View Full Version : Pubs pints and pies

Bridge hibs
19-02-2025, 04:39 PM
Was having a general chat with my Wife today about when we entered the big world of adult pubs and all that follows, drunk, puking up, argument's and scraps, love found and lost, the many walks of shame and much more.

Im of a certain vintage that drank in mostly working “mens” pubs, or pubs known as “spit and sawdust” although thankfully I never had the privilege to enter any of those establishments as an adult but entered a few as a kid, not to drink the heavy stuff I must add.

A few pubs that I frequented are long gone such as the Bluebell and the Flying Dutchman, the Golden Gates, Loch inn, Willowbrae hotel and the Right Wing, all pubs that met their demise over the years but in many a drinkers eyes they were pubs where memories were made, friendships started and finished, love filled the air as well as smoke.

I loved finishing work on a Friday, still clarty but no-one bothered because the pub would be populated by the same, no fancy dress code and just come as you are locals, bottled beers were at a minimum with most of the tables littered with heavy dimpled projectiles, bags of salt n vinegar crisps and peanuts being munched with the odd finger tapping coming from the juke box belting Shaking Stevens This Old House.

Snug bars or lounges populated by the more genteel elderly crowd nursing their half pints with a nip and a folded newspaper strategically placed on the table just in case the Wife popped in not believing you were going out for just a swift half and a read of the paper.

5 or 6 o’clock and its as if there was a silent alarm bell ringing as the dimpled glasses were slammed onto the tables followed by the mad exodus of hungry drink fuelled hard working patrons as dinner called.

I loved those Fridays.

What are your pub memories ?

19-02-2025, 05:24 PM
Cottars Howff on Rose Street was our usual meeting place on a Friday night before we headed down to Tiffanys via Marrs Bar, The World and the Antiquary.

Pre-match in the late 70s it was always The Brunswick, some punk on the jukie then down to Dizzie Lizzies for the go-gos. Then Hibs would spoil the day :greengrin

So many Edinburgh pubs with great memories.

Bridge hibs
19-02-2025, 05:26 PM
Cottars Howff on Rose Street was our usual meeting place on a Friday night before we headed down to Tiffanys via Marrs Bar, The World and the Antiquary.

Pre-match in the late 70s it was always The Brunswick, some punk on the jukie then down to Dizzie Lizzies for the go-gos. Then Hibs would spoil the day :greengrin

So many Edinburgh pubs with great memories.Paddys bar in Rose St was our hang out pre disco at Nightlife 🤭

Bridge hibs
19-02-2025, 05:27 PM
Talking of pubs or clubs, I see the Jewel Miners have sold their car park for housing, its all fenced off, student flats ?

19-02-2025, 06:05 PM
I love an old school pub.

I've mentioned it before but I spent many a Saturday afternoon in Leslie's Bar with my dad, stuck in one of the snugs, sneaking out to check the football scores on the vidiprinter.

My drinking apprenticeship was served in the Good Companions in Oxgangs. Bit of Hearts boozer but with a sizable minority of Hibs fans. Always bother at the weekend, usually between squaddies from the Barracks and the local young team. Was worse when the Rifles became a fixture as they were primarily English. Remember one young lad being told in no uncertain terms that going outside with a Gurkha he had been winding up was not a good idea, he disregarded said advice and learned a lesson. Secondary haunts were the Centre Court at Craiglockart, think I had my first pint in there at 15/16, which is now houses or The Pavilion which became the Tusitala and is now Charwood. That was a surprisingly rough shop back then, particularly after the Marmion closed and a few regulars relocated.

I think there's a lot to be said for learning the ropes in a local pub when you are young. Nothing worse than going out now and encountering people who don't understand round etiquette, how to wait at a bar, how to order a round or just generally how to behave in a pub.

19-02-2025, 06:30 PM
My childhood days centred around our local pub from the age of 13. In Liverpool we lived next door but one to a pub with a (crown bowling green). I used to watch from my bedroom window and though my Dad never played at the time, one of the guys he drank with was a very decent bowler and asked my Dad if I would like to try it. I took to it like a duck to water and very quickly earned my place in the “B” team, being attached to the pub meant that I was a regular in the side room after the games. As I progressed and became an “A” team player by the age of 15 the pub became my second home as I was never off the green. My drinking days began at 16 and I loved the atmosphere of a real local pub where everyone knew each other and all the lads drank there as did their Dads. Fantastic memories of a real local pub, pint poured as you walked in and never a lonely place even if you went on your own.

19-02-2025, 10:34 PM
OP clearly from Porty I'm familiar with all those pubs. My dad had a bakers shop in Bath St so the Marine was his local and where I usually had to go to collect the shilling I needed for the Hibs game. I'd add The Foresters to the list as well as Joppa's Ormelie. I worked in the Marine and The Plough, both of which had their moments, but generally it's cos someone got wide rather than simply pubs with bother.

Sent from my Tab 12 Pro using Tapatalk

20-02-2025, 05:46 AM
My first legal pint was in Deacon Brodies. It became the Saturday night haunt before going to the Gamp Club.

Bridge hibs
20-02-2025, 06:11 AM
OP clearly from Porty I'm familiar with all those pubs. My dad had a bakers shop in Bath St so the Marine was his local and where I usually had to go to collect the shilling I needed for the Hibs game. I'd add The Foresters to the list as well as Joppa's Ormelie. I worked in the Marine and The Plough, both of which had their moments, but generally it's cos someone got wide rather than simply pubs with bother.

Sent from my Tab 12 Pro using TapatalkFunnily enough the Marine is a pub I had never been in and same for the Plough, Forresters the Whins and the Central bar. I popped into the Galleon for the odd pint as well as the Ormellie mostly during the day when we were building the house behind the Seahaven hotel.

Bridge hibs
20-02-2025, 11:28 AM

I've mentioned it before but I spent many a Saturday afternoon in Leslie's Bar with my dad, stuck in one of the snugs, sneaking out to check the football scores on the vidiprinter.

My drinking apprenticeship was served in the Good Companions in Oxgangs. Bit of Hearts boozer but with a sizable minority of Hibs fans. Always bother at the weekend, usually between squaddies from the Barracks and the local young team. Was worse when the Rifles became a fixture as they were primarily English. Remember one young lad being told in no uncertain terms that going outside with a Gurkha he had been winding up was not a good idea, he disregarded said advice and learned a lesson. Secondary haunts were the Centre Court at Craiglockart, think I had my first pint in there at 15/16, which is now houses or The Pavilion which became the Tusitala and is now Charwood. That was a surprisingly rough shop back then, particularly after the Marmion closed and a few regulars relocated.

I think there's a lot to be said for learning the ropes in a local pub when you are young. Nothing worse than going out now and encountering people who don't understand round etiquette, how to wait at a bar, how to order a round or just generally how to behave in a pub.I think you are correct about etiquette, a good example especially if you are drinking in your Dads or Uncles den. I was a radge which worsened the more alcohol I consumed, not troublesome but ****ing loud and more often or not I would be faced with the dreaded Dad stare as I was most likely interrupting his academic thinking as he navigated his Scotsman crossword. No one would dare interrupt him in his time of deep thought or you were met with his deathly stare or worse a bat from his JCB sized shovelled hands.

The trick was at that time was to think of drinking in a pub where he was less likely to be, however he was kind of a social butterfly and wherever I ended up then sure as hell he would appear to clip my wings as well as my ears.

21-02-2025, 09:42 AM
I was never brave enough to go into the whitehouse for a beer and think I only ventured into the castle tavern a couple of times. The only other local (ish) pub I can think of would be at Niddrie Marschal but I forget it's name - never ventured in there either!

Was always pubs in and around Newington instead.

Bridge hibs
21-02-2025, 10:15 AM
I was never brave enough to go into the whitehouse for a beer and think I only ventured into the castle tavern a couple of times. The only other local (ish) pub I can think of would be at Niddrie Marschal but I forget it's name - never ventured in there either!

Was always pubs in and around Newington instead.Duddingston Mull inn, long gone now mate, all you have around that area is the Jewel, hearts club and Omans, I think Omans only opens on certain days of the week.

21-02-2025, 10:37 AM

Was always pubs in and around Newington instead.

We used to get on a supporter's bus from Omans mid-late 80s IIRC. Also the snooker club in Craigmillar was decent, we got the bus to the Skol Cup Final from there.

Many great memories of The Gold Medal. 👍

21-02-2025, 10:39 AM
It was the marshal or something like that long before it was Duddingston Mull.

Forgot about Oman's. Used to get a pick up from there when the Whelehan bus was on the go I think.

21-02-2025, 11:24 AM
For football drinking, places like The Volley, Shades, The Nip and 4 in hand were all excellent. Such a shame to see what's left now compared to back then.

Bridge hibs
21-02-2025, 11:33 AM
It was the marshal or something like that long before it was Duddingston Mull.

Forgot about Oman's. Used to get a pick up from there when the Whelehan bus was on the go I think.Marischall Arms

21-02-2025, 12:56 PM
Duddingston Mull inn, long gone now mate, all you have around that area is the Jewel, hearts club and Omans, I think Omans only opens on certain days of the week.

Oman's was my granddad's local, some interesting evenings spent in there.

He's here!
21-02-2025, 01:33 PM

I think there's a lot to be said for learning the ropes in a local pub when you are young. Nothing worse than going out now and encountering people who don't understand round etiquette, how to wait at a bar, how to order a round or just generally how to behave in a pub.

Is that Leslie's on Causwayside? A former boss of mine when I worked near there at was a regular at the Old Bell (as well as Dagda on Buccleuch St) and I recall a couple of pub crawls featuring some of the numerous pubs around there. Think we only made it as far as what's called Steel Coulson these days (think it might have been under a different name back then).

21-02-2025, 02:05 PM
Is that Leslie's on Causwayside? A former boss of mine when I worked near there at was a regular at the Old Bell (as well as Dagda on Buccleuch St) and I recall a couple of pub crawls featuring some of the numerous pubs around there. Think we only made it as far as what's called Steel Coulson these days (think it might have been under a different name back then).

Aye, Ratcliffe Terrace.

One of only a few pubs that still has Victorian/Edwardian 'snob screens' in situ.

21-02-2025, 06:40 PM
My Dad used to drink in The Bunch O’Roses in Lochend. I remember going in there for the first time, to watch a Hibs game with him. I’m sure it was the first Hibs game since the pass back rule was brought in. Dundee Utd on a Sunday night when they had the 6.05 kick offs (what was the reason for them incidentally?). It had a bit of magic to it being a glimpse behind the curtain into a hidden world.

Went in for my second visit, this time as an adult, about 10 years ago when I was nearby. The spit, and literal sawdust, was a bit of a downer from how I remembered it. The place was depressing.

21-02-2025, 06:53 PM
My parents owned the Spey Lounge from he early 80's til the early naughties so I was brought up in that environment. A good education and had to grow up quickly. Worked there from about 14 as the cellar boy before graduating to waiter in the school holidays, finally pouring pints from about 17. My biggest issue was trying to get a pint around Leith before I turned 18 because all the publicans knew each other and knew me as 'Bob's laddie'. It quickly got back to my old man if I tried my luck! Had to venture further afield so did most of my early drinking up the town. First pint bought was in the Preservation Hall and regularly drank in the likes of the Mary Rose, Queens Arms, Ivanhoe, Beau Brummell, Fingers etc.

21-02-2025, 07:26 PM
My Dad used to drink in The Bunch O’Roses in Lochend. I remember going in there for the first time, to watch a Hibs game with him. I’m sure it was the first Hibs game since the pass back rule was brought in. Dundee Utd on a Sunday night when they had the 6.05 kick offs (what was the reason for them incidentally?). It had a bit of magic to it being a glimpse behind the curtain into a hidden world.

Went in for my second visit, this time as an adult, about 10 years ago when I was nearby. The spit, and literal sawdust, was a bit of a downer from how I remembered it. The place was depressing.

It's quite nice now. Renamed the Logan's Rest. I occasionally use it pre match.

21-02-2025, 08:41 PM
First pub I remember being in was The Plough in Porty aged 16. 50p a pint cider promotion 1983. Fell in love with boozers from there. My first local was The Clifton Hotel on the prom. For a change we’d sometimes go to The Sands next door. As we got more ‘sophisticated’ me and mates drank in The Promms opposite Porty Baths. Great times. Somebodies house now. Moved on to The Coach House in Baileyfield Road.

Moved to Leith next door to the Coopers Rest then down to Leith Links near the Bottom Shop. I’ve counted Robbie’s as my local for 35 years now though.

pollution
22-02-2025, 12:56 AM
My parents owned the Spey Lounge from he early 80's til the early naughties so I was brought up in that environment. A good education and had to grow up quickly. Worked there from about 14 as the cellar boy before graduating to waiter in the school holidays, finally pouring pints from about 17. My biggest issue was trying to get a pint around Leith before I turned 18 because all the publicans knew each other and knew me as 'Bob's laddie'. It quickly got back to my old man if I tried my luck! Had to venture further afield so did most of my early drinking up the town. First pint bought was in the Preservation Hall and regularly drank in the likes of the Mary Rose, Queens Arms, Ivanhoe, Beau Brummell, Fingers etc.

Talking of the Mary Rose, does anyone remember a steak house at the back of the pub called Juicy Lucy's ?
The best steaks, char grilled. Absolutely braw ! Probably early 1980's

Trinity Hibee
22-02-2025, 06:06 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/lifestyle/food-and-drink/edinburgh-pubs-25-photos-of-edinburghs-last-proper-traditional-old-man-pubs-4992450

22-02-2025, 06:33 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/lifestyle/food-and-drink/edinburgh-pubs-25-photos-of-edinburghs-last-proper-traditional-old-man-pubs-4992450

Bowler's Rest and The Anchor are the only two I haven't visited.

22-02-2025, 06:40 AM

What was pub #1 anyone ?

Used to enjoy The Diggers back in the day for a pint of recycled 80/- despite the jambo vibe 😀

Bridge hibs
22-02-2025, 07:17 AM
Surprised Broadfields is classed as the same of those more traditional pubs, its certainly the newest of all of them and converted into a pub by a builder with the surname Ferrier who Im sure had the Scottie of which I would have had in place of Broadfields.

Ferrier then retired and sold Broadfields to an English former Fife publican named Terry Spink who ran it with his then Wife, he ran it for a few years before selling up.

22-02-2025, 07:34 AM
Surprised Broadfields is classed as the same of those more traditional pubs, its certainly the newest of all of them and converted into a pub by a builder with the surname Ferrier who Im sure had the Scottie of which I would have had in place of Broadfields.

Ferrier then retired and sold Broadfields to an English former Fife publican named Terry Spink who ran it with his then Wife, he ran it for a few years before selling up.

I would wager alcohol isn't the most purchased intoxicating substance sold in Broadfields on a weekend evening.

The karaoke and disco is a ****ing riot😅

Bridge hibs
22-02-2025, 07:43 AM
I would wager alcohol isn't the most purchased intoxicating substance sold in Broadfields on a weekend evening.

The karaoke and disco is a ****ing riot😅

Absolutely and a place I give a very very wide berth if Im in that area 🤣

Bridge hibs
22-02-2025, 07:47 AM
As an aside, I mentioned above that the Jewel Miners car park had been sold for housing, I was misinformed and believe the car park has been sold to a car wash company, perfect, you can get your wheels nicked at the same time as getting your car washed 🫣

Trinity Hibee
22-02-2025, 08:02 AM
What was pub #1 anyone ?

Used to enjoy The Diggers back in the day for a pint of recycled 80/- despite the jambo vibe 😀

Not sure was hoping someone here might know. Reminded me of Leslie’s, which I know has been mentioned, on the right hand side

22-02-2025, 08:14 AM

Not sure the clientele the best went to the final not to be mentioned as was struggling to get one on a bus from there the antics of some incredibly made that day even worse.

Bridge hibs
22-02-2025, 08:43 AM
Beer tax and hangings

As the malt tax was enforced, brewers went on strike in protest. In Edinburgh, 60 brewers signed a petition addressed to King George, however all to no avail as malt duty was imposed in Scotland.
Some 11 years later another (and some say related) incident took place in Edin-burgh.

The Porteous Riots

In 1736 Edinburgh was the scene of a riot that ended with the public lynching of the captain of the City Guard.

One of the reasons for this riot can be attributed to the higher taxes levied on Scotland. Three men were charged with smuggling and attempting to rob the Collector of Excise at the Pittenween Inn in Fife.

The Malt Duty Petition of 1725

The three men were carted off in chains to Edinburgh and the notorious Tolbooth prison to learn of their fate.

Instances of smuggling had risen dramatically since the Treaty of the Union, which resulted in higher taxes on goods. The introduction of a malt tax in 1725 led to a sharp increase in the price of ale and was met with universal disapproval.

Those bold enough to reject the law of the excisemen were often romanticised as heroes of the people. Harsh sentences were placed on those who dared to commit such crimes. For two of the three smugglers at Pittenween in 1736, this meant death.

All three men were sentenced and initially faced with the gallows in the Grass-market, although one of them had his sentence revoked for turning King's Evidence against his fellow conspirators. Of the pair who faced execution, one escaped when they attended their pre-execution sermon. He fled to the Netherlands and spent the rest of his days running a tavern in Rotterdam.

This left only one of the original three to face his sentence. The execution took place without incident, but the peace did not last long and a section of the crowd began pelting the executioner with stones. As a result the City Guard under the order of Captain John Porteous fired into the crowd and several were killed as a result.
For his actions Porteous was arrested and found guilty and was sentenced to hang.

However, after hearing of this the Prime Minister, Sir Robert Walpole granted Porteous a Royal Pardon. On hearing of this a 4,000 strong mob took to the streets and grabbed Porteous by force and dragged him to the Grassmarket. He was subsequently hanged by the baying mob. The government offered £200 as a reward for any information for those responsible, but no one took this up.

So ends another chapter in Edinburgh's gruesome past.

22-02-2025, 08:50 AM
Beer tax and hangings

As the malt tax was enforced, brewers went on strike in protest. In Edinburgh, 60 brewers signed a petition addressed to King George, however all to no avail as malt duty was imposed in Scotland.
Some 11 years later another (and some say related) incident took place in Edin-burgh.

The Porteous Riots

In 1736 Edinburgh was the scene of a riot that ended with the public lynching of the captain of the City Guard.

One of the reasons for this riot can be attributed to the higher taxes levied on Scotland. Three men were charged with smuggling and attempting to rob the Collector of Excise at the Pittenween Inn in Fife.

The Malt Duty Petition of 1725

The three men were carted off in chains to Edinburgh and the notorious Tolbooth prison to learn of their fate.

Instances of smuggling had risen dramatically since the Treaty of the Union, which resulted in higher taxes on goods. The introduction of a malt tax in 1725 led to a sharp increase in the price of ale and was met with universal disapproval.

Those bold enough to reject the law of the excisemen were often romanticised as heroes of the people. Harsh sentences were placed on those who dared to commit such crimes. For two of the three smugglers at Pittenween in 1736, this meant death.

All three men were sentenced and initially faced with the gallows in the Grass-market, although one of them had his sentence revoked for turning King's Evidence against his fellow conspirators. Of the pair who faced execution, one escaped when they attended their pre-execution sermon. He fled to the Netherlands and spent the rest of his days running a tavern in Rotterdam.

This left only one of the original three to face his sentence. The execution took place without incident, but the peace did not last long and a section of the crowd began pelting the executioner with stones. As a result the City Guard under the order of Captain John Porteous fired into the crowd and several were killed as a result.
For his actions Porteous was arrested and found guilty and was sentenced to hang.

However, after hearing of this the Prime Minister, Sir Robert Walpole granted Porteous a Royal Pardon. On hearing of this a 4,000 strong mob took to the streets and grabbed Porteous by force and dragged him to the Grassmarket. He was subsequently hanged by the baying mob. The government offered £200 as a reward for any information for those responsible, but no one took this up.

So ends another chapter in Edinburgh's gruesome past.

That is brilliant especially the end

Bridge hibs
22-02-2025, 10:31 AM
That is brilliant especially the end

Yeah, no point crying over spilt beer, especially when the hangman was waiting doon the road 🫣

Hibspur
22-02-2025, 10:35 AM

A teenage favourite of mine. Is it still there? There was another below street level bar in Stockbridge called the Baillie which I also used to like. Not sure if that's still there either.

22-02-2025, 11:25 AM
What was pub #1 anyone ?

It might be the side room on the right hand side as you approach the toilets in The Diggers but, not 100% sure.

22-02-2025, 02:34 PM
The Doo’cot was a proper man’s pub back in the day, no females allowed in the bar, and sawdust on the floor.

22-02-2025, 03:37 PM
The Doo’cot was a proper man’s pub back in the day, no females allowed in the bar, and sawdust on the floor.

Am I right in thinking that idiot from Samuel Smiths owns it now and has just mothballed it?

22-02-2025, 03:40 PM

My old boss drank in the roughest pubs in Kirkcaldy and played darts with Jocky Wilson in some right dives but he made a swift exit from the Doo'cot when he saw some of the clientele after we walked in the door.

23-02-2025, 01:20 PM
A teenage favourite of mine. Is it still there? There was another below street level bar in Stockbridge called the Baillie which I also used to like. Not sure if that's still there either.

The Baillie is still going. A good pub for the days when I worked in that part of town.

23-02-2025, 02:15 PM
Am I right in thinking that idiot from Samuel Smiths owns it now and has just mothballed it?

Yip, there was rumours that it would open this year but still closed, bizarre situation so it is, great pub all done up inside but is never open.

23-02-2025, 02:24 PM
My old boss drank in the roughest pubs in Kirkcaldy and played darts with Jocky Wilson in some right dives but he made a swift exit from the Doo'cot when he saw some of the clientele after we walked in the door.

Seemed to be more of a working man’s pub with a right few hard nuts from the Drylaw area, it was a step up from the other pubs in the area like the Ferry Boat Gunner or Willie Muir, they were bad pubs where bad things happened, the Doo’cot way back in the day had a nightclub called the Birds cage, went down hill after the Hastons took it over.

Stairway 2 7
23-02-2025, 02:42 PM
Was once the top 3 money making beer pubs in Scotland, baffling that someone changed the formula and beer!

23-02-2025, 06:01 PM
Seemed to be more of a working man’s pub with a right few hard nuts from the Drylaw area, it was a step up from the other pubs in the area like the Ferry Boat Gunner or Willie Muir, they were bad pubs where bad things happened, the Doo’cot way back in the day had a nightclub called the Birds cage, went down hill after the Hastons took it over.

Aye, we must have arrived on the wrong day, 3 heidcases at the bar gave us the eye and it just wasn't worth it! Went into the Ferryboat once for a dare, our car was parked outside so it was a quick getaway after a swift pint of something nasty, horrible pub.

23-02-2025, 08:06 PM
Was once the top 3 money making beer pubs in Scotland, baffling that someone changed the formula and beer!

It's the way Humphrey Smith works. His brewery brews decent beer but he's an odd, obsessive and spiteful man who seems determined to recreate some idealised version of the 1950s in his pubs. The article linked below is lengthy but it captures some of his eccentricity well:

https://www.theguardian.com/news/2024/dec/19/humphreys-world-how-the-samuel-smith-beer-baron-built-britains-strangest-pub-chain

25-02-2025, 03:44 PM
It's the way Humphrey Smith works. His brewery brews decent beer but he's an odd, obsessive and spiteful man who seems determined to recreate some idealised version of the 1950s in his pubs. The article linked below is lengthy but it captures some of his eccentricity well:

https://www.theguardian.com/news/2024/dec/19/humphreys-world-how-the-samuel-smith-beer-baron-built-britains-strangest-pub-chain

My thoughts on the Doo’cot, it’s is in a decent area, there is loads of land to the back of it and flats being built on the other side of Ferry Road, it will have a fire that will destroy the building and have to be knocked down and a few years later planning permission will be granted for flats, just my theory but it has always taken a fire down that way to get things built, the school and church being obvious ones.

pollution
25-02-2025, 06:24 PM

Many years ago, this brewery took over the Cramond Inn and shut it without any reason.

It stayed closed for ages but no one seemed to know why.

25-02-2025, 06:32 PM
Many years ago, this brewery took over the Cramond Inn and shut it without any reason.

It stayed closed for ages but no one seemed to know why.

It closed during Covid "for maintenance", and stayed shut for 3ish years.

It opened again about 18months ago, and shut again just before Christmas, which is bizarre timing. I looked in the window the other week, and it's like the Marie Celeste. Christmas trees are up, and the tables are set.

The guy who ran it was asked why, and his reply was along the lines of "Humphrey being Humphrey".

25-02-2025, 09:11 PM
My thoughts on the Doo’cot, it’s is in a decent area, there is loads of land to the back of it and flats being built on the other side of Ferry Road, it will have a fire that will destroy the building and have to be knocked down and a few years later planning permission will be granted for flats, just my theory but it has always taken a fire down that way to get things built, the school and church being obvious ones.

The relax indoor market in Leith tactic, does happen.

26-02-2025, 10:26 PM

Story about snooker club attached to Doocot. Was a decent player in my youth & had a tie to play against a lad from the Doocot. My dad normally watched me, but was back shift that day. Gets my cue out & this lad came up to me and said " If you beat my mate you'll get it outside" Beat him 3-0 & I ran down Ferry Road like Forrest Gump. I was 💩 ING myself & never looked back once.

Bridge hibs
07-03-2025, 11:59 AM
Scary to think of how industrial Edinburgh, Leith and the Lothians were in days of yore, I remember an old Coal Miner friend of mines saying if you were prepared to graft for dirty hands and years of back ache then theres a job out there thats right for you.

Craigmillar was an area in particular that was rewarding with regards employment, there were a smattering of Coal Mines within walking distance, there were Creameries and cold stores but most but not at all surprising there were 7 Breweries all within a few hundred yards of each other that tapped into our rich spring wells to be able to produce multiple beer brands in which they would also have used the grains and barleys from the local farms. Each brewery also had a railway which would enable them to distribute their beers far and wide as they jostled for track time with the coal wagons.

Here is a couple of photos showing Craigmillars rich brewing heritage, enjoy.

The Breweries were McLachlans, Murrays, Drybroughs, Deuchars, Youngers, Patersons and Somerville's.

The photos courtesy of Billy McKirdy

14-03-2025, 09:03 PM

Your da’s baker’s shop wasn’t down the bottom of Bath Street on the right hand side just up from the beach by any chance? My dad used to take me to Porty baths for a swim every Sunday morning and we used to pick up hot freshly baked rolls once we were done for the Sunday breakfast when we arrived back home. Brilliant rolls. This would be mid/late 70s.

14-03-2025, 09:28 PM
Granton Tap was a tough working man’s pub with the sawdust on the floor with the pool table through the back.

14-03-2025, 09:33 PM
Granton Tap was a tough working man’s pub with the sawdust on the floor with the pool table through the back.

I mind being taken there by my mates dad who was a local. I don't even think I was 18 and with the go go's there at lunchtime (I think) I was all over the place. I can feel my embarrassment even now 🤣

14-03-2025, 10:00 PM
Your da’s baker’s shop wasn’t down the bottom of Bath Street on the right hand side just up from the beach by any chance? My dad used to take me to Porty baths for a swim every Sunday morning and we used to pick up hot freshly baked rolls once we were done for the Sunday breakfast when we arrived back home. Brilliant rolls. This would be mid/late 70s.That's the one. Putting freshly baked rolls into bags was quite difficult in the first few minutes coming out the oven. The queues meant there was no choice.

15-03-2025, 09:29 AM
That's the one. Putting freshly baked rolls into bags was quite difficult in the first few minutes coming out the oven. The queues meant there was no choice.

Excellent. A very pleasant memory from my youth. The smell enticed you into the shop. I lived in the Pans and the rolls were still lovely and warm when we got back home. Simple but magic times 🙌

16-03-2025, 09:38 PM

The Northfield Hotel, up by Liberton Hospital. Same thing, flats now under construction.