View Full Version : Celtics Disallowed Goal
22-02-2025, 08:02 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/14381872/image-daizen-maeda-celtic-goal-vs-hibs-hoops-star/
Sorry its the sun but the image in this article shows why it was disallowed.
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
22-02-2025, 08:03 PM
Wasn't even close.
HIBS NUTS
22-02-2025, 08:05 PM
Wasn't even close.
According to sportscene panel, the goal should have stood.
22-02-2025, 08:08 PM
The gap between the line and the ball was bigger than the gap in the Celtic defence for Hibs opener. Stevie Wonder would have seen it was over the line. Non story. They got pumped and deservedly so. Take your defeat on the chin like good wee bhoys Celtic.
22-02-2025, 08:08 PM
According to sportscene panel, the goal should have stood.
Yeah. Linesman had the best angle. VAR shouldn't have overruled. We'd probably be sympathetic if it was our goal chalked off.
It stood, and we won, so tough luck.
K-Zazu
22-02-2025, 08:12 PM
I really don’t know what all these pundits and Celtic fans/manager are slavering about the ball clearly looks like it’s went out of play.
22-02-2025, 08:13 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/fbs5sg8L/IMG-5800.jpg (https://postimg.cc/21HnFTRR)
22-02-2025, 08:14 PM
Yeah. Linesman had the best angle. VAR shouldn't have overruled. We'd probably be sympathetic if it was our goal chalked off.
What??
Linesman had the best view and still, somehow, absolutely ****ed it. That is the very reason we have VAR.
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/14381872/image-daizen-maeda-celtic-goal-vs-hibs-hoops-star/
Must be the first time The Sun has ever printed the truth!
HIBS NUTS
The ball was over the line on the still, the panel were saying what the Celtic fans wanted to hear, the hibs defenders stopped as they thought it was over the line, the goalkeeper even put the ball down for a bye kick, because he thought it was over line.
cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 08:15 PM
The ball was so over the line. Anyone who has ever played football ever, even as a child, would see that.
Please Hibs fans, don’t fuel them. They get enough undeservedly, we don’t have to add to it.
Johnson's right leg prevents the linesman having a clear view. The Hibs players stopped when it went over. We in Sections 43 to 45 could see it was out when he crossed.
That's why we need VAR.
cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 08:18 PM
I just clicked that and wished I hadn’t. I got lots of s*** on my screen and adverts and pay for and god knows. Can someone show the article image without … wait probably have … that always happens to me ..
Mr Grieves
22-02-2025, 08:20 PM
Mental how that west stand linesman thought Campbell was offside but didnae spot that ball for Celtics disallowed goal wis a mile oot....
Helensburghhibs
22-02-2025, 08:21 PM
Sorry I've no seen highlights yet. What they saying about the hibs penalty shout?
cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 08:24 PM
Johnson's right leg prevents the linesman having a clear view. The Hibs players stopped when it went over. We in Sections 43 to 45 could see it was out when he crossed.
That's why we need VAR.
If VAR was used honestly, then I’d agree. It’s been better recently, more or less, but then the scottish f a have shown they can adapt and appease enough to keep the norm … happened for decades and decades .. it’ll follow the norm and they’ll find the way it benefits them more soon enough .. always do .. always have.
Oh, can I also say .. we beat celtic 2-1 today 😊
cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 08:29 PM
Mental how that west stand linesman thought Campbell was offside but didnae spot that ball for Celtics disallowed goal wis a mile oot....
It’s simple though, why he thought that. But the majority in Scotland want that. And some of the minority, even some Hibs fans, defend them.
Not sure who’s the weirdest or more dishonest.
But .. we won 2-1 today. Beat the odds they try to set.
TrinityHFC
22-02-2025, 08:30 PM
Sorry I've no seen highlights yet. What they saying about the hibs penalty shout?
Not discussed obviously.
PHeffernan
22-02-2025, 08:48 PM
The linesman can't see the ball or the relevant part of the bye line due to right leg of Johnston. VAR therefore used and shows the ball was out.
VAR is great for correcting the most egregious errors as we saw today with this decision and our second goal.
The problem is managers, players and especially supporters just can't accept decisions that don't go for their team.
In this case Rodgers desperately coming out with nth degree lawyer pish made a bawbag of himself.
Dear Brendan, it's a game, accept the referees decision and no you can't get NCIS to investigate.
P.S. For the poster above asking about the Hibs penalty claim. Had a swatch, Kuharevych appeared to throw himself to the ground like a big fish out of water.
No penalty from the camera angles shown on Sportscene.
22-02-2025, 08:50 PM
Inconclusive, though would personally prefer if it wasn’t technically a goal.
22-02-2025, 08:50 PM
The linesman can't see the ball or the relevant part of the bye line due to the legs of Johnston. VAR therefore used and shows the ball was out.
VAR is great for correcting the most egregious errors as we saw today with this decision and our second goal.
The problem is managers, players and especially supporters just can't accept decisions that don't go for their team.
In this case Rodgers desperately coming out with nth degree lawyer pish and making a bawbag of himself.
P.S. For the poster above asking about the Hibs penalty claim. Had a swatch, Kuharevych threw himself to the ground. No penalty.
Weve seen enough times that the strikers reaction is irrelevant; a foul was committed, he threw himself down a bit to make sure the ref sees it . Regardless thats still a penalty.
22-02-2025, 08:51 PM
Just watched the 22 minute Premier Sport interviews on Youtube and they don't half go on about it. ****ing crazy!
Imagine that's us scoring against them to make it 2-2. They'll all be saying ball is clearly out but its harsh.
**** them!
22-02-2025, 08:53 PM
That's why we need VAR.
It is a nice change to hear hibs fans arguing in SUPPORT of var. I'm not for it.
Celtic were robbed. I'm happy with that. Happens to us often enough.
22-02-2025, 08:54 PM
Saw it as clear as day when it happened as did everyone around me in the West Upper. Was totally chilled waiting for the VAR verdict as knew it wasn’t even close.
22-02-2025, 08:55 PM
You wouldn't know we had one
SickBoy32
22-02-2025, 08:56 PM
They were robbed of **** all, you’re at it
Ball was clearly out of play - no even close
22-02-2025, 08:57 PM
This is the same linesman whose best view ruled Campbell's second goal was offside incorrectly. That guy did not have a good day.
PHeffernan
22-02-2025, 08:58 PM
Weve seen enough times that the strikers reaction is irrelevant; a foul was committed, he threw himself down a bit to make sure the ref sees it . Regardless thats still a penalty.
What foul do you see?
22-02-2025, 08:58 PM
It is a nice change to hear hibs fans arguing in SUPPORT of var. I'm not for it.
They were not “robbed” the ball was over the line FFS
22-02-2025, 09:00 PM
Inconclusive, though would personally prefer if it wasn’t technically a goal.
Same. Would absolutely love it if they found an angle that shows it was in.
They won't though. Because it was out.
22-02-2025, 09:00 PM
This is our disallowed goal!
https://i.ibb.co/SD3y99cH/GOSL.jpg
Without VAR we're ****ed! Cheating *****.
22-02-2025, 09:02 PM
The stand side linesman hardly got a decision right the whole game. Hand balls missed, throws given the wrong way, fouls missed, wrong call for the second goal and guessed whether the ball was in or out for their disallowed goal. He was absolutely useless.
22-02-2025, 09:05 PM
The stand side linesman hardly got a decision right the whole game. Hand balls missed, throws given the wrong way, fouls missed, wrong call for the second goal and guessed whether the ball was in or out for their disallowed goal. He was absolutely useless.
VAR means they dont get away with the important ones as much anymore.
22-02-2025, 09:11 PM
Allisbarry, we can get Mikey to explain Wednesday why Hearts have an identity and that's why celtc should have got at least 2 goals.
Nae luck f wits[emoji16]
Sportscene "the linesman was best placed to see it". Aye but he's already got it well wrong..
cubehindthegoal
Is that actually the case. My perception is it has balanced a bit more recently, after us seeing it beyond a total joke to us, but also it’s only ‘absolute no way you could give it another way’ decisions that they feel they need to and have no choice but to, in combination with they have made such awful decisions before that many (and we are a main one of) haven’t benefit from their wrong decisions.
I don’t see VAR employees being different from referees and linesmen … they’d like us to, though. Of that, I’ve no doubt.
22-02-2025, 09:13 PM
What??
Linesman had the best view and still, somehow, absolutely ****ed it. That is the very reason we have VAR.
Same linesman who flagged our second goal as offside...........
22-02-2025, 09:14 PM
Sportscene "the linesman was best placed to see it". Aye but he's already got it well wrong..
It's a ridiculous claim that makes no sense! Just because someone who should be good at their job is close by, doesn't mean he can't make his 27th incorrect call of the game.
Sportscene basically calling for the league to chuck VAR
22-02-2025, 09:17 PM
Lennon is a horrible disgusting human.
22-02-2025, 09:19 PM
It was ****ing miles out , would have been an absolute shocker if they'd given it
22-02-2025, 09:29 PM
Without VAR we don't get the win at Tiny or the win today. Two game changing decisions were called wrong by the West Stand linesman, I can't believe folk would rather have our goal disallowed and Celtic's allowed incorrectly than have VAR.
It's far from perfect but give me those correct decisions any day.
22-02-2025, 09:31 PM
It was ****ing miles out , would have been an absolute shocker if they'd given it
A lot of folk watching with tinted glasses on. How can we call for fairness one week and then support baffling decisions just because they go our way?
You're all pointing at pictures showing it from the wrong angle. Thankfully there are professionals on sportscene paining the correct picture.
Plenty of praise for McCann's analysis most weeks. I suppose he is wrong now because he doesn't agree with you?
22-02-2025, 09:33 PM
This is the same linesman whose best view ruled Campbell's second goal was offside incorrectly. That guy did not have a good day.
Those two episodes tell us everything about the bent officials we have to endure in the game in scotland.
Make sure they get the decisions, then let var watch it.:rolleyes:
22-02-2025, 09:37 PM
Those two episodes tell us everything about the bent officials we have to endure in the game in scotland.
Said the same at the game, mate. Very telling that their instinct is to give Celtic the decision then see if they're right.
22-02-2025, 09:38 PM
A lot of folk watching with tinted glasses on. How can we call for fairness one week and then support baffling decisions just because they go our way?
You're all pointing at pictures showing it from the wrong angle. Thankfully there are professionals on sportscene paining the correct picture.
Plenty of praise for McCann's analysis most weeks. I suppose he is wrong now because he doesn't agree with you?
What's the wrong angle?
22-02-2025, 09:40 PM
What foul do you see?
The bit where Carter - Vickers hauls Kuharevych down.
https://x.com/longbangers/status/1893382593254400204?s=61
22-02-2025, 09:40 PM
What? Is this a joke? The ball was out. It wasn't miles out. But still out.
22-02-2025, 09:42 PM
“Professionals”
Professional gaslighters perhaps.
22-02-2025, 09:50 PM
Watching Rodgers BBC interview where he finishes with accusing VAR officials of just guessing, how many weeks on the sidelines for bringing the game into disrepute would David Gray face for similar public accusations?
Mr Grieves
22-02-2025, 09:52 PM
Plenty of praise for McCann's analysis most weeks. I suppose he is wrong now because he doesn't agree with you?WTF [emoji24]
22-02-2025, 09:59 PM
It looks out, but I haven’t seen a definitive close up of it. It went to VAR as usual, job done.
22-02-2025, 09:59 PM
:Ummm:
The Sportscene pundits regularly don't have a clue about refereeing decisions. I mean the ball is out - see here: https://x.com/Barlosthecat/status/1893361294612353283
WestCoastHibby
22-02-2025, 10:04 PM
I watched Sportscene tonight and I really can’t see why they were all so adamant Celtic were hard done by.
If it had been us scoring against them Brenda would have said it was out. As indeed it was!
PHeffernan
22-02-2025, 10:05 PM
Watched your clip. The players move together with arms round each other and then Kuharevych falls to the floor dramatically. Ten of one and half a dozen of the other. No penalty IMO.
P.S. what I do see, which is more of a penalty, is Trusty pulling the back of O'Hora's shirt
22-02-2025, 10:08 PM
I watched Sportscene tonight and I really can’t see why they were all so adamant Celtic were hard done by.
If it had been us scoring against them Brenda would have said it was out. As indeed it was!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Gka-zn5XgAAfNUI?format=png&name=360x360
22-02-2025, 10:08 PM
That's why we need VAR.
Yup. VAR gets a lot of stick, and Sevco will continue to get any vaguely contentious decision going their way.
But it's much, much harder for officials to cheat when there is VAR with indisputable evidence that a Hibs player was onside and the ball was out in last night's game.
Without VAR we 100% lose that game as anything that isn't in black and white will always be gifted to the OF.
22-02-2025, 10:14 PM
Assuming that the picture hasn’t been altered at all, it’s well out. It looked out in real time.
22-02-2025, 10:15 PM
Listen! If ye canny tell then ye canny tell! yer no aloud to change yer decision! Stupid dirty Hibs cheats.
You can't factually prove the balls out, other than the clear as day image above, you can't factually prove it.
22-02-2025, 10:18 PM
Assuming that the picture hasn’t been altered at all, it’s well out. It looked out in real time.
West upper here! Knew Campbells second was in (and not offside) and that the ball was over the line. Neither were close calls.
Added to their injury time though. Still couldn't equalise.
22-02-2025, 10:18 PM
Listen! If ye canny tell then ye canny tell! yer no aloud to change yer decision! Stupid dirty Hibs cheats.
You can't factually prove the balls out, other than the clear as day image above, you can't factually prove it.
That's screenshot from the video clip, unaltered.
There is the "Japan" argument from the world cup where its possible the angle might not show if the ball is fully out, but lets be honest - the ball is out.
22-02-2025, 10:22 PM
Professionals on Sportscene, hahaha hahaha. Weegie supporters of the uglies who lack any semblence of objectivity.
22-02-2025, 10:24 PM
Neil McCann;
'Is the cameras any better than that?' critiquing the west stand line man.
Thankfully, Neil, they absolutely ****ing are!
PHeffernan
22-02-2025, 10:27 PM
No, it tells you that humans are poor witnesses to exactly what they have seen in real time.
We are naturally far more accurate when we can replay an incident over and over at different angles and at different speeds, on a screen.
Glasgow Hibee
22-02-2025, 10:28 PM
[QUOTE=LaMotta;7901654]That's screenshot from the video clip, unaltered.
There is the "Japan" argument from the world cup where its possible the angle might not show if the ball is fully out, but let be honest - the ball is out.[/QUOTE
Why are wee even debating this!
Do you think old firm fans would ever even consider that a decision in their favour was correct or not ?
There are mistakes made - just accept the decision this time 😁
22-02-2025, 10:37 PM
There is the "Japan" argument from the world cup where its possible the angle might not show if the ball is fully out, but lets be honest - the ball is out.
We had a decent view and everyone thought it was out. I thought it was really close though and still do looking at the clips. The assistant Referee would have been blocked by the foot and leg of Johnstone so probably took a punt and that only goes one way. The officials were terrible all day and it is beyond belief we got more bookings than Celtc who kicked us off the park.
Looking at the clip of the Myko penalty Carter Vickers clearly shoves him with force on the shoulder and the other Celt defender shoves Myko in the side as O'Hora has his jersey pulled. That to me is a clear penalty. I wanted VAR but last season it was a joke. I think it has improved this year and hopefully that will continue. Pre VAR we lose that game 2-1 and so may games in teh past would have had different outcomes for us if we had it back then
22-02-2025, 10:41 PM
As ever with the OF…anything against them gets dented to death.
If it was the other way around it would be considered out and the world would swiftly move on.
The Japan argument seems to be the basis of this protracted argument.
Fact is we don’t have the cameras or the tech in Scotland to produce such a perfect outcome. Ergo you use what we have and when we do that the ball would be considered out of play…which thankfully is exactly what VAR decided!
22-02-2025, 10:47 PM
If it was the other way around it would be considered out and the world would swiftly move on.
Fact is we don’t have the cameras or the tech in Scotland to produce such a perfect outcome. Ergo you use what we have and when we do that the ball would be considered out of play…which thankfully is exactly what VAR decided!
Tell me they'd be talking about this if that had been a Celtic shot cleared from the line and the linesman didn't give a goal, only for VAR to check and say it went over the line.
They'd be out justifying how you can use the angles and see the ball has crossed the line and it's a good call from VAR.
22-02-2025, 10:48 PM
Neil McCann;
The price you have to pay for having such dreadful “pundits”.
Stick them in a smart casual ensemble in front of a microphone and it’s only a matter of time before this sort of slavering drivel comes out their mouths.
22-02-2025, 11:12 PM
What are you on about, how were they robbed? The ball was out, as simple as that. Hibs would have been robbed had it been given.
PHeffernan
22-02-2025, 11:13 PM
Yeah, for me you go to your best option for making as good a decision as possible. VAR is our best option and they made a reasonable decision today based on what they could see. Players, managers and supporters of all teams need to accept that or drive themselves crazy. The constant moaning is tiresome.
23-02-2025, 03:57 PM
The amount of coverage that has been given to this, there will be a TV documentary and a public enquiry into to this next.
23-02-2025, 04:00 PM
The ball was so over the line. Anyone who has ever played football ever, even as a child, would see that.
Please Hibs fans, don’t fuel them. They get enough undeservedly, we don’t have to add to it.
Has anyone on here stated that it didn't go out? It appears someone did after your post that I quoted, very strange take on proceedings.
HIBS NUTS
23-02-2025, 04:03 PM
Has anyone on here stated that it didn't go out?
I think there was one🤣
23-02-2025, 04:06 PM
Celtic FC. Always cheated never defeated. After all the OTT praise they gave themselves for their midweek draw as well. ********s.
23-02-2025, 04:10 PM
The ball looked out from the East, it was that obvious.
Hibs should have played to the whistle though. I hope that's something SDG will drum into them this week.
23-02-2025, 04:19 PM
Meanwhile Greg Taylor’s tackle hasn’t been mentioned since it was made
if that’s a Hibs player it’s a straight red and everyone is saying you can’t tackle like that.
Straight leg and studs up
He’s lucky Bowie hopped up, got on with it and never made a big deal
23-02-2025, 04:42 PM
It was out , they know fine well it was
The amount of coverage that has been given to this, there will be a TV documentary and a public enquiry into to this next.Knocking on Hibs fans doors at 5am asking for their phone footage.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
FastEddieFelson
23-02-2025, 05:01 PM
In some footage the ball looks like it might be out. In other footage it looks like it probably was.
There is no footage (that I've seen anyway) that conclusively proves the ball was 100% over the line, which is why Celtic have a right to feel aggrieved about VAR intervening to rule the goal out.
Still, nice for them to be on the receiving end of this type of thing for once. Get it right up them.
23-02-2025, 05:11 PM
Neil McCann;
Thought overall he was really fair, normally find him that was and was pretty glowing in praise of Hibs. Seems to genuinely appreciate what DG must have went through as a manager to turn things round.
23-02-2025, 05:34 PM
In some footage the ball looks like it might be out. In other footage it looks like it probably was.
There is no footage (that I've seen anyway) that conclusively proves the ball was 100% over the line, which is why Celtic have a right to feel aggrieved about VAR intervening to rule the goal out.
Still, nice for them to be on the receiving end of this type of thing for once. Get it right up them.
Thats a very fair minded post mate and each to their own but leaving aside whether VAR should have got involved or not it looks more out to me than slightly on the line and I think justice was done. I would have felt aggrieved if it had been given (though I doubt I would have done as much crying about it as celtic).
With some of the decisions we've been done on over the years, against the old firm and a couple of blatantly over the line goals ruled out against hearts, I'm certainly going to lose no sleep over poor wee celtic on this one.
23-02-2025, 05:52 PM
Pity they didn’t notice it was the same linesman that couldn’t do his job correctly, usual standard
23-02-2025, 06:04 PM
Watched your clip. The players move together with arms round each other and then Kuharevych falls to the floor dramatically. Ten of one and half a dozen of the other. No penalty IMO.
P.S. what I do see, which is more of a penalty, is Trusty pulling the back of O'Hora's shirt
Had he went down less theatrically he might have got the award.
There is clear pushing on his shoulders and while these awards are often frustratingly soft, we see them given regularly now.
Using the standards set this season for penalty awards, this has to be given. You can’t just chop and change what is and isn’t a penalty by the week.
https://i.postimg.cc/BZFNkWtL/IMG-5812.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
23-02-2025, 06:25 PM
The ball was clearly out.
Stop being a ****
23-02-2025, 06:38 PM
Celtic FC. Always cheated never defeated. After all the OTT praise they gave themselves for their midweek draw as well. ********s.
To be fair their draw was away at the Allianz Arena. That's a phenomenal result for a Scottish team.
Ball was still out though so their complaining is a load of nonsense.
23-02-2025, 06:48 PM
I think the goal is really harsh to overrule, if it was against us I’d be fuming and saying there is nothing conclusive technology wise so it should be the on field decision
Gary Neville and Sky Sports done a piece previously about it and how much of an optical illusion it is - https://youtu.be/OqBl6lCIIoU?si=irdLJdlWvem507D6
All that said, it’s bloody fantastic to see them not getting every decision in their favour for a change
23-02-2025, 06:50 PM
I actually can’t believe this is still even being discussed by anyone.
It was clearly out and the video - not some dodgy still image from a Celtic fan proved it.
The only question is why did the assistant referee not call it out - too scared to upset the Celtic end ?!
Conversation over.
23-02-2025, 06:55 PM
The amount of coverage that has been given to this, there will be a TV documentary and a public enquiry into to this next.
It wouldn't be a surprise if that Paul Larkin fellow followed up his hilarious film about refereeing bias agains Celtic (“Anyone but Celtic” was the very grown up title) by commissioning a feature length study into yesterday’s decision.
Wheel Tom Boyd out again for 2 hours of interviews and forensic examination of grainy film footage and camera angles.to search for evidence of an injustice.
SickBoy32
23-02-2025, 06:59 PM
I actually can’t believe this is still even being discussed by anyone.
It was clearly out and the video - not some dodgy still image from a Celtic fan proved it.
The only question is why did the assistant referee not call it out - too scared to upset the Celtic end ?!
Conversation over.
That linesmen looked anxious from kick off, he looked scared to award Hibs a throw in the first 5mins FFS. He was miles off the standard required - and that should be the focus of the discussion.
One point early in the game, Greg Taylor fouled Boyle right in front of him, for about 5 seconds - and he opted to give a foul against Boyle 😂
VAR has created so many grey areas within the game, that we now have officials that are second guessing themselves all over the park. Not giving blatant fouls, hesitant to award penalties - as the perceived safety net of VAR exists.
But for that linesman yesterday, to not have flagged that ball as out of play, is just frightening. Officials in this country just lack the bottle to apply (even the most fundamental) of rules against the OF. It’s ****ing chronic.
As for the Hibs fans who appear to have been influenced by what can only be described as gaslighting from Rodgers / the media to think we ‘got away with one’ or that ‘Celtic were hard done by’ - truly bizarre stuff.
23-02-2025, 06:59 PM
I think the goal is really harsh to overrule, if it was against us I’d be fuming and saying there is nothing conclusive technology wise so it should be the on field decision
Gary Neville and Sky Sports done a piece previously about it and how much of an optical illusion it is - https://youtu.be/OqBl6lCIIoU?si=irdLJdlWvem507D6
All that said, it’s bloody fantastic to see them not getting every decision in their favour for a change
VAR must have been sure it was out, otherwise it wouldn’t have been overruled. No way they would have guessed. Granted, improvements must be made regarding cameras for these decisions.
23-02-2025, 07:01 PM
John Collins told BBC Sportsound: "Instantly I thought it was out of play. I think the linesman was in a good position I'm surprised he didn't spot it."
Pat Nevin chimed: "I think to be fair he went to raise his flag and put it back down. That is why the good Lord invented VAR."
23-02-2025, 07:01 PM
If VAR is looking at the second picture in the sun article it's out of play. With these things it depends on which frame of the incident you stop the action there are different images out there with his foot in different positions. Maybe we got lucky or perhaps VAR got it right, game ended 2 1 to the good guys that is all that matters.
23-02-2025, 07:05 PM
VAR must have been sure it was out, otherwise it wouldn’t have been overruled. No way they would have guessed. Granted, improvements must be made regarding cameras for these decisions.
I don’t think we have the technology to prove definitively
I think camera’s make it look out of play, just think it was a big call from VAR
23-02-2025, 07:15 PM
The same linesman who wrongly flagged Campbell header as offside.
23-02-2025, 07:16 PM
At the end of the day, who gives a flying ****? It was ruled out. We won 2-1 and **** Celtic.
Donegal Hibby
23-02-2025, 07:24 PM
At the end of the day, who gives a flying ****? It was ruled out. We won 2-1 and **** Celtic.
:agree: Had a penalty against the huns which was moaned about for days and days and now this against Celtic which is also like the biggest injustice in football but no word how many dodgy decisions they had against us over the years…
OF :giruy2:
FastEddieFelson
23-02-2025, 07:26 PM
I don't think people appreciate how small a fraction of the ball needs to be on the line for it to be still considered in play.
There is no footage that categorically confirms 100% of the ball is over the line, therefore it's wrong for VAR to intervene and rule it out.
23-02-2025, 07:29 PM
I don't think people appreciate how small a fraction of the ball needs to be on the line for it to be still considered in play.
There is no footage that categorically confirms 100% of the ball is over the line, therefore it's wrong for VAR to intervene and rule it out.
You never see throw ins not being awarded for balls so far over line, so by definition, you can’t start allowing crosses.
Albahibs
23-02-2025, 07:33 PM
It looks clearly out of play when video slowed down, and var was correct to intervene. The Hibs players near it were all convinced it was out of play too, and rightly appealing for the goal to be chalked off.
FastEddieFelson
23-02-2025, 07:39 PM
You never see throw ins not being awarded for balls so far over line, so by definition, you can’t start allowing crosses.
So you're telling me that you'd happily accept that being ruled out by VAR if it was a Hibs goal?
SickBoy32
23-02-2025, 07:39 PM
Is it not wrong for the match officials to miss something as obvious as the ball being out of play though?
Bear in mind the linesman in question, wrongly tried to rule out a Hibs goal, wrongly prevented 2 Hibs corners with erroneous offside decisions - the guy had an absolute nightmare.
23-02-2025, 07:40 PM
So you're telling me that you'd happily accept that being ruled out by VAR if it was a Hibs goal?
I wouldn’t be grasping at straws trying to claim it was in!
23-02-2025, 07:41 PM
Apparently the ISS has confirmed they could see the ball was over the line from outer space.
Maybe the real space cadets can have a word with the other space cadets and rockets….
FastEddieFelson
23-02-2025, 07:41 PM
Is it not wrong for the match officials to miss something as obvious as the ball being out of play though?
Bear in mind the linesman in question, wrongly tried to rule out a Hibs goal, wrongly prevented 2 Hibs corners with erroneous offside decisions - the guy had an absolute nightmare.
It's not obvious, that's the point. No one seems to know whether the ball was out of play.
I'm not saying I think it was in. I'm saying there isn't proof it was out.
roo62
23-02-2025, 07:43 PM
It's not obvious, that's the point. No one seems to know whether the ball was out of play.
Surely VAR is the proof
23-02-2025, 07:45 PM
Do you honestly think VAR would rule out a Celtic goal if they weren't sure the ball was out? Seriously?
SickBoy32
23-02-2025, 07:46 PM
It is obvious, the ball was clearly out.
The 2nd Hibs goal was also obviously onside, watching in real time at ER. This shows the capabilities of the official in question.
23-02-2025, 07:47 PM
A lot of us are convinced it was. Fair enough we're biased. A lot of neutrals (if there is such a thing in Scotland when the old firm are playing) are also convinced. The images that we've all seen suggest it was out.
Would we be happy if it was the other way around and we had a goal like that disallowed? If I saw the still images we have all seen, then I'd think it strange if it was given tbh
23-02-2025, 07:47 PM
The pictures are proof
Albahibs
23-02-2025, 07:49 PM
Surely VAR is the proof
Var clearly showed that the ball was out of play, and the correct decision was reached.
The only real controversy seems to be that it was against one of the old firm. If it was us, it would have been ignored, without the noise.
23-02-2025, 07:50 PM
Someone replied to my query about whether we have Goal line technology. Apparently Scottish football deemed it not worth it. That’s an odd one cos surely the most costly decision is where a goal has been scored but not given. But this is the Looney-Toons world we live in I suppose.
23-02-2025, 07:51 PM
It’s out of play
https://i.ibb.co/ycxHXFHB/IMG-3305.png (https://ibb.co/tT1V4pVP)
23-02-2025, 07:54 PM
Var clearly showed that the ball was out of play, and the correct decision was reached.
The only real controversy seems to be that it was against one of the old firm. If it was us, it would have been ignored, without the noise.
Correct and this is really the crux of the matter. It's quite astonishing how much talk there has been about this one incident.
Any team playing against the old firm gets a goal chalked off like that, with the images we've seen showing the ball and the line with space in between the two, and it's conclusive. Good decision, well played VAR, move along everyone. It wouldn't have merited barely a mention in the match reports or online. Anyone complaining about it would have been laughed at.
Yet all I've read in the last 24 hours is that celtic were cheated. Bizarre.
23-02-2025, 07:57 PM
The pictures are proof
Surely once anyone has seen this video clip they can't claim it wasn't out?
https://x.com/Barlosthecat/status/1893643969495466035
Albahibs
23-02-2025, 07:58 PM
It’s out of play
Beyond any doubt m'lud.
23-02-2025, 07:59 PM
End of discussion
Albahibs
23-02-2025, 08:01 PM
Correct and this is really the crux of the matter. It's quite astonishing how much talk there has been about this one incident.
Any team playing against the old firm gets a goal chalked off like that, with the images we've seen showing the ball and the line with space in between the two, and it's conclusive. Good decision, well played VAR, move along everyone. It wouldn't have merited barely a mention in the match reports or online. Anyone complaining about it would have been laughed at.
Well said. All sadly very true. There wouldn't have been a peep about it in the media if it wasn't one of the old firm.
roo62
23-02-2025, 08:01 PM
Agreed, it's mental that this decision is getting the airtime when collectively we think it was the correct decision and we deservedly won the game. As someone posted earlier there is nothing to see here really. We can now look forward to the two biggest games of the season coming up for us this week which will likely determine our top 3 ambitions.Exciting week.Come on Hibs 4 points minimum.
23-02-2025, 08:02 PM
Good find ! Baws oot !!:agree:
Victor
23-02-2025, 08:04 PM
I don’t know what you are failing to grasp, I was there, right above it and it was clearly out, no ifs, no buts, it was out. End of.
23-02-2025, 08:06 PM
The only people that can answer that is VAR Sportscene premier sports et al are not VAR. The ref may have asked VAR for clarity as he thought it was out, referees do overrule their linesman in the game so VAR can intervene as its a factual incident. There have been games this season where VAR have intervened to confirm the ball has crossed the goal line and a goal awarded.
23-02-2025, 08:09 PM
if that’s a Hibs player it’s a straight red and everyone is saying you can’t tackle like that.
Completely ignored this assault & had the cheek to check for a red card, yes RED, when Rocky had a shot for goal.You couldn't make up.
This, in a nutshell. Different rules for different teams.
In any other league in the world, a small team like Hibs beating a multi-million monster like Celtic would have been celebrated. Even more so, as it makes zero difference to the outcome of the title. Only in Scotland can this be portrayed as some kind of biased, corrupt scandal.
Bottom line. Celtic's multi-millionaires supported with alll the machinery of the Glasgow Football Association were given 98 minutes to score more goals than Hibs... and couldn't do it. Suck that up, losers !
Clear penalty anyone thinking they wouldn’t have got that at the other end is wired to the moon
23-02-2025, 08:33 PM
Absolutely
23-02-2025, 08:34 PM
Yes because the pictures show it was out
23-02-2025, 08:43 PM
I think there would be a majority claiming they show the opposite or are inconclusive to be honest.
Frankly, I wish the ball had been a yard in play just to add to the hilarity of Celtic fans meltdowns but we can't have it all. :greengrin
23-02-2025, 08:55 PM
I think there would be a majority claiming they show the opposite or are inconclusive to be honest.
Frankly, I wish the ball had been a yard in play just to add to the hilarity of Celtic fans meltdowns but we can't have it all. :greengrin
Nobody has seen VAR images so any other images are open to interpretation by the viewer. Rodgers was told it was factual so they must have a definitive image.
John Collins told BBC Sportsound: "Instantly I thought it was out of play. I think the linesman was in a good position I'm surprised he didn't spot it."
Pat Nevin chimed: "I think to be fair he went to raise his flag and put it back down. That is why the good Lord invented VAR."
Went to put his flag up then maybe thought he should wait until the end of the phase of play then probably bottled it to raise his flag after Celtic had put it in the net.
23-02-2025, 09:19 PM
Seeing the highlights on Sportscene I also thought the linesman was wrong to flag Campbell offside when his header was turned over he bar.
Donegal Hibby
23-02-2025, 09:25 PM
Seeing the highlights on Sportscene I also thought the linesman was wrong to flag Campbell offside when his header was turned over he bar.
The one where he gave Celtic a free kick after Boyle was fouled right in front of him was mind boggling. Looked like he hadn’t a clue and was basically guessing on decisions all through the match.
Montford
23-02-2025, 09:40 PM
Watch McLean, without hesitation, point to the spot for Obitas non tackle on Eangers player in the cup last year. If he gave that he gives us this one. No two ways about it.
McLean always always screws over any team playing the Old Firm
You just need to look at the non second yellow for the Celtic defender that halved Miovski last year At Pittodrie. Could’ve been a red and McLeam was looking in my right at it. Then had the audacity to book Miovski for being irate at the decision. He’s a cheat of the highest order
Montford
23-02-2025, 09:43 PM
It was a Hibs player last year.
McLean sent off Moriah-Welsh against Rangers in the cup, for the same tackle with no contact though. Couldn’t wait to get the card out as well.. He needs called out
23-02-2025, 09:44 PM
I think if I'm being brutally honest for a second we may have got a little lucky for Celtic to have that goal overturned. As others have said, there is no factual evidence to suggest it was or wasn't over the line and thus VAR should not have overturned it based on the clear and obvious criteria.
That is unless of course there's something we all don't know yet such as the referee thought it was out and was wanting to disallow it himself, and VAR couldn't prove it was still in to overrule that either. I think this will definitely find itself on the VAR review and the audio will clear up what has happened.
23-02-2025, 09:57 PM
I think if I'm being brutally honest for a second we may have got a little lucky for Celtic to have that goal overturned. As others have said, there is no factual evidence to suggest it was or wasn't over the line and thus VAR should not have overturned it based on the clear and obvious criteria.
That is unless of course there's something we all don't know yet such as the referee thought it was out and was wanting to disallow it himself, and VAR couldn't prove it was still in to overrule that either. I think this will definitely find itself on the VAR review and the audio will clear up what has happened.
Rodgers said he was told it was factual by the ref so there must be an image that VAR must have to prove they have factual evidence to say the ball was over the line, if they didn't have that evidence the goal would have stood would it not.
23-02-2025, 10:01 PM
Rodgers said he was told it was factual by the ref so there must be an image that VAR must have to prove they have factual evidence to say the ball was over the line, if they didn't have that evidence the goal would have stood would it not.
If it wasn’t absolutely obvious the west coast refereeing group would never have disallowed it.
23-02-2025, 10:03 PM
Someone replied to my query about whether we have Goal line technology. Apparently Scottish football deemed it not worth it. That’s an odd one cos surely the most costly decision is where a goal has been scored but not given. But this is the Looney-Toons world we live in I suppose.
Goal line technology is barely ever required and wouldn’t have been used yesterday as the ball didn’t cross the line between the posts.
23-02-2025, 10:08 PM
Yeah potentially. I think this is one I have to see the process and hear the audio to judge how they've made this decision because currently I don't understand how they've come to it based on what we've been shown.
23-02-2025, 10:21 PM
Goal line technology is barely ever required and wouldn’t have been used yesterday as the ball didn’t cross the line between the posts.
Apparently it would extend along the line.
Point of order tho’ : what do you call a disallowed goal?
Well it’s not a goal - so what do you call it? attempt. Perhaps if we correct the weegies and point them to their failed attempt at goal.
23-02-2025, 10:24 PM
Yeah potentially. I think this is one I have to see the process and hear the audio to judge how they've made this decision because currently I don't understand how they've come to it based on what we've been shown.
There are multiple images which have been stopped at different frames of the video some show ball still in others show it out. I would imagine the ref asked for help from VAR because a goal was scored and he may have thought it was out but he wanted to make a factual decision.
23-02-2025, 10:26 PM
If this is all that Rogers and Celtic have to hang onto after that match, then they have more problems that anything VAR can fix.
Here is a club that wins everything domestically. pulls in £ millions in European revenue and sponsorship, is 100% guaranteed to win the title, yet still bleats ad infinitum about the finest of decisions not going their way (for once) in a match where they were outplayed for much of the time.
It is totally disingenuous to Hibs and the way that Hibs played. But no one is in the least surprised.
Just watch them meltdown completely when we knock them out of the cup on their own patch :thumbsup:
23-02-2025, 10:29 PM
Audio: [MacLean] I’m no touchin that with a 50ft pole you can call it! I’m not comin over to the screen to overrule.
[VAR checks rule book] OK we’ve found the rule to deflect flack from ref from the bunker. No reason to refer to the screen aware goal.
PHeffernan
23-02-2025, 10:44 PM
Do you have video? Those blurry stills provide insufficient information to form a reasoned opinion.
I do remember the tackle live but was 40 metres away from it so would like to see it.
23-02-2025, 11:02 PM
I agree.
I also think we should've got a pen.
24-02-2025, 12:02 AM
I saw it with my own eyes from the West Upper as did others around me, that’s all the proof I need!
KazaHibs
24-02-2025, 12:34 AM
The pictures VAR used, the angles are all wrong. Someone has a video from the west upper and I think we got away with one. Good, about time. But it's soo tight.
https://streamable.com/tvy8aa
Here's a video. I'm not so sure it's fully over the line
The radius of a football is 11cm. 9.5 cm is off the ground on either side. The line is 12cm wide.
Close up still photographs and calculation technology available to the VAR team (and not to members of the public) should enable those officials to calculate whether 9.5cm of clear gap exists between the outer edge of the line and the ball on a camera still from the 18 yard line.
If so, the ball is factually out.
24-02-2025, 04:47 AM
The great thing is the Celtic fans are still calling foul play two days after the game
24-02-2025, 05:49 AM
The pictures VAR used, the angles are all wrong. Someone has a video from the west upper and I think we got away with one. Good, about time. But it's soo tight.
https://streamable.com/tvy8aa
Here's a video. I'm not so sure it's fully over the line
Looks out
Have yet to see an image or vt that shows me the ball is definitely in and never went out of play in the meantime I will stick with this and the VAR decision
Brenda wept
24-02-2025, 06:08 AM
Can think of a couple of incidents that would have been helpful.
24-02-2025, 06:09 AM
A majority of people think it was in? Celtic fans maybe
24-02-2025, 07:19 AM
I saw it with my own eyes from the West Upper as did others around me, that’s all the proof I need!
What seats were you in? Hospitality? Miles away. Either way you can concede that an assistant ref is closer.
24-02-2025, 07:20 AM
Looks out
Have yet to see an image or vt that shows me the ball is definitely in and never went out of play in the meantime I will stick with this and the VAR decision
Brenda wept
You can see all of the line and none of the ball , it's clearly out
I reckon using how much grass you can see between the line and the bottom of the ball is a good way to gauge it.
The lines have to be between 5 and 6 inches thick and I'd say there's enough grass between the line and the ball to fit in another line, so that's at least another 5 inches. The radius of the ball is 4.32 inches therefore even if the lines are the thinnest allowed at 5 inches then the ball is out.
https://i.ibb.co/mVZKL3r3/20250224-014805.jpg (https://ibb.co/5gp3NPXP)
https://i.ibb.co/nMpmJ2Yk/Screenshot-20250224-012136-Gallery.jpg (https://ibb.co/KxnhvZfy)
24-02-2025, 07:25 AM
Of course it is! Can’t believe were having this discussion. Weve been gaslit here.
24-02-2025, 07:45 AM
If anyone needed a reminder of how horrible and entitled these ***** are then this is it. They remind me of Rangers fans in the 90's. **** Celtic.
24-02-2025, 08:03 AM
Had he went down less theatrically he might have got the award.
There is clear pushing on his shoulders and while these awards are often frustratingly soft, we see them given regularly now.
Using the standards set this season for penalty awards, this has to be given. You can’t just chop and change what is and isn’t a penalty by the week.
https://i.postimg.cc/BZFNkWtL/IMG-5812.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
O'hara was getting his shirt ripped of his back at the same time. Way more than the nonsesne we had against us v Dundee Utd.
Fifeshirehibs
24-02-2025, 08:04 AM
Some cracking images showing it was out, no guessing Brenda, johnston has either not yet reached it or has reached it and played it back across either way its out no doubt.
Victor
24-02-2025, 08:37 AM
What seats were you in? Hospitality? Miles away. Either way you can concede that an assistant ref is closer.
Eh. No. Thé linesman wasn’t up up with play. Everyone in sections 11 and 12 of the west upper could see it was out. I have no idea why anyone would persist with claiming it was in, when after a VAR review it was officially out and the goal rightfully disallowed.
24-02-2025, 08:38 AM
O'hara was getting his shirt ripped of his back at the same time. Way more than the nonsesne we had against us v Dundee Utd.You can tell by Hatate totally stopping playing he thinks it's a penalty
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Houston7
24-02-2025, 09:22 AM
Yes, the same assistant ref, who flagged Hibs second goal for offside.
24-02-2025, 09:29 AM
Some cracking images showing it was out, no guessing Brenda, johnston has either not yet reached it or has reached it and played it back across either way its out no doubt.
I’m surprised that people are saying this to be honest. I haven’t seen one angle that has definitively proven it to be out of play. It’s a cliche but Sky done the thing before yesterdays hearts game to show how much a ball can look out of play at one angle versus how can look at another.
There is no way in my opinion that any image we’ve seen can factually call the ball out.
O'hara was getting his shirt ripped of his back at the same time. Way more than the nonsesne we had against us v Dundee Utd.
Why do the players have to throw themselves to the ground so dramatically? It stinks of trying to get something for nothing & even if there was a case, it would be unlikely to be given.
Closer isn't necessarily better (how often do officials miss things that fans can see?). He was at ground level, several yards away from the goal line and from the still images it looks like Johnston's leg would have obscured his view. Having a elevated view would have made it a lot easier to see and there would have been people in the West Upper more in line with the goal line than the assistant ref was.
24-02-2025, 09:57 AM
I’m surprised that people are saying this to be honest. I haven’t seen one angle that has definitively proven it to be out of play. It’s a cliche but Sky done the thing before yesterdays hearts game to show how much a ball can look out of play at one angle versus how can look at another.
There is no way in my opinion that any image we’ve seen can factually call the ball out.
There you go
https://i.ibb.co/rR5R8gw8/IMG-3308.png (https://ibb.co/5gsgpdRp)
image hosting (https://imgbb.com/)
24-02-2025, 10:03 AM
I reckon using how much grass you can see between the line and the bottom of the ball is a good way to gauge it.
The lines have to be between 5 and 6 inches thick and I'd say there's enough grass between the line and the ball to fit in another line, so that's at least another 5 inches. The radius of the ball is 4.32 inches therefore even if the lines are the thinnest allowed at 5 inches then the ball is out.
https://i.ibb.co/mVZKL3r3/20250224-014805.jpg (https://ibb.co/5gp3NPXP)
https://i.ibb.co/nMpmJ2Yk/Screenshot-20250224-012136-Gallery.jpg (https://ibb.co/KxnhvZfy)
That's the first conclusive image for me. That's out.
24-02-2025, 10:07 AM
Plenty of Celtic online saying the baw was oot and the better team on the day won
We move on to Wednesday
FastEddieFelson
24-02-2025, 10:51 AM
Do you remember the Japan goal from WC2022?
TrinityHFC
24-02-2025, 10:57 AM
Nothing conclusive about it. It looks out, of course, but the edge of the ball could still be touching the line. You can’t tell from that angle.
24-02-2025, 11:01 AM
Nothing conclusive about it. It looks out, of course, but the edge of the ball could still be touching the line. You can’t tell from that angle.
It's not though. There's too much distance between the line and the bottom of the ball for there to be any overhang.
I still can't believe this being discussed.
It's clearly out.
24-02-2025, 11:04 AM
It's not though. There's too much distance between the line and the bottom of the ball for there to be any overhang.
It's clearly out.
As I posted earlier, Gary Neville shows how difficult it is re a ball being out and how it looks from certain angles
https://youtu.be/OqBl6lCIIoU?si=hv-m8pxS0S39UNI4
I think it’s out, but I don’t get the response to some who think it’s in.
If it was us I’d say it’s inconclusive based on the above and that it should be goal line type of technology that decides it
24-02-2025, 11:09 AM
If this was a Hibs goal that had been disallowed there would be no further mention of it by pundits, media or ex players. Can’t believe it’s still being reported on!
Bushwoof
24-02-2025, 11:17 AM
Looking at the shadow of the ball - if the ball had been at all in play then the the angle of the sun would have put the shadow of the ball clearly over the line and it plainly isn't. That's conclusive enough for me.
mcohibs
24-02-2025, 11:19 AM
Yep. Must admit I wasn’t sure but that image shows the ball has travelled too far over the line on the ground for it to be hanging over from a bird’s eye view. Ball is out.
24-02-2025, 11:22 AM
West Upper elevated view with no one obstructing me in a seat close to the away end. The assistant referee obviously didn’t have a better view as me or the folk around me as we all knew it was out and were pretty relaxed waiting for the VAR result! Have you never realised that an elevated view is often better than being closer to something?
24-02-2025, 11:24 AM
If this was a Hibs goal that had been disallowed there would be no further mention of it by pundits, media or ex players. Can’t believe it’s still being reported on!Given the general one sidedness of the officials on Saturday then it's fair to suggest that If there was even the remotest chance that the ball was in that goal would have stood.
Greenio
24-02-2025, 11:31 AM
I honestly dga flying f if it was in or out (it was out) - I just love watching Brenda whining like a wee baby
You got beat - I know thats a shock to you with your multi million pound team, but thems the breaks, see you in the cup ya welts, we'll do you again!
24-02-2025, 11:33 AM
Are the Declan’s still drawing up graphs and lines?
Maybe time to give it a rest.
Donegal Hibby
24-02-2025, 11:42 AM
It looks out from most of the images shown but so did the Newcastle one too which was proven to be still in, wither it’s out or in doesn’t matter as it wasn’t given .
https://www.premierleague.com/video/single/3768850?FOOTBALL_CLUBS=1
Celtic have more in common with their neighbours than they think as everything’s about them in crying over this when there were other issues in the game like Hibs not getting the penalty , tackle on Bowie that could have been a red card as well as quite a few decisions that wrongfully went against us like Boyle getting fouled and them getting a free kick for it etc .
TrinityHFC
24-02-2025, 11:51 AM
It's clearly out.
The angles on these things have consistently shown to be very deceptive.
I agree that it appears to be out. I do not think we can say that it is conclusive.
Paulie Walnuts
24-02-2025, 11:52 AM
I agree that it appears to be out. I do not think we can say that it is conclusive.
It looks out. The linesman has done the correct thing by letting play develop and VAR to make the call though as he’s no chance of knowing either way.
24-02-2025, 11:54 AM
Even in the 2 frames after it's left Johnston's foot it looks out. Dry yer eyes, Brendan. :rolleyes:
https://i.ibb.co/hR78k1m0/Screenshot-2025-02-24-at-12-51-20.png
https://i.ibb.co/bgHG4mfc/Screenshot-2025-02-24-at-12-51-39.png
https://i.ibb.co/v6hv32PD/Screenshot-2025-02-24-at-12-51-50.png
https://i.ibb.co/VkgxM8r/Screenshot-2025-02-24-at-12-51-59.png
24-02-2025, 11:58 AM
Every time I look at it he looks like he's getting to it on time. It's that tiny fraction of a second that he delays that it rolls beyond the line.
Did you see Sky Sports attempting to leave a ball overhanging the byeline in Perth yesterday? Superb! 🤣
If this was a Hibs goal that had been disallowed there would be no further mention of it by pundits, media or ex players. Can’t believe it’s still being reported on!
Indeed. I'd love to have Rodgers or Chris Sutton saying it was 'inconclusive'in a game v Rangers.
Hibs07p
24-02-2025, 12:35 PM
Has anybody seen the clip that shows the linesman about 10 yards back from the bye line? Hardly the best position to judge if it's in or out. Another fact that tears a hole in his statement about having the best view! Anyway, Clements sacking has deflected Celtcs defeat better than Rogers attempt.
Scottish Cup Winners
24-02-2025, 01:04 PM
Did you see Sky Sports attempting to leave a ball overhanging the byeline in Perth yesterday? Superb! 🤣
I think they illustrated the point perfectly though that VAR could never have accurately said it was out or in to decide what way the decision should go and the referees on field decision should have stood whatever way that is. Even everyone’s examples they’re sending in this thread that claims it shows it out misses the point entirely that you can’t definitely say it’s out from literally any of them because of the overhang.
I’m delighted that it’s went our way, but if that happened to us on Sunday vs Hearts I think we’d all be singing from Brendans hymn sheet instead.
24-02-2025, 01:09 PM
Did they have a goal disallowed?, not seen it mentioned anywhere
stalbanshibby
24-02-2025, 01:11 PM
Same. I was West Upper, and I couldn't believe they even entertained a goal for celtic because the ball was out. Fair enough I wasn't as close as the linesman, but as peeps keep saying, and it seemed true for other calls during the game, there's the possibility of celtic/ west coast bias amongst the officials. For once VAR did it's job. Dry your eyes Brendan.
24-02-2025, 01:15 PM
I agree that it appears to be out. I do not think we can say that it is conclusive.We can conclusively say that they got beat and that the hurricane of pish that has spewed forth from them isn't gonna change that.
Hibs07p
24-02-2025, 01:30 PM
I think they illustrated the point perfectly though that VAR could never have accurately said it was out or in to decide what way the decision should go and the referees on field decision should have stood whatever way that is. Even everyone’s examples they’re sending in this thread that claims it shows it out misses the point entirely that you can’t definitely say it’s out from literally any of them because of the overhang.
I’m delighted that it’s went our way, but if that happened to us on Sunday vs Hearts I think we’d all be singing from Brendans hymn sheet instead.
I think none of the examples weve seen has shown it's definitely in either. I think it's out from what I've seen, but, should the onfield decision stand when there is enough evidence to suggest the ball is more out than in.
I just wish VAR was available when Sparkies free kick against the 'tarts was clearly over the line but disallowed, when the linesman, who was in line, failed to give the signal that it had crossed the line.
Scottish Cup Winners
24-02-2025, 01:32 PM
The first minister is taking questions on it at a hastily convened special session. UN rapporteur will be attending.
24-02-2025, 01:37 PM
Very much this. 👏
24-02-2025, 01:40 PM
It looks out from most of the images shown but so did the Newcastle one too which was proven to be still in, wither it’s out or in doesn’t matter as it wasn’t given .
https://www.premierleague.com/video/single/3768850?FOOTBALL_CLUBS=1
Celtic have more in common with their neighbours than they think as everything’s about them in crying over this when there were other issues in the game like Hibs not getting the penalty , tackle on Bowie that could have been a red card as well as quite a few decisions that wrongfully went against us like Boyle getting fouled and them getting a free kick for it etc .
That decision to give the foul against Boyle was just bizarre. 🤔
I’m going tune into SSB just for the greeting I Cannae wait
24-02-2025, 01:44 PM
Where's this requirement that this decision has to have conclusive beyond all doubt evidence come from?
Every VAR check with the exception of offsides, where they draw lines, relies on the view of the VAR officials observing it.
Remember Hearts had a penalty over-ruled because VAR said the contract was outside the box? They never had to produce a categoric forensicly gathered image to prove it. They never had a perfect angle on it.
There's never been a requirement to stump up the evidence that a ball is in or out AFAIK.
They can just shut the **** up about it already.
This angle was the clincher for me. Definitely out.
24-02-2025, 02:25 PM
Where's this requirement that this decision has to have conclusive beyond all doubt evidence come from?
Every VAR check with the exception of offsides, where they draw lines, relies on the view of the VAR officials observing it.
Remember Hearts had a penalty over-ruled because VAR said the contract was outside the box? They never had to produce a categoric forensicly gathered image to prove it. They never had a perfect angle on it.
There's never been a requirement to stump up the evidence that a ball is in or out AFAIK.
This 100%
The logic from Brendan Rogers is that the linesman is in the best position to make the judgement, well I beg to differ and I can prove it to you, your Honour...:greengrin
Glory Glory
24-02-2025, 02:34 PM
This 100%
The logic from Brendan Rogers is that the linesman is in the best position to make the judgement, well I beg to differ and I can prove it to you, your Honour...:greengrin
Glory Glory
Exactly. The linesman with one view of it, from a shan angle and with the player blocking him.
At least VAR can get a few angles of it, slow it down and consider the decision with a body of evidence to review.
24-02-2025, 02:37 PM
Under the protocol it's a factual check Matty. If the on field decision is given as a goal then VAR cannot factually look at that, from any angle we've all seen, and say it was a wrong decision and overturn it. The same goes for if the referee wanted to disallow it because he felt it was over the line, they can't see it for sure so shouldn't be acting on it.
24-02-2025, 02:47 PM
This 100%
Glory Glory
It's a shame that angle shows the ball still in play mind you.
24-02-2025, 02:54 PM
Can we please stop giving this oxygen now… :rolleyes:
24-02-2025, 02:54 PM
24-02-2025, 02:57 PM
I started the thread so in the words of the dragons den I'm out
24-02-2025, 03:08 PM
Under the protocol it's a factual check Matty. If the on field decision is given as a goal then VAR cannot factually look at that, from any angle we've all seen, and say it was a wrong decision and overturn it. The same goes for if the referee wanted to disallow it because he felt it was over the line, they can't see it for sure so shouldn't be acting on it.
So goal goes in, ref says "was the ball in?" and linesman says "I couldnae see for the player's legs", it's not supposed to go to a VAR check? :confused:
FastEddieFelson
24-02-2025, 03:17 PM
So goal goes in, ref says "was the ball in?" and linesman says "I couldnae see for the player's legs", it's not supposed to go to a VAR check? :confused:
Going to a VAR check was the right thing to do. Overturning the decision based on inconclusive images was not.
24-02-2025, 03:27 PM
Going to a VAR check was the right thing to do. Overturning the decision based on inconclusive images was not.
So how far out does it need to be for it to be conclusive then? The VAR people clearly thought the images they had were conclusive, as do a lot of other people.
24-02-2025, 03:28 PM
But was it a decisive positive decision? What if the linesman can't see and is looking for VAR to help him out?
24-02-2025, 03:30 PM
So how far out does it need to be for it to be conclusive then? The VAR people clearly thought the images they had were conclusive, as do a lot of other people.
For me, the only conclusive evidence would be a shot from directly above, either by camera or the techology they used in that Japan game. We don't have either, so it becomes about judgement, assisted by whatever tools we have.
24-02-2025, 03:34 PM
For me, the only conclusive evidence would be a shot from directly above, either by camera or the techology they used in that Japan game. We don't have either, so it becomes about judgement, assisted by whatever tools we have.
Exactly. If it has to be a guess, I'd rather it was a guess based on freeze frames and slo mo of what is available than a real time ground level view obscured by the player's legs.
KazaHibs
24-02-2025, 03:35 PM
Watch the whole video, it's doesn't look out at all. It's so tough to call.
FastEddieFelson
24-02-2025, 03:36 PM
Agreed. And because we don't have that footage that can categorically prove, without a shadow of a doubt, that 100% of the ball was over the line, then I don't believe the decision should have been made.
24-02-2025, 03:40 PM
Agreed. And because we don't have that footage that can categorically prove, without a shadow of a doubt, that 100% of the ball was over the line, then I don't believe the decision should have been made.
It's a game of football, not a murder trial. :wink:
KazaHibs
24-02-2025, 03:41 PM
Agree with what you are saying. But questions have to be asked about VAR being fit for purpose? What's the point in having some camera angles for calls like this. If this happened to us, I'd be furious. It could be out, it might be in, but it's not certain due to these horrendous camera angles!
24-02-2025, 03:42 PM
But was it a decisive positive decision? What if the linesman can't see and is looking for VAR to help him out?
This is where the VAR review will be interesting to see what on earth actually happened and what the initial communication was on what they all felt was the right decision initially to act on.
The only real ‘correct’ decision in this scenario is if McLean wanted to disallow the goal and VAR couldn’t prove it was still in play in my understanding of the procedure.
24-02-2025, 03:45 PM
Ach well, it's not going to get any more in or any more out by endlessly debating it and viewing the images a thousand times. It was given out and we deservedly won the game. Personally I wish we'd defended 'both' their goals better and then it would have been a moot point, but I'm not going to let this take any of the shine off a fantastic hibs performance that I'm still buzzing about now.
Hibiza
24-02-2025, 03:45 PM
Brendan : bad loser , griper : doesn't suit you Sur .
KazaHibs
24-02-2025, 03:47 PM
Ach well, it's not going to get any more in or any more out by endlessly debating it and viewing the images a thousand times. It was given out and we deservedly won the game. Personally I wish we'd defended 'both' their goals better and then it would have been a moot point, but I'm not going to let this take any of the shine off a fantastic hibs performance that I'm still buzzing about now.
And it shouldn't, plus we deserved it for that shocking penalty decision that went against us. Stonewaller
FastEddieFelson
24-02-2025, 03:49 PM
Agreed. It's a shame this has taken some of the limelight away from what was a fantastic team performance.
Interesting debate though...
24-02-2025, 04:14 PM
Agreed. It's a shame this has taken some of the limelight away from what was a fantastic team performance.
Interesting debate though...Hasn't taken any of the limelight away whatsoever.
It's merely given Celtic, their supporters online and in the media the opportunity to make themselves look like a bunch of spoilt petulant tits who are unbearable bores and sore losers.
**** the lot of them, they can blow it out their *****.
Hasn't taken any of the limelight away whatsoever.
It's merely given Celtic, their supporters online and in the media the opportunity to make themselves look like a bunch of spoilt petulant tits who are unbearable bores and sore losers.
**** the lot of them, they can blow it out their *****.
It has given Brenda an ideal excuse for their Scottish Cup exit "We couldn't focus, we were still seething about being robbed of a point in Edinburgh".
24-02-2025, 04:42 PM
Any updates from crybaby rogers
24-02-2025, 04:53 PM
It has given Brenda an ideal excuse for their Scottish Cup exit "We couldn't focus, we were still seething about being robbed of a point in Edinburgh".:hilarious
24-02-2025, 04:53 PM
Any updates from crybaby rogers
:boo hoo:
DIXIHIBS
24-02-2025, 04:59 PM
Interesting debate though...
Taken the limelight....nah, maybe it even better.
babahibs
24-02-2025, 05:00 PM
Nope, bye kick.
24-02-2025, 05:05 PM
100% :agree:
24-02-2025, 05:10 PM
How can you say that when you don’t know what VAR has seen? It doesn’t matter what we have seen.
24-02-2025, 05:18 PM
I'm not a VAR fan but pre VAR we would have lost that game at least 2-1 thanks to the totally inept linesman who flagged Campbell offside for the second goal and was probably frightened to flag for a by kick. The way Celtic have reacted to the decision just underlines the pressure officials are put under by the Old Firm and why they get most of the decisions going their way.
24-02-2025, 05:26 PM
This doesn't even make the local paper if it's Ross County, Motherwell, St Johnstone, or even us disallowed a goal.
24-02-2025, 05:44 PM
What happened to the TV camera that is normally perched high up in the rear of the South Stand behind the goals ?
That would have had the perfect view of the dead ball line
24-02-2025, 05:52 PM
How can you say that when you don’t know what VAR has seen? It doesn’t matter what we have seen.
I’d be amazed if they’ve got some mystery angle no one else has seen that absolves them from the ire of Celtic fans, but they want to hide it for patter.
24-02-2025, 05:54 PM
It’s all about the positioning of the linesman that blows Rodgers argument out the water, for me.
The very same linesman that flagged for offside with our 2nd goal…🤔
24-02-2025, 06:21 PM
It has given Brenda an ideal excuse for their Scottish Cup exit "We couldn't focus, we were still seething about being robbed of a point in Edinburgh".
3 points. They would definitely have gone on and won the game, had that goal been given. At least that is what the arrogant prick implied post match.
FastEddieFelson
24-02-2025, 06:23 PM
Well yeah. Every statement I've made on this thread is on the basis that VAR is using the same images that have been shared publicly.
The ball was almost certainly out, but the pictures do not conclusively prove it
Imagine if we had scored that to win the game and it was allowed to stand ,what would Rodgers reaction have been ? He woud have wanted it disallowed
24-02-2025, 06:31 PM
Well yeah. Every statement I've made on this thread is on the basis that VAR is using the same images that have been shared publicly.
Even with the images we've seen it's clear the ball is beyond the line . You canny change the laws of physics
24-02-2025, 06:33 PM
Hope it’s proven that it was still in
FastEddieFelson
24-02-2025, 06:37 PM
Even with the images we've seen it's clear the ball is beyond the line . You canny change the laws of physics
Looks out, aye. Can't prove it though.
Donegal Hibby
24-02-2025, 06:37 PM
That decision to give the foul against Boyle was just bizarre. 🤔
Hard to fathom out why it was . Another one I was wondering about is when we had the ball , attacking and Schlupp was on the ground why did the Ref stop play when it obviously wasn’t a head injury :confused:
24-02-2025, 06:45 PM
Yeah, I can see why people are saying it's not clear if the ball was really out...
FastEddieFelson
24-02-2025, 06:58 PM
Just as well, by the sounds of it..
24-02-2025, 07:02 PM
In this context factual just means it's a binary decision as in it's viewed as in or out, it doesn't mean that there needs to be court level burden of proof for it. Was the player in the box when he was fouled or not, was the player offside or not, these are factual checks.
What the VAR do is decide on whether the ball was in or out, from their views they've concluded it's out. As it's not deemed a subjective call, the referee isn't required to view on it, he can accept the VAR direction.
24-02-2025, 07:24 PM
Hard to fathom out why it was . Another one I was wondering about is when we had the ball , attacking and Schlupp was on the ground why did the Ref stop play when it obviously wasn’t a head injury :confused:
I believe it’s not just head injuries anymore and more just a general risk of serious injury
24-02-2025, 07:40 PM
I believe it’s not just head injuries anymore and more just a general risk of serious injury
His injury must have only got serious when we won the ball back and were on the break
24-02-2025, 07:43 PM
Nothing confusing about that.
24-02-2025, 08:09 PM
Can think of a couple of incidents that would have been helpful.
Yeah same. Probably the same two.
VAR sorted 2 out for us on Saturday alone. That’s what mean about goal line technology barely ever being required.
If you look at the Sky one and compare how much grass there is between the ball and the line there looks a fair amount more in Saturday's than the Sky one and Sky's is when the ball is in by the slightest baw hair. Though admittedly Saturday's picture quality isn't so sharp and the angle is different.
https://i.ibb.co/CKhnSng8/Screenshot-20250223-233948-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/r24ZXZY0)
https://i.ibb.co/2YKbXSQP/Screenshot-20250223-233954-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/R4H5LNmP)
Do you remember the Japan goal from WC2022?
As with my above post, it doesn't look like there's as much grass between the ball and the line.
https://i.ibb.co/7Jf0NfFL/Screenshot-20250224-115712-You-Tube.jpg (https://ibb.co/wNk2rk1j)
Donegal Hibby
24-02-2025, 09:13 PM
Nothing confusing about that.
I might be wrong but I thought he allowed them to carry on and it was only when we got the ball back in a decent situation the ref decided to stop play .