View Full Version : Brendan Rogers...

22-02-2025, 02:58 PM
.......Neil Lennon, Rod Stewart, Bill Connolly, Gerard Butler, Micheál Martin, Paddy Power,

..and awe the wee Leprechauns, wherever you are!

Your Bhoys took a hell of a beating today!!!!!!

22-02-2025, 03:01 PM
I read a quote of his where he doesn’t criticise match of officials. I wonder if he’ll stick with that today. :rolleyes:

22-02-2025, 03:31 PM
I hope Rod Stewart felt that today today. Can't stand the drunken melt.

22-02-2025, 03:33 PM
Well, I’m hoping to see conclusive evidence that it was out,” he said. “The linesman on this side, he had his flag up quite a lot today, but for the goal, he clearly has probably one of the best views in the ground and he kept his flag down, which tells me that he felt it was in, not all of the ball was out.

“Then you’ve got to go and review it with VAR, but then you’re taking an angle from the 18-yard line. If you’re taking the angle from the 18-yard line, and you can tell me that you can absolutely say 100 per cent, then you’re having a guess.

“These are big games to be guessing, especially at this point in the season. Obviously the linesman was in a great position, so it was disappointing to have the official overruled in that moment. We were in a great moment. We get to two each, then we’ve still got enough time to go and find a winner.”

https://news.stv.tv/sport/brendan-rodgers-questions-var-decision-after-celtic-suffer-rare-domestic-defeat

Trinity Hibee
22-02-2025, 03:33 PM
Well, I’m hoping to see conclusive evidence that it was out,” he said. “The linesman on this side, he had his flag up quite a lot today, but for the goal, he clearly has probably one of the best views in the ground and he kept his flag down, which tells me that he felt it was in, not all of the ball was out.

“Then you’ve got to go and review it with VAR, but then you’re taking an angle from the 18-yard line. If you’re taking the angle from the 18-yard line, and you can tell me that you can absolutely say 100 per cent, then you’re having a guess.

“These are big games to be guessing, especially at this point in the season. Obviously the linesman was in a great position, so it was disappointing to have the official overruled in that moment. We were in a great moment. We get to two each, then we’ve still got enough time to go and find a winner.”

What did he say about the Hibs pen?

22-02-2025, 03:34 PM
What did he say about the Hibs pen?

I've added the link to my post

s2hart
22-02-2025, 03:34 PM
Premier sports commentary was like listening to Celtic TV commentators, Neil Lennon was pro celtic, I thought suppose to be impartial considering he has links to both clubs. Get it right up them!!

Chorley Hibee
22-02-2025, 03:38 PM
Only Celtic could watch those ****ing officials today and somehow come to the conclusion that they were the team hard done by.

Remarkable.

Did Brenda mention anything about budgets? 😝

22-02-2025, 03:42 PM
Premier sports commentary was like listening to Celtic TV commentators, Neil Lennon was pro celtic, I thought suppose to be impartial considering he has links to both clubs. Get it right up them!!
Neil Lennon has absolutely zero affinity to Hibs, look at how he carried on the end of his time here, he’s a complete and utter Celtic prick. Get it right up him

jonny
22-02-2025, 03:43 PM

Lennon was extremely complimentary to Hibs 🤷

22-02-2025, 03:44 PM
Rodgers is a ****ing cringe.

More Brent than Johnson ever was. The kind of guy you know everyone is trying not to laugh at when he is in the room and then there is a collective giggle as soon as he leaves.

English glory hunter!

Gave Gray a big hug after his post match interview as well.

Aye on several occasions with 10 mins left Lennon was banging on about Celtic will still get chances. Celtic cant

22-02-2025, 03:47 PM
Brenda is another classless clown who can't praise the opposition. GIFRUY 😁

22-02-2025, 03:49 PM
The man is just a fud, full of his own entitlement great to hear him whinging away, but never heard him mention budgets.

22-02-2025, 03:51 PM
Get it so far up you, Brenda

22-02-2025, 03:52 PM
Listening to Rogers whinging and saying var official was a cheat surely he brings game into disrepute

22-02-2025, 03:54 PM
Listening to Rogers whinging and saying var official was a cheat surely he brings game into disrepute

You would think so eh but I wouldn’t bet on it.

His greetin in his post match interview is embarrassing.

22-02-2025, 03:56 PM
Brenda is another classless clown who can't praise the opposition. GIFRUY 😁

Always remember Tony Pulis saying he spoke to Alex Ferguson after Stoke were promoted and asked his advice. Fergie told him to never play in a way that has guys like me and Wenger praising you because we only do that when we win.

Rodgers was full of praise for Hibs under Monty last season after they turned us over 4-1 at Celtic Park. Less forthcoming with the praise when he got his arse handed to him today. Funny that.

22-02-2025, 04:00 PM
Lizard boy took a hell of a licking today

Classless fud

22-02-2025, 04:01 PM
Always remember Tony Pulis saying he spoke to Alex Ferguson after Stoke were promoted and asked his advice. Fergie told him to never play in a way that has guys like me and Wenger praising you because we only do that when we win.

Rodgers was full of praise for Hibs under Monty last season after they turned us over 4-1 at Celtic Park. Less forthcoming with the praise when he got his arse handed to him today. Funny that.

He is a phanny!

22-02-2025, 04:03 PM

His da didn’t raise him right!

22-02-2025, 04:03 PM

https://news.stv.tv/sport/brendan-rodgers-questions-var-decision-after-celtic-suffer-rare-domestic-defeat

What it tells is that a lot more often that not Celtic get the benefit of the doubt from the predominantly west based officials and because it wasn't a subjective decision, VAR couldn't not intervene.

22-02-2025, 04:17 PM
Dick!

22-02-2025, 04:20 PM
His argument is based on the inept stand side linesman being the only person in the ground that didn't think the ball was out.
What a balloon.

cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 04:21 PM
Sings when he’s winning. Talks nonsense when he’s losing.

22-02-2025, 04:22 PM
Is and always will be a complete and utter throbber.

Get it so far round him, prick!

22-02-2025, 04:23 PM
For the most part I don't mind Rodgers but today just makes him look like a greetin faced chunnt. His mob and Sevco get more "lucky" breaks than we ever will.

22-02-2025, 04:23 PM
Managing Celtic is the easiest job in world football. The true colours show when they get pumped.

MKHIBEE
22-02-2025, 04:39 PM
Obviously the financial gap between us and Celtic needs to be bigger. Melt.

22-02-2025, 04:55 PM
Rogers didn't have any issue with the same linesman wrongly disallowing Hibs' second goal and only VAR getting it to stand.
Guy is an absolute weapon.

22-02-2025, 04:57 PM
His wee whistle that he does is really annoying, like some sort of weirdo shepherd

22-02-2025, 04:58 PM
His wee whistle that he does is really annoying, like some sort of weirdo shepherd

22-02-2025, 05:00 PM
The man’s an erse

22-02-2025, 05:01 PM

Yep, he was. Some on here won't like that but it's true.

22-02-2025, 05:06 PM
Aye on several occasions with 10 mins left Lennon was banging on about Celtic will still get chances. Celtic cant

They did

Hibees1973
22-02-2025, 05:06 PM
Rodgers ought to declare that the vast majority of marginal decisions go Celtic's way in the SPFL.

The ball was clearly out. Clearly.

There is a lack of credibility on his part that he fails to point out all the marginal decision which go Celtic's way.

22-02-2025, 05:14 PM
Rodgers ought to declare that the vast majority of marginal decisions go Celtic's way in the SPFL.

The ball was clearly out. Clearly.

There is a lack of credibility on his part that he fails to point out all the marginal decision which go Celtic's way.

Look at the penalties they got at Easter Road to steal 3 points last season

cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 05:21 PM
Lennon was complimentary about us today to an extent, in fact he was clear in his astonishment and surprise (perhaps with some disappointment seeping through lol) that we were doing so well !

But he was more interested in letting us know how celtic could turn it round, how we will essentially cave eventually, and it was clear that’s because it was what he was hoping for. He’s not Hibs, never has been. He’s celtic, simple.

But wait, this is brendan rodgers thread … he’s even less Hibs 😉

22-02-2025, 05:30 PM
Look at the penalties they got at Easter Road to steal 3 points last season

Still astonishes me that one given against Triantis. Never seen anything like it before or since.

Victor
22-02-2025, 05:31 PM
His argument is based on the inept stand side linesman being the only person in the ground that didn't think the ball was out.
What a balloon.

Agree. Everyone in the West could see it was out, I think Jordan Smith thought it was out (why he didn’t move) Iredale definitely knew it was out, the only person who couldn’t see it was the linesman, who was miles off the play. So quick to put his flag up in the first half when Hibs were on the attack, but posted missing at Celtic fouls and handballs. Clown.

EskbankHibby
22-02-2025, 05:33 PM
His face when he’s told it was a FACTUAL decision change.😂😂😂

“Aye, but equipment a that”. Fanny.

22-02-2025, 05:48 PM
Even if it's only for one decision,welcome to the reality for all non-Old Firm clubs and get it right up your self entitled, graceless erchie.

weedgiehibbie
22-02-2025, 05:52 PM
Obviously the financial gap between us and Celtic needs to be bigger. Melt.

Was thnking the same abou the finaincla gap afer the game.

Rodgers mentioned after the Bayrn game about the differeice if fianances between Celtic and Baen, don't seem to have heard him refer to the huge differeence in facnes between Hibs and Celtic today.

Roond ya Rodgers!!

ShinyFantastic
22-02-2025, 06:08 PM
Rodgers*

Paul1642
22-02-2025, 06:16 PM
Moaning faces git. Your team were well beaten.

snedzuk
22-02-2025, 06:19 PM

If they were guessing it was out, then they would also have been guessing it was in. Suck it up, tool.

22-02-2025, 06:43 PM
Only an a***hole would try and argue the whole ball wasn't out.

https://i.ibb.co/yc62rXM1/Screenshot-20250222-194031-BBC-i-Player.jpg (https://ibb.co/67HQkmpx)

Paul1642
22-02-2025, 06:44 PM
If they were guessing it was out, then they would also have been guessing it was in. Suck it up, tool.

The on field decision was to give the goal therefore VAR has to prove otherwise.

Having just watched it on Sportscene it’s out IMO despite the Neil McCann saying otherwise (shock).

Not that I would have sympathy anyway, but it levelled out because not only were we denied a penalty, but they then went up the park and would have scored if not for Rocky continuing his form of heroics.

22-02-2025, 06:49 PM

https://i.ibb.co/yc62rXM1/Screenshot-20250222-194031-BBC-i-Player.jpg (https://ibb.co/67HQkmpx)

Hope in particular Leith CSC are spewing.

22-02-2025, 06:50 PM
What a balloon.

And then started shouting at him when var said it was out! ***** a ****

22-02-2025, 06:58 PM
The on field decision was to give the goal therefore VAR has to prove otherwise.

Having just watched it on Sportscene it’s out IMO despite the Neil McCann saying otherwise (shock).

Not that I would have sympathy anyway, but it levelled out because not only were we denied a penalty, but they then went up the park and would have scored if not for Rocky continuing his form of heroics.
McCann said the linesman had the best view of all and(I think) should have been supported in his decision. This being the same linesman who had the best view of all yet wrongly flagged for offside at our second goal.

cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 06:59 PM

Have they interviewed the ball yet? BBC Sportsound would pay good money I’m sure for its views, if the balls views work with their views. The ball may also back up the views of any referees or linesmen who would hope the ball “felt” it was still on the pitch. Perhaps Brendan could speak privately to the ball. Surely the SFA could step in here too, and form a committee, neutral of course, that could have a word with the ball, in confidence, and see if it maybe knows a way round this decision after the fact, to make sure we all know our place, and also know that the old firm are always right about the injustices against them both. That only they see. Grievous apparently I’ve heard. No bias anywhere their way. 😂

Agree, clear to me mate .. but we have to allow for them to argue their case … and I say, better listening to the ball, than them.

22-02-2025, 07:02 PM
McCann said the linesman had the best view of all and(I think) should have been supported in his decision. This being the same linesman who had the best view of all yet wrongly flagged for offside at our second goal.

Quite :agree:

cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 07:03 PM

Yup. He’s only wrong if it’s against the old firm. If it’s for them, he’s right. This is the story the old firm and the SFA read to their children at bedtime.

22-02-2025, 07:06 PM
Rodgers epitomises that trait so evident with Celtic - terrible losers and equally terrible winners.

Had the goal stood and game finished level, or if they added a winner, we’d have been subjected to a speech dripping with patronising faux praise and admiration.

The toys flying out the pram was just what you’d expect.

22-02-2025, 07:08 PM

That's just ****ing ridiculous. Because he was close he can't be wrong? VAR proved that to be bull****.

I agree in that he shouldn't be wrong given how close he was. But he embarrassed himself the whole game with how poor he was.

22-02-2025, 07:09 PM
His da didn’t raise him right!

Correct

22-02-2025, 07:16 PM
Yep, he was. Some on here won't like that but it's true.

Felt like every positive comment about us was prefaced by "Has to be said ... " - in other words "I don't like it but ... ".

22-02-2025, 07:26 PM
There's no chance the linesman had a decent view of it, which is probably why he didn't raise his flag. He had an awful view.

You can see his position in the 1st screen grab which is just as the Celtic player shifts it to his right foot then immediately plays the pass so there's no chance the linesman was anywhere near the goal line (he'd stopped when I took the screen grab). And in the 2nd screen grab it's fairly obvious that wherever he is he wouldn't have been able to see the leftmost part of the ball because the player's leg would have been in the way.

https://i.ibb.co/DPHc6z6x/Screenshot-20250222-201116-BBC-i-Player.jpg (https://ibb.co/Gf4Y1n1K)
https://i.ibb.co/sdJR5KRF/Screenshot-20250222-200848-BBC-i-Player.jpg (https://ibb.co/dwJMbPMQ)

22-02-2025, 07:30 PM
There's no chance the linesman had a decent view of it, which is probably why he didn't raise his flag. He had an awful view.

You can see his position in the 1st screen grab which is just as the Celtic player shifts it to his right foot then immediately plays the pass so there's no chance the linesman was anywhere near the goal line. And in the 2nd screen grab it's fairly obvious that wherever he is he wouldn't have been able to see the leftmost part of the ball because the player's leg would have been in the way.

https://i.ibb.co/DPHc6z6x/Screenshot-20250222-201116-BBC-i-Player.jpg (https://ibb.co/Gf4Y1n1K)
https://i.ibb.co/sdJR5KRF/Screenshot-20250222-200848-BBC-i-Player.jpg (https://ibb.co/dwJMbPMQ)

https://i.pinimg.com/474x/b2/e3/9f/b2e39f6f8dc734d9009b6562be5844fa.jpg

22-02-2025, 07:57 PM
Neil Lennon has absolutely zero affinity to Hibs, look at how he carried on the end of his time here, he’s a complete and utter Celtic prick. Get it right up him

22-02-2025, 08:00 PM

You can see his position in the 1st screen grab which is just as the Celtic player shifts it to his right foot then immediately plays the pass so there's no chance the linesman was anywhere near the goal line (he'd stopped when I took the screen grab). And in the 2nd screen grab it's fairly obvious that wherever he is he wouldn't have been able to see the leftmost part of the ball because the player's leg would have been in the way.

It’s as clear as day. Thank you.

Celtc are home and dry already in this league anyhow so I’ve no idea why Brendan is greeting. This would have been a good time for him to back up his claim that he doesn’t criticise officials.

22-02-2025, 08:07 PM
The main stand linesman was at it all game today. Ignoring fouls right in front of him, or worse giving them the wrong way and the 2nd goal offside decision. So even if he had the best view of the ball going over the line I wouldn't trust his decision as far as I could throw him.

They got loads of decisions today - pulling up the play when Schlupp went down being one of the worst. Funny how play wasn't stopped when Celtic had the initial break on.

22-02-2025, 09:13 PM

Celtc are home and dry already in this league anyhow so I’ve no idea why Brendan is greeting. This would have been a good time for him to back up his claim that he doesn’t criticise officials.

It's about future decisons and putting pressure on officals. Alan Muir is currently getting abuse on social media, largely thanks to Rodgers' comments imo. It wouldn't surprise me if that in an upcoming pre-match press conference for a big game (like the cup) he'll say something like he hopes the officials are strong, to act as a reminder of the abuse they could get.

22-02-2025, 09:23 PM
Will Brendan be offering an apology now that the footage has been viewed?

He’ll be sat in his house tonight disappointed with a rare league defeat, but must be racked with embarrassment and regret after his histrionics at end with officials and leaving his dignity scattered across the Easter Road pitch.

cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 09:31 PM

He’ll be sat in his house tonight disappointed with a rare league defeat, but must be racked with embarrassment and regret after his histrionics at end with officials and leaving his dignity scattered across the Easter Road pitch.

I’m guessing he’s over it pretty soon. Hope he does reflect. But some in football seem like some politicians.

snedzuk
22-02-2025, 10:23 PM

Hopefully he's sitting on his own in a string vest and has just discovered his red wine is corked.

23-02-2025, 06:52 AM
It's amazing how bitter they can be, they have dominated Scottish football for decades and won more trophies than I can remember, we beat them once in a blue moon and they are seething. They look like a bunch of clowns right now :hilarious

23-02-2025, 07:01 AM
Utterly classless.

23-02-2025, 07:02 AM
It's amazing how bitter they can be, they have dominated Scottish football for decades and won more trophies than I can remember, we beat them once in a blue moon and they are seething. They look like a bunch of clowns right now :hilarious

But this shocking decision will probably mean that they only win the league by 20 points instead of 23. No wonder Rogers is angry.

23-02-2025, 07:03 AM

These are the fans who protested outside the stadium when they lost a cup tie which meant they wouldn’t win a treble for the umpteenth year in a row

23-02-2025, 07:04 AM
Rogers has always been like this.

Happy to give credit to the opposition when Celtic win, but no sense of perspective at all.

He could take a few lessons from David Gray.

Broxburn Greens
23-02-2025, 07:14 AM
Rodgers having the audacity to greet about the match officials just beggars belief after yesterday's game.

The linesman on the East was utterly inept, waiting far too long to raise his flag in the 1st half and then when Hibs broke from an offside Celtic move at the point Boyle was possibly about to go clean through he raised it :confused::confused::confused:

The West linesman giving an offside to try and rule out Campbell's second and then not raising it because he thinks Celtic should get an extra yard of pitch to play in at their second says enough about him.

The ref, three Hibs players felled in the first half and no free kick, Boyle (I think) about to go clean through again and hauled back by the arm, no free kick, not giving a penalty in the second half and the absence of his yellow card for any Celtic offence. Then of course a Celtic player simply needs to fall over and its a free kick to them.

And then finding 8, yes 8 minutes to add on.

Then VAR trying to find an excuse to send Rocky off....

That about covers it by and large... Literally like playing against 3 extra men at times.

Makes winning all the sweeter.

23-02-2025, 07:52 AM
"I was delighted that the groundsman painted the lines straight this morning and the pitch was the size it was!" he said. "I think that's very, very fine margins isn't it?

🤣🤣🤣🤣

hibstag
23-02-2025, 07:55 AM

He wasn't wrong in that analysis though was he they were chasing the game

23-02-2025, 07:57 AM

They are decisions linesmen make every game. He clearly should have flagged imo

CJHibby
23-02-2025, 08:24 AM
No class. The ball was OUT to most people's eyes so the right decision was made. Grow up Brendan and stop pandering to your entitled fans.

23-02-2025, 08:31 AM
No class. The ball was OUT to most people's eyes so the right decision was made. Grow up Brendan and stop pandering to your entitled fans.

Just adds more fuel to to their myth of always cheated, never defeated when they are, em, defeated.

CJHibby
23-02-2025, 08:38 AM
I think the ref and officials had a very poor game overall yesterday. Chopping off that 'second' goal and no penalty were correct decisions though..another problem is the likes of Sportscene backing up Rodgers..you can't honestly say that ball wasn't totally out surely?

Jdawg
23-02-2025, 08:39 AM
One of the linesmen also flagged Campbell for offside for his header but was clearly a yard on. Maybe not the ultimate authority after all Brenda 😂

23-02-2025, 08:40 AM
I think the ref and officials had a very poor game overall yesterday. Chopping off that 'second' goal and no penalty were correct decisions though..another problem is the likes of Sportscene backing up Rodgers..you can't honestly say that ball wasn't totally out surely?

Sportscene was ****ing mental. They were going nuts about a goal being correctly ruled out.

Watch the KMI panel come out 3:2 saying the goal should have stood now.

Anything to keep them happy

23-02-2025, 08:42 AM
One of the linesmen also flagged Campbell for offside for his header but was clearly a yard on. Maybe not the ultimate authority after all Brenda 😂

Has there been any explanation as to why that linesman flagged for a “foul” against Boyle in first half when he was wrestled to the ground near Celtics box?

23-02-2025, 08:48 AM

Brendan Rodgers thinks the linesman had the best view, so the goal should have stood. This is the same linesman who thought our 2nd goal was offside.

Think I'd take VAR's decision over that particular linesman. What's the saying? Should have gone to Specsavers.

23-02-2025, 09:16 AM
What is Rodger’s record at ER? Isn’t the best is it. Giruh

23-02-2025, 10:02 AM
What is Rodger’s record at ER? Isn’t the best is it. Giruh

Two wins, two draws and three defeats.

Caversham Green
23-02-2025, 10:12 AM
They are decisions linesmen make every game. He clearly should have flagged imo

I think VAR has changed the on-field officials mindset - definitely for offside, but also for decisions like this.

Without VAR, linesman is 99% sure the ball is out so flags.

With VAR, he is 1% unsure whether the ball is out so doesn't flag and VAR can sort it out.

23-02-2025, 10:17 AM
Must have got to him with that performance and result.
He went into the protocol or not paying tribute to the victors (fair enough doesn’t have to but it normally does if they’ve just beaten a Scottish team) focusing on Celtic and not throwing players / team under a bus. Focusing his ire on the officials.

LewysGot2
23-02-2025, 10:18 AM
I think VAR has changed the on-field officials mindset - definitely for offside, but also for decisions like this.

With VAR, he is 1% unsure whether the ball is out so doesn't flag and VAR can sort it out.

Not sure his optics when disallowing Josh’s 2nd goal when he’s about a metre or more onside? Same guy - both goals he gambles on getting it right? Both decisions he makes favour, yep, one side only. We would have lost 2-1 if VAR wasn’t there…

23-02-2025, 10:18 AM
Sportscene was ****ing mental. They were going nuts about a goal being correctly ruled out.

Watch the KMI panel come out 3:2 saying the goal should have stood now.

Anything to keep them happy

Pundits should focus solely on the issue. If their opinion is that there's been a wrong decision then call that out, but the animated inference that it matters more because it was against Celtc is a bit cringey.

23-02-2025, 10:21 AM

and that’s how Rogers can exploit that situation by applying pressure on the offials over what that then looks like.

Question - I thought we did have goal line technology (seems like an obvious one to introduce) does it extend to the full width of the pitch?

23-02-2025, 10:34 AM
and that’s how Rogers can exploit that situation by applying pressure on the offials over what that then looks like.

Question - I thought we did have goal line technology (seems like an obvious one to introduce) does it extend to the full width of the pitch?

GLT is not used in Scotland, I believe the clubs all agreed that the cost of implementation vs the benefits of such a system was not worth it.

If Celtic want GLT to be used in Scotland, they are more than welcome to pony up the cash to pay for it's implementation at all grounds, they've got plenty in the bank.

23-02-2025, 10:35 AM
You'd think VAR would have used the red and blue lines that are used for determining offsides, one for the leftmost part of the ball and one on the rightmost part of the line. It is flawed because it is trying to decide on a 3d scenario using a 2d image but that's what's used for offsides so could have been used for this.

23-02-2025, 10:44 AM
Our game was actually mentioned in The Guardian today. Very little discussion of the game and mostly just quoting Brenda's outraged rant.

There was the usual nut job comments below the line but some of the Celtc fans were very complimentary about how we'd played...unlike Brenda

23-02-2025, 10:46 AM
Brenda is a classless phanney end of.

Hibiza
23-02-2025, 10:57 AM
Classless , mentioned earlier : says it all.

23-02-2025, 11:02 AM
He's a nob , Even celtic fans hate him for leaving when 10 in a row looked like a formality

Dry yer eyes ya scroat

23-02-2025, 11:03 AM
The Celtic meltdown has been ridiculous.

Basically won everything for nearly a decade and a half and one loss has them crying conspiracy and going ****ing mental all over social media and in an official capacity as well.

I pity them if they ever know genuinely tough times again.

23-02-2025, 11:05 AM

Basically won everything for nearly a decade and a half and one loss has them crying conspiracy and going ****ing mental all over social media and in an official capacity as well.

Rangers and Celtic fans are the same, they just claim to follow a different religion. Both deluded, arrogant, glory hunting thugs whose support of their club has **** all to do with football.

23-02-2025, 11:19 AM
Our game was actually mentioned in The Guardian today. Very little discussion of the game and mostly just quoting Brenda's outraged rant.

There was the usual nut job comments below the line but some of the Celtic fans were very complimentary about how we'd played...unlike Brenda
The same when we got the point v Rangers. All the chat for days about a controversial penalty awarded because Clemont wasn't happy. If we conceded the same pen it would be 'clumsy defending' and the game goes on.

The OF have the media playing to their tune every time.

BR should have had the class yesterday to praise DG and how well we played and fought for everything, and recognise they weren't at their best - how many overhit passes first half went out for a Hibs GK - and not look for excuses from being away at Bayern. No more needed to be said. Anyway you would think most decent fans would see through the usual distraction techniques.

23-02-2025, 11:23 AM
A gentle reminder to the officials at the end to say you don't give decisions AGAINST the ugly sisters

Guys is laughable. They have refs terrified to give decisions for fear of personal retribution but rather than say how difficult it is to officiate with the limitations in technology with camera angles etc and offer an appreciate to the officials he'd rather have a go at a decision going against them (despite being 13 points clear in February) classless

He could offer his club to fund some extra tech equipment for the league from all the champions league money they bring in that keeps them miles ahead of everyone else?

PHeffernan
23-02-2025, 11:25 AM
GLT is not used in Scotland, I believe the clubs all agreed that the cost of implementation vs the benefits of such a system was not worth it.

If Celtic want GLT to be used in Scotland, they are more than welcome to pony up the cash to pay for it's implementation at all grounds, they've got plenty in the bank.

I remember reading an article which stated that GLT was more expensive than VAR.
If that is the case the clubs made a pragmatic and good decision.

He's a nob , Even celtic fans hate him for leaving when 10 in a row looked like a formality

Dry yer eyes ya scroat

The state Leicester are in now they might come calling again.

A gentle reminder to the officials at the end to say you don't give decisions AGAINST the ugly sisters

Guys is laughable. They have refs terrified to give decisions for fear of personal retribution but rather than say how difficult it is to officiate with the limitations in technology with camera angles etc and offer an appreciate to the officials he'd rather have a go at a decision going against them (despite being 13 points clear in February) classless

He could offer his club to fund some extra tech equipment for the league from all the champions league money they bring in that keeps them miles ahead of everyone else?
I’d posted it in the match thread about a comment on BBC Sport Scotland’s social media from a Celtic fan that was along the lines of “even if jt was a couple of inches over the line why couldn’t they just let jt go? Clancy and the other lads would” (and that’s very, very close to the original wording, I just can’t be bothered looking it out) but it perfectly sums up the attitude to the non OF teams from the two arsecheeks. They see it as Harlem Globetrotters stuff.

23-02-2025, 11:51 AM
You'd think VAR would have used the red and blue lines that are used for determining offsides, one for the leftmost part of the ball and one on the rightmost part of the line. It is flawed because it is trying to decide on a 3d scenario using a 2d image but that's what's used for offsides so could have been used for this.

That seems like an obvious option for the VAR officials to do/try...

:greengrin:greengrin

Up-the-slope
23-02-2025, 12:13 PM
Quote from Brenda's post match interview....... no not from Hibs game but after Bayern

'we've taken a club of this size and magnitude and, you know, a club where one of the players is maybe more than our budget to buy players what they might be on in salary'

Irony does not even cover it

23-02-2025, 12:15 PM

23-02-2025, 12:33 PM

Fair point, well made

23-02-2025, 12:34 PM
Fair point, well made

Most sense I’ve written in ages [emoji41]

23-02-2025, 12:35 PM
Most sense I’ve written in ages [emoji41]

🤣🤣🤣

Ship of Hope
23-02-2025, 12:38 PM
Agreed 😉

Ship of Hope
23-02-2025, 12:41 PM
Quite liked brendan rogers when he was starting out as a manager but thought his behaviour yesterday lacked a bit of class. He has caught the entitled bug.

badabing67
23-02-2025, 01:08 PM
Gave Gray a big hug after his post match interview as well.

Always wondered if there was some animosity between them when Lennon left.

23-02-2025, 01:11 PM
BR doesn’t have a very good record at ER. Not sure if the stats but Celtic have only won once it twice when he’s been in charge, on 2 managerial stints

23-02-2025, 01:19 PM
Let’s face it, with the wage bill that’s more than every other SPL club combined, Rogers is expected to win every single domestic fixture. Losing one is a major custard pie in the face moment for him and of course he’s going to dive into every grumbling morsel from the management cliche sour grapes basket.

Brunswickbill
23-02-2025, 01:35 PM

It’s a crazy rule that’s impossible to enforce correctly. The linesman or ref has to draw an imaginary perpendicular line from the edge of the ball closest the the outside of the white line to adjudge whether it’s out. Impossible to do perfectly in a split second. It would be more straightforward if the rule was that the ball should be touching the outer edge of the line to be in play. Though it wouldn’t help if the ball wasn’t on the ground. But that ball yesterday was out, the only reason for the controversy is because it was against Celtic.

23-02-2025, 01:43 PM
Why was crybaby Rogers not carded at his hysterical outburst at the official's.

23-02-2025, 02:24 PM
About a year ago, he kicked off about VAR (and Beaton) after Hearts beat them.

23-02-2025, 02:39 PM
Dont know why theres such a hatefest against Rod Stewart, the guys a Scotland and Celtic fan so fn what,he loves Scotland and has done some great work getting Scotland noticed the world over, I think hes earned the right over the decades to make a di&k of himself. Or is it because hes english?

23-02-2025, 02:42 PM
Quite liked brendan rogers when he was starting out as a manager but thought his behaviour yesterday lacked a bit of class. He has caught the entitled bug.

He's been an entitled, arrogant David Brent wannabe gob***** for years. Suits them perfectly.

23-02-2025, 02:43 PM
Dont know why theres such a hatefest against Rod Stewart, the guys a Scotland and Celtic fan so fn what,he loves Scotland and has done some great work getting Scotland noticed the world over, I think hes earned the right over the decades to make a di&k of himself. Or is it because hes english?

He's Scottish, if that's what he wants to be then that's what he is. I think he's disliked because he's a Celtic fan rather than because of where he was born.

23-02-2025, 02:44 PM

My favourite bit was when he'd barely finished saying that Celtic would be fine today when Campbell scored the opener. Absolute helmet 😂

23-02-2025, 03:21 PM

If you're referring to my original post, you'll notice I included wee leprechauns as well.

I though that would be a bit of a giveaway I wasn't being entirely serious. :greengrin

23-02-2025, 03:33 PM
He's a knob

23-02-2025, 03:53 PM
He's a knob

That Scottish cup draw was cringeworthy. Can't stand him.

23-02-2025, 04:48 PM
He's been an entitled, arrogant David Brent wannabe gob***** for years. Suits them perfectly.I remember thinking he came across as total roaster in that liverpool documentary. I assumed that was who Lee Johnson had modelled himself on.

23-02-2025, 06:23 PM
I remember thinking he came across as total roaster in that liverpool documentary. I assumed that was who Lee Johnson had modelled himself on.

What was his thing at Liverpool in that something like write the name down of someone you think will let us down this season? Wtf

23-02-2025, 07:06 PM

Born and brought up in Highgate, London to a Leith father.

Naturally his teams are Manchester United and Celtic.

Glory hunting of such extremes that it’s hard to take the guy seriously.

23-02-2025, 07:13 PM
Born and brought up in Highgate, London to a Leith father.

Naturally his teams are Manchester United and Celtic.

Glory hunting of such extremes that it’s hard to take the guy seriously.

He's also a Tory and proclaimed a love for Enoch Powell back in the 70s which seems a bit glossed over now. Playing gigs like Sun City during apartheid doesn't really contribute to a likeable public imagine either.

Do quite like his early stuff with Faces and also his early solo stuff though.

His old man was a docker and a Hibby but not for Rod 😔

23-02-2025, 07:16 PM
Will Rodgers face any punishment for his behaviour at full time yesterday?

Pointing fingers at the officials whilst scolding them on the pitch. I’d be surprised if the SFA didn’t feel that a line has been crossed here and they might have to publicly support their officials against such behaviour.

A touch line ban incoming?

23-02-2025, 07:21 PM
It’s simply not fair and the next time he’ll hold his breath until the officials side with his view of any contentious incidents. That’ll teach them…

23-02-2025, 07:25 PM

Pointing fingers at the officials whilst scolding them on the pitch. I’d be surprised if the SFA didn’t feel that a line has been crossed here and they might have to publicly support their officials against such behaviour.

Not a chance he’ll face any repercussions! They’ll not want to upset wee Brendan any more!

23-02-2025, 07:28 PM

Yep self entitlement off the scale. Complete twats

Roxyhibee
23-02-2025, 07:29 PM
Bitter welt with weird creepy lips - a bairn wi a biscuit erse could see that ball was out.

Ps - Rod Stewart is an utter fake bellend of a man.

23-02-2025, 07:29 PM

They will probably apologise for hurting his feelings

23-02-2025, 07:30 PM
He's also a Tory and proclaimed a love for Enoch Powell back in the 70s which seems a bit glossed over now. Playing gigs like Sun City during apartheid doesn't really contribute to a likeable public imagine either.

Do quite like his early stuff with Faces and also his early solo stuff though.

His old man was a docker and a Hibby but not for Rod ��

https://youtu.be/eYEh5-8IulA?si=QlFOMruT5twEIZvy

CJHibby
23-02-2025, 09:33 PM
If HE is honestly saying that ball wasn't out..he should've got his eyes sorted and not his teeth! 😔 😟 😥

HarpOnHibee
23-02-2025, 09:42 PM
If HE is honestly saying that ball wasn't out..he should've got his eyes sorted and not his teeth! 😔 😟 😥

He never claimed the ball wasn't out. He suggested that the officials "guessed" as to whether it was out or not. Clearly lacking the awareness to understand that had they been guessing, they'd have guessed in Celtic's favour without hesitation.

24-02-2025, 07:58 AM

The ratio of times he criticises officials to times they lose is probably higher than any other manager in the league.

24-02-2025, 08:10 AM
The more noise this makes over the coming days the less likely officials will be to make this type of call against the two cheeks again. That wouldn't be his intention of course...

Get over it ya trumpet. We move on. United on Wednesday.

24-02-2025, 08:41 AM
Why was crybaby Rogers not carded at his hysterical outburst at the official's.

Good point Dave Gray or Steven Robinson say would have been arrogantly waved away with a card shown immediately. Let’s not beat about the bush officials are petrified of the uglies managers.

24-02-2025, 08:59 AM
Thanks for all yir feedback on Rod, its been fun 😊

24-02-2025, 09:58 AM
What was his thing at Liverpool in that something like write the name down of someone you think will let us down this season? Wtf

Think it was along the lines of having 3 envelopes in each of which he said he written the name of a player who he thought would let them down that season

TrinityHFC
24-02-2025, 10:09 AM
I think it looks out from the pictures and I thought at the time it was out.

However, I do think there’s a point that it can’t be shown conclusively unless you see it from the line. Looks can be very deceptive especially when you can see daylight. That doesn’t mean there might not have been the slightest edge of the ball touching the line.

Looks out but that can’t be said conclusively. I was actually surprised VAR took a view.

24-02-2025, 10:16 AM
I suggest listening to the celtic fan podcast "celtic state of mind". Must go live at half time and full time each game.

Delicious tears.

GRA
24-02-2025, 10:20 AM
Cries about borderline decisions, knowing the west coast media will eat it up and control the 'we was robbed' narrative, rather than eat humble pie and give us credit for a hard fought victory.

Likes to go on about budget differences when playing in Europe but his sense of entitlement means he can't take occasionally getting beat by teams with massively inferior budgets in his own league. What a fud.

Also not been discussed nearly enough was the fact that there were two clear shirt pulls on two Hibs players in the Celtic box before Jota broke away for their chance.

24-02-2025, 10:22 AM
We all know every single marginal decision will now go against us in the cup game.

24-02-2025, 10:32 AM
We all know every single marginal decision will now go against us in the cup game.

Yip need to keep it tight no errors time our tackles to perfection put in a flawless performance cannae give them an inch cannae expect any help from the Ref a big ask against the best team in the league on 100 x our budget away from home

24-02-2025, 11:16 AM
He's Scottish, if that's what he wants to be then that's what he is. I think he's disliked because he's a Celtic fan rather than because of where he was born.

I don't dislike Rodders at all - on the contrary.

He may have chosen the wrong green team (especially since his dad came from Leith) but I'll forgive him for the sake of Hot Legs, Maggie May and other gems.

An absolute trooper and a character and a half - I would permit him to buy me a pint and beg forgiveness for not choosing Hibs.

24-02-2025, 05:34 PM

FWIW I find him quite an amusing and likeable character, but his music is ear-bleedingly bad.

Still, he's made a good career out of it, he won't give a damn what I think.

24-02-2025, 07:38 PM
FWIW I find him quite an amusing and likeable character, but his music is ear-bleedingly bad.

Still, he's made a good career out of it, he won't give a damn what I think.

His early work with the Faces and his first few solo albums were outstanding.

24-02-2025, 07:43 PM
We all know every single marginal decision will now go against us in the cup game.I'm not sure Saturday will have made much of an impact on that. It would always be thus.

PHeffernan
24-02-2025, 08:24 PM

Didnae know Brendan Rodgers was in the Faces :wink:

P.S. I agree RS solo albums were very good * up to and including "A Night On The Town" in 1976.
* with the exception of "Smiler" which was a bit of a jobby

P.P.S. he should have been banned from releasing further music at the end of the last century

24-02-2025, 09:59 PM

P.S. I agree RS solo albums were very good * up to and including "A Night On The Town" in 1976.

P.P.S. he should have been banned from releasing further music at the end of the last century
Believe he’s still wanted for the murder of the Great American Songbook .

PHeffernan
24-02-2025, 10:27 PM
Believe he’s still wanted for the murder of the Great American Songbook .

Des O'Connor but with less edge

24-02-2025, 10:34 PM

:agree: There was never a dull moment with the earlier albums...

Some are just a little misunderstood.

25-02-2025, 01:06 AM

He ought to have been in the Faces, he's got two of them.

PHeffernan
25-02-2025, 01:39 AM
:agree: There was never a dull moment with the earlier albums...

Some are just a little misunderstood.

Yeah, every picture tells a story

Mcbizz1998
25-02-2025, 06:00 AM
As someone who has a Faces tattoo on his arm (a bad decision at 19) I won’t have a bad word said about Rod!

However agree that everything after the ‘Foot Loose & Fancy Free’ solo album is fairly ****!

GRA
03-03-2025, 10:07 AM
Greeting about a borderline ball out of play decision but mysteriously nothing to say about this stonewall penalty St Mirren didn't get when they were only 3-2 up:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/videos/cq6y9998l5vo

Add to the fact we should have had a penalty for Taylor's foul on Cadden yesterday (heels clearly get clipped). Wonder if we'll get 3 days of media hysteria about these decisions? Wonder what decisions will happen on Sunday...

03-03-2025, 10:24 AM
As someone who has a Faces tattoo on his arm (a bad decision at 19) I won’t have a bad word said about Rod!

However agree that everything after the ‘Foot Loose & Fancy Free’ solo album is fairly ****!

Aye absolutely. Complete dug*****. But up to and including that album - genius mostly.