View Full Version : Sunshine on leith
HIBS NUTS
24-02-2025, 09:01 AM
Apparently some Celtic fans thought we over celebrated our win over them on Saturday, by singing SOL, mostly because they are bad losers.
I enjoyed it, and if it winds them up even better.
However some hibs fans were debating if we should only sing it, at cup wins, and after beating hearts at home, that’s not a lot of times, I’m happy to sing it anytime we beat the old firm as well.
24-02-2025, 09:05 AM
The only Celtic fans I have heard mentioning it said it was class.
24-02-2025, 09:08 AM
Think it was played as a tribute to Ron due to it being 2 years to the week since he passed away.
24-02-2025, 09:10 AM
Same. I haven’t actually seen anyone criticise it. And if some Celtic fans have then even better.:greengrin
24-02-2025, 09:11 AM
We're not allowed to celebrate injury time equalisers in derbies according to Hearts fans, we're not allowed to celebrate injury time equalisers after being two goals down according to Rangers fans, and now we're not allowed to celebrate beating the team that's by far the best in the country and that have a budget a hundred times (or whatever it is) bigger than ours.
If these ********s could give us a list advising what we actually are allowed to celebrate that would be quite helpful.
As for SoL. I don't know, it just felt right on Saturday. The club generally get this right and judge the mood correctly as to when they play it so I'm happy to leave it to them. Just not too often please. And let's be honest, if it is to include the old firm too then it likely won't be too often.
24-02-2025, 09:13 AM
We're not allowed to celebrate injury time equalisers in derbies according to Hearts fans, we're not allowed to celebrate injury time equalisers after being two goals down according to Rangers fans, and now we're not allowed to celebrate beating the team that's by far the best in the country and that have a budget a hundred times (or whatever it is) bigger than ours.
If these ********s could give us a list advising what we actually are allowed to celebrate that would be quite helpful.
As for SoL. I don't know, it just felt right on Saturday. The club generally get this right and judge the mood correctly as to when they play it so I'm happy to leave it to them. Just not too often please. And let's be honest, if it is to include the old firm too then it likely won't be too often.
Totally agree. It felt like a bit of a watershed moment for this team, and they deserved the experience they got in front of the East. Hopefully it makes them even hungrier to hear it again on Sunday.
24-02-2025, 09:13 AM
Some lovely comments from some of them but definitely a few roasters having a go
24-02-2025, 09:14 AM
Shame, still it's better than listening to them singing something they've copied from Liverpool or a wee ditty about some conflict somewhere.
Just_Jimmy
24-02-2025, 09:19 AM
It's our song, no one else can lay claim, it's not generic like their tin pot song from carousel...
We'll sing it when and as often as we like.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
24-02-2025, 09:20 AM
Why would anyone give a **** what Celtic fans think about anything? Far too many people worry about the views of other fans.
SOL is uniquely ours, other fans are openly jealous we have such an emotive song linked to our club only, and what better time to play it than in lovely sunshine having beaten the top team in the country?
As others say, who cares what Celtic fans think, or any other clubs fans for that matter.
24-02-2025, 09:56 AM
Apparently some Celtic fans thought we over celebrated our win over them on Saturday, by singing SOL, mostly because they are bad losers.
However some hibs fans were debating if we should only sing it, at cup wins, and after beating hearts at home, that’s not a lot of times, I’m happy to sing it anytime we beat the old firm as well.
Since when did Celtc get a say how and when other teams celebrate?
I do believe that is not to become a rent-a-song like YNWA (how much does Celtc pay Gerry and the Pacemakers in royalties ?) an over played.
Only at cup finals? Are we now policing ourselves in the way Celtc would like us to?
There’s precious little joy in football let’s not kill the moment.
24-02-2025, 10:06 AM
Think it was played as a tribute to Ron due to it being 2 years to the week since he passed away.
Possibly but we do tend to play it if we win big games.
It’ll be played again on Sunday if we win.
24-02-2025, 10:09 AM
I’m sure it was played the night we pumped them 4-2 under Lee Johnson. Obviously play it after Derby wins and guess if we actually manage to beat them at ER again we’ll do it against the Huns too. It’s class and I’m delighted it’s connected to our club.
Bushwoof
24-02-2025, 10:10 AM
Possibly but we do tend to play it if we win big games.
It’ll be played again on Sunday if we win.
True, but that wasn't a big game - it was only Celtc.
24-02-2025, 10:27 AM
Haha, it's ours, it's absolute class and they can't copy it.
Jealousy is a terrible thing...:greengrin:greengrin
Glory Glory
24-02-2025, 10:30 AM
Celtic fans were celebrating a draw and being eliminated on Wednesday
Beating Celtic at home. X amount of games unbeaten and the anniversary of Ron Gordon
It’s all relative
Don’t know why they care
Rangers celebrated beating St Johnstone in the second round of the Scottish cup!🤣
24-02-2025, 10:34 AM
When you think about it, it's probably the most under used 'club anthem' in European football. We must be the only club where our unique song only gets an airing after significant results or on very rare club special occasions. AFAIK You'll never walk alone gets sung at Anfield at most home games. Celtic pay tribute to Liverpool all the time 'before' the game starts.
This is why it has to be explained to fans of other clubs that a visit to Easter Road won't necessarily mean you get to see the crowd singing Sunshine on Leith.
The bottom line: It's OUR song, we'll sing it when we bloody like, and if other clubs don't like it when we do tough titty :greengrin
24-02-2025, 10:36 AM
I work with a celtic fan, an absolute gent and one of the fair minded ones, and he has often said how insanely jealous he is of that anthem.
They have a colourful songbook and they have YNWA but they know deep down it isn't really 'theirs'
24-02-2025, 10:37 AM
When you think about it, it's probably the most under used 'club anthem' in European football. We must be the only club where our unique song only gets an airing after significant results or on very rare club special occasions. AFAIK You'll never walk alone gets sung at Anfield at most home games. Celtic pay tribute to Liverpool all the time 'before' the game starts.
This is why it has to be explained to fans of other clubs that a visit to Easter Road won't necessarily mean you get to see the crowd singing Sunshine on Leith.
The bottom line: It's OUR song, we'll sing it when we bloody like, and if other clubs don't like it when we do tough titty :greengrin
and very Hibs. And James - they play what they want and change up the set list and make no apologies for it nor should we - it’s not Disney.
24-02-2025, 10:53 AM
There is nothing worse than the celebration bore and all teams have them. It seems a relatively new thing that probably coincides with the rise of the 'limbs' videos on social media.
'Check them celebrating a draw after a last minute equaliser.' 'Check them singing a song after beating the champions elect' etc etc.
Our fans aren't immune from it either when it comes to criticisng other teams. The day I don't go ****ing mental after a last minute Hibs equaliser or beating a team at home who really should beat us every time we play them will be the day I give it up entirely. Football is emotive, it's those swings from despair to joy and those huge outbursts and reactions that would have you sectioned in any other environment that make it fun for me.
24-02-2025, 10:55 AM
Shame, still it's better than listening to them singing something they've copied from Liverpool or a wee ditty about some conflict somewhere.
Jpdhfc
24-02-2025, 11:10 AM
only problem I've got with playing it is it brings me too tears every single time.:greengrin
HIBS NUTS
24-02-2025, 11:19 AM
only problem I've got with playing it is it brings me too tears every single time.:greengrin
I’m the same.
24-02-2025, 11:24 AM
24-02-2025, 11:25 AM
I think the whole new sound system, pre match build up music, lights and SoL at the weekend were brilliant.
That must be one of the loudest PA systems in the country !
24-02-2025, 11:27 AM
.......and, purely coincidentally, my wife just texted me about something and said "......oh and there is a Proclaimer sitting in front of me"
24-02-2025, 11:30 AM
Celtic fans were celebrating a draw and being eliminated on Wednesday
Beating Celtic at home. X amount of games unbeaten and the anniversary of Ron Gordon
It’s all relative
Don’t know why they care
Rangers celebrated beating St Johnstone in the second round of the Scottish cup![emoji1787]Mind hearts had a beer named after that boy who scored that speculative last minute 20 yard toe punt to equalise that time.
24-02-2025, 11:30 AM
Let’s not take any lectures from others as to what we can and can’t sing and when and when not to.
One of the great things about SOL and it’s playing at Easter Road is that it’s not over used and played every week. The occasions present themselves and we all have a similar sense of when it’s appropriate for an airing. It’s a Hibs thing and only Hibs fans and the club can understand when the time is right.
Social media is rampant with the usual suspects across the city with accusations of over celebrating, just as they did at Christmas.
Again, we will take no lectures from a fanbase who commissioned a commemorative beer to mark an equalising goal in a derby.
Dr What If?
24-02-2025, 11:35 AM
2007, Hampden. I had only lost my mum six months earlier....later learned John Collins lost his dad not that long before. We had just won the league cup and in style, Collins on his knees facing crowd with tears in his eyes. It's the first time I really remember the fans belting out SoL, I admit it, I cried like a baby....when I think of that day I still feel it. I know I'm on my own in this one but that day meant more than 2016.
I couldn't care if we sang it 20 times a match, its special, its unique and it is ours.
24-02-2025, 11:42 AM
So it’s only some Celtc fans. Perhaps we needn’t get out knickers in a twist over muppetry over social media. It only feeds the coffers of the bad guys.
24-02-2025, 11:44 AM
Frankly, who cares what they think...
24-02-2025, 11:47 AM
Loved the way the players stood in front of the East shoulder to shoulder and listened to the song. Josh Campbell mentioned that a few of the players hadn't heard it sung live and were buzzing about it.
Let's hope it spurs them on to create more SOL moments.
24-02-2025, 11:49 AM
Mind hearts had a beer named after that boy who scored that speculative last minute 20 yard toe punt to equalise that time.
Haha yes. I also remember them celebrating getting to halftime with the score at 0-0 in the natural order derby at Easter Road.
And of course they went absolutely mental after the 4-4. Which is fine in my book, if ever a draw must have felt like a win it must have been that one, but they don't half contradict themselves at times
TrinityHFC
24-02-2025, 11:53 AM
Yeah I can’t sing to it. I do get a weird response like this to lots of crowd or shared things or moments that I’m actually not otherwise emotional about. It is very strange.
aljo7-0
24-02-2025, 12:03 PM
Saturday's atmosphere towards the end of the second half was fantastic. All 3 Hibs stands singing and up on their feet cheering on the team. A brilliant result against the runaway winners of the league to keep a long unbeaten run going and having had the minute's applause for Ron Gordon during the game - it was the perfect time for SOL to be belted out.
I imagine it is an experience that the Hibs players love and talk about and those that have not experienced it will crave. Our new signing was sent off inside 15 minutes last week and probably was wondering what the hell he has got himself into. Watching that game and the SOL rendition after must help convince him its a great place to be
24-02-2025, 12:18 PM
I regularly get non football people telling me they’ve watched footage of us doing SOL on YouTube or whatever and are blown away by it.
24-02-2025, 12:28 PM
Since when did Celtc get a say how and when other teams celebrate?
I do believe that is not to become a rent-a-song like YNWA (how much does Celtc pay Gerry and the Pacemakers in royalties ?) an over played.
Only at cup finals? Are we now policing ourselves in the way Celtc would like us to?
There’s precious little joy in football let’s not kill the moment.
How much are they paying to Rodgers and Hammerstein, never mind some Scousers 😁
24-02-2025, 12:32 PM
I love the way we use it sparingly and with dignity. Let’s face it, football is an infantilizing affair, we love it because it disinhibits and connects us with younger, responsibility free versions of ourselves.
That said, there’s a moronic and tedious aspect to this when the arse is torn out of it and a child wants to go on the same fairground ride ‘again’ with diminishing returns. Those who are glory hunters and follow financialized clubs are particularly prone to those tediously repetitive celebrations.
‘Give us a wee wave pal… aye, very good. We see you! Yes we do!’
I think we get it right and it’s called Hibs class.
24-02-2025, 12:39 PM
I love the way we use it sparingly and with dignity. Let’s face it, football is an infantilizing affair, we love it because it disinhibits and connects us with younger, responsibility free versions of ourselves.
That said, there’s a moronic and tedious aspect to this when the arse is torn out of it and a child wants to go on the same fairground ride ‘again’ with diminishing returns. Those who are glory hunters and follow financialized clubs are particularly prone to those tediously repetitive celebrations.
I think we get it right and it’s called Hibs class.
Exactly right. Far be it from me to tell anyone or any club how often to sing a certain song, and theres no doubt YNWA is a very beautiful anthem that will never be touched in terms of fame or recognition, but I do wonder if it suffers from overuse a bit. I can't imagine SOL being played and sung at every game. It would feel a bit forced and going through the motions. I'll never forget celtic fans singing it after beating us 4-2 in a league cup semi at hampden and it was the quietest, most half arsed rendition I've heard. I would absolutely hate that to happen to our song. I also quite like that SOL is a well kept secret. A lot of people know about it but a lot don't, and I'm more than happy with that.
DIXIHIBS
24-02-2025, 12:50 PM
Thought it was spot on, on Saturday. Used sparingly when it really matters makes it more special. As others have said, who the f&£k are Celtic fans, or anyone for that matter, to decide when and where we can celebrate or sing our song. If we want to celebrate scraping a draw with Brechin, we will. Our choice not theirs. What was especially good about Saturday was that both my sister and wife text me from different areas in Leith saying they heard it loud and clear from their back gardens. Brilliant.
24-02-2025, 12:58 PM
any body got a vid of sol and players on saturday
The_Sauz
24-02-2025, 01:00 PM
https://www.bing.com/videos/riverview/relatedvideo?q=coldplay%20in%20the%20piano%20room& mid=085570B3D6415444C750085570B3D6415444C750&ajaxh ist=0
Looks like someone else is a fan of SOL Play from 29mins :greengrin
24-02-2025, 01:03 PM
https://www.sbnation.com/soccer/2020/4/27/21238339/sunshine-on-leith-hibernian-hibs-fans-singing-the-proclaimers
The Hibs fans are singing to their triumphant players in the moment, but they are also singing to the club, as it is dreamed and as it is lived. To the idea of Hibs, and to the practice of being Hibs. To this thing that only matters, and will continue to matter, only because there are people silly enough to care about it. To each other and to themselves.
24-02-2025, 01:03 PM
I think we get it right and it’s called Hibs class.[emoji106]
Quality post.
24-02-2025, 01:05 PM
A beautiful song, ours and reserved for big wins and special occasions. And one thing these imposters will never be able to steal from us.
24-02-2025, 01:06 PM
There’s a few popping up on Youtube.
24-02-2025, 01:10 PM
https://www.sbnation.com/soccer/2020/4/27/21238339/sunshine-on-leith-hibernian-hibs-fans-singing-the-proclaimers
The Hibs fans are singing to their triumphant players in the moment, but they are also singing to the club, as it is dreamed and as it is lived. To the idea of Hibs, and to the practice of being Hibs. To this thing that only matters, and will continue to matter, only because there are people silly enough to care about it. To each other and to themselves.
Quality article, thanks!
24-02-2025, 01:10 PM
I’m sure it was played the night we pumped them 4-2 under Lee Johnson. Obviously play it after Derby wins and guess if we actually manage to beat them at ER again we’ll do it against the Huns too. It’s class and I’m delighted it’s connected to our club.
It certainly was. Folk I was there with included a Tic supporting good pal and his teenage son who were sat next to me and under strict instructions to sit on their hands if Celtic scored. At the final whistle he got up to leave. "Sit down" I said as the opening strains of SOL started. "You're going nowhere for the next 5 minutes." Fair do's to him. He endured it - and my singing - right to the end.
24-02-2025, 01:24 PM
https://youtu.be/S5Gg9anZaxA?si=HXT5tJny6DG2XAJD
24-02-2025, 01:24 PM
The only fans I've seen upset by it are Hearts fans. Absolutely spewing with jealousy that any video of SOL goes viral on social media with Hibs getting tonnes of praise.
At least they have that song about a wee football team away up in Gorgie.
ChicoM1875
24-02-2025, 04:27 PM
Who gives a Castlemine XXXX. It looked class.
24-02-2025, 04:41 PM
Thanks for that
babahibs
24-02-2025, 05:18 PM
Apparently some Celtc fans..........
K.
24-02-2025, 05:32 PM
In which case, thoroughly justified.
I'm glad we reserve SOL for special occasions, and don't pump it out every game, as they do with their YNWA dirge.
HIBS NUTS
24-02-2025, 05:34 PM
Apparently some Celtc fans..........
K.
Not sure what your point is.
Nice discussion about SOL, are you unhappy with my thread.😳
24-02-2025, 05:44 PM
Exactly right. Far be it from me to tell anyone or any club how often to sing a certain song, and theres no doubt YNWA is a very beautiful anthem that will never be touched in terms of fame or recognition, but I do wonder if it suffers from overuse a bit. I can't imagine SOL being played and sung at every game. It would feel a bit forced and going through the motions. I'll never forget celtic fans singing it after beating us 4-2 in a league cup semi at hampden and it was the quietest, most half arsed rendition I've heard. I would absolutely hate that to happen to our song. I also quite like that SOL is a well kept secret. A lot of people know about it but a lot don't, and I'm more than happy with that.
A bit??
YNWA at Anfield has become a nauseating tourist trap.
The game has gone, etc and so on :greengrin
24-02-2025, 06:47 PM
The players enjoyed it, the fans enjoyed it. That's all that matters.
24-02-2025, 07:48 PM
Here's hoping it's sung loud and proud on Sunday
Johnny Clash
24-02-2025, 08:25 PM
I work at Nottingham railway station and loads of locals mention Sol if we get chatting about the fitbaw. Forest fans sing Mull of Kintyre twice each home game and it’s very loud and impressive but nothing gets close to SoL
24-02-2025, 08:31 PM
I work at Nottingham railway station and loads of locals mention Sol if we get chatting about the fitbaw. Forest fans sing Mull of Kintyre twice each home game and it’s very loud and impressive but nothing gets close to SoL
you mean “Dottingham”?
Tunezzzz. Apols to everyone under the age of 45.
24-02-2025, 08:33 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250224/b96535a41d759a53af5b30e56115d1fe.jpg
Johnny Clash
24-02-2025, 08:44 PM
you mean “Dottingham”?
ha ha - i’m an old radge so i totally get that !
25-02-2025, 12:49 AM
Me too :hibees
zitelli62
25-02-2025, 05:44 AM
you mean “Dottingham”?
This is the age of the train.
25-02-2025, 08:11 AM
Sunshine on Leith upsets all the right people
25-02-2025, 09:01 AM
It will always be special and getting the chance to belt it out after a big win is the best feeling in football.
I've probably mentioned this before but we included some lyrics in our wedding vows and that just adds to it for me.
25-02-2025, 11:06 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250224/b96535a41d759a53af5b30e56115d1fe.jpg
Aww **** that’s it ruined. Bin it.