View Full Version : 150th Anniversary Events
06-02-2025, 07:02 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2025/february/06/celebrating-150-years-of-hibernian-football-club/
06-02-2025, 07:06 PM
"with fan consolations"?
That's not very encouraging. :rolleyes:
Prof. Shaggy
06-02-2025, 07:08 PM
"with fan consolations"?
I noticed that and eagerly awaiting more info.
Something to do with Liszt?
06-02-2025, 07:09 PM
Jeezo Hibs love a typo😅😅
All sounds promising though, looking forward to more detail in due course.
Paulie Walnuts
06-02-2025, 07:10 PM
"with fan consolations"?
Wonder if the fan consolations were with the Gordon’s.
Jim Herriot
06-02-2025, 07:19 PM
Translated from https://www.rot-weiss-essen.de/2025/02/06/70-jahre-danach-rwe-spielt-beim-hibernian-fc-in-edinburgh/
Rot-Weiss Essen is returning to Edinburgh – for the first time since 1955: Back then, on September 14, 1955, RWE, as German champions, had the great honor of being the first German football team to take part in the newly created European Cup (today's Champions League). The draw resulted in a duel against Hibernian Football Club from Edinburgh. The Scots were the first British participants in the new competition.
RWE therefore took to the field with Fritz Herkenrath and Willi Köchling, among others, for the first leg against the Scottish champions, but without the injured Helmut Rahn and Penny Islacker, and lost 4-0. In the return leg on 12 October 1955, RWE drew 1-1 in front of 30,000 spectators, and was thus eliminated.
And now, 70 years after the historic away game in Edinburgh and to coincide with the 150th anniversary of “Hibs”, founded in 1875, a new edition of the historic match is planned at Easter Road in Edinburgh: On Wednesday, July 9, 2025, Hibernian FC, currently fifth in the Scottish Premiership, and third division club Rot-Weiss Essen will face each other in this very special friendly match. This is likely to be a big celebration for many green-white and red-white fans.
Further information about the game, which is being organized with the support of Onside Sports GmbH, is currently still being planned and will be announced in the coming weeks and months.
Slim Shady
06-02-2025, 07:20 PM
Aye…… that’s looks great….. can’t wait….
Well done to the working group.
Uninspired
06-02-2025, 07:23 PM
Uninspired
Uninspired by what?
06-02-2025, 07:32 PM
Uninspired
Just as well Hibs have the fan consolations ready…you can be first in the queue for one!
MagicSwirlingShip
06-02-2025, 07:37 PM
Good stuff Hibs, will try and make these events.
mcohibs
06-02-2025, 07:37 PM
Uninspired
Looks pretty decent to me so far. What you after, a bouncy castle and a goody bag?
06-02-2025, 07:43 PM
Looks pretty decent to me so far. What you after, a bouncy castle and a goody bag?
A bounce on Ian Gordon's knee and a jar of Rod Petrie moustache wax probably? The pre-season friendly especially is a great celebration event.
Bridge hibs
06-02-2025, 07:44 PM
UninspiredIts ok, they might have tombola and face painting for you 👍
Slim Shady
06-02-2025, 07:50 PM
No even ice cream or jelly!
No even ice cream or jelly!You've got beef though.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
06-02-2025, 07:52 PM
Translated from https://www.rot-weiss-essen.de/2025/02/06/70-jahre-danach-rwe-spielt-beim-hibernian-fc-in-edinburgh/
Rot-Weiss Essen is returning to Edinburgh – for the first time since 1955: Back then, on September 14, 1955, RWE, as German champions, had the great honor of being the first German football team to take part in the newly created European Cup (today's Champions League). The draw resulted in a duel against Hibernian Football Club from Edinburgh. The Scots were the first British participants in the new competition.
RWE therefore took to the field with Fritz Herkenrath and Willi Köchling, among others, for the first leg against the Scottish champions, but without the injured Helmut Rahn and Penny Islacker, and lost 4-0. In the return leg on 12 October 1955, RWE drew 1-1 in front of 30,000 spectators, and was thus eliminated.
And now, 70 years after the historic away game in Edinburgh and to coincide with the 150th anniversary of “Hibs”, founded in 1875, a new edition of the historic match is planned at Easter Road in Edinburgh: On Wednesday, July 9, 2025, Hibernian FC, currently fifth in the Scottish Premiership, and third division club Rot-Weiss Essen will face each other in this very special friendly match. This is likely to be a big celebration for many green-white and red-white fans.
Further information about the game, which is being organized with the support of Onside Sports GmbH, is currently still being planned and will be announced in the coming weeks and months.
The 50th anniversary game in Essen was a great trip.
06-02-2025, 07:52 PM
Hope the strip is hoops. We should proudly go with an original look and not worry what other team copied us to wearing it thinks now
Whatever it is I intend to buy it and frame it
Donegal Hibby
06-02-2025, 07:57 PM
Hope the strip is hoops. We should proudly go with an original look and not worry what other team copied us to wearing it thinks now
Maybe it’s just me but I’d rather the strip wasn’t hoops wither it was our strip one time or not as I associate it more with the other lot now .
06-02-2025, 07:58 PM
Why hoops? That wasn't our first kit and we only wore it for 3 years of our 150 year history.
A stretch to say Celtic stole the hoops from us too. Their first kit was white then they wore green and white stripes until 1905 so they first wore hoops just over a quarter of a century after we changed to all green. Whatever the history it's synonymous with Celtic now. There are far more fitting kits we could wear for the season.
This idea that our 150th anniversary should be used as some excuse to try and needle Celtic (which it wouldn't) is baffling to me. It should be a celebration of Hibs and that only.
06-02-2025, 07:58 PM
Can't wait till the kit release, will no doubt no please everyone, no complaints with the friendly announcement.
06-02-2025, 08:00 PM
Still got the half and half scarf and the programme from the game.
He's here!
06-02-2025, 08:03 PM
20 years ago...jeez.
06-02-2025, 08:14 PM
Will this be the year we finally get that Proclaimers gig at Easter Road? Would be a great way to finish off season long celebrations.
06-02-2025, 08:30 PM
Why hoops? That wasn't our first kit and we only wore it for 3 years of our 150 year history.
A stretch to say Celtic stole the hoops from us too. Their first kit was white then they wore green and white stripes until 1905 so they first wore hoops just over a quarter of a century after we changed to all green. Whatever the history it's synonymous with Celtic now. There are far more fitting kits we could wear for the season.
This idea that our 150th anniversary should be used as some excuse to try and needle Celtic (which it wouldn't) is baffling to me. It should be a celebration of Hibs and that only.
You’ve exaggerated my point slightly
Also I said copy not steal
We wore it first, that is fact. Whatever hibs go with it’ll be sold well. My point remains if it’s emerald green or a harp as a badge for example I’m sure it’ll sell well.
06-02-2025, 08:34 PM
Will this be the year we finally get that Proclaimers gig at Easter Road? Would be a great way to finish off season long celebrations.
Always thought that, season ticket holders first off course 🤪😅
06-02-2025, 08:43 PM
Always thought that, season ticket holders first off course 🤪😅
After Block 7...
06-02-2025, 08:45 PM
https://i.imgur.com/XOG7nkP.png
This was our first kit. I wouldn't be against a version of that for next season.
06-02-2025, 09:02 PM
All sounds great, especially the RWE rematch. Well done to Hibs.
06-02-2025, 09:16 PM
A great program of events. Be nice if it ties in with some European adventures too.
06-02-2025, 09:24 PM
This was our first kit. I wouldn't be against a version of that for next season.
White shorts, we're OK 😁
06-02-2025, 09:47 PM
All in all the programe of events probably ticks most boxes I would have hoped for.
Excited to see the kit (please don't let us down Hibs), a great pre-season game, interested to see what they do at the Cowgate on 6th August.
06-02-2025, 10:04 PM
Is that a leather belt?
06-02-2025, 10:49 PM
Probably would be a good investment, as not many Hibs fans would buy it.
Get a few quid from some Cellic fan in due course though.
I'd prefer we went with the original Hibs strip.
7Hero
06-02-2025, 11:22 PM
The original strip wasn't hoops..
07-02-2025, 06:13 AM
A surprising omission for me in this quite extensive initial publicity blurb is the absence of any mention of our co-founders Canon Hannan and Michael Whelehan. There's also no mention of St Patrick's Church just the "Cowgate area". While St Marys Street Halls is mentioned nothing to acknowledge that it was the home of the St Patrick's branch of the CYMS who founded our Club. Its almost as if they're uncomfortable or embarrassed mentioning these historical facts.
I had some dealings previously with an in-house Club historian who bizarrely didn't seem to like our early history very much and this smacks of his work or someone with a similar mindset.
07-02-2025, 07:12 AM
A surprising omission for me in this quite extensive initial publicity blurb is the absence of any mention of our co-founders Canon Hannan and Michael Whelehan. There's also no mention of St Patrick's Church just the "Cowgate area". While St Marys Street Halls is mentioned nothing to acknowledge that it was the home of the St Patrick's branch of the CYMS who founded our Club. Its almost as if they're uncomfortable or embarrassed mentioning these historical facts.
I had some dealings previously with an in-house Club historian who bizarrely didn't seem to like our early history very much and this smacks of his work or someone with a similar mindset.
The club gave a not insubstantial donation to the church last year so it suggests there is still a relationship. There was also a club representative at a celebratory Mass for Canon Hannan a while back (I want to say 2 years but it's probably longer than that).
I'd be surprised if there wasn't some cooperation. If there is nothing planned then it's maybe one for fans who feel strongly about it to run with. I'm still hopeful it will be part of the official celebrations though.
07-02-2025, 07:19 AM
Agree. It's the first thing that occurred to me when reading the content. Important that the programme celebrates our early history and founders as much as anything else.
07-02-2025, 07:25 AM
Are we all going up the Meadows for a kick about on Christmas Day?
07-02-2025, 07:41 AM
The mention of the events at the Cowgate on 6th Aug is all a wee bit vague, you're right. I'll be interested to hear more information as it draws nearer.
Up-the-slope
07-02-2025, 07:48 AM
I'm only buying it if comes with the belt - a great aide for men in their 50's:greengrin
Mark05
07-02-2025, 07:53 AM
Are we all going up the Meadows for a kick about on Christmas Day?
Sounds good who's bringing the old leather ball that had laces on it.You would knock yourself out heading it :greengrin My old schoolteacher gave me one no wander I never did very well at school I lost too many brain cells heading that bloody ball :thumbsup:
Up-the-slope
07-02-2025, 07:54 AM
I'm not sure there is anything sinister to read into the lack of detail. Its the first week of the Edinburgh Festival and any big event in the Cowgate area that would inevitably draw big crowd will need police and Council :rolleyes: approval which will be a red tape nightmare to negotiate.
its obvious you can't celebrate the anniversary of a founding date without including the circumstances / people involved in the founding
He's here!
07-02-2025, 08:14 AM
I'm not picking up anything sinister there at all. It's a summary of the events planned (some probably not yet finalised), not a history of the club, and it covers the major touchpoints.
07-02-2025, 08:49 AM
I'm not picking up anything sinister there at all. It's a summary of the events planned (some probably not yet finalised), not a history of the club, and it covers the major touchpoints.
I didn't say it was sinister , the phrase I used was I thought it was a surprising omission and I still think it's a surprising omission. Naming our co-founders and St Patrick's doesn't constitute "a history of the club" and I'm just surprised the Club was so vague about our origins in the first slide of that promotion.
I'm hopeful our early history, along with all the other important landmarks ,will be reflected in our 150th anniversary celebrations. There was an era when I was growing up that our early history was definitely downplayed and it was Alan Lugtons excellent books that introduced a lot of people to it.
07-02-2025, 09:11 AM
Let's all just hope Joma don't make an arse of the kit.
It has to be bang on and not plastered with silly logos.
Hibs Go Bragh
07-02-2025, 09:22 AM
I’m assuming it would just be a “special” third kit without a sponsor that we’re only allowed to wear 2 or 3 times unfortunately.
Hearts had one last year and I don’t remember them wearing it very often.
If they do it right it will fly off the shelves tho 👍
Chorley Hibee
07-02-2025, 12:51 PM
I wouldn't trust this lot to run a bath, never mind our 150th anniversary.
They'll be looking to plug further gaps in the accounts by fleecing us all for as much as they can.
Explains the astonishing price increase in the player of the year event too.
TrinityHFC
07-02-2025, 12:53 PM
They'll be looking to plug further gaps in the accounts by fleecing us all for as much as they can.
Nonsense.
Chorley Hibee
07-02-2025, 12:58 PM
Nonsense.
You keep sticking your head in the sand.
Thatdayinmay16
07-02-2025, 12:59 PM
Nonsense.
Not nonsense though is it?
TrinityHFC
07-02-2025, 01:13 PM
You keep sticking your head in the sand.
About what? The accounts tell us what we knew. The shareholders have wasted a lot of their own money. As well as investing in stuff that will help in the future. They are paying for it though.
There’s no link to pricing for any events. Making that link is nonsense.
Chorley Hibee
07-02-2025, 01:30 PM
About what? The accounts tell us what we knew. The shareholders have wasted a lot of their own money. As well as investing in stuff that will help in the future. They are paying for it though.
There’s no link to pricing for any events. Making that link is nonsense.
So could you explain why an event that was £120 is now £200?
In isolation it doesn't make much of a difference, but Im of no doubt that this is a sign of things to come, and the price of these anniversary events will reflect that.
Remember, Ron himself wanted us to "pony up" and I'm sure his son will be looking for similar.
07-02-2025, 01:39 PM
Date I say it, Hearts got it spot on with their 150th kit. Shame they released it a year early in their 149th anniversary. Then again counting hard.
07-02-2025, 01:46 PM
So could you explain why an event that was £120 is now £200?
In isolation it doesn't make much of a difference, but Im of no doubt that this is a sign of things to come, and the price of these anniversary events will reflect that.
Remember, Ron himself wanted us to "pony up" and I'm sure his son will be looking for similar.
Comparing apples and pears.
Last season had 2 options Classic Dinner no drinks included or Premium Dinner which included drinks. This year it’s a flat price which includes drinks.
Chorley Hibee
07-02-2025, 02:27 PM
Last season had 2 options Classic Dinner no drinks included or Premium Dinner which included drinks. This year it’s a flat price which includes drinks.
If that's the case, then I stand corrected on that front.
My concern surrounding this 150th anniversary being used as an opportunity to fleece the support remains.
07-02-2025, 02:33 PM
My concern surrounding this 150th anniversary being used as an opportunity to fleece the support remains.
Do you want everything for free? I fully expect to spend a ridiculous amount of money on strips, events and other memorabilia for our 150th. Not sure what else you'd expect from a business
07-02-2025, 03:21 PM
Where was the announcement for the POTY do mate
leith lynx
07-02-2025, 03:29 PM
Hopefully keep to the original white strip with gold harp and all the Easter Road greats ( famous 5, tornadoes, founding fathers etc) names shadow printed on to the jersey aka sunshine on leith jersey a few years back, here's hoping.
WillowbraeHibby
07-02-2025, 04:52 PM
Sounds good who's bringing the old leather ball that had laces on it.You would knock yourself out heading it :greengrin My old schoolteacher gave me one no wander I never did very well at school I lost too many brain cells heading that bloody ball :thumbsup:
When it was wet, and you headed the old lace ups, you thought you had broken your neck.... :greengrin Sair days they were... :(
My concern surrounding this 150th anniversary being used as an opportunity to fleece the support remains.Which club wouldn't?
Twiglet
08-02-2025, 06:32 AM
I don't see anything wrong with what they've said. The start of the club was more than just the church, it was the wider Cowgate itself. The players lived there in what was called "little Ireland" so it may also include their stories too. It was a short synopsis which, when details are announced will no, doubt mention, the church and other places in the Cowgate.
08-02-2025, 08:33 AM
A couple of things, for me pity the game against RWE is a Wed and not the weekend, means I would have to take two days off work, another thing is its maybe an idea for Hibs fans all over the world to come together in their respective countries with like-minded Hibbies and have a bevvy.
7Hero
08-02-2025, 09:13 AM
You're forgetting that this has been moved to own venue with zero venue hire costs and a minimal cost from Caterer, moving from an expensive city centre location which the club must pay full hire and food / drink rates on.
The increase in cost will be to maximise return but also make up for the dramatic loss in capacity moving it ER.
08-02-2025, 09:33 AM
I don't see anything wrong with what they've said. The start of the club was more than just the church, it was the wider Cowgate itself. The players lived there in what was called "little Ireland" so it may also include their stories too. It was a short synopsis which, when details are announced will no, doubt mention, the church and other places in the Cowgate.
I was quite surprised when doing the stadium tour with an American friend a few years back that our early history was quite readily dismissed. My mate asked for further information about the formative years and was told 'ach no one bothers about any of that now'.
Hopefully a broader church (pun unintentional) is coordinating the events around the anniversary. I'm sure it will be readily acknowledged; even if there's early history isn't one person's family story, it's important to show how far we have come as a far more all encompassing and inclusive club.
08-02-2025, 11:30 AM
I was quite surprised when doing the stadium tour with an American friend a few years back that our early history was quite readily dismissed. My mate asked for further information about the formative years and was told 'ach no one bothers about any of that now'.
Hopefully a broader church (pun unintentional) is coordinating the events around the anniversary. I'm sure it will be readily acknowledged; even if there's early history isn't one person's family story, it's important to show how far we have come as a far more all encompassing and inclusive club.
That's really disappointing to hear and does seem to suggest that it's a subject the club actively try to avoid. Which is a shame because there's so much romance in that story.
Well, this anniversary is a great opportunity to set the record straight. History is what it is. It should never be swept under the carpet just because it makes some feel uneasy or uncomfortable
08-02-2025, 02:23 PM
It's great that we have a game with Rot Wiess Essen, I would also like to see another game arranged with Preston North End to celebrate Hibs being World Champions when we beat them a couple of times for the title.
08-02-2025, 03:21 PM
The RWE game is a great idea, definitely looking forward to that one and probably the one and only time I would ever buy a half and half scarf :greengrin
As for any suggestions our 150th anniversary strip should, or even could, be green and white hoops, get that pish so far tae f##k ... It would make our club a laughing stock with every other club in Scotland and they wouldn't give a rats arse that we wore it for 3 seasons or whatever it was.
This is the absolutely appropriate time to put the Irish catholic founders of our club front and center. The hardships, social exclusion and poverty they overcame to found the club and make it a success simply cannot be an aside to the celebrations, nor the fact the church played a part in that. Without it there would be no 150th anniversary to celebrate.
'ach no one bothers about any of that now'.
Not only insulting to our founders, its factually wrong and an ignorant way to approach history.
08-02-2025, 04:37 PM
I don’t read anything in to that at all, we will get more details closer to the time, I would imagine there’s a lot to firm up yet. I’m liking what I’ve seen so far, we have a lot to celebrate. I’m looking forward to finding out more.
08-02-2025, 04:57 PM
It does true that there are two ways of viewing our history, one has a misty eyed view of those who came from Ireland to settle and gather into a community in Edinburgh and the many battles they and Hibernian had to fight to establish themselves. Two our history really begins with the Famous Five and establishing a swash-buckling football club at the top end of Scottish football. I'm not sure they have to be exclusive, or that one negates the other.
I am one of the misty eyed variety for sure, but I love all the old stories throughout our 150 years and hope whatever we do reflects the full story.
08-02-2025, 08:51 PM
Excellent idea of a game against RWE. My mum wouldn’t let me go to the first one:greengrin.