View Full Version : Hibs support split between C's and P's

TheSouthMoroccan
18-02-2025, 10:38 AM
In my work I deal with visitors from all around the world and often a conversation about Scottish football will stray into the whole Rangers Celtic sectarian piece. After explaining (or trying to explain :confused:) the history I've often been asked if this is replicated through here. After explaining the origins of Hibs and categorically stating that it's not replicated through here, sometimes I'm asked what % split our support might be between one side and the other. I think it might be 60 / 40. Any informed views / educated guesses ?

And please don't read anything into this beyond me just wondering and asking for a accurate view. There is no right or wrong answer, I personally don't care either way and I don't wish any answers to go into anything else. Would just be nice to be accurate about this when I speak to people who ask about it.

18-02-2025, 10:43 AM
In my work I deal with visitors from all around the world and often a conversation about Scottish football will stray into the whole Rangers Celtic sectarian piece. After explaining (or trying to explain :confused:) the history I've often been asked if this is replicated through here. After explaining the origins of Hibs and categorically stating that it's not replicated through here, sometimes I'm asked what % split our support might be between one side and the other. I think it might be 60 / 40. Any informed views / educated guesses ?

And please don't read anything into this beyond me just wondering and asking for a accurate view. There is no right or wrong answer, I personally don't care either way and I don't wish any answers to go into anything else. Would just be nice to be accurate about this when I speak to people who ask about it.

I would suggest both those numbers are high. There has to be a sizeable percentage who are "neither" or "dgaf", and some who are "other".

18-02-2025, 10:44 AM
I'll guess it's an 85-15 split. 85 don't give a toss, and 15 don't knows.

18-02-2025, 10:48 AM
I'm a former Catholic, now atheist.

I suspect that most Hibs fans don't care, as it should be.

18-02-2025, 10:48 AM
I would say we're majority atheists, although that's just my 'world' so to speak, I don't know anybody who follows a religion these days. I'd go for 75% no interest in religion/agnostic with the other 25% followers of a faith, but my cirlce is quite small so I am likely way off.

18-02-2025, 10:49 AM
Despite going to Catholic schools I would probably categorise myself as someone who is religiously atheist if I had to pick something to describe my belief, but the truth is I don't really care enough to put a category on my position in a strict sense.

That said I do take pride in my familial heritage being Irish Catholic and I think of that as more a cultural tag than a religious one.

18-02-2025, 10:51 AM

I am an atheist and religion barely registers to me. Pretty much everyone I know is the same.

I'd wager the majority of Celtic and Rangers fans aren't practicing Catholic or Protestants either. I don't know any who have stepped foot in a church.

18-02-2025, 10:59 AM
I'm atheist but christened in the Church of Scotland.

I suspect the majority are probably atheist

18-02-2025, 11:01 AM
I would expect the ratio to reflect the wider Leith/Edinburgh community and beyond. And that's not just C and P.

18-02-2025, 11:02 AM
I was technically baptised and confirmed, but absolutely a believer in Astronomy and Cosmology.

As to the sectarian nonsense, well it’s just that to me.

EastThomasSTboy
18-02-2025, 11:03 AM
I was born a Protestant, who quickly became an atheist, Hibs were my local team, as I stayed round the corner from Easter Road.
of the nine or ten of us who went to the Football together, there was only one Catholic lad,.and he supported Celtic more, but couldn’t afford to go to Parkhead.

Greenworld
18-02-2025, 11:10 AM
Lots of very good comments religion for whatever reason really has died a slow death . I'm a protestant as are most of my pals makes not a jot to us and have supported hibs for over 55 years .
Religion was never really a thing I remember my father and people of his age saying the used to I go to hearts and Hibs games whoever was at home so certainly never been a thing in my life time

Sent from my SM-S938B using Tapatalk

18-02-2025, 11:12 AM
I'm a former Catholic, now atheist.

I suspect that most Hibs fans don't care, as it should be.
Agree100%

No idea.

I'm a Catholic and one of the rare ones who actually goes to Mass:greengrin. My mum is lapsed and agnostic leaning towards atheist, my dad was raised CoS but has probably been in a Catholic church more often than the Kirk in his adult life attending first Communions, baptisms, confirmations etc. I think he's now atheist as well but I can't say the conversation has ever come up.

I'd wager our support will be varied across the board. A few who believe in 'something' but aren't into organised religion, a few who practice their religions, a few who would still say they are Catholic, Protestant, Sikh, Muslim or whatever but don't actively practice, a few who are Catholic for the sake of winding up Rangers fans 4 times a season and a few who are outspokenly atheist or antitheist. I'd wager the biggest group by a distance would be don't know or don't care though which is as it should be.

It's not a huge thing in Edinburgh, 4 of my close pals growing up went to St Tams and are catholic, 1 supports Hibs and the other 3 are Jambos

18-02-2025, 11:13 AM
Atheist.

I'd never really thought about it until now but if someone went to church/told me they were a Christian it never really occurred to me that they'd generally also be either a Protestant or Catholic... is that how it works? Do you have to be one or the other, or can you just be "Christian"?

TrinityHFC
18-02-2025, 11:15 AM
Atheist.

I'd never really thought about it until now but if someone went to church/told me they were a Christian it never really occurred to me that they'd generally also be either a Protestant or Catholic... is that how it works? Do you have to be one or the other, or can you just be "Christian"?

Since about 1520.

18-02-2025, 11:23 AM
Atheist.

Or one of the other 45,000 denominations.... :greengrin

https://www.livescience.com/christianity-denominations.html

18-02-2025, 11:25 AM
Atheist.

The majority of Christians will be either Catholic (made up of 24 autonomous churches fitting into 6 rites all in communion with each other, some with their own patriarch but all recognising the Pope as the supreme Pontiff and first among equals). In Scotland Catholics are most likely to be Roman Rite Catholics, by far the biggest of the Rites. Orthodox who split from the Catholic Chuch in the Great Schism based on a theological dispute over the Filioque among other things. Or Protestant which is an umberella term for western churches separated from the Catholic Church. In Scotland Protestants are most likely to be Church of Scotland who are Calvinist in their theology or Episcopalian who are in communion with the Church of England. Catholicism is the biggest Christian denomination by a distance with about 1.4 billion members.

All are Christian and believe in the Holy Trinity. The base beliefs can be summed up in the Nicene Creed (the aforementioned Filioque being the one clear dispute). Most of the other differences such as they are are just noise.

Clear as mud eh?:greengrin

18-02-2025, 11:42 AM
I think the make up of the Hibs support will be reflective of that of Scotland as a whole, where 20.4% of people identified with the Church of Scotland/protestant and 13.3% of people identifying as Roman Catholic with 51% having no religion/athiest.

From my small home town, I can’t think of any of the regular Hibs supporters who are of the catholic faith or from a catholic background. I’m sure there must be, but I couldn’t say for certain.

I was christened CoS, but I attend Sunday Mass with my wife and kids regularly, and don’t know or one Hibs fan who attends other than me. There are actually a few Hearts fans within the congregation.

18-02-2025, 12:09 PM
I was christened in the CoS but definitely non religious for most of my 60 odd years.

18-02-2025, 12:11 PM
I thought the op used c's and p's to get around the swear filter.

18-02-2025, 12:16 PM
I think the make up of the Hibs support will be reflective of that of Scotland as a whole, where 20.4% of people identified with the Church of Scotland/protestant and 13.3% of people identifying as Roman Catholic with 51% having no religion/athiest.

From my small home town, I can’t think of any of the regular Hibs supporters who are of the catholic faith or from a catholic background. I’m sure there must be, but I couldn’t say for certain.

I was christened CoS, but I attend Sunday Mass with my wife and kids regularly, and don’t know or one Hibs fan who attends other than me. There are actually a few Hearts fans within the congregation.

I think I know more about the faiths of the Hearts fans I know than the Hibs fans I know - mainly because I seem to know a disproportionately high number of catholic Hearts fans. It's worthy of conversation because of the "element" within their support who choose to sing anti-catholic songs, therefore it's come up in conversation.

It's never been an issue that merited discussion amongst the Hibs fans I know. I suspect they're mainly atheist / protestant, purely because of knowing the schools they went to, or rather they weren't sent to alternative schools.

I'm convinced that modern day Hibs and Hearts fans are just the same as any other Scottish club outwith the 2 Glasgow teams. If religion plays a big part in your identity, you follow them. If it doesn't, you don't, and Hibs and Hearts are essentially just local teams from the capital. Hearts definitely have an element of bams (which I always think must be bizarre for the catholics within their support) and block seven occasionally hint at wanting to be something similar, even if stuff to do with the pope is probably irrelevant to well over 90% of our present day support.

Christened in the Church of England, married in the Church of Scotland. My religion is football. Never really thought about anything else and certainly never associated religion with football until I moved to Scotland. I still to this day worship Kenny Dalglish. 😀

martin1959
I'm an atheist, but there have been plenty times I have walked out of hampden and other games where I look up at the sky and think there must be a god, and he's playing a joke on us and killing himself laughing,,,however I will not be beaten and keep going back for more,, seen hibs win 3 league cups and 1 scottish cup in my lifetime and that makes it all worthwhile, hibs are my religion

Sent from my SM-A146P using Tapatalk

18-02-2025, 12:18 PM
I would suggest both those numbers are high. There has to be a sizeable percentage who are "neither" or "dgaf", and some who are "other".

Can I count myself as both the “neither” and “dgaf” options please?

18-02-2025, 12:20 PM
As far as practicing religious observance goes (mass, going to the Kirk etc) I'd be surprised if more than 20% of the Hibs support qualified in total, across both "branches" mentioned in the OP.

What one "grew up" as, or has a family background in from back in the days when people actually went to church might be different.

I'm firmly in the "don't care, never have" camp.

18-02-2025, 12:20 PM
Can I count myself as both the “neither” and “dgaf” options please?

Posts like this are why the site needs a like button.

I think the majority of our fanbase are not religious in the slightest.

badabing67
18-02-2025, 12:41 PM
Hibs is our religion, or is that just me ........:dunno:

18-02-2025, 12:56 PM
In 2017, only 7% of Scots were regular church goers. So id say if we’re talking actual catholics/protestants/none in the active sense its probably like 4%/3%/93%.

Which shows how weird it is that folk still think it’s so relevant to football, when it’s relevant to so few people now in Scotland.

I appreciate the deep historical connection between St Pats, Little Ireland and the cowgate connection, ive got a fair bit of ancestry from both Leith and the OldTown, and i suppose catholicism was in that sense intertwined with the Irish cultural thing. But noone in my family are practicing religious people, certainly not in the last 100 years.

18-02-2025, 01:18 PM
In 2017, only 7% of Scots were regular church goers. So id say if we’re talking actual catholics/protestants/none in the active sense its probably like 4%/3%/93%.

Which shows how weird it is that folk still think it’s so relevant to football, when it’s relevant to so few people now in Scotland.

I appreciate the deep historical connection between St Pats, Little Ireland and the cowgate connection, ive got a fair bit of ancestry from both Leith and the OldTown, and i suppose catholicism was in that sense intertwined with the Irish cultural thing. But noone in my family are practicing religious people, certainly not in the last 100 years.

The connection between Scottish football and religion has never been about religion*. It's really a distant reverberation of a few centuries of conflict in Ireland (and obvs entwined into all other parts of the Brit Isles but it lasted longest in Ireland) where religious affiliation was a quick shorthand for what side you belonged to.

I would say we reached the point where it has negligible significance in Edinburgh a few decades ago. Just the Weegies to go now...

I think the Hibs support has been disproportionately "culturally Catholic" for most of my life relative to Edinburgh society as a whole (but probably majority "culturally Protestant" or at least 50/50) simply because the cCs weren't made welcome in certain other places and the cPs at the anti-cC end of the spectrum wouldn't go near a historically "Irish" thing like Hibs.

* although I think I might respect the Huns a little more if they started a chant of "sing while you're transubstantiating" :wink:

18-02-2025, 01:20 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0j0OF-TlyAY

18-02-2025, 01:24 PM
I wonder what percentage of our songs are directly to do with supporting Hibs? Obviously used to be different. Rangers percentage must be well low given their songsheet distinctly delves into the Glorious Revelution catalogue. Like some sort jakey re-enactment society.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

18-02-2025, 01:26 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0j0OF-TlyAY

I do love a good statue:thumbsup:

18-02-2025, 01:37 PM

It's kept relevent by the two odious weegie institutions who need it to keep making money.

18-02-2025, 01:38 PM
I wonder what percentage of our songs are directly to do with supporting Hibs? Obviously used to be different. Rangers percentage must be well low given their songsheet distinctly delves into the Glorious Revelution catalogue. Like some sort jakey re-enactment society.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

The really depressing thing about the Huns, old and new, is that they take people from parts of Scotland that have zero skin in the game and turn them into jakey re-enactors. :rolleyes:

cubehindthegoal
18-02-2025, 01:39 PM
I went to catholic school, but wouldn’t class myself as a christian now, or any religion for that matter. When I was young I did witness two friends switch from being Rangers fans (who their dads supported) to become Hibs fans too (we lived close to Easter Road). They didn’t go to the catholic school either. Felt like religion was what some older folk cared about, didn’t matter to us, and as I progressed through catholic school, I came to see its many faults, and would argue against its values with some teenage angst. Each to their own though, of course. But coming back to the original question, there’s a big difference in the West, eg, those two kids I knew who changed from Rangers to Hibs, well… I wonder, would they have changed to Celtic if we were brought up in Glasgow? Can’t know for sure, but it would have been different, more of a “thing” I’d guess, whereas here it just seemed like it made sense to us to support our local team.

18-02-2025, 01:44 PM
My Grandfather was a Wee Free Minister but I was brought up in England and never quite understood the religion thing in Scottish football. I stopped attending church in my teens and didn't give a thought to religion when choosing Hibs as my team.

18-02-2025, 01:51 PM
Definitely a non-believer although I'm not sure that matters in religion these days in terms of football. I think I would describe myself as anti religion and becoming more so every "Christian" word that comes out the the US government. Unlike football I don't feel the need to support/identify with the one my family has for generations.

18-02-2025, 02:01 PM
The connection between Scottish football and religion has never been about religion*. It's really a distant reverberation of a few centuries of conflict in Ireland (and obvs entwined into all other parts of the Brit Isles but it lasted longest in Ireland) where religious affiliation was a quick shorthand for what side you belonged to.

I would say we reached the point where it has negligible significance in Edinburgh a few decades ago. Just the Weegies to go now...

I think the Hibs support has been disproportionately "culturally Catholic" for most of my life relative to Edinburgh society as a whole (but probably majority "culturally Protestant" or at least 50/50) simply because the cCs weren't made welcome in certain other places and the cPs at the anti-cC end of the spectrum wouldn't go near a historically "Irish" thing like Hibs.

* although I think I might respect the Huns a little more if they started a chant of "sing while you're transubstantiating" :wink:

Agree with all that, particularly the first sentence. From my POV the Hibs historical connection is very much an Irish thing, not a religious thing, but it IS intertwined for some and thats totally their prerogative. To be fair, St Patricks WAS a church and Father Hannan was a priest (and laterally a canon, whatever that is).

18-02-2025, 02:10 PM
Who cares? We are all Hibs. The religious thing has blighted Scottish football for too long.

18-02-2025, 02:27 PM
Agree with all that, particularly the first sentence. From my POV the Hibs historical connection is very much an Irish thing, not a religious thing, but it IS intertwined for some and thats totally their prerogative. To be fair, St Patricks WAS a church and Father Hannan was a priest (and laterally a canon, whatever that is).

A Priest who has a role at Diocesan level and/or is a member of the Cathedral Chapter, usually because they have expertise in Canon Law. They often, but not always, use the title 'Very Reverend' rather than simply 'Reverend' and Canon often goes in the middle of their name so The Very Reverend Edward Canon Hannan would be the proper title for our founder.

You also got laymen who are honorary Canons. The King of France was a Canon of St Peters Basillica as one example, technically the President is likewise as the honour was bestowed on the French head of state rather than explicitly the monarch but I think the separation of Church and state in France means it's not something they will shout about too loudly. The British monarch was Canon of St Pauls Outside the Walls but that was abolished after the English Reformation.

18-02-2025, 02:28 PM
Father Hannan was a priest (and laterally a canon, whatever that is).

I think the cannon thing comes from when we copied Arsenal's white sleeves

18-02-2025, 02:35 PM
Born protestant but have grown up an atheist, my Hibs affiliation was due to being brought up in the colonies at Leith Links and all the lads in the area would go to the games, that's around 56 years ago now.

18-02-2025, 02:36 PM
Who cares? We are all Hibs. The religious thing has blighted Scottish football for too long.

My sentiments exactly.

18-02-2025, 02:40 PM
Whilst we are on the subject of religion, I read the other day that there is a campaign to get Tommy Burns canonised and made into a saint :crazy:

18-02-2025, 02:42 PM
The majority of Christians will be either Catholic (made up of 24 autonomous churches fitting into 6 rites all in communion with each other, some with their own patriarch but all recognising the Pope as the supreme Pontiff and first among equals). In Scotland Catholics are most likely to be Roman Rite Catholics, by far the biggest of the Rites. Orthodox who split from the Catholic Chuch in the Great Schism based on a theological dispute over the Filioque among other things. Or Protestant which is an umberella term for western churches separated from the Catholic Church. In Scotland Protestants are most likely to be Church of Scotland who are Calvinist in their theology or Episcopalian who are in communion with the Church of England. Catholicism is the biggest Christian denomination by a distance with about 1.4 billion members.

All are Christian and believe in the Holy Trinity. The base beliefs can be summed up in the Nicene Creed (the aforementioned Filioque being the one clear dispute). Most of the other differences such as they are are just noise.

Clear as mud eh?:greengrin

So what's your answer 🤣

18-02-2025, 02:50 PM
So what's your answer 🤣

Live and let live:aok::greengrin

18-02-2025, 03:04 PM
A Priest who has a role at Diocesan level and/or is a member of the Cathedral Chapter, usually because they have expertise in Canon Law. They often, but not always, use the title 'Very Reverend' rather than simply 'Reverend' and Canon often goes in the middle of their name so The Very Reverend Edward Canon Hannan would be the proper title for our founder.

You also got laymen who are honorary Canons. The King of France was a Canon of St Peters Basillica as one example, technically the President is likewise as the honour was bestowed on the French head of state rather than explicitly the monarch but I think the separation of Church and state in France means it's not something they will shout about too loudly. The British monarch was Canon of St Pauls Outside the Walls but that was abolished after the English Reformation.

Thank you. I'm massively ignorant on religion; at school I was made to sing hymns and go to church at the end of term but that was about it for me.
I'm still convinced Hannon had a cannon-like left foot shot but I will take your explanation.

18-02-2025, 03:17 PM
Thank you. I'm massively ignorant on religion; at school I was made to sing hymns and go to church at the end of term but that was about it for me.
I'm still convinced Hannon had a cannon-like left foot shot but I will take your explanation.

Cannon Hannon does sound just like a player/character with a rocket shot from those wee football comic things I used to get (when all my mates were into reading the Beano ones) in all fairness.

18-02-2025, 03:24 PM
Whilst we are on the subject of religion, I read the other day that there is a campaign to get Tommy Burns canonised and made into a saint :crazy:

There are thousands of ‘causes’ round the world for thousands of individuals to be made Saints recognised by the Roman Catholic Church. Most come to nothing.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Margaret_Sinclair_(nun) From the very parish Hibs were founded. My granny knew her.

Back on topic, I’m one of 6 ST holders, all baptised RC, two of whom still practice, one is Buddhist and the other 3 atheist.

18-02-2025, 03:24 PM
Cannon Hannon does sound just like a player/character with a rocket shot from those wee football comic things I used to get (when all my mates were into reading the Beano ones) in all fairness.
Canon Hannans Green and White Army song for the 150th.

aljo7-0
18-02-2025, 03:31 PM
Christened as C of S but turned atheist in early teens. Married a Catholic and my 2 daughters are Catholic. I went to Mass weekly for about 15 years when the kids were wee so they were not put off religion because "Dad didn't go". Try as i might I'm still atheist and have stopped going. I wholly detest the sectarianism in Scottish football - there is just no need.

18-02-2025, 03:34 PM

Every day is a school day.

18-02-2025, 03:37 PM

:agree: should definitely have been mates with Hot Shot Hamish.

18-02-2025, 03:39 PM
I was christened protestant but it was my catholic step grandad who took me to see Hibs.

Funnily enough I went to Forresters High school but quite a few of my Hearts supporting mates were catholic and went to neighbouring St Augustines.

Religion just never factored into our football allegiances.

18-02-2025, 03:43 PM
:agree: should definitely have been mates with Hot Shot Hamish.

Sworn enemies imo.

Years ago they were mates, team-mates, were inseparable.

But then IT happened.

And they'd been rivals and enemies ever since.

That was, until the only manager who had any chance of getting them to see eye to eye was given the job of reviving an ailing giant, and knew that the info ONLY he knew could get them back for one final shot at glory. Together.

18-02-2025, 03:51 PM

You have just committed a Cardinal Sin posting that.😁

18-02-2025, 03:54 PM
Sworn enemies imo.

But then IT happened.

That was, until the only manager who had any chance of getting them to see eye to eye was given the job of reviving an ailing giant, and knew that the info ONLY he knew could get them back for one final shot at glory. Together.

:greengrin You're onto something here.

18-02-2025, 04:00 PM
Canon Hannan never hit the heights in his football career because he refused to wear Billy's Boots.

18-02-2025, 04:08 PM
Klingon

stu in nottingham
18-02-2025, 04:41 PM
I'm a Catholic and it's important to me.

18-02-2025, 04:52 PM

If you did read the history you will be aware of the reason Hibs started life as a club only for catholic boys. Not aggressively sectarian, simply using football as a means to save lives and improve conditions for part of the community heavily prejudiced against and neglected. You will also know that the club completely abandoned any affiliation to any religion before the end of the 19th century.
That should tell you how silly it is to wrap Hibs and hearts up in the sectarian nonsense and that a tiny minority would give house room to any such rubbish.

18-02-2025, 05:24 PM
I'd imagine, like most supports, the vast majority are either no religion or only very loosely linked to one or the other.

18-02-2025, 05:35 PM
Klingon
Is that a Catholic Klingon or a Protestant Klingon😆

18-02-2025, 05:48 PM
A Celtic fans take on Catholicism.

https://youtu.be/ksRMKsdF2do?si=VSs90SP-MJbgNEJZ

18-02-2025, 05:52 PM
A Celtic fans take on Catholicism.

Think he’s been with Block Seven the last couple of weeks

Cat Stanton
18-02-2025, 06:01 PM

There was an article in the Scotsman (I think?) about 30 years ago by Simon Pia which referred to a survey at the time which showed that the vast majority of Hibs fans were non-Catholic. I would imagine that even then a large proportion were simply non-religious. As others may have referred to, society has become much less religious since then. Also, many hibs fans hate the whole topic as it just reeks of the Glasgow Celtc/Sevvo nonsense. So I reckon this estimate above (85% not giving a **** and 15% not knowing) is probably in the right ball park!

18-02-2025, 06:04 PM
Atheist.

I was raised a catholic, I’m now Christian, there is no need whatsoever for catholic or Protestant, that’s where the trouble comes from

seanshow
18-02-2025, 06:15 PM
Hubbardarian Thetan here,
Man that guy was a bell end. :crazy:

18-02-2025, 06:20 PM
Does it really matter what religion football fan is? REALLY. Couldn't care less myself as I am atheist. If backed into a corner & had to choose, then I am a Hib s supporter, my place of worship is wherever Hibs are playing & my God is Pat
Stanton , religion & politics should have nothing to do with football.

18-02-2025, 06:29 PM
Is that a Catholic Klingon or a Protestant Klingon😆

A sticky :wink:

18-02-2025, 06:47 PM
I'm a devout atheist.

In addition I was sent to a Church of Scotland Sunday school and readily acknowledge the founding of our club by Catholics with Canon Hannan being prominent.

18-02-2025, 07:04 PM
Christened church of Scotland, mostly protestants in a family chock full of Hibbies, been an atheist for around 40 years.

Hibspur
18-02-2025, 07:33 PM

Our family's neither. We're Jewish.

houstonhibbee
18-02-2025, 08:38 PM

And please don't read anything into this beyond me just wondering and asking for an accurate view. There is no right or wrong answer, I personally don't care either way and I don't wish any answers to go into anything else. Would just be nice to be accurate about this when I speak to people who ask about it.
I think trying to estimate a “split” gives the wrong or aMisleading perception
Surely the more accurate response is to say we are not affiliated with any religion but our roots are Irish

18-02-2025, 09:06 PM

I hope you’ve got the message that your perception of Hibs and Scottish football in general, has been way off the mark. Time to tell your visitors what’s true, the two Glasgow teams have a very warped and strange take on life but the rest of Scottish football doesn’t give a toss for that sectarian nonsense. No place in football

18-02-2025, 09:33 PM
I hope you’ve got the message that your perception of Hibs and Scottish football in general, has been way off the mark. Time to tell your visitors what’s true, the two Glasgow teams have a very warped and strange take on life but the rest of Scottish football doesn’t give a toss for that sectarian nonsense. No place in football
Think it’s your perception of his post that’s way off the mark. He categorically says that there is no sectarianism in football in Edinburgh.

18-02-2025, 09:49 PM
Think it’s your perception of his post that’s way off the mark. He categorically says that there is no sectarianism in football in Edinburgh.

The OP thinks there is a sixty forty split and suggests this is what he/she is telling people that don’t know better. I see that as being a poor perception of the position and am pleased we had had the opportunity to address that.

18-02-2025, 10:27 PM
For the most part I've nae clue as to the religious backgrounds of my pals I watch Hibs with - although I know that some were brought up COS and some RC, the truth is none of us give a monkeys.

18-02-2025, 10:36 PM
For the most part I've nae clue as to the religious backgrounds of my pals I watch Hibs with - although I know that some were brought up COS and some RC, the truth is none of us give a monkeys.

I guess that’s the point if you’re introducing someone to someone else in Edinburgh, Religion would be scraping the barrel if the conversations gone that dull !

ErinGoBraghHFC
18-02-2025, 10:55 PM
Despite going to Catholic schools I would probably categorise myself as someone who is religiously atheist if I had to pick something to describe my belief, but the truth is I don't really care enough to put a category on my position in a strict sense.

That said I do take pride in my familial heritage being Irish Catholic and I think of that as more a cultural tag than a religious one.

Exactly the same for me, no interest in religion whatsoever but very proud of my Irish catholic heritage. As far as I’m aware my family have been largely atheist for a number of generations now, so much so I went to a non-denomination school as did my faither.

18-02-2025, 11:08 PM
There was an article in the Scotsman (I think?) about 30 years ago by Simon Pia which referred to a survey at the time which showed that the vast majority of Hibs fans were non-Catholic. I would imagine that even then a large proportion were simply non-religious. As others may have referred to, society has become much less religious since then. Also, many hibs fans hate the whole topic as it just reeks of the Glasgow Celtc/Sevvo nonsense. So I reckon this estimate above (85% not giving a **** and 15% not knowing) is probably in the right ball park!

I think that's a fair assessment.

If you look at the 2022 census results for the Edinburgh population, 10.1% identified as Roman Catholic, 13.5% identified as Church of Scotland and 56.4% identified as having no religion.

Not every Hibs fan lives in Edinburgh of course, but I think it's reasonable to assume from those demographics that a large proportion of Hibs fans are non religious.

However, if you turned the question on it's head and asked 'of Edinburgh's Catholic population, what proportion identify as Hibs fans' you'd very likely get a high %.

At least that's my experience based on attending Catholic primary and secondary schools in Edinburgh; lots of Hibs fans, some Celtic, some jambos and hardly any zombies.

sadtom
18-02-2025, 11:54 PM
I’m a (co)lapsed catholic.
Now an atheist who dabbles in Spanish satanism. You get to be as bad as you want…and you get a kip in the afternoon.

19-02-2025, 01:05 AM
Now an atheist who dabbles in Spanish satanism. You get to be as bad as you want…and you get a kip in the afternoon.

:nanafunk:

19-02-2025, 02:12 AM
Sectarianism has nothing whatsoever to do with the Christian faith. Bit like Chump, Mask and Vanity in the US. All use religion for political gain.

Nothing to do with football either.

19-02-2025, 06:18 AM

19-02-2025, 06:32 AM
I think most Northern European people are atheist or agnostic nowadays - very different to when the club was founded.

I went to Tyncastle School and didn’t really know any people with a Catholic background till I started going to Hibs games when I was 15.

I was at a Catholic funeral recently of a friend in London.
It was a lovely service and the people I met were all very warm.
The priest was a lovely Irish man and he spoke highly of my friend who attended the Abbey regularly.

How anyone who claims to be a Christian can hate other Christians just because they have a few slightly different rituals is just plain weird.

Anyway going by schools I think Edinburgh is traditionally majority ‘Protestant’ but I do think it’s an outdated way to look at things.

But I’m also quite proud that Hibs started as a club that set out to represent a community that was discriminated against.

19-02-2025, 06:55 AM
I had to look up what i am and turns out I’m either pantheistic or theist.

I was christened church of scotland but never went to church. Happy for folk to have their religion but not if it negatively affects others. Fairly even split with my mates but cant think of any who practice or go to church. Even here in Ireland with the catholic church still having its mitts on so many parts of life can’t think of anyone under 60 who attends mass.

TheSouthMoroccan
19-02-2025, 08:07 AM
Thanks for all the replies, I've found your feedback and views interesting and informative. Interesting stats from the census which, if I had thought about looking up, probably would have probably have better framed my question. I'll certainly now be able to give a more rounded answer this coming tourist season when asked by any visitors interested in such things.

I fall into the lapsed category maybe even borderline atheist, but when I've been to church for whatever reason, I always enjoyed the quiet moments of contemplation that occurred during the sermons. Perhaps for this reason I was always curious about Buddhism and for a while I went along to some of the classes and meetings which were pretty interesting. So I'm putting myself down as a lapsed Christian Atheist Buddhist mongrel with an unhealthy passion for Hibernian FC.

19-02-2025, 08:35 AM
I'm putting myself down as a lapsed Christian Atheist Buddhist mongrel with an unhealthy passion for Hibernian FC.

Splitter.

19-02-2025, 10:06 AM
Hibs is our religion, or is that just me ........:dunno:

In terms of blind faith and praying for miracles, Hibs take up a lot of my attention - so yes I probably qualify for Hibs being my religion. Can I put that on the census?

19-02-2025, 10:18 AM
In terms of blind faith and praying for miracles, Hibs take up a lot of my attention - so yes I probably qualify for Hibs being my religion. Can I put that on the census?

And like most religions there's a lot of emphasis on suffering in the here and now in the hope of better later, and the miracles we pray for are pretty few and far between!

19-02-2025, 10:20 AM

St Patrick's still IS a church. Worth pointing out as it's so tied up with the origin of our club and a place some of us may wish to pay homage to on occasion. The club even presented St Paddy's with a memorial plaque recognising the connection about 12 years ago .... https://theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2013/03/hibs-fans-present-plaque-to-st-patricks-parish-church/

19-02-2025, 10:22 AM
Sworn enemies imo.

But then IT happened.

:rotflmao: I'd like to see that comic strip :thumbsup:

Pete70
19-02-2025, 11:41 AM
I’m a Catholic and was a regular church goer in my younger days. As I’ve got older I rarely go now and my visits to church are for weddings, christenings and funerals.

19-02-2025, 11:47 AM
I was christened in Lochend parish church, but quickly became a Heathen.

I used to write Hibernian FC in the ‘religion’ section of the Australian Census forms but unbeknown to me that registered in the general ‘religious’ category.

I now put zero…but Hibs are my religion.

Never ever bothered about the Protestant/catholic thing, ever.

19-02-2025, 11:52 AM
Our family's neither. We're Jewish.

But are you a Catholic Jew or a Protestant Jew?

Septimus
19-02-2025, 11:56 AM
Frankly my dear I don’t give a damn what religion anybody is so long as they don’t try to inflict it on me.

19-02-2025, 12:00 PM
I'm in the DGAF camp.

I've got mates on all sides both religiously and football wise. The sectarian bile that emanates from the Glasgow two just depresses me. We dont get a long time on the planet and It's bizarre to me that so many spend so much of their time caught up in something that doesn't really affect them and that they can't control. If you're a catholic, good for you, if not then that's fine too.

Live and let live etc. :cheers:

19-02-2025, 12:06 PM
I, like I suspect most grown-ups, don't believe in fairy tales.

ErinGoBraghHFC
19-02-2025, 02:28 PM

Okay, but say you had to kick something, a ball maybe, what foot do you use? [emoji16]

19-02-2025, 03:10 PM
Religion was never a big deal in my life growing up. Never even christened/baptised/whatever.

Best mate is Catholic (but lapsed) and the rest of my Hibby mates went to school with me, obviously not Catholics.

Genuinely couldn't care less about religion, or what people believe.

But I love Hibs and respect the history of the club. That'll do for me :thumbsup:

19-02-2025, 03:49 PM
Okay, but say you had to kick something, a ball maybe, what foot do you use? [emoji16]

I've got two left feet, so presumably that signifies an allegiance

😉

Hibspur
19-02-2025, 04:53 PM

I think it's fair to say that religion only remains a significant issue in Scottish football because of those two. It was obviously an issue in Hibs' early days and impacted on the way the club was treated, but the way Celtic and Rangers can't let it go is plain daft. I also find the way a section of the Celtic support attempt to politicise issues with their pro-IRA/Hamas flags and songs distasteful and irrelevant to football. The anti-semitic stuff played a big part in Abada leaving the club I recall.

In saying that, probably the only occasion I encountered any sort of 'religious' issue at Easter Road was when one of my sisters was waving a wee Israel flag in the Famous Five stand when Rocky was our keeper. He spotted it and acknowledged it but some loon took exception to it on our way out. I'm not normally a fan of flags at football matches but I've always thought it was OK if they're being used to welcome a player from another country (like the French tricolor for Sauzee).

TheSouthMoroccan
19-02-2025, 05:08 PM

I wasn't going to bother replying, but in the end, I can't resist. As they often say in the political arena, "I'll take no lessons from xxxx". So do yourself a favour pal and re read my original message, and perhaps think more carefully when you reply to posts on here. I've read the history books, I'm fully informed re the history of Hibernian FC, I'm fully up to speed in all things Scottish football and as it happens I lived in Glasgow for 12 years, so I've heard all the nonsense first hand from both cheeks. I qualified my initial message by explaining the background to my question and I stated that I cared neither way. Away back to your colouring in book and leave the complex subjects to the big boys.

19-02-2025, 05:49 PM
I am secular Jew descended from ancient Israelites, my mother used the Scottish Espicapol church as cover and was half between the protestants and catholics. I supported Hibs because it was close to Hawick where I lived and in late 60s and they played flamboyant footbal in those wonderful strips.

19-02-2025, 07:12 PM
Thanks for all the replies, I've found your feedback and views interesting and informative. Interesting stats from the census which, if I had thought about looking up, probably would have probably have better framed my question. I'll certainly now be able to give a more rounded answer this coming tourist season when asked by any visitors interested in such things.

I fall into the lapsed category maybe even borderline atheist, but when I've been to church for whatever reason, I always enjoyed the quiet moments of contemplation that occurred during the sermons. Perhaps for this reason I was always curious about Buddhism and for a while I went along to some of the classes and meetings which were pretty interesting. So I'm putting myself down as a lapsed Christian Atheist Buddhist mongrel with a healthy passion for Hibernian FC.

FTFY :wink:

19-02-2025, 07:49 PM
I wasn't going to bother replying, but in the end, I can't resist. As they often say in the political arena, "I'll take no lessons from xxxx". So do yourself a favour pal and re read my original message, and perhaps think more carefully when you reply to posts on here. I've read the history books, I'm fully informed re the history of Hibernian FC, I'm fully up to speed in all things Scottish football and as it happens I lived in Glasgow for 12 years, so I've heard all the nonsense first hand from both cheeks. I qualified my initial message by explaining the background to my question and I stated that I cared neither way. Away back to your colouring in book and leave the complex subjects to the big boys.

I’m sorry you didn’t like my comment on an open forum.

19-02-2025, 09:21 PM

Your initial post was a good one mate. It's generated a lot of sensible responses which I've enjoyed reading, in the main.

I find some folk's intolerance to other people's beliefs very sad. Whether you are Catholic, Muslim, Protestant, Buddhist, Athiest, its up to them. Live and let live.

No-one has superior knowledge of how we came into this world or how it will end.

No need to defend yourself.

20-02-2025, 12:44 AM
I would consider myself a non denominational Christian, though I doubt I could prove it in court :greengrin

There's an absolute pile of clubs throughout Europe, not least in the UK, that were founded through churches, but it seems to me it's only in Scotland where questions of this nature would even be asked. FWIW most of my close friends are Hibs fans and not a single one of them is religious, never mind Catholic or Protestant.

I would be far more interested to see the breakdown of the social and economic background of the Hibs and Hearts support to see if there is in fact any real credence to the claim that Hibs are the working class club and Hearts are the posher 'establishment' club.
My guess is that what may have started as a significant difference has grown smaller and smaller over the decades. As with the religious thing there's probably very little between the clubs these days.
Most Hearts fans I know are common as muck and as I've said before on here, the two biggest Jambos I know are so far left politically they would give Jeremy Corbyn a run for his money :greengrin

20-02-2025, 05:33 AM
Your initial post was a good one mate. It's generated a lot of sensible responses which I've enjoyed reading, in the main.

I find some folk's intolerance to other people's beliefs very sad. Whether you are Catholic, Muslim, Protestant, Buddhist, Athiest, its up to them. Live and let live.

No-one has superior knowledge of how we came into this world or how it will end.

We do have a bunch of scientists who have a reasonable handle on how we got here 😁

Mcbizz1998
20-02-2025, 07:50 AM
I was christened in the Church of Scotland, from a religious family. I married a catholic and now attend mass at St Mary’s Star of the Sea in Leith.

Not sure what that makes me officially - maybe I count as both!!?

Mcbizz1998
20-02-2025, 07:55 AM

Bet you wouldn’t say that if the OP was enquiring how many Muslims/Sikhs/Hindus we have in our support. Why is it ok to belittle Christian beliefs?

No need.

babahibs
20-02-2025, 08:08 AM
Bet you wouldn’t say that if the OP was enquiring how many Muslims/Sikhs/Hindus we have in our support. Why is it ok to belittle Christian beliefs?

No need.

I'll guess that he would say the same thing.

I would, all religion is nonsense.

People are of course free to believe what they want, as am I.

You don't get to tell people what they can post.

Corstorphine Hibby
20-02-2025, 08:39 AM
I'll guess that he would say the same thing.

I would, all religion is nonsense.

People are of course free to believe what they want, as am I.

You don't get to tell people what they can post.

But the OP wasn't asking for yours or anyone else's opinion on religion?
Just start a new thread if you feel the need to vent and start another one about answering on behalf of other posters

babahibs
20-02-2025, 08:54 AM
But the OP wasn't asking for yours or anyone else's opinion on religion?
Just start a new thread if you feel the need to vent and start another one about answering on behalf of other posters

The poster who posted that most adults don't believe in fairy stories is a valid one for this thread.

The poster I replied to doesn't decide what anyone else can post.

Got it?

20-02-2025, 09:02 AM
We do have a bunch of scientists who have a reasonable handle on how we got here 😁

Was about to comment the same thing.

Corstorphine Hibby
20-02-2025, 09:16 AM
The poster who posted that most adults don't believe in fairy stories is a valid one for this thread.

Got it?

Just for clarity, you can reply on behalf of other posters and you can decide what a valid response is, assuming it suits your narrative?

babahibs
20-02-2025, 09:25 AM
Just for clarity, you can reply on behalf of other posters and you can decide what a valid response is, assuming it suits your narrative?

Irony bypass?

Mcbizz1998
20-02-2025, 09:25 AM

Got it?

Wow! Angry guy.

I’ll pray for you buddy 👍

babahibs
20-02-2025, 09:31 AM
Wow! Angry guy.

I’ll pray for you buddy 👍

Not angry in the slightest buddy.

Don't waste your time.

TheSouthMoroccan
20-02-2025, 09:47 AM

Thanks pal :aok:

20-02-2025, 09:53 AM

No need.

I bet you I would. Utterly ridiculous that grown adults believe in any religion in 2025. It is literally no different than believing in Santa or the tooth fairy, except those 2 aren't responsible for untold pain & suffering since the human race existed. Just my opinion of course.

SickBoy32
20-02-2025, 10:01 AM
I bet you I would. Utterly ridiculous that grown adults believe in any religion in 2025. It is literally no different than believing in Santa or the tooth fairy, except those 2 aren't responsible for untold pain & suffering since the human race existed. Just my opinion of course.

Until such time as modern science can move beyond the theoretical stage, and present some evidence (on Creation / Big Bang / First life on Earth) - I suggest religion will still appeal to many.

To arrogantly dismiss religion as a fairy tale is primary school stuff.

HNA12
20-02-2025, 10:09 AM
The discussion was about the split between denominations in the Hibs support. A tenuous link to football but I guess it harks back to our origins as a club.
If you want to have one about the merits or otherwise of religion itself, which is a whole other topic, then please do it on the Holy Ground. If you continue it here the thread will just get closed.

20-02-2025, 10:14 AM
The discussion was about the split between denominations in the Hibs support. A tenuous link to football but I guess it harks back to our origins as a club.
If you want to have one about the merits or otherwise of religion itself, which is a whole other topic, then please do it on the Holy Ground. If you continue it here the thread will just get closed.

Fair doos....I posted my last reply before reading this.

HNA12
20-02-2025, 10:15 AM
Fair doos....I posted my last reply before reading this.

No problem, guessed that was the case.

TheSouthMoroccan
20-02-2025, 10:18 AM
I would consider myself a non denominational Christian, though I doubt I could prove it in court :greengrin

I would be far more interested to see the breakdown of the social and economic background of the Hibs and Hearts support to see if there is in fact any real credence to the claim that Hibs are the working class club and Hearts are the posher 'establishment' club.
My guess is that what may have started as a significant difference has grown smaller and smaller over the decades. As with the religious thing there's probably very little between the clubs these days.
Most Hearts fans I know are common as muck and as I've said before on here, the two biggest Jambos I know are so far left politically they would give Jeremy Corbyn a run for his money :greengrin

That would be interesting to understand but based on what I thought was my fairly harmless question, I dread to think what the feedback on here would be to any hypothesis and results that folks didn't agree with. Having said that, to save a lot of time and effort :wink: the question you pose can be easily answered by comparing our respective celebrity fan base. A long list of free spirited, creative types, musicians, authors, thespians versus a very short list of C-list types, perhaps known by face but not by name ie like that runner bird who won a medal in some competition or other.

(Ps for the hard of thinking, i'm joking :rolleyes: and yes I know "bird" is not a word we can use these days but hey, it fitted my description and it's allowed under the banner of creative license)

He's here!
20-02-2025, 10:35 AM
Until such time as modern science can move beyond the theoretical stage, and present some evidence (on Creation / Big Bang / First life on Earth) - I suggest religion will still appeal to many.

To arrogantly dismiss religion as a fairy tale is primary school stuff.

Speaking personally, I think there's much that goes hand in hand with religion which many people take comfort in whether or not their beliefs are sincere. For example, I've quite often stepped off the street into a church I happen to be passing, just to collect my thoughts or simply savour the quiet for a few minutes. There's something uniquely calming about the atmosphere, no matter the size of the church. Some of course, particular those in foreign cities, are simply spectacular places to visit while still retaining the unique sense of hush.

Anyway, to answer the question, I was christened in the Church of Scotland but don't regard myself as religious. I'd be quite surprised if there was a significant majority of Catholic Hibs fans these days, although it would have been a different story in the club's early years.

He's here!
20-02-2025, 10:39 AM
I am secular Jew descended from ancient Israelites, my mother used the Scottish Espicapol church as cover and was half between the protestants and catholics. I supported Hibs because it was close to Hawick where I lived and in late 60s and they played flamboyant footbal in those wonderful strips.

Interesting background.

The Hibs strip, rather than religion, as a reason for supporting them has merit I think. It was the reason a late friend of mine chose to follow them and there's no question that in that 60/70s era the Hibs kit was simply magnificent.

Se7enUp
20-02-2025, 10:41 AM
Pointless, potentially divisive thread.

Would be better asking which Hibs fans prefer apples vs oranges.

Se7enUp
20-02-2025, 10:42 AM
Speaking personally, I think there's much that goes hand in hand with religion which many people take comfort in whether or not their beliefs are sincere. For example, I've quite often stepped off the street into a church I happen to be passing, just to collect my thoughts or simply savour the quiet for a few minutes. There's something uniquely calming about the atmosphere, no matter the size of the church. Some of course, particular those in foreign cities, are simply spectacular places to visit while still retaining the unique sense of hush.

Anyway, to answer the question, I was christened in the Church of Scotland but don't regard myself as religious. I'd be quite surprised if there was a significant majority of Catholic Hibs fans these days, although it would have been a different story in the club's early years.

Baptised in the CoS

20-02-2025, 10:46 AM
Pointless, potentially divisive thread.

Would be better asking which Hibs fans prefer apples vs oranges.

Better with apples and pears surely 😡

TheSouthMoroccan
20-02-2025, 10:50 AM
[QUOTE=He's here!;7899012]Speaking personally, I think there's much that goes hand in hand with religion which many people take comfort in whether or not their beliefs are sincere. For example, I've quite often stepped off the street into a church I happen to be passing, just to collect my thoughts or simply savour the quiet for a few minutes. There's something uniquely calming about the atmosphere, no matter the size of the church. Some of course, particular those in foreign cities, are simply spectacular places to visit while still retaining the unique sense of hush.

Agreed, a few quiet moments can do wonders. I'm not in the know but I suspect managing the mind is a common theme across many different religions, just approached from different angles.

Donegal Hibby
20-02-2025, 11:16 AM
Im a catholic and it’s important to me , as an Irish man I’m proud of our football clubs roots without feeling the need to use it in any way or ram it down other peoples throats …

As to what religion or lack of one other Hibs supporters have it really isn’t an issue for me and TBH .

I actually think it’s great that we are so different in many ways but have one thing that unites us all in Hibernian Football Club .

GGTTH 🇳🇬

He's here!
20-02-2025, 11:28 AM
I think it's fair to say that religion only remains a significant issue in Scottish football because of those two. It was obviously an issue in Hibs' early days and impacted on the way the club was treated, but the way Celtic and Rangers can't let it go is plain daft. I also find the way a section of the Celtic support attempt to politicise issues with their pro-IRA/Hamas flags and songs distasteful and irrelevant to football. The anti-semitic stuff played a big part in Abada leaving the club I recall.

In saying that, probably the only occasion I encountered any sort of 'religious' issue at Easter Road was when one of my sisters was waving a wee Israel flag in the Famous Five stand when Rocky was our keeper. He spotted it and acknowledged it but some loon took exception to it on our way out. I'm not normally a fan of flags at football matches but I've always thought it was OK if they're being used to welcome a player from another country (like the French tricolor for Sauzee).

Might be remembering it wrong, but I seem to recall something similar was discussed a few years ago and it turned out to be members of Rocky's family with an Israel flag.

20-02-2025, 11:35 AM
I think this thread is done. People are entitled to have a religion or not to have a religion. I don't care what church people belong to, it shows that the Hibs support come from a broad church. From this thread most of our supporters do not identify as any religion so the split between C and P is an irrelevance. The C and P thing has blighted Scottish football for far too long.