View Full Version : What have Ref's got to hide?

08-02-2025, 01:56 PM
just caught a wee bit of the egg chasers game, the referees are fully microphoned up, hear everything clear as day. Have to ask why we don't do the same in Scottish Football, what have they got to hide, transparency would take out the suspected corruption in our game along with the obvious west coast bias. that would have been a cheaper and better option than var in my humble, force them to be accountable. Having watched that clown Clancy last night it would have been hilarious to have heard what his comments on the game were. getting a good enough sound system in a ground like Ayr may have been a challenge, but for Premier games we deserve better.

08-02-2025, 02:24 PM
Would certainly like last night's latest numpty to explain how he missed a clear handball penalty to Hibs in the first half. If he saw enough to give a corner he must have seen the outstretched arm that stopped the ball and caused it to go behind.

That aside, FFS don't mike this lot up, they want to be the centre of attention enough without having to listen to their pish for 90 plus minutes. The rugby is bad enough with refs shouting at players to stay onside and all that ... the players ken the rules fine, I see no reason for the ref to be telling them how to play the game.

08-02-2025, 02:27 PM
just caught a wee bit of the egg chasers game, the referees are fully microphoned up, hear everything clear as day. Have to ask why we don't do the same in Scottish Football, what have they got to hide, transparency would take out the suspected corruption in our game along with the obvious west coast bias. that would have been a cheaper and better option than var in my humble, force them to be accountable. Having watched that clown Clancy last night it would have been hilarious to have heard what his comments on the game were. getting a good enough sound system in a ground like Ayr may have been a challenge, but for Premier games we deserve better.

If you go to the game at Murrayfield you can get headphones which allow you to listen while watching the game. I'd pay to hear the VAR studio during our games and see what songs they were singing

08-02-2025, 02:29 PM
I'd pay to hear the VAR studio during our games and see what songs they were singing

The headphones give you video too? :wink:

08-02-2025, 02:31 PM
The headphones give you video too? :wink: Very good

08-02-2025, 02:31 PM
the headphones give you video too? :wink:

vr var

08-02-2025, 02:35 PM
Would certainly like last night's latest numpty to explain how he missed a clear handball penalty to Hibs in the first half. If he saw enough to give a corner he must have seen the outstretched arm that stopped the ball and caused it to go behind.

That aside, FFS don't mike this lot up, they want to be the centre of attention enough without having to listen to their pish for 90 plus minutes. The rugby is bad enough with refs shouting at players to stay onside and all that ... the players ken the rules fine, I see no reason for the ref to be telling them how to play the game.

Refs are doing everything the can to speed up the game and make it good to watch in Rugby. hence the warnings. From what I can see football refs are the exact opposite ignoring players standing in front of free kicks, deliberate fouls to break play up etc etc. Football could learn a huge amount from Rugby in terms of the way officials officiate and also the way rules are changed to make teh game better to watch.

I agree about last nights hand ball. How a referee can miss that when fans can clearly see it 60 yards away is beyond me. If you listen to the comments from Collum on the VAR review most would seem to apply to that decision but then Clancy has his vendetta against us to facilitate.

08-02-2025, 02:38 PM
You hear the VAR audio in the VAR Review show i on YouTube and it’s a welcome introduction, imho. The game needs the transparency, and I really think there’s value in that sort of review show.

Live audio would be the next step along with showing the VAR review on screens where it’s available.

08-02-2025, 02:47 PM
You hear the VAR audio in the VAR Review show i on YouTube and it’s a welcome introduction, imho. The game needs the transparency, and I really think there’s value in that sort of review show.

Live audio would be the next step along with showing the VAR review on screens where it’s available.On the recent VAR review when deciding on the pen against Cadden someone mentions the tackle/foul on Josh Campbell. Brushed aside,quickly, as no-foul but the wording during the review that comes up with "That would be a foul for Hibs, though."

What does the "though" infer?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

08-02-2025, 03:05 PM

Interesting, so you see no reason to change the way games are officiated in Scotland.
You are happy to put up with the clear bias and wrong decisions.

08-02-2025, 03:18 PM
Interesting, so you see no reason to change the way games are officiated in Scotland.

A lot of people want to scrap bar. Clearly they do prefer the wrong decisions.

08-02-2025, 03:25 PM
A lot of people want to scrap bar. Clearly they do prefer the wrong decisions.

I would not go so far as to scrap the bars but for sure Var is screwing up our game, a game that we pay good money to watch, at least most of us do.
We deserve better.

08-02-2025, 04:06 PM

Never said that. If there was one change I would like to see it's refs having the exact same incident from two different games they have been involved in put before them and explain why their decision was different. Same with VAR ..... two incidents exactly the same and yet they send the ref to the screen for one but not the other. It's the inconsistency that gets you.

From a personal POV one thing I would be interested to see is an experiment where keepers aren't allowed to kick the ball outside of either box .... perhaps the loss of sweeper keepers would open up the game. Perhaps not, but it would be interesting to find out.

08-02-2025, 04:29 PM

Football refs also coach players through the game. If you watch the VAR review you’ll see a few occasions where the ref warns against jumping into tackles or fouling from behind to try and avoid the game stopping and players getting booked.

08-02-2025, 04:39 PM
On the recent VAR review when deciding on the pen against Cadden someone mentions the tackle/foul on Josh Campbell. Brushed aside,quickly, as no-foul but the wording during the review that comes up with "That would be a foul for Hibs, though."

What does the "though" infer?

I clocked that as well but thought that they went back to look at it regardless and from the angle they reviewed it I think they got the decision right.

I was shouting that the Hibs foul was exactly what they should be looking at when he said it.

08-02-2025, 04:47 PM

Wishful thinking. We all thought VAR would be the silver bullet. Refs and VARs would just lie their way through matches and we will just get more and more incensed with nothing changing.

Strangely, I much preferred the days when you saw something in real time from the terraces and half accepted the corrupt decisions of refs. Better than seeing them time and again in slo mo, and watching VAR, refs and pundits scrambling to justify the unjustifiable.

08-02-2025, 05:17 PM
I clocked that as well but thought that they went back to look at it regardless and from the angle they reviewed it I think they got the decision right.

I was shouting that the Hibs foul was exactly what they should be looking at when he said it.Maybe they could have been as thorough as they were with the pen and looked at it from more than one angle, rather than one cursory look and say "no foul".

08-02-2025, 05:20 PM
Wishful thinking. We all thought VAR would be the silver bullet. Refs and VARs would just lie their way through matches and we will just get more and more incensed with nothing changing.

Strangely, I much preferred the days when you saw something in real time from the terraces and half accepted the corrupt decisions of refs. Better than seeing them time and again in slo mo, and watching VAR, refs and pundits scrambling to justify the unjustifiable.The only way to take the suspicions away from VAR in Scotland would be to have foreign officials take over, each association could cover matches from different countries.

As it is we have officials who all come from a tiny geographical area of Scotland all keen to cover for each other.

08-02-2025, 06:21 PM
The only way to take the suspicions away from VAR in Scotland would be to have foreign officials take over, each association could cover matches from different countries.

As it is we have officials who all come from a tiny geographical area of Scotland all keen to cover for each other.

Quite right. Bring on the Dutch refs for rangers games and the Irish refs for Celtc.
Fantastic idea

08-02-2025, 06:32 PM
Maybe they could have been as thorough as they were with the pen and looked at it from more than one angle, rather than one cursory look and say "no foul".

They could have but I thought the one that they chose gave a really clear look and was evidently not a foul, remembering that the referee was right next to the incident as well and he didn’t give it either.

PHeffernan
08-02-2025, 06:42 PM
Saw the thread title and thought of it as a new starting lyric for this

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/yqtne9QpPho

08-02-2025, 06:46 PM
They could have but I thought the one that they chose gave a really clear look and was evidently not a foul, remembering that the referee was right next to the incident as well and he didn’t give it either.That's true. So the ref, who had a great view, ignored the foul.

Paul1642
08-02-2025, 06:50 PM
The only way to take the suspicions away from VAR in Scotland would be to have foreign officials take over, each association could cover matches from different countries.

Nice idea but even if the appetite for it existed, the number of takers willing to move country for a part time job would be minimal. Even if we did attract foreign refs for the wages we pay, it wouldn’t be a country’s top refs.

Maybe we could just try recruiting outwith greater Glasgow.

08-02-2025, 06:52 PM
Nice idea but even if the appetite for it existed, the number of takers willing to move country for a part time job would be minimal. Even if we did attract foreign refs for the wages we pay, it wouldn’t be a country’s top refs.

Maybe we could just try recruiting outwith greater Glasgow.Am really talking about VAR being outsourced/swapped between different associations, not refs. No one would need to move house or country. We have the technology to make it work.

08-02-2025, 06:58 PM
Without having a great grasp of rugby rules, would it be fair to say that their rules are more matter of fact while ours are more matter of opinion?

Do referees actually explain to players why fouls or penalties have been given (or not) and why goals are ruled out for offsides and by what margins?

I’m not sure I’d have a lot of appetite to listen to the likes of David Dickinson droning on about rules over the tannoy on a match day. If you think the drums are bad for atmosphere things could get an awful lot worse.

08-02-2025, 08:27 PM
That's true. So the ref, who had a great view, ignored the foul.

I don’t think he ignored it, I think the referee saw the incident and didn’t think it was a foul. I thought it was at the time but watched it back on that VAR Review and it’s clearly not a foul, imho.

08-02-2025, 08:40 PM
I don’t think he ignored it, I think the referee saw the incident and didn’t think it was a foul. I thought it was at the time but watched it back on that VAR Review and it’s clearly not a foul, imho.Fair enough. I thought the RC player impeded him. Arm in the small of his back, contact with his knee, didn't touch the ball. Campbell obviously felt contact as he's down for a while.

08-02-2025, 08:40 PM
Without having a great grasp of rugby rules, would it be fair to say that their rules are more matter of fact while ours are more matter of opinion?

Do referees actually explain to players why fouls or penalties have been given (or not) and why goals are ruled out for offsides and by what margins?

I’m not sure I’d have a lot of appetite to listen to the likes of David Dickinson droning on about rules over the tannoy on a match day. If you think the drums are bad for atmosphere things could get an awful lot worse.
I think football refs allow opinion to come into play whereas the laws of the game are reasonably clear.In rugby you can have ten guys scrambling on the floor to get the ball and the ref has to decide if there’s anything illegal going on and by which side.Rugby refs seem much better than football refs at being constantly close to the game-maybe they’re fitter.

08-02-2025, 08:54 PM
Fair enough. I thought the RC player impeded him. Arm in the small of his back, contact with his knee, didn't touch the ball. Campbell obviously felt contact as he's down for a while.

I think there’s some contact but not enough for a free kick, I think it’s fair to say that players stay down a lot when they probably don’t need to.

09-02-2025, 08:01 AM

Live audio would be the next step along with showing the VAR review on screens where it’s available.

Agreed I've enjoyed watching. The latest instalment has got the hun hordes in meltdown which is always a bonus :hilarious

09-02-2025, 08:55 AM
Agreed I've enjoyed watching. The latest instalment has got the hun hordes in meltdown which is always a bonus :hilarious

A fantastic outcome for some mental refereeing.

21-02-2025, 05:06 PM
See the KMI panel voted 3:2 and think there should’ve been an on-field review for a pen in the Hearts-Huns game.

For the push on the Wilson. Totally disagree and don’t think it was a pen.

21-02-2025, 08:03 PM
I think Dundee Utd highlighted that the KMI panel, collectively, have little or no football expertise and decided they were pointless. Basically the equivalent of consulting Hibs.net
or any other fans’ forum.