View Full Version : Cheltenham Festival 2025
10-02-2025, 06:08 PM
What’s your fancies and antepost bets?
Henderson confirmed Sir Gino out and won’t run in the Arkle.
Can’t see past GDC for Gold Cup. Value has gone, however managed to get some money running onto it as the last leg of a couple of trebles waiting to come in.
Won’t be down this year. Others going?
10-02-2025, 09:55 PM
I'm down for the Tuesday and Wednesday. Staying in Bristol and flight home isn't until late evening on Thursday so might pick up a ticket for that as well on the day. See how the first 2 days go😅 Can't be arsed with Gold Cup day anymore. Full of the Peaky Blinders cosplayers with a £50 bag brigade.
I've got Firefox e/w in the Arkle, Protektorat in the Ryanair, Romeo Coolio in the Supreme and Lulamba in the Triumph. Also got the ACCA for all the championship races of Constitution Hill, Jonbon, GDC and Teahupoo. I think both Jonbon and Teahupoo are there to be taken on though.
11-02-2025, 08:38 AM
Not really been keeping up with racing. Djelo ew in the Ryanair, looks a cracking horse but the way he ploughed straight through the last 2 at Newbury worries me a bit.
Got the week booked off from work for this - any suggestions for a pub in Edinburgh to watch Gold Cup day on the Friday? Meeting a mate and would like somewhere we can plant ourselves for the afternoon to watch the racing. Have been adding selections for the last few months - all guaranteed to be losers 😆
Obviously depends where you are but we usually go to roseburn bar, good boozer normally quite busy as well further into the afternoon can get into town no bother for a few after before trains etc home
Could be an option 👍 obviously been in before derbies before and not that far from Haymarket. As I say just want somewhere where the racing will be on all afternoon and not wanting to be worried they will change the channel to something else!
12-02-2025, 09:41 AM
Could be an option 👍 obviously been in before derbies before and not that far from Haymarket. As I say just want somewhere where the racing will be on all afternoon and not wanting to be worried they will change the channel to something else!
Cask & Barrel on Broughton Street is always a good option. Multiple TVs and usually busy during the Festival, used to have the added advantage of a bookies just up the road but in the age of online gambling that probably isn't as big an issue anymore.
Sounds promising as well 👍 bit more central - not been in there for years. Seem to remember a Ladbrokes at the top of Broughton Street but not sure if I am remembering correctly.
12-02-2025, 04:13 PM
Sounds promising as well 👍 bit more central - not been in there for years. Seem to remember a Ladbrokes at the top of Broughton Street but not sure if I am remembering correctly.
We used to go to Mathers on Broughton Street for that very reason.
No doubt I donated some cash at some point there!
Mathers on Broughton street was somewhere we used to go as well, west end is also a decent boozer too, I nipped into the joker and the thief on leith walk last week just had the one but cracking big screen for rugby nice seats etc if they have the same set up for Cheltenham be a decent base camp
12-02-2025, 09:06 PM
Aye that was my go to in days gone by too.
12-02-2025, 09:08 PM
Mathers on Broughton street was somewhere we used to go as well, west end is also a decent boozer too, I nipped into the joker and the thief on leith walk last week just had the one but cracking big screen for rugby nice seats etc if they have the same set up for Cheltenham be a decent base camp
I like the Joker and the Thief.
Used to drink in there at 7am after night shift when it was the Brunswick and a 6am opener. Definitely a bit less rough around the edges these days.
As you say a decent set up for watching sport.
15-02-2025, 08:01 AM
Went into Malones couple of years back for Gold cup was good. Also been to Scotties in the past again was decent. Assume also Artisan would be good also as good for racing also.
Cheers 🍻 as in Scotties on Portobello Road?
21-02-2025, 03:41 PM
Cheers 🍻 as in Scotties on Portobello Road?
Yes at Piershill
21-02-2025, 05:58 PM
Can anyone explain to me how come a horse, which I think is classed still as a novice, and has never raced in GB or Ireland, is entered into 3 handicap hurdles at Cheltenham and even before the weights come out it is heavily backed into favourite for each race? How does it get a rating? Surely, first time out, it will be given a very high rating until it can be properly assessed, no?
21-02-2025, 06:30 PM
Can anyone explain to me how come a horse, which I think is classed still as a novice, and has never raced in GB or Ireland, is entered into 3 handicap hurdles at Cheltenham and even before the weights come out it is heavily backed into favourite for each race? How does it get a rating? Surely, first time out, it will be given a very high rating until it can be properly assessed, no?
This is Kopeck De Mee. Apparently not regarded as a novice due to a win in France, I've honestly no idea about the rules but they might have changed not long ago. With Willie Mullins now so folk seem to be getting a bit excited about it. Still seems a bit of a stretch being favourite for these races, suppose folk will jump on the bandwagon though.
21-02-2025, 08:00 PM
From the BHA website re handicap marks based on French form:
By keeping in regular contact with our foreign counterparts, we do our best to help British trainers racing horses formerly trained abroad. We will allot a handicap rating whenever possible but in some cases we might ask to see the horse take part in a non-handicap in Britain before we can commit to a figure.
If a British-trained horse races abroad, we discuss its form with the handicappers from that country before rating that performance. We also assess foreign-trained horses that race here, although their domestic handicapper is in charge of publishing any revised ratings.
We keep our own ratings for all Irish Jumps races, as well as many French ones, because these populations frequently integrate with British horses at various levels of competition.
One horse’s rating can differ between countries due to variances in our systems. However, Britain and Ireland reach an agreement on our best horses at the end of each season for the Anglo-Irish Jumps Classifications.
With 5 races over hurdles in France I think the handicapper should be able to get a handle on Kopeck de Mee and give him an opening mark that reflects his perceived ability.
22-02-2025, 07:23 AM
From the BHA website re handicap marks based on French form:
By keeping in regular contact with our foreign counterparts, we do our best to help British trainers racing horses formerly trained abroad. We will allot a handicap rating whenever possible but in some cases we might ask to see the horse take part in a non-handicap in Britain before we can commit to a figure.
If a British-trained horse races abroad, we discuss its form with the handicappers from that country before rating that performance. We also assess foreign-trained horses that race here, although their domestic handicapper is in charge of publishing any revised ratings.
We keep our own ratings for all Irish Jumps races, as well as many French ones, because these populations frequently integrate with British horses at various levels of competition.
One horse’s rating can differ between countries due to variances in our systems. However, Britain and Ireland reach an agreement on our best horses at the end of each season for the Anglo-Irish Jumps Classifications.
With 5 races over hurdles in France I think the handicapper should be able to get a handle on Kopeck de Mee and give him an opening mark that reflects his perceived ability.
Thanks for that. I stand corrected on the novice status. Even with cross-channel communication and analysis, there still must be a far higher degree of guesswork in giving KdM a rating compared to a horse that has raced often enough in GB/Ire to enter a handicap. I note the caveat about sometimes seeing a horse race in a non-handicap before committing to a rating. I wonder how often this is used and if the value/status of the race it is entered for is a factor? You'd have thought so. No-one would be that fussed if it was entered for a £4,000 handicap at Ffos Las, but £61,000 at Cheltenham?
22-02-2025, 08:10 AM
Thanks for that. I stand corrected on the novice status. Even with cross-channel communication and analysis, there still must be a far higher degree of guesswork in giving KdM a rating compared to a horse that has raced often enough in GB/Ire to enter a handicap. I note the caveat about sometimes seeing a horse race in a non-handicap before committing to a rating. I wonder how often this is used and if the value/status of the race it is entered for is a factor? You'd have thought so. No-one would be that fussed if it was entered for a £4,000 handicap at Ffos Las, but £61,000 at Cheltenham?
Wonder if they are more likely to give a higher handicap mark if suspecting some sort of betting coup. Unlikely to be many better than Mullins in doing that however as likely one of his other 6 runners coasts in at 25s :greengrin
Hibs1972
24-02-2025, 06:17 AM
Will be making my usual trip down south for the 4 days, my bet of the week is Larkinthemornin in the County hurdle on the Friday, hopefully he gets in it ok!! Done me a good turn in the boodles last year so fingers crossed for a repeat!!🤞🤞
26-02-2025, 10:53 AM
Wonder if they are more likely to give a higher handicap mark if suspecting some sort of betting coup. Unlikely to be many better than Mullins in doing that however as likely one of his other 6 runners coasts in at 25s :greengrin
Handicap weights are now confirmed. KdM given a rating of 136 which puts him in off 10-6 in the Coral Cup with Langer Dan top rated on 12-0. And 10-10 in the County with Pied Piper top rated on 12-0. Seems lenient to me. Generally 5/1 Fav for both - at the moment.
26-02-2025, 12:54 PM
Handicap weights are now confirmed. KdM given a rating of 136 which puts him in off 10-6 in the Coral Cup with Langer Dan top rated on 12-0. And 10-10 in the County with Pied Piper top rated on 12-0. Seems lenient to me. Generally 5/1 Fav for both - at the moment.
https://www.racingpost.com/news/festivals/cheltenham-festival/kopeck-de-mee-shortens-further-for-martin-pipe-as-bha-handicapper-admits-he-is-restricted-as-to-what-mark-he-can-give-him-aRF164C0UJpO/
26-02-2025, 01:16 PM
https://www.racingpost.com/news/festivals/cheltenham-festival/kopeck-de-mee-shortens-further-for-martin-pipe-as-bha-handicapper-admits-he-is-restricted-as-to-what-mark-he-can-give-him-aRF164C0UJpO/
So per Pretty Boy's previously posted extract from the BHA website which states "We will allot a handicap rating whenever possible but in some cases we might ask to see the horse take part in a non-handicap in Britain before we can commit to a figure", the seemingly lenient mark that has been given to Kopeck de Mee allied with the quotes from the handicapper in the Racing Post about being restricted in what they could do, beg the question when would the BHA ask to see a horse race in GB before committing to a figure? If they don't do so in these circumstances for major handicap hurdles at the Cheltenham Festival, when would they?
26-02-2025, 05:59 PM
Good question. 🤔
Hibs1972
27-02-2025, 06:29 AM
Will be making my usual trip down south for the 4 days, my bet of the week is Larkinthemornin in the County hurdle on the Friday, hopefully he gets in it ok!! Done me a good turn in the boodles last year so fingers crossed for a repeat!!🤞🤞
Currently 45th in the list with 10-6, needs 19 to come out.🙈🤞🤞
05-03-2025, 05:42 PM
17 runners left in the Supreme Novices Hurdle, the first race on Tuesday.. Of these 17, more than half of them (9) are trained by Willie Mullins and 15/17 are trained in Ireland. Of the 2 runners trained in GB, one is with Fergal O’Brien!
Paul Nicholls flying the flag alone for GB - with a 150/1 shot. Never seen such Irish dominance. Can't be healthy for racing in GB.
05-03-2025, 07:04 PM
17 runners left in the Supreme Novices Hurdle, the first race on Tuesday.. Of these 17, more than half of them (9) are trained by Willie Mullins and 15/17 are trained in Ireland. Of the 2 runners trained in GB, one is with Fergal O’Brien!
Paul Nicholls flying the flag alone for GB - with a 150/1 shot. Never seen such Irish dominance. Can't be healthy for racing in GB.
Brutal. I'll have a bet if Skybet are still doing their money back offer but I don't follow Irish racing and I find it all a bit depressing.
11-03-2025, 05:06 AM
Brutal. I'll have a bet if Skybet are still doing their money back offer but I don't follow Irish racing and I find it all a bit depressing.
Not on now I think, although I hardly use them now and maybe haven’t qualified for it. used to be quite lucky with it as well. If it got beat I got my £1 lucky 15 with a £5 accy with it.
11-03-2025, 08:07 AM
Sly Bet doing £5 free bet on Day 1 opt in required
1.20 Kopek Des Bordes
2.00 Majborough
3.20 Lossiemouth
4.00 Constitution Hill 6/4 Bet 365
Thank me later
11-03-2025, 09:34 AM
Just arrived into Bristol Airport ready for a couple to days of fun and games.
Got the big ACCA on same as everyone else I think. Not particularly confident it will come in tbh. I think the first 2 in particular are vulnerable but hope to be wrong and watch them all romp home.
11-03-2025, 10:42 AM
As and aside I quite fancy an E/W on Dysart Enos in the 3.20. Was 33s this morning but not sure if that has come in now.
11-03-2025, 11:11 AM
As and aside I quite fancy an E/W on Dysart Enos in the 3.20. Was 33s this morning but not sure if that has come in now.
Still 33/1
11-03-2025, 11:33 AM
Barstewards have barred me from all offers. Managed to get another new Paddy Power account, deposit and bet a fiver, get £20 free bet.
Got Katate Dori at 10/1 for the Ultima and I see it's 6/1 favourite now.
11-03-2025, 12:10 PM
On it £5 e.w.
11-03-2025, 12:35 PM
Got the big r/up like most and had a wee single on William Munny there but not the f/c. Fanny .
11-03-2025, 01:05 PM
Majborough's jumping was always going to be his issue and so it proved. If he jumps well then he wins that by miles but 3 huge mistakes and it was curtains.
11-03-2025, 01:15 PM
1.20 Kopek Des Bordes
2.00 Majborough
3.20 Lossiemouth
4.00 Constitution Hill 6/4 Bet 365
Thank me later
Beans on toast tonight again
11-03-2025, 03:08 PM
:wtf:
11-03-2025, 03:21 PM
:wtf:
Bookies winnae be eating beans on toast after that race.
11-03-2025, 04:07 PM
Bookies winnae be eating beans on toast after that race.
Pal had £7ew on Golden Ace "for a laugh" at 33/1. Luckiest ******r out.
11-03-2025, 04:55 PM
£7.50ew on the winner of the last at 5s, only bet of the day at Cheltenham 👍
11-03-2025, 05:49 PM
Majborough's jumping was always going to be his issue and so it proved. If he jumps well then he wins that by miles but 3 huge mistakes and it was curtains.
Aye, I thought it was the weak link. So lumped the double after it and put a savour on stateman 😢🤣
Hibs1972
12-03-2025, 08:26 AM
Day 2 today so let’s see what happens.
Final Demand in the 1st and Mister Coffey in the 3.20, good luck to all
12-03-2025, 08:37 AM
Jonbon 7/4 Bet 365 boost
the new lion, ballyburn and jonbon for me £5 treble 11/1
fancy bunting 2.40 still a good price as well so have a single on that
Solness sporting hibs colours in same race as Jonbon at 10s wee e/w just cause
Another big win for the bookies that
12-03-2025, 01:15 PM
Ballyadam for the 2.40
12-03-2025, 02:39 PM
Stubtown easy money.
12-03-2025, 06:25 PM
First 4 races today I had 3rd, 2nd, 2nd and 3rd. Hit the bar every time albeit got an ew return on 3 of them.
Bookies will be laughing so far this week with so many big favourites beaten. Must have destroyed tens of thousands of multiples.
13-03-2025, 06:08 AM
First 4 races today I had 3rd, 2nd, 2nd and 3rd. Hit the bar every time albeit got an ew return on 3 of them.
Bookies will be laughing so far this week with so many big favourites beaten. Must have destroyed tens of thousands of multiples.
Worst start I’ve had for the festival, never had a return yesterday and reloaded my accy’s which were swiftly beat 😢
13-03-2025, 07:09 AM
Worst start I’ve had for the festival, never had a return yesterday and reloaded my accy’s which were swiftly beat 😢
Kopek and Stumptown mean I'm just in credit but aye a few burst accas needing replaced. Still got Lossiemouth with Fact To File and hoping for big runs from Springwell Bay in the novices chase and D Art D Art in the Pertemps.
13-03-2025, 07:17 AM
One thing that is notable is how quiet the racecourse was the last couple of days. I wasn't sure if it was just me but the attendance figures for yesterday have been released and it's 22K down on 2022, 11K down on 2023 and 5K down on last year. There is a clear trend and it's not a good one.
It's just another sporting event where punters have been treated as a license to print money and eventually people will have had enough. This year I spent £190 on tickets for 2 days, £420 for a hotel, £110 on return flights, £30 on a train between Bristol and Cheltenham and £20 on the shuttle bus from the station to the racecourse and back again. That's not a kick in the arse of £800 before a bet has been placed,a pint has been bought (a £7.80 pint btw) or a bit of food has been eaten (£11 for a glorified cheese and ham toastie or £9.90 for a sausage roll of comparable quality to Greggs anyone?). And there will be people spending a lot more than that.
The argument is always 'well there must be a market for it' or 'people are happy to pay it' but increasingly that doesn't seem to be the case. I think this will be my last trip for the foreseeable. I enjoyed the couple of days but you can't justify that kind of spend for something that is ultimately a selfish trip leaving the family at home. I think the guys heading to Benidorm for the week, enjoying cheap pints in the sun and betting online have the right idea now. Probably works out a hell of a lot cheaper.
13-03-2025, 07:44 AM
One thing that is notable is how quiet the racecourse was the last couple of days. I wasn't sure if it was just me but the attendance figures for yesterday have been released and it's 22K down on 2022, 11K down on 2023 and 5K down on last year. There is a clear trend and it's not a good one.
It's just another sporting event where punters have been treated as a license to print money and eventually people will have had enough. This year I spent £190 on tickets for 2 days, £420 for a hotel, £110 on return flights, £30 on a train between Bristol and Cheltenham and £20 on the shuttle bus from the station to the racecourse and back again. That's not a kick in the arse of £800 before a bet has been placed,a pint has been bought (a £7.80 pint btw) or a bit of food has been eaten (£11 for a glorified cheese and ham toastie or £9.90 for a sausage roll of comparable quality to Greggs anyone?). And there will be people spending a lot more than that.
The argument is always 'well there must be a market for it' or 'people are happy to pay it' but increasingly that doesn't seem to be the case. I think this will be my last trip for the foreseeable. I enjoyed the couple of days but you can't justify that kind of spend for something that is ultimately a selfish trip leaving the family at home. I think the guys heading to Benidorm for the week, enjoying cheap pints in the sun and betting online have the right idea now. Probably works out a hell of a lot cheaper.
That's quite sad to read from someone who obviously loves their racing.
13-03-2025, 09:37 AM
Today’s winners
1.20 Sixandahalf 11/4
3.20 Fact To File gets the dreaded 365 price boost to 5/2
4.00 Teahupoo 7/4
GLIYF
13-03-2025, 10:28 AM
Went to lanzarote last year for less than that. Bookies in lots of pubs and glorious sunshine, will be doing it again.
13-03-2025, 12:52 PM
Nurburggring colours almost a Hibs top.
Seems as good as reason as any to pick it.
13-03-2025, 01:52 PM
£3ew Doddy the great. £78 back
Only bet it for the name. All syndicate winnings go to Doddie Weir foundation.
Edit got £96
13-03-2025, 04:00 PM
Had a £1 EW Hibs related treble: Diva Luna (placed), Caldwell Potter (won), Rocky's Diamond (placed). Returned £60.20.
Had £5 EW on Diva Luna on its own and that returned £19.
In total today £15 worth of bets, returning £85.05.
Didn't win anything yesterday or the day before and spent another £15 across those days so £55.05 up overall
13-03-2025, 04:37 PM
Had a £1 EW Hibs related treble: Diva Luna (placed), Caldwell Potter (won), Rocky's Diamond (placed). Returned £60.20.
Had £5 EW on Diva Luna on its own and that returned £19.
In total today £15 worth of bets, returning £85.05.
Didn't win anything yesterday or the day before and spent another £15 across those days so £55.05 up overall
I stuck ,£3 Ew on Rocky's Diamond £22.60 back.
1 winner, 2 placed & 4 losers today. All just based on names.
14-03-2025, 05:04 AM
East India Dock / Lark In The Morning / Allegorie De Vassy - Trixie
Jet Blue / It’s On The Line / Wodwooh - Trixie
Free bet on Argento Boy
14-03-2025, 06:08 AM
1.20 Lulamba 2/1
2.40 Dinoblue 6/5
4.00 Galopin Des Champs 8/15
5.20 Kopeck De Mee 9/4
14-03-2025, 06:09 AM
Hello Neighbour, lark in the morning. Limerick lace, kopeck de mee, i know wat your thinking
14-03-2025, 07:01 AM
Got Lark In The Morning at 12/1 thanks to Hibs1972 earlier in the thread.
Jet Blue in 3.20
Ew on Fairly Famous in Hunter chase
14-03-2025, 07:14 AM
Absurde
Derryhassen Paddy
Dinoblue
Galopin Des Champs
Today's horses to avoid.
14-03-2025, 08:13 AM
Anyone else just getting yesterday's results when going into the Cheltenham section on the Bet365 app rather than today's cards?
14-03-2025, 08:31 AM
Anyone else just getting yesterday's results when going into the Cheltenham section on the Bet365 app rather than today's cards?
Yeah in the Cheltenham section, but you can go in through Horse Racing to todays Cheltenham races :aok:
14-03-2025, 08:59 AM
GDC gets the dreaded 365 Bet Boost to evens as he goes for a third Gold Cup
14-03-2025, 10:41 AM
Good offer that.
14-03-2025, 11:14 AM
Good offer that.
More I look at it starting to think so Sky Bet doing it as well
Hibs1972
14-03-2025, 11:22 AM
Got Lark In The Morning at 12/1 thanks to Hibs1972 earlier in the thread.
Jet Blue in 3.20
Ew on Fairly Famous in Hunter chase
I got some 12/1 8/1 7/1 and bet it again at 9/2!! Let’s hope for a good win!!🤞🤞
14-03-2025, 12:27 PM
How the **** do you pick that? 100/1 hurdle debutant wins the Triumph.
I had a small wager on Lulamba who has run a great race, as did East India Dock and a few others, and gets headed on the line.
14-03-2025, 02:34 PM
Absurde
Derryhassen Paddy
Dinoblue
Galopin Des Champs
Today's horses to avoid.
If 3rd was the new 1st then I'd be laughing.
3rd
1st
3rd so far
Derryhassen Paddy definitely getting kept an eye on for the future. A big beast of a horse and looks every inch a chaser in the making.
14-03-2025, 03:25 PM
Dreaded boost alright. 😥
14-03-2025, 03:28 PM
Struggled for rhythm, got into one then got hampered by the faller. Wouldn't have won anyway but it never helped.
Bookies dream this week. Can't recall so many favourites getting turned over.
14-03-2025, 03:38 PM
Struggled for rhythm, got into one then got hampered by the faller. Wouldn't have won anyway but it never helped.
Bookies dream this week. Can't recall so many favourites getting turned over.
I've managed to avoid the carnage thankfully, it's a long time since I've managed not to get pulled in too deep.
14-03-2025, 04:15 PM
It will be interesting to see what they do with the winner from here. Was favourite for the National and it would be exciting to see him over another mile.
Given what happened with poor Synchronised though and the criticism aimed at JP for running him at Aintree I wonder if he might skip it and go to Punchestown instead?
4 horse £2.50 EW acca £5 free bet
2 winners
2 places
A whopping £16.73 return
14-03-2025, 04:41 PM
It will be interesting to see what they do with the winner from here. Was favourite for the National and it would be exciting to see him over another mile.
Given what happened with poor Synchronised though and the criticism aimed at JP for running him at Aintree I wonder if he might skip it and go to Punchestown instead?
I looked at the price for him in The National a couple of hours ago, never realised that he was the FAV until I checked, I'd be surprised if they run him.
I remember backing Rough Quest for The National off of about 10-06 after his run at Cheltenham, that worked out quite nicely, absolutely thrown in.
14-03-2025, 08:16 PM
Absurde
Derryhassen Paddy
Dinoblue
Galopin Des Champs
Today's horses to avoid.
I had all of those but everything from dinoblue plus more put on the champs. In my 40 years of punting I’ve never seen a Cheltenham like this. Every year I start with what I’m willing to lose but never lost it until now, *****g nightmare 🤬 Ten years ago those big odds on shots would’ve been evens or slightly against but the bookies are making it that you have to do accy’s for any kind of return, robbing *****
14-03-2025, 09:35 PM
Pish. 2 winners all week other than those in busted accas.
14-03-2025, 10:22 PM
I've managed to avoid the carnage thankfully, it's a long time since I've managed not to get pulled in too deep.
I'm the same really. I used to bet every day racing was on, I barely bet at all these days, and it's just as well when you see most of the results at Cheltenham this week. Saved a whole lot of dosh, need to start doing the same with football and some of the daft results going on there as well before I get a smile on my face lol
15-03-2025, 10:39 AM
£151.75 profit for the festival.
Hibs1972
16-03-2025, 06:21 AM
Well, 30 years of going to the festival and that was my worst one!!🙈🙈Putyourhandstigether and Caldwell Potrer my only 2 winners all week, will come back fighting for next year though!!👍👍