View Full Version : Somerset Park stadium access

08-02-2025, 06:32 AM
Somerset Park is a proper retro stadium and it was great standing with friends on the terracing enjoying the football, however the access into the ground was far from ideal and got a bit chaotic.

The queues to get in were pretty much expected, as this was relayed to fans in advance from Kieran Power and also by email from Ayr to advise on turnstile numbers. Once through however; it was a bit shambolic with a bottleneck developing trying to gain access onto Railway End terrace. A portacabin snack bar seemed to be causing a lot of this by limiting space and the area was very congested and slow to get through. This seemed to get worse closer to KO and following the start of play with police and our own security man appearing to assist and they got it cleared.

I can imagine it could have been a bit of an unpleasant time for those with young children and while I never felt unsafe when we entered I could see this causing problems for Ayr if they were to get promoted when stadium is assessed for safety certificates for top flight.

We moved round to terrace pitchside and it was less congested but we weren’t aware beforehand you could access that area as I thought it was a seperate section but it was the same turnstiles used to get to those areas. Getting out was then slow going again, but the similar looking home end emptied a lot quicker so there was obviously some issues with the Railway End.

I hope they get up and I love Somerset Park, but they will probably need to iron out some access and exiting challenges on full capacity occasions in the event of that.

hibstag
08-02-2025, 06:50 AM
I think a lot of the old school grounds suffer from this as bits have been added, Forfar last year was the same as well with the toilet and Pie queues forming right at the access point to the pitch side terrace. Built to hold several thousand but facilities laid out for the 400 that actually go

08-02-2025, 07:02 AM
I took my 5 year old and he absolutely loved it! His first away match and completely different to the rail seating in FFL he’s at. Helpful to have the railings in place he could sit on. Loved the chaos at the goal, particularly as Rocky is his favourite player. Give us trips to there over Livingston and St Mirren any day of the week. Night time games are always special, especially Fridays!

08-02-2025, 07:05 AM
It did look like the railway end might get tighter but I was in the west (away) stand, with my son and 6yr old grandson. Only one gate, gate 10, to get in but no problem at all. Haven’t been to Summerset Park since we were in the championship but it’s a great throwback. The old turn style is so iconic.
Have to say I found the whole atmosphere from local support really friendly and had no fears for my grandson. Supporters going to and from the ground mingled with no issues and they seemed delighted to see us there in numbers.
If they get promoted, and I hope they do, I’m not sure if premiership rules will allow them to use the old style terraces but it’s a great place to visit and a proper sized grass pitch.

Only blemish for me is that both sets of supporters felt the need to set off flares and what kind of idiot throws a percussion firework at any time? The one thrown from the railway end ignited quite close to Jordan Smith, who was waiting to defend a set piece. Just who thinks that’s a good idea?

08-02-2025, 07:06 AM
I got in really early with my daughter as I know what that entrance is like. She was freezing, despite the 10 layers, and a bit huffy but absolutely loved the madness at the goal. I thought she was crying when about 100 bodies went flying past us but she was laughing and then sung her heart out until FT.

The crushing at that entrance did look a bit scary from a distance though. I remembered it from 2012 hence being in the ground a good hour before kick off last night.

08-02-2025, 08:49 AM
It is genuinely my favourite ground, I absolutely love the place and try and get to a game there whenever I can. Really do hope they come up.

08-02-2025, 08:57 AM
Atmosphere was decent but brutal if you need the toilet. Glad I hadn’t been on the beers but had to queue for about 25 minutes with the bairn. At least I could still see the game from the queue

percy veer
08-02-2025, 08:59 AM
Got in 30 min s before kick of no problem standing behind the goal seems some fans were intent on standing right on the wall next to the pitch right near the snack van

08-02-2025, 09:02 AM
What’s the story with the most recent stand ?

No proper toilets for away fans and why would they design it without a proper TV gantry ?

What was the attendance in the end ?

08-02-2025, 09:08 AM
Exiting the stadium was a shambles from The Railway End as it seems like almost the entire away end had a single exit to go through next to the main stand.

If they come up, they're going to have to sort that for away fans because they're going to be getting similar sized away supports to what they had last night on a far more regular basis.

08-02-2025, 09:16 AM
Exiting the stadium was a shambles from The Railway End as it seems like almost the entire away end had a single exit to go through next to the main stand.

If they come up, they're going to have to sort that for away fans because they're going to be getting similar sized away supports to what they had last night on a far more regular basis.

We were in the North and were able to get out on that side. No turnstiles to get in that side though and no toilets etc included, don’t think they’ve really thought it through when built.

08-02-2025, 04:06 PM
We were in the North and were able to get out on that side. No turnstiles to get in that side though and no toilets etc included, don’t think they’ve really thought it through when built.

The stewards handed me a plastic bottle on the way in.

Montford
08-02-2025, 05:58 PM
Was a real choke point getting in. Took them ages to realise their was potential for it to go wrong before opening the wee terrace at front of stand
Loved the ground, a real throwback with a touch of modernity
Said to my uncle if that was any of the the old firm with their usual forged tickets and turnstile jumpers then Ayr would have had real issues. Serious disorder
Toilets were a joke, was on north terrace and most just pished against the wall at the side.
Fortunately at full time noticed the gate didn’t have a lock so just opened it and walked out past the ayr fans
Saved at least half hour getting out

08-02-2025, 06:07 PM
It was slow going and I didn’t get through turnstyle until kick off
But then the real issues emerged and people were getting fractious and pushing and shoving to try and get to the front seven minutes later was standing in loads of space at the other end of that terrace
At the end was up at the porta loos doing a pee and noticed a security guy letting someone out the gate up there so just went out that way

PHeffernan
08-02-2025, 06:18 PM
Ayr average home attendances have increased by 27% this season but are still less than 2,700
Friday's attendance was more than 3 times that so no surprise that there were issues.

As others have said if Ayr are promoted in the next few seasons they will have to address the obvious issues of safe supporter access and egress to/from Somerset Park.

All that said it was far more fun visiting SP than the stale 4 shoebox stadiums at St J and St M.

snedzuk
08-02-2025, 06:27 PM
Ticket info for the north stand said turnstiles 7, 8 and 9. I looked on Streetview and read about the stand on the architects website and pitched up at the entrance to the north, to be told by a steward that these turnstiles were at the railway terrace entrance.

We went round to the railway terrace gates and the queues were huge (this is about 20 mins before KO). However, there was no queue at gates 7,8 and 9, but from outside, they look like they are giving entry to the home stand - so we asked another steward about that and she pointed to the back of the huge queue until I gave her my email with the gate numbers on it and she said 'just try that then'. We then got in through 'no queue' gate 7, but it still took about 4 minutes for the QR codes to be read (for two of us).

Once in, it made zero difference which gate you had used as all away fans were directed to one point - the one by the snack bar where the bottleneck was. So the long queues could have been alleviated by enabling all fans to use 7, 8 and 9.

You then need to walk round the railway terrace to get to the away end of the north stand (where there were three portaloos).

At the end, a gate had been opened at the top of the north end steps and we went out that way, past hospitality and arrived on Somerset Road right alongside but separated from the entrance turnstiles to the home end. For the sake of one steward checking tickets, away fans could have accessed the north stand and terrace using that route past hospitality.

We both felt that entry to the ground was poorly handled and an accident waiting to happen, especially at the railway terrace gates in the dark.

snedzuk
08-02-2025, 06:29 PM
Was a real choke point getting in. Took them ages to realise their was potential for it to go wrong before opening the wee terrace at front of stand
Loved the ground, a real throwback with a touch of modernity
Said to my uncle if that was any of the the old firm with their usual forged tickets and turnstile jumpers then Ayr would have had real issues. Serious disorder
Toilets were a joke, was on north terrace and most just pished against the wall at the side.
Fortunately at full time noticed the gate didn’t have a lock so just opened it and walked out past the ayr fans
Saved at least half hour getting out

I dont understand that because separate tickets to enter that area were on sale to Hibs fans and the only way into it was via the railway terrace, so it must have been open anyway.

Simkin911
08-02-2025, 07:58 PM
It was a real throwback from a safety point of view. Maybe an age thing but I couldn’t be bothered with the bottlenecks and lay out.
I did think they should have tried to empty the railway end from both sides.

08-02-2025, 08:55 PM
It was a real throwback from a safety point of view. Maybe an age thing but I couldn’t be bothered with the bottlenecks and lay out.
I did think they should have tried to empty the railway end from both sides.

I’m no even that old but, having the bairn with me, I much prefer a decent view and decent facilities.

LewysGot2
08-02-2025, 08:56 PM
Agree with much of what has been said here about the access and egress issues.

Got there an hour before KO as remember how bad it always is getting in and out of there. Poorly managed but very predictable. The toilet issue isn’t good enough. My lassie needed and we discovered that there was only one female toilet. After queuing for ages it then transpired that the light inside wasn’t working and there was nae loo roll. It’s 2025. That’s not on. Thankfully someone warned her and a nice woman gave her tissue before she went in. I gave her my phone with the torch on so she could see.

If they come up that really needs sorting.

Otherwise it was an old school evening with a good result and atmosphere.

Montford
08-02-2025, 09:12 PM
I dont understand that because separate tickets to enter that area were on sale to Hibs fans and the only way into it was via the railway terrace, so it must have been open anyway.

No it was locked, there was no ticket gate there.
Just a black gate. It led to a road that took you up to the Ayr support.
They wanted the Hibs support out on the outside of the ground.

08-02-2025, 09:14 PM
Imagine how much worse it will be when the Old Arse cheeks squeeze in double their allocation… As they so often do.

08-02-2025, 09:32 PM
I was in the old stand. Arrived early as I always do. Left just after final whistle. Straight out no issues. At half time I nipped down to use teh facilities as did quite a few Hibs fans. We followed the signs which took us down to ground level where a female steward said you can't use the toilets. A few boys just kept walking as I suspect they were desperate and the rest followed. Stewarding at all grounds seems to be lots of decent people without teh first clue what they are meant to do, little knowledge of what they are stewarding in terms of exits and entrances etc. Just a box ticking exercise

08-02-2025, 09:41 PM
What’s the story with the most recent stand ?

No proper toilets for away fans and why would they design it without a proper TV gantry ?

What was the attendance in the end ?

a very healthy 7,364

08-02-2025, 09:52 PM
I was in the old stand. Arrived early as I always do. Left just after final whistle. Straight out no issues. At half time I nipped down to use teh facilities as did quite a few Hibs fans. We followed the signs which took us down to ground level where a female steward said you can't use the toilets. A few boys just kept walking as I suspect they were desperate and the rest followed. Stewarding at all grounds seems to be lots of decent people without teh first clue what they are meant to do, little knowledge of what they are stewarding in terms of exits and entrances etc. Just a box ticking exercise

Stewards have absolutely no authority or control. It’s people on minimum wage who, as you say, are there to tick a box. It’s not proper security. If I was them, I wouldn’t be getting involved with anyone that wasn’t happy either.

I was in the queue for the toilets on the north stand side. There was a boy losing the head at the steward asking him to control the queue and the boy just looked at him as if to say ‘no chance’.

Simkin911
08-02-2025, 10:07 PM
I know it’s not their actual job but to be fair to the stewards it was nice to have them say ‘thanks for coming, safe trip home’ as we left.
Last time that happened (to us) was Arbroath away.

08-02-2025, 10:23 PM
70 years ago, as a 11 year old, I attended my first senior football match at SP, with my Dad, a big Ayr Utd fan. Watching the game yesterday brought back many, many memories from a time long ago.

PHeffernan
08-02-2025, 11:56 PM
70 years ago, as a 11 year old, I attended my first senior football match at SP, with my Dad, a big Ayr Utd fan. Watching the game yesterday brought back many, many memories from a time long ago.

That's a great story.
70 years, that's was some size of a circle you joined up on Friday night from your first game with your dad!

09-02-2025, 12:31 AM
That's a great story.
70 years, that's was some size of a circle you joined up on Friday night from your first game with your dad!

09-02-2025, 12:43 PM
That's a great story.
Yes your right, I sat in Kirkcaldy watching the game, the stadium not a lot different to when we would go along on a Saturday, 3pm kick off except in winter 2pm,no floodlights in those days, Alex, Dixi, Ingram was the star of the team fabulous in the air at centre forward, great local derby with Killie, no prisoners taken.
I should explain that after a number of years in the merchant navy I moved to Dalkeith to work with Ferranti where I fell for a lovely young women whose father was a keen Hibs supporter, it was he who suggested going along to ER just when the Tornadoes were in their pomp, I was a convert, so I can look back to a dear father who took me to my first senior football game and a dear father in law who took me to my first Hibs game. Hopefully I haven't bored folk with my potted history of football, love the game 😊

09-02-2025, 01:48 PM
Walking to the ground, we were stopped by an Ayr supporter, who was so delighted to see a young supporter going to the game (my 6yr old grandson) he just had to hand him £5 to buy something from the kiosk. Wished us luck and headed off to his home gate. Every Ayr supporter we came across was most welcoming and friendly, before and after the game.

09-02-2025, 02:42 PM
Yes your right, I sat in Kirkcaldy watching the game, the stadium not a lot different to when we would go along on a Saturday, 3pm kick off except in winter 2pm,no floodlights in those days, Alex, Dixi, Ingram was the star of the team fabulous in the air at centre forward, great local derby with Killie, no prisoners taken.
I should explain that after a number of years in the merchant navy I moved to Dalkeith to work with Ferranti where I fell for a lovely young women whose father was a keen Hibs supporter, it was he who suggested going along to ER just when the Tornadoes were in their pomp, I was a convert, so I can look back to a dear father who took me to my first senior football game and a dear father in law who took me to my first Hibs game. Hopefully I haven't bored folk with my potted history of football, love the game 😊

A bit off topic but which companies did you sail with in the MN?

PHeffernan
09-02-2025, 02:55 PM
I should explain that after a number of years in the merchant navy I moved to Dalkeith to work with Ferranti where I fell for a lovely young women whose father was a keen Hibs supporter, it was he who suggested going along to ER just when the Tornadoes were in their pomp, I was a convert, so I can look back to a dear father who took me to my first senior football game and a dear father in law who took me to my first Hibs game. Hopefully I haven't bored folk with my potted history of football, love the game ��

I remember Alex Ingram from his second spell at Ayr.
My grampa used to take me to games all over the country when I visited him in Edinburgh. My memories of going to those games remains vivid and magical over 50 years later.

P.S. Your father in law has a lot to answer for. How you have suffered since the demise of the Tornadoes!!!

09-02-2025, 03:26 PM
I remember Alex Ingram from his second spell at Ayr.
My grampa used to take me to games all over the country when I visited him in Edinburgh. My memories of going to those games remains vivid and magical over 50 years later.

P.S. Your father in law has a lot to answer for. How you have suffered since the demise of the Tornadoes!!!
He was gem of a man, a Geordie from County Durham, mining village called Greenside, married a Scots girl and eventually settled in Dalkeith, loved Hibs, said Gordon Smith was one of the best footballers he had ever watched.
Yip been highs and lows since the Tornadoes but you just have to love the Hibs 😊

09-02-2025, 03:34 PM
A bit off topic but which companies did you sail with in the MN?
I was a Radio Officer (Sparks) employed by Marconi Marine, sailed with Royal Mail line, Ellerman, Donaldson of Glasgow, Sugar line, Buries Marks and Medomsley shipping. Last trip was year and a half when I came ashore to do BoT radar maintenance cert. When that was completed Ferranti were advertising for technicians so that's how I ended up in Edinburgh, did plan to only spend a year ashore then back to sea, met my wife so that plan went out the window, but I did find the Hibs. 😂

09-02-2025, 05:00 PM
I was a Radio Officer (Sparks) employed by Marconi Marine, sailed with Royal Mail line, Ellerman, Donaldson of Glasgow, Sugar line, Buries Marks and Medomsley shipping. Last trip was year and a half when I came ashore to do BoT radar maintenance cert. When that was completed Ferranti were advertising for technicians so that's how I ended up in Edinburgh, did plan to only spend a year ashore then back to sea, met my wife so that plan went out the window, but I did find the Hibs. 😂

Good spread of companies there. I did my engine cadetship with Ellerman, completed it just as containerisation was seeing the general cargo fleets shrink rapidly. Ended up working in the North Sea then on coasters after a spell ashore. It all ended to soon for me but I was lucky to experience the 'real' merchant navy if only for a short time.

09-02-2025, 05:17 PM
Good spread of companies there. I did my engine cadetship with Ellerman, completed it just as containerisation was seeing the general cargo fleets shrink rapidly. Ended up working in the North Sea then on coasters after a spell ashore. It all ended to soon for me but I was lucky to experience the 'real' merchant navy if only for a short time.
I kind of saw it coming so after Radar course thought I'd get a bit more experience ashore, my last trip was on Holsworthy Beacon, general cago i e tramp, so I was away for year and a half, every where, US, Gulf, India, S. America, Canada, Australia, Japan etc so I was kind of ready to come ashore after I met my future wife. Enjoyed it young man's game and containerisation changed everything. 👍

09-02-2025, 06:50 PM
I kind of saw it coming so after Radar course thought I'd get a bit more experience ashore, my last trip was on Holsworthy Beacon, general cago i e tramp, so I was away for year and a half, every where, US, Gulf, India, S. America, Canada, Australia, Japan etc so I was kind of ready to come ashore after I met my future wife. Enjoyed it young man's game and containerisation changed everything. 👍

That is a belter of a trip to finish with. There’s probably a book in that one alone. :greengrin

09-02-2025, 08:51 PM
That is a belter of a trip to finish with. There’s probably a book in that one alone. :greengrin
Yes there certainly is, the OM was drunk, the Cheif Eng and the Chief Steward were his drinking buddies. The 3rd mate was an alcoholic and had to be flown home from Japan he was so ill. Two incidents stick in my mind, first leaving Newcastle NSW for Chittagon bit of miscommunication on the bridge resulted in a grounding leaving harbour, resulting in dry docking in Japan, owners not best pleased, 2nd and the best, Valparasio Chile, again leaving port OM pissed, pilot on board and the OM decided to ring full ahead, unfortunately all ropes not cleared fore and aft, chaos. We end up out in the quarantine berth with a full harbour master investigation ongoing, fine, owners not best pleased. There were other interesting times, I'll save them for another chapter. 😂

Islington Hibs
09-02-2025, 09:19 PM
I get the ground is a bit rickety but I would take that any day over the plastic fantastic. Proper old school match, Ayr played well and would be a real asset if promoted. As others have said I thought their fans were very sporting and generous. Good luck to them

Hillsidehibby
09-02-2025, 09:34 PM
Yes there certainly is, the OM was drunk, the Cheif Eng and the Chief Steward were his drinking buddies. The 3rd mate was an alcoholic and had to be flown home from Japan he was so ill. Two incidents stick in my mind, first leaving Newcastle NSW for Chittagon bit of miscommunication on the bridge resulted in a grounding leaving harbour, resulting in dry docking in Japan, owners not best pleased, 2nd and the best, Valparasio Chile, again leaving port OM pissed, pilot on board and the OM decided to ring full ahead, unfortunately all ropes not cleared fore and aft, chaos. We end up out in the quarantine berth with a full harbour master investigation ongoing, fine, owners not best pleased. There were other interesting times, I'll save them for another chapter. 😂
I can almost hear the sea shanties in the background! I wanted to join the Merchant Navy when I finished my sparky apprenticeship in 1979. My dad who was in the Merchant Navy for a good few years talked me out of it!

10-02-2025, 09:10 AM
I can almost hear the sea shanties in the background! I wanted to join the Merchant Navy when I finished my sparky apprenticeship in 1979. My dad who was in the Merchant Navy for a good few years talked me out of it!
It was different times, you wouldn't get away with 18 month trips now, then fairly common. I initially wanted to go to sea as a navigation cadet, but my father, a retired MN Captain, wouldn't hear of it, so we agreed R/O which was good advice as a shore career was available if necessary and that's how it panned out. As I say memories from long ago. 🛳️🙂

10-02-2025, 10:37 AM

The best read may be the stuff you have to leave out. :greengrin

10-02-2025, 11:39 AM
The best read may be the stuff you have to leave out. :greengrin
What shall we do with the drunken sailor 🍺🍻😂