View Full Version : Luke Amos

14-02-2025, 03:53 AM
Aussie media reporting Amos has signed for Perth Glory.

Report says the move was ‘3 months in the making’ and that Amos was recommended by Nick Montgomery.

14-02-2025, 06:18 AM
Good life move for him you’d think.

Also see JDH signed for Sligo Rovers. Really good signing for them if he stays fit

14-02-2025, 07:06 AM
Hope the guy rekindles some love for the game

Sadly, my abiding memory of him will be getting dominated by a hungrier, fitter Kelty Hearts midfield

14-02-2025, 07:13 AM
Good luck to him.

I don't hold any grudge against guys like him. He had a good pedigree and had played at a good level, had a bad injury, we took a punt on him, it didn't work out and he moved on early.

As far as our signings go in recent times he is far from the most baffling.

14-02-2025, 07:32 AM
Can see why we took a punt on him but will go down on the seemingly endless list of poor signings.

Amos from the Woolpack would have made more of an impact.

14-02-2025, 09:31 AM
Good luck to them both. But that being the level they're both away to shows that they were never going to make an impact at Hibs anymore sadly.

14-02-2025, 09:54 AM
Hope the guy rekindles some love for the game

Sadly, my abiding memory of him will be getting dominated by a hungrier, fitter Kelty Hearts midfield
:agree: You were looking at Scott Allan that day thinking he could have been back in our side comfortably.

14-02-2025, 12:22 PM
Both Amos and JDH (mentioned earlier in the thread) were fair enough signings at the time, but they were given contracts they probably shouldn't have been.

Amos should've got 6 months with an option to extend. He was always, given his injury record, going to be a risk.

JDH signed a 2 year deal in June 2021, then for some reason got a new deal after 15 games (6 wins) that took him through to summer 2025.

Not either of their faults, but poor business from Hibs.

14-02-2025, 03:05 PM
Both Amos and JDH (mentioned earlier in the thread) were fair enough signings at the time, but they were given contracts they probably shouldn't have been.

Amos should've got 6 months with an option to extend. He was always, given his injury record, going to be a risk.

JDH signed a 2 year deal in June 2021, then for some reason got a new deal after 15 games (6 wins) that took him through to summer 2025.

Not either of their faults, but poor business from Hibs.

I would blame the club for Amos but not Doyle-Hayes. He was rated at St Mirren and his fitness record wasn’t the nightmare it would subsequently become. The club couldn’t have anticipated that and he was probably worth a punt.

Paulie Walnuts
14-02-2025, 03:08 PM
I would blame the club for Amos but not Doyle-Hayes. He was rated at St Mirren and his fitness record wasn’t the nightmare it would subsequently become. The club couldn’t have anticipated that and he was probably worth a punt.

I don’t disagree with that in terms of the original deal but the extension was bizarre. He had been bang average and then suddenly he’s here for 2 extra years for no obvious reason.

As it turned out, JDH at Hibs was pish. Throw in the fact he was never fit and it turned out an awful signing.

14-02-2025, 03:13 PM
I don’t disagree with that in terms of the original deal but the extension was bizarre. He had been bang average and then suddenly he’s here for 2 extra years for no obvious reason.

As it turned out, JDH at Hibs was pish. Throw in the fact he was never fit and it turned out an awful signing.

Yes, you’re correct. The extension was certainly a bit nuts. I can only think at that point they believed he’d make a more complete recovery.

14-02-2025, 03:15 PM

JDH was not pish.

14-02-2025, 03:17 PM
I didn’t think JDH’s extension was nuts, he’d started very well for us and imo had earned it.

That it went to pieces for him for whatever reason(s) as soon as he signed cannot be argued with.

14-02-2025, 03:18 PM
Good luck to both, it is not a players fault when offered a good contract to just say yes.

14-02-2025, 03:21 PM
JDH was not pish.

He was closer to pish than good. He offered absolutely nothing in midfield that Joe Newell doesn't do 5-10 times better.

14-02-2025, 03:22 PM
I didn’t think JDH’s extension was nuts, he’d started very well for us and imo had earned it.

That it went to pieces for him for whatever reason(s) as soon as he signed cannot be argued with.

It was nuts because there was just no need. He was just over 4 months into a 24 month deal.

14-02-2025, 03:25 PM
It was nuts because there was just no need. He was just over 4 months into a 24 month deal.

We never seem to get these things right. Give long contracts and extend deals for the likes of JDH and Delferrière and they turn out pish. Only give a 3 month deal to Agathe and he turns out to be amazing and off he goes to Celtic.

14-02-2025, 03:30 PM
We never seem to get these things right. Give long contracts and extend deals for the likes of JDH and Delferrière and they turn out pish. Only give a 3 month deal to Agathe and he turns out to be amazing and off he goes to Celtic.

Aye and we had him on a trial at first, that McLeish only seen fit to offer 3 months stinks still.

14-02-2025, 03:34 PM

The Agathe one was so weird because when did we ever sign people on 3 month deals for the first team? I cannae think of anyone else.

14-02-2025, 04:07 PM
I don't know if there were other setbacks or what not but I feel like Amos could've got 2-3 games from the start earlier in the season. We still don't know if he was any good.

Pointless signing. I feel like we could've given him a few games instead of a signing like Ki.

14-02-2025, 04:24 PM
I know a few have said that Johnson injured JDH in training but what injury did he sustain from LJ?

cameronw-hfc
14-02-2025, 04:45 PM
Amos a bit disappointed in, felt like he'd be a good signing but never really got a run. Played at a decent level before injuries as well. Just didnt work out.

JDH unlucky. Without injuries I think at worst he'd be a decent squad player

14-02-2025, 04:52 PM
I know a few have said that Johnson injured JDH in training but what injury did he sustain from LJ?

I’m sure it was an ankle injury from a tackle

I’m sure I’ve read somewhere though that there was a pre existing injury there or he done it again after he recovered from the LJ tackle

I think he had something wrong with a bone in his foot or ankle? Not sure if they released the exact issue though.

PHeffernan

Delferrier will be on buttons.

There is far more background to the Agathe story.
His early career in France was one of constant injuries and they eventually found he had no cartilage in his right knee, zero, bone to bone! He was told he would never play at a high level as a result and a pay off from his contract was negotiated.

At the age of 24 he sold all his belongings, bought a car and set off for the UK. He was eventually offered a contract by Stockport but predictably failed the medical. Running out of money, he was about to go home when he met agent Willie McKay who suggested playing in Scotland. Agathe followed him up the road in his old car to negotiate with Motherwell but when they arrived at half 11 at night, found the manager Billy Davies was in hospital.
Undeterred McKay set off followed by Agathe and they ended up at Starks Park, Kirkcaldy at 2 in the morning where he managed to get a years contract from a desperate Raith Rovers after playing and scoring 2 goals in a bounce game against the first team the next day and 3 goals as a trialist against Airdrie at the weekend.

When his deal at Raith Rovers expired in the summer the best offer available was the two month deal at Hibs, probably due to his knee condition. He missed an open goal against Hearts on his debut and only played 6 games for Hibs but that included his great goal against Dundee where he ran from the half-way line past the challenges of four Dundee players before shooting past the keeper.

His form caught the eye of Martin O'Neill.
Agathe's knee condition was noted during his medical, but Celtic decided to complete the signing for 27k quid because they could afford the small loss if it didn't work out.
O'Neill allowed Agathe to sit out training when his right knee swelled up and it took an hour and a half of stretching every morning for him to warm up and loosen off enough to train.

A humble gentleman with a remarkable story of determination and perseverence.

Was a 50-50 challenge that aggravated an old injury apparently

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-midfielder-jake-doyle-hayes-opens-up-on-how-manager-lee-johnson-injured-him-4088554

Paulie Walnuts
14-02-2025, 06:03 PM
JDH was not pish.

JDH was most definitely pish.

14-02-2025, 06:08 PM
JDH was most definitely pish.

I liked him always played a high press but was too keen always picking up an early booking left him walking on eggshells was fit could get about the pitch was unlucky with injuries strange cameo against the Hearts so SDG must see something wish him all the best

Fergos
14-02-2025, 06:12 PM
Delferrier will be on buttons.

There is far more background to the Agathe story.
His early career in France was one of constant injuries and they eventually found he had no cartilage in his right knee, zero, bone to bone! He was told he would never play at a high level as a result and a pay off from his contract was negotiated.

At the age of 24 he sold all his belongings, bought a car and set off for the UK. He was eventually offered a contract by Stockport but predictably failed the medical. Running out of money, he was about to go home when he met agent Willie McKay who suggested playing in Scotland. Agathe followed him up the road in his old car to negotiate with Motherwell but when they arrived at half 11 at night, found the manager Billy Davies was in hospital.
Undeterred McKay set off followed by Agathe and they ended up at Starks Park, Kirkcaldy at 2 in the morning where he managed to get a years contract from a desperate Raith Rovers after playing and scoring 2 goals in a bounce game against the first team the next day and 3 goals as a trialist against Airdrie at the weekend.

When his deal at Raith Rovers expired in the summer the best offer available was the two month deal at Hibs, probably due to his knee condition. He missed an open goal against Hearts on his debut and only played 6 games for Hibs but that included his great goal against Dundee where he ran from the half-way line past the challenges of four Dundee players before shooting past the keeper.

His form caught the eye of Martin O'Neill.
Agathe's knee condition was noted during his medical, but Celtic decided to complete the signing for 27k quid because they could afford the small loss if it didn't work out.
O'Neill allowed Agathe to sit out training when his right knee swelled up and it took an hour and a half of stretching every morning for him to warm up and loosen off enough to train.

A humble gentleman with a remarkable story of determination and perseverence.

Wow a very insightful post, cheers!

Paulie Walnuts
14-02-2025, 06:12 PM
I liked him always played a high press but was too keen always picking up an early booking left him walking on eggshells was fit could get about the pitch was unlucky with injuries strange cameo against the Hearts so SDG must see something wish him all the best

Na, not for me. 69 appearances, 2 goals, 1 assist and no standout defensive attributes either. An absolute nothing player.

14-02-2025, 06:18 PM
JDH had some good performances against Celtc, the Huns and in the derby we won under LJ. He was also largely anonymous in most of our other matches.

14-02-2025, 06:24 PM
Na, not for me. 69 appearances, 2 goals, 1 assist and no standout defensive attributes either. An absolute nothing player.

Fair enough thought he was a nice tidy footballer but Manager’s kept picking him for some strange reason ?

Probably for his energy enthusiasm and high press

Played 63 times in his first two seasons including a fine performance against Celtic at ER in a 4-2 win seemed to try harder in the big games and liked to get stuck in picking up 21 yellows in his 69 appearances so had a wee bit dig about him

As previously mentioned he was often curtailed by the fact he was often one tackle away from a sending off probably wouldn’t be suited to VAR 😀

What do I know ?

Opinions eh ?

Paulie Walnuts
14-02-2025, 06:55 PM
Fair enough thought he was a nice tidy footballer but Manager’s kept picking him for some strange reason ?

Probably for his energy enthusiasm and high press

Played 63 times in his first two seasons including a fine performance against Celtic at ER in a 4-2 win seemed to try harder in the big games and liked to get stuck in picking up 21 yellows in his 69 appearances so had a wee bit dig about him

As previously mentioned he was often curtailed by the fact he was often one tackle away from a sending off probably wouldn’t be suited to VAR 😀

What do I know ?

Opinions eh ?

As you say billy, all about opinions, nobodies opinion is wrong.

If you asked me to name you a style of footballer I wouldn’t pay to watch then JDH or players that play in a similar fashion would be right up there, absolutely bores me to death :greengrin

14-02-2025, 07:07 PM
As you say billy, all about opinions, nobodies opinion is wrong.

If you asked me to name you a style of footballer I wouldn’t pay to watch then JDH or players that play in a similar fashion would be right up there, absolutely bores me to death :greengrin

Fair enough as I said I liked him

Do you go to the games ? ( serious question)

Not sure what style of player you are talking about to me he was always busy getting stuck in always looking to pass the ball forward always gave 100% but agree went for long periods in some games with a cloud hanging over him looking subdued afraid to make a second careless challenge before inevitably being hooked and another Hibs career interrupted due to injury before realising it’s true potential

I can think of other players that bore me to death

14-02-2025, 07:11 PM
Amos came with a great pedigree,unfortunately never looked a player and stopped even getting opportunities which suggests he wasnt doing it in training. Two cruciates isn’t something everyone can recover from, sadly.

14-02-2025, 07:46 PM
Never expected anything from Amos. He came in having not had a team for 6 months and had been injured on and off for the year prior. Felt like a signing for the sake of a signing at the time.

Paulie Walnuts
14-02-2025, 09:28 PM
Fair enough as I said I liked him

Do you go to the games ? ( serious question)

Not sure what style of player you are talking about to me he was always busy getting stuck in always looking to pass the ball forward always gave 100% but agree went for long periods in some games with a cloud hanging over him looking subdued afraid to make a second careless challenge before inevitably being hooked and another Hibs career interrupted due to injury before realising it’s true potential

I can think of other players that bore me to death

That’s the opposite of what I felt about JDH. I thought he was slow over the ground and never tried anything other than the ultra safe pass, hence his lack of any sort of output. I thought he had absolutely no creativity or imagination whatsoever. Didn’t think he was particularly exciting at breaking up play and was lazy in the tackle. I’ll stop short of saying he never gave 100% as I don’t doubt he did, but he was such a dull player that it wasn’t something that jumped out at me either. I couldn’t name name one thing I thought he was even above average at where as I could name numerous things I thought he was below average at.

15-02-2025, 05:47 AM
That’s the opposite of what I felt about JDH. I thought he was slow over the ground and never tried anything other than the ultra safe pass, hence his lack of any sort of output. I thought he had absolutely no creativity or imagination whatsoever. Didn’t think he was particularly exciting at breaking up play and was lazy in the tackle. I’ll stop short of saying he never gave 100% as I don’t doubt he did, but he was such a dull player that it wasn’t something that jumped out at me either. I couldn’t name name one thing I thought he was even above average at where as I could name numerous things I thought he was below average at.

And yet he was probably better than Amos Kenneh Delph and Moriah Welsh etc and would be in the current first team squad if not for injury and in an act of desperation SDG threw him in against Hearts for his dig and ball retention

15-02-2025, 07:19 AM
And yet he was probably better than Amos Kenneh Delph and Moriah Welsh etc and would be in the current first team squad if not for injury and in an act of desperation SDG threw him in against Hearts for his dig and ball retention

I’m with Paulie personally. JDH had next to zero redeemable features as a centre mid for me. At first he looked like a decent recycler of the ball, but then you realised he didn’t have a cutting forward pass. He had zero creativity and while he liked a tackle he couldn’t time one to be a CDM.

At least Joe and Josh have a goal threat in them in different ways. He was always the weak link in that dreaded midfield 3 everyone hated seeing.

15-02-2025, 07:42 AM
Amos was a dreadful signing, there was a reason why he was without a club but along come Hibs with 'mug' written across their forehead to give him a contract.

JDH was a good player but his attitude was terrible. Told the club almost a year ago he didn't want to play for us. We are well rid of him.

15-02-2025, 08:22 AM
I’m with Paulie personally. JDH had next to zero redeemable features as a centre mid for me. At first he looked like a decent recycler of the ball, but then you realised he didn’t have a cutting forward pass. He had zero creativity and while he liked a tackle he couldn’t time one to be a CDM.

At least Joe and Josh have a goal threat in them in different ways. He was always the weak link in that dreaded midfield 3 everyone hated seeing.

JDH was no Scott Allan that’s for sure

Hated seeing that midfield myself tbh just wasn’t right too similar

I like Josh all I ask is 100% effort and you can see he is trying and is a goal threat

JN 12 goals in 209 appearances a player of his class it should be higher too many games where he is MIA imo

15-02-2025, 08:41 AM

I initially thought that JDH was an upgrade on Gogic in midfield and started well alongside Kyle Magennis. But the quality of our midfield in season 2021/22 was really poor, so not a surprise that we had such a poor season.

It was typical Hibs, failed to build on a solid platform following the 2020/21 season due to poor recruitment.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2021%E2%80%9322_Hibernian_F.C._season

Donegal Hibby
15-02-2025, 09:51 AM
I initially thought that JDH was an upgrade on Gogic in midfield and started well alongside Kyle Magennis. But the quality of our midfield in season 2021/22 was really poor, so not a surprise that we had such a poor season.

It was typical Hibs, failed to build on a solid platform following the 2020/21 season due to poor recruitment.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2021%E2%80%9322_Hibernian_F.C._season

Gogic was is one player I think we should have kept , clubs need that sort of player that’s committed , does the ugly side of the game well.

15-02-2025, 11:37 AM
Gogic was is one player I think we should have kept , clubs need that sort of player that’s committed , does the ugly side of the game well.

Agree also liked Melker Hallberg as well 👍

15-02-2025, 12:17 PM
Amos was a dreadful signing, there was a reason why he was without a club but along come Hibs with 'mug' written across their forehead to give him a contract.

JDH was a good player but his attitude was terrible. Told the club almost a year ago he didn't want to play for us. We are well rid of him.

The reason being serious injury in Amos' case. He obviously showed enough when he was on trail for the club to think he could contribute. A player who would have been well out of our price range otherwise. A gamble, one that didn't work out.

As for JDH, what you said is pointless and utter nonsense.

15-02-2025, 12:29 PM
JDH was no Scott Allan that’s for sure

Hated seeing that midfield myself tbh just wasn’t right too similar

I like Josh all I ask is 100% effort and you can see he is trying and is a goal threat

JN 12 goals in 209 appearances a player of his class it should be higher too many games where he is MIA imo

I think though the difference is JDH offered zero in a forward sense to Joe Newell who was arguably just as good defensively in reality.

JDH only set up 1 goal in the 70 or so games and scored twice, both goals in the same game. I’d like to see Joe Newell add a handful of goals more per season too but he at least has set up a hell of a lot more than JDH.

15-02-2025, 12:37 PM
I think though the difference is JDH offered zero in a forward sense to Joe Newell who was arguably just as good defensively in reality.

JDH only set up 1 goal in the 70 or so games and scored twice, both goals in the same game. I’d like to see Joe Newell add a handful of goals more per season too but he at least has set up a hell of a lot more than JDH.

Like his goals his assists should be more his corners and free kicks are woeful

17 assists in the League since 2019 is no bad I suppose none this season but 2 goals from 16

Still think JDH is a good player but respect your opinion

Total respect for JN for the work he does behind the scenes as Captain btw

PHeffernan
15-02-2025, 01:12 PM
Agree also liked Melker Hallberg as well ��

Melker is 29 and back in Sweden.
He played 31 games but his team were narrowly relegated from the top tier in the season that finished in November.