View Full Version : The diehards, and the light that goes out

10-02-2025, 12:12 PM
Read a fantastic article about diehard supporters from yesteryear, absolutely dripping with nostaliga and some very poignant memories of times gone by. I'm sure we will all have our own stories and memories of characters we've met or seen over the years going to Easter Road and indeed around the country on our travels with the club. Does anybody have any such memories of people that you would see every weekend for 9 months of the year and then they just disappear? I remember the same faces from the old East terracing where I had my season ticket for years, and as time goes by you notice some faces stop turning up and although you perhaps didn't know the person, you would obviously speak to them about the match, life etc.

I remember one old guy that used to sit beside me and my mates (we were teens at the time and I say old, he was probably in his mid 60s which is no age really), don't even know his name but he would always come with his scarf with a few badges pinned to it. He would always say "I'll pack it all in when we win the Scottish Cup" and "Oh this is the year son, I can feel it". This was late 90's when we were constantly flirting with relegation. Then around 2012 I think it was, he just stopped coming, never seen him again and certainly felt like I'd lost a mate when he continued to just not appear. When we won the Scottish Cup I was obviously ecstatic, happy, and when we were singing Sunshine on Leith, I thought about him and immediately broke down into tears and couldn't stop thinking about him. Even typing this is bringing it all back, it's amazing what your club does to you and the people around you become so much a part of the fabric of your life. Fitba eh?

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2025/feb/06/what-becomes-diehard-football-fans-stop-matches-supporters

10-02-2025, 12:30 PM
Excellent thought provoking post. I am sure there are thousands of stories of people who dedicated large chunks of their life to supporting Hibs who never seen them win the Scottish cup or the league.

He's here!
10-02-2025, 12:58 PM
Guy called Brian Mark. He wasn't a friend, just someone you'd see home and away, sometimes selling fanzines IIRC and a nice guy to chat to. He was big on the history of the club and may have written a book or two.

Might be wrong but I think the club had a pic of him on the programme cover when he passed away a number of years ago.

I thought of him when we won the Scottish Cup.

10-02-2025, 01:40 PM
I sat next to an old guy in section 25 of the FF Upper for years. He was there every week and always brought a few sweets for me. It must have been very early 2000s right up until about 2015 or 16 we both sat there. I was going with my grandad when we first met him and I watched him go from taking his grandson to going alone because his grandson had grown up and preferred to go with his mates. When we were relocated when the singing section was briefly moved into section 25 we ended up in different parts of the stadium but still ran into each other on occasion until he stopped going altogether due to ill health. We exchanged numbers after the last game we sat together and my mum and I phoned him a few times to see how he was doing.

He passed away about 4 years ago now and I went along to his funeral. We'd probably never have met had it not been for us somehow ending up in the same row in a sparsely populated part of the stadium and you could count on one had how many times we interacted outside the stadium but he was a fixture in a long spell of my Hibs supporting journey and it felt like the right thing to do.

Bobo
10-02-2025, 02:10 PM
I remember a guy, from games in the 70's to early 80's, who stood in the East Terrace and would always get the crowd going by singing " Oh Hibby Hibby, Hibby Hibby Hibby Hibby-ernian".

He was known as " Rent A Crowd" as he was so loud 😁 I never knew him personally but, for years, he was a big part of the match day experience and has always stuck in my memory. 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

10-02-2025, 02:32 PM
I remember a guy, from games in the 70's to early 80's, who stood in the East Terrace and would always get the crowd going by singing " Oh Hibby Hibby, Hibby Hibby Hibby Hibby-ernian".

He was known as " Rent A Crowd" as he was so loud [emoji16] I never knew him personally but, for years, he was a big part of the match day experience and has always stuck in my memory. [emoji1184][emoji1184][emoji1184]Thought of him right away as well.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

10-02-2025, 02:57 PM
I remember a guy simply called "Charlie" back in the nineteen seventies.

He always seemed to wear the same long raincoat, wore glasses and was obviously a real fanatic.

I never knew him but from my memories he was very much of the match day experience of that era.

10-02-2025, 02:58 PM

He was known as " Rent A Crowd" as he was so loud 😁 I never knew him personally but, for years, he was a big part of the match day experience and has always stuck in my memory. 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

Yip, remember him as well, he usually stood at the back of the old style east terracing.

10-02-2025, 03:09 PM

Was he not also known for "come on my bonny boys" or was that someone else?

TheSouthMoroccan
10-02-2025, 03:12 PM
Was there not an old guy back in the day in the old West Stand who used to shout "common ma bonny laddies" or something along those lines.

In the mid nineties in the old west, there was a father and daughter who sat behind us who we used to call the "oh no's". Neither were gifted with an overly positive outlook, so every time the opposition crossed the halfway line there would be a never ending stream of "oh no". If the team weren't at it, it could be a tough 90 minutes on the ears. Still occasionally see them outside the ground, always have a wee smile to myself thinking back all those years ago.

There was also a husband and wife who sat a few rows behind us in the old West. The guy was funny, had a booming voice and had a photographic memory for anybody who had ever played for "them". Weren't many games we didn't hear "you Hearts barsteward" ringing out. Seen him and his wife a few times over the years outside the ground as well. Again, always makes me smile when I see them.

10-02-2025, 03:14 PM
There used to be a guy who got on the number 1 bus, around Fountainbridge, I think, when it was a circle route.

He used to regale the top deck with regular shouts of "I'm a Hibby" for no particular reason.

I never met him properly but his catch phrase stuck with me and was used amongst my mates on occasion.

Anyone remember him?

10-02-2025, 03:15 PM

That's my memory as a wee laddie growing up in the East , I can still to this day close my eyes and hear and remember his exact voice shouting ' Come on ma bonny boys '

10-02-2025, 03:15 PM
Was there not an old guy back in the day in the old West Stand who used to shout "common ma bonny laddies" or something along those lines.

Yes, that's who I'm referring to above.

10-02-2025, 03:17 PM
That's my memory as a wee laddie growing up in the East , I can still to this day close my eyes and hear and remember his exact voice shouting ' Come on ma bonny boys '

I still shout it now and again! :greengrin

Bobo

I remember a woman shouting that at games, again she was in the East Terrace and probably around the late 70's early 80's?

There was definitely someone in the old east, near the back, that used to start and sing a variety of Hibs songs

10-02-2025, 03:22 PM
I remember a woman shouting that at games, again she was in the East Terrace and probably around the late 70's early 80's?

Yeah i can remember a woman in the East shouting ' Come on the hibeeeees ' Every home game mid 80's

Eaststand
10-02-2025, 03:24 PM
I remember the guy from the old east, he was always up near the back row at the graveyard end.
I think he also did Baaaa noises really loud when we played Aberdeen 🐑

10-02-2025, 03:25 PM
Yeah i can remember a woman in the East shouting ' Come on the hibeeeees ' Every home game mid 80's

There was a couple who used to sit near me in the new ff5 mid 90’s
They still go but now sit in the west. She was very encouraging towards Hibs, and she used to wear a big hat
I’m sure someone knows who I mean

10-02-2025, 03:32 PM
I remember a guy simply called "Charlie" back in the nineteen seventies.

He always seemed to wear the same long raincoat, wore glasses and was obviously a real fanatic.

I never knew him but from my memories he was very much of the match day experience of that era.
Might not be the same guy but someone matching that description who used to stand in the Cave late 1960’s to 1970’s and attend all the away games and stand beside us latter day ultras now sits near me in the West Lower with his son and grandson

10-02-2025, 03:54 PM
There was a couple who used to sit near me in the new ff5 mid 90’s
They still go but now sit in the west. She was very encouraging towards Hibs, and she used to wear a big hat
I’m sure someone knows who I mean

Anne possibly? There was definitely a woman home and away like this and only ever known her to be called that, maybe like Cher and Madonna!!!

10-02-2025, 03:58 PM

He was still going when my laddies and I had our seats in section 42 about 5-6 years ago

10-02-2025, 04:01 PM
He was still going when my laddies and I had our seats in section 42 about 5-6 years ago

Good to hear :aok: Hopefully still alive and kicking and still attending games

10-02-2025, 04:09 PM
My grampa, dad and two of my Uncles had season tickets in the front row and two behind in the old North Stand right against the fence which separated it from the Centre Stand. I sometimes got one of their tickets if they couldn’t make it. I remember an Italian looking guy further along from us who would lean over the enclosure and abuse the ref, linesman or anybody he took a dislike too. His cigar never left his mouth and as a kid I could never believe how him and the cigar didn’t fall.

10-02-2025, 04:17 PM

One of my favourite moments at Easter Road ever was when we beat livi 7-0, it was cmon my bonnie boys 60th birthday, he had a badge on, anyway he tripped and landed right on my pals legs on the old bucket seats in the east, about snapped my pal in two, tremendous

10-02-2025, 04:23 PM

I'm sure that he used to sing "The Hibees Lullaby " on his own all the way through.

OstKurve Hibs
10-02-2025, 04:41 PM

😂 that's what i was thinking, remember him well.

zitelli62
10-02-2025, 04:42 PM
Good to hear :aok: Hopefully still alive and kicking and still attending games

He was 79 yesterday still going to games stood beside him for years lots of people knew him as the big s as his name was stuart.

Clarence
10-02-2025, 04:44 PM
I'm sure that he used to sing "The Hibees Lullaby " on his own all the way through.

He did

10-02-2025, 05:03 PM
I seem to recall someone in the old East terrace who was partial to trying to start on 'Roll out the barrel'. He seemed wider than he was taller. It never, ever seemed to catch on but that wasn't his only favourite.

Less pleasant were the three fat-arsed (literally) farters in front of us for two seasons in the old West stand. Always late, always getting up halfway through the first half for pies, always up early for half time and always up again half way through the second half for more scran. It was like sitting next to a noxious gas cloud. Their running commentary betrayed almost total ignorance of what was actually going on in the game and, to some extent, football more generally. It came to verbal blows eventually.

And not far away from us around the same time was the tallish, moustached gentleman who invariable began each and every game at kick-off with a cry of 'Come on Hibs, get intae this pish'. Still see him in the East from time to time. We liked it so much we adopted it and changed it to 'Come on pish, get into this Hibs' for use in any set of dire circumstances.

10-02-2025, 05:04 PM
Might not be the same guy but someone matching that description who used to stand in the Cave late 1960’s to 1970’s and attend all the away games and stand beside us latter day ultras now sits near me in the West Lower with his son and grandson

Yip, I was a Cave dweller in these days and that's where big Charlie could be found. I also remember his big raincoat was a military green in colour.

10-02-2025, 05:06 PM
One of my favourite moments at Easter Road ever was when we beat livi 7-0, it was cmon my bonnie boys 60th birthday, he had a badge on, anyway he tripped and landed right on my pals legs on the old bucket seats in the east, about snapped my pal in two, tremendous

Did you no like your pal :greengrin , I remember that game pretty sure Lambert got sacked after it , Crikey that was 19 years ago how scary !

He was 79 yesterday still going to games stood beside him for years lots of people knew him as the big s as his name was stuart.

That's brilliant ! Brought a wee wry smile to my face , Still here and going to games amazing , Definitely an all time memory of mine watching hibs growing up was him screaming from the top of his lungs cmon ma bonnie boys

10-02-2025, 05:15 PM
Yip, I was a Cave dweller in these days and that's where big Charlie could be found. I also remember his big raincoat was a military green in colour.
That’s him with round NHS specs and a woolly Hibs hat ?

Pretty sure he always had a plastic bag with him

Trinity Hibee
10-02-2025, 05:24 PM
Used to sit in west upper 2nd last section at the north end mid-late 00s until moving to the new East when it opened. There was a guy who went with what I assumed was a mate, his dad (bright white hair) and his sister. Would always come out with funny stuff as well as shouting “attack attack attack attack attack”. Hope they are still there roaring on Hibs.

10-02-2025, 05:32 PM

Did he not have a taller mate who looked like Bob from Bob and Eck in the pink news. If alive they would be well into their 80s by now.

10-02-2025, 05:34 PM

That's the guy !

NthCarolinaHibs
10-02-2025, 05:35 PM
Guy called Brian Mark. He wasn't a friend, just someone you'd see home and away, sometimes selling fanzines IIRC and a nice guy to chat to. He was big on the history of the club and may have written a book or two.

Might be wrong but I think the club had a pic of him on the programme cover when he passed away a number of years ago.

I thought of him when we won the Scottish Cup.

Used to work beside Brian..knew everything about Hibs and always after old programmes..came from out Bonnyrigg way, I think..interesting bloke..

10-02-2025, 05:36 PM
Did he not have a taller mate who looked like Bob from Bob and Eck in the pink news. If alive they would be well into their 80s by now.

No sure about a mate was always on his own at away games my guy is early to mid seventies?

10-02-2025, 05:41 PM
Less pleasant were the three fat-arsed (literally) farters in front of us for two seasons in the old West stand. Always late, always getting up halfway through the first half for pies, always up early for half time and always up again half way through the second half for more scran. It was like sitting next to a noxious gas cloud. Their running commentary betrayed almost total ignorance of what was actually going on in the game and, to some extent, football more generally. It came to verbal blows eventually.

Was this in mid-2000s? I wasn't sure if there was 3 of them, the abuse came from behind me somewhere but the most ignorant of them had a right spat with Chris Hogg at one point and it was great to see Hoggy giving the fat buffoon the GIRUY when he scored.

10-02-2025, 05:49 PM
No sure about a mate was always on his own at away games my guy is early to mid seventies?

I'd guess that the guy I was on about would be his late forties back then so chances are he's in another place now.

10-02-2025, 05:56 PM
I'd guess that the guy I was on about would be his late forties back then so chances are he's in another place now.

Sounds about right looking back now my guy might be 80 at a push ?

When I post about that great side from the seventies I forget that it was more than fifty years ago

10-02-2025, 05:59 PM

I wondered what the song was he used to sing on his own, and even from a distance away you’d hear it drifting along during quieter moments - certainly one of the characters of Easter Road.

There was a woman who sat in the West Lower (I think) who had a voice that could always be heard but would always stick to a very small pool of regular shouts - “Come on Hibernian” and “Come on Hibernian, keep it tight!” Were two favourites. You’d often hear the shouts at away games too, but never actually clasped eyes on her!

I can remember the man who chanted “ohh Hibbie Hibbie..” on the old terracing. I wouldn’t have been very old but it was certainly ingrained in the memory. Would be almost 50 years ago now.

10-02-2025, 06:10 PM
Sounds about right looking back now my guy might be 80 at a push ?

When I post about that great side from the seventies I forget that it was more than fifty years ago

Frightening isn't it. 😱

10-02-2025, 06:19 PM
There was a woman who sat in the West Lower (I think) who had a voice that could always be heard but would always stick to a very small pool of regular shouts - “Come on Hibernian” and “Come in Hibernian, keep it tight!” We’re two favourites. You’d often hear the shouts at away games too, but never actually clasped eyes on her!

Haven't seen her for a long time. She used to get quite abusive to the players the older she got!

10-02-2025, 06:32 PM
Who remembers the 3 or 4 Sikhs who were regulars behind the goals in the 60s. I wonder if they or any of their offspring are still attending.

10-02-2025, 06:35 PM

I remember him. East stand, roughly the 18 yard line towards the FF stand.

10-02-2025, 06:58 PM

Are you sure it's the same guy?

I'd have thought he was a good bit older than that.

TheSouthMoroccan
10-02-2025, 06:59 PM
Used to sit in west upper 2nd last section at the north end mid-late 00s until moving to the new East when it opened. There was a guy who went with what I assumed was a mate, his dad (bright white hair) and his sister. Would always come out with funny stuff as well as shouting “attack attack attack attack attack”. Hope they are still there roaring on Hibs.

Think that's the same guy with photographic memory re any ex Jambos that I mentioned. The attack attack attack shout defo rings a bell.

10-02-2025, 07:08 PM
When I started going in the 1950s there was one guy who could be heard even with the big crowds shouting”gie the ba tae Reilly”. His name was Charlie Anderson. When Lawrie retired there was a show at the Usher Hall and Charlie was heard giving it big licks. Lawrie got someone to bring Charlie behind the scenes at the finish so that he could tell him how much hr’d appreciated the encouragement. Charlie was thrilled.

10-02-2025, 07:43 PM
Maude McFarlane.

The stories are endless but what a stalwart of the supporters' club she was.

I travelled with Hawkhill for years during the 70s and 80s and she ruled that bus with an iron fist.

There was a story that she used to shout "scarves off" when we were travelling through places where there were a lot of opposition fans, but I think that's a myth because I can't recall her ever saying it. In fact, I clearly remember being freezing cold on the way home from places like Palmerston Park and Ibrox because our windows had been tanned in.

Folk mocked Hawkhill by calling us "the picnic branch". I think that's because my mate used to bring his sandwiches on the bus but I'll refrain from naming him.

For all you could say about Maude, she'll always have a place in my heart. Although she had never met my mum, Maude came to the funeral at St Pat's.

A good Hibby.

11-02-2025, 07:48 AM
Was this in mid-2000s? I wasn't sure if there was 3 of them, the abuse came from behind me somewhere but the most ignorant of them had a right spat with Chris Hogg at one point and it was great to see Hoggy giving the fat buffoon the GIRUY when he scored.

That sounds about right. We ended up moving because they were just such complete dicks. Glad Chris gave them it back.

HibbyDave
11-02-2025, 08:01 AM
Maude McFarlane.

I travelled with Hawkhill for years during the 70s and 80s and she ruled that bus with an iron fist.

There was a story that she used to shout "scarves off" when we were travelling through places where there were a lot of opposition fans, but I think that's a myth because I can't recall her ever saying it. In fact, I clearly remember being freezing cold on the way home from places like Palmerston Park and Ibrox because our windows had been tanned in.

Folk mocked Hawkhill by calling us "the picnic branch". I think that's because my mate used to bring his sandwiches on the bus but I'll refrain from naming him.

For all you could say about Maude, she'll always have a place in my heart. Although she had never met my mum, Maude came to the funeral at St Pat's.

A good Hibby.
Bus conveners were a law unto themselves back in the 70’s.
I remember Watty Watt from Southern branch I think it was threw three guys off the bus at Glenfarg on the way home from Aberdeen away. It was about ten at night and pitch dark!

adam middlemass
11-02-2025, 09:28 AM
😂 that's what i was thinking, remember him well.
Come on ma Bonny boys, remember him well! 👍

11-02-2025, 09:40 AM
Come on ma Bonny boys, remember him well! [emoji106]Great thread, a lot of this occurred during a great era for me, the Bonny boys guy is one of the few folk I specifically remember, amongst many hundreds of characters I've seen, and friends I still have, because of Hibs.

Used to get to away games by a variety of means, often the old SMT buses from the bus station, and a few times we were lucky enough to get on the Hawkhill bus mentioned above. Great memories.

11-02-2025, 10:07 AM
I remember Watty Watt from Southern branch I think it was threw three guys off the bus at Glenfarg on the way home from Aberdeen away. It was about ten at night and pitch dark!

They were. I remember one time before I moved to Leith, I used to get picked up at the Securex clock and I missed the bus to Love Street. I managed to hitch a lift to the game from some Hibbies in a car. I met my mates at the game and afterwards, I went with them for the bus back.

Maude wouldn't let me on because I'd missed the one going and hadn't paid or something.

I had to jump on the Edinburgh West bus home. :faf:

11-02-2025, 10:25 AM
Maude McFarlane.

A good Hibby.

My memories of Maude are mainly being told off for knocking peoples pints over with the tied up scarf we played football with on the dancefloor of the Hibs Club :greengrin

11-02-2025, 10:49 AM
My memories of Maude are mainly being told off for knocking peoples pints over with the tied up scarf we played football with on the dancefloor of the Hibs Club :greengrin

So that was you? :grr:

11-02-2025, 10:55 AM
So that was you? :grr:

Sorry :wink:

11-02-2025, 12:03 PM
Great thread, a lot of this occurred during a great era for me, the Bonny boys guy is one of the few folk I specifically remember, amongst many hundreds of characters I've seen, and friends I still have, because of Hibs.

Used to get to away games by a variety of means, often the old SMT buses from the bus station, and a few times we were lucky enough to get on the Hawkhill bus mentioned above. Great memories.

How could I forget about some of these epic journeys - but I did!

:thumbsup::greengrin

11-02-2025, 12:32 PM
How could I forget about some of these epic journeys - but I did!

:thumbsup::greengrin

And the "Specials" run by British Rail.

Incredible when you think about it.

Jock O
11-02-2025, 02:13 PM
Great article, and lifted directly from the fantastic Nutmeg magazine, I think there is some really strong writing and interesting articles for anyone interested in the world outside, and probably inside too, Hibs,

Decent journalism like this deserves a printed output in my old fashioned view.

https://www.nutmegmagazine.co.uk/

11-02-2025, 03:14 PM

One lasting memory I have of Maude is seeing her being patted down and her handbag being searched outside Ibrox. She would be well into her eighties at the time!

11-02-2025, 03:17 PM
Great article, and lifted directly from the fantastic Nutmeg magazine, I think there is some really strong writing and interesting articles for anyone interested in the world outside, and probably inside too, Hibs,

Agreed, and I should've put this in my OP. I've been a subscriber to Nutmeg for the past couple of editions. It is, IMO, the ultimate Scottish Football fanzine that covers practically everything. Some of the stories from around the country are bloody fantastic. Whenever it comes throught the letterbox (digital edition available but as you say, a printed edition is just superior) I know I'm going to have a good couple of nights of reading with a pint or two. Bliss.

TheSouthMoroccan
11-02-2025, 03:51 PM

If you scroll down the first page, there is a piece called Dad is gone by a guy called Chris Collins. Love reading reading these father son stories. Just hope my 16 year old, who's head is full of mince, one day looks back and feels the same way as Chris does. Must stop cutting these effing onions when I read stuff like this.

TheSouthMoroccan
11-02-2025, 04:13 PM
Ps also a great piece about Russell Latapy as well. So glad to have lived through that era.

11-02-2025, 04:30 PM

What did he change it to?

11-02-2025, 04:49 PM
What did he change it to?

Stewart

Orourke73
12-02-2025, 08:07 PM

Watty Robb = Hibs Legend

12-02-2025, 08:35 PM

I was about 5 rows in front of Bonny bonny boys in the early 2000s, everyone liked him.

Mantis Toboggan
12-02-2025, 08:42 PM
Just to agree that Nutmeg is brilliant and that everyone should buy it. For fans by fans and no old firm *****.

Mantis Toboggan
12-02-2025, 08:44 PM
Ps also a great piece about Russell Latapy as well. So glad to have lived through that era.

While we fell short it's hard to disagree that the Latapy/Sauzee era is the best for anyone born since 1980

12-02-2025, 09:46 PM
While we fell short it's hard to disagree that the Latapy/Sauzee era is the best for anyone born since 1980
They were good, nearly up there with the Tornadoes, then again my late father in law said the Tornadoes were nearly up there with the famous 5, every generation has their heroes 😊

Nailsea Hibby
12-02-2025, 11:04 PM
The guy your all talking about is Stuart Reid.

cubehindthegoal
12-02-2025, 11:31 PM
My uncle, who was my fathers brother in law, an old Dubliner who married my mothers sister and came over here to live, always said at the end of every match, as we wandered separate ways from the ground - I was very young and old terracing, my dad would take us to the dunbar end as he liked that view and that’s where he and his cronies met before a match - “see you behind the goal” … and years later, when he couldn’t manage to go to the football, and I visited him at his house, rather than say goodbye to me when I left his house, he said .. yeh, you’ve guessed … “see you behind the goal” …

… so now you know where my username came from here. He was a very good bloke. Miss him being here. Can picture him now standing at a barrier on the dunbar end, calmly watching our team, never flustered.

zitelli62
13-02-2025, 08:03 AM
The guy your all talking about is Stuart Reid.

It is and still going with his grandchildren these days I remember going through to hampden one year and the bus was booked into some pub where the song's were in full flow then all of a sudden it went quiet and stuart started singing on his own and the whole place fell silent listening to him he was a great singer great round of applause at the end.
Great memories.

14-02-2025, 07:38 AM
I remember him too. We should get a HibsNet banner with “C’mon ma Bonny boys” on it !

1 8 7 5
14-02-2025, 07:49 AM
My uncle, who was my fathers brother in law, an old Dubliner who married my mothers sister and came over here to live, always said at the end of every match, as we wandered separate ways from the ground - I was very young and old terracing, my dad would take us to the dunbar end as he liked that view and that’s where he and his cronies met before a match - “see you behind the goal” … and years later, when he couldn’t manage to go to the football, and I visited him at his house, rather than say goodbye to me when I left his house, he said .. yeh, you’ve guessed … “see you behind the goal” …

… so now you know where my username came from here. He was a very good bloke. Miss him being here. Can picture him now standing at a barrier on the dunbar end, calmly watching our team, never flustered.

See you behind the goal is reference to the Cemetry behind the FF.

HibbyDave
14-02-2025, 10:24 AM
Watty Robb = Hibs Legend

Yes, Watty Robb. That’s the fella. Not sure why I remembered him as Watty Watt😂 just a light bulb moment .

14-02-2025, 11:05 AM
Fond memories of the Carlton Branch Eddie Campbell and Jimmy Marriott 1972 Cup Final 14 year old Billy Hibs got on at Haymarket without a parent ‘ You just sit up the front beside the driver son’
1-4 down mass pagger breaks out behind the goals I ended up on the pitch eventually found my way back to Kings Park where hundreds of buses were parked only to find a full bus sitting waiting patiently for me ready to go everyone staring at the vacant seat up the front

Loads of other great stories whip roond for Wee Jimmy’s bail money Cannae find the groond close to kick off everyone oot and run find the bus later Bus parked in Edinburgh ready to go a passing random asked us where we were going explained we were Hibs supporters going up to Tannadice for a Scottish Cup match guy jumps aboard knew a few of the guys up the back turned out he was only supposed to pop out for the morning rolls and a paper left his Mrs hanging in the days before mobile phones

22-02-2025, 06:22 AM
Just bumping this thread because it popped into my head at about 3 this morning.

Does anyone remember the guy who used to play the bagpipes pre match, he stood probably where the entrance to the 'new' flats behind the East is now. He wore a kilt and was blind and his dog used to lie curled up at his feet. I think he made a decent sum every week. He was a fixture for much of the 90s but not sure if he predated that by a bit. Can't remember when he stopped being there but it's been a long time now.

I always remember being disappointed when I found out he was also a fixture outside Tynecastle when Hearts were at home.

BS44
22-02-2025, 06:50 AM
During the great adventure season in the first division when McLeish was manager, there was a old fellae who would stand down at the front facing the Hibs support and sing the Elvis version of Glory Glory, when he'd finished his bit we'd join in and sing GGTTH.

I'm sure I remember him doing it at Firrhill, though we weren't playing Partick as Hibs fans were in the home end behind the goal. Did any other team share Firrhill with Partick that season?

Hopefully someone else also remembers the old fellae too!

22-02-2025, 07:08 AM
During the great adventure season in the first division when McLeish was manager, there was a old fellae who would stand down at the front facing the Hibs support and sing the Elvis version of Glory Glory, when he'd finished his bit we'd join in and sing GGTTH.

I'm sure I remember him doing it at Firrhill, though we weren't playing Partick as Hibs fans were in the home end behind the goal. Did any other team share Firrhill with Partick that season?

Hopefully someone else also remembers the old fellae too!

Pretty sure Hamilton Accies played there. We beat them 2-0 to either get promoted or win the Championship.

McSwanky
22-02-2025, 07:08 AM

Hopefully someone else also remembers the old fellae too!Don't remember the guy, but that would be Hamilton that shared with Thistle.

Sent from my Pixel 8a using Tapatalk

22-02-2025, 07:11 AM
Just bumping this thread because it popped into my head at about 3 this morning.

Does anyone remember the guy who used to play the bagpipes pre match, he stood probably where the entrance to the 'new' flats behind the East is now. He wore a kilt and was blind and his dog used to lie curled up at his feet. I think he made a decent sum every week. He was a fixture for much of the 90s but not sure if he predated that by a bit. Can't remember when he stopped being there but it's been a long time now.

I always remember being disappointed when I found out he was also a fixture outside Tynecastle when Hearts were at home.
I remember the piper.
PS I'm old enough to remember pipe bands at Hampden games.

22-02-2025, 07:14 AM
Pretty sure Hamilton Accies played there. We beat them 2-0 to either get promoted or win the Championship.

Won the league that day. Latapy double, missed a penalty for his hat trick. Constant radio updates that Morton were beating Falkirk. Pitch invasion at FT.

League was won weeks before but it was good to make it official.

BS44
22-02-2025, 07:31 AM

I'd forgotten about us winning the championship there 😂

The Elvis impersonator will have been the first game against Hamilton through there

22-02-2025, 07:49 AM
Ha! Ha! Can well remember that famous Accies stalwart Ian Fergie Russell standing ootside the auld stand at Firhill for Thrills hurling abuse at passing Hibs fans post match after winning the Championship telling us to F off back from where we came fae

22-02-2025, 08:15 AM

I remember him and always liked the sound of the lone piper upon approach to ER.

There was a story of him getting a kicking from Rangers fans and his money taken when he was doing his stint at Tynecastle one week. It was one of the anecdotes (that may not even have been true) that really helped entrench in me a dislike for that club and their fans at an impressionable age.

22-02-2025, 08:19 AM
I remember him and always liked the sound of the lone piper upon approach to ER.

There was a story of him getting a kicking from Rangers fans and his money taken when he was doing his stint at Tynecastle one week. It was one of the anecdotes (that may not even have been true) that really helped bake in my dislike of that club and their fans in my head at an impressionable age.

Yes! Can’t believe I forgot about him. And the fact that it seems relatively recently (90s? Really?) suggests i am getting old…

22-02-2025, 09:41 AM

YES!!! We're of the same vintage I reckon and that is a peak Easter Road childhood memory.