View Full Version : NHC Hearts Fan sadly dies at today's game.
16-02-2025, 07:33 PM
I was just reading that a Hearts Supporter, Charles Stuart (79), sadly passed away at today's game against Rangers.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/tragedy-hearts-fan-dies-after-34690012
Some things are much more important than football... and our often petty rivalries... and I'd like to pass my sincerest sympathies to his family, friends and any Hearts fans affected by today's tragic event
Rest In Peace, Charles. 💚
16-02-2025, 07:36 PM
Dreadful news.
RIP - some Hearts teams he'll have seen in his time.
Bridge hibs
16-02-2025, 07:36 PM
Very sad 💚
16-02-2025, 07:38 PM
Terribly sad, went to the game to see his team.
RIP.
16-02-2025, 07:40 PM
Really brutal that, RIP.
Thoughts are with his friends and family.
16-02-2025, 07:42 PM
RIP Charles and thoughts with your family, friends and anyone affected at the game. Sorry to hear of this.
hibsfan7
16-02-2025, 07:46 PM
R.I.P. charles
16-02-2025, 07:46 PM
Sad news. RIP.
16-02-2025, 07:51 PM
Really terrible news, someone goes to a game and doesn’t come home
AltheHibby
16-02-2025, 07:53 PM
RIP Charles.
16-02-2025, 07:56 PM
That’s awful news - RIP Charles and condolences to his friends and family.
16-02-2025, 07:59 PM
Such sad news, RIP Charles ❤️💚
Ricky Bobby
16-02-2025, 07:59 PM
Terrible news.
Condolences to his family and friends. RIP
hibsfan7
16-02-2025, 08:00 PM
In his life he saw his beloved hearts win 2 championships 4 league cups and 4 scottish cups plus quite a few european games
Hibspur
16-02-2025, 08:00 PM
Really terrible news, someone goes to a game and doesn’t come home
Yes, sad to hear and condolences to his family.
At nearly 80 it was maybe just his time, and I imagine there are plenty of elderly fans who can think of worse ways to go than watching their favourite football team.
PHeffernan
16-02-2025, 08:08 PM
It's seldom good to go but he left at a place he loved.
RIP Charles.
Condolences to his family and friends.
16-02-2025, 08:09 PM
News like this transcends all of our football chat.
RIP.
EskbankHibby
16-02-2025, 08:10 PM
That’s dreadful news.
Condolences to his family.
16-02-2025, 08:10 PM
As I have said on these boards many times, my old dad and I used to go to Tynecastle one week and Easter Road the next in the early sixties.
I feel as affectionate towards the old Hearts players as I do about the old Hibees from those days.
Guys like big Alan Anderson, Tommy Traynor who was a fantastic tricky winger and Willie Wallace who became a Lisbon Lion with Celtic. Also red-heared full-back Chris Shevlane who turned out for us eventually.
I met the Hearts manager Tommy Walker through my dad and what a charming man he was.
I thoroughly regret the animosity that has crept into the game nowadays. We used to chuck the occasional can of beer over the terrace but there was nothing brutal about it!
News like today's brings everything into perspective somehow.
Hibby Gav
16-02-2025, 08:13 PM
Thoughts are with his family…life is too short….
rest in peace….
16-02-2025, 08:15 PM
Awful news.
RIP fellow football fan.
16-02-2025, 08:16 PM
Terrible news.
RIP.
16-02-2025, 08:29 PM
Sad news. RIP fellow fan
I was just reading that a Hearts Supporter, Charles Stuart (79), sadly passed away at today's game against Rangers.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/tragedy-hearts-fan-dies-after-34690012
Some things are much more important than football... and our often petty rivalries... and I'd like to pass my sincerest sympathies to his family, friends and any Hearts fans affected by today's tragic event
Rest In Peace, Charles. 💚
RIP Charles, we all supported our teams with passion.
GRS
16-02-2025, 08:37 PM
This is really sad to hear. All the best to his family and friends. RIP Charles
Donegal Hibby
16-02-2025, 08:42 PM
Really sad news .
RIP .
TrinityHFC
16-02-2025, 08:48 PM
As I have said on these boards many times, my old dad and I used to go to Tynecastle one week and Easter Road the next in the early sixties.
I feel as affectionate towards the old Hearts players as I do about the old Hibees from those days.
Guys like big Alan Anderson, Tommy Traynor who was a fantastic tricky winger and Willie Wallace who became a Lisbon Lion with Celtic. Also red-heared full-back Chris Shevlane who turned out for us eventually.
I met the Hearts manager Tommy Walker through my dad and what a charming man he was.
I thoroughly regret the animosity that has crept into the game nowadays. We used to chuck the occasional can of beer over the terrace but there was nothing brutal about it!
Disagree on perspective.
Football fans die in numbers every day, we all will. It’s fine to take football seriously while we are still here.
If I die in a football stadium then fine, probably worse places to go but I don’t expect anyone to think more deeply about the importance or otherwise of football as a result.
Sad news for friends and family, as it is with everyone else that dies everyday.
NC1875
16-02-2025, 08:59 PM
Was just reading that. RIP Charles Stuart.
Condolences to your friends and family. ❤️
cubehindthegoal
16-02-2025, 09:10 PM
Have young child memories of switching ends at Tynecastle when we played them there, but I would’ve been really young I guess, so not sure how accurate they are … especially as I’m auld now, lol. But I remember it being banter, and not threatening or the like … if I’m remembering right, can you imagine that now … couldn’t happen … but this old hearts fan who has passed away would understand that too I’m guessing. My best to him.
16-02-2025, 09:21 PM
Some lovely replies and sentiments on here
I agree with all saying wishing nothing but best to the family and friends left behind too
I do always think there's a better quality of rivalry in Edinburgh football than you get from Ibrox etc - difficult to imagine similar human warmth being expressed towards a rival from many in the angry mob in the west.
It says a lot of good things about Edinburgh football that a thread like this is so universally warm - sometimes tragic news really brings out the best in people.
16-02-2025, 11:05 PM
That's incredibly bittersweet. Condolences to his family.
Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk
Gerard
16-02-2025, 11:15 PM
RIP.
Condolences to the family.
16-02-2025, 11:28 PM
😢
17-02-2025, 06:35 AM
RIP. Condolences to his family and friends.
He's here!
17-02-2025, 07:56 AM
Disagree on perspective.
Football fans die in numbers every day, we all will. It’s fine to take football seriously while we are still here.
If I die in a football stadium then fine, probably worse places to go but I don’t expect anyone to think more deeply about the importance or otherwise of football as a result.
Sad news for friends and family, as it is with everyone else that dies everyday.
I get what you're saying. He might just as easily have had a heart attack doing something like putting the bins out and that would have been no less upsetting for his family.
I guess though that the fact he passed away watching the team he's presumably supported all his life was a way he might have chosen to go if such a thing were possible.
Whatever, it's sad to hear. It must be difficult for those sitting nearby when something like this happens in a stadium, theatre etc - and for the Rangers medic who tried to save him.
17-02-2025, 07:57 AM
Deepest sincerest condolences to family and friends
17-02-2025, 08:04 AM
I often think that when i go, i'd like it to be at Easter Rd. RIP Charles.
jakeshibs
17-02-2025, 11:40 AM
RIP Charles
StevieHendo
17-02-2025, 11:46 AM
Some lovely replies and sentiments on here
I agree with all saying wishing nothing but best to the family and friends left behind too
I do always think there's a better quality of rivalry in Edinburgh football than you get from Ibrox etc - difficult to imagine similar human warmth being expressed towards a rival from many in the angry mob in the west.
It says a lot of good things about Edinburgh football that a thread like this is so universally warm - sometimes tragic news really brings out the best in people.
Its actually one of the things i like best about our rivalry unlike the old firm mob, we all unite in the one thing which is loving your team and we know theres more to life than the game itself, as great as it is to hump them and ger it up them and vice versa they have same view, when it comes to fans being ill or anything like this both clubs unite greatly. same with the community things for the local hospitals and stuff its an endearing thing.
17-02-2025, 11:52 AM
So sad to hear of someone going out to watch their beloved team and not coming home. My condolences to family and friends. RIP Charles.
wee Stevie
17-02-2025, 12:17 PM
Terrible news RIP
17-02-2025, 03:06 PM
Rest in Peace.
04-03-2025, 03:35 PM
Been in Oz for 4 weeks so kinda missed this in detail as I didn’t really go through the thread properly. Went back to work last night to be told that who this actually was. I worked with Charlie for over 16 years until the firm went bust in 2006. He was hearts daft without the nonsense.
I hadn’t seen him in years until I bumped into him in Livingston centre one day about 3 years ago. Chatted all things fitba for nearly an hour and thought I’d got away it as I bode him farewell as I really had to go. He gently pulled me back by the arm and said aye but what about that final eh with a mischievous grin and glint in his eye. He was a real character and will no doubt be missed by his friends. One of the good uns. He would be delighted and grateful with the response on here. RIP Charlie.