009/hibs-fans-sing-sunshine-on-leith
01-03-2025, 06:47 AM
Riordan's late penalty at Tynecastle under Mixu. We had an atrocious team with half the squad out, Hearts were points away from securing 3rd and everyone was predicting a huge win for them.
Trinity Hibee
01-03-2025, 06:52 AM
3-1 in the cup 2017
2-0 at ER in 2018 (natural order and think we were 10? Unbeaten in derbies)
2-0 at ER in 2005 (unbeatables)
Too many to chose from! 1-0 in 2012 in the cup was special too as well as 1-0 in league cup on way to winning it
01-03-2025, 06:57 AM
I was at Tynecastle in, I think, 1965 when Hibs went four goals up in the first twenty minutes. Two for Eric Stevenson and two for Jimmy O'Rourke. It finished 4-0 after a tedious second half!
It was more like 10 minutes. Had to wait on a bus from Princes Street and missed them all. Some Hearts supporters were leaving as I went in , when they said it was 4-0 I didn't believe them.
01-03-2025, 07:03 AM
01-01-1974 Hibs 3 v 1 Hearts
Was pretty confident going to this game
Cropley 2 and Duncan
Hibs owned the Derby back then even although they had their revenge for 0-7 1-4 in the September
Alex Edwards ran about singing Jingle Bells to the Hearts players and Drew Busby spent the second half chasing after him trying to boot him up the erchie
Donald Ford scored a rare goal against the Hibs
Hibs McArthur Bremner Schaedler Stanton Black Blackley Edwards O’Rourke Gordon Cropley and Duncan
Att 36000
Special mention for Alex Cropley loved a goal against the Hearts
One of our own
Another easy victory around about this time almost a mirror image of the above
01/01/1976 Hibs 3 v 0 Hearts
Duncan 2 Bobby Smith
Hibs McArthur Brownlie Spalding Stanton Barry Blackley Edwards Bremner Harper Smith and Duncan
Macleod for Spalding cramp
Att 33000
01-03-2025, 07:11 AM
The 3-1 in the Cup replay in Feb 2017.
There was a rare confidence in the Hibs support that night and for once the game transpired exactly as we thought it would.
01-03-2025, 07:24 AM
I’m sure this is well trodden ground but in relation to something I am researching / writing:
You are probably already aware but there is a decent book out about our rivalry with them :
Auld Foes : World Football’s Oldest Rivalry by James Stephen
The www.fitbastats.com website is also an invaluable source of information as is the London Hearts website
Bridge hibs
01-03-2025, 07:31 AM
1994 when Gordon Hunter scored, think it was to end a horrible run of draws/defeats against them, absolute limbs in the hibs end when he crashed that ball into the net.
OstKurve Hibs
01-03-2025, 07:33 AM
The O'connor derby, played for 55/60 mins with 10 men after grant brebner got sent off, nil nil until 90 minutes then big gaz gets in an bangs a winner ! Bedlam !
01-03-2025, 07:55 AM
My first derby. 2-1 at Tynecastle, Scottish cup 71/72. John Hazel and Arthur Duncan for the good guys. I would only see them beat us once in the next 10 years(ish).
01-03-2025, 08:00 AM
My first derby. 2-1 at Tynecastle, Scottish cup 71/72. John Hazel and Arthur Duncan for the good guys. I would only see them beat us once in the next 10 years(ish).
Ah quality!
Good excuse to show it again white socks I think ?
https://youtu.be/lSp0QyDrbrA?si=jXaBj8UHCcmgpjwW
gordie18
01-03-2025, 08:34 AM
Ah quality!
This is mine too!
I thought for years that Arthur had run the length of the park to score, then I see the highlights and he was 10 yards inside their half!
Great goal and right at the death to make it even better [emoji4]
01-03-2025, 08:37 AM
Ah quality!
Was that Joe Baker playing?
01-03-2025, 08:46 AM
I know OP is looking for favourites and this isn't my favourite and not even a win, but the NY-ish derby at their bit in 2001 is worth a mention. John O'Neill's late equaliser. You'll never beat Sauzee. Bedlam in the Roseburn Stand when that went in.
01-03-2025, 09:06 AM
Yip
01-03-2025, 10:06 AM
Indeed it was.
Now there’s a thing you won’t hear a commentator say these days. “Indirect free kick for obstruction”.
01-03-2025, 10:48 AM
Indeed it was.
Now there’s a thing you won’t hear a commentator say these days. “Indirect free kick for obstruction”.
Mickey Stewart still says by and shy as well as identity 😀
Lendo
01-03-2025, 11:03 AM
Watching the Horgan double game in 2019 in Quinn’s in Camden, hungover as ****, with the in-house pub cat sat on my lap that went flying when I celebrated the goals.
01-03-2025, 11:12 AM
1994 when Gordon Hunter scored, think it was to end a horrible run of draws/defeats against them, absolute limbs in the hibs end when he crashed that ball into the net.
Would have said that was a pretty obvious one. Well to all of us who are old enough to have been there anyways.
He's here!
01-03-2025, 11:14 AM
A couple of derbies where we didn't win have, in hindsight, struck me as significant.
The 83/84 season saw the first derby played in four years. Prior to that we'd been top dogs in the fixture for many years and when we went 1-0 up and 2-1 up at Tynecastle there was sense that normal service had been resumed. A young John Robertson, however, turned the game on its head and Hearts won 3-2.
The next fixture, at Easter Road, saw us go 1-0 up and, again, in control of the game before Robertson hit a late long-range shot more in hope that expectation which took a massive deflection and ended up in the net. Not a chance it had been going in otherwise.
We went on to draw the remaining two derbies that season, but for the next few years we just couldn't buy a win in the fixture. The ways those first two derbies played out set the tone for that I feel.
01-03-2025, 11:50 AM
My very first game; Scottish Cup 1979 at Easter Road, Hibs 2 - 1 Hearts
After finally being taken to Easter Road... probably much older than most kids first game... I was absolutely hooked.
When that season was finished, I got a summer job picking tatties (I was actually too young but my uncle was in charge of the squad), and I used the money from that to go to around half of our home games the following season.... with the highs of seeing George Best in a Hibs jersey to the lows of watching us get relegated.
01-03-2025, 11:51 AM
The 3-1 win with goals from Holt, Cummings, and Shinnie. We dominated them.
Just_Jimmy
01-03-2025, 11:58 AM
The one where Grant Brebner got sent off and we beat them with 10 men.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
01-03-2025, 12:05 PM
The Brian Kerr game and the Benji 2-1 game where Zibi stopped him from running the full length of the pitch to noise up the away fans.
On a sadder note, the last derby of 2018 that we meekly surrendered 1-0, an Ollie Lee cracker. Last derby I watched live with my best mate before his death.
01-03-2025, 12:05 PM
The game that never was in 1940 played under war broadcasting controls in a thick fog
The commentator wasn’t allowed to divulge there was a thick fog over the Forth could not see a thing in a pea souper and did his commentary going by the roar of the crowd and a series of runners
By his calculation the final score was Hibs 5 v 6 Hearts which was how it finished
10 minutes after full time search parties had to be sent out for the wingers
1875M
01-03-2025, 12:10 PM
1-0 Wotherspoon, 2012? First derby after the 5-1 game.
Bridge hibs
01-03-2025, 12:57 PM
Would have said that was a pretty obvious one. Well to all of us who are old enough to have been there anyways.
Yeah probably but I had to mention it, I went home black n blue from elbows flying as my Mum thought I had been scrapping so I got another couple of bruises from her too as she skelped my nut.
01-03-2025, 01:04 PM
Millennium derby is my all time favourite
hibeerealist
01-03-2025, 01:10 PM
Ah quality!
That goal they scored was the ONLY goal they scored against us in 5 seasons!!
Those were the days
01-03-2025, 01:17 PM
That goal they scored was the ONLY goal they scored against us in 5 seasons!!
Those were the days
Kevin Hegarty I think his Dad was my Scout Leader
Chose the clip that left that bit out 😀
01-03-2025, 01:27 PM
Brebner red card and O’Connor winner in 2003. Magnificent.
Mcbizz1998
01-03-2025, 01:43 PM
Griffiths free kick game at Tynecastle with later winner from Ross Caldwell.
01-03-2025, 01:50 PM
Archibald at Tynie , Cue the hibs end going complete radge , Loved it even if i was a wee laddie that got lost from my Dad in the swaize
Does the East of Scotland Shield count? Wednesday 29th March 1961.
Hibs 4 Hearts 2. Hibs were 3-0 up at half time, 4-0 after an hour. The Hearts scored 2 in the last 10 minutes to render the scoreline respectable. Joe Baker missed a last minute pen for his hattrick.
The teams consisted of twenty Scots-born Scots and 2 English-born Scots - Gordon Marshall Hearts G/K and Joe Baker.
Hibs had 5 U21s. Hearts had none. Willie Bauld and Gordon Smith were still playing for Hearts then.
All the above info is typed with the benefit of hindsight.
I was with my dad as a very tall for my age 4-year old who could barely see over the wa', standing at the bottom of the East Terrace. Sixty-four years later and by the Grace of God I'm still standing in the East, this time high up in the Singing Section beside the crazy gang. I was hooked on the atmosphere that night under the floodlights and will enjoy it just as much tomorrow.
GGTTH :thumbsup:
SonOfDavidFrancey
01-03-2025, 05:15 PM
Does the East of Scotland Shield count? Wednesday 29th March 1961.
Hibs 4 Hearts 2. Hibs were 3-0 up at half time, 4-0 after an hour. The Hearts scored 2 in the last 10 minutes to render the scoreline respectable. Joe Baker missed a last minute pen for his hattrick.
The teams consisted of twenty Scots-born Scots and 2 English-born Scots - Gordon Marshall Hearts G/K and Joe Baker.
Hibs had 5 U21s. Hearts had none. Willie Bauld and Gordon Smith were still playing for Hearts then.
All the above info is typed with the benefit of hindsight.
I was with my dad as a very tall for my age 4-year old who could barely see over the wa', standing at the bottom of the East Terrace. Sixty-four years later and by the Grace of God I'm still standing in the East, this time high up in the Singing Section beside the crazy gang. I was hooked on the atmosphere that night under the floodlights and will enjoy it just as much tomorrow.
GGTTH :thumbsup:
Superb post!
01-03-2025, 05:22 PM
Was as at the 07 but the game you mentioned was the last us against them
I went to I hate going there
The 3-1 in the Cup replay in Feb 2017.
There was a rare confidence in the Hibs support that night and for once the game transpired exactly as we thought it would.
My fav as well. Cup holders, SJM running the show, Holt's roly poly celebration, should have won by more, Jambos booed their team off at HT.
Also sent the laptop managers season into a tailspin while we finally cruised to the Championship title.
Special mention to the 3-0 millennium derby win at Tynie in 1999, my first game there! Never forget Sauzee's screamer.
TheGreyLantern
01-03-2025, 05:52 PM
Natural Order derby. Total and utter domination. It felt like a statement.
01-03-2025, 09:37 PM
Does the Archigod derby count as an obvious one?
Describing the celebrations as radge sort of understates it..my friend lost a shoe and he walked back along the canal to Centre Court with one shoe. We then proceeded to drink Blue Bols and Fresh Orange, because it goes green, to noise up the Jambos there..
In terms of celebrations since, seeing the celebrations of the Hanlon equaliser always reminds me of that day 🙂
01-03-2025, 10:00 PM
The draw at tynie when we won the cup.
Honestly thought my head was going to pop at Hanlon's goal.
TheKiwiHibee
02-03-2025, 12:00 AM
Does the Archigod derby count as an obvious one?
Describing the celebrations as radge sort of understates it..my friend lost a shoe and he walked back along the canal to Centre Court with one shoe. We then proceeded to drink Blue Bols and Fresh Orange, because it goes green, to noise up the Jambos there..
In terms of celebrations since, seeing the celebrations of the Hanlon equaliser always reminds me of that day 🙂
I always thought of it as the Paul Kane Derby. We were ahead most of the game after his flying first half header, winning 2-1 after playing with 10 men for 75 minutes after Gordon Rae was sent off. Archibald's goal just seemed like a bonus till McFudson scored a consolation on 90 minutes. My favourite derby, met a mate I hadn't seen in years and we ended up in the Shore Bar in Leith for a memorable (from what I can remember) night. 80 bob never tasted so good.
Musselbound
02-03-2025, 11:03 AM
A couple already mentioned but also one at ER probably in the early 2000s. Sauzee got his front teeth knocked out while scoring and I think it was same game Mixu scored and they did a little dance together. Recall the final score being 3-1 to Hibs.
02-03-2025, 11:20 AM
I always thought of it as the Paul Kane Derby. We were ahead most of the game after his flying first half header, winning 2-1 after playing with 10 men for 75 minutes after Gordon Rae was sent off. Archibald's goal just seemed like a bonus till McFudson scored a consolation on 90 minutes. My favourite derby, met a mate I hadn't seen in years and we ended up in the Shore Bar in Leith for a memorable (from what I can remember) night. 80 bob never tasted so good.
you obv never bought your Hibs Monthly… :)
Kano did score a cracking header and overhead kick assist for Archie.
Archie the jinx buster. as we were literally singing “Singin in the rain”