View Full Version : Hibs on Bluesky

11-02-2025, 10:06 PM
They're now there. Account name is thehibees. :aok:

HarpOnHibee
11-02-2025, 10:09 PM
Is that the mildly less bonkers imitation of Twitter?

11-02-2025, 10:26 PM

hibsfan7
11-02-2025, 10:38 PM
[email protected]

11-02-2025, 10:52 PM
Good. Bluesky a much more normal platform. Well done Hibs.

CallumHibs07
12-02-2025, 04:37 AM

the snowflake version

12-02-2025, 05:01 AM
the snowflake version

Twitter/X is a cesspit. Bluesky will eventually go the same way!

12-02-2025, 06:37 AM
What happened to @Hibernianfcclub

12-02-2025, 07:24 AM

Why would Bluesky go the same way?

12-02-2025, 07:29 AM
Hibs have also been on threads since July 2023.

12-02-2025, 07:31 AM
the snowflake version

Yip. The wokey version.

12-02-2025, 07:32 AM

Depends who you follow I suppose :greengrin

12-02-2025, 07:33 AM
Yip. The wokey version.

Really? :hibees:na na:

12-02-2025, 07:59 AM
Really? :hibees:na na:

Aye. I joined and it's just boring.

Tumbleweed everywhere :greengrin

12-02-2025, 08:01 AM
Aye. I joined it and it's just boring.

Haha it certainly is quieter, I wouldn't call it woke or snowflake though. It's more aimed at reasonable discussions without folk jumping in with inflammatory racial/sexual etc etc comments or pornbots flashing their paps at you :greengrin

McSwanky
12-02-2025, 08:07 AM

Tumbleweed everywhere :greengrinIt's almost as if it's newer than Twitter. Wonder if Twitter was this quiet once...

Sent from my Pixel 8a using Tapatalk

12-02-2025, 08:15 AM

I won't deny that it's more boring, but I've almost come to appreciate that. I've had Twitter for probably 15 years now and met a lot of mutuals on it that have gave me some brilliant laughs in my younger years. I haven't quite managed to migrate that type of community on BlueSky yet and I doubt I ever really will, especially as I'm in my 30s and probably shouldn't be using social media the same way I was 10 years ago.

But what I've enjoyed on BlueSky compared to Twitter since even before Musk took over was the reintroduction of real discussion on a topic within the confines of that topic. Everything on Twitter is so polarised into what is a 'woke' viewpoint and what is a 'bigoted' one that no one ever just discusses the merit of differing perspectives on something relatively trivial. Then of course you have the hot topics that can, and always will, descend into a nonsensical back and forth with a lot of offensive posturing for easy stir ups on whatever side it is.

I'm fairly certain now that Twitter is actually for the most part filled with bot accounts designed to spread either porn to make money, or hateful rhetoric to farm engagement for a multitude of reasons. For me it's now no longer about being offended by stuff on Twitter, It's just not a particularly interesting place to me anymore. It's like hanging about with the guy from school that never really grew up.

12-02-2025, 09:23 AM
I won't deny that it's more boring, but I've almost come to appreciate that. I've had Twitter for probably 15 years now and met a lot of mutuals on it that have gave me some brilliant laughs in my younger years. I haven't quite managed to migrate that type of community on BlueSky yet and I doubt I ever really will, especially as I'm in my 30s and probably shouldn't be using social media the same way I was 10 years ago.

But what I've enjoyed on BlueSky compared to Twitter since even before Musk took over was the reintroduction of real discussion on a topic within the confines of that topic. Everything on Twitter is so polarised into what is a 'woke' viewpoint and what is a 'bigoted' one that no one ever just discusses the merit of differing perspectives on something relatively trivial. Then of course you have the hot topics that can, and always will, descend into a nonsensical back and forth with a lot of offensive posturing for easy stir ups on whatever side it is.

I'm fairly certain now that Twitter is actually for the most part filled with bot accounts designed to spread either porn to make money, or hateful rhetoric to farm engagement for a multitude of reasons. For me it's now no longer about being offended by stuff on Twitter, It's just not a particularly interesting place to me anymore. It's like hanging about with the guy from school that never really grew up.

Twitter feels exactly like a propaganda machine now, even trying to key my feed limited to people I follow seems virtually impossible. The For You section is a stream of stuff that you’ve described.
I opened it this morning and immediately there was a video that Space Karen had posted about Trump playing. It’s not even subtle.

I hope Bluesky takes off - I only really persist with Twitter because the podcast has a strong presence on it, if I can get that engagement on Bluesky I’d happily ditch Twitter today.

12-02-2025, 09:29 AM
I only really used Twitter for news and followed journalists and news orgs mostly with a bit of footy thrown in. By the end though I had no control over what was in my feed and no matter what setting I had was just a steady stream of right wing nonsense. Bluesky does not have that problem and as it is open source there is no way for that to happen in future. I can tailor it to my exact (really simple) needs. All the journalists are now on Bluesky and they prefer because they can post links and get more engagement.
I deleted my X account altogether. I don’t want him earning money from me.

12-02-2025, 09:39 AM
I find Twitter unusable now. Just a bombardment of right wing propaganda; not stuff that is a wee bit Tory but full on race baiting, jingoism and economic madness. It's just an echo chamber as well with all the bots doing their job and bombarding every thread with said propaganda.

Of course Bluesky may well be an echo chamber of it's own, I've not used it yet and I doubt I will tbh. I've found my own happiness has exponentially increased as my at times obsessive use of social media has decreased. It's not a healthy place to spend time anymore and the short form style just removes any nuance from an argument. It's hard to make a balanced point in however many limited characters so just say something outrageous to get the likes you crave.

12-02-2025, 10:17 AM
I find Twitter unusable now. Just a bombardment of right wing propaganda; not stuff that is a wee bit Tory but full on race baiting, jingoism and economic madness. It's just an echo chamber as well with all the bots doing their job and bombarding every thread with said propaganda.

Of course Bluesky may well be an echo chamber of it's own, I've not used it yet and I doubt I will tbh. I've found my own happiness has exponentially increased as my at times obsessive use of social media has decreased. It's not a healthy place to spend time anymore and the short form style just removes any nuance from an argument. It's hard to make a balanced point in however many limited characters so just say something outrageous to get the likes you crave.
There was a spell when Twitter was a great “place”, bang up to date, funny, engaging and you could get a sense of community with it.

Those days have long gone, sadly. It’s not a healthy place to be and it’s full of misinformation and folk or bots who are absolutely sure that they are right and everyone else is wrong.

Racism, sexism, in fact virtually any “ism” goes unchecked.

It’s brutal.

12-02-2025, 10:34 AM
It's like talking to yourself in an echo chamber.

12-02-2025, 10:40 AM

Of course Bluesky may well be an echo chamber of its own, I've not used it yet and I doubt I will tbh. I've found my own happiness has exponentially increased as my at times obsessive use of social media has decreased. It's not a healthy place to spend time anymore and the short form style just removes any nuance from an argument. It's hard to make a balanced point in however many limited characters so just say something outrageous to get the likes you crave.

yup - perhaps more appropriately named “anti-social” media is where debate goes to die.

what gets promoted via the algorithms is a concern. The most radical thing kids can do it tune out.

when the richest man in the world can just buy anything he wants better watch out.

hes bought a decent platform and effectively cleansed it to become a cesspit and taken over by the folks you mention.

its one of the most glaring examples of divide and conquer.

they want people against each other - poles apart and divided. No one is listening to folks trying to find consensus it’s all winners and losers and zero-sum games. It’s the ruination of what appears to have been hard faught and so fragile it was easily lost - or it was merely an illusion.

badabing67
12-02-2025, 11:03 AM
They're now there. Account name is thehibees. :aok:

Brilliant the only thing keeping me on X now is Ukraine the Latest.

Are you thinking about setting up a Hibee chat group or are you already in one?

12-02-2025, 11:50 AM
Twitter has mostly descended into a right wing cesspit of misinformation and conspiracy, mistakenly trying to masquerade itself as 'free speech.'

Not surprising when you see who owns it now and his political agenda. As said, the real revolutionary act is to ignore it.

12-02-2025, 12:06 PM
Not aimed at hibs at all

Just more so the world

How many ******g social media platforms does one person / company need

It’s obscene

Give me phone calls and one source of texting

But nowadays you have to actually know what source of communication your pal uses to get a response

Is it text message, watsapp, fb messenger

I’m going off grid

PM me if you need anything

12-02-2025, 12:08 PM
There was a spell when Twitter was a great “place”, bang up to date, funny, engaging and you could get a sense of community with it.

Those days have long gone, sadly. It’s not a healthy place to be and it’s full of misinformation and folk or bots who are absolutely sure that they are right and everyone else is wrong.

It’s brutal.

Completely. Adolf Twittler has absolutely decimated that platform, much the same as he’s trying to decimate western democracy on the whole. Hope he gets what’s coming for him.

12-02-2025, 12:08 PM

It’s brutal.

Not true. I got banned for saying I would drive right over 'Just Stop Oil' protesters sitting in the street :rolleyes:

12-02-2025, 12:20 PM
Brilliant the only thing keeping me on X now is Ukraine the Latest.

Are you thinking about setting up a Hibee chat group or are you already in one?

same, there's still a few more i'm hoping will finally move to Bluesky before i delete my twitter account, i only joined twitter just before Musk took over and they were starting to make it you had to sign up to see full/other posts without a big banner covering the screen

new Bluesky users since Musk disclosed his true love for Trump Bluesky User Counter (https://bsky-users.theo.io/)

12-02-2025, 12:25 PM
same, there's still a few more i'm hoping will finally move to Bluesky before i delete my twitter account, i only joined twitter just before Musk took over and they were starting to make it you had to sign up to see full/other posts without a big banner covering the screen

new Bluesky users since Musk disclosed his true love for Trump Bluesky User Counter (https://bsky-users.theo.io/)

Most of the Ukraine people I follow are also on Bluesky. Don’t feel I’m missing anything on that front.

12-02-2025, 12:35 PM
Most of the Ukraine people I follow are also on Bluesky. Don’t feel I’m missing anything on that front.

i started following that visegrad24 several months back as he had loads up to date stuff on Ukraine/Georgia etc then i started realising he's very much on the right of things, loads of articles supporting Israel AND Trump so i unfollowed but still do a search for him every week or so

what ones are there on bluesky ?

12-02-2025, 12:50 PM
i started following that visegrad24 several months back as he had loads up to date stuff on Ukraine/Georgia etc then i started realising he's very much on the right of things, loads of articles supporting Israel AND Trump so i unfollowed but still do a search for him every week or so

what ones are there on bluesky ?

https://go.bsky.app/7hMPyGM

Loads here. I don’t follow all them though.

12-02-2025, 12:54 PM
https://go.bsky.app/7hMPyGM

Loads here. I don’t follow all them though.

ta i'll have a wee sketch later on

12-02-2025, 01:56 PM
Dont have twitter,facebook, instagram, x or anything for that matter, opened accounts but it was just too much hard work and grief, just me and a cheap mobile phone wae watsapp, nice and simple, you wouldn't believe how good life is without all that nonsense. Loads of time tae masel.

12-02-2025, 02:17 PM
Dont have twitter,facebook, instagram, x or anything for that matter, opened accounts but it was just too much hard work and grief, just me and a cheap mobile phone wae watsapp, nice and simple, you wouldn't believe how good life is without all that nonsense. Loads of time tae masel.

Have to admit I've enjoyed the introduction of the Hibs App/WhatsApp channel. I find it something I'm happy to allow into my life more in place of traditional social media. Things I find important can come to me now instead of me going to them while wading through the rest of the nonsense.

12-02-2025, 03:57 PM
Twitter or X, now solely the preserve of Nazis, incels, robots and algorithm-farming ads.

Blue skies originally a well meaning echo chamber of more courteous and intelligent people, up for real chat and discussion, rather that abuse and the butt-licking of billionaires but slowly being infiltrated by crackpots who can’t see the world past their personal issues and shrill advocacies.

12-02-2025, 04:04 PM

I'm inclined to agree. I know from experience that social media can be very bad for mental health.

12-02-2025, 05:48 PM
So ironic people getting so upset at Hibs simply setting up an account on another social media platform and then crying about ‘snowflakes’.

First comment I saw on FB was some walloper whingeing about it being ‘woke’. It’s getting beyond tiresome.

12-02-2025, 06:30 PM
This is the modern equivalent of the 'I'll never read that rag The Sun, I'm Daily Record all the way' or Mirror v Telegraph etc etc

Just choose what's best for you . You don't have to broadcast where you get your information from OR belittle others with different sources or points of view.

(Broadcasting to make a point😁...) I'm on twitter, threads, Facebook and Instagram + here and the Bounce.

Personally I think I'll give bluesky a miss because I feel like I get enough information as it is, probably too much really. If you join it and feel is for you then great - just don't try to claim it as the only source of truth.

Does that make me some extreme right wing loony? I'd say no - but I'll bet some would answer yes - luckily I'm unlikely to see, or care about their posts.

12-02-2025, 06:34 PM
Its very good for anything science or environment related. In fact pretty much anything academic or at least peer reviewed. If you want to be sure your sources are objective and unbiased.

K-Zazu
12-02-2025, 07:23 PM
This is the modern equivalent of the 'I'll never read that rag The Sun, I'm Daily Record all the way' or Mirror v Telegraph etc etc

Just choose what's best for you . You don't have to broadcast where you get your information from OR belittle others with different sources or points of view.

(Broadcasting to make a point😁...) I'm on twitter, threads, Facebook and Instagram + here and the Bounce.

Personally I think I'll give bluesky a miss because I feel like I get enough information as it is, probably too much really. If you join it and feel is for you then great - just don't try to claim it as the only source of truth.

Does that make me some extreme right wing loony? I'd say no - but I'll bet some would answer yes - luckily I'm unlikely to see, or care about their posts.

Agree with this, good post 👍.

hibsfan7
12-02-2025, 07:30 PM
@jabbruce.bsky.social

hibsfan7
12-02-2025, 07:34 PM
jabbruce.bsky.social

12-02-2025, 07:35 PM

All the content I follow is still on Twitter. :aok:

15-02-2025, 02:15 PM
Was watching The Last Leg last night and they have also come of twitter, the last post they made was “This account Is disabled”. :greengrin

15-02-2025, 02:36 PM
Seen the heading and thought it was about the band ELO, although no sure I would trust anything run by the Chinese these days, but they do good food.

TheHibernator
15-02-2025, 03:05 PM
Was a long term twitter user for years but the app is pretty unusable now, instagram much the same. Filled with bot accounts and pornbots. Even Facebook is crawling with AI generated images. Don’t even think I’ll bother with Bluesky. I’ve got group chats amongst my mates and guys I go to the games with and that’s pretty much it, take the occasional scroll on here as well.

Wish Bebo would make a return!

15-02-2025, 03:22 PM
Was a long term twitter user for years but the app is pretty unusable now, instagram much the same. Filled with bot accounts and pornbots. Even Facebook is crawling with AI generated images. Don’t even think I’ll bother with Bluesky. I’ve got group chats amongst my mates and guys I go to the games with and that’s pretty much it, take the occasional scroll on here as well.

Both my Instagram and Twitter are mod versions. Don't get any adds or bots.

15-02-2025, 03:35 PM

or MSN. Those were the days.

15-02-2025, 04:02 PM
Its very good for anything science or environment related. In fact pretty much anything academic or at least peer reviewed. If you want to be sure your sources are objective and unbiased.

But who wants that, right? We've had enough of experts...

TheHibernator
15-02-2025, 05:56 PM
Both my Instagram and Twitter are mod versions. Don't get any adds or bots.

Is that the one you have to pay for, the blue tick version?

Not sure I could justify paying for it.