View Full Version : Ross Hardie
Coach Jon
16-02-2025, 03:12 PM
That refereeing performance puts you up there with Alan Freeland as one of the worst I have witnessed.
Hopefully you dont get another Hibs game in future.
16-02-2025, 03:13 PM
Let me guess - west coaster/Glaswegian?
16-02-2025, 03:14 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/referee-tom-lawrence-rangers-coaching-33650715?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook&fbclid=IwZXh0bgNhZW0CMTEAAR2i7jh8ByWH6YCyeqxkSGXi_ 4Mrx1e3G-RTfdNwniMpvMlPogjx0UH7qtI_aem_wzpKk1eC6sdwrPXbf-Wf-w#Echobox=1726127680
Oh look.
Trinity Hibee
16-02-2025, 03:15 PM
Awful. Completely out of his depth today with some
Mind boggling big decisions
16-02-2025, 03:15 PM
Let me guess - west coaster/Glaswegian?
Is part of the Glasgow association but no idea where he’s originally from. Should be sacked for the penalty alone. The sending off caps off a woeful performance from this joker.
16-02-2025, 03:16 PM
Scottish football has a severe problem with lack of decent / competent refs.
Another shocker to add to the list.
Doubt there will any repercussions and he will be messing up another top flight game next week.
16-02-2025, 03:17 PM
Some of the decisions were genuinely laughable
Refs get far too involved now
The SFA need to get every ref in for a meeting and just say “a foul doesn’t mean it is a yellow”
Players genuinely can’t challenge for the ball now
16-02-2025, 03:19 PM
Bowie was fouled about 3 times clearly and the ref completely ignored - baffling
Manneh 2nd yellow - pathetic
Our penalty call - ridiculous
It's some 90 minutes
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
16-02-2025, 03:19 PM
He’s from West of Scotland.
16-02-2025, 03:21 PM
22 yellows and 1 red in the last 6 games he’s had before today btw..
16-02-2025, 03:22 PM
Whilst the ref was absolutely atrocious, var did us no favours. The ref made the right call but for the wrong reasons for the pen. The defender has a hold of bowies shirt. How var didn't look at that but seems to analyse every minute detail to give pens against us is ridiculous.
crash
16-02-2025, 03:25 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/referee-tom-lawrence-rangers-coaching-33650715?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook&fbclid=IwZXh0bgNhZW0CMTEAAR2i7jh8ByWH6YCyeqxkSGXi_ 4Mrx1e3G-RTfdNwniMpvMlPogjx0UH7qtI_aem_wzpKk1eC6sdwrPXbf-Wf-w#Echobox=1726127680
Oh look.
Well surprise surprise!!
16-02-2025, 03:28 PM
Bowie was fouled about 3 times clearly and the ref completely ignored - baffling
Manneh 2nd yellow - pathetic
Our penalty call - ridiculous
It's some 90 minutes
Even smaller decisions
Triantis and Ayunga getting booked for absolutely nothing. Football drives me mad now
16-02-2025, 03:33 PM
One of the worst refereeing performances I have ever seen, particularly the last 20-30 minutes. In among all the real hilarity the blatant pull on Bowie 10 yards outside our box that he was standing right next to and saw fit to ignore was close to my 'favourite' decision.
There needs to be a serious conversation about refereeing standards in this country. Whether it's the directives, the training, the analysis or whatever it needs looked at. Players and fans deserve better than that.
16-02-2025, 03:33 PM
Why are there no refs getting games in top flight from outside West Central Scotland as it can’t be ability based given the shambolic performances from the ones that do?
16-02-2025, 03:34 PM
Just wow https://x.com/PremSportsTV/status/1891152992901988635?s=19
16-02-2025, 03:35 PM
One of the worst refereeing performances I have ever seen, particularly the last 20-30 minutes. In among all the real hilarity the blatant pull on Bowie 10 yards outside our box that he was standing right next to and saw fit to ignore was close to my 'favourite' decision.
There needs to be a serious conversation about refereeing standards in this country. Whether it's the directives, the training, the analysis or whatever it needs looked at. Players and fans deserve better than that.
That pull on Bowie that he managed to ignore was incredible. Was it because the guy doing it was on a yellow?
It's no wonder players lose the rag when absolutely blatant stuff like that is not given.
16-02-2025, 03:38 PM
Gets worse every time I see it. An absolute nothing challenge.
16-02-2025, 03:39 PM
The link I posted earlier had released audio that allegedly of the ref “coaching” Rangers players through the game - “don’t tackle” to Tom Lawrence for example.
The refereeing of the top flight in Scotland is almost entirely from Glasgow and surrounding areas so it’d be crazy to think that at the least unconscious bias doesn’t come into decision making.
16-02-2025, 03:40 PM
Why are there no refs getting games in top flight from outside West Central Scotland as it can’t be ability based given the shambolic performances from the ones that do?
Been asking that for years. It's been that way for decades and the clubs, including Hibs, are complicit for not kicking up a stink about it.
16-02-2025, 03:41 PM
Just wow https://x.com/PremSportsTV/status/1891152992901988635?s=19Full bloodied
Lucky he didn't kill the boy
16-02-2025, 03:47 PM
The problem with these dweebs that get fast tracked is that when they decide to do so with them it doesn't matter how ***** they are on the way up. Everything gets justified.
As bad as our officiating is I have still seen some very good ones at the lower levels that NEVER get looked at for promotion to the next level because their face doesn't fit or they're in the wrong area of the country.
The whole system is an absolute shambles and today's jokester highlights how anyone that shakes enough hands can make it in spite of how utterly hopeless they are.
16-02-2025, 03:49 PM
The problem with these dweebs that get fast tracked is that when they decide to do so with them it doesn't matter how ***** they are on the way up. Everything gets justified.
As bad as our officiating is I have still seen some very good ones at the lower levels that NEVER get looked at for promotion to the next level because their face doesn't fit or they're in the wrong area of the country.
The whole system is an absolute shambles and today's jokester highlights how anyone that shakes enough hands can make it in spite of how utterly hopeless they are.
Unfortunately too a lot of the good ones don’t want to move up a level due to the travel and scrutiny you’d be under
16-02-2025, 03:57 PM
It's a chicken and egg scenario. There are very few high profile east cost refs because there are very few high profile east coast refs.
I've been reffed by loads of brilliant east coast refs over the years; from pro youth and Scottish Youth Cup through to East of Scotland level. The guys with ambition realise pretty quickly that their route is blocked. You get the odd exception but for the most part the guys in the west know the right people to get noticed because all the high profile refs and guys running the show are their peers and mates.
It's all but a closed shop and it will never change because incompetent idiots like Hardie face no repercussions for performances like that today.
HarpOnHibee
16-02-2025, 04:04 PM
The link I posted earlier had released audio that allegedly of the ref “coaching” Rangers players through the game - “don’t tackle” to Tom Lawrence for example.
The refereeing of the top flight in Scotland is almost entirely from Glasgow and surrounding areas so it’d be crazy to think that at the least unconscious bias doesn’t come into decision making.
Collum tried to shut down the "conspiracy theories" in that article by stating that referees have to "declare interests" before being cleared to referee at the top level.
What he doesn't tell us is that they simply have to declare an interest in Rangers to referee at the top level.
16-02-2025, 04:06 PM
Described as “reckless” in BBC report…
cubehindthegoal
16-02-2025, 04:07 PM
Oh look.
Plenty will turn a blind eye as ever.
Even on here. I’ll never understand that. I understand why some in power in Scottish football turn a blind eye. Doesn’t excuse it, but they feel no shame. I’ll never understand why anyone here would look to find a defence for it.
16-02-2025, 04:08 PM
He was pish for St Mirren too
16-02-2025, 04:11 PM
It didn’t involve Celtic or Rangers so they probably didn’t even watch.
A “reckless” jump, what a joke.
16-02-2025, 04:12 PM
He's from Dunoon.
16-02-2025, 04:14 PM
He was pish for St Mirren too
Aye, how he could be looking directly at the ball coming off the St Mirren players face and think it was a handball was incredible.
A completely reactionary ref, didn’t take time to think about any decisions. Shouldn’t get to ref another premiership game again.
I’ve genuinely seen better refs at the bairns under 13’s games.
cubehindthegoal
It's a chicken and egg scenario. There are very few high profile east cost refs because there are very few high profile east coast refs.
I've been reffed by loads of brilliant east coast refs over the years; from pro youth and Scottish Youth Cup through to East of Scotland level. The guys with ambition realise pretty quickly that their route is blocked. You get the odd exception but for the most part the guys in the west know the right people to get noticed because all the high profile refs and guys running the show are their peers and mates.
It's all but a closed shop and it will never change because incompetent idiots like Hardie face no repercussions for performances like that today.
But also, it’s surely a decision, to look no farther than your own back yard. It’s not just mates … you’re working for a national association … in other lines of work, good managers look outwith their “locality” for talent … they know it exists elsewhere .. is it not once again just turning a blind eye to make sure you get the results you get in the end eg what we suffer seeing, that happens to our team, season after season ? It’s both subtle, and in your face, and works for them over the piece. So are we just justify their actions by saying … well … that’s just how it is ? Rather than shout out what we see …
HarpOnHibee
16-02-2025, 04:15 PM
"The Gambia midfielder, a graduate of the Barcelona youth academy, came on in the 70th minute, was booked a minute later for a trip, then saw yellow again for a reckless aerial challenge on Killian Phillips."
"a reckless aerial challenge"
I swear, they do it on purpose.
cubehindthegoal
16-02-2025, 04:16 PM
BBC Sport would say that, as hopefully most realise. Needs changed.
16-02-2025, 04:21 PM
I'm permanently astonished and in some ways quite impressed by the way that they manage to manufacture a constant supply of those utter ****wits. You have to hand it to the west of Scotland lodges - their production line of the most absolutely inept and spineless pedants imaginable is pretty damn remarkable.
Fifeshirehibs
16-02-2025, 04:41 PM
Ref genuinely looked terrified to be there, fortunately for him nobody lost due to his nonsense. Recall heading through to the old Love Street one wed night, spent a fortune, the ref was a paisley solicitor who ushered in a 3-1 home win, incompetent west coast officials been in charge for the near 60 years I've been watching.
cubehindthegoal
16-02-2025, 04:44 PM
Ref genuinely looked terrified to be there, fortunately for him nobody lost due to his nonsense. Recall heading through to the old Love Street one wed night, spent a fortune, the ref was a paisley solicitor who ushered in a 3-1 home win, incompetent west coast officials been in charge for the near 60 years I've been watching.
We lost a player to a red card. We don’t know the difference that made to the result. Likely didn’t help us.
16-02-2025, 04:46 PM
I doubt Ross is all that bothered having trousered around £1000 plus travel expenses for making an arse of today's game.
16-02-2025, 04:51 PM
There is a lot made of the standard of Scottish football due to player ability. But ffs surely the standard of referees and pitches needs to be looked at as well. I'd defy Liverpool v Barcelona to be a good game at St Mirren with Ross Hardie as the ref
16-02-2025, 04:55 PM
I doubt Ross is all that bothered having trousered around £1000 plus travel expenses for making an arse of today's game.
True Dave , See if referees had to give an interview after the game , Like say it's compulsory they had to explain their actions and decisions they made i think there would be a lot less truly staggering decisions made by referees
They hide behind their comfort blankets as they know fine well they will not and never have to explain their actions and will face no consequences
That pull on Bowies shirt as THE St.mirren player tugged him to the ground ( With the ref standing 5 yards away BTW ) is truly criminal to wave play on
allmodcons
16-02-2025, 04:58 PM
Never kicked a ball in his life.
Last pick from benches at school football every week so decided to get his own back by becoming a referee.
16-02-2025, 05:07 PM
Never kicked a ball in his life.
Last pick from benches at school football every week so decided to get his own back by becoming a referee.
Hmmm, you're obviously describing a top-level Scottish referee there, but could you narrow it down a bit?
16-02-2025, 05:11 PM
Absolutely mental that after that performance he's walking away with a £1000 for about 3 hours work.
16-02-2025, 05:13 PM
Another series of farcical decisions but check the player going down "injured" and getting straight up once the 2nd yellow is out
Players and officials need to be made accountable for the pathetic decisions and play acting in the game. Embarrassing
HarpOnHibee
16-02-2025, 05:16 PM
Absolutely mental that after that performance he's walking away with a £1000 for about 3 hours work.
Poor man's change. Manneh walked away with more for 13 minutes work.
16-02-2025, 05:18 PM
He totally lost the plot in the latter part of the game. Just stopped giving fouls, when there were genuinely clear fouls.
The sending off was an absolute joke. That is never, ever a yellow card.
VAR is causing a lot of this. You’re routinely seeing referees that look completely out their depth and it’s partly down to getting promoted too quickly because of the number of officials needed.
16-02-2025, 05:26 PM
He's from Dunoon.
The Balloon frae Dunoon
16-02-2025, 05:31 PM
That's got to be a joke right .
16-02-2025, 06:47 PM
Collum tried to shut down the "conspiracy theories" in that article by stating that referees have to "declare interests" before being cleared to referee at the top level.
What he doesn't tell us is that they simply have to declare an interest in Rangers to referee at the top level.
Aye but then they allow ways round the “interests” rules. I knew a guy who was a linesman at our level. Was a Hearts ST holder and shareholder. Obviously needed to give up the Hearts ST (not like he could actually make use of it). All he needed to do with the shares was sign them over to his wife!
He also got given a cup final involving Hearts BTW.
16-02-2025, 06:51 PM
That's got to be a joke right .Btw, the more I see that the less convinced I am its even a foul nevermind a booking
16-02-2025, 07:07 PM
Really bizarre how he let attacks play out before going back to award a foul. This is not something you see anywhere in world football…. If the attacking team commit a foul, the ref is meant to blow the whistle FFS.
Then the time when he does decide to whistle was for our penalty. If he just left that to VAR (since he was obviously guessing!) it would not have denied us our corner.
Just abysmal
HibeeMackenzie
16-02-2025, 07:11 PM
Another high school bully victim
16-02-2025, 07:25 PM
A refereeing performance so bad his own mother has disowned him.
His father would too, if anyone knows who that is.
It felt to me like he was influenced by St Mirren fans getting angrier and jeering him. Gogic shouting abuse towards the linesman should have got him a 2nd yellow. Ref was pretty timid letting him get away with that.
zitelli62
16-02-2025, 07:31 PM
It felt to me like he was influenced by St Mirren fans getting angrier and jeering him. Gogic shouting abuse towards the linesman should have got him a 2nd yellow. Ref was pretty timid letting him get away with that.
Correct he should have walked for that.
16-02-2025, 10:01 PM
I remember when a player would get a warning for the first and maybe even the second offence before a card was produced. That is twice in just over a week where a Hibs player has been booked for a first offence within minutes of being on the pitch. Is it just our players who are being treated so severely? Different matter when it's a blatant red card offence but not for lesser tackles.
16-02-2025, 10:42 PM
He looks pretty hard to be fair
cubehindthegoal
16-02-2025, 10:46 PM
He looks pretty hard to be fair
Shouldn’t matter to be fair. I know you’re being flippant though I’m sure. But beyond that, f him … a ref needs to let someone like that know .. the ref actually is (supposed to be) in charge .. you can do that, and then he (Gogic) might manage to manage himself, and stop bein’ a bairn ! Just my view though.
But just to qualify this … we are talking about the ref who sent off our player with two yellow cards, for his first and only two fouls within minutes of being on the pitch, one of which was clearly not a yellow card, as SDG has thankfully also made clear in his interview after the match ..
So to be honest … and I know this isn’t to do with your post so I apologise for that … but … to hell with giving this ref any credence.
17-02-2025, 12:25 AM
Manneh’s first foul is probably booking-worthy, but in the context of what the referee had posited and let go before and after it, a foul and a talking to would have been reasonable without anyone getting upset about it.
To follow that booking up with the second is just incredibly ineptitude. It’s not a booking at all, and then when you factor in the referee’s approach to the rest of the game then it’s even more astonishing that he’s deemed that worthy of a booking.
It’s brutal we can’t appeal it, and the referee should be contacting us to apologise.
17-02-2025, 05:59 AM
Absolutely a closed shop and very cliquey imo. Leads to a lack of proper governance and favouritism exactly as we have now. I mean how someone like Clancy seems to have such a prominent role and has refereed at the top level for years pretty much sums it up.
SickBoy32
17-02-2025, 06:41 AM
It used to be a challenge to find 6 semi competent refs to fulfil the top flight fixtures.
With the introduction of VAR - we now need double the refs 😂
No other choice but to promote dafties way beyond their ability, and the mess is clear for all to see. They ruin games on a weekly basis now. VAR itself destroys the spectacle and rhythm of a match.
I pray we the fans see sense soon, and demand a return to proper football and get this nonsense gone. Norway and Sweden provide hope 👍
Cooshed Kid
17-02-2025, 06:43 AM
As long as clubs continue to accept timidly this disgraceful lack of high quality decision-making and objectivity from the on-field officials - and the frequent suspicion of actual bias - the situation will not improve. Come on, Hibs. Lodge an official complaint over Ross Hardie's pantomime parody of what proper officiating should involve.
These incompetent officials are costing the club points, money and damaging its business. Hardie should never have any involvement again, either on-field or in VAR, with any professional football game in Scotland. Ask St Mirren to join in the complaint. I doubt they were any happier than us with yesterday's clown show.
Definitely time to hand over all officiating to foreign referees. Scots referees are surely the worst.
17-02-2025, 06:54 AM
Who were the assistants ?
17-02-2025, 08:57 AM
It used to be a challenge to find 6 semi competent refs to fulfil the top flight fixtures.
No other choice but to promote dafties way beyond their ability, and the mess is clear for all to see. They ruin games on a weekly basis now. VAR itself destroys the spectacle and rhythm of a match.
I pray we the fans see sense soon, and demand a return to proper football and get this nonsense gone. Norway and Sweden provide hope 👍
We actually need three times the referees compared to when I started watching football with the 4th Official too. Then we need more assistant referees to act as the assistant VAR.
As you say, this is why we are seeing loads of referees promoted either too soon or who would never get to this level in the first place previously.
17-02-2025, 09:22 AM
He's from Dunoon.
There was a young ref from Dunoon
Who brandished his cards too soon
It’s so easily seen
He just doesn’t like green
He’ll no doubt favour maroon
pollution
17-02-2025, 09:33 AM
It’s so easily seen
Like it !
17-02-2025, 10:10 AM
It’s so easily seen
To no one's surprise he's actually another hun.
18-02-2025, 06:00 AM
True Dave , See if referees had to give an interview after the game , Like say it's compulsory they had to explain their actions and decisions they made i think there would be a lot less truly staggering decisions made by referees
They hide behind their comfort blankets as they know fine well they will not and never have to explain their actions and will face no consequences
That pull on Bowies shirt as THE St.mirren player tugged him to the ground ( With the ref standing 5 yards away BTW ) is truly criminal to wave play on
Absolutely spot on. The fact we were put in a disadvantageous position on Sunday and our player misses the next game because of his incompetence is farcical. That ridiculous rule of not being able to appeal a second yellow needs changed immediately
We need to bring back the officials from Malta. That was the last time we had competent match officials officiate our games.
18-02-2025, 08:12 AM
Absolutely spot on. The fact we were put in a disadvantageous position on Sunday and our player misses the next game because of his incompetence is farcical. That ridiculous rule of not being able to appeal a second yellow needs changed immediately
Problem with being able to appeal a second yellow is that if that one was correct but the first one was farcical. A second yellow would still stand.
Fifeshirehibs
18-02-2025, 12:32 PM
It’s so easily seen
Can I add,
He might be maroon ,possibly true
But he does look suspiciously tru blue
Against Ross County He screamed like a fan
Don't tackle , don't tackle the man.
The tackle came in ,foul cried one and aw
Naw screamed the fan wi whistle he got the baw
Stonewall
18-02-2025, 03:59 PM
I think that VAR should be staffed by recently retired referees with someone riding shotgun to operate the technology for them.
Silky
18-02-2025, 09:15 PM
We need to bring back the officials from Malta. That was the last time we had competent match officials officiate our games.
I'm not sure. I've seen some equally incompetent European clowns taking charge of some of our Euro matches.