View Full Version : Luke McCowan

ShadesLongThrow
22-02-2025, 04:58 PM
Apparently he was playing today. Can’t say I even noticed him.

22-02-2025, 04:59 PM
Does this really need its own thread?

22-02-2025, 05:00 PM

Agree. I get the intention, but surely Idah or Engels are far more worthy of a thread given the £20 mil combined spent on them... £20 MILLION!!!

22-02-2025, 05:02 PM

When they said he was coming off at halftime I thought it was a mistake as I genuinely didn’t think he was playing

22-02-2025, 05:04 PM
Agree. I get the intention, but surely Idah or Engels are far more worthy of a thread given the £20 mil combined spent on them... £20 MILLION!!!

Engels is a wee gimp.

22-02-2025, 05:06 PM

Idah, in my opinion, is up there with the biggest wastes of money in Scottish football history. £9m was it? He'd have been expensive at half that price. There's nothing special about his game at all.

cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 05:12 PM
He wouldn’t have improved us by replacing any of our midfielders today. Food for thought.

22-02-2025, 05:13 PM
Idah, in my opinion, is up there with the biggest wastes of money in Scottish football history. £9m was it? He'd have been expensive at half that price. There's nothing special about his game at all.

I have three words for you:
Tore
Andre
Flo

22-02-2025, 05:15 PM
Tore
Andre
Flo

38 goals in 72 games? I think the Flo transfer is often overplayed. I get how dominant the Huns were at the time though and the fee.

22-02-2025, 05:17 PM
Tore
Andre
Flo

A much better player than Adam Idah.

22-02-2025, 05:20 PM

Only found out when my dad told me.

22-02-2025, 05:21 PM

Was a Hibs target and was anonymous for his new club in a win. Definitely merited.

22-02-2025, 05:24 PM
He wouldn’t have improved us by replacing any of our midfielders today. Food for thought.

Not on today’s performance, but based on other games for them he absolutely would.

cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 05:27 PM
Not on today’s performance, but based on other games for them he absolutely would.

Perhaps. But then it’s about finding a blend too, and our blend today worked betters than theirs, hence we won.

Also, much of the talk about him was that he was the attacking midfielder we needed to make and score goals .. he scored two less than one of our midfielders today. It does matter and is worth consideration.

22-02-2025, 05:28 PM
38 goals in 72 games? I think the Flo transfer is often overplayed. I get how dominant the Huns were at the time though and the fee.

I'm sure I've read Flo scored more goals in his time in Scotland than Henrik Larsson did in the same period.

I suppose one cost £12M and the other £600K though.

cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 05:36 PM
I'm sure I've read Flo scored more goals in his time in Scotland than Henrik Larsson did in the same period.

I suppose one cost £12M and the other £600K though.

Stats of goals and cash etc are interesting, sometimes seem unfathomable … truth is most would pick Larsson every day of the week between the two for their team .. but I’d also admit I’d see Flo as essentially a flop thinking back now, but maybe that’s a bit unfair ? Bad timing ? Hmm … dunno ..

Anyway, on point again, McCowan fell short today against our midfield. Quite enjoyable it was for us has to be said. Rough and smooth and all that … today was smooth as … 😊

Bridge hibs
22-02-2025, 05:53 PM

The lad is a good player and one that would have been a good addition to our team.

22-02-2025, 10:33 PM
Remember when folk were furious when we signed Triantis when we didn’t get McCowan?

22-02-2025, 10:41 PM
Remember when folk were furious when we signed Triantis when we didn’t get McCowan?

No because we didn’t.

22-02-2025, 10:51 PM
No because we didn’t.

Well I didn’t say you did or everyone did but if you can’t remember some fans whingeing about us signing Triantis then we have different recollections.

22-02-2025, 10:52 PM
No because we didn’t.

I wasn't annoyed that we didn't get McCowan but I absolutely did not get the logic of bringing Triantis back and thought that was a really poor decision.

I was very wrong.

22-02-2025, 11:02 PM
McCowan is a quality player and would improve us.

We were brilliant today though and limited him cans the majority of the Celtic squad to very little.

Well done boys

cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 11:17 PM
McCowan is a quality player and would improve us.

We were brilliant today though and limited him cans the majority of the Celtic squad to very little.

Well done boys

Wouldn’t say no to him being in our squad. But his manager today took him off at half time as he couldn’t match our midfielders. Can’t ignore that. Happened.

Bowie made more happen than any player in the celtic team today, and showed he may well do every time we play them … wonder if brendan thinks damn, we could’ve got a bowie rather than McCowan. Different position, different decision .. but .. Brenda will know Bowie made a massive difference today .. and he missed out on someone he could easily have bought ..

.. so .. well done Hibs !!! Well done our recruitment !!

Hmm .. was that a first .. ? Sorry for being honest if so.

23-02-2025, 12:14 AM
Well I didn’t say you did or everyone did but if you can’t remember some fans whingeing about us signing Triantis then we have different recollections.
Unless I’m well of the mark Triantis was signed at the same time as we were still trying to get McCowan. Late on but he was never a signing because we didn’t get McCowan over the line.

23-02-2025, 12:29 AM
Today McCowan had a poor game, which I'm glad he did as it contributed to a Hibs win, but clearly the guy is a quality player who has proved that for both Dundee and Celtic. Its a bit futile to suggest he's not a player we would have had due to 45 minutes today. I assume the original post was being facetious.

cubehindthegoal
23-02-2025, 12:39 AM
Today McCowan had a poor game, which I'm glad he did as it contributed to a Hibs win, but clearly the guy is a quality player who has proved that for both Dundee and Celtic. Its a bit futile to suggest he's not a player we would have had due to 45 minutes today. I assume the original post was being facetious.

You can only judge on what you see before you surely. Facts as opposed to talk. We are talking today about today .. he was taken off for a reason .. after 45 mins. But agree, might’ve been handy to have him on our bench today. But even then, our other subs coped today 😊

23-02-2025, 02:53 AM
Glad McCowan had a tough day, but you can't draw conclusions about what he might have done for Hibs. He's clearly a good player and given the chance to play every week, would likely have been a top pick for SDG. Triantis has been a revelation in midfield, exceeding everyone's (including his own) expectations. Doesn't mean if McCowan became available to Hibs at fair price, we shouldn't go for him.

23-02-2025, 06:20 AM
You don’t get regular games for runaway league leaders and a UCL knock-out stage team unless you are very, very good. Wishful thinking to believe the boy would have been anything other than an exceptionally good signing for Hibs.

23-02-2025, 06:25 AM
He turned Hibs down for the lesser greens, he got handed his arse today… lovely :greengrin

23-02-2025, 06:42 AM
You can only judge on what you see before you surely. Facts as opposed to talk. We are talking today about today .. he was taken off for a reason .. after 45 mins. But agree, might’ve been handy to have him on our bench today. But even then, our other subs coped today 😊

Had we signed him, he'd probably have been as influential to us as John McGinn was. I'm sure losing yesterday won't really bother him as he goes on to become league winner with Celtc this season and gain multiple trophies with them and Scotland international caps.

23-02-2025, 06:49 AM
Had we signed him, he'd probably have been as influential to us as John McGinn was. I'm sure losing yesterday won't really bother him as he goes on to become league winner with Celtc this season and gain multiple trophies with them and Scotland international caps.

you may be right.. but he was still hooked at half time because he was getting schooled in midfield by the hibees. It’s a joyful, humorous thread, gently taking the mickey out of an opposition player that chose not to sign for us… stop sounding like my old maths teacher and enjoy it. :thumbsup:

“hooked at half time.. hooked at half time” :singing:

23-02-2025, 06:59 AM

No doubt he would agree

23-02-2025, 07:06 AM

he’s mostly be used as a sub, once they are already 3-0 up.

23-02-2025, 07:16 AM
Didnt he set up there best chance of the first half with an absolutely brilliant pass over our defenders head?

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Broxburn Greens
23-02-2025, 07:20 AM
Thought he was poor in the first half but that may that we should be giving the Hibs players more credit for marshalling him well and limiting him from doing any real damage.

Wasn't surprised he was hooked at half-time.

23-02-2025, 08:19 AM
Didnt he set up there best chance of the first half with an absolutely brilliant pass over our defenders head?

He did indeed. I agree with the second post on the thread. One game doesn't define a player and to say we couldn't have used him, earlier in the season, when we were struggling to break teams down :greengrin

23-02-2025, 09:47 AM

Scuffed shot. Landed lucky. Pound shop Scott Allan.

23-02-2025, 09:52 AM

He's started half the games for Celtic since he broke into the team. Which isn't a bad stat given how good their midfield is.

You were never good at maths. 🤣

23-02-2025, 09:54 AM
He's started half the games for Celtic since he broke into the team. Which isn't a bad stat given how good their midfield is.

You were never good at maths. 🤣

Aye, he’s played a lot more than I thought he would. Doesn’t look out of place either for the most part.

23-02-2025, 10:07 AM

According to transfermrkt he's been in the starting 11 52% of the time, played 51% of minutes and been involved in 15% of Celtics goals

23-02-2025, 10:36 AM
I think he’s a terrific player and sorry we missed out but he’s a Celtic player now so irrelevant for me until he starts putting great performances in for Scotland.

23-02-2025, 12:25 PM
According to transfermrkt he's been in the starting 11 52% of the time, played 51% of minutes and been involved in 15% of Celtics goals

For league games? I noticed he hasn't started any of their ten champions league games, playing a total of 47 minutes. He's also started all their league cup games (5).

It skews his stats quite a bit. Squad game and they clearly need players of lesser ability to fill in at times.

McCowan was pretty dire yesterday. That said, he's a decent for a bit part here and their and games against the diddy sides.

23-02-2025, 12:31 PM
For league games? I noticed he hasn't started any of their ten champions league games, playing a total of 47 minutes. He's also started all their league cup games (5).

It skews his stats quite a bit. Squad game and they clearly need players of lesser ability to fill in at times.

McCowan was pretty dire yesterday. That said, he's a decent for a bit part here and their and games against the diddy sides.

McCowan made the choice to go to Celtic
Bank balance will be good, he’s just a bit part player and is getting no consistency of games, hence getting hooked yesterday

23-02-2025, 01:05 PM
McGowan could have been sub-McGinn if he’d gone to Hibs but opted for being sub-Brown by going straight to Celtic. The key is ‘sub’. He would never go onto champions league level like McGinn, probably championship, lower half of premiership is the most we could have got from him.

But also being sub Brown he won’t be a mainstay in the joyless, soulless trophy purchase they undertake each season, but a bit part player. He probably knows his level and maybe lacks the arrogance/confidence of a McGinn to go out there and find it.

He’s a very good player by SPL standards though and that he and the other opposing midfielders with bigger reps were subdued by our enthusiasm and energy yesterday is a massive testament to Gray and his staff.

aberhibsfc
23-02-2025, 01:45 PM
McCowan, get it round ye!

23-02-2025, 01:48 PM
Would take him…..,as a bench warmer

23-02-2025, 02:49 PM
Cracking player to be fair. Cracking team beat his team though.