View Full Version : Who in your opinion has been the most successful ever Hibs Player

15-02-2025, 01:59 PM
Was thinking about this when looking at another thread about injured players. Players that started out at Hibs, when you compare quality over quantity for me it would have to be Des Bremner who won English League medals and European Cup medal. Scott Brown won the most of all medals but like I say, looking at quality over quantity.
Who else.

ChilliEater
15-02-2025, 02:01 PM
Was thinking about this when looking at another thread about injured players. Players that started out at Hibs, when you compare quality over quantity for me it would have to be Des Bremner who won English League medals and European Cup medal. Scott Brown won the most of all medals but like I say, looking at quality over quantity.
Who else.
Gordon Smith? 3 titles with Hibs, 1 with hearts and one with Dundee.

15-02-2025, 02:05 PM
George Best and Sauzee both won European trophies. But if you mean starting at Hibs and going on to glory, Des Bremner and Brown are good shouts.

15-02-2025, 02:11 PM
Steve Archibald

15-02-2025, 02:20 PM
Peter Cormack worthy of a mention.

15-02-2025, 02:31 PM
Gordon Smith? 3 titles with Hibs, 1 with hearts and one with Dundee.

Good shout, perhaps would bring in Bobby Johnson as well then as he won league titles with Hibs, then won F.A.Cup with Man City also first player to score in two successive F.A. Cups.

15-02-2025, 02:52 PM

15-02-2025, 02:56 PM
Kenny Dalglish

15-02-2025, 03:12 PM
Kenny Dalglish

https://i.ibb.co/pjQt77jq/IMG-1953.png (https://ibb.co/ZzSnjjz9)

15-02-2025, 03:13 PM
Lewis Stevenson 🏅🏅

15-02-2025, 03:26 PM
https://i.ibb.co/pjQt77jq/IMG-1953.png (https://ibb.co/ZzSnjjz9)
Ha,ha wondered how long it would take, nice but the ask was for Players that started out at Hibs.

15-02-2025, 04:34 PM
Probably overlooked with the passing generations (I never saw him play but if I had a Time Machine) Gordon Smith.

15-02-2025, 04:40 PM
No one will ever achieve what Gordon Smith did again.

In time another Hibs player may go on to win a European trophy, many will likely have domestic success but to win the league with 3 different clubs in Scotland will almost certainly never never be repeated, add in Smith did it without every representing either of the Glasgow pair.

He gets my vote.

HarpOnHibee
15-02-2025, 04:59 PM
Sir David Gray after winning the Scottish Cup as both player and manager. :pray:

Hibspur
15-02-2025, 06:00 PM
Who else.

Bremner's a good call, but Peter Cormack (I think, I'd have to double check) won two English league titles and two UEFA Cups at Liverpool. He also played in several of Hibs' greatest European wins. Think he was also part of Scotland's 1974 World Cup squad.

Latterly he won an Anglo-Scottish Cup with Bristol City and I think he played for part of the season which saw Hibs win the First Division in 1981.

As others have suggested, Gordon Smith's achievements also put him firmly in the frame.

15-02-2025, 06:12 PM
Lawrie Reilly must be up there. Two league titles , 22 goals for Scotland, and a Hibs player all his career.

15-02-2025, 06:18 PM

Clarence
15-02-2025, 07:04 PM
Des Bremner won the European Cup with Villa after leaving Hibs.

15-02-2025, 07:09 PM
Des Bremner

One that's given me most pleasure, Lewis.

15-02-2025, 08:20 PM
Ivan Sproule had a video made to 'Don't Stop Me Now' by Queen after putting 3 past the Huns at Ibrox.

End of discussion...:greengrin

15-02-2025, 08:24 PM
Willie Hamilton and Georgie..

15-02-2025, 09:43 PM
No one will ever achieve what Gordon Smith did again.

In time another Hibs player may go on to win a European trophy, many will likely have domestic success but to win the league with 3 different clubs in Scotland will almost certainly never never be repeated, add in Smith did it without every representing either of the Glasgow pair.

He gets my vote.
Agree, my father in law said he was one of the best footballers he had ever seen, I'm old enough to have seen him play once, for Hearts against Ayr, he hit the bar from well outside 18 yard area, fabulous.

davym7062
15-02-2025, 11:52 PM
lewis. hes won both cups no hibs player can say the same

AdidasHibernian
16-02-2025, 05:41 AM
If its strictly as a Hibs player then of course Lewis.

I general of career maybe, Scott Brown?

Trinity Hibee
16-02-2025, 05:48 AM
Ivan Sproule had a video made to 'Don't Stop Me Now' by Queen after putting 3 past the Huns at Ibrox.

End of discussion...:greengrin

Right at the start of the YouTube age. Fantastic video

16-02-2025, 06:54 AM
Already mentioned but another shout for my boyhood hero Peter Barr Cormack RIP such a graceful wonderful player winner of two English First Division titles an FA Cup a UEFA Cup and an Anglo Scottish Cup the final piece of Bill Shankly’s great Liverpool side

:not worth

16-02-2025, 07:54 AM
Already mentioned but another shout for my boyhood hero Peter Barr Cormack RIP such a graceful wonderful player winner of two English First Division titles an FA Cup a UEFA Cup and an Anglo Scottish Cup the final piece of Bill Shankly’s great Liverpool side

:not worth[emoji106] Should be right up there for sure.

16-02-2025, 09:34 AM
Gordon Smith has to be up there. Only player to win the Scottish league with three different teams and he did it with Hibs, Hearts and Dundee!

16-02-2025, 10:20 AM
Definitely Gordon Smith.

Only the Ugly Sisters have won more league titles than his five, three of which were with us.

Ribs1875
17-02-2025, 03:37 PM
Lewis Stevenson most successful.

Best signing however has to be John McGinn, followed by Best, Sauzee and Latapy

DIXIHIBS
17-02-2025, 04:19 PM
Lewis Stevenson most successful.

Best signing however has to be John McGinn, followed by Best, Sauzee and Latapy

Not sure about Best. Great to sign a genuine superstar but maybe my hazy memory but he wasn't that good, unreliable, missing etc. undoubtedly a huge signing...but a good one??

17-02-2025, 04:24 PM
Not sure about Best. Great to sign a genuine superstar but maybe my hazy memory but he wasn't that good, unreliable, missing etc. undoubtedly a huge signing...but a good one??

I wasn't around at the time but I think I remember reading that Turnbull wasn't very happy when Best was signed?

Im one of Best's biggest fans but from speaking to older fans he certainly didn't add very much to Hibs. Some big crowds, and a sprinkling of memorable moments but a lot of disappointment on the terraces when he didn't turn up, which happened more than once

17-02-2025, 04:25 PM
Chris Dagnall.

18-02-2025, 07:15 AM
George Best wasn’t the player that lit up Europe and England the legs had gone but still had the vision awareness range of passing and football brain that made him one step ahead of everyone else

He was box office in his brief stay even after the initial attraction had waned and attendances had returned to normality but probably still covered his reported 2k per game paid for by Tom Hart over the piece

Eddie Turnbull might not have wanted him but to me he always looked like our best player even although Ally Macleod thought differently ‘ George Best couldnae lace ma boots ‘ ( allegedly)

Yes there were disappointments I was one of the 15500 frozen disappointed punters that Sunday afternoon in the Scottish Cup versus Ayr United but there were a few highlights games against Partick Celtic Rangers and a wonder goal versus Dundee IIRC

3 goals from 16 games was not enough to save us from the inevitable abyss it was a gamble that didn’t work and included at least one ‘ sacking ‘ you could not help but wonder if the funds might have been better invested elsewhere?

He returned for a brief sojourn in the lower League where he played 6 games for us undefeated 2 of which were League Cup ties

18-02-2025, 09:56 AM

Lewis in the modern age - but all time greatest in a Hibs strip would still have to be Gordon Smith with three League Titles.

His teammates would be in with a shout with most having bagged at least a couple of titles for Hibs.

Also worthy of mention would be the team from around 1902 - most of whom would have won a league title and a Scottish Cup with the Hibees.

18-02-2025, 10:01 AM

Besty will remain much loved by the Hibs fans that saw him - but unfortunately that didn't happen nearly enough. The man was battling his demons over that period - and often losing. FWIW I reckon if Best had turned out for us for the whole season we would not have been relegated. He didn't and we were and for that reason it will go down in history as a huge gamble that didn't come off.

18-02-2025, 10:05 AM
Gordon Smith for me.

Incredible achievement to win titles with 3 different, non-OF clubs.

I'm a big one for saying "never is a very long time" but I feel pretty confident in saying that particular achievement will never be matched.

Scotland wasn't exactly a footballing backwater at the time either - plenty of good players and good teams.

18-02-2025, 10:09 AM
Gordon Smith for me.

Incredible achievement to win 3 titles with 3 different, non-OF clubs.

I'm a big one for saying "never is a very long time" but I feel pretty confident in saying that particular achievement will never be matched.

Scotland wasn't exactly a footballing backwater at the time either - plenty of good players and good teams.

Five titles

18-02-2025, 10:33 AM
Five titles

Sorry - accidental and unnecessary addition of a 3 in there, you are of course correct.

18-02-2025, 10:36 AM
Dylan Vente Ballon d'Or

18-02-2025, 10:53 AM
I think for Lewis Stevenson to do what he did in the era of football he's done it in has to go down as the greatest success a single player has achieved at Hibernian.

18-02-2025, 12:14 PM
Gordon Smith for me.

Incredible achievement to win titles with 3 different, non-OF clubs.

A debut like something out of Billy’s Boots scoring a hat-trick versus Hearts at Tiny aged 16 in borrowed boots

364 goals for the Hibees to include 17 hat-tricks 3 League titles and 15 goals against the Hearts even finding the time to help them win the League and the League Cup not forgetting winning the League with Dundee and taking them to the semi final of the European Cup

Ask any old timer Who was the best player you ever saw the answer is always Gordon Smith son

’ A Gordon fur me A Gordon fur me

If you’re no a Gordon yir nae use tae me

Willie Groves wiz braw

Sandy McMahon an’ them aw

But the cocky wee Gordon

Is the pride o’ them aw ‘

https://i.ibb.co/nqVr02nC/IMG-3283.png (https://ibb.co/qL4BnGW5)

18-02-2025, 03:12 PM
I think for Lewis Stevenson to do what he did in the era of football he's done it in has to go down as the greatest success a single player has achieved at Hibernian.

I'd agree with that , First ever hibs player to win the Scottish cup & League cup for us , He's out on his own

18-02-2025, 04:11 PM
Some great reply's to this thread, just shows how many really great players we have had at Hibs.

18-02-2025, 04:26 PM
I love Lewis Stevenson, but anyone saying he's more succesful than the players from the Famous Five era, who won the league three teams, are surely basing that on recency bias.

Absolutely make the case Lews is the most succesful in modern times.

18-02-2025, 04:40 PM
I'd agree with that , First ever hibs player to win the Scottish cup & League cup for us , He's out on his own

I love Lewis Stevenson, but anyone saying he's more succesful than the players from the Famous Five era, who won the league three teams, are surely basing that on recency bias.

I also feel like there's a bit of poetic justice to Lewy that he has also technically lifted the same league trophy as the Famous Five as they now use that one for the Scottish Championship winners :greengrin

18-02-2025, 04:43 PM
Gordon Smith - league titles with three different Clubs and the fact that Rangers/Celtic are not one of them is an achievement that will never be surpassed. :flag:

18-02-2025, 04:49 PM
Gordon Smith - league titles with three different Clubs and the fact that Rangers/Celtic are not one of them is an achievement that will never be surpassed. :flag:

Difficult to see past him tbh

Hibspur
18-02-2025, 07:42 PM
Besty will remain much loved by the Hibs fans that saw him - but unfortunately that didn't happen nearly enough. The man was battling his demons over that period - and often losing. FWIW I reckon if Best had turned out for us for the whole season we would not have been relegated. He didn't and we were and for that reason it will go down in history as a huge gamble that didn't come off.

I'm not sure he'd have been fit/healthy enough to turn out regularly for us over a whole season but it's an interesting thought. The team which went down (and we were well and truly isolated at the foot of the table) was a sorry sight compared to the one full of flair just a few seasons previously, but there were still a solid handful of players in there who really shouldn't have had us in such a dismal position. From what I recall, a fair few of those who took us down also brought us back up with some ease. Just supposing Best had come in at the start of the 79/80 season, got himself into some sort of shape, he might as you say just have sparked enough from the likes of Callachan, McNamara and Duncan to keep us away from the drop zone.

I might be mistaken but I don't think Turnbull wanted to sign Best in the first place.

18-02-2025, 09:36 PM
Turnbull was quite right in my opinion .

WestCoastHibby
19-02-2025, 07:45 PM

Have to agree with this, certainly in the modern era

19-02-2025, 08:29 PM
Some great reply's to this thread, just shows how many really great players we have had at Hibs.

There's only been 14 players mentioned. That's less than 1 for every decade we've been on the planet 🙄

TrinityHFC
19-02-2025, 08:31 PM

Was the question not more about players who have been most successful across their careers? We’ve had players who have won European cups!

cubehindthegoal
20-02-2025, 06:39 PM
Who else.

For players that started out at Hibs, Des Bremner is a hard one to better. And the fact he wasn’t a “fancy” player, a Ronaldo if you like, he was a grafter with skills, I personally back him more.

For players that didn’t start at Hibs, then Sauzee and Best and Archibald can hang the medals round their necks for me.

20-02-2025, 06:44 PM
Was the question not more about players who have been most successful across their careers? We’ve had players who have won European cups!

Was thinking about this earlier this week.

Are Best and Sauzee the only two to have played for us after winning a European Cup?

20-02-2025, 06:57 PM
Was thinking about this earlier this week.

Are Best and Sauzee the only two to have played for us after winning a European Cup?Bertie Auld.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

20-02-2025, 07:08 PM
Ronnie Simpson Des BremnerThey played for us then moved on to win one, Billy.

Question was who joined Hibs after winning one.

20-02-2025, 07:19 PM
Bertie Auld.

Of course :agree::flag:

20-02-2025, 07:46 PM
They played for us then moved on to win one, Billy.

Question was who joined Hibs after winning one.

Already deleted

Will read the question next time 😀

20-02-2025, 09:11 PM
Already deleted

Will read the question next time [emoji3]I liked watching Auld for Hibs. Him, Bobby Murdoch, George Connolly were all players older fans told us to watch. Hated Cetlcs strikers and their defenders were all pr!cks but those midfielders were an education.

20-02-2025, 10:18 PM
I liked watching Auld for Hibs. Him, Bobby Murdoch, George Connolly were all players older fans told us to watch. Hated Cetlcs strikers and their defenders were all pr!cks but those midfielders were an education.

Auld was silky hard as ***** but his best days were behind him at Hibs Bobby Murdoch was class same can be said for George Connolly who came along after the Lions his star shone briefly then just disappeared

The thing that struck me watching the Lions was how fast they played as a team with the speedy Lennox on one wing the tricky Jinky on the other with the deadly as you say Chalmers and Wallace in the middle not forgetting Joe McBride who was a fantastic finisher but missed out due to injury

No one expected them to win the European Cup but all of Scotland did

The quick lively intelligent diminutive Celtic forwards against the Cattenachio defence

When Inter took the lead it was game on

21-02-2025, 07:27 AM

I concur.

21-02-2025, 08:03 AM
Turnbull was quite right in my opinion .

By that stage, Hibs had been in decline for several years. More than three years after he left, we still hadn't replaced Joe Harper as a goal-scoring forward. The nearest we had was Ally McLeod, who was critical in his midfield role.

If we hadn't signed Best, confidence shot, all the signs are that we would have been relegated without a whimper. Much like Hibs before McLeish was belatedly brought in.

Best was Europe's most charismatic footballer for a decade and brought footballers film-star status. Growing up during the sixties and even during the TT's, even in our wildest dreams, Best would never play for our club.

Four and a half decades on, instead of having an undistinguished relegation to look back on, we have the memories of one of the world's greatest-ever players, playing for Hibs.

To answer the question, I never got near to having seen him, but it has to be Gordon Smith. It would take a seismic change for anyone to ever match his record of five titles with three separate non-old firm teams.

21-02-2025, 12:19 PM
Chris Dagnall.

made me LOL

21-02-2025, 12:52 PM
Pat Stanton

Got the trifecta.

League winner
Scottish Cup winner
LeagueCup winner

TrinityHFC
21-02-2025, 01:11 PM
Pat Stanton

Got the trifecta.

League winner
Scottish Cup winner
LeagueCup winner

Scott Brown will dwarf all that surely?

21-02-2025, 04:26 PM
There's only been 14 players mentioned. That's less than 1 for every decade we've been on the planet 🙄

Just sort of confirms that the really great players are around perhaps once in a decade or even once in a generation, we perhaps give credence to some than are not really great players.
Good to hear some of the players mentioned even if they did not start with Hibs. Many who think they know about the game are a bit surprised, when I let them know about the amount of goals scored by the Famous Five or that George Best played for us as well, some really great players mentioned.